Musa not fit to continue as IGP a single day

My censure motion to cut the salary of Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Musa Hassan, in Parliament today was defeated by a 48 to 30 votes when it was put to the House.

I had moved the motion against Musa on two grounds, viz:

• For being more of a lobbyist for police megal deals instead of being the police leader to keep crime down and the country safe for Malaysians, tourists and investors; and

• Telling Malaysians that they had been living “a great lie” in the past five years under the Abdullah premiership by succumbing to the new police line that the real problem is not worsening crime situation or a misperception.

When winding-up, Deputy Home Minister Datuk Chor Chee Heong admitted the veracity of the two letters I handed to him earlier during my speech, viz:

• letter from Musa as IGP to the Second Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop dated 12th February 2007 on the subject “Cadangan Kontrak Sewaan Helicopter Kepada Polis Diraja Malaysia Selama 30 Tahun Melalui Private Funding Initiative (PFI)” where Musa gave his full endorsement for the RM20 billion Asiacopter proposal to rent out 34 helicopters to the police for 30 years; and

• letter from Musa as IGP to the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi dated 3rd November 2006 on “E-Police Force Solution – Letter of Intent”, pressing for the issue of an “Letter of Exclusive Intent” to Web Power Sdn. Bhd. by the government for its RM4.2 billion “E-Police Force Solution” proposal.

However he tried to dismiss the “integrity issues” in the two letters, although I said that this was the first time an IGP has breached general orders and gone out of his way to lobby for mega police deals for a particular company – which had never been done by his predecessors, whether Tan Sri Bakri Musa, Tan Sri Norian Mai, Tan Sri Rahim Noor or Tun Hanif Omar.

When I asked whether the government would welcome a three-prong investigations into the improprieties committed by Musa, especially as his son was working in one of the two companies which are inter-connected – government investigation into breach of standard operating procedures, Anti-Corruption Agency investigation and Public Accounts Committee inquiry, Chor merely replied that the PAC is entitled to investigate into both matters if it is minded to do so.

On my second reason for the censure motion against Musa, I rebutted claim that from international statistics, Malaysia is safer than Japan, Hong Kong and Australia and nearly on par with Singapore.

I pointed out the disgraceful phenomenon whereby Malaysians who crossed the Johore causeway into Singapore would feel very safe while instantly feeling very unsafe when they return to Johore Baru through the causeway – which is the most powerful testimony that Malaysia is a world away as compared to Singapore in terms of the comparative safety in each country.

As the Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib seemed to have adopted the new police line that Malaysia is safer than Japan, Hong Kong and Australia, I challenged Najib and Musa to walk the streets of Johore Baru without their retinue of escorts for a day to get a direct experience of the “fear of crime” which has become the daily nightmare of Malaysians.

I also reminded Musa of the long list of top government and police officials who have fallen victim to the endemic in the country after their retirement, including his most well-known predecessor as IGP Tun Hanif Omar, former Penang Chief Police Officer Datuk Albert Mah (who was murdered in his Petaling Jaya home in an armed robbery), former Sarawak Governor Tun Rahman Yaakob – warning that he himself might face the same fate after his retirement as IGP!

I omitted to mention the recent cases of the September murder of Hor Joo Lee, wife of former Penang MCA State Assemblyman, Lai Chew Hock to illustrate the gravity of the crime situation and why the Police leadership should end its denial syndrome about the endemic crime in the country.

When Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi did when became Prime Minister five years ago was to establish a Royal Commission Report, which reported in Chapter 4, viz:

“3.1 The incidence of crime increased dramatically in the last few years, from 121,176 cases in 1997 to 156,455 cases in 2004, an increase of 29 per cent.

“The increase seriously dented Malaysia’s reputation as a safe country. Malaysians in general, the business sector and foreign investors grew increasingly concerned with the situation. The fear was that, if the trend continues, there would be major social and economic consequences for Malaysia. A survey of 575 respondents from the public carried out by the Commission clearly demonstrates the extremely widespread concern among all ethnic groups and foreign residents. Between 82.2 per cent and 90 per cent of the respondents, or 8 to 9 persons in every 10, were concerned with the occurrence of crime.”

After three years, in 2007, the incidence of crime increased by 33.94% from 156,455 cases in 2004 to 209,559.

“3.2: There was an alarming increase in violent crime during the period. Violent crime grew from 16,919 cases in 1997 to 21,859 cases in 2004, an increase of 29.2 per cent in 8 years. Cases involving unarmed gang robbery saw an increase of 56.5 per cent followed by attempted murder (76.9 per cent) and unarmed robbery (80.7 per cent).”

After three years, in 2007:

1. Violent crime increased from 21,859 cases (2004) to 35,158 cases (2007) – an increase of 60.8 per cent.

2. Unarmed gang robbery saw an increase of 318.4 per cent (i.e. from 1,689 cases in 2004 to 7,067 cases in 2007).

3. Unarmed robbery increased by 30.4 per cent (i.e. from 13,211 cases in 2004 to 17,241 cases in 2007).

“3.3: There was also a significant increase in property crime during the period from 104,257 cases in 1997 to 134,596 cases in 2004, an increase of 29 per cent.

“The increase was most severe in theft of lorries and vans (171.6 percent), cars (161.4 per cent) and motor cycles (92.4 per cent). Actual figures for prioperty crime are believed to be higher5 due to non-reporting.”

In three years, in 2007,property crime increased from 134,596 cases in 2004 to 174,440 (an increase of 29.6%).

Because of this high incidence of crime, the Royal Police said it was “urgent” for a concerted police drive against crime.

It dedicated Chapter 7 to “Launch A Sustained Nation-Wide Drive Against Crime” and said:

“The Commission recommends that PDRM allot the highest priority to the campaign against crime, along with eradication of corruption and making policing more compliant with human rights and prescribed laws. The prioritization should remain until crime levels have reached a point considered no longer alarming.”

The Royal Police Commission recommended that the police formulate and implement annual and month crime reduction plans, and proposed the following target:

“As an immediate measure, PDRM should target a minimum of 20 per cent decrease in the number of crimes committed for each category within 12 months of this Report’s acceptance and implementation”.

It is now more than three years since the publication of the Royal Police Commission. What has the Police to show for its “sustained nation-wide drive against crime”, the proposed “annual and monthly crime reduction plans” and in particular “a minimum 20 per cent decrease in crimes within 12 months”?

The Police had its own target of reducing the crime index by five per cent a year. If this more modest target had been reached, then from 156,455 crime incidence in 2004, there should be a drop to 148,632 cases in 2005, 141,200 cases in 2006 and 134,140 cases in 2007.

However both the Royal Police Commission’s recommendation of a minimum of 20% decline of crime index in first 12 months or the police’s more modest target of 5% decline per year had not been achieved, and the Police is fighting a losing battle against crime with the traditional crime index breaking the 200,000 mark last year as well as this year.

The Inspector-General of Police is therefore doing the country a great disservice in now adopting a most irresponsible attitude in claiming that the worsening crime situation is not a fact but a mere misperception.

In trying to convince Malaysians that they had been living under a “great lie” in the past five years under the Abdullah premiership in succumbing to the misperception of a worsening crime situation, Musa Hassan is not fit to continue as IGP for a single day.

1. #1 by Godfather on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 5:27 pm

Since when has dipping one’s hand into the nation’s coffers become a crime ? Or supporting another who dips his/her hand into the nation’s coffers ?

cintamamakthir has the answers for these.

2. #2 by carboncopy on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 5:53 pm

30? Where are all the Pakatan Rakyat MPs?

3. #3 by Tonberry on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 6:01 pm

carboncopy Says:

BN also only 48 lah.

back to the topic.
    He – Musa Hassan, is a loyal dog to Umno. So he is fit to continue as IGP until the federal govt is changed. They – the police, can only bark for Umnoputras. Recently, they just barked at the MCA’s porn actor.

4. #4 by taiking on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 6:02 pm

Star Online today, 4 Dec 2008 reported malaysia’s all time greatest lie. The report said:

“IT is just after 11pm and it is closing time for a restaurant at Desa Sri Hartamas. Suddenly, three men with parang and sticks rushed in and started tearing the place apart, grabbing anything they could get hold of.

The restaurant owner suffered nearly RM100,000 in damages in the incident that took place last Friday.

A bakery in Desa Sri Hartamas was also hit and has suffered losses of over RM300,000 at the hands of the gangsters.

And such incidents have not ceased in Desa Sri Hartamas since 2000.”

No such thing ever happened. Not at all. Our country is safer that HK, Spore and Japan. I personally hope that the umno government do something to Star. And IGP and Najib too. Do something. Star is making a mickey of you two.

5. #5 by carboncopy on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 6:05 pm

Tonberry Says:
    Today at 18: 01.22 (2 minutes ago)

carboncopy Says:

BN also only 48 lah.

Yuh.. as they say. You point one finger at ppl. 4 is pointing back at you. So examine self first loh.

6. #6 by Tonberry on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 6:15 pm

carboncopy Says:
    Yuh.. as they say. You point one finger at ppl. 4 is pointing back at you. So examine self first loh.

Nah, i dont point finger. Not even once. I argue with facts and figures. Ask RealWorld or contanegara and you will know. Since you are stating the number 30, it means you have not done your maths properly. Get your figures and % of attendance from both sides before you come out with your wild accusation.
    Bet you haven’t attended a full parliament session before.

7. #7 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 6:18 pm

I have always smelt a rat with this guy around.

8. #8 by simon041155 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 6:19 pm

Anyone who hear the Botak talking in http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0R1XLNEHSRc will know that Barisan Nasional is no longer fit to run the government. He doesn’t seem to know right from wrong, except using bombastic words like public interest and democracy… I wonder whether he knows what democracy is all about!

9. #9 by dawsheng on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 6:38 pm

Haven’t you guys realized? These days, the police’s job is to catch normal Malaysians for illegal assembly. It is safer to be the thieves.

10. #10 by Mr Smith on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 6:39 pm

He is the worst IGP this country has ever had- despicable, cunning, dishonest and a compulsive liar.
    Remember how he doctored evidence against Anwar?

11. #11 by dawsheng on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 6:47 pm

Polis diUMNO Malaysia, treat criminals better than Malaysians.

12. #12 by sean on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 6:58 pm

Mr.Lim

kindly get a petition to get rid of this chap.Am sure for a person like Musa , a petition to get rid of him will indeed be welcome by most Malaysian or residents in our beloved country.He is abosolutely a bad rubbish”.

13. #13 by monsterball on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 7:09 pm

The misfits….seen by Malaysians are most fitting to be fitted in their positions….by UMNO…as long as they are yes people to the party.
    Qualifications not important.
    As long as you have mastered the art of denying and get out of sticky situations…you will be rewarded with a contract..making millions…out of nothing..to keep you happy and well….so that you will forever lay down your lives..defending UMNO…or else!
    The ‘else”…I leave to all smart Malaysians…imaginations.

14. #14 by oedipus on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 7:12 pm

im from jb… my friend kena robbed in daylight by a drug addict using a needle (supposedly laced with HIV virus) while trying to pam minyak at his local stesen minyak. robbed him clean.

there are tonnes on evidence to show that jb is a cowboy town and going to get worse when retrenchment hits jb and singapore. i think by then, cowboy town become hantu town already!

to say the streets of jb and singapore is equally safe is like trying to say zimbabwe is the best place to live! its a joke!!!

15. #15 by Justitia on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 7:38 pm

YB Lim:
    Please continue to keep the pressure on. It is very clear that we have a probem with poor leadership. We should just impeach the guy. Rather than focussing on fighting crime, he is trying to spin the numbers and trying to dupe the Rakyat. Unfortunately, we have some gullible leaders who have been taken in. Makes one wonder whether these people are fit to lead if they cannot differentiate fact from fiction.
    The sad truth of the matter is that we have on an overall basis a very unprofessional PDRM. There may be a few good ones in the force, but they are overshadowed by the rotten apples. The force has lost its credibility for being bias, meddling in politics by taking sides when it should be impartial, incompetent, unprofessional, and CORRUPT (who has not had a bad experience of being extorted for minor traffic infractions?). They seem to be more happy about currying favour with their political masters rather than protecting the public. Hence, their priorities are completely screwed up and misplaced like going after the peaceful anti-ISA gatherings instead of after the criminals.
    Last, but not least, let’s be serious. Can anyone really think our PDRM can compare with the police in Japan, Hong Kong, and Singapore? This perception thing is all hogwash.

16. #16 by cvl on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 7:44 pm

A Public Petition is one process which Malaysian citizen can recourse for the betterment of public services in lieu of the usual approach thru their MPs. Sean has got a workable and supportable suggestion there.

In this case, the Public Petition should be to demand for better measures of safety for the general public viz

– clear deliverables for which the police should do to,
    – clear accountability for police deliverables.

High time now for the public to exert its noble demands thorugh petition instead of waiting for the next GE.

17. #17 by melurian on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 8:25 pm

let me ask you, do you and karpal and patto and tonypua have bodyguards? do you kena robbed b4 since aab become pm?

if not then all you hear and read is just “hearsay”…..

[Robbed twice at knife-point in front of my office and my house; twice my car was broken into and I lost two laptops. I have no bodyguard.- Kit]

18. #18 by One4All4One on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 8:32 pm

Sorry guys, a little digression from topic…

Malaysia export oil. With the much lower global price now, what is the actual export price? Compare that to the pump price that we are paying (RM1.90/L), are we paying more that the export rate?

Anyone who has the figures, pls enlighten.

Are we Malaysians “subsidising” the export of petroleum? That is, the local pump price is higher than the export value? Any figures?
    If that is the case more petroleum at lower prices should be diverted for the benefit of locals.

Of course it is to be noted that exports are for generating offshore income; but then the balance should be more favourable to the locals.

TQ.

19. #19 by wanderer on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 8:36 pm

When incompetency appears lies follow. This is the reason, we have the biggest liar in the head of the police force. There are god police officers who will make good IGP, they were overlooked and this corrupted UMNOputeras pick a spineless officer for this position to serve their own ends.. Consequently, the situation became from ordinary to bad…very bad!
    What good can come off from a officer who has no intelligence, talent or ability…a perfect candidate to be only an obedient lapdog for his political masters.

20. #20 by One4All4One on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 8:39 pm

Sometimes one wonders if policing is equivalent to thuggery.

Power corrupts; absolute power corrupts absolutely.

Who looks over the shoulders of the police?

The police is accountable to the citizens of the country, not to the powers that be.

Nation before self should be the motto and principle.

What do we have here instead?

21. #21 by just a moment on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 8:43 pm

Just watch Goment tv7 news, the answer to crime rate is the issue of mis- interpretation of results, thats all. So, as usual – Get a independent (another commission like others) expert to analyse and present it in a more favourable outlook lor. Vely simper one in bolehland.

Then there was the clip in Parliment when Teresa Kok question the double standard by the “police action” in questioning MCA ChuaSL (Where is MCA so called members?) Ke…Me..u thing and many Non Umno people, she encounter a very-fiece, passionate,emotional, shouting respond from typical Melayu Supremist saying: “We the Melayu …… cannot talk whereas You the Cina can talk…, this is double standard!”

This is yet another typical low-shallow,supremist mind work – This bloke thought he had address Teresa’s question but in fact missed the entire issue by a million mile.
    Everybody can talk lah, but its the “police action” that is double standards, not who talk what ma. See lah, this kind of mentality sitting in parliment for so many yrs. How?

22. #22 by disapointed86 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 9:06 pm

Petition seems to be the only way..To certain extend i believe even the votes who vote for BN will go against this IGP..only the BN MP’s will support him..What Musa uttered cannot be accepted internally nor by the foreign countries..its 100% pure lies…Malaysia isnt a safe place it used to be…

23. #23 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 9:23 pm

Yes, we definitely agree that Musa is not fit to be the country’s top cop with all the evidence of misconduct, mismanagement, abuses… piled up against him.

24. #24 by Ramesh Laxman on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 9:32 pm

Mark my word the helicopters will become white elephants like the Proton Waja Police cars that are now sitting without moving in the compounds of Police Stations in Kuala Lumpur.

25. #25 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 10:00 pm

Kenapa orang yang ‘meleleh bila rasa bau durian’ masih cebur diri dalam blog YB LKS? Pergilah ampu bos mu dari Umno.Tak payah tunggu dibantai dalam blog ini.

26. #26 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 10:05 pm

YB Lim,

Could u possibly write a thread on this Mukhriz obsession?

Whilst u r at it, can someone please enlighten us on Mukhriz’s educational background? It’s terrible that in Bolehland, the proposers of educational reform are often quite ‘uneducated’ or have very little education of note.

“Mukhriz: Razak said it first
    Mukhriz says the unified education system was first proposed in the Razak report of 1956. The Razak report was headed by Malaysia’s second Prime Minister, the late Tun Abdul Razak Hussein.
    By Shannon Teoh”
    KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 4 – Umno Youth chief candidate Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir continued to defend his proposal to unify the education system today, stating that it is an idea that was first mooted in the Penyata Razak (Razak Report) of 1956.

27. #27 by Damocles on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 10:13 pm

Although it may sound callous, I would say that those senior government officials, especially the police, who is entrusted with our security, that when they, or their family members, got hit, they deserved it.
    Poetic justice, isn’t it!

28. #28 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 10:15 pm

My house was burgled,my family home was broken into,my brother’s car was stolen,my mother in law was robbed,my neighbour was ambushed and robbed.Melurian, aren’t these facts reflective of our so very unsafe bolehland..

29. #29 by c730427 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 11:02 pm

corruption begins from the top. when a leader appears to be corrupt even he is not, it will turn into a blanket of illusion, confusion and encouragement for the whole family to think it is alright to accept bribes. of course, it is absolutely unfair to accuse all the police officers are corrupt. nevertheless, we all know that most cases are negotiable. ‘question of freedom comes at a price’. i look forward to see how the court find the accused of altantuya’s case. my gut feeling tells me that the two accused will be free, just like razak, i want to see how the judicial system help the police clean up their mess in this ‘hot’ case.

30. #30 by bobiee on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 11:22 pm

This Tan Sri has retired but now return to service under contract.He was sick lately. Physically he is still quite weak. He is not to be blamed.Our government must do it’s homework , set an independant panel and get a new police head. A new police supremo who is capable, able, wise, fearless and the best man for the job – can be a Malay, Indian, Eurasian, Chinese .. oh forget about the ethnicity – a Malaysian.
    Thanks.

31. #31 by veddy.lum74 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 11:28 pm

damn obvious dat bcos of the inefficiency of the police,we have rakankop,rela,polis bantuan and you will find most of the taman-taman are having private security guards;cctv,burglar prevention apparatus,proximity devices are selling like hot cakes,dear IGP,.maybe you are at the wrong place,go and act together with your brother Jalaludin better,no one will spit at you,bcos dey know you are in drama!

32. #32 by Tonberry on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 11:58 pm

Melurian thinks he’s living in a world of his own called Dreamland, where everything is perfect. He always think the outside world is very bad and always had the intention of re-colonising his Dreamland. Hence, we can sum up how naive are the mindsets of Umnoputras. They came from Indonesia and have no proper history to back them up beside being sea pirates throughout their ancestry life.

33. #33 by Cinapek on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 12:03 am

“…especially as his son was working in one of the two companies which are inter-connected….”

Sounds a familiar story of companies wanting to land mega contracts employing family members of the decision makers. Aiya!! Planning for retirement funds, ah?? Give direct can get into trouble with ACA so employ family members, give them huge salaries and shares. Excuse? Giving them a legs up!! All perfectly legal.

After the new fleet of police cars were added recently I saw more mata mata parking their police cars under the trees in remote areas enjoying a nice afternoon siesta. Now if with helicopters, can fly to resort islands for their rest and recreation?

34. #34 by storm62 on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 12:13 am

If Malaysia were to hv a GOD fearing, honest, law abiding,professional and uncorrupted IGP or a Home Minister, i think at least half of UMNO goons will be in jail by now.

Can we privatised or hv an independent PDRM, YB Lim?

35. #35 by m.hwang on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 12:14 am

YB Lim,

You fear for our safety. I sincerely fear for yours. Not from the thieves but because of the police. You are an easier target than the thieves. Easier work too. Please don’t let them catch you with a candle…lagi worse!

36. #36 by kerajaan.rakyat on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 2:06 am

:::

Ketua Polis Negara= Ketua Perasuah Negara?

“E-Police Force Solution” merupakan satu rangkaian sistem wireless digital sepenuhnya yang berasaskan teknologi informasi dan komunikasi (ICT) yang canggih dengan litupan seluruh negara.

Sistem ini berupaya menyalurkan suara, data, video, grafik dan maklumat biometrics dan DNA secara serentak dan tanpa batasan. Kertas cadangan perlaksanaan projek ini bernilai RM4.2 billion.

PDRM berminat dengan sistem ini kerana mereka percaya ia dapat membantu pihak polis dalam siasatan dan membanteras jenayah.

Corrupted Musa Hassan – read here
    http://kerajaanrakyat.com/?p=1828

Here is what E-Police all about.
    http://kerajaanrakyat.com/?p=732

http://kerajaanrakyat.com

:::

37. #37 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 4:09 am

Storm62 says:
    “If Malaysia were to hv a GOD fearing, honest, law abiding,professional and uncorrupted IGP or a Home Minister,”

Do u think UMNO is atheistic or agnostic? RPK even thinks Najib is Hindu. What is clear is that UMNO subscribes to the form of religion and has all the adornments and trappings to show but deny the kernels of truths and the practices through their living. UMNO mocks their own religion and makes a travesty of their faith.

I respect PAS more. They try to live their faith. All of us who are religious know and understand the personal struggles we all go thru even without politics, what more the brand of politics we see in Bolehland.

38. #38 by simon041155 on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 5:31 am

ENDANGERED HORNBILL Says: Do u think UMNO is atheistic or agnostic?

By its promotion of Ketuanan Melayu which is against the principles of Islam that prompted the noted historian Arnold Tynobee to write in his Civilization on Trial, “The extinction of race consciousness between Muslim is one of the outstanding moral achievements of Islam, and in the contemporary world, there is, as it happens, a crying need for the propagation of this Islamic virtue…”

The answer is crystal clear, but if we write the answer here, they will use the ISA against us, LOL. A bunch of racists claiming to run a nation, but without believing in nationhood…. I will just call it lampahood.

39. #39 by undergrad2 on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 5:55 am

“Since when has dipping one’s hand into the nation’s coffers become a crime ? ” GODFATHER

If you’re going to cut off every hand that goes into the cookie jar, you’ll find our Ministers walking without their hands! They can’t even sign their own resignation letters.

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 6:01 am

“Robbed twice at knife-point in front of my office and my house; twice my car was broken into and I lost two laptops. I have no bodyguard” Kit

That’s not bad. Over here you’ll be lucky to get robbed at gun point and have your last remaining dollars (your only saving in many cases) stolen from you. They even throw your empty wallet back to you.

41. #41 by chengho on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 7:05 am

Get the new talent for Police force .Review their salary to make it attractive for new talent to join in. The thugs becoming more daring and sophisticated our Police still practice their old routine .
    Strengthen and enforce Rukun Tetangga , Rakancop and voluntary programme.

42. #42 by Jeffrey on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 8:39 am

As I understand it, YB is not criticising the merits or demerits of police helicopter deal to hire 34 helicopters from syarikat AsiaCopter for 30 years and the RM4.2 billion “E-Police Force Solution” by themselves. (For these projects, with details available, may be argued to be consistent with the buttressing of the police force’s efficiency needed to address the worsening crime problem).

However you are criticising propriety of the lobbying.

According to Shannon Teoh’s report in The MalysiaInsider of Dec 5th you were quoted to have said, “I have no problems with the police wanting to purchase a system that will help them in investigating crime, but how can the IGP ask the Prime Minister for a “Letter of Exclusive Intent” to be issued to Web Power Sdn Bhd and not via the Secretary General of the Home Ministry?” “The proper procedure in any such purchase is that the IGP must write a letter to the Secretary General of the ministry, who then writes to the Finance Ministry and only after approval, does the home ministry call for tenders…But now, the IGP has ‘bypassed’ this by going straight to the Prime Minister.”

The point is : would anything get done if the proper procedure in any such purchase – ie IGP writing a letter to the Secretary General of the ministry, who then writes to the Finance Ministry and only after approval, the home ministry call for tenders”?

Already things are slow to be executed in Bolehland esp bureaucracy, let alone now when govt departments, whether Home Ministry, Dewan Bandaraya etc seem to b e waiting for change in top leadership, come March or May next year and to see who are the new people taking over with such change of top leadership….

In a situation of impending change of power everyone down the line relax, sit back and adopt ‘wait and see’ attitude.

In Bolehland, lobbying to PM is assumed more effective to get something done rather than “writing to Secretary General of the ministry, who then writes to the Finance Ministry and only after approval, does the home ministry call for tenders” esp if crime situation as you say is worsening……(It’s a questionable assumption though, as bureaucracy may not even listen to him, in last 4 years and esp now the transition when he is on the way out!)

It is the cultural milieu : if you go through these procedures, intermediaries in the bureaucracy will sit on your request – since when they are doing their job speedily according to standard operational procedures ??? – because they too have their other people and cronies in mind, and stalemate ensues! Sadly thats the reality of our system.

Lobbying the PM is based on the assumption that before he leaves office he would at least prioritise or least try fast track projects launched under his admininstration like for eg. Private Funding Initiative (PFI) under 9MP to which the projects lobbied for are to be financed.

Also one cannot reform police bureaucracy by way of integrating their various systems by ICT (integrated digital wireless system) unless IGP as head of police has reviewed, tested and endorsed it as compatible with the needs of police or the problems they face.

On that part about past IGPs not lobbying, well, they might have lobbied for projects that had absolutely nothing to do with upgrading the police force! :) Well even if the present does not measure up, I hope there is no serious suggestion here that the past IGPs were fitter or better….

43. #43 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 8:45 am

/// # melurian Says:
    Yesterday at 20: 25.04

let me ask you, do you and karpal and patto and tonypua have bodyguards? do you kena robbed b4 since aab become pm?

if not then all you hear and read is just “hearsay”…..

[Robbed twice at knife-point in front of my office and my house; twice my car was broken into and I lost two laptops. I have no bodyguard.- Kit] ///

melurian – Kit has answered your queries. Do have the courtesy to respond to his response. Or had the robber cut out your tongue or your fingers?

44. #44 by Bigjoe on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 10:16 am

Someone commented that IGP and other VVIPs walk the streets of Imbi, Sultan Ismail and other places alone without body guards if they feel safe. I got one better..

I dare them to let their wives and daugthers walks alone in my suburban neigbourhood for a few weeks…

We don’t even feel safe to let my sisters and mother come home at night and come out of their cars to open the front gate in our suburban homes!! I am not alone, most of my neighbours stay up late at night waiting for their women folks if they have to come home late. Its a constant discussion in our neighourhood coffee shops…

45. #45 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 11:39 am

CAN TRUTH BE FOUND WITHOUT BEING ON THE GROUND?

Though we don’t have too many merino sheep around
    Yet there’s so much wool over our eyes to be found
    Especially when certain vested parties try to confound
    The actual serious situations right there on the ground

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 051208
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Fri. 5th Dec. 2008.

46. #46 by AhPek on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 11:47 am

chengho,
    you sure have a panacea for improving the police force and security!