Signs of a dissolution of Perak State Assembly not good at all.
Datuk Seri Najib Razak has stepped up his campaign for an illegal and unconstitutional grab for power in Perak in utter disregard of the constitutional process and the mandate of the voters of Perak.

#1 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:11 pm
I personally would like to believe tha HRH will eventually decide to have the STATE Assembly dissolved so as not to disappoint either side.
#2 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:13 pm
‘“All the 28 Barisan Nasional (BN) assemblymen and the three independents in Perak had an audience with the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Azlan Shah, today to declare their support for the BN.”
Under these circumstances it would be clearly unprecedented for the Sultan to do anything but ‘follow advice’ and comply with tradition.’ (undergrad2)
undergrad2,
Do you know that a court proceeding has been filed by the Speaker and PR’s representative to request for a judgement on the validity of the three resignation letters being signed by the three independent State Assemblypersons? The Sultan himself was the Lord President of the Federal Court of Malaysia. HRH should at his best try to delay his decision in the change of ruling party in order to avoid the embarrassment of possibly being accused for committing the contempt of court when a petition has been filed to invalidate and vacate the seats of the three independents State Assemblypersons! Regrettably, HRH chose to make a decision in a haste manner!
#3 by abdul on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:16 pm
Sorry for writing this but I guess I have each and every rights to give comments from a lay person’s view point..I think HRH wanted to have BN to rule Perak..deep in HRH’s heart, prefer BN…In last GE, 10 days given to BN to vacate the office of Perak but I was shocked rather surprised to see only few hours given to PR to vacate the office..thats a clean proof to show where HRH stands..no matter what happened, PR will rule Perak….they could take over the office but not the heart of the PR people…we will fight till the end…Hidup Pakatan Rakyat…
#4 by loverboy on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:24 pm
I came upon one of thousand message in the SULTAN PERAK official website which is very interesting.
Let show our protest by turn on the vehicle light in the afternoon.
Start tomorrow!!!!
*I hope Sultan will be wise and dissolve the State Assembly.
(Seems like a lot of people is protesting the Sultan call for not dissolving the Perak DUN. So, will you protest tomorrow? Anyone?)
Source: http://books.dreambook.com/duli/duli.html
#5 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:37 pm
Onlooker Politics Says:
February 5th, 2009 at 21: 34.31
“….if the same thing were to happen in Johor, then who would have the gut to remove the MB who was the personal choice of the Johor Sultan? It seems that you are too ignorant…”
Excuse me for my ignorance then.
Events that happened in Perak in the 70s and a number of times in Johor in the 80s and in Trengganu more recently are controversial. There are others over the country’s constitutional history. The issues in all these cases never seen the light of day in the country’s courts. Apparently the reason for that was that the PM did not want to shock the foundation of the country’s constitutional monarchy if this could be avoided.
I sat down with the Raja Muda not too long ago for lunch during which he asked if I was Sandhurst trained. I’m not that ignorant as you make me out to be.
#6 by Loh on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:38 pm
The court case against the two PKR kataks has been set for 15 Feb 2009. It will surely be postponed, and repeatedly so. Then the evidence, the bag of ringgit notes will go missing, like what happened before. The case will be thrown out. The kataks will then be free from BN clutch. What if they decide then to become golden kataks and do a double cross? Will the Sultan ask Pakatan to produce all 31 ADUNs. The trouble then would be some Pakatan ADUNs might be prevented by police from going to the Istana.
When the two kataks were arrested last year, speculation was that they were framed. If that was true, then after having been missing and have been declared to have resigned, the two kataks were left with nothing to defend the allegation of corruption. The two kataks delivered the state to BN, and will be rewarded for clearing their name. So, as revenge against the wrong done to them, they can become a golden kataks, and topple BN state government.
If the two kataks were involved in corruption, then MACC should be able to find evidence to get them convicted. A fine of 2000 or more will render them to lose their position as ADUN. A by-election will be held.
If the two kataks were involved in corruption but the MACC cannot find evidence to convict them, then it gives credence to the belief that the two PKR kataks were framed and were forced to defect to prevent going to jail. So Najib as head of Perak will be seen as the architect of dirty trick for coup d’etat.
Unless the next general election is held soon, the see-saw of power in Perak will not end. But the Perak example makes Pakatan’s attempt at change federal power honourable. Surely there are people within UMNO who are at the wrong camp would want to have their days in the corridor of power.
BN is so corrupted that any undignified method involved in toppling BN is justified.
#7 by imranj78 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:40 pm
Its sad to see such dirty power games at play. The rakyat should have their say as to who represents them and in GE12 PR was chosen to represent the Perakians and similarly BN was chosen to represent Malaysia.
Nevertheless, PR has long loss the credibility to speak against defections especially when Anwar, PAS, PKR and DAP has been at it constantly since March 08. How can it be right for PR to do so and now suddenly wrong for BN to do it?
Jumping ship should be disallowed and I hope this matter will be taken up serious in the Dewan Rakyat someday and be made illegal.
#8 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:42 pm
Onlooker Politics Says:
February 5th, 2009 at 22: 13.46
“The Sultan himself was the Lord President of the Federal Court of Malaysia. HRH should at his best try to delay his decision in the change of ruling party in order to avoid the embarrassment of possibly being accused for committing the contempt of court when a petition has been filed to invalidate and vacate the seats of the three independents State Assemblypersons! Regrettably, HRH chose to make a decision in a haste manner!”
Careful there!! You could land Kit in trouble. Your posting here could be deemed seditious under the Sedition Act.
#9 by voice2009 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:45 pm
After all this act of corruption hijacking of power.
Whoever agreed and be part of it form the corruption state government when the whole world know it is corruption hijacking of powers.
It is very disguisting to hang up those photos on the wall, like paying a respect to corruption hijackers from now on.
#10 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:48 pm
The claim that HRH does prefer BN to PR to form the State Government can be valid. I personally think that HRH does not like PAS and Hudud Law proposed by PAS because such law will impose too much limitation on individual’s private life. Don’t forget many rulers in Malaysia did receive their education in the U.K. at the early stage of their life. Why did PAS want to give strong support to Hudud which will impose threat on the Royal family’s westernized life style?
#11 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:48 pm
Onlooker Politics Says:
February 5th, 2009 at 21: 45.38
“The state secretary is all along the past BN govt appointee. This should serve warning and notice to other PR state govt that its very necessary to remove past BN govt people from the PR govt” (Chanjoe)
I believe noone can remove the Secretary to the State Government unless a consent has been given by the Sultan. The Secretary is usually the Sultan’s man, do you know that?”
The Sultan’s man?? No, I don’t. I must be ignorant.
#12 by ktteokt on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:51 pm
I agree with katdog. PR can now take its time to screen, seive and select truly loyal people as candidates for the next GE. Make sure no such person as Hee are put on the candidate list! Let this be a lesson to the leaders of PR and also members of the component parties. Beware of “wolves in sheep’s clothings”!
#13 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:51 pm
The last time I checked, the State Secretary (of any state and of the federal government) has never been and is not a political appointee.
#14 by flyer168 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:55 pm
Sad to see this great nation Malaysia administered by the British Tuans, then handed over to the Malaysian TUANS under Bapa Malaysia Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra & his Malaysian cabinet of TRUE TUANS managing the system of Wesminster style Democracy & with the Rule of Law in 1957, getting “Hijacked & Betrayed” by the “Elite UMNO Ketetuanan BEGGARS” in 1969.
For 40 years, instead if teaching their own kind to “Learn to catch their own FISH”, they took the easy way out to maintain their “False” sense of Security & Power by using the “Ketetuanan (BEGGAR)” policy – you vote UMNO, we give you “Fish” & the rot set in to what it is today & the beat goes on….!
For the others, “Either you are with us…..or else….you will be “MIA or Eliminated”, period !
The Desperate PM wannabe & his Goons must have used pressure on DYMM with the issue of “rightful” Royal “Succession”, business deals, etc to get his wish this time!
This great nation, its assets & its Anak Bangsa Malaysia have been abused for the last 40 years by these “Moronic Idiots & their Goons” through “Gutter Politics” & the “Law of the Jungle”.
Through “Devine” intervention, UMNO, its Leaders & their Lapdogs are now “Destroying” each other with their “Power, Greed & Henious Crimes”.
Our prayers to God Almighty seeking “Truth, Justice, Freedom & Equality” will be answered.
Every new day will be another “New Revelation” to reveal the “Truth” in its Self Destruct motion towards its “Demise”.
Just give them enough rope to “Hang” themselves at every turn in their “Final” chapter.
May God bless, guide & protect this great nation, its remaining assets & its Anak Bangsa Malaysia forthwith.
#15 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:59 pm
Onlooker Politics Says:
February 5th, 2009 at 22: 48.10
“…Hudud which will impose threat on the Royal family’s westernized life style?”
I can’t say I have seen the MB wearing green and white with a turban.
#16 by pangwl88 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:01 pm
So i was right.
Now these blood suckers are going after Kedah…….
#17 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:01 pm
“I sat down with the Raja Muda not too long ago for lunch during which he asked if I was Sandhurst trained. I’m not that ignorant as you make me out to be.” (undergrad2)
undergrad2,
Congratulations for your being given the honour of lunching together with the Raja Muda. Did you manage to talk to the Raja Muda about the religious principle in relation to corruption and defection? I guess you don’t. The Sultan is the head of Islam in the state he rules. What do you think the Raja Muda will advise the Perak people on the issues of corruptions and defection?
#18 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:07 pm
Onlooker Politics Says:
February 5th, 2009 at 23: 01.32
“What do you think the Raja Muda will advise the Perak people on the issues of corruptions and defection?”
I was referring to the Raja Muda of Johor.
In any case the issues regarding abuse of political power and the issue of party hopping though of national interest are political issues. The Sultan’s private opinions don’t matter. They are constitutional rulers.
#19 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:09 pm
“Careful there!! You could land Kit in trouble. Your posting here could be deemed seditious under the Sedition Act.” (undergrad2)
undergrad2,
Thank you for your showing much concern. Don’t worry about me. I was an ISA graduate. I am already getting used to the tyrannic rule! But the jail will not shut my mouth! Only the justice as dispensed in the will of God would be able to silent me up! I see the will of God is being reflected in the will of commoners in Malaysia now!
#20 by abdul on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:11 pm
I kinda agree with Raven,,another option to win back those place of the traitors is through by-election..so how? how to have a by-election when they still alive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! paham-paham lah….
#21 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:15 pm
Onlooker,
My concern is for the host of this blog – Lim Kit Siang and not you :)
#22 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:25 pm
“My concern is for the host of this blog – Lim Kit Siang and not you” (undergrad2)
undergrad2,
If Uncle Kit get caught by the Police because of me, then I will turn myself in in order to get Uncle Kit out of the trouble. Please don’t get worry over much!
#23 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:25 pm
I believe the Sultan has his priorities in the right order.
#24 by voice2009 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:26 pm
Being No. 1.
All this tricks and plots planned by BN happen during his recent birhtday.
It is saying that the BN have no respect of him and his birthday.
THEY PLAY HIM LIKE THEIR PUPPET WHATEVER THEY LIKE.
#25 by hennesy on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:33 pm
Let this be a lesson to PR not to adopt BN rejects. Bringing in these people will only allow them to play the same game as they did in BN. If they were loyal to their supporters & stand for what they believe in, WHY!? join the opposition when they are sacked from BN? If they are sincere in doing their part to improve M’sian politics, they should stay firm in their believes & not just hope over to return onto the fold. This is not the business world where one’s loyalty belongs to the highest bidder. An MP is the voice of the people they represent. They are the leaders of their community & the Rakyat depend on them to voice their concerns.
What happened in Perak is really a sad story. I just can’t understand WHY!!??? Sultan Azlan Shah refuse to proceed with a fresh by-election? Among the many Sultans in Malaysia, he is regarded as the most well educated & well respected former judge. I hope PR better shape up or else as the saying follows, they be shipped out! I hate to see that happen.
#26 by alberttye on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:35 pm
Najib is showing that he prepares to use not so honourable way to get power. This cannot be tolerated as he will be PM in a month’s time. Pakatan Rakyat must find a way to stop such an unscrupulous person from assuming Prime Ministership !
One way is to find support in parliament Abdulah Badawi to continue to be the PM.
From now on, PR must declare an all-out war on Najib.
#27 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:36 pm
All this is the result of the actions of two SAs who decided to look for some Chinese chickens some months ago and then got into problems.
The three frogs signed solemn statements to the Sultan that they will support a PR government last March. Now they tell the Sultan they support a BN government. Can we trust them? The Sultan did however believe in their new found loyalties.
The Sultan then asked Nizar to step down but Nizar refused and according to Channel News Asia, Nizar reminded the Sultan of what he wrote in his guidebook. “I explained to his majesty that following a guidebook that the Perak sultan had written on the monarchy, the sultan should follow my advice as leader of the House to dissolve the assembly,” he told a press conference. ”
The Sultan it appears was cheesed off to be reminded so and consequently in his official decision statement, specifically made the command that the MB and his Exco resign their posts, else they were deemed “vacated”. This is unprecedented and is now a matter of debate.
Perhaps we all should not be too hasty but take some “time out” to reflect on the developments and then do what is right.
An “error” in 1988 was only “corrected” 20 years later in 2008 via ex-gratias.
If there is indeed an error in 2009, will we have to wait another 20 years for it to be corrected? And with “ex-gratias”?
#28 by alberttye on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:37 pm
I could believe the sultan takes the action what he has taken. Sad. Very sad indeed
#29 by lovart71 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:37 pm
My brother in law has just received his notice of retrenchment from his company Seagate Singapore. Many people is jobless due to retrenchment in Singapore now. Our ministers instead of spend their time and mind thinking of how to help out our Malaysian victims, they are busy getting the PR assembly to hop over.
I have no surprise the two (plus one) PKR assemblymen hop over to Umno or Independent but BN prone but I am indeed disappointed with the DAP assemblywoman cum deputy speaker who become independent and BN prone as well…Simply because she said she would not quit DAP as she is member for about 20 years. Haha…how can people now telling lies without blinking the eyes? The reason of her resignation is even funny…Come on….what the hell is Toyota Camry? Are you become assemblyman or assemblywoman to get these benefit? Then you are not different than the ordinary assemblyperson. I think that is why people are going for politics and best if to be elected as assemblyperson to get all these benefit perhaps….just to be mean…I have no surprise my comments may end up in spam or junk…but at least i wrote in and release my disappointment….I also hope that the Sultan of Perak will resolve the government and have re-election…
#30 by alberttye on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:39 pm
Sorry, in the former posting, the word NOT was missed. I could not believe….
#31 by orang_cina on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:49 pm
http://sultan.perak.gov.my/bahasa/kandungan.html
Sign in to His Highness guestbook…
#32 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:52 pm
“The Sultan’s private opinions don’t matter. They are constitutional rulers.” (undergrad2)
undergrad2,
Do you know that many District Officers in Johor are so scared of displeasing the Royal family? Do you know that a D.O. has been relocated within 24 hours to other state like Negeri Sembilan when he forgot to lay the red carpet as the basic ceremony for reception of the official visit of the Royal family because the forgetfulness might be due to last minute call at 8:00 pm last night on the intended visit? Do you really believe that the Royal family’s private opinion does not matter? Please tell me honestly!
What do you think about the Sultan’s private opinion about MB Nizar should tender a resignation letter to the Sultan? Does it really matter to the Sultan?
#33 by sheriff singh on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 12:15 am
+++++++++
My sources tell me the Sultan is reconsidering his decision.
Wait for it.
Friday will be another loooong day.
#34 by undergrad2 on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 12:17 am
Onlooker Politics Says:
February 5th, 2009 at 23: 52.05
“What do you think about the Sultan’s private opinion about MB Nizar should tender a resignation letter to the Sultan? Does it really matter to the Sultan?”
When we say the Sultan’s personal or private opinion about a political issue does not matter, it is like saying your opinion in a court of law does not matter as it is not relevant.
#35 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 12:24 am
I can understand why the Sultan has to give consent to Najib in such a hasty manner. Sultan Azlan Shah was the person who signed the approval for the Special Court Constitutional Addition and for the Constitutional Amendment for removing the veto power of the Yang Dipertuan Agong in relation to the Law Making Procedure of the Parliament. I have direct information from the other Royal Family that Tun Dr. Mahathir indeed threatened to change the Federation into a Republic in event that the Yang Dipertuan Agong refused to sign the Constitutional Amendment in relation to cutting down the power of the rulers. Therefore Sultan Azlan Shah was given no choice other than the choice of signing the approval for the Constitutional Amendment.
In the present BN coup in Perak, the Sultan might be required to make a hasty decision under massive distress. Perhaps we should also uphold the Sultan in prayer so that HRH can be given the wisdom from God in order to make a wise decision without fear or favour!
#36 by undergrad2 on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 12:25 am
Onlloker,
The sultan is a constitutional monarch. Period.
He has discretion given to him under the State Constitution in very limited circumstances which he could exercise and that discretion is not unfettered.
#37 by illuminati on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 12:25 am
Desperate times calls for desperate measures. The man facing this situation is none other than the PM-in-waiting. What he had orchestrated in Perak is a political coup. No two ways about that. He has won a hollow victory but he has yet to win the war.
The ghost of this takeover will come back to haunt him and Barisan. We shall see. Mahathir and Tengku Razaleigh have sounded warnings about the backlash.
As for the Froggy Four, they have shown their true colours. They are not there to serve the people, they are just there to line their own pockets. Come the next election, they will be booted out no matter what excuses they make.
There are many others of the same irk – be they in BN or PR – but we have yet to see them come out on stage. Let us be wary of them.
As elected representatives of the people, those who want to defect should do the honourable thing – resign first and stand for election again as candidates of the party they join. Would they dare take this risk?
The one person who could have made all the difference is the Hee woman. It’s hard to comprehend her very act. If she knows what honour means, she could have resigned and stay as an independent and still side with PR.
As for the people who voted them in the last time, it’s an eye-opener and a lesson they should not forget. Same for the PR coalition. It’s also a lesson for Anwar to ponder on.
Recent events also cast an ominous shadow on this country. When desperados see that they could get away with one dirty, underhand tactic, they might be encouraged to conduct similar shenanigans – and don’t be surprised if we have to face emergency rule or a veiled dictatorship.
If we don’t continue to work towards change, this country will eventually go to the dogs.
#38 by orang_cina on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 12:26 am
Months back, a self-proclaimed-political-analysis friend of mine has been warning about the return of the king. Recently Raja Nazrin appeared in public giving speech about issues that touched 1) judiciary reformation to all rakyats 2) hak istimewa melayu 3) THE MONARCHY. It happened last year in Terengganu over appointment of MB; the history repeats in Perak again.
Onlooker Politics; you are right. Though there is no ,’real’ power, Sultan has hinted (warned) that His sovereignty cannot be challenged. Ask anybody in Ipoh, can we use Stadium Sultan Azlan Shah? MBI will tell you that’s Sultan’s exclusive property, but built using rakyat’s $$$.
Nevertheless, rakyats and elected government pay respect to Sultan.
They(the royal family) stayed in the palace most of the day; it’s impossible if they understand very well of what’s happening in the world outside their palace wall. Most news came from their hamba, whom most of them are UMNO appointees. It’s not surprising that BN controlled every civil servants; police, city councils, ‘anti corruption’ers and even the Sultan Himself.
Money is the New Age God. Lusts had corrupted the mindset; strangely it happened only on PKRs. About the traitors, I don’t want to comment further. Let Anwar has his soul-searching period.
About Hee, ater 20+ years in DAP, I still cannot believe it’s because of money. I believe Hee must had been oppressed by BN; I can think of few reasons that ‘forced’ her to switch
- MAYBE her husband is having deep financial problem in biz
- MAYBE her family members need immediate financial assistance
- MAYBE Najib had kidnapped her kids.
I really hope she can reconsider about her decision, and also to other BN ADUNs to change their mind.
Pray hard, and daulat tuanku
#39 by undergrad2 on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 12:27 am
Leave God alone.
#40 by undergrad2 on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 12:30 am
God is busy with the mess in Iraq and Afghanistan.
#41 by private_undergrad on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 12:45 am
I think that the best thing to do for PR in Perak now is to resign en masse to challenge the Sultan’s precipitous decision and BN’s unprofessional takeover of Perak Govt. Let the Perak people decide who should lead them.
#42 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 12:45 am
“When we say the Sultan’s personal or private opinion about a political issue does not matter, it is like saying your opinion in a court of law does not matter as it is not relevant.” (undergrad2)
undergrad2,
All Johoreans know that the Johor Sultan has the absolute power to choose an MB from the party which commands the majority seats in the State Assembly. This is a derived power of the Sultan.
In a republican nation like Singapore, even the President is vested with the strong power to veto the use of the nation’s reserves that had been accumulated by the preceding government. Without the consent given by the President, the Singaporean cabinet is only allowed to make use of the money that is to be financed by the earnings made during its own tenure of service, i.e. a five-year parliamentary tenure.
You have been trying to imply that the Sultan is just a puppet who has to act in accordance to what a Deputy Prime Minister asks him to act. However, in my personal opinion, a strong Sultan will have the derived power in his sole discretion. Generally speaking, most Johoreans perceived that the Johor Sultan is more powerful than the Menteri Besar. Notwithstanding, this universal perception brings no threat and no harm to the survival of the Constitutional Monarchy System in Johor!
I believe the Perak Sultan also has the derived power in order for HRH to act in his sole discretion without fear or favour.
#43 by leolim on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 12:51 am
Undergrad2, you mentioned …” I believe the Sultan has his priorities in the right order.”
I like this observation of yours. It makes a lot of sense – which on the surface, cannot be seen. Can I ask what you envisage as his likely subsequent sequence of priorities ?
#44 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 12:56 am
“I think that the best thing to do for PR in Perak now is to resign en masse to challenge the Sultan’s precipitous decision and BN’s unprofessional takeover of Perak Govt. Let the Perak people decide who should lead them.” (private_undergrad)
This is really a GREAT IDEA!
However, the readers here still need the Constitutional expert to tell us how many percent of the State Assembly members is required to constitute a qualified quorum for holding an assembly in Perak State Assembly. YB Kit should look into this possibility now in order to force a compulsory dissolution of the State Assembly by way of inadequate quorum.
#45 by One4All4One on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 1:13 am
No matter who say what, or what say you, if the sultan cares enough for the rakyat, without whom he is no more a ruler, he should at all count and cost side with the wishes and aspiration of his subjects.
The overwhelming noise in the state right now is for the rakyat to decide on the government they want for themselves, as Anwar puts it: the alliance wants the matter “returned to the court of the people”.
All leaders including the ruler owe their positions to the rakyat. If the people are sidelined and disregarded, the consequences would be dire.
#46 by voice on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 1:21 am
I would like to remind PR leaders to remain calm and always have good strategies in mind, the mainstream media as usual bashed PR again and again today, saying that it all started from DSAI, maybe the DSAI’s move to capture the federal government by taking defections is wrong but he never really did it, but the media keep spinning the topic, as usual too.
The sultan’s decision, I believe, is not an easy one for himself as well, PR leaders must take the feeling of not only the sultan but also the people of Perak and Malaysia in count, holding a big gathering could turn bad, now what we need is a state-wide election.
The mood among the people of Perak, including myself is strongly behind PR (changkat jering is just less than 1km from here), those who voted for PR in the last GE could be feeling the same as me, so everything’s not end yet, please plan and it need to be an in-depth planning and discussion with other PR leaders.
The rakyat will remember this day, and the effect will be seen in the next election, no matter how long it will be.
-VOICES OF PEOPLE, Taiping, Perak.
#47 by m.hwang on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 1:27 am
We are all disappointed. Let’s have a good sleep so that we can wake up fresh tomorrow. Think of what we can do as individuals to effect change. This consitutional crisis has woken us up again from our temporary slumber.
It’s a blessing in disguise because it clearly shows us that March 8th has taught BN nothing. It clearly shows that there is something very sick about the system in Malaysia. It clearly shows that our work as the Rakyat has not ended but has only just begun.
This is the time for us small people of Malaysia to come together as one. To do what we have not been doing all these 50 years. To speak what we have been forbidden to say all these 50 years. To change the abuse in our system that we have tolerated for more than half a century. This is the time for all true Malaysians to do their part individually. Ask ourselves tomorrow morning what we can do in our own small way to make a difference. For collectively we shall persevere. Collectively we shall be greater than the sum of our ownself.
Talk to your family, relatives, friends, workmates, neighbours… anybody. Have they register themselves to vote? Do they realise the importance of their one vote in the sea of voters? If they have registered, have they asked their family, relatives, friends, workmates, neighbours to register? This could be a good start. Create awareness. Wake the people we know from their slumber. Make them aware of what we can do with our 1 vote.
Do it and forever no one can bully the Rakyat anymore. Remember…politicians are the servants of the people.
#48 by Jong on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 2:05 am
leolim Says:
February 6th, 2009 at 00: 51.09
Undergrad2, you mentioned …” I believe the Sultan has his priorities in the right order.”
I like this observation of yours. It makes a lot of sense – which on the surface, cannot be seen. Can I ask what you envisage as his likely subsequent sequence of priorities ?
———————–
I like your observation too Leolim! Are you trying to fix him? :D
#49 by undergrad2 on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 2:07 am
Obviously :)
#50 by Jason Ng on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 2:09 am
i hated corruption (hence, BN), now i despise them more than ever. Please don’t let them take over the state govt. i am ready to fly back to Perak to vote for PR again.