Privacy and Our Political Culture

By Farish A. Noor

Politics, we must remember, is something that takes place in the public domain. And it is in that public domain that politicians are judged for their actions, good and bad, right and wrong. The worth of a politician and his/her standing depends entirely on his/her conduct in the execution of the responsibilities that have been entrusted upon them by the public who voted them into office. And if they fail in the execution of those duties, then we the public have every justifiable right to demand an explanation from them. In the final analysis, it is we the public who determine the fate of the politicians we elect to represent us, and never vice-versa.

Politics, however, has its limits and the frontier of the political ends where the private domain begins. Politicians are human beings and it would be the mistake of the public to assume and expect our politicians to behave in a manner that is extraordinary by public standards. For that simple reason the public also has no right to expect politicians to be and remain politicians every hour, every day and every year of their lives; for politicians too have every right to be human and to have the privacy that we expect for ourselves. In the same way that we hope and wish that our elected representatives will defend the privacy of our lives, so should we extend that very same right to them, for they too are ultimately citizens like the rest of us.

It is therefore sad, to say the least, that the level of Malaysian politics and political culture has descended to a new low with the latest revelation of yet another sex scandal that involves a democratically elected state assemblywoman serving in the state government of Selangor, Ms Elizabeth Wong. This comes not too long after another sordid scandal involving another politician – Chua Soi Lek – who was likewise scandalised by revelations of his private life being made public. In both cases one can only assume that the motivation behind this intrusion into the private domain was political in nature.

Much has already been written about the two cases and the facts remain unclear over what actually happened in the case of the unfortunate Ms Wong, so I will not dwell upon that here.

My contention however is this: When will we Malaysians come to understand and accept the fact that living in a modern plural constitutional democracy means having to respect the private space and private lives of all citizens, be they politicians or shopkeepers? Political motivations aside, the core of the matter is that another Malaysian citizen has had her private space intruded into and has been personally violated in the most abusive and despicable manner. This is something that no-one should relish, not even for the worst of our enemies. When it happens to a politician whose commitment to democracy and human rights is well known to all, then our sense of moral outrage should be all the greater.

Let us remind ourselves of the simple fact that the private lives of the victims in question have been without any taint whatsoever. Ms Wong is an adult woman who is capable of making decisions and choices of her own, and like any of us she is entitled to live her private life in the manner she sees fit. No crime has been committed, no public funds embezzled, no state secrets revealed and no Mongolian models blown to bits. The pathetic demonstration of moral outrage on the part of some conservative quarters should therefore be exposed for what it is: an instance of gross hypocrisy and double-standards at their most vile.

In the wake of the elections of March 2008, Malaysian society has demonstrated our desire for change, and for a new politics that befits and mirrors the new Malaysia we live in. This was the clearest call ever for a new political culture where feudalism, corruption, nepotism, hypocrisy and double standards are done away with once and for all. We are sick and tired of the vacuous moral claims of those who speak of morality and religion on the one hand, while robbing the state and eroding our fundamental human rights at the same time.

Defending the private lives and private spaces of our politicians is therefore part and parcel of the process to regain and defend the private domain of all Malaysians, where we may live, love, pray, hope and strive for the betterment of ourselves and the fulfilment of our destinies in peace. It is that fundamental right that entitles us to be what we are. No human being should be denied that privacy for the loss of that privacy entails the loss of something greater: the loss of the right simply to be what we are. The entire democratic process and democratic endeavour rests on that.

For now however, it is our moral obligation to rally in support for a fellow Malaysian whose right to privacy has been violated. Let us not be indecisive here, for we clearly know who has been the victim. For those whose lives have been violated thus, one can only imagine the personal anguish they must be going through.

History books tell us that when King Charles the First faced his penultimate judgement, he was robbed of all his rights and dignity. King Charles was known to be a man who stuttered and faltered whenever he spoke; but at that defining moment of his life when his very existence was at stake, he delivered what was said to be the most eloquent speeches he ever gave; which til today ranks as one of the most beautiful and elegant pieces of prose in the English language.

Each and every one of us will sooner or later face such a defining moment in our lives, when our mettle will be tested and when we will finally realise who and what we are and what resources we possess. Perhaps this is the defining moment for Ms Wong. We hope that she will meet this challenge with the dignity that she possesses, and emerge stronger. So chin up, Elizabeth; and keep a smile on your face. Don’t let the detractors get you down. The struggle for a better Malaysia has just begun, and there is still a long road ahead.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 12:09 pm

Today you have offer to offer for not your fault.
    Today your resignation will set a high standard for all Bn crooks and Corrupt hard to follow.

Shame to all corrupt BN fellow and not you.

Please be strong and let return when possible

2. #2 by gycgocnt on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 12:09 pm

It must b a charactor assacination from BN, why? b’coz d 1st person who wish 2 gain political mileage is Khir Toyo. Khir! If u think resignation is d most suitable action taken to Wong, please roaring 2 Mr Chua Soi Lek FIRST(D ‘PORNO ACTOR SAME WITH UR COALITION), n ask him 2 resign. Khir, please notify that if u like 2 use a finger 2 point a person, do remember u hav at least four finger pointed back urself!!

3. #3 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 12:11 pm

PR’s typical mentality and standard way of thinking….When someone commited serious offence, he/she is regarded as ‘BRAVE’….

Majority Rakyat are tired of hearing all sort of excuses from her so called ‘supporters’….As a leader chosen by Rakyat, she must have the moral strength ….. .Enough is enough….full Stop

4. #4 by Adeline-Subang on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 12:22 pm

“We hope that she will meet this challenge with the dignity that she possesses, and emerge stronger. So chin up, Elizabeth; and keep a smile on your face. Don’t let the detractors get you down. The struggle for a better Malaysia has just begun, and there is still a long road ahead.” ……my sentiments exactly.

Elizabeth, stay on and fight!

Our thoughts and love to you during this tiring time.

5. #5 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 12:37 pm

To those who adopt a moral standard based on the biblical verses, I wish to advise that King David was not required by God to relinquish his duty of King when he was found to have committed the adultery with a married woman called Bersheeba.

If there is any sin in Elizabeth Wong, then it is just the lustful sin against God. Miss Wong has not sinned against a third person besides God and her boyfriend (by biblical standard, she should have stopped her boyfriend from entering her private bedroom.)

Therefore, there should not be tough moral sanction to be imposed on Miss Wong because all men, including you and I, are not perfect. We all fall short of glory of God!

6. #6 by StevePCH on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 12:38 pm

is offering to quit the same as quitting.
    i am really confused here.
    probably intimate position means intercourse or whatever, but the current situation looks more of a conspiracy. why now ?
    it is reported somewhere that the culprit is a Malay man ?

I still can accept oldman hamsap CSL. He was doing much better job than LTL but only very hamsap. Nearly half of Triang is infected with Chikungunya. LTL better resign.

Eli is young and vulnerable, for Toyol and SHA to be so cruel and heartless is sickening. I do not think they are clean either.

Anyway, i am really getting sick of BN and all the news generated.

I urge Eli NOT to quit.

7. #7 by StevePCH on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 12:41 pm

but i guess NTR and gang will start to distribute Eli’s video next if she doesn’t quit.

getting sick of NTR …. for these political blackmail.

8. #8 by Kasim Amat on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 12:42 pm

Another disgraceful image that PR’s State Assemblywoman shows to her people. As a State Assemblywoman, she should always behave properly. She has nothing else to show to her people but these shameful nudity pictures of herself? She is not fit to stay as State Assemblywoman to serve the people who once voted for and trusted in her. This further strengthens the believe that the whole PKR is made up of jokers for which they do nothing but making headlines with their own dirty news. What a joke! The people are having enough. Elizabeth Wong should be investigated and prosecuted in order to stop such shameful event happening again in Malaysia’s politics.

9. #9 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 12:47 pm

However what ever Anwar decision will be accept or not accept.
    Eli has shown her character and her wishes to resign. this act alone has proved her of high integrity and shoulder her responsibility.

Her motive of resignation was non of taking party into topmost consideration. this is selfless act.

her resignation if accepted will be a lost to the Malaysian people but at the long term or even at the short term a gain to PR, especially PKR.

People who has strongly behind her will put all the revenge against BN in the next GE. The force is getting stronger and stronger. People will take her a new political model and her contribution thus will not be less than if she stay on.

contribution can be many ways, it can be seen and those that can not be seen.

this decade if hard and tough for all young ladies and all ladies should be extra careful. the star is moving against lady and favor
    young man.

in that sense we hope Eli will continue to serve from behind and people need people like her

10. #10 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 12:54 pm

So All PR are jokers and all BN are clean fellow and nice like saints.

So CORRUPT IS NOT AS SINFUL AS OR it is acceptable in totality and is a good moral value in Bn’s dictionary or at least in kasim amet contest that is the real joker king of the jokers

11. #11 by hijau on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 12:57 pm

Does anyone have any similar pics of Hee Yit Fong? Cintanegara, Khir and Najib want to see!!

12. #12 by StevePCH on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 1:00 pm

Kasim Amat Says:

Elizabeth Wong should be investigated and prosecuted in order to stop such shameful event happening again in Malaysia’s politics.

………………….

Sdr Mat, has Eli broken any law ? stop being a bigot. she is single, the photos and videos distributed without her knowledge. under which law she can be charge ?

I think you are barking at the wrong tree lar.

13. #13 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 1:03 pm

if resigning is not brave what else is brave a Malaysia politician can be?

When building a huge palace with out license and hide behind the power shield is brave ???
    When caught with money in the airport and lie that I not talk English is morally acceptable and this man is Brave man of BN???

All this can be accepted . Yes is perfect accepted because those still support BN are equally CORRUPTED IN their minds and thinking?? When BN practice CORRUPTION THOUSAND Times over 51 ,ore years it become acceptable moral value??

All BN are brave politician because they dare to take bribe and accept corruption as a way of life ?? so they are all brave men??

What a idiot you BN supporters.

14. #14 by mycroft on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 1:07 pm

Oh my god!! This is such a stupendous, amazingly, earth shattering, PIECE OF NOTHING people. Damn, Malaysians are pathetic aren’t we. So what if there are semi-nude pictures of Eli Wong around? Are we so narrow minded that we deny that our politicians have PRIVATE lives? And that they have the same organs as all of us? Oh God, conservatives are so disgustingly idiotic.

15. #15 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 1:09 pm

this guy not only barking at the wrong tree he is simply cucu OF THE CORRUPT . CUCU HANTU k toyo

16. #16 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 1:18 pm

I’m struggling with my conscience. I’ve posted more than one comment in the recent past about ‘moral high ground’, and now everybody is saying the EW case is something to do with morality. I wish people would stop comparing this to the CSL case – he was the victim of an invasion of privacy, but he was acting in bad faith with respect to his wife. EW has either had her privacy invaded (if she was unaware she was recorded) or had her trust betrayed (if she knew but hadn’t granted permission for the recording to be made public), but wasn’t acting in bad faith towards any individual, as far as I can tell from the patchy news coverage.

Has she betrayed anybody’s trust though? I think possibly she could. I wouldn’t expect my elected officials to forego a bit of erotic adventure, ‘self love’ (as Jeffrey puts it), or any enjoyment of whatever physical blessings they have – as long as everybody involved is consenting and no laws are broken. The problem in Malaysia is that ‘morality’ seems to me to be some sort of binding absolute, and Malaysians often don’t ‘consent’ to others acting ‘immorally’. A further complication is that Malaysia may have (if I recall other articles correctly) laws enforcing some of these prudish attitudes. In light of these two factors, I think she could have betrayed the trust of her voters in failing to meet the prevailing moral or legal standards, with the attendant risk of a loss of confidence in her suitability as their representative.

Offering to resign isn’t such a bad thing to do. She’ll be asking her peers for a vote of confidence in her abilities, and I hope they support her. It’s tricky because democratic politics is essentially a popularity contest, and this event could have adversely affected her popularity and PKR’s popularity. The fact that it’s ‘adverse’ because some people’s morals are so anachronistic is terribly sad.

On a lighter note, I hope PR leaders are paying careful attention to these events and are considering methods for ‘inoculating’ themselves against future moral flamings. I look forward to the late publication of the 2009 Naked PR Leaders’ calendar, ‘tastefully’ shot in a Pirelli style.

17. #17 by chengho on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 1:20 pm

Don’t you think this is like an insider trading only the closes to you knew your closet , this is PR internal power struggles….do not blame other..

18. #18 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 1:22 pm

Those scumbags like cintanegara and Kasim Amat are indeed barking at their own political masters like Najib and Hishammuddin. If those politicians who are the chief actor or chief actress of a sex scandal rumour are required to resign immediately, then both Najib and Hishammuddin are also categorised in this group of politicians.

19. #19 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 1:26 pm

Ooop! Correction:

She should not resign as her resignation will encourage errant politicians to use sex as a weapon to bring down incumbent lawmakers/assemblymen.

20. #20 by hijau on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 1:28 pm

Hoi KasimAMAT, how much umno pay you for each comment?

21. #21 by k1980 on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 1:32 pm

I very much doubt if Obama, Gordon Brown, Angela Merkel or Sarkosy would have resigned if their nude photos lying on bed were ever to be uploaded on the net without their consent

22. #22 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 1:41 pm

Taking bribe and abuse the power abuse the tax payer money is good Representative good wakil rakyat.

so if your wakil rakyat happen to be single she can not sleep naked and must cover in full. That is important because she have nothing to hide and she must resigned and let the corrupt is ok. take all moneys from the tax payers, build their palaces and live like a king is ok can be a perfect WR. praise her and support him. he must not resign because he do nothing wrong just forgot to male a application.

so the WR who bare all in her private must resign because as WR her body also belong to the Rakyat she should not bare all without the Rakyat consent other wise she can not be a WR but the Corrupt can the more Corrupt the better. not only only Corrupt should be first priority as yours WR he must also teach all his followers to be as CORRUPT AS POSSIBLE so that everybosy can share share.

23. #23 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 1:47 pm

we are no way to compare with Sarkosy. he can bring his mistress to attend international meeting. even down down south also can accept a malaysian born lady as Minister even she has make known as her sex priority.

We are way behind, but not saying we should follow but in this case a single lady bare naked in her private and every body hu ha and ask her to resign. what sin has she committed. you mean all BN leaders is as clean as a saints and god???

Please remember many cross the border and get marry and have lot of fun and that is no sinner???

24. #24 by Kelvenho on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 1:51 pm

It is really sad that politics has become so dirty and disgusting.
    The people has lost an able elected assemblywoman. I stronly
    believe that this is the dirty work of BN, especially UMNO.
    The person who is responsible for this dirty and despicable act
    is M. K. Toyo. We the people should vote out BN and UMNO once
    and for all.

25. #25 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 1:57 pm

Any way. After her resignation has been accepted so hatu toyo will be first to throw a party withe belly dancing and this acceptable.

Any way, her resignation once accepted PR rating will shot up and people believe that BN and hatu toyo and gangs has nothing else can offer the rakyat because once they lost power and therefore power to corrupt they will go all out to topple PR.

What ever the tactic use by her opponent this will back fire again as people has been very sick with BN and this just grow by days.

Her resignation will be accepted as her contribution to PR by resigning will be good in the final goal of assisting PR to capture Federal in the next GE.

Well done Eli wong. Your mission completed.

you have sacrifice a little self to complete the BIGEST SELF to come.

26. #26 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 2:04 pm

Kasim Amat,

What if I sneak into your room while you are having a shower and video you in the bathroom naked?

27. #27 by orang_cina on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 2:05 pm

The next Bkt Lanjan ADUN will win bigger majority!
    This is no longer an issue of Malay, Chinese or Indian. It’s the issue of a Malaysian!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

28. #28 by computation on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 2:09 pm

“Kasim Amat,

What if I sneak into your room while you are having a shower and video you in the bathroom naked?”
    TheWrathOfGrapes Says

wah lau eh why you want to do that?
    you want to be scarred for life at the terrible sight ah?
    i advise you don’t ok!
    :D

29. #29 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 2:19 pm

‘even down south also can accept a malaysian born lady as Minister even she has make known as her sex priority’ – ALLAN THAM

What makes you so proud about the tiny country?????

The government of the tiny country has for years been trying to boost the city-state’s birth rate — one of the lowest in the world– by encouraging its ‘Non Productive’ young people to have children…..They even award citizenship to the foreigners to boost its lagging birth….What a shame!!!!! Their own people couldn’t ‘afford’ to produce new generations………
    A total of 16,232 babies were born in the tiny country between January and May 2008, with about 25 percent having foreign fathers and about 36 percent with foreign mothers…..

30. #30 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 2:23 pm

IT IS DOWN DOWN SOUTH.

NOT PROUD OF THEM BUT WHAT I MEAN IS THAT THEIR YARDSTICK OF MORALITY IS DIFFERENCE FROM US.

31. #31 by computation on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 2:24 pm

ok so with three by elections
    pkr is going to need money and resources.
    is pkr up to it?

32. #32 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 2:26 pm

another idiot call on Eli Wong to resign. this time is ali rusty

33. #33 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 2:28 pm

what a problem with money. the Rakyat will be most willing to give to PR to fight for justice other wise it also go to BN pocket lah.

34. #34 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 2:43 pm

/// computation Says:
    Today at 14: 09.28 (29 minutes ago)

“Kasim Amat,

What if I sneak into your room while you are having a shower and video you in the bathroom naked?”
    TheWrathOfGrapes Says

wah lau eh why you want to do that?
    you want to be scarred for life at the terrible sight ah?
    i advise you don’t ok! ///

Computation, why not?

Don’t worry, the video is not for my own consumption. It is for a horror movie titled “Kasim Amat is a short man; and he is not very tall either.”

;)

35. #35 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 2:51 pm

‘NOT PROUD OF THEM BUT WHAT I MEAN IS THAT THEIR YARDSTICK OF MORALITY IS DIFFERENCE FROM US’. – ALLAN THAM

Which one do you prefer????

No one will question if the photos were taken while she was having a shower or in the bathroom…The question is …as you said earlier…a ‘single/ lady bare in her private….. …Ordinary people will normally behave in that manner …..while/after they had done their ‘Business’ ….Was she involved in immoral sex by the way???

By right, she must have known who took the photos………Someone she knew or someone who had access to her bedroom ……As a leader she is obviously a role model…….. not a symbol of Cheap Pride….

36. #36 by Bobster on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 3:07 pm

Jeffrey Says:

Yesterday at 17: 07.46

This pertains to fitness for continuance of office as state councillor. I wonder what is PR’s partner, PAS’s take is on this issue.

THis is what PAS said in Malaysiakini-

Muda Mohd Noor & Jimadie Shah Othman | Feb 16, 09 7:29pm
    PAS leaders today condemned the circulation of nude photographs of Selangor executive councillor Elizabeth Wong.

Calling it an ‘undignified’ act, Titiwangsa parliamentarian Dr Lo’ Lo Ghazali did not mince her words when she described the person who distributed the photographs as being “worse than a prostitute”.

“We cannot condone such acts,” she told Malaysiakini.

According to her, such voyeuristic practices were against the teachings of Islam, especially with the motive of ruining a person’s credibility.

She also expressed regret with the action of the media in playing up this issue.

“Whose photographs would be circulated after this? It is as if these people (who circulate such photographs) have nothing better to do,” she said.

Also condemning the circulation of the photographs was PAS information chief Mahfuz Omar.

“The aggrieved party has lodged a police report. An investigation must be carried out and justice must be served.

“A similar case also happened to a celebrity (actress Nasha Aziz), who also fell victim to a violation of privacy. Justice must be served in such cases,” he added.

This Jeff chap cant stop attacking PAS and PKR when there is a chance probably attempt to break PR coalition. Oh, PR got no moral ground to comment on BN because PR also the same, blah blah … Would you resign Jeff if caught naked like Eli? Talk is cheap!
    Twisting and turning now whole case turning into porn …!

I begin to suspect this formal Gerakan fello might soon join the frog club given the opportunity. Guys, better watch out!

37. #37 by Bobster on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 3:12 pm

Oh forgot your good friend is Rocky, the chap who made 180 degree turn within one night, like Ms He and gang.

38. #38 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 3:20 pm

Just read she has already resigned (malaysianinsider), although another article says ‘offered to resign’ (the nutgraph). I keep reading ‘nude pics’ but from what I can see at thegutterpost, the pictures are absolutely not nude – they’re not even particularly embarrassing for her, in my opinion. My elderly mother in the UK does something similar in front of the gas fire in her living room on very cold days.

The person who took the pictures may need a little bit of attention from a trained counsellor. I suspect inadequacy may have driven them to seek ‘control’. Same for all those people who obviously haven’t seen the pictures and have taken the Malaysian press’ libellous (are they? If there are no actually nude pictures?) articles at face value. There is nothing of interest to see.

I’m not going to apologise for posting an obvious keyword for google, nor for further hints on how to see the pictures I’ve seen. Sticking plasters are always best removed quickly, in my opinion – why prolong the agony? The Internet is what gave PR its advances in the last election, and it’ll be there to preserve EW’s completely-not-nude pics for eternity too.

There’s surely no need for a by-election to test confidence in her, is there? Can’t PKR say “we’re confident” (as Khalid has been doing), and possibly conduct a poll or something? Seems a lot cheaper than a by-election, and might send out the signal that PR won’t bow to bully tactics.

39. #39 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 3:22 pm

Selangor executive councillor Elizabeth Wong today offered to quit her state cabinet post and state assembly seat following her nude photographs controversy. have done nothing wrong.

Elizabeth said, “I wish to state that I am not ashamed of my sexuality as a woman and as a single person. I have broken no law. I stand by the fundamental principle in a democracy that has a right to privacy. Parti Keadilan Rakyat stands for ‘new’ politics that holds justice and human rights as core values which transcend gender, ethnicity and class. ‘New’ politics also means we rise above gutter politics.”

Now if Elizabeth feels she has done nothing wrong, she need not offer to quit but if she does, it doesn’t mean that she now retracts and admits that she is wrong – for from it, it means she is offering Parti Keadilan Rakyat in particular and Pakatan Rakyat in general an avenue to avoid embarrassment and attacks from the BN’s camp in the coming two by elections of the Bukit Selambau, a state seat in Kedah and Bukit Gantang, a parliamentary seat in Perak.

Be that as it may it is now up to Khalid and the party leadership to decide whether or not to accept her resignation.

The ball is therefore in the court of Khalid and PKR party/PR coalition leadership : do you want to accept her resignation?

If you do, I can only draw the conclusion that you either accede to the pressures of BN propaganda or subordinate principle to expedience of not facing risks of Bukit Selambau and Bukit Gantang by elections.

Let me just say this – that if you accept Elizabeth’s resignation tendered then you will forfeit/undermine your claim to ” ‘new’ politics that holds justice and human rights as core values which transcend gender, ethnicity and class – and of course gutter politics” that Elizabeth speaks of.

I am keen to know your decision.

40. #40 by Kasim Amat on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 3:24 pm

As a representative of people, one should always be mindful of what she does. While sleeping naked is nothing wrong but it shows that she is not very prudent with her acts. As a leader, she should be more discreet with her acts. To let someone enter her room while she is sleeping naked shows that how naive is this State Assemblywoman who possess nothing but a overly simple mind. A woman like this fails to play an examplary role and she is definitely not fit to represent the people. It is without question that she has lost her dignity and she has to resign. She needs to understand the serious of the matter and in order to stop making Malaysia politics as a laughing stock for other countries, resignation is the best solution. As Mr Chua Soi Lek resigned for a similar incident, I don’t see why she should be any exception here. All Malaysia politicians should be clean and have good image to represent their people.

41. #41 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 3:32 pm

“I begin to suspect this former Gerakan fello might soon join the frog club given the opportunity. Guys, better watch out!” Bobster said Today at 15: 07.51 (14 minutes ago).

You’re talking about Jeff Ooi (from Gerakan and now in DAP) and his “good friend is Rocky, the chap who made 180 degree turn within one night, like Ms He and gang”?

How can you, in your infinite insights and wisdom, try to identify/expose me like that??? :)

42. #42 by storm62 on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 3:53 pm

the wife of French PM have all the nude pictures in Playboy, so what?

Me too keep a few copies for my privete viewing, so what?

come respect some privacy. we are all humans unlike Toyol.

43. #43 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 3:54 pm

Malaysia politics as a laughing stock for other countries
    As a representative of another country, Kasim Amat, I can tell you it is your reaction to small-minded gossip (unless you can furnish me with instructions that will lead me to the alleged ‘nude’ pictures – I can only find non-nude ones) that will make Malaysia a laughing stock in my country. I have been accused by friends and strangers of being less than prudent in the past, but never for sleeping naked. In the pictures I have seen, Elizabeth Wong appears to be fully clothed, albeit in modern, casual clothing suitable for a hot climate.

I have to be honest and admit that my Malaysian wife occasionally asks me if I intend to sleep naked even when our children are older, and that question alone makes her a laughing stock for her other-country husband. Where I come from, dignity means much more than just hiding our c0cks. How long ago was it that you were indoctrinated by missionaries, anyway?

44. #44 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 4:00 pm

“It is without question that she has lost her dignity and she has to resign.” – Kasim Amat

Dignity is = not seen naked in photos by public is it, even if shots taken by former boyfriend or a burglar or maybe a voyeuristic neighbour with zoomlens???

There must be something wrong with our body then (native suit we were born with). :)

45. #45 by bclee on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 4:01 pm

michael13 Says:

Today at 09: 08.59 (6 hours ago)
    Today, the most pressing issues are about corruptions, crime rates, global economic crisis, unemployments, high costs of living….not the private lives of the politicians. Every sinner has his/her past, every saint has his/her future. So “don’t waste too much time to debate on this non-issue.”

you are right 100% agree don’t diverge the atention of rakyat for this private issue we have more important issue ahead.

46. #46 by bclee on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 4:07 pm

“It is without question that she has lost her dignity and she has to resign.” – Kasim Amat

Dignity is = not seen naked in photos by public is it, even if shots taken by former boyfriend or a burglar or maybe a voyeuristic neighbour with zoomlens???

There must be something wrong with our body then (native suit we were born with). quote
    Jeffry.

don’t ever care on this retarded mindset kasim amat comment.
    he can’t ever differential what is right and wrong.

47. #47 by sirrganass on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 4:55 pm

See how the game is. Not “by hook or by crook” and Khir Toyol is the first one to come forward and say “there you are!”

the problem is, whose picture will be the next one? And is this the best way to rule Malaysia?

48. #48 by Ling Mazen on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 5:00 pm

“Anak ayam” is an apt and politically correct Bahasa Malaysia expression for all the trolls in this blog. They are cheap.

49. #49 by One4All4One on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 5:25 pm

Kasim Amat and the likes of him behave as if they are holier than us.

We are living in the 21st century, for goodness sake.

Don’t be an opportunist and play to the gallery and bulldoze your way into the land of morality and dignity. Your demeanour does not reflect anything good at all about yourself. In fact, your pretension of being “a holy person, with dignity and morality” already backfired. It stinks!

Those in BN, particularly from UMNO, do not have any standing at all to talk about morality. Whenever they start talking about that, the stink fills up the entire place.

Those who are so corrupted, so devoid of integrity, bigoted, racist, prejudiced to the core, opportunistic, unaccountable, blasphemous, dealing-and-wheeling behind closed doors, partial, treacherous, etc., etc. do not have any right at all to talk about morality.

They do not represent us. Their yardstick for morality does not apply to us. We are not perfect or holier than thou, but we are not defiled.

Anyway, sleeping naked is an individual’s choice, not for you to decide and opine. How you sleep does not interest us at all.

In the final analysis, the morality of a person is judged by his/her adherence to integrity, accountability, respect, honour, honesty, impartiality, transparency, etc., etc. when performing and discharging one’s duties to others.

50. #50 by AhPek on Tuesday, 17 February 2009 - 5:43 pm

OrangRojak,
    You probably are the best person in this blog to respond to this sick man Kasim Amat by telling him it is precisely because of small minded people like him reacting to gossips over nude human body that is making Malaysia a laughing stock.And there are many of such people who thinks prudishness is proper but thinks nothing of characters like Mohd Taib,Toyo or Najib who have constantly provided the world with unbelievably shocking tales.They are propelling Malaysia back to the stone age and are precisely the people who are making malaysia the laughing stock of the world!