Elizabeth Wong and Our Hope for a New Politics in Malaysia

By Farish A. Noor

As someone who has known Ms Elizabeth Wong, former ADUN and Exco member of the Selangor state government, for almost ten years, I am profoundly distressed by the treatment that has been meted out to her by the mainstream and tabloid press over the revelation of photos that have compromised her. There are no words adequate enough to describe my feelings of disgust and anger over how this capable and committed activist-politician has been slandered and abused recently.

The facts surrounding the case are well known by now and one need not dwell upon them here. Suffice to say that one of the brightest, capable and efficient politicians of our land has been discredited via a malicious campaign to tarnish her reputation, that reeks of hypocrisy and conspiracy of the highest order.

What needs to be emphasised in the midst of this media hullabaloo is this: That the private lives of politicians are as sacrosanct as the right of any other citizen, and that politicians deserve the same degree of respect as anyone else. This is what we are fighting for; and this is what the elections of March 2008 were all about: Our earnest wish to see a new kind of politics in Malaysia, a new politics that would reflect and mirror the new Malaysian society that we live in today.

The ascendancy of Ms Wong and a host of other younger politicians who were elected to office last March signalled – in the clearest terms – the desire for change and reform. Malaysians of all creeds, races and gender have demonstrated that we are sick and tired of the old mode of neo-feudal communitarian politics which has hitherto been propped up by nothing more than an assembly of tired and outdated clichés. We yearn for a new Malaysia that is colour-blind, anti-racist, anti-sexist, democratic, tolerant and plural. We yearn for a new generation of professional politicians who can do their job well in the spirit of accountability and transparency. We yearn, in short, for a new political culture altogether.

Ms. Wong’s election to office demonstrated that a significant section of her constituents had faith in her abilities to translate those ideals into reality and political praxis. They voted her into power because they believed that this was a woman who would stand by the rights of all her constituents; who would further a politics of inclusivity and non-communitarianism, and that she would also foreground the needs and concerns of women as well. The proof of this is evident to all who have followed her career that has now been tragically cut short: as an advocate for gender equality, her presence in the state assembly of Selangor has ensured that the sexist culture that was so prevalent in the past ceased to continue. During the Bukit Antarabangsa landslide tragedy she was one of the few politicians who was seen present at the ground-level doing relief work while some other politicians merely procrastinated and pontificated while doing nothing.

The unfortunate turn of events that has led to her resignation has therefore robbed us – the Malaysian public – of one of the few capable elected representatives that we could count on; and the loss is that of the Malaysian public’s as much as it is hers.

Today as Malaysia heads into a recession under the febrile leadership of old politicians who remain in a state of denial, we are in need of a younger generation of elected representatives whose political orientation and political culture are different: Elizabeth did not lead, she represented. And she gave a voice to the voiceless who clamoured for attention on her behalf. Her passing out of political life – which I personally hope will be temporary – has been a blow to our common struggle for a better, newer Malaysia. It is my earnest wish that despite the setbacks she has suffered, Elizabeth Wong will continue in the struggle for a better and newer Malaysia in whatever capacity that she can.

This struggle for a new Malaysia and a new Malaysian politics is our common struggle, the struggle of the new generation of Malaysians today. One of us among our ranks has been attacked and fallen. We owe it to her as a friend and comrade to support her now, and to remain focused on the pressing need to reform the old order of our authoritarian, racist, communitarian past and its attendant institutions.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by mathuraveeran on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 5:19 pm

Hey she is a woman like any one us, what’s wrong she is human she has feeling why make a fuss. When the number one can get married at 60 plus anyway she has resigned nothing much can be done now. hopefully the PKR leaders will try save from further damage. take care of the ADUN in the state. it looks like more to surface with all sort of scandals.

EW should hold on the the elected post and serve the people. Than you can call for Toyo to challenge you in the next election in BL

2. #2 by kutlakut on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 5:20 pm

This blog is just as bad as the blogs I visited.

Heavy traffic don’t count for anything if the people beat round the bush. You miss the point most of the time.

3. #3 by gycgocnt on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 5:46 pm

When “THE BEST PORNO ACTOR IN MALAYSIA’ admits he’s the guy in d video, the BN’s mainstream media’s propagating he was a good minister, showing his ‘Excellent’ record, a humble man loving his family…..Wat A F===

when Eli Wong victimised by his ex, some BN leader ask her to get lost, some say she did the right things for offer to resign….Wat A F=== Also!!

Eli Wong, there’s no need to resign, the time consuming to unseat the BN state government is 50 years++, dont give up easily even though PR has extra 15 seats, v dont even intend to give them a seat. Keep going to service your rakyat, the rakyat need u, We Need You!!

From a resident in Selangor….

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 6:06 pm

//Heavy traffic don’t count for anything if the people beat round the bush. You miss the point most of the time.//

Like to hear what is the ‘real’ point that bush beaters here have missed. Cre to enlighten?? :)

5. #5 by lkt-56 on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 6:59 pm

Dear friends,
    A lot of discussions about “indecency”, “morality”, “high integrity (Eli’s resignation”, “money being the motivation for this expose”, etc. etc. Yet we missed one vital ingredient:

COMPASSION

What is compassion? Compassion as defined by Buddha is when our entire being quiver at the sufferings of our fellow sentient being. Can we take a moment in silence and FEEL what Elizabeth is going through at this moment? Go on do it right now….

What do you feel? Sorry that this has happened to her right? Are we now all in agreement that she does not deserve this? The debate, the disagreements, the moral judgments thus ends. Perhaps we can now leave her alone so that she can move on. She has so much to live for rather than be reminded constantly of this “live situation”.

The act is done with the intention to cause suffering. The consequences will come. This is the law of cause and effect… ;)

6. #6 by lbl on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 7:10 pm

Hi Cintanegara,
    Which is worse? Elizabeth Wong’s nude photo taken illegally or taking bribes or stealing money from the Government coffers?
    What I know ,all the money Eli spent is from her salary?
    Can Toyo claim the same?
    You think money taken illegally is more accepted than the illegally photo taken?

7. #7 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 7:22 pm

It seems many who are scandalized by this \nude\ episode want all the elected reps to be saints.
    To me, this is at most a minor indiscretion unless her ex was a married man and she knew about it.
    The most important character for a rep is that she serves the voters well and there is no public loss due to a lack of integrity.
    Now if we look at the major losses in so many mega-projects like the crooked JB bridge, that should warrant more outrage.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/02/malaysiakini-and-morality-of.html

8. #8 by Godfather on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 7:54 pm

This issue need not have been raised to this level if we had simply brushed it aside as a small matter that is now with the Police for investigation. Instead we have people railing at Anwar and Khalid, we have people who compared this with CSL and Vijandran as though they are comparing apples with apples, and we have people who say that PR indulges in double standards.

Looks like there are too many drama queens around.

9. #9 by just a moment on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 8:03 pm

cintanegara Says:
    With all these feedbacks you’ll getting here,
    “Serve You Right Indeed”
    In fact, morons like you are fed with curses to stay alive,
    sama sama toyoL juga. Your kind stand out as an example
    of Evil and Darkness. Nice name nickname to cover up twisted minds. Morons betul.

10. #10 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 8:08 pm

unless her ex was a married man
    Uh, no. Makes no difference. Sure, we used to call the women married men had affairs with ‘homebreakers’ where I come from too, but that was in the old days when we all blamed women for the mistakes men made.

It’s not a single woman’s job to preserve married men’s marriages. That’s a married man’s job. The marital status of the cameraman should make no difference to your opinion of EW.

11. #11 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 8:20 pm

I would think carefully about re-electing a person who breaks up a marriage for whatever reason but I do not want that person to resign for such an act.

12. #12 by katdog on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 9:29 pm

“She should move aside because personal credibility is the basis of political trust.” -jamesong88

Oh gawd! What an incredulous statement. If we talk about personal credibility, then i’d say the entire cabinet and ministers of Malaysia need to step aside. We have as our elected rep’s people who requests that officials ‘tutup satu mata’, rep’s who are caught trying to smuggle a suitcase filled with money into another country, reps who had sex with an underage girl. And this few examples i provided are publicly known FACTS. Not rumours.

Let’s not talk about personal credibility, morality and other BS like that please.

EW is a victim who has committed no other crime then being victimized. All those fools that call for her to be punished or to punish herself via resignation are merely perpetrating injustice in this world by demanding that victims be punished.

13. #13 by vsp on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 9:37 pm

Elizabeth Wong is one of PK’s most promising recruits. She is hardworking, honest and efficient. When she was given the portfolio of environment, the administration of land was under her ambit of responsibility. In fact so religiously did she do her work that many doubtful development projects by property developers were placed under the back burner. She was the despair of many a developer that they resorted to bribery, threats, name-calling, and threats of law suits. But she stuck to her guns. This was revealed mere days after the Bukit Antarabangsa landslide.

Under such circumstances, it’s no surprise that there are many enemies who tried to discredit her.

Apart from the suspects from the developers’ fraternity, another probable suspect is the BN. BN was trying to topple the Pakatan governments in Selangor and Perak immediately after the 2008 tsunami. After the failed deal with a group of PAS MPs, lead by Hassan Ali, the BN was looking for other ways to destabilize the Pakatan government in Selangor.

It was no coincident when the ISA was unleashed the earliest targets were all women: Teresa, the Sin Chew reporter and one of the PKR woman’s MP (the name seems to slip me). They were the weaker sex and the ISA was meant to intimidate them to submission. I suspected these women were subjected to inducement of jumping over to the BN and threats of being sent to Kamunting to rot. But these were redoubtable women and together with public disgust over the manner the ISA was being used, the BN failed again.

However, the BN did not give up. This time they got her through her boyfriend. In fact her boyfriend is a PKR member. With money dangling before his eyes, this despicable man is even willing to betray his lover to the BN Pharisees. How delightful Toyo was when news broke out on the scandal. Of all the blackest pots and kettles, Toyo was the first one to bay for blood because many of the development projects that he approved when he was the MB was put into abeyance.

Now, however high a pedestal I put Elizabeth on, unfortunately, she is damaged goods. She will not be able to perform her duties as before because of the high possibility of blackmail. Her nude photos are in dangerous hands and you can imagine the BN will not take any action to stop the circulation of the photos in the Internet. This is only my opinion.

14. #14 by katdog on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 9:45 pm

To all those self righteous holier than thou people out here: i drink, gamble and had pre-maritial sexual relations. I don’t find anything morally wrong with these. FYI, i am not muslim.

I don’t steal or take money that’s not mine. I don’t rape anyone (or have sex with underage girls). I have not killed anyone nor have ordered anyone be killed. I don’t offer bribes nor do i take any in return.

Yet i am immoral and indecent? But the people who do even worse things than me are not immoral?

Look people, it’s easy to spit on others and talk about the need to be morally righteous when you are faced with a defenseless person who cannot do anything to you.

Let’s see you spit on the rich and powerful and talk about moral righteousness when corrupt politicians in power walk by. Let’s see you put your life on the line when injustices are being carried out unto others in front of your eyes.

I bet you there will not be a single squeak coming from all these people railing about morality and personal credibility.

15. #15 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 9:51 pm

How is her support from the Chinese communities, after being exposed that her boyfriend is a non-Chinese. You may say it doesn’t matter, but the fact is it may hurt her.

16. #16 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 9:55 pm

The Crapfather is talking crap again: people who compare CSL/Vijandran & Elizabeth – even if he does not agree it is a valid comparison – will have brushed all 3 cases raising none of any to any level, just the opposite of what he said about “raised to this level” of drama. One last vestige of democracy left in this country is some people’s exercise of their right to ventilate stupidity and utter incessant nonsense.

17. #17 by Godfather on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 10:03 pm

The One who Writes Eloquently is crapshooting again. The legal expert is now an expert in sexuality. The show-off knows everything.

Siapa yang makan cili dialah yang merasa pedas.

18. #18 by Godfather on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 10:05 pm

The self-professed expert on sexuality and morality derives his expertise through his incessant spewing of “on the one hand it is this, and on the other hand it is that”, all the while holding only one thing in both hands. Sigh.

19. #19 by vsp on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 10:13 pm

Godfather:

Jeffrey thinks he is the fountain of all knowledge and wisdom. He will weave his way in and out until any ordinary man who reads his thesis will give up half-way. Then he will congratulate himself of how clever he is. He tries to cover every grounds so that he will claim that he is right everytime and all the time. If you read his posting it will always be like a warranty certificate that any crooked lawyer is able to crank out. So beware.

20. #20 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 10:17 pm

What is there that is addressed by the Crapfather in preceding 2 postings 22:03.07, 22:05.33? Just a spontaneous overflow of senseless diatribe permitting no opportunity of a sensible response. Sigh. So sad.

21. #21 by Godfather on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 10:19 pm

That’s democracy, in case you forgot.

22. #22 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 10:29 pm

“Incessant spewing of “on the one hand it is this, and on the other hand it is that”, all the while holding only one thing in both hands” posting of 22:05.33

Yes it is also democracy that where eloquence fails, vulgarity may also be resorted to as a convenient substitute for incoherence! :)

23. #23 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 10:36 pm

vsp Says:
    Today at 21: 37.35 (33 minutes ago)

Now, however high a pedestal I put Elizabeth on, unfortunately, she is damaged goods. She will not be able to perform her duties as before because of the high possibility of blackmail. Her nude photos are in dangerous hands and you can imagine the BN will not take any action to stop the circulation of the photos in the Internet. This is only my opinion. (vsp)

Well, vsp,

Your concern is valid in so far that the not so savoury pictures may be embarrassing to Eli. The fact is many people DO sleep the way like Eli, or, perhaps, even in more “fanciful” manners! So, what’s the big deal here? Surely, people’s imagination are not stirred by those pictures.

What people abhor most is the irresponsible and immoral act of taking those pictures and circulating them so dastardly. The perpetrator(s) is (are) the one(s) to be condemned, not the victims. That should be clear to all.

Hopefully, time will heal most, if not all, wounds.

After all the OPEN discussions and opinions and appropriate damage control actions taken, I do not think the possibility of “blackmail” is likely to happen and would not be of much “value” to BN or anybody for that matter.

If in the coming by-elections, should anybody happen to make use of the pictures, they would run the risk of being frowned upon and run the risk of being penalised. So, not much fear in that.

NO one should also want to harp on it ( the pictures) being an issue of morality, or immorality, for that matter. Because there is simply no basis for that. For sure, Eli would not be portrayed as being immoral. Anybody attempting to so do, would do so at their own risk, because BN’s immorality is much much worse than what we care to write about for now!

24. #24 by Godfather on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 10:42 pm

I am entitled to my opinion, and the show-off is obviously entitled to his. But to say that I “ventilate stupidity and utter incessant nonsense” can’t go unanswered.

This is part of the show-off’s posting earlier and I quote the crapshooter:

“…Public nakedness (as thisb term is restrictively defined to mean being “seen by public”) whether by wanton streaking/flaunting or having one’s naked pictures circulated….”

Yeah, public nakedness means being seen by the public…sheesh – how come I didn’t think of that ? Maybe the show-off should define the word “naked” so that those of us who are not so good in English can understand what it REALLY means.

Foot long postings don’t mean that they are not stupid or utter nonsense.

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 11:06 pm

Sorry I still don’t see coherence in your preceding posting. Guess you are trying to compete your stupidity and nonsense with mine, which is difficult for me to keep up in view of the ease and spontaneity with which you do it.

26. #26 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 11:14 pm

May I add my two-cents worth on Eli’s voluntary resignation from both the exco and ADUN posts.

We shall let the people of Selangor decide, for they are the ones who elected her and also the ones she would have to face and answer to. Others have no business to be judge and jury here.

If the majority of people do not accept her relinquishing the posts, then she should be allowed to reconsider her earlier decision.

After all, if it is proven that there is NO element of immorality on her part, then she does not have any basis at all to resign. It doesn’t make any sense if she is asked or forced to. It is the perpetrator(s) who should be penalised, not the victim. Justice must be done, and seen to be done.

Consider the scenario to have another by-election:

It costs money ( lots of it!), time consuming, and effort to have one. Instead of going through all those unnecessary troubles, it would be a lot wiser to focus on more pressing, urgent and important issues affecting the rakyat and state.

No one stands to gain if a by-election is called. After all, it is a forgone conclusion that the PR would win handsomely and it is not the time to see who has the bigger muscle, BN or PR.

Let’s get on with life and stop dwelling on the petty issues.

Since Eli’s case is now in the hands of the police, let them do their job. The culprits must not be allowed to go scot-free; instead he/whoever should face the full wrath of the law.

27. #27 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 11:28 pm

Godfather and Jeffrey,

With due respect to you both, I had wish that you thrash out “personal matters” privately, through email perhaps?

Both of you are good contributors to this blog, many can vouch for that. I take the position of “to each his own”. Neutral you can say.

What matters most are contribution in the form pertinent opinions, information, and thoughts. We are indeed in a democracy and let that be manifest! Let’s also thrive on differences of opinion, cos I believe that out of diversity and plurality we are the more enriched.
    Of course, let sense and sensibility be our guide.

Good luck guys! You are appreciated.

28. #28 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 11:41 pm

If you cannot take the heat, don’t go into the kitchen. The last time someone like that went into the kitchen he couldn’t stand and left. That is his choice. We believe in the freedom of choice and not just of speech. If you decide to go nude, then it is your business. Be a nudist. Not a Prime Minister, a President, Speaker of the House, a Senator or an MP.

29. #29 by Godfather on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 11:59 pm

One4All4One:

Thanks for your good intention. I can live with a show-off, and even with long postings that pontificate on a small point. As I pointed out on another thread, there is always a kid in the front row of the class who always raises his hand each time the teacher asks a question – and the answer is always a long-winded answer. I would throw something at this show-off kid, but I won’t hound him out of the class.

What I take issue with is the hidden agenda of this show-off to destabilise PR. It all started with his call prior to March 8 for DAP to dissociate itself from PAS. On the huddud issue, he incessantly campaigned about the dangers of PAS, and why PR in its present form is not a better alternative to BN. He even supported the MCA stand against DAP on the Huddud issue. On the Perak issue, he blamed everything on Anwar due to Anwar’s peceived support for hopping of legislators. He supported Karpal’s public outburst. Now with the Elizabeth Wong issue, he has hit out at Khalid and Anwar for their perceived “double standards”.

I don’t practise double standards. If we hit out at the likes of Kasim Amat or Cintanegara then we should mete out the same treatment to this traitor – the One Who Writes Eloquently and the One Who has a Theory on Everything.

30. #30 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 12:12 am

I agree with One4All4One’s comments on the personal lambasting here.
    C’mon guys why not use those extra key-strokes to suggest ways to improve the situation?
    Maybe if you get to know one enough better you may even enjoy a beer together sometime?

31. #31 by One4All4One on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 12:56 am

The truth of the writing will come to bear in its course.

We take the trouble to share our views and observations in the hope that we could be mutually informed and propagate what we consider as values, opinions, or principles which could result in a better and fairer world for one and all.

Even though honour, integrity, honesty, morality, etc., etc., are for others to judge, I believe we should strive to constantly and consistently live by them.

We may attempt to “prophesise”, but not to the extent of selling ourselves to the devil.

We may be biased to what we deem as fair and square, but others may have even loftier and more visionary ideals which we may subscribe to.

Let’s live and learn, for knowledge and truth always have a further and wider horizon and wisdom which we are always striving after.

Humbly yours,

32. #32 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 1:10 am

Godfather said, “What I take issue with is the hidden agenda of this show-off to destabilise PR.” He then cited examples and gave a summary of his stand : “If we hit out at the likes of Kasim Amat or Cintanegara then we should mete out the same treatment to this traitor – the One Who Writes Eloquently and the One Who has a Theory on Everything.”

I am actually very pleased Godfather has explained his mindset/attitude/stance in this posting at Yesterday at 23: 59.53 .

The contents of the posting speak for themselves and everyone could draw the proper conclusions.

I have tried to explain such mindset/attitude/stance in my posting in earlier thread but never could succeed as well as it comes from the “horse mouth” so to speak.

This is one occasion that I will not deign consider it worth the while to contradict him in my own self defence.

In fact, I applaud all that he said, especially about his perception of my “traitorious” motivations similar to Kasim Amat’s or Cintanegara’s.

I can`t possibly take his credit from what – to me – is a very perfect job of self incrimination, done very nicely, I must say.

Surely One4All4One and HJ Angus you could all see that the personal lambasting is hard to stop because there is, in his words, “no double standards” and the same treatment must be meted out just like other traitors like Kasim Amat or Cintanegara.

I look forward to it. :)

33. #33 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 1:22 am

Oh by the way, talking about enjoying a beer together per HJ Angus’s suggestion, I can’t drink when it is all foam and no beer! :)

34. #34 by frankyapp on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 1:38 am

hi guys,these umno and mca fellows really have very short memories or just pure hypocrites.Remember Perlis and Terenggannu,both the rulers rejected the PM choice of MB and these guys made so much noises against the monarchy. Now that the PR turn to make some noise,wow,bang here,bang there shouting and behaveing like silly and stupid nuts.Stop all these doubled standard,and act like real men and women. Eli.wong in nude,so what ? For those who are against her,don’t talk and act like hyprocrites.Tell me guys,don’t you ever being naked too . It’s just that you fellows managed to keep it private and confidentials.Can you umno and mca politians and ybs deny that you are not all nice and perfect angels ?.

35. #35 by Old.observer on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 1:39 am

Hmmnn …

Like most of you, my own personal view is that Eli has done nothing wrong. Whether those photos/videos really exist, she’s obviously the victim.

The Malay Mail’s role in this is really strange. According to Eli’s press statement –

“I was informed on Friday 13 February, 2009 by journalists from the Malay Mail that they have in their possession intimate photos of myself and that the newspaper will be publishing a story about these photographs.”

“I was told that some people are trying to distribute photos/videos showing me asleep in partial nudity and also in intimate positions.”

“The distribution and publication of these photos/video is a malicious attack on my personality. ”

Why do I say strange?

Well, firstly, are MSM permitted by law to publish pictures or videos of naked women?

If not, are the public expected to simply trust that there really are such pictures?

I’ve tried searching the Net for images of her nude photos/videos, and I must say that I can’t find any!

Has anyone found any nude photos / videos?

I really don’t see a problem. It seems to me the Malay Mail is bluffing.

And I definitely think Eli has over-reacted by resigning.

She has done nothing wrong, even if it was shown later that the photos/videos exist. As it is now, I’m not even sure it exist.

All I see is a head and shoulder picture, which doesn’t mean anything. I mean, we see this all the time everyday on the beach, even on the streets. Photographers can provide the same picture even when the model is fully clothed.

She should not resign.

I don’t believe there is such pictures and videos.

In any case, even if there is, how do we really know – per Lingamgate – that it is really Eli? I mean – it may look like Eli, but is it really Eli?

Old Observer.

36. #36 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 1:54 am

MSM is not permitted, as a matter of propriety as well as law, to publish pictures or videos of naked women.

They likely have such pictures/videos for verification to back their story. Or else they will be sued by Elizabeth Wong for fabricating untruths.

AS I understand it, Elizabeth herself does not deny their existence in her press statement. She only denies that she has done anything wrong.

The matter is unlikely to blow up to present proportion if the pictures (at least) if not videos were not circulated and got into MSM’s hands.

37. #37 by Old.observer on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 3:04 am

They are “likely”?

I actually think Eli is taking the prudent approach. Since she was sleeping, she couldn’t have known what other pictures/videos were taken.

In this sense, she cannot be expected to deny that there isn’t any such pictures/videos. Doing so would be presumptious on her part.

To resign is to forever forsake political office without testing whether such pictures/videos exist or not.

The other thing about resigning is –she might never be able to be a People’s Representative in future. Malay Mail / BN will hold this as ransom later on.

She should be allowed to test whether such videos/pictures exist.

At least with CSL – everything was made transparent – the DVD was circulated, made available to public, for all to see. Then, there is opportunity for closure, and CSL could start his political career again, as he has now.

But how will Eli get back to politics after this, without testing the existance of the pictures/videos, which could be used forever as ransom?

38. #38 by Ling Mazen on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 3:08 am

One more anak ayam added on my list; not a troll ….but a back-side psychologist( excuse my layman terminology). Read not the words or the analysis (anal…. my foot ,sounds like Mahathir’s sodomitysis), reasons and logics but the intent behind the commentaries!!!!! Chatterbox. How to stop it? Unplug!!!!!
    Beware of anak ayams fellas, they are cheap.

39. #39 by Old.observer on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 3:14 am

Another consideration – to support the position that such videos/pictures should be publicized if they truly exist – is to let the public decide.

If Perak loses the by-election because of Eli – ass-u-me-ing such pictures/videos exist and were distributed – then, Malaysians as a whole deserve BN government.

If we – the Rakyat – still cannot differentiate the two (holding political office, versus private life) – then, we deserve BN government.

There should be no sound reason for Eli to resign.

40. #40 by Old.observer on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 3:15 am

Sorry, it should be “If PR loses the Perak by-election”, not “If Perak loses the by-election”.

41. #41 by Old.observer on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 3:21 am

Another consideration – with today’s technology – isn’t it easy to “doctor” a picture or a video of “Eli sleeping”, when it’s not Eli?

I really don’t know why this has to be blown to such a big thing.

Are our leaders so technically challenged?

If Eli denies it a.l.a. Lingam – what can BN do? Call for a Royal Commission of Enquiry?

Eli should never have to resign.

42. #42 by Old.observer on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 3:28 am

Eli should not resign if her motive for resigning is to not jeorpadize the PR’s chances in the coming by-elections.

In fact, this is a good opportunity to test the maturity of Perakian voters.

We might be surprised that PR can still win DESPITE Eli not stepping down, and despite all the rubbish that BN throws at PR by using Eli’s nude photos/videos (if they exist).

Or look at this another way – if PR loses because BN trumpets Eli’s nude photos/videos – then, doesn’t that tells you about the maturity of Perakian voters?

There is nothing to fear except fear itself.

43. #43 by Old.observer on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 3:38 am

Furthermore, Eli claims that she’s a victim, although she has not elaborated (as far as I understand it) and many people can understand this.

From what I’ve seen, she has done nothing wrong.

If someone says she’s not capable of being prudent or allowing an intruder to come into her room to photograph here, I see this as no different from someone robbing or raping a victim.

It’s time Malaysians wake up and realize that whilst we can take precautions – rapes and thefts and burglary and murder – are events that are not fully controllable.

So, why not test this in Perak by-election?

If PR loses, then, we will know.

Noone believed last year’s GE could happen the year before.

It was tested, and we were surprised.

Let’s test this now.

Let’s not underestimate the maturity of our voters.

If we lose, then, just accept the loss and accept that Malaysia is simply too primitive to be ready to accept a PR government that promises greater maturity.

On the other hand, we might be surprised.

We might see voters rising above the occasion and reject BN’s rubbish.

44. #44 by Old.observer on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 4:27 am

1. Someone mentioned Eli is “damaged goods” … LOL!

Exactly how is she “damaged”? Because she was photographed without her consent? LOL.

2. Someone speculated that maybe, Eli resigns because she was a willing participant in the picture/video.

Look.

To me, this is exactly why Eli should not resign, but let BN/Malay Mail publicize the full video/pictures.

We cannot hide from the truth forever.

If such videos/pictures exist, eventually, it’ll come out anyway. If not this year, then, next year or the year after as long as it suits them.

If one doesn’t want to be blackmailed, then, don’t do things which your political opponent can use later. Period. Live and learn.

But first things first. You must have closure. Eli needs to put this behind her, but she cannot do this if she resigns. For better or worse, she needs the pictures/videos to surface, IF they exist.

In this sense, she can learn a lot from CSL where the DVDs surfaced, and he admitted participation, apologized, resign, and later on, came back to politics.

Eli needs the pictures/videos to surface so that she can have the opportunity to have full closure. Without it, she can never return to politics without this constantly hanging over her head.

3. Someone speculates that Eli resigned because there was graphic sexual acts, and Eli is not married and engaged in pre-marital sex.

LOL!

Again, this is one reason why Eli should NOT resign.

Otherwise, all sorts of rumours will come up.

And the truth is, no one has any control whether the photos/videos will surface later or not.

PKR leaderhip should NOT accept her resignation.

Period.

Politicians must not fear being accused of engaging in pre-marital sex.

So what if they say she engages in pre-marital sex. It is between 2 consenting adults who happens to love one another at the time of the act. It’s a private matter between the 2 consenting adults, and really none of anyone else’s business.

If Perakians cannot see this, then, the truth is they don’t deserve a PR government, and they deserve a BN government, and we should not force them to accept a PR government.

If the society is not ready for such truth, then, they are just not ready.

Let’s accept that, but still go ahead and try to educate our society better.

Let’s tell them why Perakians must look beyond Eli’s pre-marital sex (assuming she engages, which I really don’t know and couldn’t care less).

Let’s tell them why BN government corrupts Perak’s coffers.

Let Perakians make a fully informed choice.

In this economic crisis, Perakians are not stupid. Malaysians are not stupid.

But if Eli resigns, then, isn’t PR treating Malaysians as stupid?

45. #45 by trublumsian on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 5:07 am

cintanegara u spew filth from ur mouth. if being naked in ur own home behind doors is wrong, all umno peeps should be crucified the moment they disrobe in the showers! craphead.

46. #46 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 6:50 am

No one here have speculated that the man who took the photos lost the phone. That could be his argument, if caught. Then he will also be a victim.

BN would say it is also a victim because the PR and people immediately pointed fingers at BN.

Please send the guy to punishment under hudud law.

47. #47 by cemerlang on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 7:24 am

Immorality of the intimate, physical kind is punishable by stoning, only by those who have not been immoral in all sorts of ways, sayeth one wise man many moons ago. Therefore none of us fits that criteria of even picking up the first stone. Having said that, age old tried and tested traditions stand strong. Thou shalt marry. Or give thyself totally unto the Lord. Or if none of these is your taste, then remember what some experienced dude said. After eating, wash your mouth with soap and water, brush your teeth, do not leave even a single patch of oil on your mouth. Standards have to be set up among the politicians. Remember a case reported in our neighbouring country ? A certain politician fooled around with his Indonesian maid and the pictures inserted into his computer and who found out if not his wife and who caused his political career to end if not his wife ? Don’t use public money for political games. If not, the public will become poor, the country will become poor and in the end, nobody will give us even the most basic respect. Change the system of government. This five years, let the PR rules. The next five years, the BN. And it goes on alternatingly so that nobody has to be the enemy.

48. #48 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 7:41 am

Come on guys, in politics all your votes at this site constitute only , maybe less than 1% of any MP seat. You are liberal enough to state your acceptance of such incident but what about the average voters? Many will be manupulated to see otherwise!
    This is a good forum for those who have the opportunity to access to a computer and give their views.
    In spite of many of us not reading the MSMs, they still sell. This is the medium that still influences hence under strict control, though blogging is slowly creeping up the graph.
    Since EW has not come out with all the ‘truth’, the situation will be exploited by the Toyol Character! By the way, surely some one has got something on him. Let’s put one on him!!

49. #49 by Jong on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 9:27 am

We should all just leave her alone and for her, the right thing to do is to resign and move on with her life. Go somewhere and get on with life.

No point putting a bold front and say “I did no wrong” and I am proud of my sexuality. – No one disputes that! ‘Nasi sudah menjadi bubur’ – just resign, and save PKR/PR Government further embarrassment!

50. #50 by taiking on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 9:30 am

Remember Liza.
    Remember this.

FIRST.
    Did anyone express disgust and demand your resignation? None i dare say except for a few idiots from unmo. They can be ignored without any loss to you. Everyone is symphatatic, gives your his/her support and wants you to continue. You have my support too. So carry on.

SECOND.
    A lot of your supporters are young people. People who are heavy users of the net and gadgets. People who form and mold the net and the gadget culture. Believe me they know and understand your situation fully. Nudity photo shots are not an oddity to them and would not shock their system or surprise or disgust them at all. So once again i say carry on. Just carry on.

THIRD
    The idiot who did this to you obviously has the intention to discredit you and to bring your political ideals down. Perhaps not. Perhaps he or she was paid and therefore the real motive was more economy than anything else. But look at the response you received. Support. Symphaty. Pleas to continue. You have turned into a hero of the people. So again, pls carry on.

Comments are closed.