‘PAS to win by 7,000 majority’

by Ong Kian Ming
Jan 17, 09 8:01am

There is this phenomenon in the United States called Monday Morning Quarterback.

It describes a person who says that he or she always knew what the outcome of the Sunday football games was going to be and proceeds to give an explanation for why the game resulted in the eventual result. In other words, this person is passing judgment from a position of hindsight, which is always 20/20.

I could easily play this game in regard to the upcoming Terengganu by-election. It would be far too easy for me to list down, on Sunday, reasons as to why PAS won the by-election and at the same time, to have ready an alternative list of reasons as to why the BN/Umno managed to win the same by-election in case of an upset.

It is however a far harder and much riskier endeavour to predict who is going to win, and by what margin, before the fact.

In a previous analysis piece in Malaysiakini, I predicted that PAS would win by a majority of 3,300 votes based on a breakdown of different turnout and voting components. In the same article, I also reserved the right to update my prediction as and when new information was made available to me.

I came upon new information recently in the form of two Kuala Terengganu surveys conducted by the Merdeka Center, one in December 2007 before the March 2008 general election and another one conducted just last week.

I then used my own methodology to make an educated guess as to what the voting patterns will be today in the KT by-election.

Don’t expect by-election to be a close fight

Let me make it absolutely clear that the surveys done by Merdeka Center do not give conclusive or definitive results as to how the Malay and Chinese voters were/are going to vote.

The reason is because when asked about their voting intentions, about half of the voters did not indicate who they were going to vote for by responding ‘don’t know’ or ‘my vote is secret’.

In addition, there is always the possibility that some respondents will mask their true voting intentions because of the fear that the surveyor may be someone from the Special Branch who is trying to find out if this individual is leaning opposition or BN.

In other words, some voters may say that they are voting for BN to the surveyor but actually have no intention of voting for BN. This makes predicting or forecasting voting trends based on survey results much more of an art than science.

But a political analyst worth his or her salt should be willing to put his or her analytical skills to the test by trying to guess the voting intentions of those who did not indicate their voting preference using a variety of tools and techniques.

For example, one can try to compare the answers of those who have indicated their voting preference either for BN or for the opposition and ascertain if an individual who has not revealed his or her voting preference is more like the typical BN or opposition voter. Or one can try to estimate the changes in the underlying responses of those surveyed over time to guess at whether the voters are leaning more towards BN or the opposition compared to past surveys.

I have used a variety of quantitative and qualitative methods to arrive at the prediction I am about to make.

For the purpose of brevity, I shall not go into the details here. If my predictions are in the ballpark of the eventual result, I may explain it later. If my prediction is way off, it’s back to the drawing board for me.

Regardless, I am making my prediction public so that I can be held accountable for my predictions after the fact. The easier alternative would be to play it safe and to say that the race is too close to call and then try to explain the outcome after the fact – like a good Monday Morning Quarterback.

But my analytical findings tell me that the eventual outcome will NOT be close and I do not think that I would be honest if I told my friends otherwise.

How I calculate the predicted majority

Here then are the details of my prediction and the steps I use to calculate the predicted majority.

In the previous article, I said that I did not have conclusive evidence to show me that the Malay vote was trending either to the opposition or BN. I simply said that split voting that worked in BN’s favour in March 2008 would not occur again in this by-election.

But by comparing the underlying responses of those in the 2007 and 2009 surveys using my own estimating techniques, I found consistent evidence that the Malay vote has swung to PAS since the time when the 2007 survey was taken in December of that year.

My estimates show that the Malay vote will swing to PAS by approximately 4%. Given that my estimate of the Malay support for BN was 47% in 2008, this means that the overall Malay support for the BN will fall to 43% or that PAS will win 57% of the Malay vote (not including postal votes).

With an estimated Malay turnout of 81% (slightly less than 2008) and by excluding spoilt votes and votes for the independent candidate (which I estimate to total approximately 2%), this translates into a majority of 7,720 for PAS among the Malay voters.

Among the non-Malays (mostly Chinese), I estimate that the turnout will decrease by approximately 10% from 65% in 2008 to 55% in 2009, primarily because of the Chinese New Year holidays that will take place the following week.

Among the non-Malays who will turn out, I estimate a BN support level of 45%. This represents a significant 20% swing in the non-Malay vote from 2008. This is consistent with the Merdeka Center survey results as well as the feeling from the ‘ground’ that the Chinese vote has swung against the BN and in favour of the opposition. Because of the relatively lower turnout and small percentage of Chinese voters in this constituency, this works out to a 510 vote margin in favour of PAS.

The Malay and non-Malay majorities calculated above results in an 8,230 majority in favour of PAS. However, there are approximately 1,300 postal votes in this constituency. Assuming that 90% of the postal votes will go to the BN, this means that BN will have a majority of 1,170 votes from postal votes alone.

Subtracting this figure from the 8,230 majority, I arrive at the final prediction of 7,060 votes or approximately 7,000 votes. This represents a 3,700 vote increase from my initial prediction of 3,300 votes for PAS.

PAS to gain 4% swing in Malay votes

The main reason for this is because of my assumption, based on my own analysis of the Merdeka Center survey results from 2007 and 2009, that the Malay vote has swung in favour of PAS by a margin of 4%.

Some may say that for me to predict a swing in the Malay vote to PAS by a margin of 4% is foolhardy and doesn’t make sense given that most people are saying that the Malay vote is split 50/50 or that PAS has only a slight edge.

Again, I could have easily hedged my bets and echoed what everyone else is saying. But my analysis of the underlying responses in both surveys leave me with no other choice but to conclude that the Malay vote will swing in PAS favour.

Of course, the underlying sentiment may have changed among the Malays in the week since the 2009 survey was taken or that the accusations by the opposition of massive vote-buying on the part of the BN will come true or that the final push by the BN to undermine the reputation of PAS among the Malays may have worked to turn the tide in BN’s favour.

I have no way of ascertaining if any of this is true. Neither do the people on the ground. Their guess in regard to the effectiveness of these last-minute strategies is as good as mine. And my instinct tells me that while these sorts of strategies may have worked in the past, they will not work in this KT by-election.

So there you have it, my prediction is that PAS will win by a majority of 7,000 votes. Tonight, I will know if my analytical skills have served me well … or not!

1. #1 by rainbowseahorse on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 11:43 am

Not based on survey or anything, but purely on gut feeling:

KT Voters: 80,229
    80% Turn out: 64,183
    PAS: 52%= 33,375
    UMNO: 40%= 27,278
    UMNO Dirty Votes: 7.4%= 5,456
    Bebas: 6%= 385

Majority Win: PAS x 2,952 votes ( +-2% error)

2. #2 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 11:49 am

You are toooo optimistic. My guess is around 1000

3. #3 by drngsc on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 12:20 pm

Hi, don’t count your chickens before they are hatched. In every match, there is always a referee. The referee can greatly influence any game. Lets be humble, patient and await the results. It is now, in the hands of God. It is more important to win the hearts and minds of the people of KT, and Malaysia.

4. #4 by Gomen on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 12:23 pm

with all the vote buying, my guess is 500 – 1000, its better to keep the figure that way, coz it goes to show the non-malay votes matters.

5. #5 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 12:27 pm

Dear Ong Kian Ming,

They say the proof of pudding is in the eating. So, making conclusion before the result is of course is a matter of preference and maybe bias.

DEspite many in this blog hoping that PAS winning the election, I feel that UMNO also has chance as it has considerable support there.

Simply because one party loses does not mean that there are “pengundi hantu”. Why dont check on internal weakness first.

6. #6 by Mr Smith on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 12:30 pm

This is indeed a brave prediction. The writer is confident and putting his reputation on a 7,000 majority. I think his prediction may well become reality. That is also my prayer.

7. #7 by ablastine on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 12:33 pm

How I wish I am voting in KT. One thousand dollars per voter and I have 8 voters in my family. $8000 ! Can go for holidays for free. Of course after taking the money we will vote for Pakatan still.

8. #8 by Jong on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 12:35 pm

Looks like it’s going to be paper-thin victory either way. I just received this sms message from Ground Zero, please note the sentiments:

“I tend to comfort myself by putting bet on what I don’t like so if BN wins less hurt but if PR wins then more joy.”

Whatever it is, I appeal to ALL Kuala Trengganuites, please help keep up the momentum – Permatang Pauh did it, so can YOU! Chuck UMNO/BN into the South China Sea, do it today. Vote PAS!

Let’s rock them!!!!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n3Q8bINOPV8&feature=related

9. #9 by Saint on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 12:48 pm

I sincerely hope that you are correct.
    But my guess is around 1,500 only with a win for PAS.
    Reading to many “favors” being thrown around.

10. #10 by monsterball on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 1:03 pm

In USA…..predictions are 1% plus or minus off the target.
    Here anyone can predict PAS will surely win with a large majority.
    But papers have sound off…..”It’s a close call”…more or less….program Malaysians …not to suspect phantom voters…if they win.
    Just sit back and you can conclude…can you trust anything UMNO say or do….for th country?
    Today is judgment day……no matter what happens.
    It is important for UMNO to win….to stamp Najib’s leadership.
    It is important for PAS to win….to sound off…even Terengganu voters want change of government.
    But real change of government depends on the coming 13th election. It does not depend on Terengganu voters at all….as past records shows that Muslim voters are party die hard..no need to think at all. It depends largely on the Chinese votes.
    Lets see….if Chinese in Terengganu will unite to vote for change of government.
    Shame on them….if they don’t.
    So the prediction of 6000 majority should be Chinese votes by the writer..less few thousand phantom voters…PAS should win by a small margin.
    Win or loose…it is the total teamwork of all voters in a general election that matter most…be smart…educated and thoughtful voters…for unity than for race and religion that do not really help at all….in Nation building. It’s 30 years behind time to all developed countries in South East Asia…where we were once… the forerunner and most progressive. Just study the facts…and wake up to the truths….especially to young educated new voters.

11. #11 by sightseeing on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 1:09 pm

I don’t understand your method of prediction but I love it and I pray that you are right.

12. #12 by KennyGan on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 1:14 pm

A PAS win with 7000 majority is a very brave and optimistic prediction, however the feeling on the ground is a close fight. If it comes true, BN will be dealt a severe political blow and may be forced to re-evaluate racial politics and maybe even abandon their Ketuanan Melayu nonsense.

I think PAS will win but by a small majority of 1000 votes or less.

13. #13 by limkamput on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 1:24 pm

Lim Kiang Beng may be a good analyst and his analysis may be right. But I notice one thing; our “forecast” is generally related to which source we gathered our news. If we have been consistently reading Malaysiakini or Kit’s blog, we tend to be more optimistic for PR. On the other hand, if we are persistent MSM (both newspapers and tvs) readers or watchers, we tend to be more optimistic for BN.

I also don’t want to be Monday Morning Quarterback. So my forecast is the margin is around 3,000 votes.

14. #14 by limkamput on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 1:27 pm

sorry i got the name totally wrong, it is Ong Kian Ming

15. #15 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 1:41 pm

I’m going with a 1,500 majority for BN. I hope I’m wrong. It’s not an educated guess. I’ve had an education, but I sucked my finger and held it in the air for this one. From my straw poll around my own neighbourhood (not at all representative of KT, obviously, except that I’m in a BN-controlled state), I’m forecasting a combination of ‘solidarity’ for an embattled racist government who ‘proteks the majority’ while emphasising the teachings of the profit (a distant relative of the Prophet) and the effects of the ‘Hudud’ propaganda on a minority who don’t want to be sacrificed for the greater good.

If any information has leaked through to KT, those two effects could be undone or reversed. The BN government does seem to me to be adept at managing the presentation of information, however.

16. #16 by All For The Road on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 2:12 pm

In politics everything is possible! Why should it be a surprise if the Pakatan Rakyat candidate under PAS can win by a 7,000 majority? The wind of change may be blowing among the Malay voters to the Opposition! The Chinese voters had already done so since March 2008.

17. #17 by taikohtai on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 2:30 pm

By elections used to be a showboat by BN flaunting sundries and all. Remember Ijok before the last GE? But after the tsunami, braindead BN tried the same modus operandi but failed miserably as in PP. The internet led by the blogging community awoke many a rakyat and their kampung folks.
    KT is now the litmus test on the very survival of BN. If KT falls to PR, BN is DOOMED and that’s the bottom line. An awakened rakyat does not condon corruption and bastardry. DSAI is now leading a very legitimate opposition party that is gaining acceptance across the country.
    I shall also not underestimate the resolve of KTgites and shall predict that RPK shall be vindicated with his 5000 votes majority.
    Najis, be afraid………….BE VERY AFRAID!!

18. #18 by A true Malaysian on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 2:41 pm

My prediction is PR-PAS to win by 6,000 majority votes.

19. #19 by k on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 2:44 pm

In this case, optimistic is GOOD.

Menang Pakatan Rakyat, Menang PAS.

20. #20 by wanderer on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 2:48 pm

Let it be 7000 or 7 votes win…as long it is a PR win. My day is made!
    To have a win against a corrupted BN machine that was bribing through the nose…it is a tremendous achievement.
    When it counts, I have full faith in the Chinese!

21. #21 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 3:15 pm

It will not be easy for any party to bribe the Chinese electorate with the token of RM300-RM1,000 per vote because the Chinese will just take the money and then spread the news to the whole world but not vote in favour of the bribe offeror.

It is hard to say whether the votes of Malay electorate can be bought with money or not. Sometimes the Malays will just take the bribe and then vote for the bribe offeror because it is too common for the Malays to get subsidy from the Government throughout the past 30 years or so.

There is one group of people I think Najib Razak will never forget to offer some candies and goodies in order to solicit for votes, namely, Orang Asli (Aborigine People). I won’t be surprised that if tonight there is a delay in vote counting. The delay will most likely be caused by the late delivery of votes from a remote Kampung Orang Asli.

Najib Razak had a lot of experience in dealing with Orang Asli. This was also the main reason why Najib could win with very small margin in Pekan Constituency in 1999 General Election when Pakatan Altenatif was warmly welcome by Pahang people in that election year.

22. #22 by KennyGan on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 3:22 pm

How times have changed. By-elections used to be very hard for the opposition to win because BN could focus its mighty machinery and bottomless resources on a by-election. But now, by-elections are HARD for BN to win. BN even avoided a by-election in Kulim when they dropped court action against PKR’s Zulkifli Nordin when they had a good chance of winning the case. How times have changed!

I pray for PAS to win by any majority to teach Umno another lesson. They sure need plenty of lessons to make the most basic facts sink in.

23. #23 by chiakchua on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 3:38 pm

I pray that PAS will win, whatever the majority.

Let’s jolt the BN to wake up and change for the sake of the country!

24. #24 by babique on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 3:39 pm

It looks like PAS is winning …
    It sounds like PAS is winning with a majority
    But i am not 100% sure how many votes will they be winning …

25. #25 by wahai kawan on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 4:17 pm

My heart is to see more opposition for a better balance of power. God please bless PAS to win! But unfortunately my heart tells me that if BN wins, it may serve to be the end of what we all have hoped for a new ruling government.

I am sure the new elected PM will not make the same mistake twice. All of us have been taken for a ride. Our income is being squeezed by the inflated prices all over with the increase of petrol. Perhaps looking at Pak Lah’s angle, it was for a good cause to make our government richer than ever for our future generations to enjoy but nevertheless it also enriched some people with the abuse of power. I am sure the newly elected PM will find other avenues to make money but NOT at he expense of all Malaysians……

BN has been avoiding direct confrontations with the opposition. With time, they are expected to grow stronger as we have seen over the few months when Pak Lah confirmed his resignation. The opposition’s manifesto was exactly the words from Pak Lah’s mouth and sadly bit by bit with time and patience, we have less thing to promote ourselves other than taking the ruling party’s choice as a punching bag for reform.

God bless us for a better Malaysia

26. #26 by chengho on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 4:35 pm

Up to 4 pm 80 % of chinese voters swing back to BN
    BN will win by less than 700 votes margin.

27. #27 by wahai kawan on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 5:05 pm

Let’s look at facts – at 2pm, 56% has voted (from Malaysiakini)

Assuming the total average voters is at 70%…………..

Wahhhhhhhhhhh! Just imagine how many mail voters we will have?????

How many phantom voters will we have??????????

The numbers really permits such abuse to occur!!!

And who say this will be a gentlemen’s game?

So obviously BN will be he ultimate winner!!! The numbers are already in front of you!

SAD! SAD! SAD!

28. #28 by parajurit sarawak on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 5:26 pm

Apai had a dream last night that PAS will win by a majority of 10,000 votes. I hope this dream will come true.

But, let’s wait for the result tonight.

Dreaming for a better future…..in Sarawak.

29. #29 by taiking on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 5:28 pm

Swing of malay votes? Not quite a swing but more a reversion I thought. They were very PASish in the first place and they were swayed by umno’s trick the last time. Then we saw a swing from PAS to Umno. Now I think they are simply reverting to PAS. 4%? I dont know. But by cow sense looks like a sensible margin of reversion. Turnout may not be as high though. So when translated into absolute numbers, we may not see 7000 but more like 5000 or a little less.

BTW its now 5:39 pm and voting already closed.

30. #30 by Jong on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 5:31 pm

Mafrel activists observed that campaigning activities were still ongoing today(Polling Day), which should have stopped last midnight and most of those who flaunt the law were VIP Lawmakers!

It is alleged they were Najib Tun Razak, Elizabeth Wong and Fauziah Salleh. Shame on you Lawmakers! You should know the law better and lead by example!

31. #31 by Anak KenyahLang on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 5:34 pm

PR may win. Next battle ground is Pensiangan then Sarawak.

Be End is on the way to sinking. Let it be … let it be… They had determined the journey so.

32. #32 by PSM on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 5:38 pm

Let’s be CLEAR on one thing…i.e. the BN (Read: UMNO) is NOT going to allow PAS to win!
    Do you think Rosmah (er…I mean Najib) is going to play fair? We all know that the BN has “means & ways” of cheating. They will use anything & everything & the EC lapdogs will help them do it also!
    All we can do now is pray the steps taken by PAS to ensure that BN does not cheat (& they have already uncovered a few) pays off.
    Continue to pray for the right candidate…i.e. the PAS candidate!

33. #33 by Jong on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 5:50 pm

Check out Mafrel’s website for updates

http://mafrel.wordpress.com

34. #34 by One4All4One on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 5:59 pm

A “prophecy”?

The workings for the prediction, however good they are, however logical they may seem, and the “facts and figures” by which the prediction was based on, no matter how they were arrived at…depend on the inclination of the person making the prediction. There is always a personal-bias, on the subconscious level.

We are essentially looking through coloured glass, or thinking through coloured judgment.

We arrive at what we look for. No matter how the results turn out to be, there will always be justification, alibi, reasons, excuses, answers, etc., etc. …

It is all pure conjecture appearing good…

Let’s just wait for the announcement.

Whatever will be will be…

35. #35 by wanderer on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 6:17 pm

chengho;

Good try BN running dog. Go and get your handout, it maybe your last!

36. #36 by Tonberry on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 6:44 pm

No way PAS to win by 7,000 majority. The author, Ong Kian Ming, overlooked the phantom voters.

I am a political analyst too. Terengganu have the highest humber of phantom voters. PAS could count itself lucky if they managed to capture this P36 seat.

37. #37 by somaris on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 7:51 pm

Dear all,
    its doesnt matter how many vote they win . all we want is that PAS must win. thats winning are important. We need to see the change is coming for the future.
    MAY GOD BLESS ALL OF US.

38. #38 by dapforever on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 8:08 pm

Extracted from malaysia today

Saturday, 17 January 2009 19:55

Latest from the PAS IT centre: Total votes counted = 43,060
    PAS = 22,030
    BN = 20,476
    IND = 134
    Spoilt = 420
    PAS leading by 1,554

39. #39 by dapforever on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 8:20 pm

Extracted from malaysia today

Latest from the PAS IT centre:

PAS = 23,640

BN = 21,614

PAS leading by 2,026

40. #40 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 8:35 pm

when did parti-pas.org go down? Google has a cached page from the 13th.

41. #41 by k1980 on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 8:37 pm

8.31pm: According to unofficial sources, Pas has taken a 2,700-majority lead with over 100 boxes out of 144 counted. Officially, Pas is in the lead by 200 votes.

Why such a big difference between official and unofficial results?

42. #42 by localgrad on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 8:58 pm

yo man,

It’s the common phenomenan that SPR delayed the official results which favour the opposition to keep their master happy, then they will recount and recount again in order to see what can be done to turn the situation, then if possible, they will try thier best to let BN to move in boxes full of BN’s votes. haha.

43. #43 by Luther on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 9:14 pm

PKR-PAS won by 2616 majority (unofficial)

44. #44 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 9:26 pm

OrangRojak Says:

Today at 13: 41.33 (6 hours ago)
    I’m going with a 1,500 majority for BN. I hope I’m wrong. It’s not an educated guess. I’ve had an education, but I sucked my finger and held it in the air for this one ….”

I think you meant ‘lick’ instead of ‘suck’. The results of the KT by-election may suck but we are likely to be left with that bitter taste in the mouth that there’s nothing that money cannot buy. How do I know? The Poles tell me.

“There is this phenomenon in the United States called Monday Morning Quarterback.” Ong

Yes, the smart ass pinhead who suddenly comes out of the woodwork to say to the rest of us, “Didn’t I tell ya”? – and when asked if he’s going to take that job says, “You betcha!”

The only problem is that Americans play football and Malaysians play soccer. They are not quite the same but Monday morning quarterbacking? It is like playing Mega Millions, writing down the winning numbers after the draw and then explaining how you got the numbers but missed placing the bets.

45. #45 by lee wee tak_ on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 9:31 pm

KT by-election results – PAS Wins
    Special Reports
    Posted by admin
    Saturday, 17 January 2009 20:11

Latest from the PAS IT centre:

PAS won by 2,616 (unofficial)

plucked from MT

46. #46 by taiking on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 9:38 pm

Star Online: today, 17 Jan 2009 at 21:45pm:-

“KUALA TERENGGANU: PAS candidate Mohd Abdul Wahid Endut has been declared the winner of the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat by-election by the Election Commission.

Wahid polled 32,883 votes to Barisan Nasional candidate Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Salleh who garnered 30,252 votes for a majority 2,631 win

Independent candidate Azharuddin Mamat received 193 votes.

With the victory, the Opposition now has 82 seats in Parliament. Barisan has 137 seats and the remaining three seats are held by independents.”

The wind of 308 not only is still blowing, it has gathered more velocity and strength.

47. #47 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 9:39 pm

PAS won by 2,631 (official) plucked from TV3.

48. #48 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 9:40 pm

Yes, soon relations of the Hindu scholar – all experts on religion and philosophy – will come out of the woodwork to make Clint Eastwood his day.

It is a good thing that Malaysians go to the polls to put crosses instead of punching holes. The thought of having to endure hanging chads for a good part of the year would be enough to drive most of us crazy. It drove Floridians crazy.

49. #49 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 9:42 pm

Jeffrey Says:

Today at 21: 39.28 (34 seconds ago)
    PAS won by 2,631 (official) plucked from TV3″

So money cannot buy every thing. My mon was right and my dad was wrong!

50. #50 by NOT DUMB MALAYSIAN on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 9:42 pm

THE PEOPLE HAVE SPOKEN.

For 50 long years, UMNO had been trying to shoot itself in the foot. To wit, Teresa Kok, Raja Petra, HINDRAF, Ahmad Ismail, vernacular Schools – too many to bear repeating here. The arrogance of Ketuanan Malayu and the defiling of the kris. The Race tactic and the current HUDUD tactics are now proven to have worn too thin. Malaysians do not bat an eyelid on these They are what they are – mindless scare tactics on non-issues from a morally and politically bankrupt party and its bum- sucking cohprts in the coalition. to be debunked and consigned to the dung heap of history.

2. In the KT Buy Election, the people have spoken and struck the final nail into the BN coffin. BN cannot reverse the full onslaught of the power of the people. Now Malaysian understand full the power of the power of the ballot and the true meaning of Democracy. Once understood they cannot be reversed.

51. #51 by voice on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 9:48 pm

Nope, not that much of majority as in the article, but 2000+ is not a small number, another blow to UMNO, the people of Johor and Pahang should wake up, vote UMNO/BN out next time! And they didn’t get the message from March 8 politcal tsunami last year, and will NEVER get it.

52. #52 by monsterball on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 9:50 pm

Great great news!! PAS won by more than 2000 votes.
    Tomorrow Najib’s speech will be something like this…” We accept the decision. It will inspire us to work harder…bla bla bla”….go home and cry like a baby,.
    Yes .he is UMNO’s PM….not Malaysians…to complete the “RAHMAN” prophecy.
    After 13th election ..”RAHMAN” new prophecy…will be…
    R…Right decisions from voters……Anwar Ibrahim.
    A…Already proven fair and just…..Anwar Ibrahim
    H…Holy cow! Malaysia never had it so good!…Anwar Ibrahim
    M…Malaysia Malaysian…finally arrive…..Anwar Ibrahim
    A…At last…we are at par with Asian countries…Anwar Ibrahim
    M….Malaysians want Lim Eng Guan to be PM..
    Anwar is happy…now…79 years old…..hahahahahahha
    Monsterball is long ..dead and gone…happy and contented….hahahahahaha

53. #53 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 9:51 pm

Good job I didn’t put any money on it!
    Congratulations and good job well done to all those campaigning for PR in KT.

54. #54 by KennyGan on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 10:01 pm

What happened BN? Bribery doesn’t work any more?

What happened Umno? You can’t win in a Malay majority area with all your pushing of Ketuanan Melayu and Malay special rights?

What happened MCA? Chinese doesn’t fear PAS and hudud anymore?

The result proves March 8 was not a fluke. The winds of change are blowing stronger

Umno/BN must change their political model of divide and rule and creating racial fear and mistrust or be swept away in the next G.E.

What has worked for 50 years doesn’t work anymore because the people are SICK OF RACIAL POLITICS!!

55. #55 by monsterball on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 10:05 pm

To me..the win is a clear message by Malaysians on Najib.
    He was involved…to be recognized and respected..as next PM.
    Voters rejected him. He is going to be UMNO’s PM…not Malaysians.
    He is going to create history for UMNO…to be PM ..not elected and he will pack off from Putrajaya…as fast as he will come in.
    Malaysians have enough of these wayang kulit stuffs from UMNO.
    Swearing by the Koran…have done him up.
    BRAVO Terenggannu voters!!
    Malaysians from all walks of life…salute your brave and wise decisions..excluding those blockheads voting for UMNO..fit to live in the jungle….with Limkamput..as your most educated ..hunting dog.
    I have high hopes…undergrade2 will change for the better. Lets see.

56. #56 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 10:11 pm

A combination of goodies, angpows, promise of development projects and other goodies, well tried Ketuanan policies, and well oiled BN machinery with internal strife within PR (between DAP’s Karpal secular stance vs Husam’s Hudud) also cannot secure a win?

BN mystique of invincibility has been – and continues to be – dymystified (since 308) and in its place the idea of change is gathering momentum, and once it gets a foothold and spreads, it becomes difficult for BN to fight an increasingly popular idea whose time has come.

There appears to be a shift of both Malay as well as Non Malay voters to PR/PAS candidate.

Of course UMNO could still think that it has not been parochial or racial or ‘Hudud’ enough to change the tide of Malay votes shifting against it.

That could be very wrong. It should be recollected in Pak Lah’s favour how in 2003 he procured an unprecedented over 90% BN majority of parliamentary seats: what was his message?

It was reforms by way (a) change from the ugly facets of political culture of Mahathirism associated with cronyism, abuse of power, patronage/corruption (b) politics where all Malaysians hav e aplace under the Malaysian sun.

Of course he did not deliver these but the promise of these secured him an unprecedented victory of over 90% of parliamentary majority.

This is clear indication for BN of the way to go. If it persists in its old ways, does not, like a tree, bend with and in the direction of the wind of change gathering momentum and strength, it will eventually find its trunk broken.

57. #57 by yhsiew on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 10:11 pm

Despite Pas win, Chinese support for Pas has dwindled. PR (esp DAP) must work harder to convince the Chinese what is wrong with BN.

58. #58 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 10:26 pm

While you’re flogging the dead horse of racial politics, I’d like to see the breakdown of support by in-breeding category. The PAS=Negara _Islam message seems fairly entrenched in one in-breeding category of my relatives and neighbours, hence my doubts over a PAS win I typed earlier. Perhaps PR need to come up with a unifying message that’s inclusive of the hopes of PAS’ constituency, but doesn’t sell DAP’s traditional support down the river. Just rejecting PAS’ occasional admissions of Islamic goals is going to send the message that DAP sympathisers should reject them too. You can’t go on rejecting PAS’ goals and asking your traditional support to vote for them.

59. #59 by monsterball on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 10:29 pm

Ong Kian Ming is so right..if there were no phantom voters…but they are there….for sure.
    Yes..Malaysians must now come out to vote…to see phantom voters cannot win.
    We now can rest and let Anwar sort things out with Hadi Awang and Karpal Singh. Which family does not quarrel?
    Bottom line..PAS….DAP and keDAILan…are totally committed to a United Malaysia…with no race discriminations. PAS do have non Muslims members ..not like UMNO.
    Now election over….hundreds of millions..our money… STOLEN..spent..easy come easy go…by UMNO…same style like.. Permatang Puah.
    But to see Terengganu voters accepted angpows from UMNO…..and rejected UMNO…..with the sixth sense to do things right….I sincerely apologize to jump to wrong conclusion.
    They sure have balls and are smart voters.
    Bless you all …..Terengganu smart voters…excluding UMNO’s blockheads…..simply vote with no brains.

60. #60 by wesuffer on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 10:34 pm

BN have about 2000 posting vote in hand. but still lost 2000++ majorities to PAS.
    ACTING PM IS PRESSURING NOW.

61. #61 by dapsupporter8888 on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 10:46 pm

As a Malaysian chinese, I am SO GLAD and HAPPY that PAS had won the KT by-election. This win speaks alot by itself on Malaysians feelings on the ruling coalition, BN.

Despite all the dirty tactics by the BN goons, the voters did not \buy\ them, neither did they fall into their trap. Despite the threat that Opposition might implement hudud laws, promise of more money for KT, etc, the voters were intelligent enough to make a wise decision.

I am so happy and proud of the KT people. CONGRATS to all of you who voted for PAS.

62. #62 by One4All4One on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 10:46 pm

IN VICTORY, COMES REALITY AND TRUE WORK:

PR component parties ( their leaders, especially ) MUST stop bickering among themselves and adopt a rapid and high learning curve to make sense of and to be worthy of the mandate given by the supporters across ALL racial and religious lines.

GREAT COMMENDATION AND KUDOS MUST GO TO THE RAKYAT.

The leaders of PR parties must close ranks and do whatever the rakyat wants, and NOT the other way round.

The rakyat do not live on ideologies, they live on nasi and lauk ( our equivalent of bread and butter ).

Let’s get real. There are a myriad of issues and everyday affairs and matters to look into. The rakyat are looking forward to actions and decisions which would help alleviate their conditions.

LIFE IS SO HARD FOR THE RAKYAT ( ESPECIALLY THE SMALL TRADERS AT MORNING AND NIGHT MARKETS ):

Enforcement officers are still making life hard for small traders at the “pasar pagi” and “pasar malam”, licensed or otherwise, who are eking out a living on their OWN accord.

Can’t the state and local authorities ensure that these helpless and pitiful souls be given the chance to earn a decent living?????? They are not the regularly employed who have the certainty of monthly take-home salaries. And they are not begging from anybody for help; they just need a place to do whatever small businesses just to keep going!

For the info of the Majlis-majlis Perbandaran, and the leaders at the highest levels, most of the traders are living a ” kais pagi makan pagi, kais petang makan petang” kind of existence, do they but know it.

Can’t the small traders be freed from paying the annual license fee? Certainly, the local councils do not rely on those small traders to earn revenues? Or perhaps, only a nominal sum should be collected from them, say for administrative processing and garbage disposal?

After all, isn’t the government encouraging the rakyat to be self-dependent? As long as those small traders do not go to the state government for funds and financial assistance, the rakyat has already done the government a big, big, favour! They are also contributing DIRECTLY to the economy of the state by creating employment, SELF-EMPLOYMENT TO BE EXACT! They are an asset to the state, not a burden.

Come on, elected ADUNs and MPs from PR, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE FOR THE RAKYAT UNTIL NOW SINCE MARCH 2008??????

Go to the morning markets in Puchong Jaya, Puchong Indah, Taman Mawar, Kinrara, etc. etc. See for yourself the hardship the traders have endured, especially those unlicensed ones. What can you as leaders elected by them do for them in return?????

Certainly, ACTION SPEAKS LOUDER THAN WORDS!!!

If you can’t even help these people who TRULY NEED HELP, then you are not worthy of being elected. Thought you are the “YANG BERUSAHA”. Don’t let the people down.

Don’t rest on your laurel, and just savour the election victory alone! You are there to help where help is needed. That should be the sole purpose to be elected. Hope you have not forgotten your election promises.

63. #63 by cemerlang on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 10:50 pm

Parti Islam SeMalaysia did it. Money is very important. But it has to be managed in such a way that it will benefit everyone, poor and rich alike.

64. #64 by ringthetill on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 10:51 pm

Not quite 8000 but 2631 will do! Even in defeat, they are still in denial. Where is the grace, where is the awakening, where is the change in attitude, where is the humility? Some people think they are born to rule.

65. #65 by alaneth on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 10:53 pm

You better watch out!
    You better not cry.
    Better not pout, I’m telling you why: …
    Hadi Awang’s Hudud is coming to town…

66. #66 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 10:54 pm

yhsiew said that “despite Pas win, Chinese support for Pas has dwindled”.

Is that really a fact?

I know MCA president Ong Tee Keat said that although BN was defeated in the by-election, the vote from the Chinese community however had increased compared with the March general election : (reference – Malaysiakini’s report “Official: PAS wins KT by 2,631 votes” uploaded Jan 17, 09 9:00am).

That is just what MCA president Ong Tee Keat claimed, which is contradicted by the following two reports:-

(1) In that same mentioned Malaysiakini report, it was reported at 8.13pm – “Unofficial PAS has won the Bandar state seat by 190-vote majority. This is the only state seat the party lost in the March general election. About 80 percent of the Chinese voters in the Kuala Terengganu constitutency are from Bandar…”

(2) Also according to a report latest filed by Adib Zulkapli of The MalaysianInsider (Jan 17) : “The turnaround for PAS shows that PAS not only m anaged to win over crucial Chinese votes, which went the BN’s way last year but also managed to claw back significant numbers of M alay votes which it had conceded to the ruling coalition previously.”

67. #67 by alaneth on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 10:57 pm

PAS is making a list,
    And checking it twice;
    Gonna find out
    Who’s naughty and nice.
    PAS Hudud is coming to town.

He sees you when you’re sleeping.
    He knows when you’re awake.
    He knows if you’ve been bad or good,
    So be good for goodness sake!

Oh, you better watch out!
    You better not cry.
    Better not vote PAS,
    I’m telling you why:
    Hudud is coming to town.

68. #68 by dapsupporter8888 on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 10:57 pm

Hopefully, the wins of change will now blow stronger across all hutans and jungles and highways to the north, i.e. Perlis; to the south, i.e. NS, Malacca & Johor; to the East, i.e. Pahang & Terengganu; AND across the South China Sea, i.e. Sabah & Sarawak.

I’d wait patiently for the day when Najib will have to pack off his belongings from Putrajaya and the day when that fat lady will not be called “The First Lady” anymore… Ooohhh!! My goose bumps and standing…

I’ll wait for the day when 2/3 of majority in Parliament belongs to PR and the day when each time Najib stands up to say something in Parliament (if EVER he gets elected again as an MP), he gets denied & “shot” down by the Dewan Speaker!! Ha ha!! Let him taste how PR have been feeling all this while in Parliament…

69. #69 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 11:00 pm

Pakatan Rakyat’s win in KT by-election gives a good enlightenment to DAP Sarawak. DAP leaders in Sarawak should work much harder to climb the mountains and sail the rivers in Sarawak from now on in order to build up their stamina and get ready for the next Sarawak State Election.

If we think we can, then it is highly possible that we surely can. I think DAP can form the next Sarawak State Government. Do you think whether DAP can? Sure can! Just work harder and be more people-oriented, OK!

70. #70 by Ardogan on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 11:04 pm

i want to ask why PAS accept the postal votes ?

ok , pas sudah win but what about the next election.

71. #71 by All For The Road on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 11:09 pm

A win is a win whatever it is! Congrats to the Pas candidate under the Pakatan Rakyat banner. One up, many more to come especially in Sarawak.

72. #72 by Better Future on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 11:10 pm

COngratulation to Pakatan Rakyat! The wind of change is coming very soon. But I am still wondering how come the media and the MCA running dog head claimed that the Chinese in KT had been back to BN. I thought vote is confidential how come BN know can we sue them in court.

73. #73 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 11:28 pm

The reward of winning the next Sarawak State Election will be very handsome and attractive since Sarawak State Government enjoys a lot of autonomous powers and privileges given by the Federal Constitution. Furthermore, Sarawak still owns plenty of untap natural resources such as virgin jungles, aerable lands and natural gas. Sarawak is really a prosperous new frontier awaiting for DAP members to bring forth a vision of forming a GOOD GOVERNMENT which pledges GOOD GOVERNANCE to all people.

The outcome of KT by-election gives us a good encouragement: The political will power of Rakyat in seeking for CHANGE will create a dynamic momentum which even Money Politics are not able to resist or impede.

So, will all DAP folks please get some early preparation and start to stock more ammunition from now on in order to launch a good attack on BN Sarawak in the next state election?

74. #74 by waterfrontcoolie on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 11:43 pm

If UMNO does not change,then we can all wait for the next GE or maybe the comong State Election in Sarawak would be an indicator! That is, if PR captures the State! It had been said for centuries, nothing is constant except change!
    By the way PR, though the result is better than good, unless you all do something in the 5 States you would not be much the same! Or have Malaysians need to look for the 3rd option!!
    Even in Selangor, with enough revenues from land development, the current going has left much to be desired. The road conditions in the major towns are still wanting. Cars are parked every where with no concern for other road users! Surely the State can do better than this. Surely more can be done to the agriculture development in all those States?

75. #75 by sirrganass on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 11:55 pm

Do you want BN to lose? Well, God has made PAS to win! And do you know that thousands of Malay rejects BN/UMNO? Not only DAP reject UMNO but 30,000 Malays in KT has already rejected it. Please understand you DAP hardcores: Thousands of Malay has voted for clean government, and they choose PAS, which is comparatively MORE HOLY and many times CLEANER than UMNO.

Congratulation PAKATAN RAKYAT!

It is recognised that DAP/PKR had also contributed to the success of Pakatan Rakyat in KT. Please continue working as a team for a better Malaysian Government…

PAS won with 2000 majority (BN got only 600 majority before) and BN lost 2000 voters !!!

We are the one who rejects BN collectively and we will proceed further to the end!

76. #76 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 17 January 2009 - 11:56 pm

OrangRojak Says:

Today at 22: 26.19 (1 hour ago)
    You can’t go on rejecting PAS’ goals and asking your traditional support to vote for them.”

Why not? Isn’t it all about logic and logical thinking??

77. #77 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 12:02 am

yhsiew Says:

Today at 22: 11.45 (1 hour ago)
    Despite Pas win, Chinese support for Pas has dwindl”

How did BN know this unless they must have been looking at ways how to make their ‘change’ method stick?? ‘Change’ of course meaning changing the outcome of the election after it has been decided.

78. #78 by NOT DUMB MALAYSIAN on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 12:15 am

MCA ONG TEE KIAT TALKS ONLY RIBBISH AND NONSENSE

As a bankrupt politician, he should SHUT UP and continue tp promote the internedine strife within MCA

79. #79 by Tonberry on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 12:28 am

haha. If Ong Ti Kus claimed the chinese votes have gone to BN, then explain the results in Bandar state seat. PAS have won there this time. Last time it was BN. The Chinese in Bandar have voted for PAS!

80. #80 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 12:35 am

First on the list for PAS after a win in KT – a new hosting plan at JARING.
    Come on guys, show us how a PR government could put a website up that works!

Why not? Isn’t it all about logic and logical thinking??
    Erm… yes. Sorry, I shouldn’t have typed so hastily. Quite forgot.

81. #81 by m.hwang on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 12:54 am

How can Chinese support for PAS dwindle when they won Bandar, the only state consti with sizeable Chinese voters?

Anyway 3 cheers for democracy and for the people of KT.

82. #82 by chengho on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 12:57 am

Now PAS can push their agenda of Huddud law…seem like the chinese doesn’t mind…

83. #83 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 1:01 am

There’s nothing wrong with pushinig. But when push comes to shove it is obvious that shove is gonna win!

84. #84 by boh-liao on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 1:06 am

NR now treated the loss of the Umno candidate lightly. Not a great deal. Don’t read too much into the loss. Not a no confidence on his leadership and soon-to-be PMship. No bearing on the next GE.

Ha, he forgot the C4-ed Altantuya Shaariibuu is watching over him.

Since he is so cocky, let’s hope that he will dissolve the parliament and call for the next GE to seek the rakyat’s mandate when he takes over from AAB as the Umno-appointed PM. Surely he wants to be the PM of the nation that has a parliament elected under his PMship.

Does he have the bola to do so? Or will the flower allow him to do so?

85. #85 by Tonberry on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 1:32 am

chengho Says:
    Now PAS can push their agenda of Huddud law…seem like the chinese doesn’t mind…

Feeling upset, eh? Now you & your Umno masters no longer can scare the chinese with the word hudud. If the Terengganu chinese is not scared, then other chinese from other parts of Bolehland shouldn’t be afraid too.

86. #86 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 2:12 am

Never mind the sore loser chengho. The real winners are the people of KT. New schools, new suraus, newly paved roads, hundreds of new contracts awarded, all sorts of freebies.

We must have by-elections everywhere so that the BN thieves can spend themselves to death – and still lose.

87. #87 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 2:22 am

can spend themselves to death
    those cheques not post-dated ma?

88. #88 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 2:25 am

Most of the cheques had already been cashed – such was the “confidence” that these recipients had in the by-election.

89. #89 by katdog on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 2:25 am

“Now PAS can push their agenda of Huddud law…seem like the chinese doesn’t mind…” – Chengho

Yes, PAS can push all they want. It is their ideal. We cannot deny them that.

However that doesn’t mean we the rakyat are doomed to accept PAS’ ideals. It is our choice as citizens how we wish the country to be run. In the end we decide.

UMNO robbed the country blind because the people allowed them to do so. We forget that in a democracy, UMNO only has as much power as what is given by the people. Unfortunately many people (especially chinese and indians) empowered BN to do whatever they liked to the country by voting them, but yet claimed they were powerless to do anything to stop the BN rampage.

But, let this be a reminder to PR, you have survived this one. However, eventually the issue will have to be settled one day. DAP-PKR-PAS needs to really sit down and start negotiating on an acceptable national policy or vision.

90. #90 by rockdaboat on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 2:34 am

That Takut political beggar from Make Chinese Angry cannot wait to claim credit, notwithstanding BN has lost the by-election.

chk chk chk, how pathetic.
    In Chinese, this is called Ah Q spirit, something similar to Shiok Sendiri.

91. #91 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 2:48 am

Ong Ta Kut quickly claimed that the percentage of Chinese voters who voted for BN actually increased. Typical of this beggar who keeps abrogating responsibility.

“Bukan gua punya problem” said the Mute Chinese Association.

92. #92 by rockdaboat on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 2:52 am

“Not a great deal. Don’t read too much into the loss. Not a no confidence on his leadership and soon-to-be PMship. No bearing on the next GE.” ?????

Those are what NR hope, but everybody know, deep inside him, NR knows the significance of KT by-election loss, i.e., rakyat don’t want him and BN’s days are numbered.

93. #93 by sans on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 2:53 am

heard from my cousin in Sabah that 10 teachers from the teachers training college in Sabah who were KT voters were ostensiously sent to a conference in KT but were encouraged to vote. There was nothing blatant but all teachers chosen to go to the KT conference were from KT themselves!

94. #94 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 3:40 am

The Lion of Jelutong shall roar no more!!

95. #95 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 5:53 am

when the new government takes over
    the current “ministers” should all be inverstigated
    and charged if necessary with corruption
    and gross incompetence.
    this goes even for the current prime minister.
    i think he should explain why so much taxpayer
    monies is spent on his residence.
    he’s utterly useless.

96. #96 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 5:56 am

what the prime minister told his
    candidate that he cannot return as his
    poltical secretary if he loses ah?
    wah big deal ah? he is only going to
    be prime minister for another two more
    months what. wah!!! what an ultimatum!!!
    so impressive. means business !
    moron!
    i think the current prime minister should be charged
    for massive incompetence.

97. #97 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 5:57 am

every single ringgit the thieves have looted
    has to be hunted down and returned.
    then pack them off to kamunting
    for treason.

98. #98 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 6:02 am

why??? want to use keris to fight people ah?

99. #99 by chiakchua on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 7:06 am

KT win is a big boost to PR. Congratulations to PAS! Let’s move on to focus on Sarawak from now!

Ong Takut is talking nonsense and in denial. He should work out how can PAS win Bandar state seat by 190+ votes compare to TCY’s last victory majority? Keep sidelining your deputy to gain Chinese support? You’re dead wrong!

100. #100 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 7:09 am

Ong Talk Kock what.
    what do you expect from such an
    ugly?

101. #101 by mohammadharrisjalil on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 8:00 am

# alaneth Says:
    Yesterday at 22: 57.29

PAS is making a list,
    And checking it twice;
    Gonna find out
    Who’s naughty and nice.
    PAS Hudud is coming to town.

He sees you when you’re sleeping.
    He knows when you’re awake.
    He knows if you’ve been bad or good,
    So be good for goodness sake!

Oh, you better watch out!
    You better not cry.
    Better not vote PAS,
    I’m telling you why:
    Hudud is coming to town.

# Chengho Says:
    Yesterday at 22: 57.29

“Now PAS can push their agenda of Huddud law…seem like the chinese doesn’t mind…”

Dear Mr Alaneth and Mr Chengho

Okay… when something bad happened to your chinese neighbor or your chinese friend, your chinese friend kena ragut or kena bunuh or kena rogol rapes etc…. you will accuse the Malays /muslims.. you will say that Malay /Muslim are bangsa orang orang jahat and you will tell your children how jahat we are! you will tell your children not to make friends with orang melayu/muslim… they will kill you…..tthe malays will rape you etc etc etc etc!

then when PAS wanna do huddud…. and that is terang terangan ARE ONLY FOR MALAY MUSLIMS and other MUSLIMS… even in Quran said that its ONLY FOR MUSLIM! …you will said … AGAIN…. we are bangsa orang orang Jahat…

why are you so scared of Hudud although it had been informed so many times that its is not for non muslim chinese. and other non muslim???? did you mencuri? did you kill anybody??? so, why are you so takut with hudud???? if you really curi something before…. PAS will not ever thinking of cutting your beautiful hand!!

i am not suprise if BN UMNO are so scared with Hudud because they MAKAN RASUAH, BOMB ALTANTUYA, KILL PEOPLE, UGUT PEOPLE etc etc etc…..

but why are you soooooo sooooo scared and worried?? are you muslim? People only scared of hudud only if they do something wrong!

and you pernah tengok orang cina at Kota Bharu had been forced to pakai tudung, had been forced to wrap every inches of her body like the locals??????

sorry guys if my comments is quite harsh… but i get pissed of sometimes with some bodoh sombong people….

102. #102 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 8:04 am

My guess was around 1000. The highest number here was 7000 and the lowest was like 500. Usually people said the average is the best guess. If we took the average of the highest and lowest, it would be 3750. The guess happened to be a high estimate.

Uncle Lim and DAP MPs tried hard for PKR, and this time for PAS, and next time for…..

103. #103 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 8:05 am

undergrad2 Says:
    Today at 03: 40.08 (4 hours ago) The Lion of Jelutong shall roar no more!!

Undergrad2, I suggest you shut up. The lion has every right to roar and roar. In fact after this he and all those with long term thinking should roar even louder. We are unlike you and godfather who can’t look beyond your nose. We don’t exchange thief with bigots, period. Keep your religions and your peace with god at home. For goodness sake, Malaysia must forever be a liberal secular democracy. History is not with the side of theocratic states. We don’t have to experience to know it. If DAP is not going to fight for this fundamental issue, it will definitely go the way of MCA or Gerakan. We are all aware that we are not happy with the present government for various reasons. That is no reason to exchange one baloney with another. Only nincompoops can’t see it.

This problem with this country is not just greed and corruption. These are mere manifestation. The mother and father of all ills that are inflicting this country are racism and bigotry. With racism and bigotry, there are no bounds for mediocrity, ineptness, corruption and inefficiency. Yes I know all. Didn’t I say PAS will win by around 3000 votes, way before the result was announced? Who is Ong Kian Ming? My forecast is 100% more accurate than his and I am not even a political analyst.

104. #104 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 8:08 am

sorry, should be… The problem with this country is not just greed and corruption. These are mere manifestation.

105. #105 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 8:22 am

The lion of Kg Attap roars and we are all having a splitting headache !

106. #106 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 8:24 am

Limkamput aka nincompoop: We are not worthy, we are simply in awe with your vision.

107. #107 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 8:30 am

Seriously, what is going to change with BN ? Wan Farid will go on to be either reappointed a senator or given a plum job as chairman of a GLC.

This is the way of people who are bankrupt of ideas and who do not understand the word “change”.

108. #108 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 8:34 am

The drama now move on to Sarawak. A big win for PR in Sarawak even if they don’t take the state will send Najib out the door and the shortest serving PM in history. UMNO need a visionary leader and Najib is not it.

109. #109 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 8:35 am

Let Najib fulfill the RAHMAN prophecy. Then send him out to pasture. With or without Rosemary.

110. #110 by ktteokt on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 9:05 am

Just wondering when BN, especially UMNO is going to change when it is dead clear that the WINDS OF CHANGE have blown and is very strong. BN’s failure in securing 2/3 majority in GE12 was one big blow! Losing Permatang Pauh is the second and now this, losing KT. All these are signs marking the end of BN but our so-called leaders are still in denial! This is especially true with UMNO and MCA who still think they can lead their respective communities and the country!

Carry on dreaming, BN till the end of the world. Denying failure can never solve your problems! Running away from problems is never the way a gentleman would fight!

111. #111 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 9:08 am

wah the prime minister of malaysia
    is on another holiday in the middle east lah!
    after getting another licking this cowardly person
    flees the country. is he a man or mouse?
    worse than a mouse!
    disgusting!

112. #112 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 9:10 am

God father what do you mean let him
    fulfill the rahman prohecy?
    he should be investigated and charged
    if necessary.

113. #113 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 9:25 am

Come March, N@jib will be PM, whether you like it or not. Who is going to charge him ? The AG ? N@jib may be PM for a day, for a month, for a year, or until the next elections in 2013. Nevertheless he will fulfill the RAHMAN prophecy. As the last PM from BN.

114. #114 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 9:35 am

Some of you mentioned about Sarawak. I think Sarawak is quite a different country. Many people are really afraid of PAS. That was why DAP did not perform well in the previous previous parliamentary election when SUPP links DAP to PAS and Hudud, up to a stage that DAP Sarawak had to deassociate themselves from PAS.

Many Chinese are gamblers (4D), eating pork and enjoy drinking. Of course, this is worst for the Iban/Dayak. A lot of the Chinese in Sibu are Christians and we lack adequate knowledge about Islam.

There are so many potong in Hudud that we are afraid of, part of the fear was due to the wrong advertisement from Afghanistan by the Taliban. Islam is a beautiful religion if you understand it properly. I myself enjoy learning about Islamic culture, visiting places where Islamic kingdom was once the greatest in the 7th-14th century,…I have been to many mosques over the world, although the Malaysian mosques rejected me. I would be willing to join Islam and experience it, but I am just afraid of one of the requirements: I need to get ‘potong’.

Islam and Christianity are two closest religions, putting aside some of the minor differences. They originated from the same bible and same story (Judaism and Islam are much more closer than Islam-Christianity). Even for some Chinese, we have to realise that Hinduism and Buddism are also very close. Buddism is derived from Hinduism, but most people did not realise it because they did not want to know about the real history.

115. #115 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 9:43 am

i mean when the new government takes over.
    clearly not now of course.
    and not just him. all the current and past ministers.

116. #116 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 9:47 am

and while we are about it
    the AG should also be investigated in future
    and investigated and charged if appropriate as well.

117. #117 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 9:49 am

and how do we know the current deputy prime minister
    will really take over in march?
    might not the same thing that caused the
    just concluded by-election to take place happen as well?

118. #118 by Lee Wang Yen on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 10:00 am

Jeffrey says:
    ‘yhsiew said that “despite Pas win, Chinese support for Pas has dwindled”.

Is that really a fact?’

Well, the Chinese version of Malaysiakini reports that BN wins in four other Chinese majority polling districts:
    1. Pulau Kambing – UMNO: 1223; PAS: 958
    2. Kampung Cina – 1125; 668
    3. Pejabat Bandaran – 843; 681
    4. Paya Bunga – 895; 680
    malaysiakini.com/news/96685

Of course, we await further analysis to answer the following two questions:
    1. whether BN wins the overall Chinese votes in this round
    2. Whether the percentage of Chinese votes for PAS is lower than that of 2008.

119. #119 by Lee Wang Yen on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 10:01 am

oops… ‘ the following two questions AS TO:’

120. #120 by earthdweller on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 10:08 am

cheng ho and friends, why you afraid of hudud? hudud court -it is only for muslims. non-muslims go to civil court. hudud is not about cutting hands. its about fairness and justice, so the many like us can sleep better as the minority criminals are made ‘public figure’ – literally, so we can get a real close look at them- after some caning, they can go back to their families (if they are not ashamed). so tax payers don’t have to feed them like our prison system now. no more free meals for criminals. money can put for better use. come and understand what is hudud- it means law as oradined by God. its is in the Quran. Just a few verses on hudud, but more on how one should behave in society. UMNO has succeeded in putting fear about hudud in people like you. But the Chinese of Terengganu knows better. They’ve been there since the Batu Bersurat. Learn from PAS, then you know the true Islam and true hudud. NOt from UMNO .

121. #121 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 10:11 am

wah limkamput
    you are an absolute certified
    veritable genius!
    a first rate banker, a top notch economist
    and a scintillating political analyst.
    who is ong kian meng? i tell you lah
    ong kian meng if he were standing beside you
    is a mere half baked malaysian political analyst
    studying at duke. still studying you know why?
    because unlike you he is not so much of a genius what!
    wah predictions so good. eh can give me 4D number
    or not?
    :)

122. #122 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 10:35 am

wah limkamput !
    suppose we have a scale indicating
    “accuracy” and “inaccuracy”.
    On this scale let : 0 denote complete inaccuracy
    and let : 1 denote complete inaccuracy.

Now the hald baked political analyst Ong Kian Meng
    is completey inaccurate. So his score on the scale
    is 0.

On the other hand, limkamput, you, being the
    luminating light and shining beacon of intelligence that you are,
    score 1 on the scale because you are COMPLETELY ACCURATE.
    ( as always! )

so on the scale you are 1-0 equivalent to 1 MORE
    accurate than him on the scale.
    lets consider the percentage times MORE accurate
    you are. we are forced to consider the quantity

1/x as x approaches 0. wah you know what that means?
    the limit of 1/x as x–>0 is unbounded. in other words
    percentages you are actually infinite times MORE accurate
    (not just 100%) than the half baked analyst!!!

wah!!! i stand in awe!!!

(p.s i have nothing against ong kian meng)

123. #123 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 10:36 am

erm i mean : 1 denotes complete accuracy …

124. #124 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 10:58 am

“We are all aware that we are not happy with the present government for various reasons. That is no reason to exchange one baloney with another. ” Mr Know It All

Wah, this guy is really torn between a rock and a hard place, simply because he cherishes his long service medal that he received while working for the Barang Naik government. Whenever he looks at his medal, his eyes mist up, wondering why he never got the finance position his skills so richly deserved.

Sorry lah, Mr Know It All, PR doesn’t have a position for you. Better to spend your time attracting visitors to your blog.

125. #125 by monsterball on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 11:20 am

And before MCA is picked as the scapegoat by UMNO……Ong Ta Kut..cunningly thanked the Chinese voters ……saying that…their support for MCA have increased.
    I wonder how he got this info.
    Such childish.. low class politics.

126. #126 by katdog on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 11:21 am

Next stop. Pensiangan, Sabah by-election (if it is called) :) Would PKR be able to deliver in this seat? Its a whole different ball game in East Malaysia.

127. #127 by zak_hammaad on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 11:59 am

Why must Pakatan exeggerate this figure 3-fold. 2,500 majority is good enough! Now we must see what the opposition does in KT to secure an even bigger majority in the next elections.

128. #128 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 12:13 pm

“We are unlike you and godfather who can’t look beyond your nose.” Limkaput

Can’t look beyond your nose??

Even after ingesting Viagra, I bet you if you were to face the wall your nose would be the only part of your anatomy to touch the wall.

129. #129 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 12:22 pm

Zak Hammaad:

Thank your hero Mamakthir for us. He easily gave us 1000 votes.

130. #130 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 12:23 pm

When Limkamput uses the word “we”, it makes me wonder if he is indeed a disgruntled Gerakan supporter. Or maybe Lim Keng Yaik in disguise !

131. #131 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 12:43 pm

This is the way of people who are bankrupt of ideas and who do not understand the word “change”. godfather

Yes change, change, change and more change. May I know where are we going? I have asked Sdr Lim earlier and he has not answered me. So, why don’t you tell me where are we going?

Computation, you must know by now I usually don’t engage with those lesser than me and you are one of them. My little finger is smarter than you in case you think highly of yourself. Please note that only Lee WY has the right to use numbers and equations here. You have not gone to Cambridge, so learn how to write proper English first.

132. #132 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 1:06 pm

Where are we going, asks Limkamput. How the hell would I know ? Kg Attap ? We are not worthy in your eyes.

133. #133 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 1:10 pm

When Limkamput uses the word “we”, it makes me wonder if he is indeed a disgruntled Gerakan supporter. Or maybe Lim Keng Yaik in disguise ! godfather @ thief theif theif

Go back to my records in this blog to see what I stand for. You fellows can’t differentiate the core and the periphery; short term expediency and long term sustainability; principles and hypocrisy. Let me give you an analogy: It is easy to say we love the Lord and will follow him. The moment we contemplate what loving the Lord and following him are all about, things become fuzzy and difficult. It is easy to get along when PR parties are still not in power (at the federal level). We must get this hudud and Islamic state sorted out while we still can or forever hold our peace. Read my lips.
    By the way, the PR controlled states have still not declared the assets of state executives and have done nothing much on the promised local election and the changes they wish to bring to local authorities. Please don’t blame everything on the federal government. The states are in the position to do something, please don’t bullsh!t us. I read that Penang now also wants a LCCT. That is clearly one of the most stupid to ask. Obviously, we are building airports to suit airlines rather than air passengers. Is Tony deciding and running air transportation policy in this country? PR or BN, if we are not careful, will turn out the same – racist, bigots, corrupt, inept, and succumbing to vested interests.

134. #134 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 1:13 pm

Read my lips. Watch my smart little finger. So says the wise one.

Are you watching my middle finger, Limkaput ? And the middle fingers of everyone else on this blog ?

135. #135 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 1:19 pm

The wise one who is telling everyone here to learn proper English doesn’t know how to spell the word “THIEF”. He’s p!ssed off because Kit didn’t answer his question of where PR is heading.

136. #136 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 1:43 pm

limkamput
    you sound pretty angry and hostile.
    just out of curiousity do you see any equations
    in my posts above? can you point them out?
    you seem pretty confident in yourself.
    here then is a challenge. do you know what i
    was talking about?

137. #137 by alaneth on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 2:32 pm

I never believe Hudud is only for Muslims. That is only for a start – maybe just to win votes. In the long run, they will surely go for a theocratic state. Next step is to be like Brunei – you can see the religious intolerance there (source : US Dept of State for freedom of religion worldwide), next will be like Iran then like Saudi.

138. #138 by monsterball on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 2:39 pm

I was also educated in Cambridge…spoke excellent English with right grammars and spellings.
    Found out…in Malaysia….UMNO politicians speak lousy English and are in control.
    Talk so much to them.. and read so much lousy English put out by them…..it became a way of like.
    I now speak Mangalish….Malaysian English.
    Limkamput have to survive with excellent English….like professors..yet keep putting out messages….no one understands.
    We are not aliens. We are Malaysians. So write…even a 6 year old can understand…you idiot.
    We must lean English to be at par with others.
    But in politics…Mangalish ….most acceptable.
    Do you know how to put out a message in Mangalish?

139. #139 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 2:49 pm

considering that limkamput declares that the

“mother and father of all ills that are inflicting this country are
    racism and bigotry”

it is quite surprising to note that he/she appears to be
    quite a bigot as well… or well maybe not all that
    surprising considering malaysia….

perhaps he/she is also contributing to the ill health
    of the nation….

140. #140 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 3:07 pm

zak_hammaad Says:

Today at 11: 59.02 (2 hours ago)
    Why must Pakatan exeggerate this figure 3-fold. 2,500 majority is good enough! Now we must see what the opposition does in KT to secure an even bigger majority in the next elections.”

According to one smart ass, DAP should leave PR and form another coalition. The KT victory shows that the formula is working and that he is in fact one dumb ass.

141. #141 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 4:09 pm

Yo dogs! Hear my digression
    I want to know why computation
    breaks his lines
    like he’s spittin’ rhymes
    In a gangsta rappin’ competition

I’ve got this mental image of computation wearing shades, holding his hand up in a gang sign, standing behind a diamond encrusted throne on which monsterball sits, wearing tons of rope-gold and huge rings on all his fingers.

Maybe it’s just me…

142. #142 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 4:26 pm

oh dear i am sorry about that.
    i am currently writing heaps of code.
    and of course code written with
    the lines are spaced out is easier to read and
    check for errors.

143. #143 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 6:09 pm

….and it is also far easier
    for Limkamput
    to understand.

144. #144 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 6:50 pm

Just be careful
    Lee Wang Yen
    does not stop
    your compilation
    at the first error
    he does not
    attempt fixup

145. #145 by computation on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 7:24 pm

heh heh heh

146. #146 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 8:05 pm

The reality is mosterball and computation can’t write in continuous prose. Phua tam sai people.

147. #147 by monsterball on Sunday, 18 January 2009 - 8:53 pm

So I am a half past six person……is that it?
    Godfather have coconut head..and so many are not intelligent enough to understand your messages.
    You see..when you have all those opinions about others…it is infact saying you are the biggest confirmed idiot here.

148. #148 by computation on Monday, 19 January 2009 - 12:24 am

limkamput just because you claim
    so, doesn’t make it so.
    it sounds like you are trying to convince
    yourself of that. you still haven’t answered
    my question.

149. #149 by computation on Monday, 19 January 2009 - 12:36 am

ok ok you still haven’t answered my questionS.

150. #150 by rainbowseahorse on Monday, 19 January 2009 - 9:58 am

My prediction of Majority Win for PAS x 2,952 votes ( +-2% error) at KT wasn’t so bad; yah!

Cheers!

151. #151 by undergrad2 on Monday, 19 January 2009 - 10:15 am

If Limkaput is my client, I’d not advise him to take the wtiness stand in his own defense. He would end up incriminating himself without realising it.