Elizabeth Wong and Our Hope for a New Politics in Malaysia

By Farish A. Noor

As someone who has known Ms Elizabeth Wong, former ADUN and Exco member of the Selangor state government, for almost ten years, I am profoundly distressed by the treatment that has been meted out to her by the mainstream and tabloid press over the revelation of photos that have compromised her. There are no words adequate enough to describe my feelings of disgust and anger over how this capable and committed activist-politician has been slandered and abused recently.

The facts surrounding the case are well known by now and one need not dwell upon them here. Suffice to say that one of the brightest, capable and efficient politicians of our land has been discredited via a malicious campaign to tarnish her reputation, that reeks of hypocrisy and conspiracy of the highest order.

What needs to be emphasised in the midst of this media hullabaloo is this: That the private lives of politicians are as sacrosanct as the right of any other citizen, and that politicians deserve the same degree of respect as anyone else. This is what we are fighting for; and this is what the elections of March 2008 were all about: Our earnest wish to see a new kind of politics in Malaysia, a new politics that would reflect and mirror the new Malaysian society that we live in today.

The ascendancy of Ms Wong and a host of other younger politicians who were elected to office last March signalled – in the clearest terms – the desire for change and reform. Malaysians of all creeds, races and gender have demonstrated that we are sick and tired of the old mode of neo-feudal communitarian politics which has hitherto been propped up by nothing more than an assembly of tired and outdated clichés. We yearn for a new Malaysia that is colour-blind, anti-racist, anti-sexist, democratic, tolerant and plural. We yearn for a new generation of professional politicians who can do their job well in the spirit of accountability and transparency. We yearn, in short, for a new political culture altogether.

Ms. Wong’s election to office demonstrated that a significant section of her constituents had faith in her abilities to translate those ideals into reality and political praxis. They voted her into power because they believed that this was a woman who would stand by the rights of all her constituents; who would further a politics of inclusivity and non-communitarianism, and that she would also foreground the needs and concerns of women as well. The proof of this is evident to all who have followed her career that has now been tragically cut short: as an advocate for gender equality, her presence in the state assembly of Selangor has ensured that the sexist culture that was so prevalent in the past ceased to continue. During the Bukit Antarabangsa landslide tragedy she was one of the few politicians who was seen present at the ground-level doing relief work while some other politicians merely procrastinated and pontificated while doing nothing.

The unfortunate turn of events that has led to her resignation has therefore robbed us – the Malaysian public – of one of the few capable elected representatives that we could count on; and the loss is that of the Malaysian public’s as much as it is hers.

Today as Malaysia heads into a recession under the febrile leadership of old politicians who remain in a state of denial, we are in need of a younger generation of elected representatives whose political orientation and political culture are different: Elizabeth did not lead, she represented. And she gave a voice to the voiceless who clamoured for attention on her behalf. Her passing out of political life – which I personally hope will be temporary – has been a blow to our common struggle for a better, newer Malaysia. It is my earnest wish that despite the setbacks she has suffered, Elizabeth Wong will continue in the struggle for a better and newer Malaysia in whatever capacity that she can.

This struggle for a new Malaysia and a new Malaysian politics is our common struggle, the struggle of the new generation of Malaysians today. One of us among our ranks has been attacked and fallen. We owe it to her as a friend and comrade to support her now, and to remain focused on the pressing need to reform the old order of our authoritarian, racist, communitarian past and its attendant institutions.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 3:42 pm

Nothing much to say except……serve you right Elizabeth……you deserve the punishment that you received

2. #2 by k1980 on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 3:47 pm

So, cintanegara, you want her to be sulaed like Masyuri in Langkswawi? To see whether her blood is white or red?

3. #3 by prelude3372 on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 4:03 pm

Cintanegara and kinzir toyol….hope you guys have doughters…and god would return the favor…

4. #4 by mycroft on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 4:05 pm

Well looking at cintanegara’s comments here and in a previous posting, it just reminds me why democracy is so dangerous. Imagine, someone like him or her or it has a vote! And of course, it also shows why abortion should not only be legal but encouraged too.

5. #5 by Tonberry on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 4:17 pm

there, we have an extremist Malay called cintanegara, who has no respect for women. Together with some pro-Umno bloggers like Husin Lempoyang, AM Ubaidah, WBHim & others, they are a disgrace to Islam and should be sent to Hell to be burnt alive.

btw, cintanegara, that has to be the dumbest statement you’ve made so far.

6. #6 by petyew on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 4:20 pm

Agreed completely with Farish. There is an insiduous campaign to discredit PR politicians. It is a wakeup call to PR to stay alert and to remind their members to be ever watchful.

7. #7 by bclee on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 4:22 pm

stand firm El.wong don’t resign the rakyat voted you because you are capable and the rakyat need you.
    this is all political motivated so don’t fall on thier setup.

8. #8 by Steven on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 4:24 pm

I hope Mr Lim won’t delete my comments here as I am as outrage as any “like-minded” Malaysians would be!!!
    First of all, to scumbags like “cintanegara”….if you want to go back to the days of your ancestors using blowpipes to hunt for food….keep on saying and doing what you animals do best, and you will get there fast. This country is already going down the dogs and you won’t even know what hits you when the recession sets in. No one in this country is minding the fort and doing any positive things about the worsening economy and yet they are happily playing with gutter politics of the worst kind!
    To Elizabeth…why should you resign! Heh..it’s not your fault and what you do in private is your business and nobody’s else. I sleep naked too and if any one is interested to come photo me, you are most welcome. Only thing mine is a batang!

9. #9 by chengho on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 4:28 pm

Well said farish you want 2 sets of standard and 1 for PR with new defination of morality as a leader of Rakyat
    you should stand for the by erection..oopp…by election….

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 4:35 pm

Malaysiakini reports : “Selangor Menteri Besar Abdul Khalid Ibrahim said that the Selangor government will seek the views of state ruler Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah on how it should deal with the controversy surrounding executive councillor Elizabeth Wong.”

Is PKR’s ‘new’ politics that holds justice and human rights as core values which transcend gender, ethnicity and class – and gutter politics – alone NOT sufficient to guide how Selangor government should react to Elizabeth Wong’s offer of resignation?

With all respect to HRH the Sultan, whose wisdom is not doubted, isn’t Khalid Ibrahim’s action a kind of “passing the buck” to the Ruler, when PKR should bear the burden alone on that decision? As constitutional head of religion, would a Ruler have many options on this matter by way of guidance?

Is royal guidance, sought, required mandatorily to be followed/abided?

How does the Selangor situation of seeking royal guidance jive with the situation in Perak in which royal decision (let alone) guidance on MB’s appointment has not be followed by PR?

If (procedurally) constitutional monarch’s guidance will have to be respected, then PR must likewise be prepared that BN would, in connection to Perak State assembly affairs, refer the issue of Mohd Nizar and his PR’s state councillors running a ‘shadow government’ parallel to Zamri’s to HRH Sultan of Perak (again) for guidance, and if the guidance were that Mohd Nizar and his PR’s state councillors running a ‘shadow government’ should immediately desist and disband to end the charade, will PR abide by the royal decision/guidance?

Please note that institution of monarchy, albeit constitutional, is synonymous with upholding tradition.

This is not symmetrical with “our hopes for New Politics” espoused by PKR as stated by Farish Noor.

New Politics surely is not consistent with tradition, is it?

11. #11 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 4:48 pm

The victim Elizabeth Wong is punished and her predator gets away free – that is new politics in Bolehland??!!

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 4:48 pm

In the beginning Elizabeth said she did nothing wrong and the question of her resigning did not arise when she said that “I will in the meantime continue to carry out my task of serving the people of Selangor faithfully.”

She said very clearly she had done nothing wrong and added “that I am not ashamed of my sexuality as a woman and as a single person. I have broken no law. I stand by the fundamental principle in a democracy that has a right to privacy.”

She also said, “Parti Keadilan Rakyat stands for ‘new’ politics that holds justice and human rights as core values which transcend gender, ethnicity and class. ‘New’ politics also means we rise above gutter politics.”

How come then she now changed her stance so quickly to offer her letter of resignation? The question must be asked : did PR Selangor state government induce her to tender in her resignation?

And to avoid the prospect of not being accused of not walking the talk on “new politics” conveniently pass the buck to HRH the Sultan of Selangor, the constitutional head of Islam, for guidance – when I don’t see the Perak state councillors led by Mohd Nizar turn to the Perak ruler for guidance (instead did not abide with HRH the Sultan’s to step down as MB in favour of Zamri)?

Is there a double standard here?

?

13. #13 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 4:54 pm

In Bolehland,

When a woman/girl is raped, we blame her for the clothes she wear.

When a woman/girl modesty is outraged when she was illegally spied upon (peeping tom) in her own residence when she is asleep (meaning it was not a concious decision), the opposition leader of Selangor ADUN demand that the victim be punished for her lax in morality.

Malaysia Truly Asia, Truly Boleh!

Emily Pratt

14. #14 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 4:55 pm

The arithmetic does not add up. “New Politics” my foot – more like old wine in new bottle.

15. #15 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 5:04 pm

I thought the older the wine, the better (provided you store it properly so that it does not turn into vinegar).

Give me old wine in new bottle any time instead of new wine in old bottle.

Hang a goat’s head, but sell dog meat…

16. #16 by Godfather on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 5:16 pm

Yes, it is the two Jeffs who have the ultimate agenda of questioning every decision by PR/PKR which is causing all these problems. One Jeff is a Gerakan plant, while the other is a…well…just a crapshooting lawyer.

If you folks just quiet down and not even bother to reply to the childish and sexist comments of Tempe, Ali Rusty, cinta-sendiri, my erstwhile AP partner Kasim Amat, the storm will simply die down in 30 days. You allow yourselves to be manipulated into a frenzy by people with the obvious agenda of killing off PR, PKR and PAS.

17. #17 by madmix on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 5:20 pm

If chastity and morality is an issue, we should look at BN politicians. There are a few well known BN leaders who keep mistresses and are known to be fond of “playing’ around.

18. #18 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 5:27 pm

Baradan Kuppusamy reported in The MalaysiaInsider Feb 17:’The party debated the issue long and hard on Monday night and early Tuesday and although it is so painful we had to let her go,” said a senior PKR leader who could not be identified because he is not authorised to comment on the issue. “The party comes first, it has to be protected,” the person said. “We felt our political enemies would extensively exploit the images and other materials during the Bukit Gantang and Bukit Selambau (April 7) by-elections,” the person said. “The party would be badly damaged.” “Najib’s rise coincides with the loss of Perak and the injection of new vigour into Umno and BN and consequently giving the impression that the Pakatan Rakyat tide might have reached its zenith. Some quarters say BN/Umno – given the changing circumstances and other factors – can possibly win Bukit Gantang or even Bukit Selambau but probably not Bukit Lanjan.Therefore, a comfortable victory in Bukit Lanjan would boost the Pakatan Rakyat at a time when it seems to be in retreat after losing Perak and facing allegations of defections of its representatives in Kedah and Selangor.
    In that sense, letting Wong go, saving the image of PKR and winning back Bukit Lanjan, are shrewd political calculations. She had enemies within and outside, a colleague said.’

Baradan Kuppusamy summarised, “The need to uphold a higher moral ground in comparison with the Barisan Nasional (BN) and shrewd political calculations are behind the resignation of Elizabeth Wong.”

I ask how can you be on a higher moral ground in comparison with the Barisan Nasional (BN) when if you said Elizabeth had done nothing wrong and that she was a victim of gutter politics, you reward/give in to the calculations of gutter politicians by creating (party-wise) a situation that she has to resign??? Whatever happen to “new politics”? Bottom line you’re still talking about “letting Wong go, saving the image of PKR to prevent BN exploiting the images and other materials during the Bukit Gantang and Bukit Selambau (April 7) by-elections and winning back Bukit Lanjan, shrewd political calculations” – everything but the principle of right or wrong, and indirectly in the process giving gutter politicians the motivation to continue this kind of black mail – because such blackmail always yields the desired result of forcing the resignation of the victim! How does that put the party, with all these calculations, on a higher moral plane, I wish to know???

19. #19 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 5:29 pm

“One Jeff is a Gerakan plant, while the other is a…well…just a crapshooting lawyer” so says the crapfather….

20. #20 by JACK NG on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 5:38 pm

Today is the first time i log in….

First, cintanegara, if the case happen to urself or any of ur family member, what is your re-action. lie on the road and wait for people present you a great reward? rape? take photo or video and re-loaded to the you-tube? that is good idea, rite? i dont know where you come from? UMNO? MCA? or underworld?

Second, my opinion, Under this situation, as woman or as a human-being, we are not different each other even as DAP lah, PKR lah, MCA lah. we should stand up and find what is the root cause! who is the person who sent the photo to “The Sun”? why he do so? most likely CASH! but who give him the “CASH”? then where the “CASH” coming from? our RAKYAT? our “Banker”? i m not a smart guy, but this is a very common root cause to look for? but our POLICEMAN is able to do so? or they waiting the fax from big boss then continue their job?

If that guy is really love Elizabeth, i dont think he will spend more than 1 yr to wooing her. rite? but under cash issue…. anything can heppen, like Perak. SHE work with DAP more than 20 Yrs… but with CASH issue, she can do anything, even betray hundred of thousand of M’sian in Perak. that is an another sad story in M’sia.

21. #21 by Godfather on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 5:42 pm

This is the same crapshooting lawyer who quoted Badawi’s “recent” comments, only to find out later that it was from Badawi’s speech a year earlier. The same person who pontificates about the risks of Islamisation, the untrustworthiness of PAS and PKR. The same person who makes U-turns depending on which senior person supports or contradicts this crapshooter’s position.

The same person who writes “I wasn’t presumptious when I say that I write eloquently” and then try to explain that what he meant was that he did not make any presumption – when the truth of a show-off like him can only mean “it wasn’t a presumption, it was a well-known fact”.

22. #22 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 5:46 pm

Crapfather (as in father of all craps) says “One Jeff is a Gerakan plant” which is an insinuation that DAP is naive enough to bring in a ‘Gerakan plant’ and let him have the Jelutong seat…If you want to give random crap allegations, have the decency to do so in his blog than spew them here in a space in which counter party does not likely visit and hence has no opportunity to reply.

23. #23 by Jong on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 5:47 pm

This is most disturbing and I abhor such irresponsible action by those moronic asshats! How low can they go in their political game? – peeping into bedrooms, under the sarongs and into people’s private lives is gross invasion of a person’s privacy!
    “Peeping” is a perversion classed in same category as “paedophilia” which is similar to sodomy and stealing.

Having said that, I am also saddened and most disappointed by the quality of some PKR politicians who can’t even be discrete with their sex lives?

Ten months in power, see the amount of problems and embarrassment they have caused in Pakatan Rakyat Government. Look at the two Perak PKR
    toadies that had contributed much to the downfall of PR State Government! Perakians are still very sore for the betrayal and the anger has not subsided yet. It is felt everywhere all over the State of Perak.

Those two PKR State Assemblymen were hardly embarrassed and unashamed when ‘caught and exposed’ they were offered china prostitutes for entertainment, even came out with statements like -“dia bagi, terima la”!

Now we have Eli Wong ’sleeping in partial nudity and also in intimate positions’ (quote her statement), and alleged ex-boyfriend in her room took her pix, without her concent? Then why is she refrained from naming that bast*rd? Let the public skin him!

24. #24 by ekompute on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 5:50 pm

Elizabeth Wong doesn’t look like a woman who would pose nude for the public to see. She must be the victim of some conspiracy. And we must thank the pro-government local media for its journalistic ethics, never mind that they are already non-professional in their approach to journalism. After all, Malaysian newspapers are not newspapers, they are political instruments of the ruling party.

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 5:57 pm

Crapfather remarks at 17: 42.27 (4 minutes ago) are of course not deserving of being dignified a response: for the simple reason that I am not an issue in this thread and neither is his view of me an issue. The “attack the messenger ploy” ie by side-tracking with attack on messenger’s character or tendencies is of course a hackneyed strategy of person(s) bereft or bankrupt of other more credible means to challenge a particular message. It is getting a bit boring, and I thought you would enliven my evening by something new. :)

26. #26 by Godfather on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:03 pm

“The One who Writes Eloquently” has only one agenda – to assist in the split-up of PR. He highlights inter-party differences on huddud, Islamisation, anti-hopping legislation, and now the Elizabeth Wong saga. He wants the DAP to quit PR. He points out his perception of double standards. He wants Anwar to quit. He even pointed out that RPK’s quoted remarks in the STAR (calling for the resignations of Kit, Hadi and Anwar) was more likely to be accurate than inaccurate.

With friends like this crapshooter with his foot long postings, who needs enemies ?

27. #27 by Godfather on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:10 pm

Does the One Who Writes Eloquently not know who Baradan Kuppusamy work for ? Does he not know that Baradan twists and turns and recently misquoted Kit without offering an apology ?

So if Baradan writes an article quoting a senior PKR source as asking for Wong to resign, something must be wrong with PKR ? Especially now that Anwar has asked Wong to reconsider her “quit” decision ?

The One who Writes Eloquently should be relegated to the back row seat.

28. #28 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:11 pm

Yesterday we got to hear from the police that they have the person who exposed the photos but they are no revealing his idendity as yet but today we heard he is hiding some where in Indonesia. Don’t we all smell fish here? There is a POWERFUL group behind this ‘worse than animal’ act for sure.

Uncle Lim, Pakatan must be on RED alert from all kinds of despicaple attacks from BN. They are not going down tamely without a fight, by hook or by crook. Pakatan reps must be fully aware of the “against all odds” struggle for a true transparent, Just, clean & democratic Malaysia against a ruthless BN regime that has not waver a bit from its arrogant & big bully mentality since 308.

Pakatan Reps especially those in the Pakatan control states cannot affort to drift into complacency.There are dangerous BN snippers, baiters, traps & smearers etc etc out there eager to gun you down, one by one. Understand that you are not here to build a personal political career & definitely not for the amount in your pay cheques & the perks (like Camry Hee), you are to remain focused & steadfast on the noble course that you all have started when you have chosen to be on the opposition side to serve your constituents & to keep a tight check on/ expose all BN Federal Government corrupt endevours. We the common rakyat will cheer you on to the finish line.

29. #29 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:12 pm

However I am also amused that Crapfather’s first substantial contribution to the subject in this thread blog under discussion is (from out of the blues) about me! Never mind about the irrelevance. Must be on your mind most times ha ha :)

30. #30 by grace on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:14 pm

cintanegara, I think you might have morals no better than BN.
    Yes, in BN , corruption is rampant. Isn’t corruption more shameful than sleeping naked.
    Within the confine of one’s room, how one sleep is none of your bloody business.
    Antway, wasting my breath talking to a moron like you.
    Coming to Elizabeth, she should not resign. Afterall it is no crime to be naked.

31. #31 by taiking on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:24 pm

Like toyo, cintanegara obviously has a loose tongue and sparely spaced grey cells.

Remember, cells can and do die after a while. So better keep production up. You dont want to lose too many of them cells. And one more thing. Hope your tongue does not just fall off suddenly. Its really kinda of loose aint it?

32. #32 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:26 pm

What is there for Anwar to ask Wong to reconsider her “quit” decision when, after delivering the quit notice the ball is in the Selangor state govt’s court, and he could just direct the Selangor State govt/MB to reject her offer to quit, there being then no need for Khalid to seek royal guidance???

33. #33 by Jong on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:33 pm

I agree with Jeffrey, why the “double standard”, why now get the Sultan of Selangor involved in politics of the State? Why take a different stand when it comes to Perak? :D

34. #34 by KennyGan on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:36 pm

What naked photos? Those were photos of a fully clothed woman sleeping. If you want to see go here:

http://sotong-itu.blogspot.com/2009/02/elizabeth-wong-scandal-picture.html

WARNING! NO NUDITY! Don’t expect to get excited over them. It’s a photo of a fully clothed woman sleeping and some scum (Khir Toyo?) shooting up her skirt. It’s grainy, blurry and dark and nothing much can be seen.

Liz Wong may have been told there will be more coming but I strongly believe there is nothing more. Why would anyone circulate such useless unexciting photos to destroy somebody if they have anything better?

This is just a BN plot to try to get Liz Wong to quit. Shame on those who practice such gutter politics.

35. #35 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:39 pm

Though Baradan may have misquoted Kit on one occasion it is misleading to say that by that incident one could conclude that he amplifies disproportionately all other writings/comments regarding his sources on what happened in PKR party’s deliberations on Elizabeth Wong’s issue on Monday night and early Tuesday. What he reported is consistent instead with the twists and turns of Elizabeth Wong’s position, first “I will in the meantime continue to carry out my task of serving the people of Selangor faithfully” and shortly after that “in the interests of the party, I have decided to offer my resignation as exco and state rep”, the key operative words being “in the interests of the party” that is likely urged upon her.

and recently

36. #36 by KennyGan on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:42 pm

And don’t forget the gutter Umno owned newspaper, Malay Mail which saw it fit to blow a non-issue out of proportion. It’s all a sordid political conspiracy.

37. #37 by pendatang1 on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:47 pm

Nothing much to say. It just like \rape\ victim has been punished for her \wrong doing\. The focus should be put on the man, \rapist\ who invaded privacy of someone private life.

If one day, any politician get tape having sex at home with their spouse, would he/she be regarded as crime.

Eli should not and no need to resign, the rakyat are mature enough to judge.

38. #38 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:47 pm

“This is just a BN plot to try to get Liz Wong to quit. Shame on those who practice such gutter politics.” – Kenny Gan

Agreed : so why should PKR gratify such gutter politics by rewarding and giving success to that plot by getting Elizabeth out on the excuse of party interests?

Supposing I am wrong – that it wasn’t for party interests that she be out but that she should stay – on ground of principle. Then even if she tendered graciously her resignation in good faith to show that she did not put her self interest above party’s, it would behoove the party and the Selangor state govt to do right by rejecting her quit offer instead of seeking royal guidance from Sultan of Selangor whilst not abiding with guidance or directive of Perak sultan! What is the logic here??

39. #39 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:50 pm

By Farish A. Noor

“As someone who has known Ms Elizabeth Wong, former ADUN and Exco member of the Selangor state government, for almost ten years, I am profoundly distressed by the treatment that has been meted out to her by the mainstream and tabloid press over the revelation of photos that have compromised her.”

This is previously why she should be the patriot that she claims to be. Resign and spare PR the unnecessary publicity it is getting. It will continue to be a distraction. Anywhere else it would have blown over by now. But in prudish Malaysia where people employ double standards – one for your friends and one for others.

40. #40 by Godfather on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:51 pm

Ask the Cambridge logician. He’s reading this blog, and he will return to tell us the logic.

41. #41 by freehand68 on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:51 pm

Please read this article posted at http://malaysiakini.com/news/98470 as well as mahathir recent posting “Tingkat Empat”. The writter is clearly outline the direction of those hardcore and desperate guys that walk the corridor of power. They don’t mind to resort ot all kind of dirty tactics that have never been found in Malaysia for as long as they cling to power and serve their own interest. Liz Wong is a smart, dedicated and capable woman. It’s truly a waste without her.

42. #42 by ekans on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:55 pm

Since the outcome of March 8th last year, it’s been a very trying period for Pakatan Rakyat politicians. Anwar got charged with sodomy. Karpal received a death threat letter with a live bullet. Theresa got detained under ISA over false accusations and her home got hit by Molotov cocktails. And now this with Elizabeth Wong.

It’s difficult to believe, especially after PR got ousted from the Perak state government, that all these incidents are purely coincident. Obviously, it’s a sinister, insidious plot hatched by those you-know-who’s, who suddenly realise that they are still losing the people’s support, after being defeated in two earlier post 8-March-’08 by-elections.

Hopefully, the people will see through all this shadow-play that is being put up by BN and return those 3 seats back to PR in the coming 3 by-elections.

43. #43 by FY Lim on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:56 pm

Looks like all the moral experts are passing judgement on an innocent lady whose dignity was being attacked by a moron no better than a society scumbag out for pecuniary benefits paid by Toyo.

Now, these experts are saying that being naked in the privacy of your house is not moral , then all must not removed your clothes or even open your zip tp pee. If caught with you showing your private parts during peeing, then this is immoral.

What crap reasoning.

44. #44 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 6:59 pm

“Hopefully, the people will see through all this shadow-play that is being put up by BN and return those 3 seats back to PR in the coming 3 by-elections”

We are not dumb. We know she is being used and abuse by BN dogs. Which is why she should stop all the abuse and resign. It does not mean PR will have to lose a seat – stupid.

45. #45 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 7:10 pm

//MCA vice-president Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said he was puzzled by Wong’s offer to step down as she had said she was not guilty and that she had been framed.

“If she is innocent and had been framed, why should she resign?…..//
    ====================================================

The enemy is quick to capitalize on Elizabeth Wong’s resignation.

Elizabeth Wong should think carefully whether she should resign or keep the job, as her resignation could mean that she tacitly admit she is guilty of sexual immorality.

46. #46 by lkt-56 on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 7:11 pm

Some people are using this blog as an “ego booster” to run down each other. Take no notice of such personalities and they might disappear. ;)
    That said it is most unfortunate that we are faced with the reality of

“One who lives by the sword should be prepared to die by the sword.”

Elizabeth does not deserve this but the is the reality of politics not just in Malaysia but elsewhere in the world. The decision to resign or not should be entirely hers alone. The way I see it if she stays on she will still enjoy her constituents’ support for the good work she has done.

47. #47 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 7:12 pm

“Ask the Cambridge logician. He’s reading this blog, and he will return to tell us the logic.”

After you have chased him out from commenting in this blog by your attacks/name calling and describing his decision to leave as “good riddence” esp for those who could not take hard knocks of life???? :)

48. #48 by AhPek on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 7:13 pm

Yes it’s strange to find the position of Elizabeth shifting from she has done nothing wrong and that she will continue serving the people of Selangor faithfully to ‘in the interests of the party’.Smells a bit fishy when Khalid has to seek the Sultan of Selangor for guidance which is clearly his decision to make.Is he showing the mettle of a leader buckling under pressure the same way he showed when he appointed acting chairman of PKNS.Is ‘new’ politics buckling under ‘gutter politics’ the reason in sacrificing Elizabeth to preserve the image of PKR? All these are questions that come to mind when Elizabeth who according to Anwar is an important figure in PKR with a good track record has to reconsider her initial stand in the interest of the party!

49. #49 by drngsc on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 7:17 pm

So sad, some Malaysian politicians are still practising “gutter politics “. Elizabeth, you have my support. Your ex dont deserve you. Khir Toyo, you are a scum of the earth. It is so sad that some politicians will stopped at nothing just for some political mileage. I am quite sure we all know who they are. Please let us all remember this episode when the next GE comes. We must make them pay. Stand tall Liz. Have a good rest. There are many Malaysians behind you. Continue to serve. There are many other ways to do that.

50. #50 by lkt-56 on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 7:22 pm

AhPek Says:
    Today at 19: 13.04 (4 seconds ago)

…Khalid…Is he showing the mettle of a leader buckling under pressure the same way he showed when he appointed acting chairman of PKNS.

You have got a point here. We have to be firm and fair in order to lead… Leaders must not forget that they have the people’s mandate and therefore have no fear to execute their decisions without fear from and external sources when they know deep down that they are acting in good faith.

1 2 3 5

Comments are closed.