Baradan – Comment is free but facts are sacred

Just phoned Baradan Kuppusamy whose “Analysis” in the Star today made the mischievous claim that I had defended hudud and qisas laws as they apply only for Muslims.

He has also dragged DAP National Organising Secretary and MP for Seputeh Teresa Kok into the picture, alleging that she had taken the same stand.

When I spoke to Baradan, he said he had not read the Star.

I asked Baradan when I had ever made such a claim. He said he read it in a report but he was unable to recall which report.

As a veteran journalist, Baradan should know the important maxim for ethical and responsible journalism – Comment is free but facts are sacred.

I will like to know what is the news report which Baradan is claiming as his source and authority as neither Teresa nor I had ever made the claim he had alleged.

Is Baradan prepared to do the most decent thing and get a correction published prominently and immediately in the Star?

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 11 January 2009 - 11:48 pm

Looks like you are applying logical inference :)

2. #2 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 11 January 2009 - 11:53 pm

If you search for “beth din bbc” on google – the top 2 results are quite interesting. All about alternative (religious / cultural) courts in the UK. The UK’s secular law provides for civil cases to be settled before any ‘agreed 3rd party’, apparently, and is binding – that’s a surprise. There’s one example of a criminal case, but it sounds more like the cultural (Somali) court acted as arbiters.

Thanks for entertaining the idea. I’m new here, aren’t I?

3. #3 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 January 2009 - 11:56 pm

Jeffrey QC,

But all of us here have been found wanting and need lessons in logical thinking. Remember??

4. #4 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 January 2009 - 11:57 pm

limkamput Says:
    Today at 18: 48.47 (4 hours ago)
    “Anyway, if i do not further debate with you (Godfather) for the next few days it is because i have to earn a living.”

Yes I too have to earn a living. Lining up to cash my welfare checks is a hard enough job.

5. #5 by OrangRojak on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 12:02 am

undergrad2 – does the welfare know you’re receiving payments from BN? I suspect FY Lim will be earning his $500 ‘whistleblower’ reward as we type.

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 12:05 am

I mean being first mentioned – and first thought of (read, priority ranking) – in this ‘honours’ roll of “paid spinmasters by MCA and BN”. :)

7. #7 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 12:36 am

“OrangRojak Says:

Today at 00: 02.55 (29 minutes ago)
    undergrad2 – does the welfare know you’re receiving payments from BN? I suspect FY Lim will be earning his $500 ‘whistleblower’ reward as we type.”

The only instrument he’ll not be blowing is the whistle.

8. #8 by Jong on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 1:26 am

“paid spinmasters by MCA and BN –
    Undergrad2
    Jefferey
    Jong
    ChenHo
    Lee Wang Yen
    and others to be named later ”

- The hunters got huntered? LoL !!!!!

9. #9 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 4:14 am

But he did say “spin” didn’t he??

10. #10 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 5:51 am

” PAS is not in power. PAS can never be in power. PAS has only 23 seats in Parliament. Even if it wins the Kuala Terengganu by-election it will still only be 24 seats. PAS can never win more than 30 seats in Parliament. Even in the best of times, like in 1999, it won only 27 Parliament seats. PAS can never go beyond 30 seats. Anyway, every general election, PAS contests only 60 seats. So how can it win more than that?” RPK

Now what has the toothy, bespectacled young upstart from Cambridge, whose only experience in politics is putting ink to paper and coming out with fancy equations and useless theories on logical thinking has to say??

Let’s see how he convinces the rest of us that logical thinking would be the solution and logical thinking to him means that DAP should never partner a party like PAS, and should leave the political coalition it now finds itself in and form a third coalition?? Haven’t we suffered enough under BN rule whilst he’s earning his paper qualifications within the four walls of one the world’s oldest institution of learning in the western hemisphere?? The rest of us poor semi-educated and semi-literate suffering mortals do not have the luxury of time, as he does, to want to wait to perfect the union that he sees only in his dreams.

11. #11 by Godfather on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 7:53 am

What the president of PD would say are the following:

1. Past performance does not guarantee future performance e.g. PAS historically has contested no more than 60 seats, but it could contest 180 seats in the future;

2. Suffering under BN rule is preferable to suffering under PAS rule;

3. The country will go to the dogs under PAS as no Islamic state has ever made it to the first world;

4. PAS will kill the democratic systems as we know it as Islamic principles will conflict with constitutional rights.

President Lee will also say that his third force PD is the best and most logical option for the semi-literate in Bolehland.

12. #12 by Bigjoe on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 8:19 am

Sdr. Lim certaintly is justified to attack Baradan Kupusamy. But what do you do if you are an Indian journalist trying to make it? The truth is while all Indian professionals aspire to be like Tony Fernandes, most of them realistically follow the likes of Samy Vellu. Look at Hindraf and how they still cling to the hope of working with BN although its not workable given where they already are.

The only other option really for Baradan given his personal goal is to leave this country which most likely the choice is pretty mediocre for him given his track record, a track record largely forced by circumstances and lack of strong personal character.

13. #13 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 8:34 am

Godfather,

Your 1) – 4) are the number of times he engages in intellectual masturbation.

14. #14 by yhsiew on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 9:10 am

I will not read Baradan Kuppusamy’s commentaries anymore in future.

15. #15 by limkamput on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 2:36 pm

Yes I too have to earn a living. Lining up to cash my welfare checks is a hard enough job. undergrad2

Yes, you are exactly right, you leverage on the US system and the US leverage on the world’s poorest countries.

You must be limkamput in disguise since his name is not here. undergrad2

Please give some credit to FY Lim. There is only one Limkamput. Unlike you, other than Undergrad2, what about diaperhead, bodo, bernatte, and others? When are you going to use it. Sorry i really have to go, mine is more than cashing the welfare check.

16. #16 by Jong on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 4:29 pm

17. #17 by OrangRojak on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 8:26 pm

OK, just so long as I don’t have to relax while Freddy Mercury is around

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZbIcfFD30Ms

LOL captcha: “the windup”

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 8:40 pm

Jong,

I think you meant ‘decompress’. Boy George stresses me up :)

19. #19 by OrangRojak on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 9:06 pm

undergrad2: Boy George stresses me up
    Stresses you out, or dresses you up?
    It’s important, you know!

20. #20 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 9:48 pm

Jong knows!

21. #21 by Jong on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 10:15 pm

undergrad2,

Thanks for correcting, yes the word “decompress” should be used.

What do you mean I know? Nah I don’t know anything, it’s Rosmah, remember? :D

22. #22 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 10:22 pm

I was Rosmah’s first. Rosmah is not my first! :)

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 January 2009 - 10:24 pm

No, I don’t remember!

24. #24 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 13 January 2009 - 10:03 am

What do you expect written by a paper controlled by one of BN’s component parties? Nothing else but propaganda of course!

Comments are closed.