By Farish A. Noor
As someone who has known Ms Elizabeth Wong, former ADUN and Exco member of the Selangor state government, for almost ten years, I am profoundly distressed by the treatment that has been meted out to her by the mainstream and tabloid press over the revelation of photos that have compromised her. There are no words adequate enough to describe my feelings of disgust and anger over how this capable and committed activist-politician has been slandered and abused recently.
The facts surrounding the case are well known by now and one need not dwell upon them here. Suffice to say that one of the brightest, capable and efficient politicians of our land has been discredited via a malicious campaign to tarnish her reputation, that reeks of hypocrisy and conspiracy of the highest order.
What needs to be emphasised in the midst of this media hullabaloo is this: That the private lives of politicians are as sacrosanct as the right of any other citizen, and that politicians deserve the same degree of respect as anyone else. This is what we are fighting for; and this is what the elections of March 2008 were all about: Our earnest wish to see a new kind of politics in Malaysia, a new politics that would reflect and mirror the new Malaysian society that we live in today.
The ascendancy of Ms Wong and a host of other younger politicians who were elected to office last March signalled – in the clearest terms – the desire for change and reform. Malaysians of all creeds, races and gender have demonstrated that we are sick and tired of the old mode of neo-feudal communitarian politics which has hitherto been propped up by nothing more than an assembly of tired and outdated clichés. We yearn for a new Malaysia that is colour-blind, anti-racist, anti-sexist, democratic, tolerant and plural. We yearn for a new generation of professional politicians who can do their job well in the spirit of accountability and transparency. We yearn, in short, for a new political culture altogether.
Ms. Wong’s election to office demonstrated that a significant section of her constituents had faith in her abilities to translate those ideals into reality and political praxis. They voted her into power because they believed that this was a woman who would stand by the rights of all her constituents; who would further a politics of inclusivity and non-communitarianism, and that she would also foreground the needs and concerns of women as well. The proof of this is evident to all who have followed her career that has now been tragically cut short: as an advocate for gender equality, her presence in the state assembly of Selangor has ensured that the sexist culture that was so prevalent in the past ceased to continue. During the Bukit Antarabangsa landslide tragedy she was one of the few politicians who was seen present at the ground-level doing relief work while some other politicians merely procrastinated and pontificated while doing nothing.
The unfortunate turn of events that has led to her resignation has therefore robbed us – the Malaysian public – of one of the few capable elected representatives that we could count on; and the loss is that of the Malaysian public’s as much as it is hers.
Today as Malaysia heads into a recession under the febrile leadership of old politicians who remain in a state of denial, we are in need of a younger generation of elected representatives whose political orientation and political culture are different: Elizabeth did not lead, she represented. And she gave a voice to the voiceless who clamoured for attention on her behalf. Her passing out of political life – which I personally hope will be temporary – has been a blow to our common struggle for a better, newer Malaysia. It is my earnest wish that despite the setbacks she has suffered, Elizabeth Wong will continue in the struggle for a better and newer Malaysia in whatever capacity that she can.
This struggle for a new Malaysia and a new Malaysian politics is our common struggle, the struggle of the new generation of Malaysians today. One of us among our ranks has been attacked and fallen. We owe it to her as a friend and comrade to support her now, and to remain focused on the pressing need to reform the old order of our authoritarian, racist, communitarian past and its attendant institutions.

#1 by taiking on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 8:21 am
In one sentence:
“There is nothing wrong with you Elizabeth Wong.”
So continue to serve the people. The media hype is just mere puffing by some half baked umnoputras and goons. And speaking of politicking the media hype by umno will only make voters hate them even more.
#2 by Godfather on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 8:21 am
Why does “shame” have to go with “embarrassment” ? If someone steals your private pictures taken (say) 20 years ago when you were a lot younger and posts these on the internet, why should there be shame ? If someone hides a camera in the bathroom, and posts pictures of you showering, why should there be shame ?
Give the public some credit. We know when to feel shame and when to feel embarrassed. Furthermore, there is no such thing as “dress propriety” in private.
#3 by Godfather on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 8:29 am
Shame and embarrassment is when someone gets caught on video explaining how he was going to fix the judiciary and then denies that it was him in the video. Shame and embarrassment is when a senior minister promises to reveal “all” about the Port Klang bailout and then remains silent on the issue. Shame and embarrassment is when someone gets caught with cash in his suitcase in a foreign country, or some lofty official gets caught with cash in his drawer.
There is no shame in sleeping in your birthday suit.
#4 by monsterball on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 8:32 am
In Japan…whole family bathe naked….no problem
For decades…Toyo..viewing naked women in sexy magazines…no problem.
One chooses to cover up from top to bottom.OK…that’s their way of life..but do not force others to be like them.
In Europe…you can sit at the beach and view so many topless women…and if you stare at them..you are a jarkun. It’s normal.
So many world figures females…photographed in the nude without the knowing that…..view all all forgotten….no one die…no one commit suicide or resign.
All are born naked…and nakedness is the purest of one’s self…clinging to no materialistic things in life.
Doing that in privacy…sleeping totally naked in one’s own bedroom….none of others business.
But if one take advantage and snap photos of her nudity..to sell…..to revenge…to pull at one….that pe5rson must be caught and put to jail.
#5 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 8:35 am
Such incidents are bound to happen as we are all humans; but I would like to see this as test case to prove the ex-MB of selangor is still dreaming. Let’s have the by-election and see if Toyol can carry the day!
#6 by sotong on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 8:37 am
Everybody makes mistake and deserve a second chance.
Her leaders should be fully supportive of her….there is no need to resign.
#7 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 9:10 am
Eli,
Be strong, don’t resign. Don’t give in to your enemy. Once you resign, you will embolden your enemy to use the same tactic on other innocent politicians.
Don’t give your enemy the chance to say ‘You see, she resigns because she knows she is guilty.’
#8 by Toyol on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 9:27 am
Its not over yet. We will be seeing more underhanded tactics from UMNO as this is the only way they know. What can you expect form a bankrupt government? The longer they are in power, the deeper Malaysia will slide into oblivion.
MSM report nothing but scandals against PKR. What steps are the govt taking to combat the economic downturn? Everyday we read about UMNO trying to wrestle power and nothing else.
Just look at Eli’s track record compared to Toyo. Need i say more?
#9 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 9:44 am
I would not jump to the conclusions that it was politically motivated at the moment. Let the investigation be done.
I felt that PR should tell the public all it knows. Don’t let the public stay under the guessing game.
As a public figure or politician, it is like the celebrities. The freedom and rights are all robbed by the media. The politicians should be extra extra careful. I just afraid that more information will surface and the truth may be distorted by the photos and videos.
Is Keadilan harboring bugs here and there, by looking at how Saiful treated Anwar and now this case. It is a worry. BN could be installing spies all over the PR network.
#10 by JACK NG on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 10:44 am
After i read the news, i go through all the detail and work done for Elizabeth for past 10 mths when she become Selangor’s YB, honestly, she done a GOOD JOB on past 10 mths! Y she needs to resign?? nothing worng for her get along with a guy that she love to, no matter he is Malay or Indian, cause that is love! but when love is interface with MONEY, then that guy made a choice, betray his love……. all b’cos of our M’sia 50 yrs history, politik in M’sia is dirty. want to hit people, use CASH! too sad…. that is the trick for BN….. that is a common trick play by them…. Mongolia, Perak issue, i m sure those 2 frogs in Perak will free after the court judjement….. let’s see wht is our M’sia court’s judgement……. : (
In conclusion, after my discussion with my GF last nite. Elizabeth, PLS DONT GIVE UP! We support u!!! more people in M’sia may support u!
#11 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 11:36 am
The phenomenon that requires an understanding is why there are so many people on both sides of the political divide (BN or PR) who would express sympathy for elizabeth’s predicament, think she has done nothing wrong personally, condemn the distributor of the photos and yet think it is proper for her to resign her political/official position.
The report on front page of The Star 18th Feb is telling : It says (I quote) “Elizabeth Wong, whose indecent pictures are being distributed in the Internet and via SMS has tendered her resignation….”
The operative words are “indecent” pictures. They are pictures of nudity. People associate nudity or the state of undress as indecent. That is why when knocking on the foor of a lady’s bedroom one asks, “are you “decent” so that I could come in?”
Surely, a picture of nudity is not regarded as “decent”. To many people “nakedness” – and more so private consensual sex – = indecency = embarrassment especially when exposed to the public – no matter that the victim is 100% blameless in facilitating this exposure.
For example being nude in one’s own home : it is one’s right; there is nothing immoral or wrong or unlawful but that does not make it “decent” or more decent being done at home. The fact is one has the prerogative to being “indecent” in sense of being in a state of undress in privacy of one’s home but not allowed by law to have such “indecency” imposed unto public by streaking naked in public. Following that logic, anyone representing constituency (as a politician) cannot hold that position tenably when indecency of his/her nakedness has been exposed to public causing embarrassment. The problem with this is that it does not take into account or care whether the persons whose nakedness (which is = indecency) is exposed is blameworthy or otherwise an entirely innocent victim! It is a case not whether one’s indecent state of undress has happened that counts but the fact that one is “caught and exposed to public” causing embarrassment for one self & collective public.
Columnist P.GUNASEGARAM wrote a piece on “Sex, Privacy and Newspapers” on N25 of The Star in which he drew parallel between Elizabeth’s case and that of “a Malaysian beauty queen in the 80s who had nude pictures of her taken by her boyfriend” and released to the press without her consent. “The beauty queen had to step down from her position and the net result of that entire sad, sorry episode was that the boyfriend had his revenge. He was never brought to account for his actions”.
It is almost as if any representative of public, whether a politician for a constitutency or a beauty queen for the nation, is expected to represent all that is good and best about us and not our foibles, mistakes, nakedness/indecency/private consensual sex that brings any form of shame or embarrassment, in short he/she must represent too our collective hypocrisy about being human. Here blameworthy conduct seems irrelevant : what matters is the fact of public exposure and its incidenmtal embarrassment.
I submit that this is not the right or fair way of looking at things but it is. It opens the way for gutter politics.
#12 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 11:45 am
As I said earlier we have this hang up about our own and others nudity. We don’t accept its naturalness. We have to cover up or else we feel we have become “indecent”. We feel uncomfortable in other words with being undressed except imediate lovers/spouses having the privilege to know about this private aspect – the word know denoting normal knowledge or carnal knowledge. Anything else is embarrassment/shame. It is a feeling, a conditioning, and not a subject to be intellectualised whether logically it ought or ought not to be the case……
#13 by computation on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 11:54 am
in any case has anyone actually seen these photos?
what EXACTLY is so shameful about it apart from
nudity?
#14 by k1980 on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 12:01 pm
Let’s say Doulah has been photoed sleeping in the nude by a member of the opposite sex who is not married to him. Should he resign or not?
#15 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 12:02 pm
People who go to sleep in sarong beware!!! do you wear underwear below your sarong??? dont play play with lots of people who wanted to take photo below the sarong while you asleep!!!
#16 by computation on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 12:03 pm
anyway lets leave this nonsense about nude pictures
aside. its not important. whats important
is those two loathesome malay “independent”
perak assemblyman. so they have gone missing.
what is the legal position on this. can someone
go to the sultan and say look BN doesn’t have the
majority becasue these two shady characters
have gone into hiding and can hardly be effective in
representing their constituents?
over to jeffery…
:D
#17 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 12:15 pm
America has been always pointing fingers at the Islamic terrorist group in the middle east. When Oklahoma bombing of the federal building occurred in 1995, of course everyone in America was pointing fingers at the Islamic groups. America prejudged and prejudged wrongly. The culprits were not the Arabs but the domestic white Americans.
What happened if the person who took photos of Elizabeth Wong has nothing to do with BN, but merely because her relationship with this particular man that brought to this disaster. And yet the public accused the BN for planting this ugly tactics. PR will be in bad shape for making use of cheap publicity. BN will, in return, gain sympathy from the public and BN politicians can cry as much as they want. It will be a disaster for PR.
Thus I urge the politicians from PR not to make any prejudgement. Ask Elizabeth to tell all what she knows first.
#18 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 12:18 pm
Before becoming a politician, let’s take off the pants and let the media take your naked photos. Then you will be safe throughout the term as MP or YB.
#19 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 12:18 pm
k1980,
Yes and no .
Yes, because those who set the highest moral standard which is higher than God’s standard will not allow sleeping naked!!!
I wonder why God dont let the baby borned with clothes on!!! or better still, to change the genetic of human to have something to cover the baby even before being borned!!!
No, because he is Doulah!!! Got it!!!
#20 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 12:24 pm
Resignation letter is not recognised any more nowadays!!! so the best is to take a picture of the naked body and if the assemblyman refused to resign on his or her own accord after sending the presigned resignation letter, it is to send in the naked picture to all the press and all problem solved!!! Another good idea for BN!!!
#21 by yezuthsudeeb on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 12:31 pm
Dear YB Elizabeth Wong
The anguish you are going through in your personal life cannot be fully comprehended by anyone other than yourself. Our words can only be the strength and support needed during this turmoil for you to remain steadfast in your principles and goals. The community needs your vision and leadership after years of abusiveness by the Barisan Nasional government.
What had happened to you is shameful, not to you, but to the perpetrators and the schemers behind the whole issue. What is being talked about is personal and the issue should remain personal. However, in the political scenario, it is considered as weapon, especially amongst “small brain – big talk” BN politicians, such as Syed Hamid and Khir Toyo. They might even misspell the word “morality” and “leadership”. For sure they know not the meaning of these two words. Having served before at the Selangor State’s Education Arm ‘Industri Pendidikan Negeri Selangor Sdn. Bhd.’ as their Director of Corporate Services I can say definitely that there is no issue in your situation. What happened in private remains private. You are not to be faulted.
The ultimate interpretation that majority of simple folks talk about this issue is that it shows that you’re only human. Brave on and please DO NOT RESIGN. That is the peoples’ choice. Our support will always be with you and your family.
“Small brain – Big talk” Politicians
Let me firstly congratulate Khir Toyo and Syed Hamid Albar for proving to the public once again that “small brain – big talk” BN politicians are still alive and kicking up the UMNO party ladder.
The “photo” issue (not a scandal) concerning YB Elizabeth Wong is not a political issue but a personal matter that had been insidiously exploited by politicians via TV3, Utusan and NST for political mileage. What is being shown and printed by these media clearly shows that they have become the Barisan Nasional or rather UMNO’s “bitch”. (I know this article may not be published but readers must know how Malaysians are angry and frustrated with the BN and its propaganda tactics)
What has happened to Elizabeth Wong can happen to anyone. It can even happen to your mother, sister, wife, girlfriend, daughter, niece, etc. Doesn’t Syed Hamid, Khir Toyo and other of the same generic have one or more of the above? Are they so special that they have not had sex? Are their children conceived out of some magical box? Please use your brains once in while before you talk. Every time they (and some UMNO politicians) talk it is further damaging Barisan’s chances in the next General Election. Even to some the chances of BN in the upcoming by-elections are hopeless. They are digging their own graves.
What had happened to her is shameful, not to her, but to the perpetrators and the schemers behind the whole issue. What is being talked about is personal and the issue should remain personal. However, in the political scenario, it is considered as weapon, especially amongst “small brain – big talk” BN politicians, such as Syed Hamid and Khir Toyo. They might even misspell the word “morality” and “leadership”. For sure they know not of the meaning of these two words. Even if you can’t say supportive words due to the UMNO election and party-lines than refrain from making and judging ones personal life. She did not upload the photos for any financial gain. What happened was against her own will and not consented. Her privacy had been invaded and people are making judgments’ about this. Shame on you.
Today, we live in world where same sex relations are being openly practiced. Even in Malaysia, from the top level VVIPs to the man in the streets they do either practice same-sex relationship or multiple partners’ sexual escapades. There are ministers, ex-ministers and politicians who are polygamist. Elizabeth Wong’s sexual needs is her own, and personal to her. Malaysians from all walks of life, regardless of race, creed and political affiliation should band together as decent humans for once and call for the relevant authorities to take severe punitive action on the perpetrators and schemers of this issue. And, to the politicians using this to work up their votes for the UMNO election, please behave. It can happen to your own family.
As far as the majority of Malaysians are concerned, this is entirely a personal issue which she should deal within the legal system. As for her constituents and the people of Selangor state, she is doing a excellent job. Her private and public life should be separated.
YB Elizabeth Wong should not resign, for the sake of the people and the mandate they have given her. You actions are not offensive, rather you have been offended.
Sudeeb Menon
Kuala Lumpur
#22 by gyp on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 12:48 pm
pulau_sibu ,
The answer is whether the newspapers published the photo and news exposed these is BN friendly or not BN friendly.
If it is BN friendly then it involved politicaly.
#23 by mauriyaII on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 1:09 pm
Immoral, corrupt and decadent politicians are so prevalent in the UMNO controlled Barisan Neraka that morality does won’t ring a bell to these louts. When they are morally bankrupt for ideas to win over the rakyat they don’t even dig deep into their resources to come up with winning formulae
They are so seeped in corruption, murder, sex, adultry, sodomy, khalwat and whatever vices they are good at that they keep using the same as devices to attack and discredit the Opposition.
The shameless Indonesian immigrant Toyo gives credit to El Wong for resigning her posts. What about the MM idiot who became a minister by the back door even though he was caught with millions in Australia? What about the same MM who ran away with a princess of the Selangor royalty to solomnize his lust? Isn’t there local qualified Islamic religious authorities to conduct a wedding in Malaysia?
What about the musang from Malacca who raped an underaged girl and got away saying he was not aware that she was below the age of consent? For his sexual contribution to UMNO he is rewarded as the head honcho of a GLC.
What about Najis and his romps and known escapades in PD? He is known for his weakness of women that he might even mount anything in women’s clothing.
What about the immoral accumulation of wealth while in office as the MB and receiving gifts worth more than a hundred thousand ringgit? Does this botox face Toyo understand that such a big sum could have fed and clothed hundreds of poor Malay families for at least a month?
This unrepentant idiot who is standing for elections to become the UMNO Youth president doesn’t even have the welfare of the Malays at heart, let alone the welfare of all in Malaysia.
If this Indon immigrant had the decency and the moral standing he would have resigned after losing the Selangor state govenment to PR.
If anybody should resign it should be the botox Toyo. Resign if you are man enough or do the next best thing: Just Drop Dead. It would pave way for another bye-election.
Take a good look at yourself Botox Toyo before you open your stinking mouth to pontificate to others who are thousand times better than you.
#24 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 1:10 pm
YB Kit,
The unwarranted dissemination of Elizabeth Wong’s indecent photo seems to be no issue to most reasonable men-on-the-street in Malaysia. However, this incident has led to another issue which requires much more focus and trivial insight by the Politicians, that is the moral issue.
It seems that the multi-culture and multi-religion backgrounds of various groups of Malaysian people have brought up the diversities in the moral standards. If moral standards are some meassurement yardsticks which will be used to measure what is morally unacceptable and what is morally acceptable in our everyday life practices, then it is critical for the component parties of Pakatan Rakyat to sit down together in order to find the common ground of moral standards in a plural society.
If the component parties of PR does not set a bottom line of basic moral values for all the members of PR to adopt and follow, then it is likely to lead to the possible dispute in moral issues once in a while when a disputable incident has happened. For instance, some conservative Moslems in Malaysia can be very demanding in the clothing decency of all adult female citizens in Malaysia but some liberal non-Moslem citizens may insist on their rights to freedom of dresscode or fashion style. The moral issues are some critical thing which requires much reconciliation among DAP, PKR and PAS. The PR leaders should at least try to reconcile among themselves by starting from adoption of a common guideline of official dresscode for all PR members to follow.
If effort is not being taken in order to enhance the membership cohesiveness and common goal congruence of PR’s component parties, it will not be surprised that sooner or later PR will eventually be driven to the edge of breakup and disintegration in the midst of Najib’s aggresive sabotage, whether by hook or by crook! Please don’t underestimate Najib for he is a man who believes in the motto of “the ends justify the means”!
#25 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 1:14 pm
Talking about moral standard, do we consider gambling and drinking (lot of drinking until drunk) acceptable? I think most educated Chinese would not accept this. However, the government allows Chinese to become bad people. WHY? How many 4D do we have every week? The government wants to kill the Chinese in order to extract the tax from us?
I WANT PAS TO RULE, AND NO MORE BN. PAS is an excellent political party that promises us to get rid of these social illnesses.
#26 by miko on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 1:23 pm
Nake picture…. Where ? Why can’t Liz sue them for millions ! and why isn’t police doing nothing ?
Liz must not quit… Anwar will lose his popularity
#27 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 1:26 pm
“I WANT PAS TO RULE, AND NO MORE BN. PAS is an excellent political party that promises us to get rid of these social illnesses.” (pulau_sibu)
Pulau_sibu will have the full rights to express his aspiration of wanting PAS to rule if he is a Moslem. However, the core issue will still be that “how PAS is going to reconcile Hudud with the DAP’s Secular Ideology?” in order to accomplish the final aim of power sharing among DAP, PKR and PAS.
PR component parties have to sit together in order to make themselve clear on the issue of moral standards first before they are really able to continue fighting for their political cause as intimate comrades for the overall betterment of all Malaysians.
#28 by cto on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 1:33 pm
# pulau_sibu Says:
Today at 12: 15.01 (1 hour ago)
……
Thus I urge the politicians from PR not to make any prejudgement. Ask Elizabeth to tell all what she knows first.
——————
In her press release, she mentioned that she has offered to resign to protect the party. These pictures were aimed not only to discredit her but the party as well.
The thing that fascinates me about this episode is the premium that the press seem to place on nudity and sexuality over corruption and interfering with the judiciary system. Two wrongs do not make a right but there are some things are more wrong than others in my honest opinion. I wish the press would report corruption and tampering with the judiciary system with the same sort of vigor that they have shown in the CSL and EW cases.
#29 by democrate on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 1:35 pm
?????????????“?????????????????????????????????”
Translation:’ We hope Elizabert will be couraged to live like a sunflower, forever facing the Sun and go after the Sun.’
These are the words given by 37 groups of non political organisations at Kuan Seng High School. KL.
#30 by distantmalay on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 1:41 pm
track record ! track record !
YB Eli has a fine track record of serving the people,
it is the only thing that matters,
now that is taken away, and the people lost a fine Representative.
it’s a case of “if it ain’t broken, fix it.”
#31 by JACK NG on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 1:48 pm
As human being, nothing worng that we sleep without clothes, cause not in public area, that is her house, her room!!! wht’s wrong with that??? in addition, those photo was taken when she was slept, she was not aware the photos were taken by that unresponsible BF! Elizabeth didnt do anything wrong!! so when take bath, must wear and take bath with water at the same time in the bath room? logic? think careful. man!
in addition, wht is the reason Elizabeth’s bf needs to do so? who paid him cash? Y police dont check to his bank account, see where the money come from? banker? which back? account? which account? who? who register this account? 3rd party? who gave him the cash..
in conclusion who is the final planner, wht is final gain in this case? personal? goverment? or?
Police may do their OWN duty, not only take the photo to Police Station or share with others??? please be professional. help M’sian, help people, help our future…
if Police still remain the case like Anwar, Perak…. then M’sia really no hope….
#32 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 1:55 pm
What is bad about Hudud? You are afraid the fingers been chopped off? Only if you try to misbehave. There is no problem with ordinary good citizens.
#33 by lizzie on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 2:04 pm
YB Lim, I hope the Pakatan leaders will carefully consider before deciding on what to do.
Amongst the electorates are many women, I am one of them. While we are aware that it is the ‘good works’ of Bijan’s party, by playing into their hands may spell trouble for pakatan.
Even the Gerakan and MCA wanita chiefs have made their stand that Elizabeth shld not resign. Take note of that, YB Lim. Ignorign it may mean that, at the next ceramah, their talks will be that pakatan have not respect for women and their rights to privacy.
Jesus did not cast a stone at Mary Magdelene, though she was guilty. In the context of our modern times, though I personally do not condone pre-marital sex, what Elizabeth did was not wrong. Her right to privacy was being denied, and the revelation is haram. I hope the Pas leaders can see that and throw their support behind elizabeth, instead of applauding her resignation as an act of ‘high integrity’.
In the case of elizabeth, considering our present times of need, (eg., the corporates and interested parties who stand to gain thru raping our hills), to deny the nation of an efficient, effective, passionate and honest legislator, would in fact be an act of atrocity against the rakyat who voted Pakatan into power.
#34 by JACK NG on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 2:46 pm
MCA’s Chua adviced Elizabth resigned her post….. that is totally different, he did something which is wrong! betray his family, his wife, his children…. his action in the room is totally illegal under moral and ethics……
accordint to Elizabeth, she is betray by her BF, i m believe, she is love her bf also during the time. she is suffer by someone, she is nothing wrong. y she need to resigned? we should support her instaed of thrown the responsbile to her burden… be rational a bit. Our MCA’s Chua. Please clarify your statement.
Note: YOU ARE TOTALLY DIFFERENT COMPARE TO OUR ELIZABETH. her behave is strong and praised by us. she is our hope and angel, she our poor people. but you, act as high class of human-being.
You resigned during the time, cause you are guilty. ok? men!
#35 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 2:51 pm
Pulau Sibu,
Cukuplah tu tentang huduk boleh solve semua problem kecil atau besar, semua boleh solve!!! Tiap2 hari pun cakap tentang hudud, mulut tak masam ke??? orang dulu2 tanpa hudud pun tak ada problem, mengapa sekarang banyak problems macam2 tak habis2 di negara2 Islam yang sudah pakai hudud???
#36 by cheng on on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 3:05 pm
That Khi(nzi)r Koyak may had a khinzir brain, khinzir brain cannot differentiate this Eli case and that Chua sl case.
Hey, why police no going around confiscate all such photo, like chua sl case, (police went around hunting for such tapes, and gave serious warning against anyone having one such tape), this time police diam diam saja??
#37 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 3:11 pm
“What is bad about Hudud?” (pulau_sibu)
There may be nothing bad and nothing wrong about Hudud. It is not the punishment methods of Hudud that really matter so much to the non-Moslem Malaysians since the capital punishment and canning which Malaysia currently practises can be equally cruel in the eyes of some soft-hearted people.
When we talk about Hudud, it is “how you are going to convince the majority Malaysian people and the foreign investors to happily accept it” that does matter much to us. A democracy by way of election is the vote-counting game. The basic issue about Hudud will finally be reduced to “how PR is going to improve its popularity and win the majority votes in the next General Election by making the proposal for the implementation of Hudud in Malaysia?” and we don’t need extensive logical reasoning here in order for us to reject Hudud from the very first beginning! Hudud is just simply too unpopular among the non-Moslem people of Malaysia.
#38 by bennylohstocks on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 3:21 pm
ELI’S NUDE!!
#39 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 3:22 pm
If she has resigned from PKR, then it no longer concerns me. If she does not, unwilling to, changes her mind, then I would like to know if there are any more such photographs. I’m not interested in what those photos show but only for the purpose of knowing if she could be blackmailed later on. These series of photos may be the tip of the iceberg.
She could always contribute to the national freedom for justice for all, liberty and all that bull.
#40 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 3:23 pm
oooo[s national struggle for justice for all, liberty etc as an ordinary member of PKR.
#41 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 3:24 pm
When I said that “Hudud is just simply too unpopular among the non-Moslem people of Malaysia”, I don’t mean that Hudud is bad.
What I mean is that “by looking backward to the darker side of the past history in relation to what has happened in Iran in the implementation of Hudud, majority non-Moslem people of Malaysia simply do not find any encouragement for them to have enthusiasm in the adoption of Hudud as the enforceable law of Malaysia.”
#42 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 3:26 pm
I think we have fallen into the trap of MCA as well as UMNO. MCA used Hudud to scare and frighten the Chinese and non-muslims, and now the Chinese are exactly against Hudud. For whatever religions, fanatics are not wanted, either for Christianity or Jewish or… Besides that we would be able to live in harmony. I just feel that we need to tighten the laws a bit for the non-muslims, especially gambling, drugs, drinking,… are getting serious nowadays.
#43 by gyp on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 3:30 pm
The problem with HUDUD is, the HUDUD promote threat, hate and violence
instead of
Teach, Care and Love.
#44 by Bobster on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 3:45 pm
Money can buy anything in this country, be it voters, elected MP, town councils, EC, ministers, editors/reporters, correct-correct lawyers/judges, police, NGOs, cybertroopers, traitors …. Malaysia Boleh!
Things going to get worst even before the soon-and-soon becoming the next PM. What do you expect since the system allows controversial figure tainted with corruptions and murder allegations to head the office without being elected by the rakyat, only ummo consists probably 10-15% of the population determines faith of the country, Toyo continue to create havoc in the country? :(
#45 by lizzie on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 4:28 pm
It appears to me that, the general feeling of every modern progressive thinking person thinks Elizabeth shld stay on.
Now’s the tough part…. Shld pakatan let her go becuz of Pas stand on morality, this may put people off Pakatan. Sorry to imply pas is the deciding factor, but honestly, I don think it wld be an issue for dap or pkr to retain elizabeth.
I do not know enough about hudud to speak ill of it, but if PAS perceives Elizabeth to not hve the level of integrity that is acceptible to them, it wld be very soon that BN will remind us that PAS = EXTREMISM. Try explain it to the electorates of bukt lanjan that PAS is not extremist, if elizabeth has to go becus of them.
All the good that has been accoplished in the last 10 months will be flushed down the toilet bowl, if pakatan leaders don make the right move now.
#46 by lizzie on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 4:36 pm
The next time the man with the money bags come calling on the pakatan MPs or ADUNs to defect, it wld be much easier. If the offer of money and power does not work, just open up the Malay Mail or the Sun, and show them what can happen the money offer is declined.
I am just think… if I am a pakatan MP, or Sgor ADUN, and I have some practised indiscretion like, erm… pre-marital sex, I will be under a lot of pressure. Give in and collect the $$$ NOW, or stand my ground, and be exposed, and then my Pakatan bosses will remove me….
Come on, Pakatan, take care of your staff… arent they your best resource???
#47 by sotong on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 4:41 pm
There are more critical issues facing our country……if our politicians ( BN & PR ) are concerned about this minor issue grossly blown out of proportion, then we have a huge problem with leadership.
#48 by sotong on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 4:48 pm
Women, from now on, should be very careful of Toyols…….these are very bad and naughty creatures!!!
#49 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 4:50 pm
According to PKR insiders, the embattled Wong may be allowed to continue as Bukit Lanjan assemblyman but will relinquish her executive council position in the Selangor Government. This is good news as she does not have to give up her political career. Also, PR will not be burdened by another by-election as they are already stretched by the upcoming by-elections in Perak and Kedah.
Once Wong resigns, she will have to wait for 5 years before she is qualified to be elected as assemblywoman.
#50 by jamesong88 on Wednesday, 18 February 2009 - 4:58 pm
From an individual and non-political perspective, I question the situation and the opportune for the pictures to be taken. ( I read The Malay Mail today) How can a person known to her be trusted with such intimacy, and allowing this to happen. I question her logic why she allows this to happen. Who took advantage of the pictures is another story. Sometimes, even the smartest of people do the most outrageous, and in this case, pure stupidity and the question of moral issue. She should move aside because personal credibility is the basis of political trust.