Perak Pakatan Rakyat Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin is to have audience with the Sultan of Perak to seek the dissolution of the Perak State Assembly and to hold state election.
Returning to the voters of Perak to seek a clear-cut mandate for the government of the state is the most honourable and democratic manner to end the political crisis in the state.

#1 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:59 am
One4All4One,
It is none of the above.
The only issue is when as a result of party hopping, cross-overs, the ruling party no longer enjoys the majority needed to form the government and govern. Instead it becomes the minority party in the state assembly.
According to our country’s constitution whicever political party that wins the general elections gets the mandate to form the government and govern the country. That meant PR albeit by a small minority. But today as a result of cross overs (for whatever reasons and however done) it no longer enjoys the majority needed. The sitting MB is from the minority party. What has to happen is that a vote of no-confidence is tabled against the sitting MB, who then goes to the Sultan and request for a dissolution of the assembly which would then pave the way to fresh elections.
BN would argue that seeking the consent of the Sultan to hold fresh elections, under those circumstances, would be illegal and the use of his discretion to grant the request would be unconstitutional.
#2 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:05 am
We are in a real mess here.
#3 by mendela on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 4:29 am
I have total faith in Sultan Azlan Shah.
Sure Perak Sultan will do the right thing for the people of Perak and for all Malaysians.
He is the only hope to achieve a Malaysia for all Malaysians!
#4 by mendela on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 4:43 am
http://romerz.blogspot.com/2009/02/wait-minute-najib.html
report abusedisagree 0agree
#5 by chiakchua on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 5:07 am
“# singma Says:
Yesterday at 23: 42.25
Why curse Hee?
What about your internal arrogant Ngeh and Nga? If you don’t want to look at your internal weakness of these arrogant Ngeh and Ngo and start blaming others like BN and Hee, how can DAP move forward and improve?”
1. She had been an ADUN for past 2 terms before the 308 when Nga/Ngeh were helming Perak DAP, why let go her fuss now? She should have declined her candidacy during the 308 election as her protest to the ‘arrogance’ (if its real) of party leaders. However, based on her ‘lies before the jump’, one could imagine what kind of people she is. She could only ‘redeem’ her mistake by declaring immediately she is ‘PR-friendly independent’ in the current turmoil. Would she? Doesn’t she knows the UMNOputras are many times more arrogant? I do not know Nga/Ngeh personally but I give high marks for what they have done for PR in this short 11 months of ruling in Perak based on infor gathered from BN controlled mass media.
2. Also pray that HRH Sultan of Perak would dissolve the State Assembly; let His rakyat make their choice on this issue.
3. Salute to ‘One4All4one’ for the good, enlightening and clear posting.
#6 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 5:22 am
mendela Says:
Today at 04: 29.24 (48 minutes ago)
Sure Perak Sultan will do the right thing for the people of Perak and for all Malaysians. He is the only hope to achieve a Malaysia for all Malaysians”
But no one is above the Constitution. Not even the Agong or the Sultan or Governor! The Constitution is supreme. Period.
#7 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 5:30 am
chiakchua Says:
Today at 05: 07.54 (14 minutes ago)
Also pray that HRH Sultan of Perak would dissolve the State Assembly; let His rakyat make their choice on this issue.”
This is not God’s law! It is man made law embodied in a sacred document called the Constitution. Our opinions don’t matter. Neither does the Sultan’s opinion nor that of his legal advisor matters. What matters is the intent of the state legislative assembly when the law was first passed. The courts will decide what that intent is or was.
#8 by computation on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 5:33 am
well lets see whether the sultan
agrees to dissolve the state assembly.
lets see whether he is so upright and
just. lets see whehter he cares for the
people. lets see whether he really is in tune
with what the people of perak want.
lets see whther nazrin shah also cares.
#9 by computation on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 5:35 am
what a disgusting person hee is.
loathesome corrupt chinese.
filthy person.
#10 by disapointed86 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 5:36 am
i think BN paid them a large fortune to defect…maybe couple of millions…
#11 by Loh on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 6:21 am
The MB has not informed the people what he told the Sultan. Most probably he informed his Highness that two ADUNs had resigned and the EC had denied the request to organize a by-election. So, even without a vote in the state assembly, he has lost the majority, and requested the dissolution of the state assembly. The Sultan could agree or request another person to form the state government.
Najib as Perak State Chief of BN announced that BN has the support of three independent candidates, of which the status of two is in dispute. So BN has only 29 ADUNs, and it has not a clear majority in the Perak Assembly.
Would the Sultan agree to the request of BN when its claim of majority is in doubt, or agree to the request of the MB who had made the request to dissolve the assembly based on discernable fact that he has lost the majority, rather than a vote in the assembly? The decision should be known soon.
#12 by computation on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 6:23 am
the sultan should realize the gravity of the situation in that if he
allows bn to form the state government it will be read by bn
as a signal that they can go on with their corrupt ways.
it will embolden these wicked people to ruin the
country. if things go downhill from here
the sultan will have had a part to play in it.
#13 by anak watan on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 6:31 am
I just have a gut feeling that the Ruler will not dissolve the state assembly to path way for fresh elections after Najib’s meeting with His Majesty today. If that really happened, my condolences to ALL THE CITIZEN IN THE STATE OF PERAK. You are just victimised by a doomsday conspiracy.
#14 by homeblogger on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 6:35 am
Jong says :
This speaks volume of PKR’s(Anwar Ibrahim?) ability to choose good people. How many more scr*w-ups do they need in order to learn to a lesson? Remember Ezam, Saiful and now this!
========================
I don’t like Anwar. I believe he carries too much baggage in the first place that bogs him down at every turn, but to be fair (looking at what is going on), it is beginning to look like the majority of those who enter politics in Malaysia are snakes, monkeys and morons – those who have mastered the art of two-faced fork-tongued deceit. So even though I can’t trust Anwar 100%, can’t really blame Anwar.
#15 by sotong on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 6:42 am
Thanks to Hee….support for the Opposition will increase significantly and rapidly.
BN had a chance to win back Perak, now it’s gone!
#16 by monsterball on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 7:04 am
aiyah…Another message of mine..under moderation.
Let me try again!
If the Sultan of Perak sees the situation as political…he will not interfere.
Being a learned ex Lord President and trully love his subjects….and if he sees that the voters are being played out…then he may call for a State election.
So far..voters have voiced out their anger and hope there is a State election.
At this time..I am reading few bloggers saying the Sultan has declared for a State election.
RPK feels PR will win at least 40 to 50 seats.
This will be bigger than Permatang Pauh….and many Malaysians from other States will be there to give moral support to Anwar and Lim Kit Siang and Hadi Awang.
People’s power must beat crooked and unscrupulous politicians.
DAP Hee??? Let her conscience judge her.
#17 by mohammadharrisjalil on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 7:19 am
i am really sad :-(
hope sultan can think wisely on this matter!!
#18 by FY Lim on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 7:39 am
Let’s see whether the 2 tainted Exco councillors who jumped ship will be prosecuted or the prosecution will withdraw their corruption charges. The way they play their sandiwara showed that they are not fit to be toilet cleaners in the state assembly. They are after all multimillionaires and will retire with their ill-gotten gains which will be made into their flesh.
For Hee’s crossover, she is getting elected and waiting to be traded for the right sum. Here , this unprincipled , material seeking woman have to be abandoned in the rubbish dumps of Jelapang forever.
Can DAP initiate to have the people of Jelapang to call for her resignation from the seat ? If we have sufficient voters calling on her daily and petitioning for her removal as assemblywoman, the rakyat will prevail.
The People’s parliament can also initiate this call
The people of Perak deserves better representatives than these 4 clowns in the state assembly.
#19 by ALLAN THAM on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 7:58 am
MCA and Gerak will suffer permanent damages by support the proposed BN Perak Government.
Their support in Perak will suffer greatly in time to come. Just watch on it.
#20 by kcb on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:06 am
“One wonders why a woman who struggled with her political party for 20 over years, and serving her people as 2-term ADUN would choose to do so…
She deserves the bashing… but apart from that… the DAP should seriously ask the question… why?” – bentoh
Ha ha ha, isn’t the “why” obvious enough?
For her action, the stench of this traitor of the rakyat, will, like the Chinese saying goes, be felt for the next 10,000 years!!!
How disgusting!!!
#21 by abdul on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:08 am
Hi Everyone,
Its me again, Abdul, Frankly speaking, I just couldn’t sleep since after knowing about the political turmoil in Perak, the state that I love very much..A very unique state with full of great unity, culture and tradition.I quickly sent a nasty comments to his blog attacking those 3 traitors, but rejected by the administrator..My 2nd comments accepted after moderation anyway…Even though I have been living in KL, I never fail to come back to Perak and enjoy each and everything about my beloved state, Perak.. When PKR won Perak in the last EC, each and everyone in my family moved back to Ipoh Perak as to support and feel this new govt of Perak.Sfter Pakatan Rakyat Won Perak and other places, our family have been very close to Chinese and Indians and other races..Pakatan Rakyat brought unity to everyone…I didn’t know that all this while, we have been having traitors in the party and started shaking our unity.. Pakatan Rakyat won each and everyone’s heart in his own way…Pakatan Rakyat is for everyone regardless of their race, religion, ethnics, language, etc…I never seen three major races Malay, Chinese and Indian are very close and live like a family in BN but I can witness that In Pakatan Rakyat.. Our parents used to live in a harmonious way during Tunku Abdul Rahman legacy..Avery much corrupted, racist, killer, poisonous, selfish BN has been screwing and tarnishing the unity that we had before until many of you don’t like us, Malays..Malays are very good and understanding and never screwed any other races in Malaysia..we like to live as a brother and sister and share this country with everyone…but BN (political leaders) created such a situations that planted hatred in each and everyone heart..In order to get Malays vote, they have poisoned Malays by through lies and instigation.. In order to get non-malays vote, they have poison them by telling that DAP or Pas will screw them if non- Malays vote for them…so they scored in many ways..I would regard BN as a real disaster to our country.. Don’t let them spoil our unity that we have been having since GE..Lets get together as one nation to bring unity that we have been hunger for many years…Don’t Let BN take over Perak and other states…Pakatan rakyat should rule us…Lets go for dissolution…Hidup Pakatan Rakyat…
#22 by yhsiew on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:09 am
BN’s gain in Perak is a complete money-oriented manipulation which is devoid of any political credibility.
#23 by shambles on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:16 am
dawsheng Says:
Today at 01: 28.26 (6 hours ago)
“Hee will be remembered as a PARLIMENTARIAN….a DEPUTY SPEAKER and lastly a TRAITOR. ”
I used to have the same opinion as you but not anymore, spurious as it may sounds, I respect their decisions, let us move on.
====================================
True that we should move on…but let us not forget this act of betrayal. I believe her actions are not reflective of the voice of the people. Perakians voted for change!!! By remembering, we will be more cautious in the future.
There is nothing to be respected about her decision. Its only by some personal vested interest that she has taken this step of shame. We will move on…for sure. But when judgement day comes, i hope she is ready!!! See you again Perak in GE13.
#24 by ALLAN THAM on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:16 am
Jelapang people will not forget. How good your service may be. The voters voted you not 10% because of your service but also the principle that the party carry.
It was sad indeed, but life is tough so money is the god how many can resist anyway? How many can have values posses by Kuan Kung who is royal until his last breath.
She has made great mistake and she will have to pay for her political folly by supporting BN which is equivalent to CORRUPTION in Malaysia.
By showing your support BN is just alight your self to CORRUPTION.
#25 by yhsiew on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:23 am
chiakchua Says:
Today at 05: 07.54 (3 hours ago)
She could only ‘redeem’ her mistake by declaring immediately she is ‘PR-friendly independent’ in the current turmoil. Would she?
====================================================
With 50 million ringgit cash safe in the bank, you think she will do it?
#26 by shambles on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:24 am
To the other PR ADUNS, do not be disheartened. Hold the fort!! Dont give in to the bribery of the BN goons. Your time to bask in glory will arrive soon enough. When PR takes over for good, we shall not forget all those who have deserted us. You’ve waited for 50+ years, waiting another 4 years isnt too bad.
The statement made by ex Penang CM….about the “Frog King”. I wonder who is the Raja Katak NOW!!!
#27 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:29 am
Never knew there are so many visitors/readers here – suddenly over 250 interesting comments, when much that is serious is at stake.
However on the lighter side first, whenever passion/anger is aroused at our political frogs, I lament that prostitutes –ooops sex workers – get maligned!
The people have been “betrayed and cheated by the three prostitutes from Jelapang, Behrang and Changkat Jering” negarawan said Yesterday at 21: 31.57 to be joined force by Ktteokt’s comments Yesterday at 23: 31.59, “Hee Yit Foong, the political prostitute…”
If it’s any consolation, such comments are buttressed by the “astute” broadside of one such famous political practitioner who ruled popularly as 44th president of USA : “I used to say that politics was the second lowest profession and I have come to know that it bears a great similarity the first/oldest” – Ronald Reagan in “Observer” 13th May 1979!
Be that as it may, a comparison of political frogs with sex workers has its limits : not only they do different type of ‘jumping’, but the latter provide an important service of therapeutic/physical value to hypocritical society. More important, you get what you pay, fair and square, but in the case of political frogs, you vote them under PR and they jump to BN in betrayal of the original bargain! The more active of course jumped from BN to PR and then shortly from PR back to BN!
Unfortunately, this difference is ignored when we drag sex workers in to criticize people whom we regard would sell their principles for money.
Here “principles” are not one’s private principles. If “private” and not affecting anyone else, who cares what they are?
However here for “kataks’, ‘principles’ involve 3rd parties/public in the sense that they placed their trust to vote for you based on your claim to fight for their interest, and after getting there, use it as a bargaining chip to get a large wad of cash – that will take care of generations to come – for jumping to the opposite camp…..and this where the cutting edge of betrayal is keenly felt.
Unfortunately, even as we become sanctimonious and criticize, it is good to question how many amongst us will resist the blandishments of Millions if the other side deems us “worthy” to buy?
It appears that the difference between an honourable politician and a not so honourable one is the price for the soul/conscience or reputation, whichever more important : the first needs RM50 Million, the latter RM5 million?? Well whilst definitely we cannot say all and every single politician but we can say it for (maybe) 90+% of them?
Running a political party/coalition needs management of checks and balance taking into account human frailty.
It is interesting mother of three said in posting Yesterday at 23: 09.18 “Uncle Lim, How could u miss out the “Hee” virus in your party???? Maybe he forgot to ask Fong Po Kuan (DAP-Batu Gajah) her insights? :)
#28 by ktteokt on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:32 am
The reasons for her leaving DAP and PR should not be valid at all. Hee is not new to DAP, she has been a member of DAP for more than two decades! She should have understood very well what makes DAP tick, but now she turns back and give all sorts of excuses! The only thing I can see is that she has been “bought” over with RM! RM! and RM! If RM to her is worth more than her dignity and the respect given to her by the people in her constituency, then she is no better than a WHORE! Anyway, her political career can be pronounced dead and buried. DAP must look seriously into this problem and plug up this loophole to avoid more Hee(s) and LLTs from being generated within the party!
#29 by StevePCH on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:34 am
part of Law professor Dr Shad Saleem Faruqi said in the Star today :–
The Sultan, he said, had a heavy task when making a decision.
“He has to bear in mind that the palace’s reputation is at stake should defectors be rewarded with the possibility of being king-makers.
“It will be a bad precedent if a government is formed by relying on support by defectors.
“Party-hopping is a despicable activity no matter which party does it. Not only does it bring shame to the political process, it is also a bad way to form a government,” he added.
——————————————
It actually does not really matter if BN manage to form next government but rather the impartiality of monarchy and “judiciary” issues.
The EC as part of the “judiciary” as we lay man sees it, had proven to be a failure. It failed to deliver when put under the acid test !!!
Now, HRH Sultan as a former CJ , seems to be in a very much tigther situation whereby to dissolve or not to. As the Prof. mentioned, it is a BAD precedent and the palace’s reputation gambled for BN’s success. Is it worth it when the ground sentiments is so bad against BN.
Well, the Terengganu’s ruler’s Council made a right choice back then. Will the Perak Sultan / palace make the right one ? Let’s pray he does.
#30 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:37 am
Dear Sdr. Lim,
As senior party leader, I feel you owe DAP supporter an explanation of how DAP rep of Jelapang can break rank. How is it that she is able to break rank with DAP senior leaders directive, to betray the cause of DAP. The only plausible reason for doing what she did if she has no faith in the entire DAP organisation (nationall NOT state wise). If her problem is with state organisation and personality, the senior leaders of DAP must explain how they could have let the state organisation become so chaotic resembling MCA, Gerakan warlord politics that it now betrays the national and long term agenda of DAP at crucial moment. DAP has struggled for years to get a chance to change this country fundamentally and how it can be subjected to derailment by the agendas of individuals is inexcusable.
#31 by k1980 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:46 am
How DAP rep of Jelapang can break rank? Hold down the ‘shift’ key on your keyboard and press it a dozen times— that’s how Heeheehee broke rank. $$$$$
The harshest attack against Umno of its takeover of Perak through defections came from former strongman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad. The ex-premier chastised the government he once led for accepting two former opposition leaders who are facing corruption charges.
“If they are accepted now and then found not guilty, the so-called Umno-led government will be accused of influencing the court,” he wrote on his widely-followed blog. “True or not does not matter as the public’s perception is such.”
#32 by taiking on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:52 am
And we thought mahathir was bad. Najib is badder by miles. And he is not even the pm yet. He may have denied the mongolian scandal and the weapons acquisition hu hah but with what he has done in perak are his denials seriously believable? What did his father do to rahman? A good chip isnt he?
Mahathir succeded in bringing up a generation of ultra greedy and power crazy umnoputras and has shown a great readiness to succumb all who opposed him. What will najib do?
Mahathir at least tried to legalise his actions by controlling the court and by setting up kangaroo tribunals (e.g. the one that was tasked with the eradication of some federal court judges). Najib i am afraid will not bother to do any of those. He would just execute (take action) and then deny his involvement.
But of course mahathir is the smarter of the two. Being of lesser grey matter constitution najib will find the crude ways of cavemen natural and normal and hence acceptable. And of course he didnt realise that in this day and age cavemen are rare and caveman behaviour is a socialy oddity.
In other words, he would stand up like a really sore thumb in umno and in the country. In other words, he would be instrumental in closing the final umno chapter.
What he has done (cross-party money politics) will be remembered by the people and the real impact of his action will be felt by him in the next election (be it general or by election).
#33 by k1980 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:56 am
Sorry for typo–
Hold down the ’shift’ key on your keyboard and press the figure ’4′ key a dozen times— that’s how Heeheehee broke rank. The next time around, all winners of elections need to be herded in temples and pledge before Hades that they would never ever break ranks, after slaughtering white cockerels, crossing their hearts and spitting on the devil.
#34 by etacude on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:56 am
Hee Yit Foong sudden change of wind show me what is (running dog) and (hang jian) (in chinese word) like.
#35 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:57 am
On subject of “kataks” and in response to an earlier challenge from the comment “by the way, why is it that when someone defects from BN to PR they are called heroes and are doing so for the rakyat”, KennyGan has answered Yesterday at 19: 20.50 “Because when they defect from BN to PR it is for principles. When they defect from PR to BN it is for money, position and dropping of corruption charges.”
The latter part – “when they defect from PR to BN it is for money, position and dropping of corruption charges” – is of course commonly accepted as true.
I am not too sure about the first part – “they defect from BN to PR it is for principles”.
It flies in the face of the common assumption that if they were in the BN, they would not have placed high premium on principles in the first place.
A change of heart, a sudden seizure of conscience, an apocalyptic revelation? Possible but not likely.
The other interpretation : they were in BN because they were deliberately “planted” there in the beginning as trojan horses by some ‘mastermind’ to spy on its goings on….and at the right time, required to jump back to PR to balance the numbers, and then they later decide to jump again back to BN except that this time around it’s a bit hazy and we’re left wondering whether there’s other motivation (yet to be divined) beyond the commonly assumed ones!
The beautiful part is that our politics don’t just involve unquantified number of political frogs or potential frogs : it is confusing because we’ve also got “Trojan horses” embedded in key areas to monitor events, identify and report back developments and so and so on. In war it would be undercover spies.
PR may have a couple of “Trojan Horses” embedded within the BN, and vice versa : however it is not just “inter”-coalition/party as in PR versus BN, it is also “intra”-party/coalition in the sense that, supposing parties A, B and C are in a coalition, A may have its trusted lieutenants embedded as member of B or C…..
Interesting isn’t it, having frogs and Trojan horses and not being able to tell who is who???
#36 by Thor on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:02 am
What taking the sultan so long to make a decision?
Well! he has to scrutinize every details with great care.
He too, has to meet najib to get an explanation from him first for he does not wants to be biased on one side.
The Sultan is not weak nor undecisive.
The sultan is wise to know that if he’s to grant BN to rule the state, it will bring disaster to every part of the state.
Because if he were to do that, Najib will use the same tactics to rob PR of the other remaining states.
There were never be any more democracy then and the \election\ thing is just a play, play.
Najib thinks that as a finance minister and with all the country’s cash in his hand, he could use it as if it belongs to his late father.
Money can do wonders but money can sometimes cause downfall.
I bet that money will sooner or later destroy those \scums\ their entire life.
One more thing is that I would like to advise Anwar never to speak of anything that he can’t do again.
It’s just like digging his own trap!
We can’t trust any individual in PR, Independent or BN.
Most of us voted only for the party and not the individual so to those who wish to jump, please don’t take the voters for a ride.
Not only are you a traitor but a threat to national security too.
You could also be selling our country’s top secret to our enemy for just a price, in future.
You people deserve to be put in Kamunting as well!
#37 by etacude on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:05 am
“The only plausible reason for doing what she did if she has no faith in the entire DAP organisation …” Big Joe
If that is the sole reason, a woman with principle can just stand out and say quit.
But the TIMING is such that it conincides with toppling the Perak govt makes one feel that there are some agreements/negotiations taking place (e.g. $,$$$,$$$, position, promises etc.). If this is the case, whatever reasons given is just a decoration.
#38 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:27 am
Is it not written that the darkest clouds come before the sun shines through?
This BN victory(?) could turn out to be a Pyrrhic one : it may gain control of Perak but by doing so show more Malaysians that the BN is not fit to govern Malaysia.
Let us pray that more Malaysians awake from their political apathy.
#39 by Anak Msia on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:34 am
This Katak Hee, the more i look at her photo, the more she looks like greedy running dog.
#40 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:37 am
Kenny Gan Said Yesterday at 21: 31.21 “The constitution says that a Menteri Besar which has suffered a successful vote of no confidence can either:1) resign together with his govt or 2) advise the Ruler to dissolve the state assembly and call for fresh elections”. OK true but that’s what the MB could do, and we know what he would do as well.
The more important part of what KennyGan said was : “The Ruler can (a) act on the advice of the MB and dissolve the state assembly or (b) he can select another person which in his opinion commands the confidence of the majority to be MB.”
Its not what the MB does that counts but what the Ruler does that count, isn’t it? What (besides hopes) makes us think that the Ruler may not opt for (b) if Najib presents the majority numbers?
True, as StevePCH posted today at 08: 34.48, what Law professor Dr Shad Saleem Faruqi said in the Star today : “The Sultan, he said, had a heavy task when making a decision. He has to bear in mind that the palace’s reputation is at stake should defectors be rewarded with the possibility of being king-makers. It will be a bad precedent if a government is formed by relying on support by defectors. Party-hopping is a despicable activity no matter which party does it. Not only does it bring shame to the political process, it is also a bad way”.
However ask yourself this question – if due to “party hopping” BN has majority number in Perak State Assembly now, would not the Ruler be entitled (in non partisan politics as befitting His neutral role as constitutional monarch) to fall back on the constitutional/legal premise of selecting another person which in his opinion commands the confidence of the majority to be MB????
What about parrty hopping, one may ask. What about it?
Regarding the “immorality” of party hopping (as basis of transferring power), is morality or immorality going to be of weight, in deliberations, when the law/judicial precedent as laid down by the highest apex court in Dewan Undangan Negeri Kelantan & Another v Nordin Salleh & Another says that party hopping is ok by reason that any restriction placed on it will contravene article 10(1)(c) Federal Constitution on Freedom of Association? Is morality overriding of law & constitution???
Now I suddenly recall what Onlooker Politics said in posting Yesterday at 19: 58.27 – “When His Highness was the Yang Dipertuan Agong, his agreeing to sign the bill of Constitutional Addition of Special Court into the law had displeased other state rulers”.
That’s true, some state rulers were displeased.
However, Onlooker Politics, you should flip the coin and ask the other corollary question: who was the one person, whom you would speculate or deduce, would be pleased at that time?
It is interesting to speculate on this other point : would Najib/BN blow up the issue in media and claim it would take over Perak state govt if they had, after long and serious thinking, believed the plan/coup would be impeded from being successful?
Unless you think there’s not enough of long and serious thinking/planning put in to the matter by BN : is that likely?
An earlier poster boh-liao said in posting Yesterday at 19: 48.12 : “So, this the the climax! Who said NR is weak…?”
Hello it is ordinary that there’s a lot of work, tweaking here and there, much foreplay so to speak, before Climax! :)
I shall leave it that…
#41 by Anak Msia on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:39 am
where is MACC ???
#42 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:43 am
Typo omission in 5 para from bottom rectified in capital : “……would Najib/BN blow up the issue in media and claim it would take over Perak state govt if they had, after long and serious thinking, NOT believed the plan/coup would be impeded from being successful?…”
#43 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:43 am
Those idiots ‘aduns’ including the traitor Hee from DAP should be condemned.They actions are really sickening and they should be spat on and cursed.The Sultan should show his wisdom now by dissolving the Perak State Assembly and let the rakyat teach these human garbage a bitter lesson.
#44 by wesuffer on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:27 am
i hope BN will take over PERAK with unpopular way this time.
and i so glad MCA and GERAKAN will support BN.
that case will only make BN totally flatten in NEXT GE.
PR is just 10month old , and this is lesson for them to grow up.
dont wait untill last majority seat lossing then only think to dissolve state assembly. its too late
#45 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:38 am
Frog legs? Anyone?
#46 by Anak Msia on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:01 am
latest news from STAR
Newsflash (10:35am) Perak Umno state chief Datuk Sri Najib Tun Razak and his deputy Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi leave Istana Kinta. Najib is expected to chair the state liaison committee meeting to discuss the Barisan candidate for the Perak Mentri Besar post.
#47 by chaiong on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:03 am
From 916 to 204, Anwar and Najib both sodomized the Rakyats! God, please help!
#48 by tkk on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:39 am
I hope your majesty will make a wise decision. This could will be a decision that creates history for Malaysia. It will set a precedent on how the country will move forward.
Are we still going to be ignorant and stand by the \boleh\ attitude or do we really want to see this wonderful country of ours achieve greatness that it deserves? Your majesty is at this crossroad. How would you like your legacy to be remembered?
Uncle Kit,
I am no politician but would it be possible that party hoppers resign their office and stand on a new ticket to get a fresh mandate from the people (if they do decide to switch side)? This will ensure that the rakyat are behind his/her intended switch or not. (regardless of the side they are from)
#49 by pangwl88 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:57 am
to Chicken Hee:
You are soooo lucky you don’t live in Africa…..
Do you know what they do to Traitors like you???
Oh…. I am sorry, you cannot see? Your eyes COVERED with $$$???
Nevermind then….
#50 by taiking on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:46 pm
A desperate act by a desperate man. I think that is what it is all about. Two by-election failures and a cupboard full of skeletons (which he denied) are simply too much for him and now he must show some good result. Of course the result must be significant enough to cover the two failures.
The perak cross-over dust will definitely not settle even if umno takes over the state government. They forgot that peninsular folks (malays included) are mainly against them. They obviously thought that their umno corrupt ways and experience could be applied nilly willy to people outside the party.
Voters have been angered. Rightly or wrongly, they are upset and dissapointed with the recent forced-jumps. Umno has been too bad for too long that voters basically do not now give them any benefit of doubt. On the contrary, they are prepared to give the benefit to pakatan. Hence a cross-over from pakatan to umno is tainted and from umno to pakatan is noble.
There is nothing wrong or unfair about such attitude. In fact umno is both the father and mother of that attitude. Can umno complain? Instead of working towards re-building voters’ confidence after 308, umno decided to go for stunts that have in fact shocked and shook voters’ confidence further – something umno can ill-afford. Is this stupidity or desperation? Perhaps both.
Najib must be in a great rush and I think he is mistaking the grave for his target. Under Captain Najib Umno will sink quicker.