The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is wrong when he said that Pakatan Rakyat must now accept a new government in Perak just as Barisan Nasional had accepted the results of last year’s general election.
The comparison is totally inappropriate. In fact, he should be the last person to make such a statement if he is serious about national integrity and morality in politics and public affairs which is one of his major promises and biggest failures of his premiership.
Abdullah cannot be unaware that there is a world of a difference between last year’s general election result and the current political crisis in Perak engineered by Umno leaders.
Last year’s general election results were the outcome of the exercise of the constitutional and democratic rights of the people of Perak to elect the government of their choice, while the present attempt to oust the legitimate Pakatan Rakyat government by UMNO and Barisan Nasional is a most unethical and opportunistic power-play frustrating the verdict of the voters in the March 8 general election last year.
If Abdullah is sincere and serious in wanting to eradicate political corruption and introduce ethical and principled politics, which he had repeatedly professed publicly, he should dissociate himself from the coup d’etat orchestrated by Deputy Prime Minister and the new Perak Umno leader Datuk Seri Najib Razak in the illegal and unconstitutional power grab in Perak through the defection of three and re-defection of one Perak state assembly person.
I call on Abdullah to support the dissolution of Perak State Assembly and the holding of state elections to resolve the political crisis in Perak and not to end his premiership with a constitutional scandal of two Mentri Besars in Perak.
Even if this is the only legacy of Abdullah in his five-year premiership, it will go a long way to strike a mortal blow at the bane of Malaysian politics – dishonest, unethical, immoral and money politics – and give meaning to the National Integrity Plan which he had launched with such fanfare five years ago but with so little results so far.
Although the Sultan of Perak has rejected the application of the Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin for a dissolution of the State Assembly, Nizar is still the legitimate Mentri Besar until he has been voted out by a “no confidence” motion in the Perak State Assembly.
Until such time, there is no vacancy in the post of Perak Mentri Besar.
Abdullah should advise Najib not to create a constitutional scandal of having two Mentri Besars in Perak and to fully respect the constitutional process and the people’s democratic right and mandate as expressed in last year’s general election – and the most democratic option is to return the mandate to the voters of Perak in a state-wide election to elect a new state government of their choice.

#1 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 10:48 am
“I suggest that Nizar should simply return the “Dato’ Seri” title to the Sultan. Anyone other than Jeffrey disagree ?” (Godfather).
Godfather’s suggestion that Nizar should simply return the “Dato’ Seri” title to the Sultan is an extremist one characteristic of his mindset which right & measured thinking people thinking of Nizar/PR’s best interest will not rush to do!
Besides the point raised by Onlooker Politics in posting February 7th, 2009 at 08: 57.04, it must be born in mind that Nizar has done nothing wrong to dishonor his title – the Sultan has not asked it back – and therefore to return the title under such circumstances to the Sultan, as Godfather suggests, is calculated with the intention of insulting or dishonoring the Royalty just because one’s does not agree with HRH’s interpretation of and action based on Article 16 (6) of Perak State Constitution.
Fortunately neither PR nor Nizar is as impetuous and foolish as some of their overzealous supporters whose vision is only as far as the distance between eyes and nose and hence whose advice no matter as well intentioned will do more harm than good!!
The stance taken by PR/Nizar is to maintain recourse to challenge the constitutionality of the transfer of power. It appears to be grounded on a good basis in law as above discussions show; it appears to be a way to repudiate the legal and moral legitimacy of the BN’s state govt hurriedly formed in Perak, which is more dignified that Nizar’s initial charade of going through the motion of rescheduling appointments as MB with consultants and investors against the backdrop of BN’s fait accompli.
What requires to be balanced is the need for (1) legal recourse suit against (2) the need to maintain respect of the institution of Royalty/Monarchy (as distinct from whether or not one agrees, as a matter of constitutional law with HRH Sultan Azlan Shah’s interpretation).
Which is why PR nor Nizar’s decision to maintain legal recourse (but not directed at the Sultan) is measured and well calculated!
#2 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 10:54 am
The approach adopted by PR/Nizar appears to be to challenge the constitutional validity of Dato’s Zamri’s appointment as MB on basis that the interpretation of law leading to such appointment is misdirected in law.
It is routine people challenge judges’ interpretation of law by appealing to higher or alternative forum against their decisions without implicating disrespect or dishonor of the judges personally or the institution of judiciary they represent.
It is fine line, one can say, since the decision erroneously made led to the wrong action and difficulty of discrediting the decision without discrediting the decision maker itself.
Rarefied as the distinction may be – and difficult as it is to maintain the distinction – yet it must be made.
#3 by jus legitimum on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 11:15 am
From now on,the so called learned ones in the monarchy have drastically changed the favourable perception of the people towards them.It is all because ‘cakap tidak serupa bikin’.
#4 by alaneth on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 11:19 am
Quote:
mother of three Says:
February 7th, 2009 at 00: 53.09
Next election???????Don’t be too confident.By then, many things will be changed and more new laws will be in place in order to favour them.
PR made the Mar 2008 GE Tsunami mainly due to Hindraf & Bersih campaign. Can we say it is a coincident? depending on luck too, I don’t know why, but the rakyat seems to be swayed by issues/actions that happen just before a GE. So if by the next GE PR Aduns & MP candidates can really show with their sincerely hearts that they care & they can perform, I see no reason why PR cannot take over Perak again – this time with an astounding majority. BN will then have no face and a shameful defeat.
#5 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 11:50 am
My brain is bleeding at the Asian definition of ‘respect’ Jeffrey. If my friends think I am full of sh!t, they instantly tell me, out of respect and concern that I may not have realised where I have gone astray. I’d rather you substituted ‘face’, ‘honour’, ‘obedience’, ‘subservience’, ‘sycophancy’, ‘loyalty’ or any other such terms for the antiquated foolishness I believe you’re referring to.
What has actually been lodged with the courts? Is it a complaint of some kind, or an appeal for judicial review of what has happened in Perak? It appears to me that there is ample ‘elbow-room’ for a complaint to be lodged on the basis that the sultan has not acted in strict agreement with the pertinent law. It is, in terms of heinous wrongs and glorious rights, a very small matter. Despite the upset caused to the people of Perak and beyond, it’s a matter of simple procedure. If the people of Malaysia cannot risk questioning a simple matter of procedure, what else are they unable to question?
Zambry appears to be an able politician – my fear would be that by directing a case toward him, PR’s law team would immediately fail on the basis that Zambry himself has done nothing wrong.
I just made the mistake of looking at NST. Why do they make the photographs of those buffoons (“the sultan’s decision shows BN is legal”, “Just accept / the law must be respected”) so big? Is it so I can print them out and frame them on my wall?
#6 by polarrev on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 11:51 am
Zimbabwe in the making?
#7 by wesuffer on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 11:57 am
BN IS PLAYING DIRTY WAY TO USING MONEY TO BUY OVER FROGS. BUT THIS MOST EXPENSIVE FROG THAN WE BUY AT MARKET.
#8 by shah pinang on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 12:02 pm
lbl Says:
February 7th, 2009 at 10: 15.10
I think the DAP should hold an inquiry as to why Hee Yit Foong defected to the BN. Is it because of the 2 cousins, Datuk Ngeh Koo Ham and Nga Kor Ming?
Before the last election Fong Po Kuan also had some problems with the 2 cousins.
jus legitimum Says:
February 7th, 2009 at 10: 47.08
lbl,do not blame the two cousins
—————————————————————————————————————
I think the ‘two cousins issue’ should not just be ignored. DAP has to make an in house inquiry to find the ‘root’ cause of the problem. Far from blaming, this is meant to identify the actual ‘weaknesses’ which might have partly contributed to the defection of Hee and apparent dissatisfaction amongst members of the Pakatan.
——————————————————————————————
Ku Li: Why Nizar is still the MB
“Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin is still the Perak Mentri Besar until he resigns of his own accord, or is removed by a vote of no-confidence in a formal sitting of the State Assembly”, said Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah.
——————————————————————————————–
Dato Seri IR Nizar will always be the Perakian’s MB! I agree with Jeffrey- PR/Nizar’s decision to maintain legal recourse (but not directed at the HRH Sultan) is a measured and well calculated strategy. Before am accuse of adopting a ‘flip-flop’ mentality-(no pun intended Godfather) I have said all along this is part of the ‘regrouping’ process. We are ‘retreating’ from the battle-and now engaging in a war of attrition. We seek to strengthen the constitutional position of the Pakatan administration and delegitimize BN’s coup de tat. Zambry might still be the MB at the end of the day-but severely weaken in the eye of the people and the rules of law. And the silver lining in the cloud- The illegal administration might collapse and HRH Sultan will have no choice but to call for a fresh election.
#9 by tkk on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 12:08 pm
Dato Seri Nizar,
I would like to acknowledge your stand in wanting to make a difference to Perak. In the space of a short 10 months you have won the hearts of Perakians. I hear of only good things about your deeds. You really have a clear conscience and will be able to sleep well.
Do not let this setback stop you from moving forward. It only means that there is a lot more hard work from now till GE13. Be really ready by then. Make sure that there are calibre candidates ready to take on the vision you and PR has started. Make sure that they are genuine and with integrity.
Come GE13 all this hard work will pay off.
I ugre you to advise your beloved people to stop any confrontations that may get anyone hurt. Patience is the virtue.
#10 by wesuffer on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 12:08 pm
perak today is become a history. history will not be forget
by people. the angry , dissatisfy in heart will release on next GE.
4 YEARS COMING. not long.
#11 by patchay on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 12:14 pm
The main issue here is the BN govt is not legitimate until election is called. It is further illegal when the 3 indepedents havent joined BN, what more 2 of them are suspected criminals.
By the words of Najib and Sultan, you formed a new govt. This is ridiculous. The state secretary cannot take side and political too. And you cannot humiliate an elected govt as happened to MB Nizar yesterday morning. He needs to resigned first before swearing in a new MB. And he cannot resigned until a vote of no confidence or dissolution of assembly takes place.
To Umno, don’t tarnish democracy and the role of free elections, please. And this should not be set as a precedent for time to come. The world is watching us closely via international media like IHT, AP, CNA.
Perak should not be BN’s priority. The priority should be economy and review of ISA and NEP.
>> coverage as it happened two days ago: http://www.patchay.com/2009/02/hooha-hooha-in-malaysia.html
#12 by sammyvellu on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 12:20 pm
Could this stunt by Najib a trap set by Pak Lah (& dear Khairy) for his deputy to commit political suicide, thereby sparing him the exit in March?
#13 by Outcasts on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 12:22 pm
Najis’ economic stimulus plan is to stimulate frog breeding so that he can become the Minister of Frog and rule the frog-land.
#14 by shah pinang on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 12:46 pm
Just to add (to my previous comment which is still being ‘moderated’)-another silver lining in the cloud….the relentless support shown by DAP and PKR leaders and members, towards YAB Dato Seri IR Nizar – from PAS is the ‘true spirit’ of Pakatan that might have been lacking before. Perhaps this is where Pakatan ‘turn the corner’ and start working towards a stronger and viable coalition, ready to undertake the Federal Government in the next general election.
#15 by negarawan on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 12:49 pm
Ku Li understands the law better than the former lord president
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/2/7/nation/3217438&sec=nation
#16 by taiking on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 12:58 pm
Article XVI(6) of the Perak Constitution says (cut and paste from somewhere above):
“If the Mentri Besar ceases to command the confidence of the majority of the Legislative Assembly, then unless at his request His Royal Highness dissolves the Legislative Assembly, he shall tender the resignation of the Executive Council.”
To my mind this provision is meant for a specific situation i.e. when the chief min of the state loses popular support in the assembly by which i mean majority support (using the language of the constitution).
Has this happen yet? It is arguable. Loh made a valid point. Losing majority support of the assembly must be an event certain. Disagreement is to be expected and disagreement with the chief min by assembly members in numbers which are sufficient to form majority is not (strictly speaking) an impossible event. However, such chanced grouping of majority view is the product of vicissitudes and cannot be counted as certainty in respect of which the contitutional provision could be kicked into operation. Now if the three traitors were to join bn than certainty of the said event would be beyond question. Again the same conclusion can be made if a declaration of no-confidence against the cm was passed by the assembly. But is a mere line-crossing by three traitors sufficient to land the event with the necessary certainty? To my mind this is doubtful. At the same time it is not like the majority disagreement scenario i have painted above. It would be appropriate to see the three of them as standing in middle ground and that would not be certain enough for one to conclude that the chief min has lost majority support. A no-confidence motion is the only way ahead for them and for najib. Mere declaration of support or affiliation will not do. The story would be different if they started as independants (i.e. partyless) but campaigned under bn umbrella and manifesto.
Speaking of kicking the constitutional provision into operation, it is quite obvious to my mind – and hardly controversial, I believe – that the cm in the circumstances is required to “tender the resignation of the Executive Council”. However the cm is also given the option to request HRH to dissolve the assembly. In short the provision tells the cm what to do if he should lose majority support; and he has two options. It is important to note that the provision places no exceptions or limitations upon the two options – in particular upon the exercise of the options. They are free standing options and the cm has complete liberty to pick whichever one he feels appropriate. In other words, the choice is his and his only. Now that Nizar has chosen to request for dissolution can HRH decline? Without the benefit of reading the other provisions of the constitution, I am of the view that HRH cannot. Doing so would simply make a nonsense of the options.
#17 by democrate on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 1:03 pm
YB Nizar,
i m a Perakian in Johor already know that u hv done many good things to the Perakians. I really sad looking at your sad face in Sin Chew Press. U r not losing but u had been ragut and rompak by Najis and the Peragut of Umno, U know tis is what happen to JB a RAGUT CITY .
Anyway, the Perakians r still behind u and bcareful next time when u get along with Mamak like the katak Jamaludin and i suppose the the idiot from Pangkor also a Makmak was the man who went against the issue of grant to TOL for Perakians. Do u all think he will do better? question the 3 dead frogs lah!
#18 by k1980 on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 1:09 pm
Just a week into The Year of the OX, and look what the corrupted cow of jelapang has wrought onto the people of perak.
#19 by limkamput on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 1:12 pm
Undergrad2,
It is not working not because we do not have a state police or state Supreme Court like in the U.S.
I can’t imagine states like Perlis and Melaka are able to sustain a state police or a state supreme court although I fully agree that may be it is time to dismantle the national police force. They are just too powerful and overwhelming for the good of this country.
There is no way we can foresee or fill up all the loopholes of constitutions. So the issue is not really constitutions or interpretation of constitutions. It is about who we are – our animalistic behaviour, never believing in fair play, treating public offices as source of wealth and income, leaders talk one thing and do another, and citizens just know how to groan at coffee shops.
#20 by ALLAN THAM on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 1:23 pm
as usual for any newcomer to the power will make all sweet promises until the cow would not eat grass and eat the meat instead.
But any of you will buy the sweet?
It was also reported in Malaysiakini that the two tainted kataks will be charged as promise by MACC. The strange thing is why this assurance? If charge be made then it will be charge regardless who you are. Who is your political party. It is this assurance try to counter the people perception that once you alight with the those in the power of corridor you will get favorable treatment. If so the perception is real? or it is real. Right!
Let look no far. Down south. People who evade tax will ave to go to jail and paid the penalties that is as simple as it is. Even a southern political figure also being put to jail by the government at the southern end of our country just try to bribe a traffic police. So if BN want to make changes why not enforce the law that it should be.
Do you really trust BN and all their promises.?
#21 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 1:33 pm
OrangRojak said, “My brain is bleeding at the Asian definition of ‘respect’ Jeffrey” – posting of February 7th, 2009 at 11: 50.41
Yes, the term “respect” boggles the mind when it is used in different contexts.
On level between individuals, it is not presumed or gratuitously proffered to someone undeserving. It is earned.
However on societal level, when one deals with an institution, whether Judiciary or Monarchy, then “respect” is accorded (as opposed to “earned) to that institution, if for whatever reason, historical, traditional, rational or irrational, such is valued to be retained in the society.
Then it gets a bit complicated as a distinction is sought to be drawn between the position and the person currently occupying it.
We then have an anomalous situation in which one could get so angry with the official/person sitting on that chair that one could spit in his face and yet feel like demanding an apology from him in impeding the path of your saliva, and yet by virtue of his position – and you guess it, “respect for the institution” – refrained from doing so. In part this is because that institution “respected” is permanent; it survives its immediate occupier, no matter how despicable a person; the position may also be symbolic of certain values and traditions held dear.
‘Respect’ is this regard is not peculiarly an Asian definition – no more than Western: for eg, a Briton might think Prince Charles a nerd and yet in his royal presence would say polite things – same as some conservative American might squirm if his daughter shares 5 minutes of conversation with Bill Clinton and yet would not show it. All kinds of motions were initiated as a means to provide Clinton or Nixon a graceful exit (short of last resort of impeachment) because of this so called “respect” for the institution of presidency. Same in the case of Judiciary, they will say, if my Lordship so pleases when what they would have wished to say is, “bugger off you old fool!” So there is hypocrisy and fiction in this as in other areas for social life.
The “respect” institution of Monarchy here is different in nuance from institution of judiciary/presidency referred to above. This institution is “feudal” in origin and tradition – quite apart from institution of judiciary/presidency where a society, as the USA, has not the feudal tradition. So “respect” for Monarchy would, I imagine include ‘face’, ‘obedience’, ‘subservience’ ‘sycophancy’ etc, often interchangeable. Having said this, history has also shown, that if an institution repeatedly, by actions/omissions of its occupier disappoints, angers and frustrates felt needs, then its value will diminish and it may in due course be abandoned.
Whilst we are aware that PR has evinced an intention to maintain legal action, as a matter of principle, we are not aware which specific party it would sue, which surely would depend on legal advice. However it has since backtracked from initial mention of suing Royalty for reasons of pragmatic restraint based on “respect” for institution of Monarchy.
#22 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 1:59 pm
“…..a government of the people, by the people and for the people”….. John F. Kennedy
“….a government of UMNO, led by UMNO and for UMNO”…. ???
Did UMNO act alone without consulting its coalition partners? What say MCA, MIC, Gerakan etc etc who will now bear the brunt of the people’s anger? All might be wiped out soon all because of the PM-in-waiting.
#23 by dawsheng on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 2:07 pm
If Perakians is serious about democracy, and having a good state government, at least 500,000 of you should line up the streets, and make your voice heard, loud and clear. I want to see how Syed Hamid is going to deal with it.
#24 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 2:09 pm
Look at the so many Malays who used their naked body to support the PR government in Perak. The multi-racial PR government. BN is mostly UMNO, the corrupted ones head by a criminal on the loose. Yet these Malays did not support this mostly Malay BN government. They support the one who truly serve and help the people. We hope PR will be back soon with a greater majority.
Naturally we are disappointed by the Sultan. Was he also under threat by the criminal on the loose?
For that former DAP woman, you are the most disgusting woman on earth. You are a traitor to the women and to the Chinese. You should have committed harakiri by now instead of defecting.
#25 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 2:11 pm
Dear Perak Today,
As much as Nizar claims that BN manipulated the events in Perak, he must not forget how he also guilty of the same tactic; accepting UMNO ADUN Bota into PR fold.
My point is that NIzar becomes victim of Anwar’ s greed. The moral of the story, never initiate unethical act( such as trying to bribe ADUN Bota or any MPs from the other divide) if you do not want to suffer similar fate.
No need to lecture about BN buring ADUN Jelapang when you also involve in this same game. And if PR insist on this dirty tactic, it must expect the other side to react.
As simple as that. As for questioning the decision of the Sultan, well be prepared to lose the votes from Malay community. The Sultan may want to avoid another round of time-consuming election campaign when we just had another last year.
I appeal Nizar to show some humility by accepting reality that his govt had already collapsed. This is the price that you paid for allowing Anwar’s unimaginable greed into your state govt.
You got what you deserved. Why enticed Adun Bota in the first place? Why so upset when BN also used the same game to induce Hee into BN’s fold?
As for showering praise on Nizar, please take note that many Malays rejoice at the collapse of Nizar’s govt. Hopefully, the policy of making malays as “pariah” in Perak, courtesy of Nizar, will stop.
As for Anwar, look that you are beaten in your own court
#26 by dawsheng on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 2:13 pm
There is no point having democracy in cyberspace and yet we cannot practice democracy on the ground.
#27 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 2:24 pm
Thanks for the reply Jeffrey – I had better stop commenting, I think. The lack of responses to my letter-posting campaign to get a telephone that works (it’s a political fault, rather than a technical one), followed by events in Perak, followed by accidentally seeing the NST, is turning me into a Rationalist Fundamentalist. Next thing I know, I’ll be buying a big box of eggs, writing ‘Freedom’ on them with a highlighter pen and charging the riot police in Putrajaya shouting “say jello to my leetle frens!”. I am utterly against infringing even the most trivial law and abhor violence as a means to an end, so my brain now feels like it wants to explode.
I worry that a PR federal government is a slight possibility at GE13. I am more convinced that it would suffer almost exactly the same fate as Perak’s government. Insulated from the machinery of power by old friends’ networks and extra-professional allegiances, I imagine they’d find it very difficult to perform, and even more difficult to keep members who know how easy it is to retire to a life of fun at their own mansion in Australia, should they only trade in their mandate.
Nobody should be forbidden to protest, but protest may play into the hands of those itching to demonstrate their power. I’m a useful person – what can I legally do to help PR? Blogs have been great for winning popular support, and a campaign site when it comes, will no doubt be an expensive work of graphic art. If PR needs any functional information infrastructure, I can do that, and I’d be happy to donate my time, visa permitting.
democracy in cyberspace
I think this is technically anarchy, dawsheng – it’s great, isn’t it? Only really possible when there’s some other system putting food on the table.
#28 by jus legitimum on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 2:31 pm
I think the Perakians should firstly pelt the four ugliest traitors with rotten eggs and later openly reprimand them wherever and whenever possible for their most disgusting actions and behaviour.By doing so,the non Perakians like we all will also at least have our anger vented.
#29 by dawsheng on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 2:39 pm
If People of Perak supports PR state government, they should protect it. Certain things can wait but this one can’t.
#30 by dawsheng on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 2:47 pm
“Only really possible when there’s some other system putting food on the table.”
We have no problems putting food on the table.
#31 by Richardqed on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 2:53 pm
Bigjoe Says:
February 7th, 2009 at 09: 02.50
If DAP knew there was a potential constitutional crises, why did they let Nizar see the Sultan on his own without Karpal Singh or a constitutional expert with him? Did Nizar made a good constitutional argument? I seriously doubt so. PR Perak govt is proving not to be stepping up on crucial moments…
Put it this way: The Sultan is the former top judge in the country. He should not need either side to argue out the constitution to him. It is clear that his mind is already made up, regardless of anything that Nizar can say to him, and that the only thing he wanted from Nizar was for Nizar to just resigned as instructed. Otherwise, you would not see the one-sided statement that: if Nizar did not resign, then his post is considered vacant. It is very clear from this kind of language, that HRH is partial towards BN.
#32 by limkamput on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 2:58 pm
Someone is really talking nonsense about “respect”. If respect is as described above, there would be no revolution and kings and queens would have to abdicate or in some instances have their heads chopped off. Comparison was then made of Prince Charles of UK. Look, Prince Charles has never and will never enjoy that kind of power as here. The British people and the British political system will ensure that this does not happen. We must differentiate respect for someone holding a “titular” role and and those holding substantive power and making substantive decision. No matter who that person is, if that person makes substantive decisions and exercises power and discretion, then that person’s respect must be earned. Don’t get yourself into typical third world mentality.
#33 by alberttye on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 3:01 pm
It’s unbelievable that such things can still happen in a supposedly developed country like Malaysia.
We aspire to become a developed economy by 2020.
Can We ???
The governing BN/Umno must behave in a more civilized manner. Not to use the Nazi..b’s method !
Malaysian Ringgit and Singapore Dollar were of same value in 1965. Now ? 100 RM is worth only S$42.
If BN/UMNO continues its policy, the country will continue to go down the longkang !!!!
#34 by Thor on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 3:01 pm
We are not going to wait for four years.
We’re going to do it by today,tommorrow,next week or even next year.
As long as there is a by-election anywhere, we’ll sweep you off every state.
We’ve confidence in doing that because after this crisis, we are more matured and care more for each other.
The anger and the feelings deep inside made us forget about what races and religion we are.
We don’t care whether we’re chinese,malay,indian or whatsoever!
We care about justice, democracy and unity and that’s what it counts.
Up till now, I’m still “mourning” deep inside not because of the fall of Perak states but by the action of a “head of the state”, who supported foul play.
I usually never care much about politics because I don’t gain anything from it.
Promise of developement here and there and this and that.
Who benefited those?
Build highways and we’ve to pay tolls!
Bring more developement and we’ve spend more on parkings and other things.
By reality, nothing benefits us at all.
We’ve to work real hard for our money while you “raiders” tax us on everything.
Everyone of us who was born here was given the equal right to be here and everything belongs to us equally.
I don’t take sides and I’m not bluffing for I’m not like that old master of flip flop!
My hard is pure and I pitied those who’re being bullied.
We’re not easily tempted by sweets and goodies anymore!!!
You hold funtions, we attend.
You hold open house, we eat.
We shake your hands, we’ll wash it with dettol after that.
You give whatever good, we’ll still take it.
And till time comes, when there’s election whether big or small, we’ll sent you buckling up.
You think there’s no god so that you idiots could fool around.
Pretending to be religious and going to mosque, while lying to god on the other side.
Using all your bloody laws to suppress us and putting your own people as head of lawmakers to bully us.
Just wait and see for it would’nt be long and I guarantee that.
We’ll act in the name of god, from now onwards till the next GE!
#35 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 3:06 pm
We have no problems putting food on the table.
That’s what I mean. I might have been wrong about anarchy in cyberspace – there are monarchs, obviously – ever been in ‘moderation’? LKS is taking part in an anarchy, as he has his own blog, but still, hosting companies have been known to pull the plug at the first suggestion of legal action by someone offended by a site.
Perak is officially still a democracy, the democratically elected federal government has told us it is… If you wanted the democracy / anarchy you’re enjoying online IRL (In Real Life) in Malaysia, I don’t doubt for a moment that your hosts would ‘put you in moderation’, if they didn’t return you to your family with parts ‘[deleted]‘.
#36 by limkamput on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 3:15 pm
Repost because of mistake earlier:
Someone is really talking nonsense about “respect”. If respect is as described above, there would be no revolution and kings and queens would not have to abdicate or in some instances have their heads chopped off. Comparison was then made of Prince Charles of UK. Look, Prince Charles has never and will never enjoy that kind of power as here. The British people and the British political system will ensure that this does not happen. We must differentiate respect for someone holding a “titular” position and those holding substantive power and making substantive decision. No matter who that person is, if that person makes substantive decisions and exercises power and discretion, then that person’s respect must be earned. Don’t get yourself into typical third world mentality.
#37 by Richardqed on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 3:17 pm
lbl Says:
February 7th, 2009 at 10: 15.10
Dear YB,
I think the DAP should hold an inquiry as to why Hee Yit Foong defected to the BN. Is it because of the 2 cousins, Datuk Ngeh Koo Ham and Nga Kor Ming?
Before the last election Fong Po Kuan also had some problems with the 2 cousins.
Probably being ladies they are helpless against the gang of DAP 2 cousins.
Please look into this before the rot spreads.
———
But you see, Fong Po Kuan would never betray the rakyat. The most serious she went to was to decide not to contest, no thoughts about defecting at all. After thinking it over, she came back to contest and won for DAP. Not like the b@stard bxxch Hee.
But I agree that Datuk Ngeh should be queried by DAP national leadership for allowing one of his people to be stolen by the other side. He should have seen the present situation coming sooner. If he thinks on DAP’s behalf, he should return his Datuk title back, and continue DAP’s crusade with a “Datuk” title.
#38 by ctc537 on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 3:31 pm
I admire so many of you here, including Jeffrey, OrangRojak, undergrad2, etc., for having so much time to argue over things that are quite beyond our control. HRH Sultan Raja Azlan Shah, Najib, Pak Lah, Niar, DESAI, etc, just have no time to read what you all are trying to put across.
What I do know is that with rapid urbanisation especially along the west coast the gap of thinking between the Malays and non-Malays regarding national issues is fast narrowing. This is a very healthy development simply because the votes are in their hands. All that we need to do to effect change in our country is through making more friends not only with our own kind but also other races.
#39 by Thor on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 3:42 pm
No need for enquiry for even a stupid fella could understand what it’s all about. She complained that she was never given an exco member position and was given a proton perdana instead of Camry.
The devil tempted her with millions and she agreed to exchange it for her “soul”.
Not only she sold her “soul” but she too absconded those voters hope as well.
She even tarnished the image of all those handicap fellas in this country.
The chinese believed that there are 18 levels in hell.
So for traitor Yee! with the millions that you’ve gained from your action, I hope that you could bring along all of those fortunes of yours, to bribe your way down, till your time comes.
#40 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 3:50 pm
Malaysian Insider (7 Feb):Will Najib flatter to deceive?
Hell, I think Najib will flatten to deceive!
And: “His supporters say that he should not be judged by the track records of Dr Mahathir or Abdullah, pointing out that Najib truly understands that the country he will lead will be the most polarised and divided in history.”
Hello, can you give me a different joke?
#41 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 3:51 pm
He understands? Hello, can you give me a different joke?
#42 by sean on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 3:53 pm
As far as i am concern………..the royalty was just being made used of.And unfortunately an “apple” may have been used to damaged the whole basket of the other apples.In this case the Apple refers to Royalties.Just went the rakyat have gone towards and embrace the royalty to uphold justice and blah blah blah….and fortunately some other royalties have opened their eyes and knew what was wrong and what was right to do.So…Umno need this to break the trust the rakyat have towards the royalties and it seems it works well.BN is not too concern about the near future (BACKLASH FROM VOTERS)in any FUTURE election since they have puppets in the election commission and judiaciary and ofcourse PDRM.What concerns most for BN or shall i say umno is the rakyat looking up to the royalties for guidance and to uphold justice . And since respects have restored from the views of the rakyat till todate for the royalties ,…..then comes this Perak episode whcih will eventually “again” tarnish their good name and mistrust by the rakyat.So whether we like it or not,what BN have done is a complete success for their”AGENDA”(again..never mind the future backlash)…but most important is getting the rakyat to not trust royalties again.That is utmost important for BN and Umno.Others..well..they can tackle it one at a time.Well…its a priority for Umno to get the rakyat to not trust Royalties is the RIGHT priority in the right order.
#43 by I Malaysian on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 4:01 pm
I came across this topic in Malaysian Insider just now:-
“BN begins uphill battle for hearts and minds in Perak” It seems they have a Chinese New Year Treat, a strategy to win over the Chinese and non-Malays. This is the most crucial time for PR to prove people’s support fro them once again.
Why not PR arranges its own CNY treat by MB Nizar in Perak. Let the entire state population join them showing their support? I hope PR considers this seriously.
#44 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 4:12 pm
The current Perak Constitutional Crisis is an event of power struggle which is not ended yet. It is not merely the power struggle between BN and PR, but it is also the power struggle between the Royalty and the Executive.
When Mr. Karpal Singh is to file a petition to the high court for a judicial review, then the judiciary will be the arbiter which is to determine whether a ruler really enjoys absolute power to dismiss the Menteri Besar.
I am not going to jump into the conclusion or guessing now that how the court is going to rule in Mr. Karpal’s petition. However, I wish to list down the several possible outcomes which may appear in the court judgement:
1) The Sultan wins and therefore all rulers will be given full power (through the case law) to dismiss a Menteri Besar whom either has displeased his ruler or has been voted out of office in the motion of no confidence against him in the State Assembly.
2) Mr. Karpal wins therefore the Sultan has no right to dismiss his MB until the Sultan dissolves the State Assembly.
3) Both the Sultan and Mr. Karpal win because the court will rule in such a way that the Sultan is given some restrictive rights to remove his MB based on certain legitimate reasons such as
a) The MB has committed a severe crime;
b) The MB has been voted out of office through a motion of no confidence against him by the majority of the State Assembly;
c) The MB is certified by a medical doctor that he is incapable to satisfactorily perform his duty as an MB due to health reason or senility reason;
d) The MB has committed immorality because he secretly keeps a fifth wife.
Option (3) may be a much more favourable outcome to the majority of Malaysian people because it provides some checks-and-balances to the excessive power of the Executive while confirming the role of the ruler as the stake holder during the power transfer of the state government from one party to another party. Meanwhile, option (3) will provide some restrictions to the prerogative power of the Sultan to dismiss an MB in order to prevent a further running down of the power into despotism via absolute power being vested into the hand of the Sultan. Option (3) will better clarify the limit of the ruler’s power in the system of Constitutional Monarchy.
In view of the above possible outcomes, it is not too bad for the common Malaysian people to have such a constitutional crisis because the judiciary branch of the government is going to be given a chance to prove that the judiciary itself is not simply an instrumental device of the Executive in Malaysia.
#45 by dawsheng on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 4:23 pm
If you wanted the democracy / anarchy you’re enjoying online IRL (In Real Life) in Malaysia, I don’t doubt for a moment that your hosts would ‘put you in moderation’, if they didn’t return you to your family with parts ‘[deleted]‘. – OrangRojak
Then give up, don’t fight! Be a silent majority and say goodbye to PR.
#46 by mathuraveeran on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 4:25 pm
My sincere advise to our leaders in the opposition please recall all the PKR, DAP PAS aduns and have a serious heart to heart talk that in the future no ADUN will leapfrog to BN. Besides it is also lesson learnt that sign letter of resignation is not valid, find ways legally so that any future insident such as that just happen will not be repeated.
It is most advisable that Dato Khalid (MB Selangor) recall his ADUN and make them to renew a new pledges of support and also get them to sign new letters of resignation,or you may have to loss Selangor like Perak.
Its like Selangor next in line, money can buy anything name the price.
#47 by veddy.lum74 on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 4:37 pm
this mamak zamry’s face is very similar to one umno youth ex-leader that went to chinese assembly hall to ask for fight on the year 2000!
i really hate those mamak in umno,normally,they are more malay than malay!!!
let us recall the incident that created almost another 513 in KL:
Petaling Jaya, Monday): The Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Norian Mai, should explain why UMNO Youth Deputy Leader Datuk Abdul Aziz Sheikh Fadzir is allowed to go on an anti-national rampage undermining inter-racial harmony, when a PAS youth leader would have been detained under ISA for doing half of what the UMNO Youth leader had done.
Last Friday, in utter disregard and disrespect of sensitivities of a multi-racial, multi-lingual, multi-cultural and multi-religious Malaysia, Abdul Aziz led an unruly, abusive and gangsterish UMNO Youth demonstration at the Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall in Kuala Lumpur to protest against the Malaysian Chinese Organisation Elections Appeals Committee (Suqiu).
Inflammatory and racist placards were displayed during the UMNO Youth demonstration threatening a racial conflict, reporters and photographers were manhandled and abused, while threats to “burn down the Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall” were issued.
Many had questioned where were the police water cannons and FRU last Friday when UMNO Youth staged not only an illegal assembly, but a highly unruly, abusive and gangsterish demonstration reminiscent of UMNO Youth’s lawless and gangsterish break-up of the Second Asia-Pacific Conference on East Timor (APCET) in Kuala Lumpur in November 1996.
What would have happened if the MCA Youth had been equally insensitive about Malaysia’s plural society and had staged a similar unruly, abusive and gangsterish demonstration outside say the Malay Chamber of Commerce, displaying racist and inflammatory placards and threatening to “burn down the Malay Chamber of Commerce”? Wouldn’t this have sparked off a “racial confrontation”?
What is even more deplorable is that Abdul Aziz and UMNO Youth are trying to escalate racial tensions in the country, threatening an even “bigger” demonstration if Suqiu Committee does not heed the UMNO Youth’s one-week ultimatum by Thursday to apologise for the Suqui demands.
Again, what would have happened if a PAS youth leader had led an unruly, abusive and gangsterish demonstration outside the Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall, issuing a one-week ultimatum with the threat to burn down the Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall? There is no doubt that such a PAS youth leader would have immediately been detained under the Internal Security Act for inflaming racial sentiments, tensions and animosities among the various races in the country and actions detrimental to national security!
Tan Sri Norian Mai should realise that UMNO Youth and Abdul Aziz have placed the police credibility, independence, professionalism and integrity under a very great test and the police have not acquitted itself very impressively or creditably so far.
Abdul Aziz and UMNO Youth should in fact apologise and drop their unreasonable demand that the Suqiu Committee withdraw and apologise for the Suqiu demands as they cannot be unaware that MCA, Gerakan and SUPP had declared their full support for the 17-point Suqiu demands on August 17 last year.
Or are they next going to demand that MCA, Gerakan and SUPP leaders, namely Datuk Seri Dr. Ling Liong Sik, Datuk Seri Dr. Lim Keng Yaik and Datuk Law Hieng Ding should publicly withdraw and apologise for supporting the Suqiu demands before the last general election?
It is most regrettable that there are no signs that any top government leader, whether Prime Minister Datuk Seri Dr. Mahathir Mohamad or the Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Abdullah Badawi, is heeding the DAP call that they should put a stop to the irresponsible politicking by extremist, desperate and bankrupt UMNO leaders who are prepared to plunge the country into a communal and political crisis just to serve their political ends to restore Malay political support.
All Malaysians, regardless of race, religion or political beliefs, who love Malaysia and cherish inter-racial harmony, should step forward to condemn the irresponsible politicking of UMNO Youth and Abdul Aziz and make clear that there is no place for such political desperados and reckless communal politicking in Malaysia in the new millennium.
The Barisan Nasional Cabinet and Government, in particular, must make a categorical stand to denounce UMNO Youth and Abdul Aziz for the unruly, abusive, gangsterish and provocative demonstration at the Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall last Friday and the threats of a bigger demonstration and to “burn down the Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall” on the expiry of its baseless and ridiculous one-week ultimatum.
(21/8/2000)
#48 by veddy.lum74 on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 4:50 pm
sorry,it’s clue.
#49 by One4All4One on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 5:05 pm
The following links refer:
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/17837-najib-defends-power-grab-as-constitutional
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/17831-will-najib-flatter-to-deceive
What can we expect when we have a scenario where the interests of ALL Malaysians are marginalized, sidelined, hijacked, abused, overlooked on purpose, compromised, and whatnot by the administration which promised to look after and defend their interest.
The events and history of the nation are best described as a major failure in more ways than one given the vast resources, potential and inherent riches the nation is endowed with.
That the vast resources, in terms of human capital and potential and that of natural endowments, had not been fairly, equitably, sensibly, honestly, accountably and transparently managed with integrity is a complete let down.
Coupled that with the conveniently prejudiced and discriminating interpretation of the Federal Constitution to favor certain ethnic or religious groups, and the concomitant one-sided preferential treatment of the same in matters political, economic, social and educational indeed made a mockery of the the democratic and parliamentary principles that it claimed to practise.
With such systemic faulty tendencies and biased administration, certainly it is a matter of time before major consequential problems would surface.
No amount of half-hearted or insincere attempts to address and redress the problems or half-baked policies would heal the damage done.
It seems that divide-and-rule is the preferred path to take in order to procure and perpetrate the interests of the untouchable few. Henceforth, all sorts of policies are devised in the name of social engineering and equity distribution to achieve a more balanced and even distribution of wealth and assets among the various ethnic groups in the country.
That there is a need to provide aids wherever and whenever necessary is not disputed at all. But the methods and approaches and intentions (especially the covert ones) are highly questionable and suspect.
Recent Events.
That a power grab which is disputed and questioned by a major segment of society and considered constitutional by the perpetrators none other than the federal government is indeed shameful, shocking and immoral.
The situation and circumstances which lead the BN to successfully overthrow the still legitimate Perak state government is full of treachery, conspiracy, deception, manipulation, questionable intrigue, etc. etc. and seen as unconstitutional by many legal experts. Such kind of coup is new to Malaysian political scenario and, worse, one which was orchestrated by none other than a prime minister in-waiting.
It is indeed a very sad day for Malaysia. In many a heart, the pain of seeing such a lowly and unthinkable act happening before our very eyes could cause tears of blood to be shed.
What can the common people like you, me and everyone else expect to happen in our beloved nation in the future? When even a supposedly revered royalty cannot side with the rakyat in such a crucial time is indeed difficult to swallow.
Let’s pray that good sense would prevail in time to come. And that the good would prevail over the evil. That those who prey and abuse others for their own selfish interest would be trounced and defeated, once and for all.
#50 by mendela on Saturday, 7 February 2009 - 5:41 pm
Why I don’t see world TV channels like CNN, BBC or Aljazerra making report about recent coup d’tate in Perak by Najis and all its scumbags?
Were such media all being bought by Najis? All was it a blackout by the UMNO?
Aljazerra has a big news center lacated in KL, how can it remain silent?