Elizabeth Wong and Our Hope for a New Politics in Malaysia

By Farish A. Noor

As someone who has known Ms Elizabeth Wong, former ADUN and Exco member of the Selangor state government, for almost ten years, I am profoundly distressed by the treatment that has been meted out to her by the mainstream and tabloid press over the revelation of photos that have compromised her. There are no words adequate enough to describe my feelings of disgust and anger over how this capable and committed activist-politician has been slandered and abused recently.

The facts surrounding the case are well known by now and one need not dwell upon them here. Suffice to say that one of the brightest, capable and efficient politicians of our land has been discredited via a malicious campaign to tarnish her reputation, that reeks of hypocrisy and conspiracy of the highest order.

What needs to be emphasised in the midst of this media hullabaloo is this: That the private lives of politicians are as sacrosanct as the right of any other citizen, and that politicians deserve the same degree of respect as anyone else. This is what we are fighting for; and this is what the elections of March 2008 were all about: Our earnest wish to see a new kind of politics in Malaysia, a new politics that would reflect and mirror the new Malaysian society that we live in today.

The ascendancy of Ms Wong and a host of other younger politicians who were elected to office last March signalled – in the clearest terms – the desire for change and reform. Malaysians of all creeds, races and gender have demonstrated that we are sick and tired of the old mode of neo-feudal communitarian politics which has hitherto been propped up by nothing more than an assembly of tired and outdated clichés. We yearn for a new Malaysia that is colour-blind, anti-racist, anti-sexist, democratic, tolerant and plural. We yearn for a new generation of professional politicians who can do their job well in the spirit of accountability and transparency. We yearn, in short, for a new political culture altogether.

Ms. Wong’s election to office demonstrated that a significant section of her constituents had faith in her abilities to translate those ideals into reality and political praxis. They voted her into power because they believed that this was a woman who would stand by the rights of all her constituents; who would further a politics of inclusivity and non-communitarianism, and that she would also foreground the needs and concerns of women as well. The proof of this is evident to all who have followed her career that has now been tragically cut short: as an advocate for gender equality, her presence in the state assembly of Selangor has ensured that the sexist culture that was so prevalent in the past ceased to continue. During the Bukit Antarabangsa landslide tragedy she was one of the few politicians who was seen present at the ground-level doing relief work while some other politicians merely procrastinated and pontificated while doing nothing.

The unfortunate turn of events that has led to her resignation has therefore robbed us – the Malaysian public – of one of the few capable elected representatives that we could count on; and the loss is that of the Malaysian public’s as much as it is hers.

Today as Malaysia heads into a recession under the febrile leadership of old politicians who remain in a state of denial, we are in need of a younger generation of elected representatives whose political orientation and political culture are different: Elizabeth did not lead, she represented. And she gave a voice to the voiceless who clamoured for attention on her behalf. Her passing out of political life – which I personally hope will be temporary – has been a blow to our common struggle for a better, newer Malaysia. It is my earnest wish that despite the setbacks she has suffered, Elizabeth Wong will continue in the struggle for a better and newer Malaysia in whatever capacity that she can.

This struggle for a new Malaysia and a new Malaysian politics is our common struggle, the struggle of the new generation of Malaysians today. One of us among our ranks has been attacked and fallen. We owe it to her as a friend and comrade to support her now, and to remain focused on the pressing need to reform the old order of our authoritarian, racist, communitarian past and its attendant institutions.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 9:34 am

/// Jeffrey Says:
    Today at 01: 22.40 (8 hours ago)
    Oh by the way, talking about enjoying a beer together per HJ Angus’s suggestion, I can’t drink when it is all foam and no beer! ///

How about a martini then? Shaken, but not stirred (sh1t).

;)

2. #2 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 9:57 am

“How about a martini then? Shaken, but not stirred?” -TheWrathOfGrapes

Kepala Pening lah, Hello I am no Agent 007, indirectly you are lending subtle credence to the Cappfather’s allegations of me being a BN mole/spy??? :)

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 9:59 am

Sorry “Crapfather”, I keep distracted by this word Cappone!

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 10:02 am

a BN mole/spy without an allowance, some more (whilst others get theirs at least RM200 per posting, so according to some “well informed” poster in this blog! :)

5. #5 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 10:11 am

> a BN mole/spy without an allowance, some more (whilst others get theirs at least RM200 per posting, so according to some “well informed” poster in this blog!

Can I be included in the BN pay cheque? Thank you

6. #6 by lextcs on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 10:27 am

someone says that adun adun PR esp PKR should be alert and vigilant of whatever they do….im not going to pour cold water but…the reality is most of the PKR fella lack the quality and stamina to run the race. In the 1st place they dont even believe they could have won the election back in mar 08!

The reality is that these one time adun adun suddenly found themselves very very valuable! Cashing out is always an option. Not everyone is like uncle kit or saudara karpal….

Its a chance of a life time to get RICH! already Tony Pua is looking at the billion ringgit water deal. Perhaps another Cybervillage in the making!

7. #7 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 12:07 pm

There are many temptations in life, it could be sex, money, power, etc. . BN strategists will know how to use them most effectively!!!

No wonder Singapore PAP govt does not allow single woman or man to be MP as they could be tempted by sex (this does not mean that married man or woman would not be tempted too, but may be less likely, I believe they have statistics to back up with this practice!!!).

8. #8 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 12:36 pm

Jong Says:

Today at 09: 27.48 (3 hours ago)
    We should all just leave her alone and for her, the right thing to do is to resign and move on with her life. Go somewhere and get on with life.”

I have and read a lot of comments. Jong should be applauded for showing courage in making this statement in an opposition blog dominated by kids confused with the issues.

If she wants to be a nudist then join the nudist colony.

9. #9 by Loh on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 2:38 pm

Eli Wong has offered to resign as EXCO member and ADUN. If the resignation from the post of EXCO was accepted, the Sultan would not be bothered with deciding whether the conduct of Eli Wong met his standard expected of EXCO members. As for the position of ADUN, there is no requirement that she should quit based on what has been in cirulation or yet to appear. It would be better for PKR to retain her as ADUN for number count, rather than to face a by-election.

By-elections even if conducted for the three kataks in Perak might not bring votes or easy victory for PK. Voters would ask why send untested candidates to occupy positions where they could use them to their individual advantages.

The old saying that one should ‘behave even when one is alone in a dark room’ applies especially to public figures. Yes curse all those who had been mischievious in spreading the indecent pictures. But if one had guarded the moments which could led to exploitation by others, then the unwanted episode woudn’t have happened. Blame it on luck or fate all one wishes, but it demonstrates lack of foresight or wisdom.

10. #10 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 2:42 pm

/// Jeffrey Says:
    Today at 09: 57.56 (4 hours ago)
    Kepala Pening lah, Hello I am no Agent 007, indirectly you are lending subtle credence to the Cappfather’s allegations of me being a BN mole/spy??? ///

Nah. Bond, James Bond is an overt spy. A BN mole/spy, by definition and intent, has to be a covert spy.

James Shaken-but-not-stirred Bond removes the skirt and sleeps with his woman.

A BN mole/spy lifts the skirt and photograph his sleeping woman.

11. #11 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 3:50 pm

The crapshooting show-off is not a BN mole or spy. He’s just a plant – and a spineless one at that. He won’t photograph his sleeping woman unless he is legally sure that on the one hand there are no liabilities on his side, and on the other hand he gets compliments for his handiwork.

12. #12 by boh-liao on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 4:52 pm

Elizabeth Wong is single.
    Is Hilmi Malek a bachelor boy or a married man?

It looks like PKR politicians are surrounded by Homo sapiens who made use of their close ties with PKR politicians to become millionaires pronto – get close to them and betray them! Sodomy, nude photos, intimate positions, and what have you!

Enjoy s ex, satisfy lust and libido, record the harum-scarum moments/actions, and sell the records to the highest bidders. Easy money!

Of course, this can also be said of DAP and PAS so-called supporters. Thank you, DAP, PAS, and PKR for providing such a simple and lucrative avenue to be instant millionaires in Malaysia!

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 5:00 pm

“A BN mole/spy lifts the skirt and photograph his sleeping woman.” -TheWrathOfGrapes

Then there must be something wrong in PKR/PR: in the light of events, there is a BN mole/spy or may be more than one embedded within PKR/PR.

14. #14 by Old.observer on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 5:02 pm

taiking Says:
    Today at 09: 30.59 (7 hours ago)

FIRST.
    Did anyone express disgust and demand your resignation? None i dare say except for a few idiots from unmo. They can be ignored without any loss to you. Everyone is symphatatic, gives your his/her support and wants you to continue. You have my support too. So carry on.

Well said and totally agreed.

15. #15 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 5:23 pm

“He won’t photograph his sleeping woman unless he is legally sure that on the one hand there are no liabilities on his side, and on the other hand he gets compliments for his handiwork”

A perceptive comment from personal experience of someone who, whilst having assets on one hand, gets a rebuke for his handiwork on the other!

16. #16 by Old.observer on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 5:25 pm

Jong Says:
    Today at 09: 27.48 (7 hours ago)

We should all just leave her alone and for her, the right thing to do is to resign and move on with her life. Go somewhere and get on with life.

The “right” thing to do is to resign???

Can someone explain to me how is resigning the “right” thing to do?

If the purpose of resigning is to trigger a by-election, so as to go back to the people to get a fresh mandate, then, I agree this could be one of many “right” things to do.

But if the purpose of resigning is – as Jong suggested – to go away, leave politics – then, how is running away solving the problem? What about idiots like Toyol who is quick to apply his double-standard hypocrisy to demand Eli to resign – why doesn’t Jong ask Toyol to resign first?

This country needs more people like Eli to be in office, than people like Toyol.

Jong, if you want to decide who stays in office, then, suggest you tell Toyol to get lost first about 10 times, before you even suggest once for Eli to resign. 10 to 1 is about the right proportion, although I know others might think 1,000 to 1 is a more appropriate proportion.

17. #17 by Old.observer on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 5:39 pm

pulau_sibu Says:

Today at 06: 50.51 (10 hours ago)
    No one here have speculated that the man who took the photos lost the phone. That could be his argument, if caught. Then he will also be a victim.

pulau_sibu,

Extremely unlikely. Not only must he lost his phone, it also requires the finder to be a politically opportunistic, knowledgeable, kay-poh-chee to 1. pick up the phone (most people would just ignore it), 2. browse the address book (most people would not necessarily know how to do this with another model handphone), 3. bypass the password (ass-u-me-ing the phone is protected with password), 4. browse all the picture and video files stored in the phone (most ordinary people respect the privacy of others), 5. Made the connection that the girl is Eli (if you’re from out of state, you probably wouldn’t know what Eli looks like, or knows it’s Eli for sure), 6. Go to Malay Mail to give the picture / video (again, I believe the vast majority wouldn’t do this), 7. And how did Toyol knew about this so fast, and is so quick to condemn Eli?

In short, the balance of probability to me indicates that this is definitely malicious, and definitely not accidental. And to me, the guy who originally took such potentially compromising videos/pictures WHEN ELI is sleeping (when you sleep, can you give your permission to be video-taped / have your photograph taken?) … – that already speaks volume about his character.

18. #18 by zak_hammaad on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 6:18 pm

“New Politics in Malaysia” ?

I think Pakatan set the agenda and pace for the new politics in Malaysia… And it does not look healthy. In fact Farish should be impartial enough to look at the rise in ugly politics since March 08 elections. Pakatan set the precedent and now it must bear the consequences and reverse its amoral politicking rather than rising to the slogan of “if you can’t beat ‘em, join them attitude.”

19. #19 by katdog on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 8:30 pm

“the rise in ugly politics since March 08 elections” – zak_hammaad

Zak_hamaad, where have you been the past 20 years? Not in Malaysia i expect.

Politics in Malaysia has been dirt ridden ugly even before Mar 8.
    Here’s some examples of dirty politics being played prior to Mar 8.
    - CSL sex videos being released to destroy him politically.
    - A prominent political threat is sent to jail via trumped up charges of sodomy and a sham trial.
    - Takeover of Sabah by BN after PBS won the elections via katak’s.
    - A prominent politician is photographed wearing a traditional tribal costume with a cross in order to discredit him among the muslim voters.

Hello! All these has been happening even before Mar 8. Where have you been all these time?

20. #20 by One4All4One on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 8:40 pm

“New Politics” is just only a rallying cry for justice, integrity, accountability, impartiality, transparency, and a sensible and clean government.

Don’t read too much into the slogan, though. Because action always speaks louder than words do.

The focus should be trained at getting rid of unwanted historical, social, economic, and political baggages which had been encumbering the nation for far too long and in the process holding the nation back in terms of lost opportunities, opportunity costs and the lost years of possible development and progress.

Much had been said about the affirmative action policy hatched thirty years ago and its consequences. Something drastic needs to be done on this to right what’s wrong.

And there are a myriad of contentious issues which Malaysians thought had long past their useful lives and needed to be revisited.

Well, all those possible changes and restructuring, in a nutshell, would constitute the “New Politics” that Malaysians are crying for.

The will needed to do it would be nothing short of herculean and only the honest and impartial, peppered with compassion and magnanimous, would qualify.

Good luck Malaysia!

21. #21 by Old.observer on Thursday, 19 February 2009 - 11:53 pm

zak_hammaad,

Don’t even compare what Perak BN did with DSAI.

DSAI invited Pak Lah to discuss transition of power – Pak Lah declined. DSAI then invited Pak Lah to test it in a Vote of No Confidence – Pak Lah chickened out.

Whereas, in this case, did Perak BN invite PR to discuss transition of power? No.

Did Perak BN invite PR to test it in a Vote of No Confidence? No.

Instead, what Perak BN did and what Najib did is totally DISGUSTING!

My own 2 sen.

22. #22 by Old.observer on Friday, 20 February 2009 - 12:05 am

http://www.thenutgraph.com/poll-sultans-decision-contrary-to-peoples-will

Apparently, according to the Merdeka Poll — “74% of respondents felt that the state assembly should be dissolved to pave the way for elections”

74%!

That’s nearly three-quarters who wants State Assembly to be dissolved!

What Najib did in Perak is totally DISGUSTING, and clearly does NOT reflect the will of the People!

If disagree, put it to the test.

Dissolve the Assembly and call for fresh elections in Perak!

23. #23 by gitf701 on Friday, 20 February 2009 - 7:15 am

Cintanegara says…….

Nothing much to say except……serve you right MUMMY……you deserve the punishment that you received…….because you gave birth to scums like me….

24. #24 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 20 February 2009 - 8:56 am

/// Godfather Says:
    “He won’t photograph his sleeping woman unless he is legally sure that on the one hand there are no liabilities on his side, and on the other hand he gets compliments for his handiwork”

Jeffrey Says:
    A perceptive comment from personal experience of someone who, whilst having assets on one hand, gets a rebuke for his handiwork on the other! ///

Don & Jeff,

I waded into the DMZ & no-man’s-land in order to inject a bit of humour and light-heartedness to diffuse the tension and mounting animosity.

Got to HAND it to you guys. One is accusing the other of being a three-HANDED economist (on the one HAND this, and on the other HAND that, and on the third HAND…).

It takes two HANDS to clap (note not crap, as in crapshooting), so if we can HANDLE this hand-wringing issue more politely and civilly, I am sure those observers who are sidelined who lend you guys a HAND to stop man-HANDLING each other.

Come on guys, stretch out your HAND of friendship. In this time of looming recession (and dare I say it, depression), it is depressing to see you otherwise mature guys MISHANDLING each other, instead of extending a helping HAND.

With HANDS over backs, I say “shake HANDS and peace be with you”, otherwise I will throw up my HANDS in dismay.

25. #25 by zak_hammaad on Friday, 20 February 2009 - 11:20 am

I really wish those who blindly support one party or another really read my posts properly, instead of assuming and putting words in my mouth. I specifically used the words “…rise in ugly politics…”, it does not whitewas the ugly politics that have existed in Malaysia prior to March 08. It was a mere expression of the RISE in ugly politics, neither did I specifically mention who is more responsible for it. It can’t be denied however, that the tactics used by Pakatan and it’s incompetent figure heads have indeed backfired; not only on their hold on Perak, but possibly on other states under their control. We also see an internal rift by the statements of Karpal. There can be no denying that Pakatan are on the slide while the BN are gaining momentum once again.

Furthermore Old.observer says:

>> DSAI invited Pak Lah to discuss transition of power

DSAI is not worth the paper his name is written on. His asking or discussing anything is futile because he is a liar and a fraud. He is also of an unstable mental state. There was NO evidence whatsoever that Pakatan had the nos to topple the federal government and it was a public stunt that backfired on Anwar.

As for Perak, once the party hopping of the 3 individuals came to light and established as fact, there was no need to suspect them as they made their intention clear and in public!

The two situations are diametrically different, with all due respect.

26. #26 by Jeffrey on Friday, 20 February 2009 - 11:43 am

TheWrathOfGrapes,

Thanks for your comments Today at 08: 56.33 (2 hours ago)
    Behind the mutual mudslingings between Crapfather and me – which looks “personal” and an obvious irritation to the rest – is something actually not really “personal” but a wide gulf in world view and ideological approach including to use in this blog. It is this part that cannot be bridged and will always be a source of mutual hostility.

Although my tilt is in favour of change by PR – on the premise of every change from an existing moribund system always represents a notch better than existing status quo in the slow march to a better society – yet my partisanship is always on the side on what, in my opinion, is good and best interest of Malaysians and country in general, without a steady focus on what – to me – is true and real.

Hence I am not in this sense partisan for or against BN or PR for its own sake and knowing my profound distrust of politicians in general I reserve the right to criticise/praise whichever camp – BN or PR – they belong to if they’re inconsistent or unprincipled and not acting what to me (right or wrong) is in interest of best interest of Malaysians (including our children) and country in general – or otherwise the opposite…..

Godfather’s focus is diametrically opposed. He thinks that our peoples and nations’ first and immediate interest is to rid the Great Oppressor (BN) and for that nothing must be done by way of serious criticism of Pakatan Rakyat or its defacto head, Anwar or any other leaders because such a thing will sow confusion, undermine unity amongst PR’s supporters, destabilise PR and slow its advancement of PR towards the victory line – for the first time so near after 308. Anyone who does that – as I do – is therefore traitorous and better hounded out of this blog since it does no good to the Common Cause.

This is a position I profoundly disagree.

I think if PR or its leaders cannot withstand constructive criticism and pointing failure to their faults even at this juncture – and will be destabilised by legitimate criticisms based on the truth – then I think it would make no difference whether now or later it is destabilised, as it will be, they not grounded on principles that perenially enduring.

Secondly I also think even from perspective of a focussed supporter such as Godfather, there must be a recognition that criticisms of a valid nature againt PR & its leaders are a good thing because they are a mirror to their weaknesses which if they could correct and rectify, which would then serve their cause in the longer run….. Now if the criticisms are invalid they may be argued against and disputed civilly but if they are valid then they should stand and not be silenced by hostility of supporters who view them as destructive/traitorious to the Opposition Cause.

In the first place, I take LKS Blog as serving the Malaysian Cause and not just the PR’s Cause, so I yield the ground to no one who wants to suppress a democratic free flow/exchange of debate of ideas (including criticisms of PR or its leaders) based on service of what is true rather than what is partisan for one side, and I will debate whether civilly or uncivilly, trade insult for insult, reason for reason to defend this ground!

27. #27 by Jeffrey on Friday, 20 February 2009 - 11:45 am

Oops – “with a steady focus on what – to me – is true and real.” in second para above.

28. #28 by Kasim Amat on Friday, 20 February 2009 - 3:29 pm

Kenapa Tian Chua tiba-tiba naik angin apabila ditanya apakah beliau adalah salah seorang teman lelaki Elizabeth Wong? Apabila ditanya oleh pemberita Agendadaily, beliau lantas berkata, “If you ask me again, I smash your head”. Tak salah wartwan Agendadaily menyoal beliau kerana rakyat mahu tahu, lagi pun rakyat perlu tahu.

29. #29 by Taxidriver on Sunday, 22 February 2009 - 6:42 am

What happened to Eli Wong is purely a personal matter. But it is very unfortunate she got into this mess. On the question of whether she should resign as state assemblyman and state councillor, I believe only she herself knows best. I think the public and her supporters should let her make her own decision.

30. #30 by Taxidriver on Sunday, 22 February 2009 - 7:19 am

“…………rakyat mahu tahu, lagi pun rakyat perlu tahu.” – Kassim Amat
    ………………………………………………………………………………
    Apakah encik Kassim orang Islam? Adakah encik Kassim bersembahyang? Dan kalau jawapan encik Kassim adalah ‘YA’, maka janganlah encik Kassim ‘ kaypo ‘ nak tahu hal peribadi orang lain. Kenapa encik Kassim sanggup pijak seseorang yang telah jatuh tepi jalan. Itu bukannya amalan orang Islam; pun bukan ajaran Agama Islam. Nampaknya encik Kassim kena sembahyang lebih kuat lagi.

1 3 4 5