Perak political crisis – all options will have to be considered

The Election Commission has acted unconstitutionally outside its jurisdiction in refusing to recognize the decision of the Perak Speaker, V. Sivakumar on the vacancy of the Changkat Jering and Behrang state assembly seats and to hold by-elections.

As pointed out clearly by the former Election Commission Chairman, Tan Sri Rashid Rahman, the Election Commission’s constitutional duty is to act on the Perak Speaker’s official notification on the vacancy of the two state assembly seats and to call for by-elections to be held in the next 60 days.

It is no business of the Election Commission to act and usurp the jurisdiction of the courts to dispute the Speaker’s decision – as any such legal challenge should come from Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi and Mohd Osman Mohd Jailu if they want to challenge the legality of their resignations from their respective state assembly seats.

In this case, the Election Commission has even acted as a court of law – in a decision which is clearly influenced by the political interests and considerations of the Barisan Nasional.

With the further odds against the Pakatan Rakyat state government in Perak, all options to resolve the political crisis in Perak will have to be considered.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by k1980 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:30 pm

After losing 2 straight by-elections, umno will not allow itself to be defeated in 2 more

2. #2 by Mr Smith on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:35 pm

EC overrides the state government. Go to Federal Court for a decision.

3. #3 by Mr Smith on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:46 pm

It simply means that the EC has rejected the Speakers letters and accepted the two frogs letters. Is EC a court of law and the Chairman, its judge?

4. #4 by cheong on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:46 pm

Looks like the best option now is to go back to the rakyak again to seek a clearer mandate.

5. #5 by k1980 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:46 pm

Frogs feature prominently in folklore, fairy tales and popular culture. They tend to be portrayed as benign, ugly, clumsy, but with hidden talents.

In Malaysia, the Bota, Behrang and Changkat Jering varieties have become the most sought-after froggies. This is not surprising considerinfg the fact that those froggies who leapfrogged from Pairin Kitingan’s PBS in 1994 went on to become rich beyond their wildest dreams

6. #6 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:49 pm

Did we not know whose man Lasit Lahman is?

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:56 pm

PR should not fall into trap of exhausting their resources in Perak state election with Sarawak election looming. Remember that Najib is a book reader including Sun Tzu’s art of war. Its all possible his intention is to exhaust PR resources in Perak before the Sarawak election.

However, if Perak can be won with a huge gain AND there is enough time before Sarawak election to collect resources, then its worth it to go for it. A big win in Perak can build huge momentum in Sarawak which is enticing.

BUT if after a marginal win and then a Sarawak election is called very soon after, PR can be stretched to the limit of its resources and hence allow Najib to recoup his poor reputation….

Be careful!!!

8. #8 by Kelvenho on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:58 pm

The election commission belongs to BN. Why, because the chairman’s salary is paid by BN. So you don’t expect the commission is free and
    fair. I strongly believe the only solution for Perak is to have a fresh
    mandate from the people. So this time the people of Perak should choose a very strong state government base on transparency, fair,
    clean and corruption free Perak State.

9. #9 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:01 pm

Powerful figures (be they past or present) might have influenced decisions of the Election Commission.

10. #10 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:03 pm

Anyone of BN mentality should be removed from Pakatan Rakyat. It is a serious business. The YB of DAP who went missing and with allegation of defecting to MCA, should not be trusted as well.

So much money are floating around. The most expensive brands in the world are from boleh, the boleh politicians

11. #11 by sani on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:07 pm

YB

Isn’t the EC suppose to run Elections?
    Isn’t the House self regulated?
    Isn’t the Monarch, the boss of both the House + the EC?

I don’t think if Tuanku, give the nod for snap state election. The EC dare to oppose? Or do they. You see, Najib is a student of Mahathir.

12. #12 by k1980 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:13 pm

PR elected representatives must voluntarily sign fresh anti-hopping pledges, witnessed by judges who need to affirm that they do so under their own free will, and not under duress. The whole process needs to be recorded on tape so that no one can claim to be forced to sign the pledges.

13. #13 by Tonberry on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:16 pm

How on earth could the EC have the power to reject the speaker’s decision. The EC’s job is only to conduct an (by)election. It is clearly that the EC is trying to justify the 2 frogs crossing over to Umno.

14. #14 by localgrad on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:37 pm

walauyeh, since when the EC has become the court of law and even gave its own verdict over decision of the honourable speaker.

The most the EC can do it to delay the decision and ask the duo frogs to seek legal assistance before the EC has to make a final decision.

This one is worst than Rashit!

Yeh, Malaysia Boleh!

15. #15 by I Malaysian on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:38 pm

All options must be taken into account of course. But to end this instability and to ensure smooth administration of the state, a snap another state election will be the best solution. Crossover is not a good practice and therefore PR should abstain itself from it.

16. #16 by localgrad on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:45 pm

walauyeh, since when the EC has become the court of law and even gave its own verdict over decision of the honourable speaker.

The most the EC can do is to delay the decision and ask the duo frogs to seek legal assistance before the EC has to make a final decision.

This one is worse than Rash-it!

Yeh, Malaysia Boleh

17. #17 by wesuffer on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:51 pm

dissolve state assembly is best solution. lets perak folk to choose again and make a more powerful state goverment for PERAK.
    I believe PR will gain more seat if state election again.

18. #18 by wesuffer on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:54 pm

this is just beginning of UNDER NAJIB ERA.
    AFTER MARCH 2009. ALOTS UNEXPECTED THING WILL HAPPEN.
    BEWARE PR. AND ALL MALAYSIAN..

19. #19 by ismailhakim on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:57 pm

Another blogger says Perak Sultan cannot this time keep quiet and must intervene in the crisis for the sake of the Perak rakyat

click here: http://malaysianunplug.blogspot.com/2009/02/disgusting-trend-in-malaysian-politics.html

20. #20 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:00 pm

I think the Sultan of Perak should zoom in to MAKE CLEAR his decision whether he wants by-elections, dissolving the state assembly or maintaining the status quo.

Any indecision will bring anxiety to the people of Perak and affect investment sentiments in the state.

Political uncertainty must be avoided, especially during a global economic downturn.

21. #21 by optimuz on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:15 pm

Kit,

I’m more interested to know if there is any credence to the Nga-Ngeh domination…could these guys be the reason why things are going south in Perak?

22. #22 by Thinking Two on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:17 pm

That two duly signed letters are VALID.

All cheque that was pre-signed and filled in the date later still clear through the baking system!!!!!!

23. #23 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:17 pm

As I took pains to explain in earlier thread – “RM7 billion national economic stimulus package or RM7 billion BN economic stimulus package?” – EC’s decision is predictable, and it has always been a race (right from the start of Perak’s turmoil) between which is faster – (1) Nizar/PR’s immediate calling of a snap state election of 59 constituencies or (2) BN’s motion/vote of no confidence (with all “due process of assembly proceedings in the State Assembly” and emergency motion, short notice being factored in) to take over the state government from PR – as to which time is crucial.

By all counts whichever – whether PR or BN – secures majority of the Perak state assembly, this majority is so wafer thin that such a state government is inherently unstable.

The conditions are therefore favourable for a snap state election for a fresh ‘bigger’ mandate from Perakians, and therefore the HRH Sultan, if request is made to him for the dissolution of state assembly, will likely grant it.

So what is PR waiting for? Whether it can afford the campaign expenses in economic downdown?

If you believe that change is a thing whose time has come and cannot be resisted just by bulwark of large wads of cash, then you should have faith that supporters will assist financially to fight the BN Electoral Juggernaut/large campaign funds and voters will take the BN’s largese and still vote for PR. [To a certain extent this is vindicated in KT By Elections].

Does the PR believe in the strength of this wind of change? Is there any other option? That is the question.

24. #24 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:27 pm

I wonder if the Chair of the EC knows what he is doing? In view of the interests of the PEOPLE, the Sultant of Perak should decide if the interests of the State is served; otherwise desolve the State assembly and have general State election. This will certainly let the people of Perak make a firmer decision on the next Gomen!

25. #25 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:31 pm

I think it is time now for Perak MB to make a request to Perak Sultan for dissolving the State Assembly. Why does PR want to give Najib a chance to show an improved result in his report card to the Umno General Assembly? If the Perak State Election is to be held before the Umno General Assembly, the chances for PR to win a simple majority is high. People’s hearts are not by the side of Umno now. PR leaders should be brave enough to face the challenge from Najib. BN’s money politics may not work effectively to the advantage of BN at this point of juncture since people are more concerned about the natural justice of the victims such as Altantuya, RPK, the police brutality at Taipan Police Station and their Freehold Land Title status in the New Villages.

26. #26 by monsterball on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:57 pm

There is confusion and contradicting reports told and reported.
    But to get the Election Commission to decide is making nonsense out of law.
    Lawyers gave their views. Public opinions…plentiful in favour of by-elections.
    At the end of everything…the final say is by government and when have you ever seen UMNO is fair to PR?
    PR is still managing Perak State…with a razor thin one vote majority.
    Now lets wait and see if the RM50 million bribes given by Najib is true or not.
    Are we not feeling sick of our country’s politics…..so low class…so undemocratic..so childish?

27. #27 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:58 pm

Sorry to sidetrack.

Top Malaysia banker, Nazir Razak, the brother of incoming prime minister Najib Razak, wants review of race policy.

@@http://www.reuters.com/article/marketsNews/idINKLR27276020090203?rpc=611

28. #28 by mata_kucing on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:01 pm

It’s going to get a lot messier. There’s only one option and that is to call for a state election. Get the Sultan consent and go for it. Give Umno a piece of their own medicine. It will be another tsunami and this one will be the last nail in Umno’s and BN coffin. There is little doubt that PR will win with a much bigger majority this time round. You have nothing to lose and plenty to gain. Najib will wet his pants.

29. #29 by wanderer on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:03 pm

This is as good a time as any, to call BN bluff. PR should throw in everything, once and for all, to capture the State again convincingly. Malaysians appreciate fighters and not slimy characters which UMNO have many. PR should not miss this golden opportunity and will definitely, be rewarded handsomely…other States may want to climb on board.

30. #30 by Raja Chulan on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:07 pm

Dear LKS,

This is another clear example of the EC (its chairman !) showing his gratitude to his political masters for appointing him to this plum job after retirement last year.

In this country, you don’t need a good brain to become the EC Chairman. A good tongue, is all you need to give BN a good lick !!

I am ashame of this country, Malaysia.

31. #31 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:11 pm

All Malaysian laws have long gone down the lonkang since mahatir became the Pin 1974, and replaced with UMNO laws. Tun Hussein Onn who was a lawyer by training became very angry with mahatir because of this. Anyway, I think the best couse of action for PR is to seek HRH the Perak Sultan’s consent to dissolve the State Assembly to seek a fresh mandate from the Perakians who, I believe, will return PR with a very much stronger mandate. Forget about the EC chairman who must have already received a lot of gule-gula to break the law. HRH is still alert and wise enough to know that some people have disregard the laws of his State and to act as befitting his wisdom. GOOD LUCK PR AND ALL THE PERAK VOTERS.

32. #32 by ablastine on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:14 pm

There is not much point wasting time arguing with the election commission which of course is owned by UMNO. The best course of action I feel is to work towards a dissolution of the State government and call for a snap State election. The mandate coming from the people of the entire State of Perak will possibly crush UMNO and BN. An unassailable majority will put to rest any attempts by UMNO to try to use money and threat of prosecution to induce Pakatan members to hop over. In fact if the majority is significant enough it will simply just bury UMNO and BN as they will not be able to find anyone stupid enough to jump onto their sinking ship. Having lost the last two by election so badly despite so much of effort, I am incline to think the UMNO government will not dare to allow this to happen- the state election.

33. #33 by a-malaysian on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:16 pm

This is what umno/bn stood for.
    “We can do what we like unto you but we will not tolerate anyone doing the same unto us.”

There is no law in this country that can punish umno for all its wrong doing. The only way is by “PEOPLE’S POWER” through elections, no doubt it also faces many obstacles to fight them, but that’s the only way.

Pakatan Rakyat in Perak should dissolve the state assembly and call for fresh election. That is the only way to go, win or lose is another matter rather than holding to power on a thin line, worrying who next is defecting with no full concentration to run the state.

Let the people decide once for all who they want to rule the state.

The next important thing is the selection of candidates. I am sure this time there are going to be a lot of infighting for candidacy and PR must withstand this hurdle. The type that are money face, power greedy and those who like to threaten must go. Chose wisely, for if PR were to lose this state, all the hard work and struggle to change at the federal level will come to nought at the next GE.

Malaysia For All

GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for the past fifty one years.

34. #34 by localgrad on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:20 pm

Oh yhsiew,

But pls remember that Najb and Nazir have different brain set.

One is Cambridge brain, the other Keris brain….

35. #35 by hawk on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:33 pm

The EC can decide whatever they want. But that doesn’t mean their decision is binding on the Perak State’s Legislative Assy’s Speaker.

As far as the Speaker and State Leg Assy is concerned, the two seats have been declared vacant and the two donkeys are barred from attending State’s Leg. Assy’s sitting and to draw any SLA allowances. Pure and simple. Nothing to worry since, PR still holds a 1 seat majority.

Let the two donkeys take their case to court to challenge the Speaker’s and SL.Assy’s decision.

EC and its Chairman and their decision doesn’t bind the State of Perak which is a sovereign State with its own government and own ruler; although they are signatories of the Federation Agreement. Being part of the Federation of Malaysia doesn’t mean surrendering your sovereign lock, stock and barrel.

The EC has acted unconstitutionally and in excess of their jurisdiction which is to conduct fair and transparent elections.

36. #36 by somaris on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:42 pm

TO ALL PERAK PEOPLE,
    WE want Bn out of PERAk.enough is enough . We are happy with our new MB of Perak..
    YB LKS
    WE need strong DAP,PKR ,PAS, who work for the people not for BN or money.I do hope you well and happy new year to you and ur familly. God bless you and ur familly.
    Ireland

37. #37 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 6:21 pm

Najib, come out and face PR in the by-elections like a man!

38. #38 by grace on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 6:34 pm

Dissolve the stae assembly and call for fresh elections. Make sure that traitors are weeded out.
    Traitors have no place in PR!!!

39. #39 by sirrganass on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 6:41 pm

Siapa menderhaka kepada Sultan Perak???? Sultan telah memperkenankan adanya Pilihan Raya baru. Speaker telah setuju dan Menteri Besar Perak telah setuju. DAP/PKR/PAS telah setuju.

Siapa yang DERHAKA? Sebenarnya siapakah penderhaka kepada Sultan?

Thks a lot to all Perak Chinese that respect our sultan. Syabas!

And “Sial/Celaka” pada bangsa melayu yang derhaka kepada sultannya sendiri…

40. #40 by onlinejb on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 6:41 pm

PR will definitely win with two third majotiry if fresh elections are call in Perak. Do it PR we are fully behind you.

41. #41 by KennyGan on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 6:46 pm

Note: This is not written by me. I picked it up from Dr. Hsu’s forum posted by ‘Francis’

State seats to be lost by Umno in case of a snap by-election.

1. Rungkup in Bagan Datok: UMNO won by 454 (2,330 in 2004)

2. Sungai Manikin P. Salak Umno won by 1,374 (3,599 in 2004)

3. Kampong Gajah, P. Salak Umno won by 1,415 (over 5,000 in 2004)

4. Chenderiang in Tapah. Won by MCA by 50% reduced margin. PKR fielded an Indian in a pure Chinese base. Will be corrected.

5. Ayer Kuning in Tapah (Umno won by 3,252. Close to 7000 in 2004). However, research shows the Umno candidate got 74% of the 48% non-Malay electorate. Now those non-Malays will vote for PAS which fielded a candidate here.

6. Tualang Sekah in Kampar. Umno won by 1,500 (3,500 in 2004). PKR fielded an Indian in the majority Malay seat. Though he did well, fielding a Malay here will beat the pulp out of Umno. Non-Malays are 43%
    7. Sungai Rapat. Umno won by 636 against Pas. Hamida Osman, the DUN here is the one who called Indians snakes later after she won. Her majority in 2004 was over 6,000 but she survived by 600 in 2008. Pas will win outright here. Furthermore, PKR V.President is the MP here (Gopeng).

8. Belanja in Parit. Pas lost by over 1,800 (over 3,000 in 2004) due to non-Malay vote in 2008. With Umno taking a dig at the non-Malays and Pas accomdating them, and with Perak’s large non-Malay vote, Umno will lose every seat it won in March 08 due to the fear of Pas and the fact that PKR was unknown.

9. Bota is in Parit. The canidate defected to PKR and will retain his seat. Yesterday he said the pple who came to welcome him couldn’t be obtained even during his Ceramahas in March 08.

10. Pengkalan Baru. Umno won by 14 votes only. Yes 14 votes (over 2,200 in 2004). Pas swept the Malay vote but got less non-Malay vote. Today, Pas will retain malay vote and obtain non-Malay vote. That 14 votes for Umno will be 1,400 votes for Pas victory KT style.
    11. Bukit Chandaran in Kuala Kangsar. Umno won by 1,600 votes (close to 6,000 in 2004). With Rafidah Aziz on her way out (she won by 1,000 unlike 5,600 in 2004), Umno will lose here.

12. Manong in K. Kangsar. Umno won by 749 (2,353 in 2004). Pas will sweep Malay vote and get non-Malay vote as well while PKR can obtain its one ADUN here.
    13. Manjoi in Tampun. Umno won by 348 votes. Yet in 2004, it was close to 8,000 majority.

14. Lintang in Sungai Siput. Umno won by 1,376 (5,389 in 2004). PKR controls Parliament while DAP has the other DUN by a big margin.

15. Chenderoh in Padang Rengas of Nazri bloody racist Aziz. Umno won by 1,749 votes (4,771 in 2004). Note that Nazri survived by a whisker yet had a big win in 2004. Umno is losing further and further.The other DUN won captured by Pas ousting Umno.

16. Kamuting in Taiping. Umno won by 555 votes (4,571 in 2004). DAP has the Parliament seat here and Pas will cash on that apart from ISA is haram votes. Kamuting Prison is here.

17. Trong in Bukit Gantang (Pas captured the MP). Umno won by 916 votes (3,020 in 2004). It has a decent 30% non-Malay vote. PAS will win here.
    18. Alor Bongus in Bagan Serai. (PKR Malay candidate outsted UMNO MP here). Umno won the DUN by 95 votes (3,416 in 2004). PKR to easily capture the DUN
    19. Selama in Larut. Umno won by 355 votes (2,053 votes in 2004).

20. Kubu Gajah in Larut. Umno won by 66 votes (1,403 in 2004).

42. #42 by raven77 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 6:51 pm

Najib is basically saying, I am the law. Now all you goons and Altantunya lovers can do what you want. The message is loud and clear….how you gonna trap this wild creature. Brains or brawn…..

43. #43 by Thomas Lee on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:09 pm

I proposed that the DAP and other the Pakatan Rakyat parties adopt this sworn declaration for elected representative:

This document acknowledges and confirms that I, _____________________________________,
    MyKad No: __________________,
    hereby declares under oath that:

1. I am a candidate selected and nominated by the Demoncratic Action PartY (DAP) to stand for the general election / by-election on ________________ for the parliamentary / state constiuency of _______________,

2. I am at all time merely standing for the said general election / by-election as an official representatitive of the DAP and am not representing my own individual person.

3. I am therefore required and obligated to vacate the said parliamentary / state seat I won at the said general election / by-election as an official representative of the DAP to vacate and resign as the Member of Parliament or State Assemblyman if I resign or has been sacked as a member of the DAP.

4. This declaration under oath is made by me voluntarily, without any pressure or force from anyone, in the presence of three witnesses, namely

(a)____________________________
    (MyKad No: ____________),

(b)____________________________

and

(c)____________________________
    (MyKad No: ____________).

5. This declaration under oath constitutes my own personal legal action and obligation as a person with self-respect, honesty, credibility, accountability and integrity, and I will, at all times and under all circumstances, including in a court of law, affirm it without reservation as my free and true conviction.

6. This declaration under oath is duely attested, confirmed,and ratified by my own personal signature and thumbprint to be the true and final testament of my status as merely an official elected representative of the DAP and that I will be legally obilgated, without doubts or questions, to vacate my elected position the moment I cease to be a member in benefit of the DAP.

7. If I ever violate the terms and conditions stated in this sworn declaration, which I accepted and signed without force or pressure, I shall be liable to pay a sum of RM2,000,000 (two million ringgit) to the DAP.

Signed on this day of _________________

and accompanied by my thumbprint

in the prescene of:

Witnesss 1: _____________________(MyKad No:_________)

Witnesss 2: _____________________(MyKad No:_________)

Witnesss 3: _____________________(MyKad No:_________)

================================

44. #44 by Thomas Lee on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:25 pm

CORRECTED VERSION:

I proposed that the DAP and other the Pakatan Rakyat parties adopt this sworn declaration for an elected representative:

This document acknowledges and confirms that
    I, _____________________________________,
    MyKad No: __________________,
    hereby declares under oath that:

1. I am a candidate selected and nominated by the Demoncratic Action PartY (DAP) to stand for the general election / by-election on ______________ for the parliamentary / state constiuency of _______________,

2. I am at all time merely standing for the said
    general election / by-election as an official
    representatitive of the DAP and am not representing my own individual person.

3. I am therefore required and obligated to vacate the said parliamentary / state seat I won at the said general election / by-election as an official
    representative of the DAP if I resign or has been
    sacked as a member of the DAP.

4. This declaration under oath is made by me
    voluntarily, without any pressure or force from anyone, in the presence of three witnesses, namely:

(a)____________________________

(b)____________________________

and

(c)____________________________
    (MyKad No: ____________).

5. This declaration under oath constitutes my own
    personal legal action and obligation as a person with self-respect, honesty, credibility, accountability and integrity, and I will, at all times and under all circumstances, including in a court of law, affirm it without reservation as my free and true conviction.

6. This declaration under oath is duely attested,
    confirmed,and ratified by my own personal signature and thumbprint to be the true and final testament of my status as merely an official elected representative of the DAP and that I will be legally obilgated, without doubts or questions, to vacate my elected position the moment I cease to be a member in benefit of the DAP.

7. If I ever violate the terms and conditions stated in this sworn declaration, which I accepted and signed without force or pressure, I shall be liable to pay a sum of RM2,000,000 (two million ringgit) to the DAP.

Signed on this day of _________________

and accompanied by my thumbprint

in the prescene of:

Witnesss 1: _____________________
    (MyKad No:_________)

Witnesss 2: _____________________

Witnesss 3: _____________________

================================

45. #45 by ch on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:26 pm

Dear All,
    my view is that politicians in Malaysia now are too embroiled into their own survival than the longer term view of the economy ramifications the country would endure brought about by the global financial melt down. Further to this problem of financial melt down, Malaysia would face a precarious situation of increase in crime index, poorer lifestyle vis-a-vis boom time and perhaps people struggling to think of how placing food on the table for their family. These are real hard-pressed situation and I am rather amazed as to how ruling government members and opposition alike are still thinking as to how confronting each other to hang on to power. This is incredulous to say the very least! Politicians getting busy telephoning or smsing each other as to their latest allegiances. This goes to prove that politicians are at the end of the day interested for themselves and it is resolute ignorant for one to think if they are fighting for your rights! Let’s get real! In today’s society, unless you choose to lead a life of solitude and in seclusion, it is inevitable that either one tries to manipulate the thinking of others or one gets manipulated by others. Your thoughts and and your views on events are manipulated or influenced by events that you have seen or experienced by yourself, or have been tought by your parents, your peers or in schools. Similarly, I strongly believe that Malaysia will eventually face the vagaries of the global financial melt-down as much as the ruling government may try to believe. My personal take is that Malaysia will have to embrace with the inenvitable ie. to embrace meritrocracy and cut off the current approach along racial line. How long can you stop the rain from falling or better still, can you stop the rain from falling? Even in the most arid land of Africa, rain will eventually fall one day. It could be one month, one year or even 10 years late, but it would eventually rain. Are we as Malaysian, whether ruling government or otherwise ready to such eventuality? We are probably not, given the current situation whereby everybody are just interested as to clinging to power! Sad but the truth is we are only interested in power!. If i may, I think the Malaysian government under Dr. M has chosen the easy and logical path then, capatilizing on the needs and desires of both the major and the minor races of the time. What we are looking at are the after-affects of those short-term actions. Did the government at that time think through the eventualities of those measures? Were their assumptions too idealistic or unrealistic then? Or did they do a proper “cause and effect” analysis then? The Japanese are extremely good at this. But then again, Dr. m with his famous look east policy have consulted the Japs on this? Or perhaps he did but choose to ignore in favour of his self interest? All things considered, Malaysia is a no doubt a good place to live for a long long time to come. But then again, for this to happen the government of the day cannot broad-brush the various social issues that are crooping up today by saying they are irrelevant or temporary. Some may say that Dr. M had managed the country with a strong hand but one can argue that he had actually mis-managed by not putting in place systems that stand the test of time. He did not implace ior implement some of the less popular but perhaps necessary policies like a time table for the eventual dismantling of policies which are race-based. Baceause society which are in favour of segregration or divide is not durable. As correctly pointed out people will look out for scapegoat(s) to vent their anger. Malaysia has always be on the populist line i.e. to favour other over others in order to popularize. But the question is now whether this would be the right thing to do going forward.

My take is that politicians are now living for their own survival. Has anyone got a counter policy to spring board Malaysia out of this financial quagmire? Or has anyone be them from ruling government or ooposition has a policy apart from the double RM7 billion stimulus programme that would place Malaysia higher above board? As YB Kit Siang has correctly pointed out that the stimulus programmes could be for the good of BN politicians but has he or have us got something better on alternative. If yes, please table them to save Malaysia as we are living to fight for our own political survival rather that the longer term view of the country.

46. #46 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:30 pm

It is so blatantly clear that EC has acted like an extended arm of UMNO that they can even take the law (the legality of the letters) into their own hand (bulldozer) and made judgement against PR & declared no by election.

As espected this EC is holiding their stand
    http://malaysiakini.com/news/97517
    which makes PR’s 48 hours ultimatum look like a joke. Honestly do you really think with the backing of “you know who” this EC will back down to change their position??? PR’s time is better spent on other options and QUICK!

47. #47 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:40 pm

EC is now inviting PR Perak Government to contest their decision to buy time. If PR falls for it, this will give BN a lot of time to get in the 3rd frog to change Perak state government. More importantly this will not cause dalay or adverse impact in change of PM in March or April.

48. #48 by negarawan on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:53 pm

Nothing surprising. The EC has all the time been a puppet and running dog of UMNO. Anwar has opened up a can of worms for PR by accepting Bota’s defection. Now PR is playing into the devil’s hands. Good luck!

49. #49 by govinda on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:57 pm

I think the Perak government should dissolve the state assembly as soon as possible.
    Let the Perakians show who are the boss.
    Either rakyat or UMNO.
    Let the Perakians to represent all Malaysians to give no confidence vote to DPM Najib.
    Malaysia no need Najib to fulfill the RAHMAN prophesy.
    We Perak has so many candidates.
    Nazrin;Nizar;Ngeh
    Anyone of them will perform much better than Najib

50. #50 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:58 pm

Interesting to read all the suggestions of ‘voluntary’ statements that people will be obliged to sign in return for access to politics. Truly Malaysia. If those documents are intended to supplement, replace or circumvent some law, then what value do they really have? Would an undated resignation letter held by your employer as a condition of employment really be legally binding? Reason tells me not – either you can be sacked, or you can’t. If you can, no need for the letter. If you can’t legally sack an employee on a whim, it’s another example of ‘licence to break the law’ – what kind of law would be so easy to defeat?

I’m still wondering why Malaysians think these undated resignation letters are a good idea – they appear to me to be the product of a weak mind. Perhaps the problem is that there’s no clear superiority in the legal machinery, and no clear direction in the laws applicable to elected persons. A resignation letter is a tangible asset to wave at your opponents in the Malaysian political game of ‘tangible asset waving’.

I hope PR can produce a positive outcome from this mess. My worry is that their tangible assets won’t be as great when it comes to the waving game, and Malaysians with a keen eye for girth and gloss will be distracted into supporting the same old faces again. I still think PR need to do a much better job of shoring up the moral high ground and building something tangible (even if it is a public relations exercise) on top of it. I don’t see it happening yet.

1 2 3 4

Comments are closed.