Horror flight on board MH161

by Radhika Iyer-O’Sullivan
Jan 20, 09 3:55pm

I am a Malaysian currently residing and working in Dubai. On Dec 25, 2008, I flew with Malaysian Airlines flight MH161 to Kuala Lumpur to visit my parents. I was in seat 36H (an aisle seat) and the seat next to me, 36K (window seat) was vacant. The flight stopped over at Karachi for an hour.

In Karachi, more passengers boarded the plane. One male passenger boarded, showed his boarding pass to a stewardess and she pointed to seat beside me (36K). The man looked at me and said, ‘She’s a Hindu, I cannot sit beside her.’ The stewardess responded, ‘So what? What’s wrong with Hindu?’ The man then began to yell and shout that he would not sit next to a Hindu.

The crew insisted that he had to because there were no other seats available because the plane was full. Then this passenger sat down but began to verbally abuse my faith and the crew members. I sat in my seat but was physically cringing away from him. The flight supervisor was summoned and until then the man was still seated next to me. Imagine my shock, horror and fear in being next to a hostile, abusive person.

One steward did stand next to me but did not offer any help and I did not feel safe or reassured. I reached out and told that steward that I did not feel safe anymore. I said this to him softly in English and he told me to sit and wait. He then walked off and a female crew member took his place. All this time I was under the impression that this hostile passenger beside me was a Pakistani.

I then told the stewardess in Malay that this man should not be seated beside me after what he had said about me. There were other Malaysian passengers sitting in the same area and all of them heard me. She smiled and merely nodded.

Finally, the flight supervisor, ‘SB’, approached the passenger and after an angry exchange, the passenger said, ‘Move her then!’ and SB replied, ‘Yes, we will move her’. More angry words were exchanged and it was revealed that the passenger was actually a Malaysian. When this news was revealed, the passenger actually stood up with his fists up, ready to be physically violent. I was then hauled out of my seat and taken to the back of the plane. I was kept in the kitchen.

By this time I had gone into shock and was crying uncontrollably. I was shaking with rage because I was in a position where there was nothing I could do to defend myself. No one else seemed to be doing anything too.

I could not see what was happening from the rear of the plane but I did see uniformed security personnel approaching my original seat. I could not hear or make out what was happening as there was a group of people standing around my original seat. Eventually, the group left and it was announced that the plane would be taking off.

All this time I was in the kitchen, shaking and crying. All that was done for me was crew members taking turns to ask me if I was okay and offering me Coke and water! The plane began to taxi and I was then taken to another seat (42H). As I sat down, I asked the steward, ‘Is he off the plane?’ and the answer was, ‘No.’ I was appalled.

After the plane took off, the flight supervisor, SB, came and sat beside me. He explained to me that they could not put him off the plane because he was a deportee and if they had insisted on putting him off, then the plane would not have been cleared for take off. I was still crying at this point. I asked, ‘Why am I in a different seat? He should be!’ but my question was not answered.

The plane was not full. There were eight seats vacant in the rear, four on the right aisle and four seats on the left. Seat 42H, where I was put, was one of those vacant seats in the rear. If the MAS crew knew there was a deportee boarding, should they not have made arrangements to place him at the rear of the plane? What kind of airline policy allows a deportee to sit beside a female passenger travelling alone?

I spent the next five and a half hours on the flight in tears. I was not able to sleep because I knew that a hostile passenger was only six rows down from me. I was not afraid but in rage. My friends who are reading this would know the kind of person I am. I have always stood up for my rights and for the rights of people whom I love. I would not usually tolerate such abuse and I would not have hesitated in defending myself.

What stopped me was knowing that I was on a plane, in a confined space and that there were other passengers around me too, women and children. The abusive passenger was not removed from the plane and when we landed at KLIA, he disembarked like a normal passenger and was not escorted or arrested. I also disembarked knowing that I was now in the same terminal, on my own, as this hostile passenger.

I am very disappointed with the way MAS dealt with the incident. That passenger should have been taken to the rear of the plane and restrained. I was the victim of the incident yet I lost my chosen seat that I had paid for. Apart from offers of water, Coke and some verbal reassurances, the crew did not do anything else for me.

I have contacted other major airlines and this is how they would have dealt with the matter: I would have been moved to Business/First Class and I would have been escorted into the terminal until I safely exited the airport. MAS did not do anything for me. First of all, they jeopardised my safety and well-being by forcing the passenger to sit beside me knowing that he was hostile towards me and then they did nothing else to keep me safe.

I was in the same cabin as that passenger, wondering if he was going to walk by or pass me. I spent the entire five and a half hours in tears because I could not stand up for my rights and also because I had to keep my own rage pent-up.

Once I landed, I rang my husband in Dubai and related the events to him. He took immediate steps to contact MAS but to no avail. I stayed for one week in Malaysia and every single day, I tried to call their Customer Complaints Department. All I got was a voice mail. I left numerous messages but no one called me back. No one contacted my husband in Dubai. It is only after he put it up on the MAS blog that we have received some kind of response. Fourteen days after the incident, someone from MAS called me to offer an apology.

My husband also received an email from someone who has offered me 25 percent discount on a return flight from KL to Dubai and actually referred to that abusive passenger as a ‘fellow customer’! She also clearly stated that measures taken were to prevent that passenger from getting angrier. So in other words, they do admit that.

These are the questions I posed to MAS:

Why force a passenger who is racially abusive and hostile to my appearance and faith to sit beside me? There were other seats available at the rear as I discovered later.This was not a passenger who was merely fussing about his seat, this was a passenger who was potentially a threat to another passenger.

Why did the flight supervisor immediately give in to his demands and agree to move me? I was not the passenger causing trouble.

Upon retrospect, I think I was lied to. I do not think the passenger was a deportee. It was a lie told to me to keep him on the plane and keep me quiet. If a lie was told, that means that the crew took measures to protect the hostile passenger and themselves but not me, the victim. If so, then the MAS crew perpetuated the racism and discrimination initiated by the passenger.

If this is the case, then the entire crew participated in jeopardising my safety and appropriate action should be taken against them. If the passenger was truly a deportee or an INA (inadmissible because of visa) then the plane captain should have documents about him. If a deportee or INA caused trouble on a flight, the captain should have been informed immediately.

Why was the captain not informed and if he was, why did he not come to see me? I have been informed that KLIA security had been called but there was no one waiting when the plane landed. The abusive passenger disembarked like any other normal passenger. Why was he not nabbed or restrained? Why did not the crew ensure my safety in the terminal too?

I am demanding a formal, written apology from Malaysian Airlines. I want a truthful, reasonable explanation for all the five points I have listed above. I want some compensation for what I suffered. So far, I have only received an e-mail informing that the matter is under investigation.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by lbl on Thursday, 22 January 2009 - 7:56 pm

Dear John Low, Manager, Customer Response.
    If the same type incident were to happen in, say, in any American Airline, would the offensive passenger be accorded the same treatment as what MAS has done?
    As far as I know the pilot will refuse to take off until the passenger is removed.I thought the pilot would have been involved in this matter instead of just the cabin crew?Was the matter reported to the pilot?
    I hope Mrs. Radhika Iyer-O’Sullivan will fight her case and not stop after some sweets have been given to her by MAS.

2. #2 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 22 January 2009 - 8:00 pm

I once traveled on JAL between Tokyo and Seoul and a passenger, apparently experiencing a sudden surge in testosterones level, pinched the bottom of a flight attendant who was reaching to secure overhead luggage. She just smiled at him. The flight went smoothly. No bumps. No grinds.

We have a lot to learn from her.

She did not sue this passenger for battery and assault. She knew when she took on the job, bottom pinching is an occupational hazard on certain routes. So she decides to take the rough with the smooth.

Top marks goes to this airline which gives a new meaning to ‘passenger comfort’.

3. #3 by Ramesh Laxman on Thursday, 22 January 2009 - 8:30 pm

Dear Wanderer many important people all fly SIA. Their first and business class far superior to MAS. And Undergrad2 I hope that your sister or wife is not working as flight attendent.

Every day when I see what is happening around us I am lost for words. We have lost the moral high ground and are now officially going backwards.

Those in positions should not abdicate their resposibility. If the seat is hot rersign and let another do the job.

4. #4 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 22 January 2009 - 8:40 pm

Are there any JAL flights from KLIA? I feel a sudden surge in testosterone levels! On the other side of the coin, I saw the bottom-pinching thing happen in a nightclub once, and the woman dancing hit the sitting man with a chair. The bouncers saw what was happening, ran over, were told what had transpired, and bounced the fellow off every wall and piece of furniture between his seat and the door. The manager apologised profusely to the woman, gave her and her friends free drinks for the rest of the night and arranged for one of his staff to drive them home at the end of the night.

Zero tolerance for assault and sex pests is the way to go, if you have the support of those around you. Where I lived before I came to Malaysia, women walked to and from the nightclubs in bikinis and even quickly stocked up on frozen goods at the supermarket cold counter in bikinis if the weather was very hot. I’ve worked at IT companies where staff (including women) wore beachwear in the office in a very rare heatwave. Zero tolerance is a very, very good thing if you like your environment well-stocked with women enjoying to the full every single second of their freedom. I do.

5. #5 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 22 January 2009 - 9:08 pm

Ramesh Laxman Says:

Today at 20: 30.25 (28 minutes ago)
    Dear Wanderer many important people all fly SIA. Their first and business class far superior to MAS. And Undergrad2 I hope that your sister or wife is not working as flight attendent.”

My only sister has long passed to the other side after flying on a Concorde. I’m not married and so that leaves only my mother. Surely you’re not asking my mother to work as flight attendant?

6. #6 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 22 January 2009 - 9:09 pm

Intel closing factory in Penang? News on BBC. Big employer here?

7. #7 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 22 January 2009 - 9:13 pm

Manager, Customer Response??

It is good to know MAS now has a team of first responders who are not firemen, paramedic and police and other emergency workers, sitting behind their desks ready to respond to criticism from the traveling public.

I’m concerned that some members of the traveling public may now think that it is alright when traveling on an MAS flight for a Muslim passenger to insult another Muslim passenger so long as they are of the same race – or that it is alright for a Caucasian ‘infidel’ to insult a fellow infidel so long as they are not Malaysians.

Perhaps MAS should reserve seats at the back of the aricraft for ‘insulting passengers’ and leave the rest of the aircraft insult free?

8. #8 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 22 January 2009 - 9:24 pm

OrangRojak,

At the rate jobs are being lost on a daily basis in the U.S. soon there’ll be a wave of unemployed, angry and disillusioned Americans heading your way. MAS will need to put its cabin crew through a crash course in how to handle faith-insulting passengers – and perhaps reserve seats for those ‘insulting passengers’ at the back of the aircraft and leave the rest of the aircraft insult free.

9. #9 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 22 January 2009 - 10:15 pm

“Mr Low has deliberately avoided the most important point. Why was no action taken against the uncouth passenger?”

Like banning this passenger from all MAS flights for a year?? For being the ‘scum of the earth’ that he is??

I wonder if a Caucasian misbehaving himself and making his contribution to the already abundant supply of racial epithets would get a fraction of the attention and the criticism this passenger is now getting.

10. #10 by alaneth on Thursday, 22 January 2009 - 11:36 pm

Hey, let me tell you a real flight story I experienced on X’mas day, 25 Dec 2002.

For those of you who travel frequently, you must have personal experience of when telling foreigners of any countries you are from Malaysia, the first question they will ask is whether you are Muslim… Many foreigners are very poor in geography & demography.

I was on board SriLankan Airlines from KUL-SIN-CMB-MAA. En-route SIN-MAA, I sat next to some Sri Lankans, and we were chatting well on business in S’pore… I spoke Singlish & he thought I was Singaporean until he asked me where I stay. Told him I am Malaysian & he immediately distance himself away from me (shifted his body a little) and asked me “Are you Muslim?” I was taken back – obviously he doesn’t know almost all Chinese in Malaysia are non-Muslim. But after saying no, our conversation broke down – he became more silent & reserved. I kept quite & slept until we landed later & said goodbye to him.

Let me tell you that I got this same “Are you Muslim” question when I visited India, Sri Lanka, even Burma (Myanmar), Philippines and China (they think Malaysia is like Xinjiang where many Han people there are Muslims) – and many don’t believe me until I ordered roast pork & brandy while eating with them.

11. #11 by alaneth on Thursday, 22 January 2009 - 11:46 pm

I believe that ‘Malaysian’ is not a native Malaysian, but of Pakistani descendant, living for too long in Pakistan.

I have some Pakistani colleagues – all Muslims – & all are very friendly & openly says they like to work with Chinese here… All mixed well with the local Chinese here… Yes, most are very very very religious & pray 5 times a day, even while working under the hot sun & they are downright against the US.

But they like the Chinese here because China is Pakistan’s staunch ally and vice-versa. But Pakistan & India are having strained relations I understand. But again the nasty guy on board is not a Pakistani – don’t know his actual status – orang pelarian. Better just send him to Guantanamo Bay – Aiyaa too late, Obama is closing down Guantanamo prison.

12. #12 by daryl on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 12:07 am

I don’t read the MSM news anymore. But, this should be reported on the MSM and MAS should at least make some statement about it or why no action was taken. No politic or business sense and no wonder government can only compare Malaysia to Myanmar not other like Singapore or Taiwan.

MAS should take this opportunity to its advantages but you know they will choose silence and hope two days from now no one will know or care.

13. #13 by Richardqed on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 1:26 am

To the victim who wrote that article:

- you should sue the airlines and its staff for the emotional trauma and abuse that you had to suffer. As a follow-up, you should also sue the passenger in question.

- you are being told BS by the MAS staff. Deportee or not, when it comes to flight procedures, if the passenger causes a disturbance on the plane, that passenger has to be removed from the plane at first opportunity.

If you simply stop at writing a letter to tell others about it, then you are extremely weak, and will probably end up being bullied in other situations in your life in the future as well. So, get a lawyer and sue the pants off them, it is pointless to just share this tale with others. Do not be someone who complains to the wrong channels.

14. #14 by Richardqed on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 1:36 am

The airline’s excuse is a joke: “In checking with our Inflight Supervisor and crew, they themselves were shocked at his behaviour.”

Airline crew should be well-trained enough to handle all sorts of nasty incidents. To say their staff were shocked (but did not do the right thing needed of them) does not help ease the trauma of the victim. If anything, it is just a confirmation that there are incompetent staff from inside of the plane right into the customer service department.

15. #15 by undergrad2 on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 1:38 am

//The plane began to taxi and I was then taken to another seat (42H). As I sat down, I asked the steward, ‘Is he off the plane?’ and the answer was, ‘No.’ I was appalled.//

For crying out loud about your right to a stress free flight on an MAS flight, you’re insensitive about a fellow passenger’s right to exercise his constitutional right of freedom of movement. Am I missing something? Is it also because he is a Muslim and you’re a Hindu?

He was belligerent to the crew (and unpleasant to you) for failing to assign another seat for him – but not to all the passengers. So why should he be forced off the plane because you have a sensitive disposition and because he made some rude and unkind remarks?

Let’s try and connect the dots.

Watch a Malaysian walks into a bank. At the slightest hint of a slow service at the counter how many would thump his or her fists and call for an officer or manager to demand more prompt service?? Try doing that at the counter of Barclays or Chase Bank in London or in New York and you’ll have a fleet of police cars ‘welcoming’ you to their country!

I am curious to know how you would react to racial slurs leveled at you while walking the streets of cities in Alabama or Georgia in the U.S.

Having said that, what the captain should have done was to take matters into his own hands and if the problem was one of seats, have you seated in First Class where there would always be seats judging from the poor handling by the flight crew of situations involving infractions of this nature. The flight crew did not ignore the problem and in fact handled the situation the best way they know how. I hope you’re not calling for their resignations as well.

The anger that we see expressed on this blog and on this thread is due in no small measure to MAS being the symbol of racial discrimination in Malaysia – perhaps its cheer leader.

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 1:42 am

Let’s try and connect the dots.

Watch a Malaysian walks into a bank. At the slightest hint of a slow service at the counter how many would thump his or her fists and call for an officer or manager to demand more prompt service?? Try doing that at the counter of Barclays or Chase Bank in London or in New York and you’ll have a fleet of police cars ‘welcoming’ you to their country!

I am curious to know how you would react to racial slurs leveled at you while walking the streets of cities in Alabama or Georgia in the U.S.

Having said that, what the captain should have done was to take matters into his own hands and if the problem was one of seats, have you seated in First Class where there would always be seats judging from the poor handling by the flight crew of situations involving infractions of this nature. The flight crew did not ignore the problem and in fact handled the situation the best way they know how. I hope you’re not calling for their resignations as well.

The anger that we see expressed on this blog and on this thread is due in no small measure to MAS being the symbol of racial discrimination in Malaysia – perhaps its cheer leader.

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 1:45 am

What is the ratio of Malay to non-Malay among flight attendants today??

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 2:27 am

This is no time to dwell on such issues as the state of mind of a passenger or passengers on an MAS flight!!

Microsoft is for the time in its history laying off some 5,000 employees!!!! Deal with that and what is coming – a global recession.

What’s one unhappy passenger on some airline??

19. #19 by raven77 on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 3:50 am

Every GLC in Malaysia get’s this anti Malaysian response……heck…why cant they wake up and realise that this tidak apa attitude of theirs is getting them into trouble……

20. #20 by cemerlang on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 7:03 am

Malaysian Hospitality does not include self righteousness. With MAS, you could phone up to reserve your favourite seat. And change your seat if your sitting partner is a chatterbox. People who are racists cannot get to enjoy free seating in Air Asia. Wow ! Imagine if all civil servants including drivers get to enjoy first class flight. The government will be broke just by giving claims. Some of you guys here command such fantastic English. But knowledge wise, you need to talk to the grassroots.

21. #21 by Kathy on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 7:11 am

undergrad2, at least we can get our minds of the depressing news on the global recession for awhile by diverting our attention to less than a one star airline.

raven77, betcha most of the GLCs’ employees are not bothered with what we think of them. As long as they get their fat bonus and increment, they do not care if they need to wake up to do their job properly. Even a TNB employee at the Shah Alam TNB office can yell and shout at a 50 plus lady customer and when asked to apologise, he can say, “Kenapa? Tidak Puas Hati ke?” as reported in the Star paper yesterday.

22. #22 by Kathy on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 7:16 am

To be fair, there are also quite a number of hardworking Malaysians that can be found in the GLCs. It is the bad apples that often overshadow these wonderful, caring, customer-orientated personnel.

For those of you doing a good job, thank you and for those that are giving your colleagues a bad reputation due to your lack of intelligence and effort, better start thinking of selling goreng pisang instead of the nice air-con office that you are in at the moment.

23. #23 by chengho on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 7:51 am

Mrs O’Sullivan,
    Report your case to Suhakam or come to meet Michael MCA…or somebody pls bring her to Parliment..

24. #24 by k1980 on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 8:52 am

Pity this did not occur on board an El Al Israel Airlines flight, or else the pilot would had made a detour to Gaza and drop Mr Deportee without a parachute onto a Hamas target.

25. #25 by bzbody on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 8:56 am

To the deportee who happens to be reading this, whoever you are, you are nothing but a racist scumbag! If I know who you are, I would spit right in front of your face. By the way, I have long boycotted MAS for one reason i.e. inefficient.

26. #26 by undergrad2 on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 9:18 am

Techincally the guy was not a deportee. He was declared inadmissible by immigration – which means he was not allowed entry. If they allowed him entry then he has the right to a lawyer and notice served on him to appear in court. Bail would have to be given.

If he was a deportee they are likely to have him seated at the back by himself; and if accompanied by an air marshal he would probably be handcuffed if they think he poses any danger to other passengers.

27. #27 by alaneth on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 9:48 am

I was on board Air India at MAA back to KUL in 1999.

Was assigned a seat at check-in, found myself next to an attractive Hindi girl – Bollywood style. But after seating for 5min the stewardess told me I cannot sit there & change seats for me. I asked why & she replied that male & female cannot seat together in Air India unless married. !!! That was in 1999. Haven’t taken AI since.

Bet if PAS takes over Malaysia, there will be seperate check-in counters for male & female & seperate boarding gates for M/F – got to use 2 aerobridges & seperate seats for males & females.!!!

28. #28 by localgrad on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 11:24 am

sorry for you, yet another case of MALAYSIA BOLEH, macam-macam ada.

Luckily it was you, if I were u, i ll definitely f*** the racist guy back and see how?

29. #29 by Hamdan on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 11:34 am

Dear Radhika,

I am not the least surprised about your Horror Flight from Dubai to KLIA when you fly MAS. I do sympathies you for the horrific experience, this is typical of MAS’s arrogance all these years. I would suggest you take MAS to the Tribunal Court in Dubai ( If they do have one ) Sue them for Undue Stress and whatever else you feel you have been subjected to during that flight.

I live and work in Auckland, New Zealand and goes back for holiday almost every year. I have taken MAS to the Tribunal Court in Auckland and successfully claimed compensations for lost of income, Undue stress caused, accomadations cost and Taxi fares.
    A few years back, my family and I were booked on a flight back to KL but when we arrived at the Check-in counter on the Due date we were given a big shock by the counter clerk, \ I am sorry Sir, you and your family’s names are not in the system \. We were made to wait till the Counter for that fight closes and even then the counter clerk could not give us a good explanation as to why our names were strucked out from the Booking list. A desperate check by phone with my local Travel Agent revealed that MAS office in Auckland had at the last minute removed about 40 Paxs to accomodate a Tour Group. We were tossed about like a ball from MAS Auckland to Local Travel Agent and after much inconvenience we were finally offered another flight 2 days later.
    After coming back from our Holidays I decided to write a letter of my greviences to the Local General Manager for MAS at the downtown office. After a laspes of two weeks there was still no response from MAS, so I wrote another letter and added that should I not hear from them within a period 2 weeks I would not hesitate to take MAS to the Tribunal Court. Guess what, they DON’T give two hood about it and I thought I would give the GM another chance by phoning him. When I rang up to ask to speak to the GM, I was told he has gone Golfing ! What the heck, I was bloody stunned, Golfing during working hours?? Are they posted overseas to work or to play GOLF ?? I wasn’t about to claim any
    monies from MAS at the begining, all I wanted was to have my complain looked at by the MAS GM but obviously he was just too
    arrogant (typical Top Management and Govt Dept’s attitude) and most likely threw my letters into the dust Bin. The GM’s mistakes was that he forgot he was living and working in NZ and not in Bolehland and in New Zealand we have a Small Claims Court where you do not require a Lawyer to represent you. You bet I took MAS to the Tribunal Court and we won and was fully compensated. The whole case took only less than 25 minutes and I received the cheque within 2 weeks.
    Another most hated place to deal with in NZ is the Malaysian High Com. in Wellington, the staffs there also behaves as though they are in one of those Govt Depts. The Ambassador is always not available, either gone Golfing or Sea Fishing, what a Life. I hope Badawi or Najib can take a closer look at our Embassy in Wellington.
    One can hardly get through the phone and if you are put through at all, the staffs there behaves as though they are doing us a favour, what a bloody arrogance shown, I doubt the Ambassador knows about his staffs behaviours and attitude as he is seldom around.
    Coming back to MAS, I find most of them are racially bais, they’ll be exceptionally curtious and nice to White Paxs and some will even pick on own fellow Malaysian ! I am not simply accusing them of such behaviours as I was a victim myself to some of their arrogance.
    In short, MAS as a whole is ARROGANT. The current GM in Auckland
    is always not in Office, always out Golfing !!

30. #30 by mohrafael on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 12:03 pm

Write to MD direct and if no response. use other airline. If u still not satisfied with this, refer to Najib /his wife who is good in eliminating problem. Or….

31. #31 by malaysia_airlines on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 12:13 pm

MAS does not take this matter lightly. We understand and appreciate the severity of this incident and have been in touch with Mr. and Mrs. O’ Sullivan since the incident came to our attention soon after Christmas.

During this time, investigations were conducted, whereby personnel were interviewed and voyage reports were retrieved to ascertain all the facts from the incident. I contacted Mr. O’Sullivan and then Mrs. O’Sullivan over the phone in early January, and we had offered an apology and service recovery for the unfortunate experience, which was subsequently rejected. We will continue with our service recovery efforts and hope to settle this with Mrs. O’ Sullivan soon.

The passenger turned away from Karachi Airport is not a foreign national. Airport Security at Karachi was in fact involved and on board before the flight took off. After being warned by crew and security the passenger agreed not to create any more incidents. Our records show that business class was full hence they were unable to upgrade Mrs. O’ Sullivan. Mrs. O’ Sullivan was re-seated within the economy cabin before the flight took off for her safety and security. The Captain was informed that the situation had been diffused, before the flight took off.

We regret that this incident took place and will continue with our service recovery efforts.

John Low
    Manager
    Customer Relations Unit
    Malaysia Airlines

32. #32 by Evenmind on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 12:22 pm

Then , why wasn’t the man arrested or at least questioned by police on arrival KL., what monkey airlines are you operating ??
    Mr. Low , take the crap out and sell the story to Timbaktu, you might find a buyer there.

33. #33 by Mr Smith on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 12:54 pm

Mr Low,
    Yes, cut the crap. The comments here is reaching a record 200. What other feedback do you want.

WHAT ACTION WILL YOU TAKE AGAINST THAT SCUM?
    Has any attempt been made to contact him? Don’t tell me that he will not be required to even offer a simple apology to Ms Radrika and MAS personnel?

34. #34 by Jeffrey on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 1:06 pm

Mr John Low,

Well MAS crew knew at Karachi itself that the unruly passenger had insufficient travel documents (thats why he was not allowed into Karachi).

The question posed by TheWrathOfGrapes Yesterday at 15: 54.57
    - “so, who is at fault now? The MAS check-in counter, or the Malaysian Immigration counter for letting this brute out of the country without proper and sufficient travel documents? – has not yet been answered.

After letting him out – and Karachi won’t let him in – he made a commotion whilst the aircraft was in flight doing an act which had he been on the Malaysian soil would have constituted an offence of sedition and therefore on the air should have likewise constituted an offence by virtue of the Civil Aviation Offences Act 1984.

Yet he had his way, retained his seat, the one wronged and aggrieved was relocated elsewhere. Then on landing in KLIA, he was let off as if what he had done on flight to Radhika, including his travelling with inadequate travel documents, were nothing of consequence for which he needed to account for.

Readers like Evenmind above are cheesed off because, assuming that the unruly passenger was just let off and just walked away, they don’t understand the apparent lackadasical approach taken by the National Airline in not making him account for his aberrant and unlawful actions. Can MAS explain why that is so?

35. #35 by Mr Smith on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 1:26 pm

Sometime ago my daughter who was booked on a flight from Singapore to Chicago via Narita on United Airlines got the shock of her life when on reaching Changi she was told that the UA flight had been cancelled. She was instead placed on North West airline, which was scheduled to take off an hour earlier than the UA flight. Fortunately, we reached the airport 3 hours before the aborted UA flight.
    A few weeks later my daughter received a USD 200 voucher from UA, an apology for the inconvenience. She later used the ticket for a internal flight in the States.
    What I am trying to point our here is that my daughter did not even lodge a complaint for the ‘inconveniance’ yet UA acted on its own accord.
    Can we expect such a thing from MAS? Never in a million years.

36. #36 by wrench on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 1:34 pm

I was forwarded this link from friends.

I am surprised Malaysian readers believe everything they read online.

This is the online world. Moreover, this is an open letter from one individual.

She is mad at being bullied not by the staff, but by the man, and there was nothing she could do about it.

It sounds like she is diverting her anger for being bullied and not being able to stand up to him, towards the airline.

If she really wants to pursue this she should bring this up with the airline asking them for the man’s details, and bring this up with the local police. She may need to go through the legal methods for this information.

The lady also says she was contacted with some apology and an offer. It is not as if she was completely ignored and I’d say their dialogue is still going on.

She is probably asking for freebies, not getting it, and resorting to this slander. We all know there are folks out there who jump on a chance like this.

But as I said, you can’t believe everything you read online.

37. #37 by lbl on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 2:03 pm

Dear Mr. Low,
    ACTION SPEAKS LOUDER THAN WORDS.
    If MAS takes this incident seriously why was the culprit allowed to walk away instead of being arrested.It is quite obvious MAS does not take this incident seriously.
    If Mrs. O’Sullivan was pleased with MAS handling this incident she would not have reported on this incident.So please do not try your best in telling us how thoughtful was the cabin crew during the flight etc.
    In your next posting please tell us what MAS has done to arrest the offending passenger.
    No point in telling us about Mrs. O’Sullivan for we now know she will not take your sweets.
    We would like to know what action MAS has taken against the offending passsenger.
    Anyway I have told my Office not to use MAS if possible for I do not want them to be abused by another passenger and MAS will inform the police to take action against the culprit.

38. #38 by k1980 on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 2:25 pm

Is the unruly passenger an umno tuan? Then the only action MAS has taken against that offending passsenger is to kneel down before him and whimper, ” Ampun Tuanku, beribu-ribu ampun. Patik yang tak berguna ini minta ampun…”

39. #39 by NewDAP on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 3:12 pm

Radhika provoked the man.

From the the story, it was very clear that Radhika has attitude problem and racist too.

she is asking too much, MAS should kick her out of the plane.

the crew did the right thing by calming down the man and handled the man quite well.

40. #40 by NewDAP on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 3:27 pm

Dear John Low,

It is just a minor incident and it does not warrant any arrest of the passenger.

Radhika and her husband were too much, they were asking for the sky….

MAS had offered an apology and service recovery to them, but they wanted the moon and the sky…..

MAS should stop entertain such nuisance couple….

just ignore this useless couple

41. #41 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 3:56 pm

Looking at the scenario, it is clear that MAS is basically managed to serve the BN brass and those Gomen workers who have the chance to say ‘yes Sir! Yes Sir! 3 bagful’.
    Many years ago, there was a case where the station manager of SIA removed a son of a senior staff from the flight in order to allow a full paying passenger the last seat. Of course, he took the trouble to take care of the boy as well as knowing that his flight wasn’t urgent.
    If this were to happen in Bolehland, the poor station manager would have had his skin peeled of!
    At MAS, it is likely the reverse would have had happen!
    The other day, my son came back with a leather wallet, his mother asked why did he buy another wallet? he said that SIA had delayed his flight and having bought them food they also gave him the wallet as a gift for the inconvenience!
    An Aussie who flew with him from Melbourne commented that even Quantas had never been so considerate. Business requires business attitude and business sense!
    By the way, cintanegara and melurian, our neighbour has splashed s$20.5 billions from their coffer to take care of those badly affected by the current economic downturn. What say you both??

42. #42 by shittybugger on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 3:58 pm

Lemme tell ya a story:

This scene took place on a British Airways flight between Johannesburg, South Africa & London.

A white woman, about 50 years old, was seated next to a black man.

Very disturbed by this, she called the air hostess. ‘You obviously do not see it then?’ she asked. ‘You placed me next to a black man.. I did not agree to sit next to someone from such a repugnant group.

‘Give me an alternative seat.’

‘Be calm please,’ the hostess replied.

‘Almost all the places on this flight are taken. I will go to see if another place is available.’

The hostess went away and then came back a few minutes later. ‘Madam, just as I thought, there are no other available seats in Economy Class. I spoke to the captain and he informed me that there is also no seat in Business Class. All the same, we still have one place in First Class.’

Before the woman could say anything, the hostess continued.

‘It is not usual for our company to permit someone from Economy Class to sit in First Class. However, given the circumstances, the captain feels that it would be scandalous to make someone sit next to someone so disgusting.’

The Hostess turned to the black guy, and said, ‘Therefore, Sir, if you would like to, please collect your hand luggage, a seat awaits you in First Class.’

At that moment, the other passengers, who’d been shocked by what they had just witnessed, stood up and applauded.

This is a true story.. If you are against racism, please have your friends view this.

WELL DONE, British Airways!!

43. #43 by cheng on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 4:01 pm

John Low’s response doesn’t surprise me. Very typical Malaysian. I am referring to this:
    “The Inflight Supervisor made a judgment call to provide Mrs Iyer-O’Sullivan with an alternative seat, instead of that passenger, because they needed to remove her from that environment. This was aimed at ensuring that the crew could keep a closer eye on her, and to prevent any reoccurrence of the earlier incident.”

It is the unruly passenger that should be removed. Not removing Ms. Radhika from “that environment” because “that environment” itself is still not safe. Because of such poor judgement by the inflight supervisor, there is always a possiblity of another passenger being harassed. That environment had been made hostile by the “deportee”. See, they are not solving the cause but just providing panadol… Rewarding poor performer and punishing those who do the right things. So, I am not surprised if some people will even warn Ms. Radhika “jangan buat hal”, etc…

44. #44 by undergrad2 on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 9:39 pm

I had the facts of this case examined by my paralegal class to find if there is any cause of action against the airline. With a little editing by me this was what they came up with.

FACTS OF THE CASE

Radhika: One male passenger boarded, showed his boarding pass to a stewardess and she pointed to seat beside me (36K). The man looked at me and said, ‘She’s a Hindu, I cannot sit beside her.’

Apparently, he was telling the flight attendant from some distance but apparently within the complainant’s hearing, declaring his faith to the flight attendant and his request to be assigned another seat – an unusual request considering the reason given. This was evident from the response from the flight attendant.

Flight attendant: ‘So what? What’s wrong with Hindu?’

Radhika: The man then began to yell and shout that he would not sit next to a Hindu.

Clearly he didn’t like the idea of being deported. Who does?

Radhika: Then this passenger sat down but began to verbally abuse my faith and the crew members.

Hearing derogatory remarks about one’s faith is not that uncommon except for the unusual circumstances of this case. Note the sympathy she was showing to the crew.

Radhika: I sat in my seat but was physically cringing away from him.

This goes to the complainant’s state of mind. Her state of mind is relevant in view of her claim that she was in fear for her personal safety.

Radhika: The flight supervisor was summoned and until then the man was still seated next to me. Imagine my shock, horror and fear in being next to a hostile, abusive person.

Again her state of mind. Was the passenger being hostile and abusive at this point?

It is not clear if the passenger was in fact being belligerent at this point assuming he was earlier. By her own admission the appearance of the flight supervisor on the scene did give her some assurance that nothing untoward would happen.

Radhika One steward did stand next to me but did not offer any help and I did not feel safe or reassured. I reached out and told that steward that I did not feel safe anymore.

At this point the complainant thought the crew could have done more and was disappointed.

Radhika I said this to him (male steward standing guard over her) softly in English ….

This goes to her state of mind. She thought she was a Pakistani but it turned out that she was wrong. Could that have been the cause of her fear? After all it fits the racial profiling of Pakistanis i.e. that of being Islamic radicals and potential terrorists.

Radhika: I then told the stewardess in Malay that this man should not be seated beside me after what he had said about me.

Note the complaint confirmed that the passenger did not do anything to her more than just being rude and obnoxious. Any belligerence shown earlier had dissipated by this time.

Radhika: Finally, the flight supervisor, ‘SB’, approached the passenger and after an angry exchange, the passenger said, ‘Move her then!’ and SB replied, ‘Yes, we will move her’.

We are not told the details of the “angry exchange”. But apparently he refused to be moved to another seat after having been forcibly seated there.

Radhiska: More angry words were exchanged and it was revealed that the passenger was actually a Malaysian. When this news was revealed, the passenger actually stood up with his fists up …..

We are not told what those angry words were which would have given a clue to what was actually happening. But obviously he was feeling aggravated by what the flight supervisor was saying to him.

Radhiska: I was then hauled out of my seat and taken to the back of the plane. I was kept in the kitchen.

Apparently the complainant didn’t like having to give up her seat either.

Radhiska: By this time I had gone into shock and was crying uncontrollably. I was shaking with rage because I was in a position where there was nothing I could do to defend myself. No one else seemed to be doing anything too.

The complainant was apparently dismayed, appalled even and disappointed and angry no longer at the passenger next to her (who was not doing anything to her or saying anything to her at that point) but at the crew and their handling of her request that this passenger be seated somewhere else. She was also disappointed that no passenger came to her help.

Radhiska: After the plane took off, the flight supervisor, SB, came and sat beside me. He explained to me that they could not put him off the plane ….

OPINION:

The complainant has a cause of action against the passenger though it is not clear what that may be – but not against the airline and its crew who had taken reasonable steps to make her comfortable considering the circumstances of the case.

45. #45 by vision 5050 on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 11:56 pm

Usual or unusual it may be, there ought to be at least one nuisance passenger on board. The decision-maker (in Radhika’s case the flight supervisor) should have been held responsible for causing this matter by encouraging the nuisance passenger to stay on his seat rather than moving him away from Radhika’s seat (as he did mention ‘I cannot sit beside her’)

Perhaps the passenger was looking forward to sit beside a Jew (who knows). I feel rather sorry for this awkward situation you’ve been through Radhika. It is very disappointing to see the way a ‘world class airliner’ have dealt this matter.

May i suggest you to follow the footsteps of Datuk Seri Dr. Khir Toyo in which he had rewarded a broom for non-performing staff. Hence instead, please reward the GM of MAS for their ‘best practices’ with a toilet bowl brush.

46. #46 by sabri on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 2:00 am

it’s way the Hindus must be threaten. not only on plane but any mean of seatings.

47. #47 by sotong on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 6:11 am

Agree with Undergrad2…reasonable steps had been taken by MAS’s crew.

John Low, I am sure you could do better than this…I have shares in MAS!

48. #48 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 9:03 am

Sotong,

The complainant was very annoyed and hurt. This is completely understandable. She was also disappointed that the MAS crew had not done more.

That is obvious if you follow her narration.

If you plan to sue someone you would sue the party that has the deep pockets. That would be MAS. But her chances of winning is zilch, nada, nought! I’m sorry.

Worse incidents happened on MAS flights and got the publicity they deserved. This one is nothing. But if MAS wants to play ball, go ahead. A free return ticket for two to Haadyai would do the job.

I wouldn’t do more.

49. #49 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 9:05 am

She was never in real danger at any one time.

50. #50 by Rocky on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 12:31 pm

Radhiska

Take Jeffrey’s advise for now and deal with MAS. expecting to move is reasonable but to business class is asking for more. But in your case if I were MAS crew, I’d moved you there. Your story is already doing MAS enough damage.

Now Mas – they should have cuffed the guy cos he was being abusive. and they should have the cops waiting for him when he landed. he should be told in so many ways even if he was not charged that his behaviour was unacceptable by the cops.

Now MAS you should ban this guy from every flying on MAS or Firefly be it international or domestic. That is the least you could do after this not very well managed situation. it will be great if other airlines like Air Asia also ban him.

what a jerk…gives muslims a bad name.