Why as a Chinese I will always vote PAS

Letters
by Jonathan Tan

It has now been 51 years since independence, and although it was predominantly a Malay Archipelago, immigrants who had to work the land during the British colonial era; by default became citizens after Malaya attained independence in 1957.

Much was promised. Equal rights to jobs, educational and business opportunities. But all this came to naught in 1969 when Tunku Abdul Rahman, Malaysia’ founding father, was unceremoniously sent into early retirement and hawks like Razak and Harun took over and used Malay special rights as their vehicle to build a corrupted society that saw the division between the have and have nots widen.

The process took a turn for the worse during the Mahathir era when he hand picked cronies to award contracts and kept privatized entities such as the Governments’ GLC’s in the government’s stables, obviating the very reason to privatize these entities.

Till this day, these organizations show neither discernible accountability nor transparency. The country bleeds like a wounded kancil.

The situation has become even more tenuous with the serious deterioration of educational standards, where instead of English, Malay was used as the medium of instruction in a multiracial ex-British colony of 300 years, further condemning the country’s young to an educational exposure far less then the previous generation had received all in the name of Malay nationalism and supremacy.

UMNO and Mahathir labeled Malaysia even Islamic with non-Malays forced to take Islamic studies at Universities. The 1957 dream was dead. For Malaysians were not equal neither in the eyes of the government nor the law. You can be a Muslim but you can never unMuslim yourself, so body snatching becomes a norm at funerals by overzealous religious authorities.

In 1957, the MIC and MCA were the designated community guardians to ensure minority rights were protected. But they did not only not protect their communities; they joined UMNO in pursuit of wealth many times for their own personal being at the expense of the rights of their communities.

As a Chinese or Indian Malaysian, you are now a second class citizen in this country born 51 years ago, left betrayed, unprotected and to fend for themselves on their own. Muslim Indonesians and Filipinos are made to feel welcome. Many get citizenships ostensibly to increase the Muslim majority.

But our guardians, MCA and MIC, still looked on squeezing it’s minorities virtually to leave this country. So that promise of 1957 was made to be broken. Or was it sabotaged along the way with the help of the MCA, MIC and later Gerakan.

Governance of the former Federated states had changed hands from our British colonial masters to UMNO. And no one was going to do anything about it.

Enter the Pakatan Rakyat. An inexperienced alternative composite of disparate parties who have significantly changed the political landscape. In the states of Penang, Perak and Selangor, they are beginning to show that even inexperienced administrators, given time may be able to deliver.

PAS on the hand appears fixated on relatively petty matters such as Islamic law when economy, education and health should be right on top of the agenda. But mathematically it is not possible for PAS to ever pass these laws.

Even, if they tried, the reassuring pronouncements of Karpal Singh has brought immense confidence to people like me , that in the event that PAS trys to pull a fast one, the DAP will pull out of the coalition causing the fragmentation and fall of the Federal government if they happen to form one.

This confidence far outstrips the current and ongoing blatant sell out of their communities by the MIC and MCA to UMNO, not that race based politics matter anymore.

Yes as a Chinese, I will vote in PAS anytime, anywhere in this country, because with the Pakatan Rakyat I can rest assured that the law as spelled out in our constitution will reign supreme, and pretenders like PAS will be stopped right in their tracks by the DAP unlike the shenanigans at the MIC and MCA who have now brought minorities to their knees by deceiving them of their rights by colluding with UMNO.

It was the British spy; Harold Philby who once said that “To betray you must first belong.” By belonging, the MCA, MIC and Gerakan have never hesitated for a minute to make full use of their belonging to betray and condemn their communities to a bleak and uncertain future.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 20 January 2009 - 1:49 pm

/// # cintanegara Says:
    Today at 10: 58.33 (2 hours ago)
    In Malaysia, every citizen enjoys equal opportunities. That’s why we have Pilots from the minority groups flying the fighter jets. It is not that we don’t have talented and capable people from the majority groups to fill up the posts. We trust every of our citizens and their loyalty to the nation…..Yes, Malaysia is a unique country.. ///

If you really trust the Chinese and Indians, they would probably fill up 99% of the fighter jets if all pilots compete on merit. You have a few non-Malay pilots for show. If non-Malays are given equal opportunity in the RMAF, then you won’t have hundreds of them flying as pilots for SIA and RSAF.

On the other hand, there are many Indian fighter pilots in the RSAF. Heck, some of them even made it to the elite Black Knights – the creme de la creme of the Air Force – the aerobatic team.

http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/resources/videos/features/2008/feb.html

2. #2 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 20 January 2009 - 1:57 pm

The conclusion is Non-Muslims can now vote for PAS because DAP is there to stop them from implementing Hudud laws. Is that IT?

3. #3 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 20 January 2009 - 1:59 pm

Godfather Says:

Today at 12: 33.55 (1 hour ago)
    Oh dear ! I can’t speak for Undergrad2, but I should think that Cambridge trains its students for the challenges of the real world. The real world isn’t …”

I have a classmate who has a first from Cambridge but failed his bar exams more than four times and was barred from sitting again. I don’t know what happened to him after that.

4. #4 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 20 January 2009 - 2:03 pm

computation Says:

“yes well unfortunately as well
    if i am not wrong malays cannot rise
    above the rank of colonel in the
    army. their salaries can exceed the
    bracket for the rank of colonel
    but the rank itself cannot.
    i am not sure on this though.”

If what Computation says is true…What will DAP supporters say about this?

5. #5 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 20 January 2009 - 2:03 pm

I must steer clear of tiger pen!s, falling off the edge into unconsciousness is my favourite bit. Four hours would be torture.

6. #6 by computation on Tuesday, 20 January 2009 - 2:07 pm

they will say
    “shut up computation!”
    :)

7. #7 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 20 January 2009 - 2:10 pm

After four hours you’re supposed to see a nurse who would be too happy to give you the necessary injection. If you can’t afford it then rest assured that what goes up must come down.

8. #8 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 20 January 2009 - 2:11 pm

…eventually.

9. #9 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 20 January 2009 - 2:17 pm

That reminds me of the old joke about the salesman asking why the old folks’ home bought so many Viagra pills. The Head Nurse explained that she gave each patient one pill before bedtime to stop them rolling out of bed.

10. #10 by cto on Tuesday, 20 January 2009 - 3:21 pm

OrangRojak Says:

Today at 14: 17.50 (1 hour ago)
    That reminds me of the old joke about the salesman asking why the old folks’ home bought so many Viagra pills. The Head Nurse explained that she gave each patient one pill before bedtime to stop them rolling out of bed.

——————————–

Have you heard about the case where Scotland Yard was looking for a gang of hardened criminals who stole the entire shipment of viagra?

11. #11 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 20 January 2009 - 3:23 pm

/// I think the rules of engagment, even in this forum, are simple: you can either maganimously brush aside personal attacks irrelevant to the blog thread as not dignifying your response OR retaliate in ways you know best or deem appropriate… ///

Jeffrey, I can subscribe to the above. However, the same culprit who sprout one-liners and puerile irrelevant snide remarks was the same one who went crying foul and appealing to Kit when he was attacked and shown up as the charlatan that he was and still is.

My teenage son wanted to know more about Gaza and the Palestinian problem, and I thought a good intro to this complex subject was the series of 3 articles on Gaza & the Liberal Conscience by Farish Noor. I gave him the url of this blog and guess what? The first question he asked me was – who’s this immature guy who never grew up and who kept posting silly remarks. He thinks this guy is a school yard bully who pretends to be an adult.

Instead of adding to the discourse, some of the comments are really subtracting and distracting.

I can give as good as any – but I have decided to be an observer and only contribute when I feel like it. But I have been following the antics of a certain recalcitrant – a half wit who thinks that he is witty.

But enough of this – a Happy and Prosperous Chinese New Year to one and all, especially to Kit.

12. #12 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 20 January 2009 - 3:36 pm

hardened criminals hehehehe the old’uns are the gold’uns

You know they’ve finally managed to make a male contraceptive pill?
    You just have to put it in your shoe and it makes you limp.

13. #13 by chengho on Tuesday, 20 January 2009 - 4:52 pm

I like the story of Gaza , Hamas fight with Fatah , Hosni Mubarak
    closed the tunnel…

14. #14 by computation on Tuesday, 20 January 2009 - 4:58 pm

undergrad2 says

“I have a classmate who has a first from Cambridge but failed his bar exams more than four times and was barred from sitting again. I don’t know what happened to him after that.”

your friend at the end of his stint at cambridge was
    probably only half baked and limkamput would have
    easily chewed him up…
    :)

15. #15 by ryan123 on Tuesday, 20 January 2009 - 5:38 pm

I have been following the blog for sometimes, but seldom make a comment.

It is regrettable that some of those here would launch personal attacks again and again after being challenged by other readers, in the attempts to make themselves to look more superior and to gain personal gratification.

And, it is personal attacks for months. Great jobs being done by you guys to chase off the readers.

16. #16 by Godfather on Wednesday, 21 January 2009 - 8:56 am

Like President Barack Hussein Obama said at his inauguration speech yesterday, we too have chosen hope over fear. To those who choose to instill fear in our midst, let me just say two words – good riddance.

17. #17 by alaneth on Wednesday, 21 January 2009 - 1:56 pm

DAP supports PAS in KT.
    Will PAS support DAP if there is a by-election??

DAP celebrates the victory of PAS. Will it be so otherwise???

Comments are closed.