For starters, 5 reasons why MCA owes apology not only to Chinese voters in KT but to all Malaysians

In rejoinder to the demand by the MCA Vice President and Health Minister, Datuk Liow Tiong Lai that the DAP apologise to the Chinese voters in Kuala Terengganu for misleading them on the hudud issue, DAP had challenged MCA to a debate on “Who should apologise – MCA or DAP?” in Kuala Terengganu before the by-election on Saturday.

While DAP awaits the MCA response, let me give advance notice to the MCA leadership that there is a long catalogue of things MCA must apologise not only to the Malaysian Chinese in Kuala Terengganu but to all Malaysians, and it is most appropriate that this is done in Kuala Terengganu.

The catalogue of MCA failures and misdeeds range from the dismal performance of the current MCA leadership, the pathetic MCA record in Barisan Nasional, the shameful MCA failure to live up to the ideas and ideals of the MCA founding fathers like Tun Tan Cheng Lock to its shocking betrayal of the cardinal nation-building principles for Malaya and later Malaysia as embodied in the Merdeka “social contract” of 1957.

For a start, let me just cite five reasons why MCA owes not only the Malaysian Chinese but all Malaysians a fulsome apology.

Firstly, the failures of the present batch of MCA leaders in government.

1. RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout scandal. The continued cover-up of the RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) bail-out scandal by the MCA President and Transport Minister, Datuk Seri Ong Tee Kiat, although Ong had promised when he was appointed Transport Minister 10 months ago that he would “inform the rakyat about the true situation” about the PKFZ scandal.

Up till today, Ong is unable to answer the Five Questions about the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal which I had posed to him nine months ago after his public pledge to “tell all” about PKFZ, particularly about the history of impropriety in land transactions, illegal issue of Letters of Support, Cabinet bailouts and retrospective ratification of illegal decisions by the two previous Transport Ministers, Tun Ling Liong Sik and Datuk Seri Chong Kong Choy although he had all the answers without having to await the outcome of the PricewaterhouseCooper audit report.

Let Ong answer the Five Questions about the RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout scandal in Kuala Terengganu.

2. Worst dengue epidemic in Malaysia. Another MCA Ministerial failure, this time by the MCA Health Minister, Datuk Liow Tiong Lai, who had shown shocking indifference, unconcern and irresponsibility at the worst dengue epidemic in the nation’s history, recording the highest number of dengue cases and dengue deaths with 112 casualties last year.

3. Malaysians are no more safe in their own country. MCA boasts as the second most important party in the Barisan Nasional coalition. It has also a Deputy Home Minister. MCA must apologise and bear full responsibility for the serious breakdown of law-and-order in Malaysia, where with soaring crime, no one can feel safe any more in the country whether in the streets, public places or the privacy of their homes, and Malaysian citizens, tourists and investors have lost the two fundamental rights to be free from crime and the fear of crime.

MCA must also come forward to apologise for

(i) failing to stand up for meaningful police reforms to create an efficient, incorruptible, professional and world-class police service dedicated to the three core functions to keep crime low, eradicate corruption and protect human rights as by implementing the key recommendation of the Royal Police Commission, establishing the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC); and

(ii) the abuse of police powers like the recent arbitrary arrests under the Internal Security Act of Sin Chew senior reporter, Tan Hoon Cheng, DAP MP for Seputeh Teresa Kok and blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin; the police harassment of Jerit cyclists demanding national reforms and the arrests of peaceful demonstrators against the massacre of Palestinians in Gaza and Tamils in Sri Lanka.

4. Deteriorating education standards. Apart from being part of the Barisan Nasional government, MCA has also a Deputy Education Minister, pinning direct responsibility for the increasing educational woes in the country, with deteriorating educational standards as highlighted by the Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS) 2007 results (blacked out by the Education Ministry for over a month), continuing “brain drain” of the best and brightest in Malaysia at all levels of education and the continued discrimination against Chinese and Tamil primary schools in terms of fair and equitable government funding and development for all schools.

MCA owes Malaysian Chinese and all Malaysians an apology for the Barisan Nasional government’s failure to fully appreciate that a country’s educational system is a key element in establishing competitive advantage in an increasingly global economy – highlighted by Malaysian universities falling out of the world’s top 200 Universities (Times Higher Education Supplement ranking) and even the world’s best 500 Universities (Shanghai Jiao Tong Univeristy ranking).

5. Corruption As part of Barisan Nasional, MCA cannot disclaim responsibility for the deplorable state of corruption in Malaysia, with Malaysia’s ranking on Transparency International Corruption Perception Index plunging from No. 23 in 1995 to No. 37 in 2003 and lower to No. 47 in 2008 – with the high risk of Malaysia falling below the 50th ranking in coming years. Is MCA prepared to apologise to the Chinese voters in Kuala Terengganu and all Malaysians for such dismal record in accountability, transparency, integrity and good governance after half a century in power at the national level?

These five instances are just openers for there are many more reasons why MCA owes an abject apology not only to the Chinese voters in Kuala Terengganu but to all Malaysians for its dismal political record in government whether for the present or the past – which would be enumerated if MCA dares to accept the DAP challenge to a public debate in Kuala Terengganu on “Who should apologise – MCA or DAP?”

1. #1 by Lee Wang Yen on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 8:37 am

22. Sometimes I am asked what I intend to do next. I have only a limited political ambition; to see Malaysia prosper peacefully in a way that will benefit all including the Bumiputras who must have their fair share of the fruits of that prosperity; to see that the rights and the dignity of all are respected and protected; to see that the yearnings of the non-Malays to feel a sense of belonging and of being wanted as Malaysians in their own country is fully realized; to see that Compassion, which is the underlying teaching
    of my religion, becomes the central consideration in the formulating of public policies. Finally, as a lawyer, I want to see justice and the rule of law reestablished and flourishing. These are simple ambitions, I think. Given the results of the 8 March 2008 election, there is some hope that they will be fulfilled in my lifetime. The rakyat has shown that it wants democracy and all that it portends.

23. In the meantime I hope to do my part towards achieving this goal with a foundation I have set up called MyFuture Foundation. It is a vehicle that I hope will assist the young to articulate their Malaysian-ness through their support of the various community oriented projects that the foundation aims to undertake for the realization of a Bangsa Malaysia. It is a vehicle that will allow the people to express their rejection of narrow racist politics, and to show that the various races want to, and can be together as one
    people.
    24. Countries in South East Asia have gone through tumultuous change over the years, each having to endure different sets of challenges. We each have our own stories. I have tried in the time made available to me to tell you ours in Malaysia . Thank you.

Zaid Ibrahim

Wednesday, 7 January 2009

Island Ballroom, Shangri-La Hotel , Singapore

2. #2 by monsterball on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 9:00 am

Come on…Lee Wang Yen….don’t be shy.
    You want UMNO to rule us forever and you are contented to be second class citizen…as long as you can earn good living.

3. #3 by k1980 on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 9:19 am

BN must apologize to all Malaysians

Rating Agency Malaysia (RAM), the country’s leading credit rating service, has joined Citigroup in predicting a technical recession for Malaysia in the first and second quarter of the year.

Citigroup had said yesterday that Malaysia may slip into a technical recession in 2009. Citigroup Global Market has also downgraded its forecast for Malaysia’s 2009 gross domestic product (GDP) to 0.5 per cent from 3.1 per cent.

4. #4 by ktteokt on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 9:57 am

Just for a few instances, MCA ought to KNEEL down before the Chinese community to beg for forgiveness.

One of the most interesting events is the SUQIU incident where MCA, as part of the ruling coalition, accepted the terms of SUQIU but later turned back on its words after winning the GE! And as part of BN which pronounced SUQIU as communist!

Another event of interest is the closure of SJK(C) Damansara. When BN closed down the school, reasons offered by the government was that the school was unsuitably located, it was too near to the highway, making it dangerous for the school children and that it was too noisy. Having closed down the school for more than eight years, the government decided to re-open the school now. Have all the problems brought up by the government for closing down the school been solved yet?

Are there sound-proof fences set up around the school to prevent noise pollution? Has the highway been relocated to make it less dangerous for the school children? And what has made the “abandoned” school safer now for the school children? Has the closure of the school for 8 years made this school a “suitable” location?

MCA who claims to champion Chinese rights and “fight” for Chinese education should answer to the Chinese community on these issues but they have been keeping mum on these. Instead, they start to point fingers at others and accuse them of misdeed!

5. #5 by Godfather on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 10:54 am

Prof Lee Wang Yen is probably wishing that Zaid could join his Third Force called PD. No such luck. Zaid has thrown his weight behind PAS in the KT by-election.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/15983-zaid-ibrahim-joins-in-the-fray-for-pAS

6. #6 by Cinapek on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 11:29 am

Undergrad 2 says: “..It looks like PR has already lost the KT by-election. The Chinese have always been birds of fine weather…” in describing the massive goodies that the BN Govt has been dishing out in KT to buy votes.

Yes, it is standard operating procedure for BN to try to win by- elections in this manner. Ijok was a good example, So was Permatang Pauh. That is why it is a fact, though sounding morbid, that voters should pray their BN constituencies have by elections because that is when the gravy train rolls in. Unlike a GE when their resources have to distributed around, in a byelection, all the BN goodies can be concentrated in one place.

7. #7 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 11:33 am

The MCA lapdogs have played out the Chinese community in many fields. Besides selling our political rights,they have also betrayed us in education and economy.The koperasi fiasco in 1980’s and the perpetual shortage of trained teachers and classrooms in SRJK(C) are just two typical examples of their countless betrayals committed to the community.Taiwan being a truly democratic state is able to put in jail its ex head of state and Malaysia is definitely very far behind in this respect.Many of you might have watched the Astro Channel 317,8 to 10 am talk show and see how the taiwanese expose and discuss malpractice committed by political leaders without fear and favour.On the contrary,Malaysians
    because of the controlled MSM cannot speak their minds freely and
    the KT by election is therefore a tough battle for the opposition.

8. #8 by cemerlang on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 11:58 am

The constitution is at fault. Who asks you guys to put Islam and Malay rights into the constitution ? Now you get yourselves and we selves into hot soup. Whether it is hudud law kah or Islamic law kah, back before independence, you guys should have stopped it. At that time, you did not know that God will allow Islam to be this challenging. Well, what to do ? Nowadays it is Islam and Malay and their right to be this and to be that. What efficient, incorruptible, professional and world-class ? In reality, there is no efficency, no incorruptibility, no professionalism and no world class. If you have, you don’t have to wait for 50 years gone and 50 years to come to prove you have that. People who are efficient, people who have no corruption, people who are professional and people who are world class are unseen, unknown and unheard of. The useless ones out populated the useful ones. Continue to dream on. Change has not come to Malaysia or Malaya University. If it has, your ranking should not have fallen. Please wake the students up from their dreams to be the next Obama of Malaysia. In Malaysia, it is still an uphill battle. It is not a real change. It is just a modified situation. We still come back to square one.

9. #9 by hennesy on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 12:15 pm

I have absolutely no idea why, even after 60 years gaining independence from the colonials, renaming the country to MALAYSIA, we still refer ourselves as Malays, Chinese & Indians & etc. Aren’t we all suppose to be Malaysians? I guess one will only be a Malaysian when we go out of the country but when we are IN country, we are Malays, Chinese & Indian again. Huh!? Harlo Mr Government, I am not a Malay, Chinese or Indian. My parents were born here after Merdeka. I was born here after Merdeka. Can’t we be referred to as

Race: Malaysian, Ethnic: xxxxxx.

I didn’t come from China or India. I did not get to choose. But I have accepted the fact that I was born here & raised here as a Malaysian. I worked my ass off 12 hours a day, spend my hard earned money here to benefit fellow Malaysians. I don’t send my money back to China or India & I give my tax to the government as a good citizen do (How Mr Government choose to spend the tax revenue is another matter)

I hope the majority of M’sians have awaken after the March 2008 elections. We can not continue to support race based politics. As long as these race based powers exist, there will be no true harmony between the people. UMNO, MCA & MIC was a temporary solution to help the various ethnic people to settle into the then new country called Malaya until time permits for it’s citizens to rise up & form a truly multi-ethnic political party. UMNO, MCA & MIC was formed to ensure none of the major ethnic groups are neglected or frown upon (but it DID happened didn’t it?), therefore, I say END RACE BASED politics!!! They are past their due & is no longer relevant in this time & age.

10. #10 by alhafar on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 1:16 pm

Aiya, MCA is just playing the PAS is the islamic demon and DAP is the sellout card again, when the real sellouts are MCA. Their people are totally incompetent. A friend once made an official request to a high ranking MCA ministry personnel, and the fella had the cheek to ask, after reading the detailed letter, what exactly do you want?. I bet his previous job was chicken seller who had done good to garner votes for MCA. In the end he agreed to get the fund application approved but my friend had to pay 30% admin fee. What admin fee? This is the government right? Frankly I’d rather give PAS and DAP the chance to work out the islamic law issue, and if it works against us, I will leave the country in that eventuality. If Barisan continues to manage things the way they do now, I may just leave right away.

11. #11 by Jong on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 2:07 pm

gosh Lee Wang Yen, why can’t you just give the link and those interested may hop over. It’s a long one and taking so much space here.

12. #12 by Jong on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 2:21 pm

Interesting,

“25000 laptops for free to all year 5 students by April next year. After that, a factory will be set up to manufacture 10000 units of laptops per month which are to be distributed to students in year 1, 2, 3 and 4. The first batch of 25000 laptops will cost the state government RM30 million.”

- Rosmah got the contract? Not again!

13. #13 by k1980 on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 3:01 pm

25,000 laptops will cost the state government RM30 million.

Snatch thieves are going to have a carnival grabbing laptops from those 7 to 11 year old kiddies… :sigh: Lots of second-hand laptop stalls going to spring up in the markets soon… :sigh:

14. #14 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 4:08 pm

Sorry for Off topic:

PKR de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim hinted again at a ceramah in Pasir Panjang near Kuala Terengganu last night that eight BN MPs might join Pakatan.

“As you know we want to increase our numbers. But as the Kelantanese say kohol-kohol, bit by bit, one by one,” he said.

Anwar said Pakatan Rakyat now has two defectors in Sabah, six more in Sarawak and another two from unidentified states are on the way.

“With one more from Kuala Terengganu, we would have 93 and then there would be change,” he said, prompting cheers from the crowd of about 600″ – Ref Report filed by Andrew Ong of Malaysiakini| Jan 15, 09 11:44am.

Is this true or bull again???? :)

15. #15 by shah pinang on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 4:16 pm

cemerlang….. ‘you guys’ ? who exactly are you referring to?? and what’s wrong with Islam and Malay wanting ‘this and that’ – and by that i didn’t mean umnoputeras/BN philosophy of ” we …selective Malays…and…chinese and indian….and sabah and sarawak bumis can and must get rich whilst others can go to hell-literally”.
    common stop with the generalisations. I am a Malay(and muslim)-there are chinese and indian muslims and vis-a-vis and yes shamely enough perhaps am DNA-coded to be a bit ….’layu’-but then can we not now express our desire to be at par or better than other races? and thank god for “you guys” for incorporating that clause in the constitution or I won’t be here talking to you in a confident and articulate manner. Don’t get me wrong, this is not about ‘Ketuanan Melayu’. Ketuanan of any kind is preposterous and of no difference when we were colonised/invaded/terrorised by the British,Japanese and the Communist Party. But there’s nothing wrong,surely for the Malays and Malaysian in general to aspire to have ‘Kepimpinan Melayu’. Personally, the biggest mistake “you guys” have done was not to include the chinese and the indians,baba,nyonya and other ‘legitimate’ bumis as ‘bumiputera’. and please don’t start the argument that ‘we’ wanted a ‘jus soli’ arrangement but ‘you’ are the ones with your Union and all…..
    circumstances at the time shaped the history that we know today and if at all “you guys” carry equal blame of not being able to ‘relate’ to each other and understand their fears and inadequacy. But, you might argue its easy for me to say, being born into a more peaceful Malaysia but hey lets learn from history…instead of blaming history.

Change has come to Malaysia. That is why you are seeing me, self confessed ‘PAS symphatizer’ and at the same time a DAP voter-here giving my views and comments without prejudice and without fear. More important Pakatan Rakyat is en route to complete the ‘process of change’ and we need to do some very important ’soul-searching’ to address any shortcomings in Pakatan lest we ‘come back to square one’.

Malaysian varsities are not as ‘bad’ as you painted it, yes the rankings (though be a bit ‘objective’ than just basing your argument on rankings) are bad etc and yes Singaporean and Hong Kong universities are force to be reckoned with (and we should be following in their footsteps)…..
    but its not rocket science….its the people ‘up there’ who needs to be ‘kicked out’…and obviously all the ‘hindering’ policies that comes with them. YM Professor Ungku A.Aziz, Professor Emeritus Tan Sri Dr Khoo Kay Kim,Prof. Dr. John Arul Phillips
    (and on separate list) my wife, Dr.Sun,Dr.Dio, Loo and Dev the nurse et al (friends of mine) all turn out alright graduating from Malaysian Universities(just to make a point).Some of these same people are lecturing our under/postgraduates and from what i have heard there are many of ‘them’-the ‘useful ones’ out there.BUT as i have said the minority ‘useless ones’ ‘up there’ (right up to the Menteri) who are making their life difficult-from unnecessary bureaucracy, appointing cronies as Vice Chancellor/Head of School to unjust termination.Mind you my wife, a malay with all the glorious so call ‘rights’ that come with it,suffered the same fate as Prof Ramasamy recently. F to Umno/BNputeras.(you can interpret the F whichever you see fit).

Anyhow, it will be accurate to insinuate that the ‘quality’ of the university will continue to suffer if the ‘useful people’ are not allowed to do their job or behave like they are supposed to i.e. intellects rather having to put up with politics.

16. #16 by Jong on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 5:12 pm

“Is this true or bull again????” :D – Jeffrey

I do hear thunder claps, obviously there’s action in the cosmos, can’t you feel the energy? :D

17. #17 by monsterball on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 8:25 pm

Jeffery…Anwar is not so stupid to bullshit ….like UMNO guys.
    What he announced….even on previous occasions….were all true….but people can be bought.
    So he failed.and kept quiet…for the love of peace and harmony.
    All are inspired by Mahatma Gandhi …non violence …to free India.
    Actually UMNO love to see Anwar loose his temper…go to the streets and shout for justice.
    That will be UMNO greatest victory..in dirty politics..to irritate him.
    Police are building up fears….for that event to come.
    Anwar will never fall that cheap stunt..
    Now he announced what he received..plus openly said….UMNO is buying votes.
    Do you believe UMNO is doing that..buying votes?
    I was in Permatang Pauh and saw Albar given
    “bonus” to muslims workers…hundreds of them in a hotel.
    Why do that on election time?
    UMNO will surely work hard to find out….who these crossovers are and use….what Mahathir have said….”money is power”..again.
    Bottom line..Anwar is no fool.
    Politicians may break their promises to him…but he knows vast majority Malaysian voters are solidly behind him….hungry to change the government….coming ..13th election.

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 8:28 pm

Jong Says:
    Today at 14: 07.30 (5 hours ago)
    “Gosh Lee Wang Yen, why can’t you just give the link and those interested may hop over. It’s a long one and taking so much space here.”

After all those flashes of ‘brilliance’ the guy has a right to be dumb once in a while.

19. #19 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 8:55 pm

cemerlang Says:

Today at 11: 58.24 (8 hours ago)
    The constitution is at fault. Who asks you guys to put Islam and Malay rights into the constitution ? Now you get yourselves and we selves into hot soup. Whether it is hudud law kah or Islamic law kah…”

Kah kah kah!! :)

20. #20 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 8:59 pm

“Is this true or bull again????” Jeffrey QC

Truth has but one version. With ‘bull’ you can never be sure. There are bulls and there are bears.

21. #21 by Jong on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 9:05 pm

I had this stuck on moderation since 3 hrs ago, just because there were two simleys! I now remove it, guess it’ll work.

Jong Says: Your comment is awaiting moderation.

Today at 17: 12.33 (3 hours ago)
    “Is this true or bull again????” – Jeffrey

I do hear thunder claps, obviously there’s action in the cosmos, can’t you feel the energy?

22. #22 by Jong on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 9:06 pm

It works!

23. #23 by ktteokt on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 10:27 pm

I still remember before GE12 that UMNO made it loud and clear it does not need Chinese votes! Now I know how these guys in UMNO fair in Mathematics!

If UMNO does not want the 30% Chinese votes, and it has totally lost the 10% Indian votes (after the Hindraf incident), it is only left with 60% Malay and other bumiputra votes. Now out of this 60%, it has to share among PKR and PAS, so just how many percent is left for UMNO? Sure they will lose! Go back to secondary school to improve your Mathematics before calling yourselves “leaders” of the nation!

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 15 January 2009 - 11:02 pm

What kind of energy are you talking about, Jong?

Kinetic energy – Kamasutra version? Remember the truth has but only one version. Kamasutra has many versions.

25. #25 by computation on Friday, 16 January 2009 - 4:12 am

Liow Tiong Lai shut up lah!
    you stinking odious creature.
    you owe malaysians an apology
    for the disgraceful way your ministry
    is handling the dengue fever menace.
    you moron!

26. #26 by computation on Friday, 16 January 2009 - 4:26 am

shah pinang
    i disagre with you when you say that
    malaysian universities are not all that bad.
    they are bad. and not only that they are hidelously
    bad! its really annoying when malaysians
    try to defend an instituition because they are associated with
    it or feel some pride (misguided) being attached to it.

you trot out the same old names of supposedly
    “illustrious” former academics. its been done a million
    times ad nauseum lah. seriously lah move beyong the past
    and stop drawing wrong conclusions based on
    “we had so and so”. for every one of these
    so called PAST illustrious luminaries you will have 30
    CURRENT more well known and more
    highly regarded people at NUS.

and what is annoying is that the so called malaysian
    lights of academia that you keeps getting pulled
    out tend to be in the field of hummanities or whatever.
    can you give me a few in science from the long dead
    past? what about currently?

and also come on much has been said about the famous
    ” royal professor ” ungku azziz. wasn’t he the one who
    recommended the misguided shift to education in the
    malay language. so where has that led the malaysian
    people today? misguided pride and nationalism in my opinion.

wake up!

27. #27 by computation on Friday, 16 January 2009 - 4:31 am

sorry “hideously bad”

and what is annoying is that the so called malaysian
    lights of academia that keeps getting pulled
    out tend to be in the field of hummanities or whatever.
    can you give me a few in science…
    in mathematics, physics, engineering, chemistry
    computer science? do you even know the quality
    of staff down south? the staff in the hard sciences
    at malaysian universities will only be fit to be senior
    tutors (not lecturers) at NUS and even then
    “senior” by dint of their merely their age.

i know these are strong opinions. and quite hurtful.
    but seriously unless you really know what you are talking about
    you should not make these erroneous statements
    becasue the younger generation need to be aware of
    how much malaysia needs to catch up.

you are doing no one any favours by trying to pour balm
    on a deep wound.

28. #28 by computation on Friday, 16 January 2009 - 5:01 am

i rather let chua soi lek
    hang about in his bed with his
    personal friends.
    Ong Talk Kock why? you want his personal friend
    to be your friend is it? jealous ah?
    at least i can sleep happily in mine
    knowing that the mosquitos won’t
    kill me!

29. #29 by Bigjoe on Friday, 16 January 2009 - 8:35 am

Going by the news this morning, I believe the KT Chinese vote is pretty much in the bag for PR but of course it should not be taken for granted and Sdr. Lim is not letting up.

I would however you take a different possible tack.Its also clear UMNO is now pinning its hope by mostly going after the Malay vote in the final leg of the election. The Malay vote appear to be split BUT final campaigning could swing it to BN making every single Chinese vote count.

The KT Chinese have a huge opportunity to send a message to UMNO. If the Malay vote split, it means that UMNO has not recover from Mac 8 and if KT Chinese vote PR, the national consience will shift to Sarawak in the next 12 month which is ripe for the picking by PR. If Sarawak come even close to the edge of losing to PR, UMNO will be thrown into chaos, Najib will be hard pressed to hang on and if he falls, UMNO will self-destruct. UMNO is not designed for marginal rule, it must dominate or it will fall apart. Their feudal system does not work when the party and their top leader is weak.

So KT Chinese could be the first of two step in actually ending UMNO rule meaning they almost guarantee reform of somesort nationally by their vote which is what is most important.

But the Malay vote has to hold, so tell Karpal to shut up for now!!!

30. #30 by merdekablog on Friday, 16 January 2009 - 8:55 am

31. #31 by computation on Friday, 16 January 2009 - 9:00 am

oooii karpal!!!!
    hush up for a while lah!
    heh heh heh

32. #32 by FY Lim on Friday, 16 January 2009 - 12:45 pm

For MCA, the recently reopened SRJK(C) Damansara showed that the former PJ Utara MP Chew Mei Fun was at the opening of the school together with the Deputy Education Minister Wee Ka Siong.

This the two MCA reps. want to hog the limelight.

But where was MCA and YB Chew Mei Fun who was the MP for PJ Utara then, when the Education Ministry decided to close this school ? Were they at the school arguing the case against the closure ? Kept quiet like a mouse ! The MCA and YB Chew left the school PTA and the school Board of Management to fight a losing battle with the Education Ministry. What a sad day !

By the way, the SRJK (C) Damansara is located within YB’s Chew Mei Fun’s constituency.

Anyway, the reasons given for the closure of the school does not hold much water. There are deeper reasons than that. You know what ?

The land around this area is skyrocketing like no body business and there are a group aligned to MCA interested in this piece of land like what the MIC and Gerakan did in Bandar Utama. MIC acquired part of the area allocated for an Indian school whilst Gerakan took the Telecoms reserve land. Very lucrative politics within BN.

At the same time, these set of people in MCA, Gearkan and MIC is telling the world ” I am fighting for your interest “.

Poda-lah

33. #33 by k1980 on Friday, 16 January 2009 - 1:39 pm

SRJK(C) Damansara PTA did not “feed” Chew with a RM10,000 salary per month plus a chauffeured car like Azalina did. Remember, when dealing with the mca, you must fill their pockets with $$$

34. #34 by Bobster on Friday, 16 January 2009 - 5:17 pm

Shameless Ong Ti Kus, Toh Tsu Kun (Pokok Tumbang), Liow Tiong Lai, Ng Yen Yen and cronies (partime Minister of Travel aka Ms Chew Monetary Fun) standing side by side with UMMO in photo taking.

You are FIRE! – Entire Chinese Community of Malaysia

35. #35 by grace on Monday, 19 January 2009 - 11:21 am

MCA is NO MORE RELEVANT TO THE CHINESE!Gerakan too is out!