Dissolution of Perak Assembly – Signs grim

Signs of a dissolution of Perak State Assembly not good at all.

Datuk Seri Najib Razak has stepped up his campaign for an illegal and unconstitutional grab for power in Perak in utter disregard of the constitutional process and the mandate of the voters of Perak.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Jong on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 2:11 am

Hey Salak’s looking for you!

2. #2 by undergrad2 on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 2:15 am

Onlooker Politics Says:

February 6th, 2009 at 00: 24.31
    In the present BN coup in Perak, the Sultan might be required to make a hasty decision under massive distress. Perhaps we should also uphold the Sultan in prayer so that HRH can be given the wisdom from God in order to make a wise decision without fear or favour!”

God has whispered into the Sultan’s ears. He said he wants no part of it and that the Sultan is on his own on this one!

3. #3 by undergrad2 on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 2:16 am

Hey sweetie…! :)

4. #4 by Jong on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 2:17 am

This political quagmire has angered Perakians by the thousands and they have sweared that BN will be buried the next round – State Election or GE-13 all the same. And respect for the old “guardian” has eroded and imagine he’s now being called names! No one can believe how he could have made that decision!

5. #5 by boh-liao on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 2:26 am

With such filmsy majority, who knows, God willing DV, the BN state government may fall when three of their state assemblymen pass away due to unforseen circumstances (illness, accident) in the not too distant future. Then bye or buy elections and switch over once more. Ding dong, ding dong!
    NR will be kept busy. Altan S is keeping an eye on him. Exciting days ahead!

6. #6 by orang_cina on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 2:55 am

That depends on Sarawak and Negeri Sembilan. See how soon PR can wrest the state, then dogs in Perak will crawl back to PR.

Well, I am not able to access MalaysiaKini & Malaysian-Insider.

The traitors, the coup, now Malaysiakini… something is fishy…
    I hope I am wrong… Good night y’all!

7. #7 by BaronV on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 3:56 am

The combined actions of the State Secretariat, the Police (who are expected to forcibly remove the MB from his office) and the Barisan Nasional is nothing short of a Coup de’ Tat!!
    Their actions prove they deserve the title of B*** Negara

I think a civil society campaign of persistant show of disgust towards the 3, now “‘independant” turncoats should be carried out. Suggestions:
    1) Overload their mailboxes with hundreds of letters expressing anger and disgust at their damnable actions
    2) Gatherings outside their houses with banners condeming them
    3)Persistant Booing and shouts of “resign now!” whnever they are seen about in the street.(maybe even throwing eggs??)
    4) A petition to demand their immediate resignation -> one for each assemblyperson, signed by members from their constituency.

8. #8 by orang_cina on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 4:20 am

Comparing to the amount of $$$ they will get being ADUN, they don’t even care if they are cursed, damned, harassed…

Probably with the money, they have arranged their backup plan to flee to Palembang when unfavourable incident happened.
    Maybe Hee will move back to her ancestral village in China.

Rakyat knows what is happening. Rakyat has awaken.
    Yesterday was Ipoh. Today will be Kuala Kangsar.

9. #9 by somaris on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 5:19 am

Dear all.
    Lets pray that our beloved SULTAN will ask the people of PERAK who they want to run the PERAk. Iam so sure most of us would love to have PKR and we love our new MB NIZAR.
    Lets all pray hard and go all out there .say
    WE NEED PKR SAY NO TO BN.
    MB NIZAR is fair to all races.
    THATS WHAT WE WANT GOOD MB>
    GOD BLESS YOU MB NIZAR.

10. #10 by monsterball on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 6:23 am

Undegrade2 said God is busy somewhere else.
    I think God close both eyes and eyes…do not want to listen to Malaysia’s nonsensical non stop..no work…low class politics.
    HE is waiting for Malaysians to give a strong clear majority…..FOR or AGAINST in the 13th election….not like a dong dong bell…pussy in the well…..neither here nor there.
    We lousy created the ding dong bell
    Why involve God into it?
    Those CATS supporting UMNO and BN are the dirtiest and filthiest animal’s on earth.
    Malaysians need to work harder to clean up the mess.
    UMNO love to talk politics…no work..all their lives.
    Now we can experience the worst economical situation…..yet doing OK..puling through with auto pilot guiding country.
    This is how rich and how blessed we are.
    UMNO knew it all along.
    That’s why they dare to mess things up over and over again… to confuse…and have so many pussy cats..male and females…all pussy cats…no more guts…brainwashed to depend on UMNO.
    Yes..Malaysia is a sick country….and for the first time….I do not wish to depend on royalties to make us happy.
    Say things to please us..so many times….but when come to the real crunch of it all….it is the same thing…..too lawful….too selfish…too afraid….threaten by someone???
    Message..sure under moderation!!

11. #11 by monsterball on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 6:24 am

oooppppp! APPROVED!!
    That’s great.

12. #12 by monsterball on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 6:27 am

I mean God closes both eyes and ears..do not want to see or hear…..our nonsense.

13. #13 by monsterball on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 6:31 am

And only blogger…Susan Loone dare to put out a post days in advance…..predicting what the Sultan of Perak will do.

14. #14 by mendela on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 6:59 am

15. #15 by mendela on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 7:33 am

Sultan of Perak must be protected!

How can we allow Najis and its gang members roaming around the palace?

16. #16 by mother of three on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 7:47 am

Another word for Democracy is America and another word for Dictatorship is Malaysia. They’re still talking about “derhaka”,Hang Jebat and so on.My God am I in 2009 or 1009.Hmmm……sick better migrate to other country,no future at all………………

17. #17 by mother of three on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 7:57 am

PR,forget about taking over Federal for time being and please focus on your task to uphold the economy and welfare of rakyat in your states.Win the heart of “rakyat” and next election take over the Federal.Don’t only collect money from rakyat but try to give money to rakyat.Most of “rakyat” going to be jobless and think how you can help them to survive.Please prove to “rakyat” that you care for them.

18. #18 by HJ Angus on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 8:04 am

I think we should not blame God for the state we are in.
    Malaysia has been blessed with abundant resources but we have allowed poor political leadership to nullify much of that abundance.
    We still have our votes but so many are still unregistered or some do not even bother to exercise that right.
    When so people do vote, they still support crooks and charlatans and other low down specimens to public office.
    I hope this Perak episode wakes up more Malaysians from their tiadapathy slumber.
    Don’t listen to beautiful speeches only but ensure those eloquent speakers really walk the talk.
    Shakespeare too has something to say about the Perak episode.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/02/malaysiakini-breaks-bad-news-from-perak.html

19. #19 by mother of three on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 8:05 am

It is wise to use the money for “rakyat” rather than buying ungrateful frogs.So,PR think how are you going to help the “rakyat” in a very different way.”Sama-sama kaya bukan satu dua sahaja kaya”.

20. #20 by Bigjoe on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 8:08 am

The only hope left really is for the two assemblymen facing corruption charges next week to be found guilty and hence must resign. Of course it will be engineered to not happen. PR job must be to reveal as much about the case as possible. DAP has a lot of lawyers that should be able to reveal the case, the prosecution, the judge. Its what the people want.

Even if the two are found not guilty, the best thing is to link the two assemblymen and their whoring with Najib and Altantuya – to the malays whoring is very very UNislamic especially the heartland.. Its golden campaign material..

21. #21 by ALLAN THAM on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 8:39 am

The DAP frog who is independent now was not a happy one as what you can see she being pictured with all the Corrupted BN bosses. She made a very difficult choice she has politically burnt her bridge. While no one know exactly why she choose to jump the ship but her choice was definitely a political suicide for her. Her term the longest will last until next GE.

At this moment she will not be able to perform her duties as majority of the people voters her has been disappointed and will never forgive her.

The only redemption that she has is tender her resignation as wakil rakyat and let the voters in Jelapang to go for fresh pool.

It was very unfortunate that she has chosen to alight with the BN while she has win with the PR ticket under DAP. The voters will not able to accept this kind of frog jumping.

Her political life after this will be very tough and most probably will end up her resigning very soon.

22. #22 by Loh on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 8:40 am

///Make sure no such person as Hee are put on the candidate list! Let this be a lesson to the leaders of PR and also members of the component parties. Beware of “wolves in sheep’s clothings”!///– Ktteokt

Yes. The process can now be described in one word, deheeyitfoongification, so that heeyitfoongists can be deheeyitfoongified.

23. #23 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 8:46 am

/// OrangRojak Says:
    February 5th, 2009 at 18: 10.37
    Yes… does that support my argument, or yours?

The only Singaporean I had heard of before I came to Malaysia was Annabel Chong. ///

No, but it does reveal what kind of person you are.

24. #24 by taiking on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 8:53 am

boh-liao said to wait for some umno fellas to die so that pakatan could once again regain ground by contesting in by-election.

Certainly that is one way. And not impractical too. Umnoputras are greedy and obese. Arent they?

But seriously, something tells me the dap woman who defected is regretting her move – perhaps it is her downcast face as frontpaged in the MSM. She could be the weak point in najib’s recent not-very-clever-at-all stunt. So pile pressure on her.

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 8:57 am

YB Kit,

We can fall. The question is whether we can learn lessons of why and how we fell. So that we can pick ourselves up and don’t fall again in the same way – ever again!

My advice to Pakatan Rakyat (PR) is to get all your legal experts together to put their input with the view to amend all the state constitutions of the remaining states in which PR has majority control to ensure that what has happened in Perak will not repeat.

I assume rightly or wrongly that with these majorities PR will be able to amend the state constitutions.

I have neither the resources, time or means to come out with any concrete idea/proposal, so what I say is only by way of general illustrations as to where the amendments should go.

I think you should consider amendments of the state constitutions in PR controlled states along (generally) these broad lines:

· When a state assembly man defects from the party by whose ticket he won the seat in the first place he should be treated as having vacated his seat and effectively resigned as assemblyman, whether or not there is any letter of resignation.

· Spell out what exactly is within scope of “defect” and how it is presumed. As to who decides that an Adun has defected, it can be the Speaker or maybe the majority of the House by resolution.

· That if there is conflict between Election Commission’s decision and the Assembly Speaker’s decision, the latter is final (instead of EC’s decision is final as I understand is the case of Perak’s state constitution).

There may be other areas that need to be covered. The idea is to stem this frog leaping phenomenon that makes a mockery of democratic vote via ballot box.

We have got a case here where a frog leaps from BN to PR and then shortly leap back from PR to BN and yet he can become a Yang Berhormat in the same state assembly and techically) can be appointed by the last side he is in to be Speaker or even be eligible for Menteri Besar’s post.

Don’t you think that this is ridiculous?

You guys have to get your act together fast.

I have no doubt that Kedah is another potential target in the hit list as far as this new political game of coup by defection is concerned.

26. #26 by taiking on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 8:58 am

And one more thing.

Dont trouble God. He gave us a mind and a conscience. That is quite enough. Just use them.

27. #27 by undergrad2 on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 9:04 am

“I think (in absence of knowledge of the rules he acted by – anybody got a link to a state constitution? I didn’t even know the States had their own Constitutions!)” OrangRojak

In the late 1800s the Brits duped the Malay rulers into thinking that they needed protection ( protection from what was never made clear to them) and sent in their “advisors” they called “Residents” to “advise” the Malay Rulers. Why ‘residents’? It is not like they didn’t have place of their own to reside; and why “advice” ? They were not by any measure advising but were telling the Malay Rulers or Rajahs what to do – except in matters of native customs and Malay religion, areas in which if they had some understanding they wouldn’t have hesitated to tell them what to do.

Brits are famous for understating everything they say. When a Brit says “shall act upon advice” what he really means is “you better do as ordered or some calamity will befall you.

It was not long before the British fondness for understatements crept into documents we now know as State Constitutions. In the country’s Federal Constitution it is no surprise that under Article 40a phrases like “shall act in accordance with advice” is used to describe the role of the Agong.

Britishism aside, “advice” means just that advice; and as “advice” it need not be followed. It is only advice. As if that is not enough exceptions are created. The “Agong may act in his discretion” in the appointment of the Prime Minister and in the withholding of his consent to a request for dissolution of Parliament.

Is it surprising therefore that the Brits don’t have a written constitution of their own?

28. #28 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 9:15 am

Jeffrey’s suggestion for constitutional amendment in the state constitution may be a viable way to prevent and put check to defection. However, we may need two thirds majority in order to get the pass in constitutional amendment. Among all PR controlled states, only Penang has good chance to do the constitutional amendment since PR commands two third majority in the state assembly seats of Penang. PR has to also take into the consideration of the consistency between the Federal Constitution and the State Constitution because an inconsistency may render the consitutional amendment to be declared null and void by the Federal court in judicial review.

29. #29 by JACK NG on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 9:37 am

BN is full of CASH on hand. Najib is full of financial support after him. we should gather most of our power and energy to gain back what we have!

The two PR will fortuitous variation as free after judgement. the Betray Lady will get what she intend. CASH AND HIGH POST in new PERAK GOVERMENT!

We are poor now and may jobless in this yr or next few yrs. The BN party just concern of OWN POCKET MONEY AND POWER ITSELF.

EVEN MCA also Diam Diam at this moment. they waiting for the opportunity to get back what they lost on 308 PLUS INTEREST RATE!!

30. #30 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 9:44 am

Sultan Azlan Shah is a bit different from the sultans of other states, mainly due to his previous experience in the legal profession sitting at the helm of the Lordship President of the Federal Court System. However, the duty of a Sultan is also different from the duty of a Chief Justice. The main obligation of the Sultan to his subject is to provide protection (naungan) as deemed necessary when needs arise. As the protector (penaung) of the people, the Sultan is expected by his subject to make a decision based on the overall betterment of his subject. The current defection case requires the Sultan to provide a positive didactive instruction to the subject on the importance of loyalty and fidelity. Therefore, besides the legal consideration, the Sultan also needs to take the moral issues into consideration because the ruler is the learned father to all his subject. The subject will rely on the Sultan for seeking the moral guidance and moral legitimacy in the personal behaviour and social norm.

It is advisable for the Sultan to make a decision to dissolve the State Assembly at the present chaotic situation in order to let the people decide on the state government they want. Any decision which takes side will sometimes send a negative wrong message to the people. The Sultan can only remain as neutral and impartial by way of dissolving the State Assembly in regards to the present unstable and shaky power holding situation of either party concerned.

31. #31 by Thinking Two on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 9:53 am

Respect is lost and is lost forever.

Respect must be two ways traffic.

One way traffic for respect is a form of ORDER.

Is this ORDER deemed respectable!!!!!

32. #32 by Kathy on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:04 am

I agree with Onlooker Politics that HRH Sultan of Perak should dissolve the State Assembly and let the Perak people decide on the State government that they want. The choice should be made by the people and not by anyone else deeming for the people.

Where is our basic constitution rights as voters in this matter? Don’t we have a say in this matter?

33. #33 by computation on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:04 am

“Is this ORDER deemed respectable!!!!!”
    Thinking Two

NO!! NO!! (answer two)
    heh heh heh
    :D

34. #34 by taiking on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:04 am

About what jeffrey said concerning state constitution amendments.

Isnt the right to stand for election a personal right? Anyone who wish to serve a constituency can offer himself to be elected. That is why we have independant candidates – those partyless candidates. I would be surprise if the constitution makes references to political parties. The amendment Jeffrey proposed would necessarily involve amending the constitution such that only those who are members of political parties can stand for election. The amendment must contain appropriate exceptions to take care of independant candidates. Two further points must be noted. First (for completeness sake) the amendment must provide that those who are members of political parties must state their political party clearly in their election campaign. This is already the practice for a long long time. But it is not in the laws. The amendment must formalise this practice into laws. Secondly, it must be expressed clearly that after election the status an independant candidate and a political party candidate cannot be altered.

Retirement of an elected candidate resulting in vacation of his seat will occur automatically upon death and will be presumed when the candidate ceases to be a member of the political party under which he or she was elected for any reason whatsoever.

Finally what business has the EC to decide whether a constituency is vacant? He manages the list of voters and voters’ registration. He anounces nomination and election dates. He oversees the nomination and election process. He supervises the vote counting and he anounces the elected candidate. Can someone tell me whether i am wrong here on this issue?

35. #35 by ablastine on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:04 am

The only thing I can think of for the Sultan to backtrack on his own writing not to dissolve the State assembly would be a consideration on the cost ($) involved in organising a State election. However, this argument hardly holds water because by not having another State election as the people wants, he appears to be advocating this immoral party hopping, siding with UMNO which will not last beyond the next election, going against what he himself wrote and preach, allow the State to be inherently unstable with the ongoing constitutional crisis and political quamire. Even if the UMNO beasts got sworn it soon in the State they will have to face a people very much angered by this unconstitutional grab of power. The State may see regular demonstration of people’s power which may number into the millions. There is no way the riot police can control this. They may fill up Kamunting camp but it will set the entire people of the country against he government who is fast loosing its grasp of power. I just cannot figure out what goes on in the mind of this Sultan.

36. #36 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:05 am

The reason why sometimes we have to get God involved in the worldly matters is because God serves as the leveller of justice who will intercede in the adversaries. Therefore the weak person like I myself need to draw much strength from God by way of saying prayers! I still pray for HRH Sultan for him to draw wisdom from God in his decision making process, besides relying on his knowledge of Constitution and legal implications of certain legal action.

37. #37 by computation on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:06 am

“Where is our basic constitution rights as voters in this matter?
    Don’t we have a say in this matter?”
    Kathy

NO!! NO!!
    i thought its obvious!

38. #38 by computation on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:07 am

“I still pray for HRH Sultan for…”
    Onlooker politics

I certainly don’t!

39. #39 by computation on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:09 am

“Is it surprising therefore that the Brits don’t have a written constitution of their own?”
    undergrad2

NO!! NO!!
    the brits are crazy!!
    heh heh heh

40. #40 by computation on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:10 am

\Message..sure under moderation!!\
    Monsterball

NO!! NO!!
    heh heh heh
    sorry destressing…

41. #41 by computation on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:11 am

i think i need to refrain myself
    from being a nuisance here.
    but well difficult times. need to relax
    a little…
    :)

42. #42 by passerby on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:14 am

Can the people of Hee’s constituency sue her for the bridge of contract for resigning from PK? She was elected on PK’s ticket on whose ticket she was elected. I don’t think the people would want to elect a handicap to represent them if she was not with the PK.

If it is not possible, publish her picture everywhere and ask the people to boycott her as a final resort for betraying the trust of the people.

43. #43 by undergrad2 on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:15 am

Onlooker Politics Says:

February 6th, 2009 at 09: 44.53
    “…the duty of a Sultan is also different from the duty of a Chief Justice.”

Duh…!!

44. #44 by Kathy on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:20 am

Yes, computation, it is obvious that our consitution rights have been violated and taken away by those deem that we are too stupid to know or bothered about it.

But that does not mean there are those of us agree to that. Legal advisers to DAP and PR need to do something and fast.

45. #45 by ALLAN THAM on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:20 am

Let llok at the picture again. Why all smiling happily except Jelapang?

Why is she not happy?

She has no choice but resign to return the power to the Jelapang people.

She will resign very soon under pressure.

46. #46 by Thinking Two on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:21 am

Ah Loong can put up so many contact stickers all over the lamp post and shop’s rollershutter gate, why can’t we do that too!!

Put her photo in sticker form.

47. #47 by computation on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:22 am

“But that does not mean there are those of us agree to that. Legal advisers to DAP and PR need to do something and fast.”
    Kathy

YES!! YES!!

48. #48 by Thinking Two on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:23 am

Yes. You are correct.

She was not very happy that night!!!

49. #49 by computation on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:24 am

“Ah Loong can put up so many contact stickers all over the lamp post and shop’s rollershutter gate, why can’t we do that too!!

Put her photo in sticker form.”
    Thinking Two

Wah lau!!
    put her photo into sticker form!!!
    sounds like adverts for prostitutes.
    wait!
    i think she is one!

50. #50 by grace on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 10:24 am

passersby wrote:If it is not possible, publish her picture everywhere and ask the people to boycott her as a final resort for betraying the trust of the people.

Please do not display her photoes. The sight of it makes me want to puke and my blood pressure willl rocket sky high.
    Please, please do not display her photo for God’s sake!!! It will cause ‘vision pollution’.

Comments are closed.