BTN communal poison again

Yesterday, I received an indignant email from a recent participant in the course of the Biro Tata Negara (BTN), funded by taxpayers but acting as the propaganda arm of UMNO, pumping communal poison instead of spreading the message of national unity.

Despite criticisms against the BTN both in and out of Parliament, invariably followed by denials by the Minister or Deputy Minister concerned, it is clear from this email that BTN had not changed one whit its irresponsible ways.

I read out the complaints in the email in Parliament yesterday during the debate on the 2008 Supplementary Estimates, viz:

Their purpose is to convey THEIR Message to us but I think they are absolutely wrong . It made us more irritable towards BN government and make us more stronger to vote opposition.

Here are their messages:

(1) Kontrak sosial about Kerakyatan and Hak Istimewa Orang Melayu
Effects : Non Malay should appreciate and cannot expect more . They use Malay toleransi us and also “Terhutang Budi terhadap mereka”

(2) The country is not safe after 308. The government is not strong enough to maintain the safety. The oppositions is creating chaos in the country . They give a lot of examples. If we continues like this , it might explode another 513 or war in Malaysia like in Iraq. They shows us the pictures and videos of Iraq. Therefore we need to vote BN for the peace

(3) To protect Islam and Malay special rights Malays have to bersepadu for Ketuuanan Melayu

(4) Indians and Chinese contribute nothing to this country. It is the non Malays who wants to join the pakatan that time and we beg for that. Throughtout the course they only emphasize on Malay’s contribution and say nothing on Non Malay.

(5) their perpaduan means Ketuanan Malay and never sama rata because they said this is according to Kontrak Sosial. They conducted every facts on Chinese Malay and Indian and not mentioning Malaysian .

(6) they claim oppositions is a spy from America and going to attack Malaysia soon

In allowing BTN to continue such communal poison in its courses, Umno and the other Barisan Nasional component parties are proving in Parliament, the Cabinet and to Malaysians at large that they continue to be blind, deaf and mute to the message of the March 2008 general election for reform and that they deserve further punishment by the Malaysian electorate.

1. #1 by Godfather on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 11:40 am

Surely there must be papers delivered at the BTN sessions or videos of the propaganda machine at work ? It appears that this is the word of one person versus the entire government machinery, so it would be good to have some hard evidence. Much as we have no reason to doubt the word of this individual, it would help our cause if we can send something of “value” to the mainstream press.

2. #2 by shah pinang on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 12:27 pm

I agree with Godfather. We do not want to be a ‘communal poison’ ourselves and therefore ‘hard/cold’ evidence is needed. These are serious allegations against the very institution meant/supposedly to:

“melahirkan anggota masyarakat yang patriotik, cinta pada negara dan bersatu padu supaya dapat menangani cabaran sebuah negara yang terus maju menjelang tahun 2020”.

Nevertheless, such allegations are not far fetch considering BN/Ketuanan Umno track record of power abuse at every level of governance….

3. #3 by shortie kiasu on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 12:30 pm

How to prove that what was written in the email message received by YB Lim KS above is true and factual, accompanied by solid and creditable evidence? Is YB Lim sure that all that was said in the email message is not some mischievous deeds by some mischievous guy?

If ever that was true and that was what was taught in BTN, then the purpose of BTN has developed into an extremist organization, out to wreak havoc to the beloved country that all of us lived and share our destiny. Under that circumstance, BTN should be scraped immediately to avoid further damage to the unity and peace of this beloved country.

The people do not wish to live in a country filled with hatred & distrust among its citizen.

BN government should wake up to the reality and be mature enough to face the fact and the real situation here and in the world around us.

4. #4 by LT on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 12:40 pm

Well, guys, ask any govt officer who had gone to their BTN. You will know then. Mobilephone and other electronic media gadgets are not allow during the BTN activites. There is no way anyone would have a video clip or recording for u.

I know, coz I went for my BTN camp 4 years back. From what I read from the email, they didn’t change much, only add in 308 in their ‘fact’.

5. #5 by penang308 on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 12:45 pm

Thank you to the participant who exposed BTN.

The more they do it, the more we vote for the opposition in the coming election!

6. #6 by StevePCH on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 12:55 pm

you’re right godather. some hard evidence is required.
    on the other hand, from Lingam’s case, it look like me, sound like me, but … it’s not me….
    Just like what the goons did to YB KS at Parliament, they had to rephrase to … I did not touch. Initially they said , we did not obstruct but the video proved otherwise

7. #7 by taiking on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 1:28 pm

Words are also good as evidence in court. Things that we personally (not through others) see, hear, taste or touch can be related in court and be used as direct evidence. No evidence is better than direct evidence. Like for instance “I saw him strapping something to the woman’s body. I was scared and hid myself behind a large bin. A short while later there was a loud explosion. And then an arm with several missing fingers landed near where I was hiding.” Recordings, whether as sounds, moving images or transcripts are really no better. Just like oral evidence, they can also be subjected to reliability and accuracy test (by x-examination) in court and they can also be challenged on the ground of fabrication.

So all of you who have the unfortunate experience of undergoing the stupid course could actually speak out – if not in court then at least in public. LKS’s blog is one good public place for you to speak.

8. #8 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 1:59 pm

Well BTN started again to poison the minds and hearts of malays and is used to strenghten Umno to stay in power for the benefits of umnoputras and warlords. Just hopping any educated and sensible malays who attended such meeting will tell these unmoputras to go to hell. Come on guys, after half a century of power control,millions of malays still are very poor and some even remain illiterate to this day. Look around KL city, poor malay squatters are everywhere.Further look into the red light areas,you can find hundreds of poor and simi-literate malays, boys and girls young and old alike enjoying pots and drugs. What’s this ketuanan malays champions doing to help these poor drug addicts ? Nothing instead these so called malays champions are tied to drug lords to continue to poison the minds and habits of their own kind,and make huge profits. Come on malays brothers and sisters,wake up,take a stance and tell these evil umnoputras/warlords to go to hell where they should belong. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH .

9. #9 by ALLAN THAM on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 2:42 pm

YB Kit, Just read about Zahid appeal to the King not to appoint najib as PM. This message send shiver to my spine as what all these while the talk by the ordinary people has been said by an Ex Unmo man and he hit the message along. You all MP should do some thing to rectify it.

10. #10 by jedyoong on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 3:45 pm

Anyone who buys what the BTN allegedly said above really needs to have their head checked. After all, if after going through our national schools and tertiary education, a person is incapable of critical thinking, is there any hope? Sometimes I pity the Malays who believe hook, line and sinker the myth that Malays is the “bangsa induk”. Surely, they need to base this on historical facts. Worse, they really behave like they are “superior”. Why bother, surely a truly superior race will just throw money around? Sorry to be blunt but I think sometimes they need to be jolted awake from their fantasies.

11. #11 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 5:49 pm

The Biro Tata Negara actually more like “BIRO TATA NERAKA”.

Things that are preached are both religously wrong(HARAM) and morally wrong…..but ‘politically right’ for UMNO

12. #12 by Godfather on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 5:55 pm

Mobile phones not allowed at BTN camps ? No paperwork handed out ? All documents stamped “rahsia” ? Compulsory vows of loyalty ? Can’t take notes at all ?

I can’t believe that Nazi induction parties exist in this country.

13. #13 by ekans on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 7:19 pm

If BTN is meant to melahirkan anggota masyarakat yang patriotik, cinta pada negara dan bersatu padu supaya dapat menangani cabaran sebuah negara yang terus maju menjelang tahun 2020, it should first & foremost be teaching about the ideals behind our Federal Constitution, not some nonsense ideology belonging to one dominant political party which wants to cling on to power at all costs.

14. #14 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 7:23 pm

“(6) they claim oppositions is a spy from America and going to attack Malaysia soon”

he ..he… hee .. heeeeee !!!

Sorry guys I have no words left. What about the Jews? Could it be a global conspiracy involving the Zionists too??

Worse. It could be limkaput soliciting business for himself. Biro Tata Negara was his brainchild when he was in government service ‘ampuing’ BN for a living.

15. #15 by kevchua on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 9:40 pm

You can say all you want about the legitimacy and authenticity of the email which Mr Lim had read out in Parliament but those who have attended BTN courses would know better. These are the people who have to come out from their holes and tell the story. It’s just too bad that it will unlikely happen as people are afraid to share the truth. They’d rather keep things to themselves rather than have their lives – and the lives of their family – in jeapordy.

When we have army personnel conducting most of the BTN programmes, they’re in total command – and laymen and MPs from both sides can’t touch them unless you’ve very ultra strong and influential connections in the military and in the Executive Office.

16. #16 by Xiao Zhu on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 11:07 pm

I attended a BTN course as a staff of national carrier in the 90s.
    The camp (former communist hotbed) in Perlis near the Thai border.
    In the evening, we had invited speakers and I need not elaborate their topics here as most of you would know their core subject.
    One of the subject the stuck my mind till today was the punishment melted out to non-malays too. Reason: Some of them failed to get up on time for the ‘1st prayer’ of the day especially
    during the initial period in the camp. \TEAM SPIRIT\.
    The water in the bathroom was from up-stream and the colour was
    just like what you see in Sungei Klang.

17. #17 by UzMiNoOnist on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 12:27 am

There is only one way to rid of this poison is to vote BN/UMNO out, and close BTN and prosecute those responsible to hell.

18. #18 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 9:59 am

What I don’t get is BTN continuing the way it is under the PM office. Its quite understandable BTN founding and ways under the founder of Malaysian Machiavellian politics Dr. M, but seriously after some six years since, why is it even still around or even functioning under the very nose of the PM’s office?

It just leads me to believe that the top leaders, they are pretty crappy as far as looking strategically ahead. Its all fine and dandy when you have 100% control of media and the population is pretty much ignorant but when you no longer have control of media and its hard to find anyone without a diploma at least, these kinds of insidious things at most is a waste of money and potential ammnunition that bites you in the ass…

Its one thing for political hacks to be delusional but within the confines of PM’s office? Its just scary…

19. #19 by Old.observer on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 11:27 am

I agree with many of the comments made earlier – these sort of speeches should be video-taped for all Malaysians to view.

Any handouts should be publicly circulated for transparency.

20. #20 by aiD_kamikuP on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 11:52 am

Of course, this phenomenon has morphed into this ugly beast thanks to the umnoazh0lz over the years.

The precursor to this can be traced to an innocuous malady in the 1970s. I recall just after the formation of Barisan NAZIonal, students in the Economics Faculty of a certain university in KL were required to write an essay justifying “Why there must be a one-party political system to ensure an progressive Malaysia”.

Education they call this…..P*ki_M@kDeer!!

21. #21 by ekans on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 3:08 pm

The lecturer who had set this “Why there must be a one-party political system to ensure an progressive Malaysia” essay question was obviously trying to incite students into believing that if Malaysia is to progress, it should be a one party state, which would mean abolishing our present Federal Constitution and the system of constitutional monarchy with parliamentary democracy.
    Thus, that lecturer should be the one charged under the Sedition Act instead of Karpal Singh…

22. #22 by shamshul anuar on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 5:31 pm

DEar Frankyapp,

If there is a malay or anybody is illiterate, then he cant blame the govt for his misfortune. the govt provides opprtunity. If you fail to take advantage of it, do not blame the govt.

As for prostitution, well that involves all races in this world. Must we blame Chinese community or DAP if one Chinese lady from Sitiawan becomes a prostitute.

What is it with Ketuanan Melayu that really riles you. Malay seldom refers to it. Their understanding is simple. It refers to Article 153 of Constitution. That article gives the Malay character to Malaysia.

No Malays have ever imply that we want to treat Chinese like a slave . And we had been reminded in Malay dailies that what is the point of being the native if you are lagging behind other races.

Just like there are problems in Chinese communities, so are many problems in Malay community. Merely voicing them cant be construed as being racist.

And Malays are laughing when you told that UMNO is racist. Since when UMNO is racist. If it is racist, there will be no “Sekolah Cina” in this land. Gerakan will find it hard to win in Malay area.

23. #23 by sotong on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 8:31 pm

Decades of narrow, divisive and damaging poltics had permanent long term consequences.

We are too divided to face the global challenges to protect our common interests.

Resolving issues will not unite the people….unless there is a crisis, by that time it could be too late to control the damage.

24. #24 by Penang_soul on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 12:00 pm

GO CHECK MOST SK PRIMARY SCHOOLS IN PENANG AND YOU CAN FIND BIG POSTERS HANGING ALL OVER ESPECIALLY ON THE NOTICE BOARDS AND CLASSROOMS WHICH IS DISTRIBUTED BY THE INFORMATION MINISTRY ABOUT KETUANAN MELAYU AND HAK KEISTIMEVAAN ORANG MELAYU. THEY ARE STARTING IT WITH STUDENTS FROM THE PRIMARY SCHOOL ITSELF WHO ARE STILL INNOCENT TO STILL DON’T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT IT….!!!!!

25. #25 by shamshul anuar on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 10:34 pm

Dear Penang_soul,

Exactly what it says. Please tell me “word by word”. Did Information Ministry says that “Chinese is not citizen of this country”.

Or whether it just says the truth about Malaysia. About its history. About why Malaysia today as it is. Plain and simple.

Have you ever tried telling your children about the Constitution?. Have you ever tried telling your children why before Merdeka your father was not citizen but today you are the citizen of Malaysia?. Have you told him how citizenship is granted?.

Have you ever tried telling him that Chinese school as a separate school only exist in Malaysia and no other countries?

More inportantly have you ever told your children that there is sort of bargaining between Malays and non Malays before independent. Meaning Chinese and Indians granted citizenship by Malay led govt( en bloc and unprecendented by world standard) and allowed practice of culture, religion, economy, mother languages IN EXCHANGE of recognising that originally this country is inhabited by the Malays. Therefore, the reason why Malay becomes national language and special provision for Malays. As such, constitution also says 80% of civil servant is to Malay. Yes, It is in Constitution.

When Malays talk about “Ketuanan Melayu” it refers to basic structure of the land as position of Malay Rulers, Islam and Bahasa Melayu as official language. It never meant to implose slavery on non Malays. The truth is that Malays reign supreme in politics just like Chines holds same position in economy.

Remember, when you start arguing on these subjects, you must also expect Malays to argue on your rights. And it can be unpleasant.

Malays position is simple. What given can be taken back. It is just you never heard them saying that because unlike Uncle Lim, Malays have this habit of not wanting to hurt others feeling. Please imagine your feeling if one Malay politician in power says “Kalau kau tak suka kau boleh berambus keluar dari Malaysia”.

Political suicide. Maybe he loses votes from Chinese community. But you will be surprise that many Malays would support him because they are fedup with some Chinese politicians accusing them as conducting apartheid.

Every Malaysian has right in Malaysia. Please tell Chinese politicians to understand the Constitution. Do not simply interpret Constitution at your whims.

I am not being arrogant. It is just that people in this blog portrays Malays as very cruel .

26. #26 by frankyapp on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 2:10 am

Shamshul,I appreciated your reasoning but you got me wrong cos my comment was not Malays but malays umno top leaders who always used ketuanan malayu,religion,king and country to champion their political supremacy in order to stay in power.Dap is a multi-racial party and is doing everything within its power for all malaysians. Non-malay schools are also protected in our constitution,reason why umno could not stop them from existing. just look at what penang soul says about these umno top leaders are doing and damaging the younger generation of malaysian just for their own benefits. What if other races like Kadazan,Indian,Iban and chinese for instance do what these umno leaders did by also voicing their race and right in the country ? Chaos and riots,now who’s to blame,isn’t umno to blame for initially started the fire ?.

27. #27 by Godfather on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 9:37 am

I still have a simple question for those who have attended the BTN brainwashing sessions: Are there NO materials distributed at such sessions ? I mean could anyone attend such sessions without materials being handed out, or notepads given to make notes ?

If there is hard evidence of such matters, then we can simply mail them to MCA, Gerakan, MIC, etc and ask them for their comments.

28. #28 by Borneogirl on Sunday, 22 March 2009 - 12:43 pm

I watched Awani TV few days ago, the guest was Jasin MP YB Hassan. He said MACC cant act on Ali Rustam because its UMNO’s brainchild and so are the policies currently enforced in Malaysia…so BTN and what ever is being \lectured\ in its classroom is purely UMNO agenda. So what are the rest of BN component doing?