Even an acting OCPD has become the victim of crime!

Imagine – even an acting OCPD has become the victim of crime!

In the past, former top police and government officers had been victims of crime, including a former Inspector-General of Police and a state Governor – with the former Penang Chief Police Officer killed in a burglary.

Now, for the first time, a serving Police district chief has become a serious victim of crime.

Is this enough to be a final wake-up call to the Prime Minister, the Home Minister and the Inspector-General of Police to break away from their terminal denial complexes to admit that time is long overdue to restore to Malaysians the two fundamental freedoms they have lost – to be free from crime and free from the fear of crime.

This is the breaking news on the Tawau Acting OCPD who has become a victim of crime:-

January 03, 2009 13:28 PM

Tawau Acting OCPD Stabbed
TAWAU, Jan 3 (Bernama) — Tawau acting OCPD Supt Ramli Ali Mat was seriously injured after being stabbed in his house in Taman Ria 5 at about 2am today.

Bernama understands that Ramli, who was alone in the house, was stabbed in the abdomen in an attack by a group of five men.

A police spokesman said he had been admitted to the intensive care unit of the the Tawau Hospital and was reported to be in stable condition.

Sabah Police Commissioner Datuk Noor Rashid Ibrahim is expected to visit him later today.

– BERNAMA

Print Friendly

1. #1 by monsterball on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 1:22 pm

vsp writer…..You are right. It’s Tun Haniff Omar. Rahim Nor was a gangster in Alor Gajah…all Malacca teachers know him well.
    cvl writer…..When UMNO is caught with their pants down….they always talk good news for Malaysians to hear…but no actions…after that.
    You see…crooks simply cannot catch their own crooks.

2. #2 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 1:39 pm

Now that is where the third “sin” is : in camouflaging (1) the making of baseless allegations without following thread of arguments in postings (2) not having grace to admit an error – which are indefensible – Godfather seeks to switch venue/forum of discussion (on OCPD , a victim of crime) to another forum of discussion ie that of whether “UMNO is a lesser evil than PAS”, in wh ich Godfather he could stand on firmer ground on that issue, and he tries to do that by trying to entice and draw me to a different arena of discussion by providing a link – that it is my alleged “hidden agenda” to make everyone dance to my tune of “UMNO is a lesser evil than PAS”, that I should just come out and say that “a PR government with PAS won’t be able to combat crime as efficiently as BN, is it not?

I have never thought ab out such a thing muc h less said it.

You must be thinking I was born yesterday to be drawn from one topic to another just to satisfy your need to cover (1) and (2) above said.

It is wrong of you to waste bandwidth here and waste other readers’ time here by drawing to draw a discussion on an OCB D being a crime victim to the Islamic state or which is worse UMNO or PAS, the only tenous link being the pretext of saying whether crime could be better managed or worse under PR, with PAS or UMNO.

This is not the subject of this blogthread. You are just trying to create this new sub-text of discussion for your own personal purpose of arguing under a different subject regardless of others’ interest here, which is why I say you should learn to infuse more integrity in your purposes and action.

That you should think I would, with alacrity, think for a second th at I would take such a bait (changing subjects) of dishonest argument is naive, to say the least. :)

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 1:49 pm

This is really pathetic : Godfather, your attempts at deliberating subverting the topic (as distinct from the topic veering to another direction (to discuss or argue on a different topic that you think you are on firmer ground or could galvanise more sympathy of your position) which is quite different if it were otherwise veering away due to a natural progression of postings and interest of posters of comments here.

4. #4 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 2:16 pm

Ah, another double standard from the master of double-speak. You can preach correct English in this blog, and I can’t discuss the effectiveness of PR in combating crime, especially with PAS’ intention to Islamise ?

Integrity ? Which part of a lawyer’s brain does this reside ?

5. #5 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 2:28 pm

What another change of subject to integrity and which part of a lawyer’s brain does this reside??? :)

What double standard? Again you’re out of point!

Nobody says you “can’t discuss the effectiveness of PR in combating crime, especially with PAS’ intention to Islamise ?”. Go ahead and discuss.

I did’n't say you can’t. I just said I won’t be drawn in discussing it here, where no one has raised the issue except you by your statement “since we are on this thread of serious crime, why don’t you come out and say that a PR government with PAS won’t be able to combat crime as efficiently as BN ?” the purpose of which I have already siad, and needs no repetition.

6. #6 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 4:18 pm

Jeffrey and Godfather
    Isn’t it time you two buried the hatchet (and not in each other’s head?)
    Why not let the matter rest and let LKS bring up more issues on his blog and not keep on going as if there is going to be a final conclusion.
    BTW we still need both your thinking prowess to help the PR government when it manages to gain power.
    PEACE

7. #7 by tuanlokong on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 4:34 pm

I must say that crime rates must have shoot up rapidly. When crime involved Police as a victim the rates should be double or even tripples. I am not sure how they calculate crime index. Maybe someone could highlight this…

8. #8 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 5:12 pm

Godfather Says:
    Today at 11: 18.10 (5 hours ago)
    “For those of you who don’t understand how Bolehland works, the stark reality is that if the PM is ever robbed of his wallet, there will be no publicity. The ruling party cannot be an embarrassment unto itself. If you expect transparency, go live in Lululand.”

Godfather,

On behalf of my client, Dato Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, the so-called lame duck Prime Minister of Malaysia, I hereby serve you notice that my client has demanded you to express in favour of him an open apology which is to be published in the major news media in Malaysia on the false accusation which you have made unto him allegedly blaming him for lack of transparency.

Your accusation is claimed by my client to be falsely made because my client did indeed announce to the public in an open speech during an official function about two years’ ago that several heads of his goats had been stolen from his farm shade located at Kepala Batas. He had genuinely showed that he possessed no intent to hide any secret about a criminal case such as theft, burglary or felony that had been done unto him, in which he had become a serious victim of crime. My client’s disclosure of this crime which he suffered about two years’ ago was deemed to be the sufficient proof of his good track record in transparency.

Immediately after my client’s making such an announcement, there were more than ten UMNOPUTRA goat farmers who had come up with an attractive offer of giving excellent and exorbitant breeder goats to my client as personal friendly gift. There was no need for my client to make further disclosure about these free gift offer because my client declined to take the offer lest the Anti-Corruption Agency might open a file to pursue this case, which would be deemed to be a waste of the tax-payers’ money.

Now, on behalf of my client, Dato Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, the so-called lame duck Prime Minister of Malaysia, I hereby serve you notice that unless you make an open unreserved apology to my client and duly publish the apology through the major news media in Malaysia within 30 days from the date of this mail, I have firm instruction from my client that a legal action will be taken against you for passing a slanderous remark unto my client and falsely accusing my client for lack of transparency.

9. #9 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 5:38 pm

An underemployed lawyer with lots of time to spare – or worse?

10. #10 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 6:04 pm

Onlooker Politics:

I will be happy to meet your client in court. Just make sure that he pays you your legal fees in advance.

11. #11 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 6:15 pm

HJ Angus:

Thanks for the advice. Unfortunately we are like chalk and cheese. He is all for the disbanding of PR, so I won’t be too hopeful of him campaigning in whatever shape or form for PR anytime soon.

12. #12 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 6:35 pm

Even the Prime Minister himself had been a serious victim of crime in Malaysia during his own tenure as the Prime Minister but the PM himself found it helpless and hopeless to get back his goats.

Why is the detrimental assault on the Acting OCPD deserved so much attention from Uncle Kit then? I guess it is because Uncle Kit values the human life more than the loss of a few heads of animals from Pak Lah’s farm shade.

If the PM himself could not even effectively protect his own property from grand theft, then what else good things could all you guys expect from BN Government? Why don’t you all just simply agree with me that Pakatan Rakyat should be given a mandate to replace Barisan Nasional as the administrator of next Federal Government of Malaysia as soon as possible?

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 6:44 pm

HJ Angus, you see what I mean about “relevancy”, whilst we are discussing implications of an acting OCPD being a victim of crime, Godfather is mixing it up and bringing in a baggage from other threads on issues like “disbanding of PR” etc. That speaks volume of the objectivity he could bring to a discussion on any different issue raised in the blog. :) He in fact sabotages it by initiating irrelevant interjections based on such clouded judgment.

14. #14 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 7:32 pm

Perhaps people are more interested in the topic on whether Pakatan Rakyat can win in Kuala Terengganu by-election than the topic on crime, which is already a helpless and hopeless issue under the BN Administration.

It is too common for some Malaysians to do betting on the result of the by-election. Even though I personally do not encourage sinful games like betting or gambling, I find that the PR campaign participants should not overlook the impact of betting on influencing the electoral decision.

The current market bet is that the bookie would let go 1,000 votes to bet that PR would win by at least 1,000 votes’ margin. The PR leaders must be aware of the implication of this since the bookie himself can be the supporter of BN.

The core issues which the PR can rely upon for campaign purposes may be
    (1) The selective prosecution or non-prosecution in relation to a felony alleged to be committed in Terengganu by the next-of-kin of a Top Politician;
    (2) The livelihood issues such as the unleashing of the inflationary pressure into the market during June 2008 and September 2008 by deliberately allowing the pumped prices to go up drastically until the momentum of inflation cannot be impeded even with the downward adjustment of the pumped prices at the last quarter of 2008;
    (3) The unemployment issues as the factories in Johor and Pahang were allowed to hire additional foreign workers in order to replace the local workers (some of them are from the state of Terengganu) who were said to be inefficient, unskilled and lackadaisical by the factories owners.
    (4) Inefficiency of the BN Government in controlling the trafficking of farmed animals from Thailand until some wipespread infectious diseases such as Foot-and-Mouth Disease (FMD), Pneumonia or Brucellosis have been becoming common throughout the whole Malaysia in general, and getting more and more serious in Terengganu in particular.
    (5) Uneven distribution of oil income among the have and have-nots, since only the landowners were given the free ruminant animals such as goats, cows or buffaloes by MPOB or JPH Malaysia.

15. #15 by otl on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 7:34 pm

Dear YB Lim,

First of, hope that Supt Ramli will recover soon. I am sad to read this news and very disappointing with the national security of Malaysia.

Been stabbed, snatch, rob & etc, seem a norm in Malaysia, the friends beside us might be one of the victim.

Do we really study, what make this happen? Is the cops don’t do their job? Got statistic show that, most of the crime cause by illegal immigrant, are the immigration didn’t do their work? Or our Malaysia law is not strict enough to prevent that?

How come all thug so dare to do so? If anyone of you saw a crime, when you call up police, how fast can they reach the place?

If the enforcement officer take their work easy, this may the cause that the malefactor so dare & “brave”.

Wake-up all the enforcement officer, please help us to reduce the crime. We don’t like it… I think so they are.

The relevant ministries should answer for that, why our crime rate so high? If can make the minister remuneration link with the KPI of crime rate, I will the one who support, I believe others will support too.

Hope Malaysia have a better tomorrow.

OTL
    http://tinglip.blogspot.com/

16. #16 by katdog on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 7:54 pm

Crime involving members of the police isn’t really a rarity in Malaysia. I recall incidences of a police station getting robbed, and of a policeman getting robbed and killed at his home.

There are even incidences of successful robberies at public areas like our International Airports (KLIA and Penang Airport).

But don’t worry. It’s all just a perception problem. We are still safer in Malaysia than Hong Kong or Japan.

17. #17 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 8:03 pm

“Why don’t you all just simply agree with me that Pakatan Rakyat should be given a mandate to replace Barisan Nasional as the administrator of next Federal Government of Malaysia as soon as possible?” Onlooker Politics

For the answer to this question, you should cross-examine none other than our “on the one hand it is this, and on the other hand it is that” lawyer friend out there.

18. #18 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 8:09 pm

“Irrelevant interjection” is something for the judge to decide. What I say may be irrelevant to you but it is especially relevant to HJ Angus when he calls for you – a clear traitor to the PR cause – to help PR when it comes to power.

19. #19 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:27 pm

Stop your bloviating, Onlooker Politics.

“Barisan Nasional as the administrator of next Federal Government of Malaysia as soon as possible?” – Onlooker Politics

The party that wins the mandate to rule does not ‘administer’ the federal government. They get to control the government.

20. #20 by king cobra on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:10 pm

Onlooker

comparing PM’s goat being stolen & Tawau’s OCPD being stabbed , which case is more serious ?

Tawau’s OCPD was being stabbed , if not sent to hospital in time he may have lost his life…….

21. #21 by king cobra on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:17 pm

godfather suddenly switched subject from serious crime to between
    umno & pas who is the lesser evil ???

ah….godfather may have run out of ideas on how to rebut or counter jeffery’s viewpoints ????

22. #22 by cemerlang on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:20 pm

Bodyguards are not enough. Gangsters for bodyguards are more effective in Bolehtakbolehland. Heavenly Singapore again. Singapore police are also keeping one eye closed. Or else you think how their red light districts can flourish. If you keep going on this thing about Singapore, you will find that it is to your disadvantage. PAP is PAP. DAP is DAP, very Malaysian and very different. No doubt we can learn a thing or two about them. Going for courses does not make you a success overnight. It is whether or not you want to apply your head knowledge to the real situation. Or else it will come back to zero. Remember. We have first class infrastructure. But we still retain our third class traditional mentality. Unless we are brave enough to change. Or else it is only words. And we will not know if this slained police officer was a good guy.

23. #23 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:23 pm

what? someone switched from serious crime to English lessons and that’s apparently OK, so I can’t switch from serious crime – as to whether BN or PR is better at fighting crime ?

I’m just pulling the lawyer’s leg. Don’t take our “disagreements” too seriously. I love poking fun at long-winded dessertations in blogs.

24. #24 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:36 pm

I think the entire attitude of the PDRM towards crime is relevant as to why the crime rate is so high.
    We have allowed a culture of complacency and incompetence to flourish – I won’t mention corruption as I am sure it is still a big problem plus police brutality towards those arrested or OKT for various crimes. That is why some officers protested so strongly against the IPCMC.
    Just to relate an incident that involved an Indonesian maid who ran away some years back.
    She did not take anything valuable and just left after locking up the house.
    I made the police report and also surrendered her passport. What transpired at the police station was quite interesting. They took the report and her passport and that was placed in a box that seemed to be a collection of such documents.
    No police inspection of my house or the surrounding area. I told my friends that if had buried her in the nearby bushes of the drainage reserve, they would not have found her.
    Simply put, the attitude was one of “maids run away every day” so nothing to check out.”

25. #25 by AhPek on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 11:15 pm

Onlooker Politics bloviating?? Can’t be undergrad 2 you got to be joking.He may have mistakenly used the word ‘administer’ for ‘control’.Bloviating is the exclusive realm of someone else!

26. #26 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 11:34 pm

The honor is now shared!

27. #27 by taiking on Monday, 5 January 2009 - 8:40 am

OCPD kena robbed??? Sure or not? I know. Its in the news. But sure got happen ah? Our umno goberman say malaysia safer than singapore and japan and hk. Such thing can happen one meh? I dont believe. Not possible. Malaysia is safest place on earth. Maybe OCPD got robbed in singapore and news misreported the incident. Like that i can believe.

28. #28 by ktteokt on Monday, 5 January 2009 - 6:29 pm

Anyone who remembers the Memali incident would have noticed that after the incident, police stations nationwide became “security areas” where the police themselves needed protection. Each police station was guarded by military personnel and anyone going in and out of the police station was required to surrender their I/C.

This goes to show how reliable PDRM is as far as maintaining public order is concerned. If PDRM can even protect its own personnel, how can the rakyat depend on them for their safety?

What’s more, after the official announcement by the Chief of Police that the police force is short of hand, criminals would definitely seize the opportunity. This is equivalent to providing criminals with an “assurance” that arresting them would be difficult as the police is shorthanded. Shouldn’t such shortage in police personnel be classified as “official secret”??

29. #29 by ktteokt on Monday, 5 January 2009 - 6:31 pm

Typo error, should be “can’t even protect its own personnel”.

30. #30 by cheng on on Monday, 5 January 2009 - 11:21 pm

They will blame uncle LKS for publicize this event, Maybe police will have reasons to suspect that the robbery / stabbing are planned by opposition

31. #31 by klaikw on Tuesday, 6 January 2009 - 12:25 am

Everyday in Malaysia especially in KL not safe anymore, Murder here Murder there, robbery here robbery there, snatch thief here snatch thief there, most of the police minium teh tarik at mamak there, all Malaysian get scared to go out here go out there bcoz of all the bad guy out there everywhere. Not safe here in KL nowadays. But they (Bolehland) still said , our country crime rate still maintain there compare to other countrys’ out there…………..
    When we really need help from police , they will never be there!

32. #32 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 6 January 2009 - 7:14 am

Red Light District in Singapore has been allowed to attract certain type of tourists. It is there for those who are interested. In Bolehland, such practice is everywhere if you know where to look for it. What’s the difference? Here the poor Ps are ‘regulated’ by the thugs with the ‘cognizance’ of the local, friendly law-regulators.
    No difference, except the Ps have to share their incomes with them!
    Down there people of all ages and sex walk about without the fear of being mugged! Here? just try your luck! Just look at those AH LONGs, their business is openly done.
    Hence, an OCPD getting mugged or stabbed, so what? My wife was mugged , even the policewoman told her she herself was also a victim! when she went there to make a report! So what’s the surprise?
    Just look at the number of police cars in most of the stations in Selangor. All parked at the compounds. Why? Is it because Proton could not sell their Wajas? Someone told me to stop arguing the issue if I believe in the DNA factor!
    Ha! Ha! Ha! If it is true, it looks like we have to live with the truth inherent in the system created by Nature!
    Anyway, such sites as these should be kept going, otherwise the DNA Factor could just take over, and we will have even more frustrations everyday!

33. #33 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 6 January 2009 - 9:07 am

Godfather,

Kit’s usage of \serious victim\ can still be right and Jeffrey’s interpretation correct. If the OCPD (acting) is dead serious after this incident and seriously clean up the PD’s act and eradicate such crimes, then he is indeed serious about crimes and serious about reducing the number of such crimes. We should all seriously consider the seriousness of such serious alternative interpretation.

34. #34 by Godfather on Tuesday, 6 January 2009 - 12:36 pm

The question is whether serious people can be subjected to serious crimes in this serious country. I think serious people ARE the perpetrators of serious crime, and that the serious victim in question is an exception rather than the rule.

Comments are closed.