Is it a RM7 billion national economic stimulus package to held tide the country through the global economic crisis or is it a RM7 billion Barisan Nasional economic stimulus package to tide the Barisan Nasional through the political tsunami triggered by the March 8 general election last year?
This is the question Malaysians pose when they read of the response of the Umno leadership to the defection of former Umno Bota Perak state assemblyman Datuk Nasarudin Hashim to PKR, followed by the disbandment of eight Umno branches in Bota.
This is the Star report “Bota branches follow Nasarudinn to PKR”:
Acting Perak Umno liaison committee deputy chairman Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi said the development should not be a setback for Umno.
He said Parit Umno division deputy chief Yusof Nordin would now coordinate the delivery of services to Bota residents.
“It is only temporary. I hope the (leaders of the) eight branches are prepared to pay the price of their actions,” Ahmad Zahid told reporters at a Mesra Rakyat programme near here yesterday.
Ahmad Zahid, who is Perak Federal Action Council chairman, assured state Barisan Nasional assemblymen that they would receive the RM300,000 in federal allocation for their constituencies following complaints that some had not receive part of the RM1.6bil allocation for Perak under the 9th Malaysia Plan.
“I guarantee that the money will be distributed equally even if the assemblyman is not an Umno division chief,” he said.
Ahmad Zahid said each state constituency under Barisan would receive RM1mil under the RM7bil stimulus package.
Neither Parliament nor the nation was ever informed that the RM7 billion economic stimulus package would be used to prop up the Barisan Nasional, with “each state constituency under Barisan would receive RM1 mil under the RM7 bil stimulus package”.
This translates to RM307 million for the 307 Barisan Nasional state assembly constituencies while the 196 State assembly seats won by the Pakatan Rakyat are denied the million-ringgit provision under the economic stimulus package.
This is another blatant example of the Barisan Nasional government treating public funds as if they are party funds completely in disregard of the principles of justice, fair play and good governance.
What about parliamentary constituencies? How much is allocated to the Barisan Nasional parliamentary constituencies from the RM7 billion economic stimulus package which is denied to the Pakatan Rakyat parliamentarians?
It is such cynical abuse of power which had institutionalised money politics and political corruption in Malaysia, providing the latest body blow to public confidence in the independence, autonomy and professionalism of the month-old Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC).
Is the MACC going to end up as another Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) – as a toothless tiger totally incapable of rooting out the culture and mindset of corruption which is steeped so deeply in Barisan Nasional governance, whether at the national or state level or at best capable of acting only at the behest of the powers-that-be against political foes whether outside Barisan Nasional or even in Umno?

#1 by Jeffrey on Monday, 2 February 2009 - 10:38 pm
What I mean is I don’t want to make a Sodomite out of you, Godfather (not that I’ve got anything against a sodomite anyway). However, why should I claim credit for what you have done yourself? :)
#2 by Jeffrey on Monday, 2 February 2009 - 10:45 pm
Sorry, I’ve removed/withdrawn “monkey” : it is inappropriate; it is not known that simian primates engage in homosexual activities.
#3 by dapsupporter8888 on Monday, 2 February 2009 - 10:48 pm
This whole development in Perak, I feel, is really like a joke from a movie.
Why I say so? Ok, first thing first. That stupid ex MB of Perak has claimed right from the very beginning that PR state govt in Perak will tumble on Aug 31 2008. Unfortunately, it didn’t.
Then, it followed with the 2 PR state assemblymen being charged for corruption. I am not sure whether they were really corrupted. If they really isn’t corrupted, then why scared? Why must you defect to BN? If you are innocent, be brave and face the charges. Few months back, I believed strongly that the duo had fallen into UMNO’s political trap and I believed then that maybe, just maybe, they are really innocent. Well, looking at the current situation now, i.e. of them likely defecting to UMNO, I now believe that they are indeed truly corrupted. Maybe they did genuinely accepted whatever bribes that were offered to them. Their credibility has gone deep down the drain.
And why wait till now, ONLY NOW that they decided to defect to UMNO, knowing very well that their up-coming trial is scheduled on Feb 10? Doesn’t that tell you that something fishy is going on? And why you have to “disappear” for 5 days without answering anybody’s call? And why the two same assemblymen charged with corruption had to go on “medical leave” at the same time, same day? Is it such a coincidence that they had to fall sick at the same time? And I read in the news somewhere that one of them is in Pahang for some back massage? Why Pahang? Such coincidence? Pekan, maybe? Does that ring a bell?
Every time I read and think about what’s going on in Perak, my blood will boil 100 degrees. I just hate the political scenario there, and especially hate BN more and more.
#4 by dawsheng on Monday, 2 February 2009 - 11:10 pm
“I think Pakatan still need to prove themselves worthy of such responsibility of handling huge amounts of money. If there is one thing that has shown up BN, is their waste and mismanagement of state funds, we do not want twice the wastage and twice the mismanagement from Pakatan’s side now.”
You kidding me? Pakatan Rakyat is strong today because BN government is corrupt to the core. Are you ready Najib?
#5 by Godfather on Monday, 2 February 2009 - 11:19 pm
I hereby withdraw the term “Crapshooter” in reference to our lawyer friend. He has now done six continuous posts of four lines or less ! No more ten para, foot long postings…..and while you are at it, Jeffrey, make sure you make the sentences shorter for our better understanding. English isn’t our first language.
#6 by Godfather on Monday, 2 February 2009 - 11:22 pm
However, I reserve the right to reinstate this most appropriate term if he starts crapshooting again in his pathological desire to show off.
#7 by shamshul anuar on Monday, 2 February 2009 - 11:43 pm
Dear dapsupporter888,
If Tajol is “stupid”, what can you say about Anwar who proclaimed to the world that BN will collapse by Sept 16, 2008?
A hallmark of credibility is using one yardstick for all, not selected few. If UMNO says nothing when its Supreme Council member charged for corruption, why accuse Tajol of masterminding te charge againtst the 2 state assemblymen in Perak. Why cant you say leave it to the law of the land.
If UMNO does not interfere in charge several Ketua Bahagian leader for alleged corruption, why not Nizar has the same courage( if he has one) to state that he will respect due course of law. After all, he won the coveted seat due to due process of law.
As for the duo taking medical leave, well go and ask them. Simply because they took medical leave, does not mean that they were bribed.
The moral of the story is that PR must not preach others about ethics if it refuses to play with the same rule. Stop complaining about assemblymen be bribed if they join BN as PR also enticed ADUN Bota.
And who can forget how Anwar got the coveted DPM post . Money clouded judgement. And as late Tun Ghafar refused to lower himself by involving in corruption, he was ousted. In Sabah, he received only 1 nomination, prompting a Ketua Bahagian in Sabah, while shedding tears, reminding the members that corruption will destroy the nation.
As for nepotism, lo and behold. I admire DAP members for ability to give scathing remark on Uncle Lim but maintains hipocratic face before the Emperor. Oh how Penang DAP Chairman was humiliated by not awarded the post of Ketua Menteri. As everybody knows, whaatever happens in DAP, the Crown Prince got the job, imported from other state. Talk about nepotism.
#8 by OrangRojak on Monday, 2 February 2009 - 11:50 pm
it is not known that simian primates engage in homosexual activities.
Bonobos and chimpanzees both love a bit of it, if my reading serves me well. I’ve a feeling that a zoologist would take the position that a complete absence of homosexuality in a species is not natural. I tell my wife this whenever she claims homosexuality is “not natural”, as she did at Iceland claiming another “world’s first X” prime minister this week.
I hope that’s helpful.
#9 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 12:53 am
The query by OrangRojak about “undated resignation letters” holds the key to many strategic questions, flowing from the 1st one : are they effective or not effective and their implications.
Situation A : If resignations of Mohd Osman Jailu and Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi were effective, it implies PR’s loss of 2 state assemblymen does not translate to BN’s gain of 2 assemblymen via crossovers. This is because of operation of Article 48(6) of the Federal constitution disqualifying a resigning MP for 5 years, which means they cannot join BN as MP! This means (arithmetically) PR will still have a majority of 30 to 27 (ie 3) in state assembly, slightly worse off compared to a majority of 32 to 27 (by 5) before the resignations.
Situation B: If resignations were not effective/valid, defections by Mohd Osman Jailu and Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi would still imply PR’s loss of 2 state assemblymen (resulting in remaining 30): however by reason that Article 48(6) of the Federal constitution disqualifying a resigning MP for 5 years does not apply in this case, the crossover will result in BN’s existing 27 assemblymen being added another 2, making total 29 – just 1 short of PR’s 30! With such a razor thin of 1 it means that if another defection (say for example) by DAP’s Hee Yit Foong were to occur, BN will have the majority in state assembly to pass no confidence motion on Nizar and take over MB’s position as well!
The trouble is the resignations are, in my view, likelier to be not effective/valid as in Situation B above delineated, which spells great trouble for PR because this would mean PR’s majority becomes unstable, and the state govt could be overthrown.
Reasons why I say they are not effective are as follows:
Normally an undated signed resignation letter would be effective. Duress is crap! Why would sign something and give to someone else to hold unless you intend that latter custodian to be sole arbiter of when to submit the resignation to the speaker to make it effective? PR assemblymen knew all along why they signed those letters. They are to prevent defections after winning via PR’s ticket. And they freely gave those letters and these letters ought in ordinary circumstances to be normally/contractually binding on them and fully effective BUT for one important excepting fact: ie such letters or any form of agreement preventing defections have been determined by the Federal Court in 2002 to be contrary to Freedom of Association guaranteed by article 10 of the same Constitution and to the extent of the conflict, the lesser letter/agreement will be struck down as void for being inconsistent against the constitution. If resignations were struck down as contrary to Freedom of Association, it means they have not resigned as assemblymen for the 5 year bar of article 48(6) to kick in, and that means they can cross the floor to be BN’s assembly men…..
I hope I am wrong – I stand corrected if I were so – but if I were right in all of the above, it will mean that what I suggested in my earlier posting at 21:02.38 above – that Nizar uses PR majority now to dissolve the state assembly to pave way for fresh state elections through out Perak – will also be correct….. It also means Ngeh Koo Ham’s suggestion that PR led Perak state government would not dissolve the state legislative assembly to seek a new mandate as it was still stable is not correct – and PR statement govt is in dire danger of being overthrown.
#10 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 1:00 am
Sorry typo error in last sentence – “….and PR STATE govt is in dire danger of being overthrown…”
#11 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 1:19 am
YB Kit : Ask yourself why Mohd Osman Jailu and Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi [as reported in Malaysiakini Feb 2, 09 4:28pm ] keep on maintaining that they both have NOT stepped down as state representatives (even though the plain facts are that they are defecting at least from PKR)?
My answer is that they are trying to avoid operation of Article 48(6) of the Federal constitution that will bar them from being a state assembly men for 5 years. It is to ensure that as assemblymen they could still cross the floor in the Perak state assembly at the opportune time of another defection to throw a motion of no confidence on Nizar as MB, and take over the state government.
In the aftermath the prerogative to dissolve the state assembly will vest solely with the BN Perak state govt no matter how slim the majority of 1. It will not exercise that prerogative. It will not face Perakians.
PR on the other hand could face Perakians with alacrity & confidence. PR could get a bigger majority of even more than 10 that poaching from the other side will not disrupt!
This is a big advantage – the right/prerogative as majority in Perak state assembly at this moment to call for dissolution of state assembly to face the people in a fresh state election of 59 constituencies that in best circumstances PR could in combination maybe win more than 40???
Instead you guys are worried about campaign finances and prefer to go along with 2 by elections.
You mean if PR is confident about 2 by elections you guys are not confident about 59 of such elections in the state to bet for a wider margin?
Anything can happen before the polls on that 2 by elections: situation B can happen before then – and then what then? :)
#12 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 1:51 am
YB,
According to Malaysiakini report filed by Kuek Ser Kuang Keng | Feb 2, 09 5:25pm, Perak DAP chairperson Ngeh Koo Ham said that “the undated resignation letters signed by Perak PKR’s Jamaluddin Mat Radzi (Behrang) and Mohd Osman Jailu (Changkat Jering) are valid…
“The letters are valid and have been signed by them, unless they now say these are forgeries … but when you sign something, you (should) know what it is all about,” he said.
Ngeh (left) explained that the date of the letter or the absence of a date is not relevant as the law takes into account the signatory’s intention. The resignation of the duo is now a fact, he claimed, because the speaker accepted the letters this morning and has informed the Election Committee of the vacated seats.
Ngeh was dismissive of the claim that the letters were signed under duress, pointing out: “They are not little kids, they are not of feeble mind … you are bound by the contents of anything you sign, unless you are totally ignorant of the contents.”
This is not an issue of dates, duress forgeries of these letters etc.
The issue is whether their effect inevitably invoking the 5 year bar under Article 48(6) of the Federal constitution will infringe the defecting duo’s right to Freedom of Association.
You cannot deny that the intent of such undated letters is to prevent defection after winning under PR’s ticket. They fly straight in the face of Freedom of Association under article 10 (1)(c) which is what the Supreme Court in 1992 decided in Dewan Undangan Negeri Kelantan & Another v Nordin Salleh & Another).
Ngeh Koo Ham is a lawyer by profession : he ought to know about this case and its implications that would negative the letters of resignation. No point of him talking about dates, duress forgeries, these are not the issues that will negative these letters.
#13 by monsterball on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 1:51 am
Yip! Jeffery is a braggart and pro MCA.
He thinks he knows everything….quoting this and that…and fire off..judging others….as if he is so dam smart..and one who knows all.
Will he declare..he will vote for change of government?
I doubt.
Yes…I complimented him…for being a professional….but some balls carriers are professional too.
I think Godfather is ready for all his stray bullets…and full of shit comments.
#14 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:55 am
Jeffrey is so keen to persuade YB Kit to get Perak MB to dissolve the State Assembly and go for another state election. However, Perak MB does not practically have the final say in dissolving the State Assembly since the State Constitution requires the consent of Perak Sultan before the State Assembly can be dissolved.
Before the Sultan of Perak agrees to sign the dissolution of the State Assembly, His Highness may consult the Opposition Leader (namely Tajol Rosli) on whether the Opposition will have simple majority to form a state government. During the transition period, Najib can just spend a huge sum of money in order to get a third defector from PR. The risk is definitely high for Perak MB to make a request for dissolution of State Assembly at this turbulent juncture.
Even though the risk is high, the ultimate gain can also be high. However, in order to do a thorough analysis, one may have to take the following three possible outcomes into consideration:
1. High Risk, High Return.
2. High Risk, Low Return.
3. High Risk, High Loss.
Perhaps we may need Professor Lee Wang Yen to contribute his skills in probablistic calculation in order to do a much better analysis on the expected value of each possible outcomes before Perak MB has made a decision on whether to ask for dissolution of the State Assembly.
#15 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:12 am
In response to Onlooker Politics’s comments:
· State Constitution’s requirement of Perak Sultan’s consent is I presume a formality when request made by MB still with majority, just like at Federal level PM commanding majority in parliament could request Agong to dissolve parliament for GE at PM’s timing.
· Consulting Opposition Leader (namely Tajol Rosli)? He’s demoralised (blamed by Puterajaya). According to Utusan Malaysia, Tajol Rosli masih terkejut dan bersedih hingga enggan menemui mana-mana pihak bagi mententeramkan perasaannya….Tajol Rosli kunci pintu dan menangis…”
According to Malaysiakini’s take, Feb 2, 09 2:50pm – (Quote)“With Pakatan’s 32 against BN’s 27, the BN opposition needs at least three defections, and so far they got two. With one seat short, it would not be able to convince the Perak sultan to transfer power without having to dissolve the state assembly and fight another bruising election. The game plan is for Jamaluddin Mat Radzi (Behrang) (photo, left) and Osman Jailu (Changkat Jering) (photo, right) – the two defectors – to quit PKR and declare themselves as Independents. This will allow BN to claim that the two assemblypersons are not party-hoppers, especially after having taken the high moral ground on the issue of defection. More so, when the duos are being seen as tainted politicians – both of whom are facing corruption charges in court. Clearly, the prime minister-in-waiting needs to go to the March Umno general assembly with something in his hands or he would have a hard time getting the party behind him for the tough battle ahead. That ‘gift’ he hopes to bring with him is Perak”. (Unquote)
PR’s current strategy : (Quote) “But Pakatan is seeking to turn the tables on Najib by declaring the two seats belonging to the defectors vacant, and thus force the Election Commission to call by-elections for both constituencies. The by-elections, pending any legal complications arising out of the validity of the two ‘resignation’ letters from the duo, must now be held within 60 days. Whether the letters can hold up to scrutiny as it was signed soon after the March 8 general election, Pakatan has succeeded in forcing the two ‘missing’ politicians to break their five-day silence by making their ‘resignation’ public. Pakatan has edge in snap polls. Should there be indeed by-elections for the two seats, the numbers are stacked against BN. Clearly, the last thing Najib wants is to fight two more by-elections, having tasted bitter defeat in Permatang Pauh and Kuala Terengganu. His only other choice is find another defector. Yet Pakatan is not sitting still for Najib to strike. The state government is also seeking defections from BN in this tit-for-tat battle. And if push comes to shove, Pakatan can always exercise its final option – dissolve the state assembly and call a snap election in Perak. That too would be the last thing Najib wants.”(Unquote) (My sense is that the letters of resignation will run into legal problems and be invalid).
Well maybe someone should, as you say, do thorough analysis, one may have to take the following three possible outcomes into consideration:
1. High Risk, High Return.
2. High Risk, Low Return.
3. High Risk, High Loss.
It won’t be Professor Lee Wang Yen: You’d recall he has been “chased” away by abuses/name calling, and said he won’t be coming back’.
#16 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:34 am
The key lies in what malaysiakini said, that “…if push comes to shove, Pakatan can always exercise its final option – dissolve the state assembly and call a snap election in Perak…”.
This is just an assumption – that PR still has the option. It is questionable. Do the arithmetics: if letters of resignations of Jamaluddin Mat Radzi and Mohd Osman Jailu are quickly declared by court as invalid, and another 1 or 2 additional defections from PR are successfully procured in the meanwhile, will PR not lose that majority in Perak Assembly, and with that happening, where is the option that Nijar/PR is supposed to have to dissolve state assembly if push comes to shove? Here timing is everything.
#17 by sotong on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 8:00 am
Economy stimulus will be concentrated on construction……..this is where huge amounts of money will be spent on projects with no/little benefit to the ordinary people in term of utility but significant benefit to a few.
#18 by Godfather on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 9:25 am
Stop talking nonsense, counselor. If the undated resignations are found by a court to be invalid, then all that PR should do is to call for snap elections. Why bother to wait for another defection to take place when we all know that BN has a bottomless money pit to procure another seat.
Furthermore, if pre-signed resignation letters are invalid, then every PR representative in Bolehland will be subject to monetary temptation, and then all we will have left will be the principled ones which money can’t buy. This scenario isn’t necessarily bad for us.
#19 by Godfather on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 9:29 am
“….This is just an assumption.” If the letters of resignation are found to be defective is an assumption. If 1 or 2 additional defections from PR are procured is just an assumption. If other BN reps cross over to PR is also an assumption. To assume is to make an ass of u n me.
#20 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 10:11 am
“· State Constitution’s requirement of Perak Sultan’s consent is I presume a formality when request made by MB still with majority, just like at Federal level PM commanding majority in parliament could request Agong to dissolve parliament for GE at PM’s timing.” (Jeffrey)
Jeffrey’s presumption that “State Constitution’s requirement of Perak Sultan’s consent is a formality” may or may not be true, all depending on the outcome of the interactive forces juggling between the personal integrity of the ruler himself and the political will of the ruler to assert the so-called “Daulat Tuanku” Supremacy.
For instance, Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had the intent to replace Abdul Ghani Othman with Khalid Nordin as the Menteri Besar of Johor right before the 2004 General Election. However, due to Johor Sultan’s intervention the lame duck PM had to change his mind and succumb to the will of Johor Sultan. Why should the Sultan change his Menteri Besar when the Menteri Besar was so kind and obedient to approve 10,000 acres virgin jungle lands to the Royal Family as personal property? What can the lame duck PM do to counterveil the Sultan’s adverse decision when there is no constitutional amendment in the State Constitution which allows overrule of Sultan’s refusal to sign legal documents or to sign bill into law by way of second passing with two thirds majority votes in the State Assembly?
I personally do not know Perak Sultan well. However, I do sincerely hope that His Highness can really be fair and impartial when sitting at the throne of highly respectable state ruler.
#21 by k1980 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 10:23 am
Why wasn’t Pairin Kitingan allowed by the EC to call for fresh elections when almost all of his state assemblymen jumped ship from PBS to BN?
#22 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:08 am
It is EC chairperson Abdul Aziz that imediately decides on various aspects including the legal issues of the letters of resignation. It is EC that imediately decides whether to allow by elections based on the letters of resignation being valid and taking effect.
The die hard supporters of PR like Godfather think that I am talking nonsense and that if the undated resignations are found by a court to be invalid, then all that PR should do (then) is to call for snap elections, implying that there is alot of time to yet call a snap election.
OK, then, BN, will take the following course:
· No need to wait for court adjudication, EC immediately declares letters of resignation not valid for contravening article 10(1)(c) Federal Constitution on Freedom of Association based on Federal Court authority1992 of Dewan Undangan Negeri Kelantan & Another v Nordin Salleh & Another), and therefore EC decides that there is no need for the 2 by elections;
· Mohd Osman Jailu and Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi, retaining their seats assemblymen but not allegiance to PKR, will immediately declare they are independent, so that there are 30 PKR state assembly councillors (including Bota’s Nasharudin) , 27 BN’s state assembly councillors, independent 2 (Mohd Osman Jailu and Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi) and all BN’s need is 1 more defection from (say) Hee to the independent side, reducing no. of PR state assembly councillors from 30 to 29 .
· BN should then, with 27 members + 3 independents (total 30) – which is 1 more than PR’s 29 state assembly councillors – immediately pass a motion of no confidence on Nizar and PR state Govt for not commanding majority in Perak State Assembly and request the Ruler to instal the BN as state govt with BN nominee as MB since the independent 3 will be crossing over to BN.
#23 by Godfather on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:20 am
Jeffrey:
is the EC the final arbiter of the validity of a document ? This will have to be decided by the courts and even on an expedited basis how long will the courts take to decide based on appeals and counter-appeals ? Months ? furthermore, even if BN goes to the Sultan and declare that it has a majority of one and that it should be allowed to form the next state government, the Sultan can still disagree and instead declare that fresh elections are needed. Irrespective of whether the Sultan has this right, do you think BN will go against the Sultan’s wishes ?
Yes, we have time, and BN is going to blink on this one.
#24 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:38 am
Onlooker Politics, it is “formality’ in sense that ours is a constitutional monarchy based on numbers, whether Parliament or State Assembly, that will determine outcome. The vote of confidence I was talking about in precedent post – and change of MB following successful majority vote of no confidence – is by convention that is normally adhered.
Having said that, I agree that if anything were to save the day for PR, it will be as what you said about “interactive forces juggling between the personal integrity of the ruler himself and the political will of the ruler to assert the so-called “Daulat Tuanku” Supremacy.”
It depends on whether the HRH Ruler will allow, if Nizar/PR desperately asks for an immediate snap Perak state election of 59 constitutencies once EC decides (this evening, I think) that Mohd Osman Jailu and Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi’s letters of resignation are invalid/unlawful/unconstitutional, thus paving the way for BN to immediately take over the government in manner as described in my above posting at 11: 08.08 above.
#25 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:44 am
“BN should then, with 27 members + 3 independents (total 30) – which is 1 more than PR’s 29 state assembly councillors – immediately pass a motion of no confidence on Nizar and PR state Govt for not commanding majority in Perak State Assembly” (Jeffrey)
Jeffrey has purportedly ignored the fact that table of a motion in the State Assembly will require the approval by the Assembly Speaker, who is now being chaired by a member of PR. There is no such thing as “immediately pass a motion of no confidence” unless it is done in accordance with the due process of assembly proceedings in the State Assembly. And the due process usually takes time to accomplish by the Malaysian ethical code.
Godfather seems to have strong confidence in Perak Sultan on His Highness’s wish to have a snap election when BN is going to take control of a simple majority in the State Assembly. Is Godfather having a good rapport with His Highness? When is Godfather going to get a Datoship from Perak Sultan?
#26 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:46 am
Godfather, your question “is the EC the final arbiter of the validity of a document ?” yes courts are final arbiters, however that will take months and maybe longer, but meanwhile EC has to do its job, make a decsion, and that includes deciding “no” to any by-elections because the letters of resignation are invalid, and if challenged as to that decision, EC can safely say it relies on established law laid down in 1992 Apex court decision and not arbitrarily.
#27 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:51 am
Onlooker Politics, you raised the interesting point about the Assembly Speaker (posting 11: 38.44) : tell me, what do think he could do in a BN (majority) 30 against 29 (PR) situtaion when former push for motion of no confidence? Can Speaker deny the motion or delay it and what’s the consequences of such actions?
#28 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:57 am
Onlooker Politics, how long is your idea of “due process of assembly proceedings in the State Assembly. And the due process usually takes time to accomplish” that you talk about when there is already a BN (majority) 30 against 29 (PR) ? Wouldn’t that time (I don’t know how long) provide more poaching of defections and more money being poured in to BN’s favour???
#29 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 12:00 pm
Even Abdullah Ahamd Badawi had to serve notice to the Speaker of Parliament when he wished to table a motion of reprimanding Israel on its aggression towards Gaza territorities. Does Jeffrey really think that Najib can make wonder in the Assembly proceedings of the Perak State Assembly? Is Najib really above the law?
#30 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 12:05 pm
Onlooker Politics, even in Parliament, let alone Perak state Assembly they have standing orders on notice for Emergency Motion… “Is Najib really above the law?” – you tell me! :)
#31 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 12:13 pm
Jeffrey, what you need to do now for goodness’ sake is just to stop spreading the news that BN is going to procure more state seats in Perak by paying money. If the present state assemblymen of PR can be bought over so easily with material benefit, then I believe the Perak Electorates will not be hard up on the PR state government anymore.
Nevertheless, I still have faith in other State Assemblymen of PR who want to stick to the principle of untouchable by material offerings. It is logically wrong for someone to think that money can buy everything in this world, including Jeffrey’s soul!
#32 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 12:16 pm
Take note that what we are arguing here is about (1) PR’s option of snap state election as last recourse versus (2) BN’s motion of no confidence (with all “due process of assembly proceedings in the State Assembly” and emergency motion, short notice being factored in) – which beats the other faster because once (2) occurs faster than (1) there may not be any more snap state election for the time being (as BN forming state govt albeit by slim majority of 1 or 2 would not want to face Perakians voters now until it consolidates position). Time is thereof of the greatest significance. PR has only that small window of opportunity of time to decide once – and if – EC decides against it by ruling leters of resignation invalid, which will pave the way for (2) to proceed. That’s the broad picture.
#33 by Godfather on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 12:19 pm
“Is Godfather having a good rapport with His Highness? When is Godfather going to get a Datoship from Perak Sultan?” Onlooker Politics
No way I can accept a Datoship if Kit and the Chief Minister of Penang are not even Dato’s. These are the people who have struggled for many years for the rakyat, and that tells you what Datoships are really worth.
#34 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 12:22 pm
“For goodness’ sake” Onlooker Politics, it may be “logically wrong for someone to think that money can buy everything in this world” and I admirel your faith in other State Assemblymen of PR but I wonder why you think that if Mohd Osman Jailu and Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi could go ‘missing’, that there won’t be anymore amongst those remaining who will not do the houdini? Aren’t Mohd Osman Jailu and Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi from PKR/PR in first place – why draw a line at them???
#35 by NewDAP on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 12:22 pm
From 2006 to 1st half of 2008, CIMB went on shopping spree of buying banking and other assets.
At that time, everything were very expensive, most of the assets prices were very high, but CIMB bought / acquired it……
Now, most of the assets value have depreciated by more than 40%, some of the value lost more than 60%……
Based on these facts, very soon, we need to bail out CIMB again….
Wonder how much of the RM7 Billion will be reserved to bail out CIMB?
#36 by Godfather on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 12:25 pm
In the aftermath of the March 8 elections, we all agreed that the anti-BN sentiment was so strong that even if PR had put up monkeys in many constituencies, these monkeys would still win. I remember in a number of constituencies in Perak and Johor where even the DAP had to “beg” certain people to contest under their banner.
Now it is clear that some monkeys have indeed gotten through as people’s representatives. PR can’t compete against the promise of money. RM 50 million will buy many crossovers, and we all know that the MACC is simply going to turn a blind eye to clear cases of monetary inducement.
If the pre-signed letters are deemed to be invalid – through the court process as many of us don’t have much faith in the EC – then I would suggest that the ruling state governments in Selangor and Perak (and perhaps even Kedah) immediately declare snap elections and this time around be more selective in the choice of candidates.
#37 by Godfather on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 12:29 pm
I simply love by-elections because the rakyat gains from new schools, new temples, new suraus, newly paved roads, sewing machines, angpows, green packets, whatever. This is the economic stimulus that we need. It’s our money anyway, and what better way than to force the BN to spend it on our people.
#38 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 12:53 pm
Why should a pre-signed letter of resignation be unlawful? I believe a political party is like a club, you become a member based on its rules and regulations; if pre-signed resignation is a requirement then you have accepted it as conditional to become a member and have the ‘club’ putting up all the financial backing to put you on the platform.
Maybe we should have a law to prevent party hopping. this will also reduce ‘corruption’ in politics!
#39 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 1:01 pm
Godfather, you are right, it is not only those goodies you mentioned; by having a snao election for Perak, the result would be an EXCELLENT indicator for the whole nation to see which direction we are heading! BN or PR ?
If BN can regain Perak, maybe they have a little more time to change, otherwise it is an indicator for the nation that we do need a new Gomen.
The current scenario is bad for the country because we have spent too much time speculating and bickering; no time to plan how to overcome the current adverse economic situation.
#40 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 1:25 pm
As I said in posting 11: 08.08 above Malaysiakini’s breaking news (Feb 3, 09 1:01pm) is that Election Commission has (predictably) just announced that by-elections were not necessary for the state seats of Changkat Jering and Behrang as there were doubts on the resignation letters submitted by the representatives…..Ok, BN can proceed next to stage 2.
#41 by k1980 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 1:29 pm
Breaking News: Malaysia has been renamed Umnosia Darul NEP
#42 by dapsupporter8888 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 1:31 pm
Just read Malaysiakini. There’s not going to be any by election in Perak.
STUPID. I am sure Najis is behind this. If there is another by election, UMNO is confident of losing BIG. So to save face, they’d rather play dirty… Get the 2 PKR fella to be Independents before paying them off to enter UMNO. So with that, PR will fall.
Najis and gang really have no BALLZ.
#43 by rainbowseahorse on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 1:35 pm
Of course UMNO need to borrow rm7b from the EPF to bail themselves out of their political crisis.
#44 by k1980 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 1:40 pm
umno on the way out?
KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 2 (Reuters) – Fitch Ratings lowered Malaysia’s local currency rating outlook to negative from stable, blaming its high fiscal deficit and public debt and on expectations its fiscal position would worsen this year and next.
Fitch said economic growth would decelerate to 1.5 percent in 2009 from an expected 5.5 percent in 2008.
#45 by Kelvenho on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:23 pm
It is totally disgusting for BN to give tax payers monies to only BN
assemblymen. It is corruption. I believe the best solution for Perak, is to have a fresh mandate.
#46 by Godfather on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:39 pm
Why would Najib want to be tested on BN’s popularity as he is less than 2 months away from being confirmed as the next PM ? His objective is to maintain the status quo until after the UMNO general assembly. we should go for snap elections NOW.
#47 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:11 pm
“Why would Najib want to be tested on BN’s popularity as he is less than 2 months away from being confirmed as the next PM ?” (Godfather)
Najib’s objective is NOT to maintain the status quo. He wants a breakthrough in his personal performance before Umno party election in March 2009 because he has been underperforming as the designated PM for the past few months.
Najib’s faction is facing a tough rivalry with Muhyiddin Yassin’s faction in the coming soon party election. It is said by many in Umno that Najib has played out Muhyiddin Yassin after getting AAB to promise the step down from the premiership in March 2009. The Deputy President Candidate who has quietly received the blessing from Najib now is a puppet of Rahim Thamby Chik, Mohd Ali Rustam (present CM of Melaka). Since Najib’s present political image has been tarnished by his defeat twice in the by-elections, he will surely need to struggle hard in order to improve his report card before the date of the Party General Assembly. His political secretary also finds it very difficult to get point for writing something good about Najib if he cannot perform in Perak within one month’s period.
Therefore, there is no good reason for Najib to maintain the status quo until the Umno General Assembly. PR leaders must get ready to ride a roller coaster for month to come.
#48 by Loh on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:48 pm
///such letters or any form of agreement preventing defections have been determined by the Federal Court in 2002 to be contrary to Freedom of Association guaranteed by article 10 of the same Constitution and to the extent of the conflict, the lesser letter/agreement will be struck down as void for being inconsistent against the constitution.///– Jeffrey
The Federal Court decision is binding in law but not necessary binding in logic. The letter of resignation simply says that the person is no longer a member of state assembly or parliament, but it did not say that the person is not allowed to defect to another political party, or to be independent of any party. Sure, when the resignation letter becomes effective the value of the person who affixed his signature to the letter would be reduced to the party soliciting hopping. But that does not mean that the defector has lost his right to do so; his right of free association is intact, though he could be quite valueless without the elected post. Article 10 can guarantee a person’s right to defection, but it does not facilitate the defection made possible by having won a seat to the state assembly or parliament.
The Election Commission considered the two letter of resignation doubtful, and decided that there would not be by-elections in Perak. It is the duty of the EC is to organize free and fair election. The EC would have to act at the request of the government; and the Speaker of the Perak State Assembly represents the state government in matters concerning by-election. The EC cannot decide whether or not the vacancies exist in Perak State Assembly since the authority on the issue is the speaker. The EC has taken upon itself to decide on matter beyond its authority. Is it because it acts in the interest of BN, and has no fear to err?
#49 by onlinejb on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 6:58 pm
The is no other way out to save Malaysia, please use your right as voter to vote BN out on 13th GE, only then we have a fair share of our country wealth.
#50 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 4:31 am
Godfather Says:
Yesterday at 12: 29.01
I simply love by-elections because the rakyat gains from new schools, new temples, new suraus, newly paved roads, sewing machines, angpows, green packets…”
A temple here, a surau there and a new road or bridge leading perhaps to nowhere, sewing machines to sew your rags you called your clothes and an angpow guaranteed to last one weekend?
Also elections promises and pledges are one thing and carrying out those promises are another.
Nothing more than horse trading. Shameful.