Most intriguing.
MCA has not given up.
The stance of the MCA President Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat is being echoed by his underlings with the MCA leadership continuing to plug the line that the DAP should boycott the Kuala Terengganu by-election over PAS agenda on hudud.
Of course, no indication that MCA would boycott the by-election although there is no renunciation by the UMNO leadership of a series of hegemonistic agendas, whether the “929 Declaration” that Malaysia is an Islamic state or “ketuanan Melayu”.
Forty hours to nomination in Kuala Terengganu by-election on Tuesday morning.
Meanwhile, let the blogosphere respond to the MCA stance – for or against, the pros and cons, merits and demerits as to whether DAP should boycott Kuala Terengganu by-election over PAS agenda on hudud..

#1 by khairi ali on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 6:47 pm
But, as I see it, Malaysia is everything. She’s not just Islamic state, or ketuanan Melayu, but also multiracial, multicultural, democratic, kingship, freedom of choice… and many many more. Even DAP, whos democratic belief is more towards socialist ideology, is allowed to participate.
So, why must we stifle ourself on issues created to disrupt the unity that all Malaysians are enjoying right now? Afterall Malaysians are willing to give DAP a chance to rule/govern, and fight against that corrupt practices… but of course, as long as DAP do not disrupt the present harmony Malaysian enjoyed.
#2 by Saint on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 7:01 pm
Saudara Kit, you must be joking in asking us if DAP should boycott KT
MCA is bankrupt and are praying you stay away from KT.
The public there will not support UMNO. Go and roar your heart out. And good luck to all of you in PK.
#3 by a-malaysian on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 7:11 pm
To me mca is dead and buried, why bother to entertain someone who is dead and gone.
Hudud or no hudud can be discussed and solve within PR and does not require umno/bn consent. mca had already accept umno call that Malaysia is an islamic country, why do a dead mca crying about this hudud matter.
DAP MUST NOT BOYCOTT KT BY-ELECTION FOR WHATEVER REASONS THERE MAY BE. DAP MUST STAND TOGETHER WITHIN PR FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE. KT MUST BE WON BY PAS BY ALL MEANS
Malaysia For All
GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for the past fifty one years.
#4 by Mr Smith on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 7:13 pm
MCA is barking at the moon like a mad dog. Just ignore the goons. DAP’s stand on Hudud and Islamic State is crystal clear.
This tsunami momentum must go on and DAP has to play its role in winning Chinese support for Pakatan in KT.
#5 by cazz on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 7:15 pm
Full support from DAP to back PAS of course!
Compared to great target of getting the country back on to progressive track, hudud or not hudud is trivial.
It is understandable why DAP opposed implementation of hudud as it would mean converting the state into an Islamic State, and Ismalic State is unconstitutional, at least it still is unless there is a constitution re-write. It is a matter of DAP holding on to principle.
If one day, should it come to a stage that PAS accruer enough madate to implement hudud, that would have been a choosing by rakyat. When that day comes, UMNO ministers should be more terrified then anyone else as they will get their arms amputated for stealing so much from the people.
#6 by jedyoong on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 7:29 pm
Hi YB
What is the MCA Health Minister doing about Sime Darby “Piratisation” of our Institut Jantung Negara?
Sekian.
#7 by monsterball on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 7:36 pm
Ong Ta Kut needs to talk something to prove to UMNO…he is in or out..of BN.
Out gone case.
But at least we know….what MCA people are made of…with such a President of their party.
DAP will support PAS…and DAP carry alot of weight with the Chinese voters.
MCA is exactly like Samy Vellu..at Lunas..talk big with no influences over Chinese voters.
I wish Ong Ta Kut will say..if UMNO looses..he will stay at that place forever….like Samy in Lunas.
#8 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 7:39 pm
Kit:
The CEC should simply come out into the open and state clearly that the DAP is going all out to support the PAS candidate. You should not let all these discussions on the pros and cons fester. As we have seen in the past, these discussions always bring out the worst in people – inflammation and bigotry will always surface. Your so-called extremist supporters will want you to abandon PR – and hence the issue of boycotting the by-election will not arise.
I know of one lawyer who is constantly championing the need to abandon PR because of his paranoia towards PAS. People like these – RPK calls them the worst kind of Chinese – are what we don’t need at this opportunity for change.
#9 by katdog on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 7:42 pm
PAS today with only 20+ parliament seats can’t implement hudud laws yet. So why is MCA harping on an issue which in the current political balance of power is still impossible?
Again, this is very clear obvious indication that MCA has for the past 50 years duped the chinese into believing that they are defending ‘chinese rights’. The truth is there is nothing to defend against unless MCA is suggesting that they are defending us against their very own partners, UMNO from implementing Hudud and taking away chinese rights.
When MCA claims UMNO is the best partner for it? MCA and UMNO have schemed together for 50 years to divide Malaysians and rob them, while each telling their respective communities they are ‘defending their rights’.
Before pointing fingers at DAP over something PAS has yet to actually do, they might want to think about what they have allowed their partners UMNO to actually do to the country over the past 30 years.
#10 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 8:17 pm
Beware the traitors in our midst who would give all the ammunition for the MCA to snipe at the DAP’s heels.
#11 by chengho on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 8:25 pm
Yes DAP should boycott KT by election until PAS or Pakatan issue a firm statement to disassociate themself from Hussam Huddud statement .
So far no statement from Pakatan defacto leader Anwar . DAP must get Anwar to give public statement.
#12 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 8:47 pm
??????,?????; ??????,??????
The above Chinese old saying would give DAP sufficient rationale ground to fight against BN in the name of PR. This Chinese old saying would be good enough to shut off Dato Seri Ong Tee Keat’s big mouth!
Therefore YB Kit, don’t ever hesitate in the political stand of whether to fight forward or to backoff! Our main objective here is to overthrow BN Government first and then resolve on other issues later! Most Malaysians would stand behind DAP if DAP persists in the political cause of democratic socialism! The Malaysians would be able to understand DAP’s expediency in the implementation of overall strategy to win the whole war against Corruption and Piratisation of the BN.
#13 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 8:57 pm
??????,?????; ??????,??????
#14 by kluangman on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:01 pm
Hukum Hudud kebetulan datang dari Islam, sebuah ugama dan tentulah ugama ugama lain juga akan menyokong hukum ini kerana ia berbentuk am dan menepati kehendak ciri semua ugama. Ciri ciri yang lebih bermaksud (message) mencegah dan tidak diberi penekanan kepada perlaksanaan kerana ia memerlukan bukti bukti yang paling kukuh (100%) dan pihak peguam juga digunapakai untuk menghalang ketidakadilan.
Ia sesuai untuk semua bangsa termasuk Chinese Malaysian and Malaysian. DAP hanya menjadikan isu politik dan mensalahtafsir untuk ‘mileage political ‘ yang berbentuk perkauman.
Dalam keadaan jenayah di Malaysia begitu lazim dan terbuka DAP masih menghalang hukum hudud sebagai tindakan yang tidak selari untuk menjadikan Malaysia lebih aman dan selamat. Hudud tidak akan menjadi undang2 yang kekal di Malaysia jika ia tidak adil, sama seperti undang2 lain. Hudud adalah satu hukum tetapi perlaksanaan ke arah yang lebih adil boleh dipinda dan di ubah tanpa mencacatkan hukum itu sendiri.
DAP lebih takut kepada bebayang sendiri, dan ketakutan realiti itu menyebabkan ia sampai bila pun tidak mampu menjadi kerajaan rakyat Malaysia. Orang Melayu dan India tidak memerlukan pemimpin DAP pro Chinese yang perkauman.
#15 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:01 pm
More bloviating from Onlooker Politics.
“Piratisation of the BN” ?? So now you want to strip pieces of BN and sell them away to cronies for them to profit?
#16 by arctanck on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:09 pm
No way. It’s a pity to see Ong Tee Kiat getting so low as to sway Chinese votes back to UMNO. I urge you voters not to be fooled and vote for the PAS candidate despite the differences at the moment. PAS is definitely the lesser of two evils by a very long mile. We need to send a clear signal from the outcome of this by-election that the Malaysians want change! For the better!
#17 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:15 pm
I predict an easy victory for BN in the KT by-election partly because of Islamo phobia on the part of Chinese voters (DAP suporters preoccupied with issues on ideology), and partly because hudud is a non-issue among the Malays.
#18 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:27 pm
“Piratisation of the BN” ?? So now you want to strip pieces of BN and sell them away to cronies for them to profit? (undergrad2)
If you don’t understand about the meaning of “piratisation”, then go ask a farmer who recieved free goats from the BN Government how much his free goats will worth at market price. Then go check the bill from the goat suppliers on the price of the goats given to the farmers at the generosity of the BN government. It will expose the outright looting in the daylight! This outright looting is called “piratisation”!
#19 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:29 pm
Yup, Islamophobia fanned by so-called DAP supporters. Traitors.
#20 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:30 pm
Then it is piratisation “by BN” and not “of the BN”
#21 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:32 pm
Onlooker:
I suppose the goats are neutered so that they can’t reproduce, and the only supply of goats come from “approved” sources.
#22 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:33 pm
Godfather Says:
Today at 21: 29.59 (37 seconds ago)
Yup, Islamophobia fanned by so-called DAP supporters. Traitors.”
Led by the professor from Cambridge??
#23 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:35 pm
The professor was just a lapdog for some lawyer.
#24 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:36 pm
undergrad2,
If you want to have a much better understanding on the word “piratisation”, perhaps you may consult a Professional Consultant Engineer on the estimated costs of building the Crystal Mosque in Terengganu. Then go compare the actual costs incurred in building the Crystal Mosque in Terengganu. The huge cost difference is the loot harvest received by the BN dirty politicians. The looting is called “piratisation”!
#25 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:38 pm
Onlooker should cease his sexual fantasizing of goats – and look somewhere else as his source of sexual gratification.
#26 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:40 pm
I suppose the goats are neutered so that they can’t reproduce, and the only supply of goats come from “approved” sources. (Godfather)
Godfather,
You are absolutely right. A few top politicians of BN government are in fact the underlying owner of some Australian goat farms!
#27 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:41 pm
A bigger anti-BN topic would be the piratisation of IJN, as suggested by another reader in this thread. They are trying to cover up their mess with the Synergy Drive merger by allowing a GLC to achieve critical mass with the acquisition of a public service institution. Who is eyeing the land that the current IJN sits ?
#28 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:44 pm
“The huge cost difference is the loot harvest received by the BN dirty politicians. The looting is called “piratisation”!” Onlooker Politics
Piratisation is the stripping of government assets which are then sold off to cronies who then would make huge profits. It is a play of the word ‘privatization’. A common enough term.
#29 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:49 pm
“Godfather Says:
Today at 21: 41.05 (3 minutes ago)
A bigger anti-BN topic would be the piratisation of ..”
Yes, piratisation of the IJN ( a government asset) and not “of the BN”.
#30 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:53 pm
Onlooker Politics: ??????,?????; ??????,??????
I like that one too. Here’s one of my favourites:
恭喜發財,紅包拿來
#31 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:54 pm
Ah! See! You’re a Malaysian already! A real Chinaman could have done it!
#32 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:54 pm
…and mine! ( @ )( @ )
#33 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:01 pm
Onlooker Politics: ??????,?????; ??????,??????
I like that one too. Here’s one of my favourites:
????,????
Sorry! The comment blog here does not display my Chinese Text written in Microsoft Word format! If you would like to see the Chinese Text, perhaps you may go to the comment blog in Chinese Version of Lim Kit Siang Blog!
The literal meaning of my intended Chinese Text actual means to encourage toleration by the Chinese Community in the acceptance of PAS at necessary expediency!
#34 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:03 pm
Undergrad2, I was sure yours would be
OGC
tilt your head to the left, can you see the man?
#35 by de_Enigma on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:06 pm
DAP has already made his stance clear, PAS has already clarify that they won’t pursue the hudud agenda (at least for now). I don’t see any logical reason for DAP to boycott the KT by-election unless one presume by doing nothing, miracle can happen.
As a side note : I really hate dogs barking non-stop without reasons.
#36 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:06 pm
undergrad2,
Please do not try to be legalistic here and attempt to distort and divert people’s attention to the less important issue.
The main theme here is that “Piratisation by the BN, of the BN, for the BN” should be given a total denial by the Kuala Terengganu Electoral Voters!
#37 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:11 pm
Nothing legalistic there! You wrote “piratisation of the BN”. So I ask you if you intend to strip BN and sell it off – a legitimate question.
#38 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:13 pm
In the absence of the “other” lawyer, Undergrad2 is trying to his best to give us the required English lessons.
#39 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:14 pm
oops…”trying his best…”
#40 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:16 pm
Yes, we intend to strip BN naked for all to see…whether we can get a dime for it, I don’t really know.
#41 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:16 pm
Yep. A good teacher needs a good student. Is he a good student?
#42 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:18 pm
Godfather Says:
Today at 22: 16.03 (29 seconds ago)
Yes, we intend to strip BN naked for all to see…”
Should we expect to see more if we strip the head!
#43 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:22 pm
It appears MCA is getting desperate. PR got the hudud thing just about right, for anybody that will pay attention to the behaviour of politicians. 308 was a clarion call for honest politics, and there’ll only be more from now on.
Not every Malaysian will pay close attention to the behaviour of politicians, however. My hope is that they will be in KT. A BN win there will be another win for BN’s total propaganda machine, not for politics.
I’m not sure even what MCA are asking for – I doubt DAP would consider fielding a candidate in KT anyway, would they? Aren’t elections here ‘first past the post’? All a DAP candidate could hope to do is reduce the more popular candidates’ totals. I haven’t seen a Pakatan Rakyat endorsement of a lone PAS candidate yet – did I miss that somewhere? Someone please answer the question about coalition candidates – against the rules or not?
#44 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:24 pm
undergrad2,
Please get straight to the point:
Are you the supporter of or the opponent to the BN’s looting exercise? Or are you a neutral standing in the middle-of-the-road? Please make your stance clear before you rebuke! Otherwise, you are wasting many readers’ precious time!
#45 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:27 pm
Like you, I’m looking on.
#46 by Taxidriver on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:37 pm
YB Lim, why boycott KT by-election just because PAS talks about hudud law. Anybody can talk. There is no harm done yet. We have to view the matter as PAS way of countering UMNO to win over Malay votes. Biasalah itu! Malaysian politics. AT the very least, DAP never fails to voice its dissatisfaction everytime the issue is raised, unlike UMNO’s running dogs who only cowered and wagged their tails when Mahatir and Najib declare that Malaysia is an Islamic country! So, who actually should be the one to boycott KT by-election? The MCA has no right to even talk about this issue. They have shamed the Chinese. Additionlly, to overthrow this corrupt government, PAS involvement is essential. Position your guns in the direction of BN first. Any disagreement with your partner in PK can be solved after mission accomplished. GOOD LUCK TO PAS/PR.
#47 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:38 pm
The strong Localism of Terengganu residents would ensure that the proposed candidate of PAS, who is the Anak Terengganu (indigenous of Terengganu), be able to win by a leading edge in view of the BN Government’s failure to curtail the running-up inflation despite the lowering of the pumped prices. The recent weakened price situation in relation to commodities such as Fresh Fruit Bunches (FFB) of oil palm and Rubber Latex also gives PAS candidate a big advantage to bag more votes from Kuala Terengganu electoral voters.
But please don’t bet on PAS at a very high stake. The betting game would have a adverse setback on the electoral result! PR should discourage people from getting involved in betting since it is to PR’s big disadvantage to bet!
#48 by chiakchua on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:41 pm
Yes, it will be a big mistake for DAP to boycot KT by-election. To me , I fully agree with what Nik Azi said; what’s wrong with Muslim to implement Hudud if it is a requirement of Islam, so long as it is only applicable to Muslim and with clear guideline on cases when it involves Muslim-non-Muslim. Stupid to bring this up again and again! MCA should be the one to boycot because the UMNOputras still insist Malaysia is Islamic state! They have no balls, Ong Takut has proven to be another Chinese traitor once he is up in the throne! We want a Fair, Just and equal Malaysia, with special help be given to all poor irrespective of race and religion. We love all Malaysians irrespective of race!
DAP strongmen and women must go all out to tell all KT non-Malays not to be deceived by the sweeties given by BN. If the federal policy is fair and just, there is no need of such goodies each time an election comes!
Vote the BN out of their 3-H; high corruption, high wastage, highly arrogant.
#49 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:41 pm
“…. the lowering of the pumped prices”. Onlooker
Don’t you mean lowering of prices at the pump??
#50 by ismailhakim on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 11:02 pm
PAS leaders should clear their heads first on the islamic state. If they keep mouthing in public and in the media about huddud and islamic state, they will lose the non muslim voters and mainstream malaysians.
Fact is, there is no way PAS can get 2/3 majority to change constitution to form an Islamic state. So they should not give PAS members the false hopes, not in the next 10 years. Less talk aboit hudud and islamic state, the better for PR to win next election.
Next for 4 years is critical for PR. PAS leaders should spend more time in next 4 years helping the 5 PR governments to run smoothly and made as a good example of government to other states so that PR has a fighting chance to win more states next election . PAS should stop sniping at Penang, Selangor and Perak every now and then, and bringup of issues that will not win voters.
PAS is making Anwar’s job very difficult: Take a look at this example
http://malaysianunplug.blogspot.com/2009/01/is-pakatan-rakyat-on-road-to-self.html#links
PAS leaders should listen to what Dzulkifli Ahmad said when he was interviewd by Raja Petra. http://malaysianunplug.blogspot.com/2009/01/kuala-trengganu-by-election-pass-damage.html#links
PAS is giving DAP too much headaches too often. Patience can last only so long. PAS should not take DAP for granted!