Signs of a dissolution of Perak State Assembly not good at all.
Datuk Seri Najib Razak has stepped up his campaign for an illegal and unconstitutional grab for power in Perak in utter disregard of the constitutional process and the mandate of the voters of Perak.

#1 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:27 pm
He will be the third one in the world to get the flying shoe
#2 by yhsiew on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:32 pm
Kit,
All is not loss; since Najis has started the game, work hard to wrest Seremban over to PR to make BN’s gain a zero sum game.
#3 by bentoh on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:38 pm
Say no to frogs…
Can I say DAP Perak, ever since 1969′s general election, has been the biggest loser to the frogs? I think this is why DAP, itself suffered heavily because of the frogs in past 40 years, should never ever embrace any frogs, say no to the 30 non-existent 916 frogs, no to the Bota…
#4 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:42 pm
Jeffrey – sorry to reply on a new thread, I imagine LKS’s webhost will have recommended shorter pages or higher fees by now! Nobody is going to win out of this like webhosts will!
If Nizar refuses to resign, then the next step is a vote of no-confidence, isn’t it? Unless that is, the MB holds his post until the monarch decides otherwise, but that sounds like it couldn’t possibly be the case in a democracy.
Assuming there’s a vote of no-confidence and it succeeds, what happens next? Is it as straightforward as another jolly trip to the palace, for the formality to happen?
If it’s a plain old question of numbers, then I suppose it is a fait accompli (was that earlier transposition a typo or a clever pun?) and the only recourse is to slow-moving law to check the validity of the hops. I hope PR will finally come to their senses over ‘hopping’ and realise that spending more money in a crooked poker game is only going to increase their losses.
#5 by grace on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:44 pm
Why Najib is so scared of a fresh election in Perak?
This time BN would loose even more than before while under Pak Lah.
If this happened, Najib will be KO from Preseident UMNO and loose his PMship himself! He is shivering at the tought of a fresh stae election. It will reflect on his UNPOPULARITY with the rakyat!!!
#6 by carboncopy on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:45 pm
BN Assemblymen And Independents Meet Perak Sultan
IPOH, Feb 5 (Bernama) — All the 28 Barisan Nasional (BN) assemblymen and the three independents in Perak had an audience with the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Azlan Shah, today to declare their support for the BN.
Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said they also pledged to support the candidate submitted by the BN for the post of menteri besar.
“Tuanku is expected to decide whether to dissolve the Perak state assembly or to ask Datuk Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin to step down as soon as possible,” he told a news conference after meeting the sultan twice at Istana Kinta here today.
Najib, who is also the Perak BN chairman, had the first audience together with Perak BN deputy chairman Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi at 9.49am to seek the sultan’s consent for the BN to take over the state government from Pakatan Rakyat.
This followed the move by four Pakatan Rakyat assemblymen to leave their respective parties and support the BN, giving the BN the majority to form the state government.
The four are Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi (Behrang), Mohd Osman Jailu (Changkat Jering), both from Parti Keadilan Rakyat, Hee Yit Foong (DAP) and Datuk Nasaruddin Hashim (Bota), who joined PKR on Jan 25 and returned to Umno yesterday.
Jamaluddin, Mohd Osman and Hee are now independents.
After the first audience, which lasted 40 minutes, Najib again met the sultan with the 28 BN assemblymen and three independents for 35 minutes from 11.55am.
Najib told the news conference that he asked the sultan to allow the BN to form a new state government as the BN now that the majority in the state assembly.
“With this, it is up to Tuanku to decide and we will respect whatever decision Tuanku makes because it is Tuanku’s prerogative,” he said.
On the candidate for menteri besar, Najib said the BN would follow the process and rules of the Perak state constitution and get the sultan’s consent before making any announcement, should the BN take over the state government.
– BERNAMA
#7 by Thinking Two on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:47 pm
Nazir has been asked to resign by Sultan of Perak at 2.25pm.
#8 by kanthanboy on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:51 pm
Quote from Tengku Razaleigh:
//If the Ruler decides not to accede to the MB’s request for the dissolution of Parliament, and BN is invited to form a state government on the basis of defections, what more dubious ones, I think it would anger a large section of the Malaysian public.//
#9 by Loh on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:00 pm
If Najib is allowed to form the government then party hopping is the game. Pakatan can lose Perak now but it can win the federal government later.
The katas that went to BN can be brought back to Pakatan if the price is right. The ruler will have to make the same decision not to dissolve the state legislative assembly.
Looks like the best profession now is elected state or parliamentary membership. They get pay for jumping around. It saves quite a bit from having new elections. The citizens are the losers.
#10 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:00 pm
“He also pointed out that no sultan or agung had withheld consent to dissolve legislative body, except in Kelantan in 1977.”
There’s always a second time.
All three SAs who signed a statement previously to support Nizar PR government are now going back on their words. So what good are these signed and solemn statements?
Will Perak become a failed state?
#11 by alancheah on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:03 pm
We Perak Rakyat want Pakatan Rakyat to be the state government, not BN!!!!!!!
#12 by baochingtian on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:04 pm
What to say about this jelapang assembly woman ??? She owes an explanation to all sensible malaysians, not only Perakians.
#13 by Thinking Two on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:08 pm
No dissolution.
Request to resign by Sultan at 2.25pm.
#14 by loverboy on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:10 pm
I’m Malay but I know that Sultan decision for not dissolving the Perak DUN is disaster indeed.
A state govern represent by only 2 non-Malay while the other is POWER HUNGRY Malay, I will say discrimination will happen for Perak citizen.
#15 by baochingtian on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:12 pm
Sad to know that THEY are all in ONE ship, sailing to the Kingdom of Money Money Land ):
#16 by chengho on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:13 pm
Party hopping is the dose of Pakatan medicine since last year march
Majority of Rakyat will be dissapointed if BN do not form a state goverment
The Malays already fed up with anwar antics..
#17 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:13 pm
“If Nizar refuses to resign, then the next step is a vote of no-confidence, isn’t it?” – Orang Rojak
The position put forward by BN, as I understand it, is that a formal vote of no-confidence, is unnecessary because the Ruler has pursuant to constitution been satisfied that BN controls majority of Perak state assembly and therefore BN could straightaway form state govt by appointing BN’s Menteri Besar (Chief Minister).
If Nizar refuses to resign then on the assumption that he does not budge in his stand (backed by PR on instructions of Anwar) it will not only be a constitutional impasse but a standoff between
Anwar/PR on one side and BN’s federal govt on the other.
Now the BN then has to perfect excuse to justify a show of force – to defend the Federal Constitution and prevent lawlessness in the state of Perak emanating from a standstill in the Perak state government from both sides refusing to acknowledge the other as legitimate govt.
It is a perfect excuse for troops and police to be sent in to round up all PR leaders instigating a “rebellion” deduced from challenge to Constitution and Ruler, contrary to Malay customs and tradition.
If all prime leaders of PR are arrested in one swoop, all 5 PR controlled state governments will automatically fall. No need to spend so much money to entice PR’s frogs to cross for same objective!
Anwar/PR may already be heading towards a showdown by way of “people’s power” (as happened in regional capitals) beginning with – “tonight’s 100,000 people gathering in support of the Pakatan government has been shifted to Stadium Ipoh from the menteri besar’s official residence”.
YB/DAP has to make a decision whether to go along with Anwar’s plan and directive to Perak’s MB not to standdown in relation to the Ruler’s request – and to persist ion the standoff resulting in constitutional crisis.
Kit is experienced: he knows where all this is leading to. :)
#18 by giko on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:14 pm
\If Nizar refuses to resign, then the next step is a vote of no-confidence, isn’t it?\
It’ll end in a stalemate (28-28) as the 3 SA’s who resigned won’t be allowed in by the Speaker!
What now? Emergency rule?
#19 by sani on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:18 pm
YB
Isn’t it true that the Monarch can only grant to dissolve the House, when there is proof of no confidence in the sitting government?
I.E. Via a vote of no confident in the House.
If the opposition succeed in that vote, then only Tuanku can take the advice of MB Nizar to call for a Fresh Mandate or receive his Honourable’s resignation?
#20 by lhslhv on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:21 pm
If MB of Perak is requested to resign is true, then Malaysia has no hope of true democracy for a lon long time to come.
God bless our children and grandchildren!
#21 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:23 pm
If a few arrests of key people will not be effective, if standoff spreads by demonstratyions and ‘threat to public order’, a declaration of state of emergency/martial law is also, in worst case scenario, not impossible.
People in power are prepared and just waiting to do show its overwhelming force to prop up the regime that otherwise cannot withstand the strong winds of change that are picking up amongst the people that will knock them off in the next elections.
They need a legitimate excuse to use force and what better excuse than defending the constitution?
You can trust in the worse case scenario PR will be led again down the road in a direction to gives the counter party, the BN, the perfect excuse/advantage to hit below the belt – just as the case of poaching defectors to overthrow an opposition controlled Perak state govt, so it will be in the equivalent case of a general crackdown/incaceration of all opposition key members, dissidents civil society champions and maybe you or I. :)
#22 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:24 pm
What to say about this jelapang assembly woman
Leave her alone.
There were very few voices rejecting the ‘frog game’ when it was announced. Try not to be sore losers.
#23 by bennylohstocks on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:25 pm
POOR WRITING SKILLS, BUT NURSERY RHYMES..OK?
#24 by Swarnabumi on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:25 pm
WHEN YOU WERE ELECTED TO SUPPORT THE PAKATAN RAKYAT,PEOPLE WHO VOTED YOU EXPECT YOU TO BE THERE UNTIL THE END. YOU WERE NOT ELECTED FOR BEING A POSTMAN EX-ARMY STAFF OR EVEN A POLIO VICTIM . THE REASON YOU ARE GETTING YOUR ALLOWANCE IS BECAUSE OF PEOPLE’S FAITH IN PR. DON,T JUMP JUST RESIGH AND RE-CONTEST TO SEE THE RESPECT HAVE FOR YOU. WE COULD HAVE EVEN PLACED A DONKEY UNDER PR TICKET AND IT WOULD HAVE WON. IT WAS THE PR FACTOR NOT CHOICE OF CANDIDATE .JUST B’CSE YOU WANT TO BE AN INSTANT MILLIONAIRE YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO CHEAT THE RAKYAT. IF PEOPLE START RESPECTING PROSTITUTES THAN YOU , THE REASON IS CLEAR. HAVE SOME HUMAN VALUE. TODAY RAKYAT RESPECT & LOVE ANYONE WHO LEAVES BN.THAT IS THE CULTURE OF THE NEW GENERATION TODAY.
#25 by ipohMali on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:26 pm
i think i want to puke… no eye see..
all i can say.. good or bad hard to say..
this could be good for BN as of now.. but bad or even worst for long term.
this will only anger the citizen more…
#26 by Kanasai_kia on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:26 pm
I’m in fury! Just came across RTM1 while I randomly switching channel on my tv. They are having this live broadcast concerning the situation in Perak. Basically, they just want to wait for the final words from Sultan of Perak.
That’s not the point. What I’m angry is that when I switch to RTM1, the things I heard makes me angry. There is this Timbalan of Perak from UMNO on air through telephone gave his view. He said “if BN forms the state government there will be no Indian in the commitee. We can’t be blame. All this is what the Indian community wanted & so be it. Let them learn their lesson from here”.
WOW! How arrogant is he! Haven’t even form the state government already wanted to show his claws. I can’t imagine what happen if they really get to form.
Sultan of Perak, please dissolve the state assembly & let the people choose their goverment!
#27 by negarawan on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:27 pm
We all know now his political inclination. Extremely disappointed that the voters rights and wishes are totally ignored. My respect for this person is ZERO.
#28 by ahoo on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:28 pm
If a learned man of His Royalty standing and also ex Lord President who is so well verse in law can accede to a takeover by some pirates, this nation is to be doomed. This will reflect not only on Perak but the nation’s as a whole. Who will want to invest in Malaysia where the rule of law in now hijack by those thirsting for power ? Please do not expect the simple folks to respect those politicians that think for their pockets.
If indeed disolution of stste assembly and a snap election is not mage possible, we are seeing two distints set of law. One for the common people and opposition politicians and the other for the elites and ruling politicians. In this way, the outlook for Malaysia as a democratic country just goes down the drain. It will lead to total dictatorship rule where whatever the ruling regime says or implement for the people will be deem good by them.
#29 by I Malaysian on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:30 pm
We could be furious and frustrated with all these developments for weeks to come. But what can we do as the Sultan himself has chosen to be with BN and their politics. Unfortunately the ordinary Malaysian in Malaysia does not have right to criticize the royalties even when his decision is against the wish of general public. It would be contempt and we will be condemned for disloyalty.
Under such circumstances, it would more advisable to act in a very responsible and address our grievances and disputes through the court of law. Show rakyat even at most trying moments we would act more responsibly than BN and their corrupt leaders.
Let’s hope this setback will strengthen our spirit and determination to fight BN.
#30 by ch on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:35 pm
Dear All,
It is now left to only one avenue which the High Court to decide the validity of the three seats currently occupied by those self-serving politicians. If the Court upholds the validity of the resignation letters then by-elections would be in order. If the verdict is otherwise, then Pakatan Rakyat will have to wait for the next general election or sudden resignation of state assemblyman. In any case, let’s brace for the impending return of UMNO and BN into Perak.
#31 by concerned_citizen on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:38 pm
Our beloved Dato Seri Nizar has been asked to resign by the Sultan and if he refuses, the post will consider vacant. I’m not trying to be pessimistic but it looks like PR is losing the game.
#32 by One4All4One on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:38 pm
“Nazrin: Ruler must be neutral to ensure justice for people” ( The Star, Feb 4, 2009 )
What can we make of this news heading with respect to the latest of turn of events in Perak?
“Raja Nazrin said a Ruler should always ensure that whatever he said and did were not misinterpreted or misunderstood.” (The Star)
What and how should we read into tis statement?
“Referring to his father, Sultan Azlan Shah, Raja Nazrin said his father clearly understood the sentiments and aspiration of his subjects.” -unquote-
What are the true sentiments and aspirations of Perakians, one may venture to ask.
“The Star
Wednesday February 4, 2009
Azlan Shah: Misdeeds will spell downfall for monarchy”
How should we interpret Sultan Azlan Shah’s admonition?
Quote:
“History has shown that the downfall of a monarchy was not because the system was not good, but rather because of misdeeds.
“Internal bickering and the ruler being wrongly advised by noblemen and court officials, who had vested interest to amass wealth or power, were among the causal factors,” said the Sultan at the pledge of loyalty and investiture ceremony at Istana Iskandariah here yesterday, to commemorate the Silver Jubilee of his reign. -Unquote-
Is the Sultan rightly or wrongly advised this time? What would be the consequences?
What about the sentiments of the majority of the electorate who chose the elected representatives?
Where do we go from here? Whatever it is, it would be wise to stay calm, collected and learn from this episode.
The show that started with 308 GE2008 has only begun. And the people should make their voices heard and their stand clear.
#33 by Anak Msia on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:39 pm
someone just don’t walk the talk
#34 by loverboy on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:41 pm
Wow, the PM-in-waiting (Najis) is seriously a tough dude to meddle with. I also heard the TV1 interview and I was surprised that they gave such an ARROGANT comment.
I can imagine how worst Perak will be if BN takeovers. Too bad for the non-Malay that they don’t have any good representatives. I’m not quite sure what the Malay will think since some Malay is very conservative and keep on supporting UMNO.
I felt pity to the younger generation and I certainly felt pity to myself that Malaysia is never came close to any democratic terms.
#35 by tkk on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:42 pm
Uncle Kit,
Its time to get the house in order. The raykat have spoken. Sentiment are strong for the opposition. That has been proven in the last 10 months. There should never be a doubt that the opposition doesn’t have what it takes to run a state and for the matter the nation.
All the bickering amongst the component parties should stop. If at all there are any misunderstanding, have it resolved internally. If we can just take a small step back, (each of us) big issues can become small issues and small issues will be no issues at all.
We should start identifying and grooming people now. By the time GE13 comes, we should be ready. We need learned people to manage the country. We need people with integrity. We need people with big hearts. PR must be absolutely ready by then. Learn from these mistakes.
#36 by ALLAN THAM on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:42 pm
BN may have grab back the Perak State but definitely NOT the people heart but the reverse. All these happening has anger the people more. More people get angry with the Jelapang poor soul. Jelapang won’t be in peace either. The poor and sad face tell all.
This was just a temporary set back for all people who want changes, real changes to come. And time will come and the people will say it loud and clear.
It was also a sad day for Malaysia democracy, worst it happen in Perak.
#37 by orang_cina on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:43 pm
Ketuanan rakyat is not important for Sultan, preserving the monarchy is…
Don’t just be a keyboard warrior. Show your support. See you in Stadium Ipoh tonight!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
#38 by grace on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:45 pm
I am most disappointed by the DAP deserter.
She really has let the people of Jelapang down. Just phone my cousin who lived in Jelapang! Oh Shit! The people there are damn mad at her!!!
But anyway. Lim, you and all your DAP colleagues are truly men of principles. You all would not trade it for any amount of money!! God bless you all always.
Am trying to forget the traitor !
#39 by loverboy on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:46 pm
# orang_cina Says:
Today at 15: 43.56 (37 seconds ago)
Ketuanan rakyat is not important for Sultan, preserving the monarchy is…
Don’t just be a keyboard warrior. Show your support. See you in Stadium Ipoh tonight!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sorry but I can’t since I’m still a student and I got class tomorrow morning.
However, I will spread the word DEMOCRAT among the student and I hope one day Malaysia will be truly democratic as we wish all this years and still waiting.
#40 by ch on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:47 pm
Dear All,
It appears that we are at it again i.e. the ever unfinish political tussle and jostle between Pakatan Rakyat and Barisan Nasional. Rather than focussing on the economy which may very well on the brink of a sudden collapse, politicians were and are busy checking out as to the latest number of possible defectors so as to enable them a surprise government take-over. This may sound bizzare but it does give us a similar feel of corporate take-over exercise i.e. collecting the required 30% shareholdings or trigger point mark to launch a take-over. Well, today we saw Barisan Nasional successfully bought the required extra shareholdings to launch the take-over by winning them through proxy shareholders. They were the three self-serving politicians who gave no consideration as to how they will be remembered by the nation history book or even the history book of their respective parties. A sad day indeed and I felt so bad as our votes had been robbed and short-changed by these three selfish legislators. Some say lend your ears to them and you may hear their side of the stories which may show signs of anger, cries and desperation. Whatever it may, but I am totally disgusted with the manner they behaved and reacted at the press conference with our Deputy Prime Minister. They offer nothing in return to hands that voted them in but lame and disgusted excuses. I felt so ashamed that we have such characters holding post in the government of Perak.
They are all but traitors and pests to the society and never worth a second look from me.
#41 by Steven on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:48 pm
This country is getting sicker by the day. First you have the economy in deep sh..t and sick like hell and second you have the supposedly doctor who has been given the rein to diagnose a remedy to help her recover, instead has gone on to destroy a state assembly and busily trying to form a new government. Meantime, this country is dying for lack of care and cure and guess what, do they care? no, of course not! Why? Because they already have so much money in their own dirty little pockets that whatever comes, they are going to still live and act like kings. God helps Bolehland!
#42 by Thinking Two on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:52 pm
Jelapang women complained of no exco position and no camry!!!!!
#43 by bentoh on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:53 pm
Sultan has not acted according to the convention…
EC had acted ultra vires…
The country has no LAW?
Yes, the people has the right to question the decision made by Sultan.
One thing for sure, Sultan can appoint an MB, but not sacking him unless he or she resigns… PR is currently forming a minority government in Perak and until a formal vote of no confidence passes through the DUN…
#44 by shadow on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:55 pm
Till todate HRH Sultan of Perak and his son have earned great respect from the Malaysian citizens. Should HRH asked the BN to form the state government, then its history!
#45 by gofortruth on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:57 pm
Now that HRH Sultan of Perak has spoken, a voice of wisdom or a voice from the museum only time will unveal.
PR was soundly defeated by BN’s game plan especially on the part of Hee & Nasa.
BN is hoping that PR will organise some kind of mass gathering to show disastifaction so that they can execute their follow up plan – to put their people there to create chaos & unrest & fights and then take that as an excuse to declare state emergency & start invoking ISA & arrest all top PR leaders. Believe me Syed Hamid albar is fully capable of doing just that.
I pray wisdom will prevail with PR’s leaders at this difficult & sad & moment.
The hard fact is :- HRH Sultan has CHOSEN to have questionable personality to run HIS state. What can his subjects do?
Why step into an open trap by BN?
I say wait till the next GE.
Yes, change will come!
#46 by baochingtian on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 4:01 pm
I’m sure she will get something big one of these days……….
#47 by Thinking Two on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 4:01 pm
Kampar road, Ipoh
Protest!!
Traffic Jam!!
Nazir will announce of his refusal soon.
#48 by -ec- on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 4:02 pm
still too early to tell who will win in this game. this is just the beginning.
the constitutional loophole of not resigning and retiring the party switching ADUNs may benefit the BN, may also benefit the PR (who knows). I just wonder who will lose at the other end?
this is najib who opened the pandora box.
#49 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 4:02 pm
Let people’s power sweep all the rotten and parasitic idiots right from the top figureheads to the corrupted and the froggy polticians into the South China Sea and the Strait of Malacca.
#50 by phat on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 4:04 pm
I expected the Perak Sultan would make a WISE choice. But he not only dissapointed the Perakians, but all Malaysians. No one shd rob the ppl’s constituional rights. The demons may get the power now, but not for long.
My votes are always for Pakatan, (the ppl’s party).