Fight crime not fight perception

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak was being most frivolous and irresponsible when he adopted lock, stock and barrel the line that the biggest police challenge is not to fight crime but the perception that crime is serious in Malaysia!

He trotted out the argument that statistics indicate that crime rate in Malaysia is lower than Japan and Hong Kong, with the logical conclusion that that it is safer in Malaysia than in Japan and Hong Kong.

When Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi became Prime Minister five years ago, the crime situation was so bad that one of his top priorities was to establish a Royal Police Commission to create an efficient and professional world-class police service to keep crime low.

The Royal Police Commission said in its report in 2005 that the crime index of 156,455 cases of crime for 2004 “seriously dented Malaysia’s reputation as a safe country” and recommended an immediate reduction of the crime index by 20 per cent in the next 12 months.

What has happened in the past four years? For two consecutive years, the crime index had reached endemic proportions, crashing through the 200,000 barrier in 2007 and 2008 – and yet we have a Prime Minister-designate publicly repudiating the Prime Minister’s previous stance by claiming that the problem is not crime but public perception on crime when Malaysians feel even more unsafe from crime with every passing year.

Even the Selangor Sultan is very concerned about the crime situation in Selangor and the country.

This is what the Sultan of Selangor said in an interview with Star on crime:

I continue to receive complaints from the rakyat on the ground situation. I read about crime in the newspapers and even at dinner conversations. People talk about it. It’s not just a Selangor problem but a national problem. In Selangor, we have the highest crime rate because the population is now the biggest in Malaysia. This is also a place which attracts outsiders and foreigners because of job opportunities. Social problems such as crime comes naturally unfortunately. It is expected.

I have been told that crime prevention has improved. The Selangor police are saying that this is their most successful period in the last 10 years with the state index showing a marginal increase. Gombak, Ampang, Shah Alam, Kuala Langat, Hulu Selangor and Sepang districts show decreases overall.

I am sure the police are trying their best but perceptions are important. If the public do not feel safe on the street or even at home, no amount of assurances would be good enough. Even the homes of police officers are burgled. That is bad. There should be more policemen on the streets. People feel safe when they see policemen on patrol. Traffic cops alone are not good enough.

Najib’s claim that Malaysia is safer than Japan and Hong Kong based on crime statistics is highly suspect as the basis and definition for the crime indices in the two countries vary greatly.

DAP National Publicity Secretary Tony Pua has a more detailed statement on the fallacies of Najib’s comparative data.

But what cries out for answer is why Najib should sell the irresponsible line that Malaysia is comparatively safe, safer than Japan and Hong Kong?

1. #1 by melurian on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:06 pm

in malaysia you don have a person ran amok left 7+ dead.
    in malaysia you don have a child beheaded another child.
    in malaysia you don force girls into porno industry.
    in malaysia you don gun down a mayor.
    in malaysia you don have a syndicate launch sarin gas in train terminal.
    in malaysia you don murder and dismembered a teenager into 10+ pieces and dump at sea.
    in malaysia you don murder and dismembered yr victim as bun fillings.
    in malaysia you don scold, taunt and fight in public bus for petty things.
    in malaysia you don rape actress just becoz she don want to act in your film.

now u know why hk/japan have crime rate >> malaysia!

2. #2 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:06 pm

I was in PJ old town Sunday night having chicken rice with my friends and suddenly a lady sit few tables from us screamed, then we saw a motorbike sped away, her handbag was snatched, while having chicken rice.

3. #3 by lew1328 on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:16 pm

What you says… POLICE… Shame on U…

We had a first class in term of police infrastructure, but low class polices. They may want to review their standard of the passing/ graduate from the high class school of police academics.

Regards.

4. #4 by Godfather on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:33 pm

Perception is everything to the den of thieves. Since they control the mainstream press, they can dictate that the crimes are either ignored or relegated to the back pages.

What did Syed Botak say when the rumours started flying about the Malaysian connection to the Mumbai carnage ? “Everyone comes to Malaysia because it is a peaceful place.” Hahaha…he should have said that Malaysian passports and ICs are the easiest to obtain so long as the person in need has the money.

5. #5 by malaysia-united on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:34 pm

Whenever I saw police, the 1st thing in my mind is that they are out for cari makan, hari raya sudah dekat, mahu pakai duit…
    “you tolong I , I tolong you lah”
    “mahu bayar kat balai ke bayar sini?”
    “macam mana mahu settle?”
    “haus ni, nak minum lah…”
    “Ini, boleh saman 300 riggit ni, lebih sikit lah…”
    “tak ada duit? arr…. 10 ringit pun boleh lah…”

6. #6 by hadi on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:35 pm

Yb Kit, you know this PM designate is moron, so what do you expect. This is a guy who pretended to be smart but actually clueless. Typically non committal and if you are to blame him, he will tell you that he was briefed by the police.
    He can say anything and no one will believe him even if he is to swear in the mosque again.

7. #7 by taiking on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:39 pm

Errr I dont get it. 200,000 incidents in a year in a population of 26m – that is official numbers – that makes 1 crime / incident for every 130 malaysians. Quite a realistic number I would say. Ask people around you and they all would have some incidents near and far to relate. So, 1 in 130 ratio is perceivably correct.

Speaking of perception, I cannot gel my perception with najib’s statement. How could we be safer than HK and Spore? When in HK and Spore, I actually feel safe. I need not look left and right, front and back for would be bag snatchers. I do not fear the sudden and unexpected appearance of some parang weilding men in ski mask. No mat rempits emerging by the dozens from darkness and encircling me and beating the daylights out of me with god knows what. One way streets are strictly one way and not multiple ways and anyway.

Then again I dont have a PhD and I am a product of umno government’s (-)meritocracy education system. In other words I am damn stupid. And I stupidly chose to disbelieve umno. Because I am stupid and I made a stupid choice, umno now has one hell of problem converting me to their perception of things. The lesson to learn: stupid people like me can also be undesirable.

8. #8 by Godfather on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:39 pm

Samshul Anuar & Melurian, the 100 pct bumiputra consulting firm, did a survey and found out that Bolehland is safer than Hong Kong, Singapore and Tokyo.

These towering Malays will be publishing their survey statistics in kmu.net. Look out for it.

9. #9 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:40 pm

But dawsheng this is not in the stats so cannot count one!Only those that appear in police report are valid cases, these people will contend when they try to convince us that Malaysia is not unsafe.They are not interested whether their stats from the police match what is going on on the groundThey are not interested whether the perception and the faith of the public in the Malaysian police is the same as in Japan or Hong Kong or worse (maybe much worse) for if one doesn’t have faith in your police then it is also possible many crime cases can go unreported.On an international scare HK police is reputed to be one of the best in the world and the public has confidence in them,and I would believe police from Japan has a much better standing in the eyes of the public than Malaysian police.
    Just drive around and one will not fail see all the outward sign of a fast deteriorating security situation—gated communities and those not gated will employ guards to patrol their areas and some even erect manned bar gates.
    Then again,why are you people so adamant in implementing IPCMC?Maybe according to some reports our police are better than australian police and new zealand police and therfore why the need?
    Tell us then are our opinion of our police mere perception and not supported by stats?

10. #10 by Godfather on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:46 pm

Aiya, these UMNOputras also watch the Chinese channels on Astro. They see the carnage on HK streets, the use of machine guns everywhere in HK, so how can anyone say that HK is safer than KL ?

11. #11 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:46 pm

Two students were hacked near Nottingham University in Semenyih. One died a brutal death while the other injured seriously. Mercilessly, maybe even due to mistaken identity.

The “developed state” (according to Toyo) is certainly not a safe place to live in anymore. It has the highest crime rate but hey, its only a “perception”, maybe only a “mirage” according to Najib and the Police. We are in fact better than Ghana. We are Utopia.

We live in denial. That’s why we always fail.

12. #12 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:47 pm

Even Toyol has claimed that Selangor school system is world class according to some (I forgot what it is maybe Nadeswaran can come in to help out) report,better I think than Singapore schools!!

13. #13 by sizzerpac on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:58 pm

How can malaysia be safer than HK and Japan? dumbess thing to say. Government just chose the best looking stats and shove it to us thinking the public are as dumb as them.

Why don’t they travel to HK and experience it themselves, its not too far and its shopping season right now. Take a look at the HK police, who beats the streets virtually round the clock in the city.

14. #14 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 4:00 pm

I hate to highlight about this over and over again. I really don’t understand why LKS keeps on debating about this without any constructive solution. If the Police is not good and not up to his high expection, WHY DIDN’T he urge his so-called “GOOD’ community to join the Police Force.

Don’t just EYEING for the TOP ranks but apply for the LOWER ranks. Again, the anwer I would expect is no meritrocracy and difficult to get promoted bla bla bla. Come on la, if there’s no meritrocracy, do you think Datuk Koh Hung Sun, Datuk Christopher Wan, Datuk Arthur Edmunds and many many more Non Bumis could go up to the highest posts in PDRM. Pls think about that rasionally.

If we were not ready to sacrifice for the country or earning less by becoming a lower rank police, why must we question and look down to those whose willing to risk their lives.

Again, critizing without getting ourselves involved is not the solution.

Remember, Barking Dogs Never Bite

15. #15 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 4:00 pm

Sheriff singh,
    They can insist our tumpangnaut is in fact a cosmonaut,and that if you don’t believe,just go and ask the Russian.What would you expect the Russian to say after having pocketed USD20 million from Malaysia?

16. #16 by monsterball on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 4:18 pm

Instead of telling us how government intends to reduce crimes and solving them….it is comparison that we are better off than Japan and HongKong.
    Instead of answering us…why we are getting poorer and poorer….they will tell you …we are richer than Timbuktu.. Somalia and Zimbabwai.
    Now the oil is so low in prices..they are taking their time..to reduce slowly…so that few months of extra profits…to beef up Petronas profit…to make another multi billion project…with huge commission…same way…personal..party and chosen few to benefit…….over and over again.
    Our consumer price should be around RM1.50 per litre…..but we are still paying some 70 sen higher price. Remember..for the first time…no more subsidy on petrol for consumers…which was 30sen per litre.
    So…who is getting richer? Petronas and why?
    Crime rates…why now they will tell us…it is universal happenings…nothing can be done.
    The main cause of crimes is people are getting poorer and poorer…no money…so rob….kill or steal..to feed the families.
    Why is it happening in Malaysia……when we are such a filthy rich country?
    No Sir..we are as poor as Thai folks…right now…and remember….Thailand have no oil fields like blessed Malaysia.
    Why are we so poor??
    The spinning wheel will go round and round….with UMNO spinning all sorts of sinful…unconcern and incorrigible reasons…because they are so greedy and confident….will rule us forever…give back…little by little….as if they own the country.
    They will say..no one is hungry and everyone is wearing shoes and clothes. Wait for this reason…as spoken by Samy Vellu…one year ago about Indians.

17. #17 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 4:21 pm

cintanegara,of course if you look at the stats the Chinese policeman,and for that matter even the Indian police man are very low,in fact so low indeed that perhaps it is less than 5% of the police force that it does not reflect the 34% population these 2 groups represent.But how many people know that many applications from these2 groups landed up in the wastepaper baskets.Now this has been happening for sometime now and of course you’ll say there is no proof but then again you must also remember there are non Malays in the police administration who have seen this happening.Coupled this with the fact coming from MSM declaring that no Chinese is interested in joining because of low pay and the ploy in minimising participation from other groups looks perfect.Just look across the whole civil service,it is repeated throughout.

18. #18 by ringthetill on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 4:32 pm

This statement by the DPM shows an attempt to hoodwink the public again. Is the Government really out of touch with life in the community? Are they too cosy with all the trappings of good living, power and sense of security, simply because they have a small army of body guards (mind you paid for by the taxpayers). Even foreigners are complaining about rising crime.

Here is one example reported in The Star newspaper today, ‘Keep the streets safe or we’ll kill our image’
    http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/12/2/focus/2653041&sec=focus

Personally I have friends who were mugged right outside their house. This is very real crime and is not perception to the victims! To make matters worse, when reports are made, the police often claim that they are short-handed. We need more police presence in the street. About time they rethink their duty and priorities; as they say, going back to basics.

19. #19 by k1980 on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 4:41 pm

Bijan will soon be comparing the safety of malaysians vis-a-vis that of iraqis and afghans, who are being blown apart like aktankoya by bombs everyday and night. We must count our blessings that there are no american soldiers shooting up the people as are the cases in iraq and afghanistan. We are so strong that the americans are too scared to invade our country. And while our countries are worried sick by the economic meltdown, we are quarreling over who should be tuan lording over the hamba

20. #20 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 4:48 pm

AhPek – applications from these2 groups landed up in the wastepaper baskets

Ah Pek, Pls be more sincere and don’t exaggarate something never happended. Applying for lower rank doesnt require any sort of application letter. Applicants can just walk in and undergo the physical test etc. Of cource, he/she must bring along all his certs etc.

If the admin was very rigid in term of selection, how do you think those NON MALAYS from Sabah amd Sarawk could get the entry easily. It’s all about sacrifice and how much we love our country along with the willingness attidude to earn less. PLS NOTE THAT I’M FOCUSING ON THE LOWER RANKS NOT THE HIGHER RANKS,

Again, I salute to those Non Malays from SABAH and SARAWAK for thier willingness to join the force. They seldom ask but always contribute.

21. #21 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 5:02 pm

cintanegara,
    sometime ago mamak has commented that in Australian prisons there are 17 aborigines to 1 australian.Do you believe that? If you do tell us why and if you don’t also tell us why?

22. #23 by Damocles on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 5:27 pm

Uncle Lim, I suggest that the PR should tell the Sultan of Selangor to sack the UMNO/BN government and install the PR in its place.
    I also hope that one of these days the wives or close relatives of the ministers (including the PM & DPM) will encounter these criminals as it would be the height of poetic justice!
    Mark my words, it can happen!

23. #24 by Godfather on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 5:30 pm

Yes, cintanegara, let us be rasional. Let’s kompare with Harare and Lagos. Join your experts Samshul Anuar and melurian for their rasionality.

24. #25 by sybreon on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 6:11 pm

cintanegara: it’s not that the chinese do not want to join the lower rungs of the police force but, most of the chinese who can qualify to join the police force will inevitably be qualified for the higher positions, while most of the rest would not even qualify to sit in the lower rungs even if they wanted to.

25. #26 by alancheah on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 6:28 pm

Whatever they say is right.
    But whenever we rakyat say something,
    they will tell us not to compare our country’s
    situation with another!

A Joke of the Year!

The increase of crime rate just has to be solved.
    No point comparing whatever crime rate
    with other countries.

26. #27 by izrafeil on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 6:48 pm

My son lost his IC in Cheras, we lived in Ampang, so we made a police report in Ampang, Guess WHAT!! they want us to report in Cheras!!!! aiyo so lazy one ah!!!

27. #28 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 7:05 pm

BN govt wants the Rakyat to believe their statistics on crime, but they dont believe what the Rakyat and even Sultan told them the truth that it is the opposite!!! It is not only on crime rate that BN govt dont believe the Rakyat, but they dont believe all the other statistics given by other reputable organisations in the world e.g. ranking of our universities etc.
    BN govt is on the verge of no return. There is no self renewal and change on its own. It is pure lip service and it is facing the similar fate as the Chinese Dynasties that failed!!! Habis cerita!!!

28. #29 by katdog on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 7:50 pm

“It’s all about sacrifice and how much we love our country along with the willingness attidude to earn less.” – Cintanegara

Hi Cintanegara, why you ask outsider’s and penumpang to sacrifice for your country? You say we cannot have this and that because we are not the majority race, but now you say we should be willing to sacrifice and earn low pay and work in low ranking jobs to sacrifice for your country?

Since i am only ‘pendatang’ here, why should i be asked to waste my life for you. I could easily go be a ‘pendatang’ in another country and get high pay and high ranking post AND equal rights and protection.

“Again, I salute to those Non Malays from SABAH and SARAWAK for thier willingness to join the force. They seldom ask but always contribute.” -Cintanegara

Unfortunately Sabah and Sarawak people are one of the poorest in the country even though they contribute the most (44% of our country’s revenue is oil). This is what happens when you sacrifice blindly to the UMNOputra’s. They will rape you and take everything you have. And when you have nothing left they will just leave you.

Do you really want to sacrifice your life for people like that?

29. #30 by katdog on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 8:03 pm

Our crime rate is lower than Hong Kong and Japan?

One thing to bear in mind that this are statistics. And just as with our inflation figures etc. these are not always 100% true. How the statistics are calculated and derived needs to be understood. One needs to be mindful especially of ‘statistics’ provided by Malaysian authorities.

These numbers are calculated only from REPORTED cases that HAVE been investigated and classified as true. (Of course this is completely logical, you can’t include prank calls or false reports into your statistics.)

But now ask yourself, knowing the Malaysian mentality and style, how close do you think the statistics would be to actual conditions on the ground?

30. #31 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 8:43 pm

This is what our former IGP Tun Haniff has to say of IPCMC ‘When I was the IGP a disciplinary committee was set up but when I resigned my successors did not continue with the internal control mechanism.That’s why we need IPCMC so that it would become a permanent feature to check on the police.’.

31. #32 by sinnerconman on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:20 pm

Abdullah Badawee: PEE M for all Malaysians but created 2nd, 3rd, and 4th class citizens. All his promises have become lies, lies and more lies. .Ajib denies, denies and he denies until he swears on the so called holy book. Then he sms after C4ed and for once he did not deny and said “period”. No Otak says “ISAed her for her protection”. White Hairal said, “30 cents subsidy for petrol to the people”. Hamidi is now in Mecca and sinnerconman asks “who pay for his so religious forms without substance in his holy land and is he also claiming for oversea allowance?” Crime/corruption/perception/lies and more lies/even swearing/etc will not make me change my views, thoughts and beliefs. Just kick the BEENNN out and elect for a new government. I trust you Kit!

32. #33 by Sooth on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:21 pm

cintanegara,

The fact is, Malaysia’s crime rate is spiralling. I don’t think anyone is putting the blame on any race specifically. I understand why some (or many?) of the policemen do what they do to survive. They are woefully underpaid. A BBC report in 2006 says that a new recruit earns around $180 a month. That’s around RM600 and is probably below the poverty line.

It’s ridiculous to expect our police force to live on the low salary while politically connected bigwigs get hundreds of millions in commission for doing nothing. I think we have got to blame the BN government for this mess. They closed a blind eye to corruption below because of their own greed since it’s easier for them to be on the take if everyone else is on the take. It could even be said that they forced those below them to be corrupt by giving them an unliveable salary.

As to why many Chinese do not want to join the force, well, I can’t speak for all the Chinese but there are many reasons why I refuse to join the force.

I want to be able to offer my children an opportunity to further their studies if they are capable but I don’t have the luxury of MARA or other bumi scholarships and I need to pay 5-10% more for my house. We are also hamstrung by entrance quotas into local universities. Can I afford to do that living honestly on a policeman’s salary?

The (perceived) lack of promotion is another thing. My cousin and uncle, who are both retired now, were in the civil service for years but were never promoted. Sure, there are some who are promoted but they are few and far between and it’s based on quotas as well.

So, I chose a line of work that’s harder (but probably much safer) and with a pay that I can save for the future without resorting to anything dishonest. I do not want my children to go through the same system of uncertainty and hardship. I want them to enjoy their lives without worrying about the future as much as I did when I was young. Isn’t that the hope of every person?

As for the crime rate, let me post a link I got from another blog:
    http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/cri_mur_percap-crime-murders-per-capita
    http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/cri_rob_percap-crime-robberies-per-capita
    http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/cri_rap_percap-crime-rapes-per-capita

Malaysia has a higher number of robberies, murders, and rapes per capita when compared to Japan and Hong Kong from 1998-2000. I think it’s more important to consider a breakdown of serious crimes rather than total number of crimes. I doubt that many Malaysians even bother to report lesser crimes due to all the hassle and knowing that the police wouldn’t even be bothered to deal with them.

33. #34 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:23 pm

“Perception”. “Wrong” perception. “Change” the perception. Hmmmmm. Dangerous times folks.

Our future PM to-be is going to govern by “perception” i.e. Management by Perception.

Just change the perception and everything will be all right. Never mind the reality that things are NOT OK. Just change the perception and viola! we are all right. Everything is bright and sunny and there will be no need to do anything.

Be afraid, folks. Be very afraid when he takes over. From the hot pot into the fire.

34. #35 by chiakchua on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:34 pm

Again this is example of Malaysia bolih! Self praise! Malaysia is safer than Hong Kong and Japan? Adoi, don’t make me vomit my drink! Shiok sendiri and try to cheat the ignorant rakyat! Shame on all of you from top to bottom. Terrible!

I love Malaysia, that’s why I must speak out. Many of you are only here to get your fat ass pay and jalan!

35. #36 by sinnerconman on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:50 pm

Cintanegara, benar benarkah tuan cinta negara bolehland ini? If you really cinta negara Malaysia, the BEENN ship is sinking and very soon Arif Shah and Zaid Ibrahim will be joining PR and you are welcome anytime to be with us to start a new Malaysia. I am a sinner man and I can assure you we will turn you inside out and downside up and I am sure you will feel at home in this blog no matter how much you hate YB Lim Kit Siang and his supporters. We will instill goodwill and good manners in you. Over to you cintanegara and I hope for once our friends will be kind to you. Thank you cintanegara for reading this note and once again, join us to build a fair, progressive, just and prosperous Malaysia with Islam as the religion of the Federation.

36. #37 by vsp on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 10:28 pm

Najib, Chor and Hamid Albar:

Tell to the thousands of crime victims whose sons, daughters, mother, father and friends who were robbed, murdered or mutilated for life that these were only their perceptions and they were having hallucinations. They just woke up from a terrible dream and everything is just make-belief.

Tell to the millions of home owners who have to barricade their homes with grilled irons and armed with sophisticated alarm system to deter robbers from breaking into their castles. They are stupid because it’s only their perception. The police in Bolehland are super-efficient and they must not be so paranoid.

37. #38 by rubini on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:40 pm

The illogical nature which the IGP, the DIGP & DPM answers questions related to crime borders lunacy. Perhaps the all the 3 individuals should give up the comforts of the personnel protection & high walls & live in crime ridden areas.
    Crime is blantantly committed in broad daylight because it’s profitable to do so. More & more people will turn to crime if its profitable & they can get away with it. Crime is on the increase is because those in power are corrrupted & are rarely taken to court. The fact is a lot of the Police force personnel are corrupt & are part & parcel of the criminals in the country.
    The Police force under Dr.M like the civil service opened it doors to 1 group of people & shut it to others.

38. #39 by chengho on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 4:07 am

With the current payroll no chinese and Indian will be interested to join the rank and file of Police force . the police giving their life and we pay peanut . no body talk about their welfare .

39. #40 by kengsong on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 4:22 am

Hello all,

Irene is one of our managers from our PJ branch and this is her report on what happened yesterday 16th Oct 2008 in PJ after the down pour at 7pm.

Crime is a big problem today and therefore please be alert while on the road.

Best regards

Daniel Tan
    General Manager – Retail Operations
    Cycle & Carriage Bintang Berhad
    Tel: +603 77116000
    Direct: +603 77116118
    Mobile:+6012 3285188
    http://www.ccb.mercedes-benz.com.my

Sent: Friday, October 17, 2008 5:11 PM
    To: CCBGroup-KlangValley
    Subject: FW: A True Incident That Happened TO ME Last Night

Dear Colleagues,

I would like to share my experience with you on what actually happened last night while on my way back from the office alone.

It was raining heavily while I left the office about 7.00pm and I was caught in the traffic jam along the way home. On reaching Kampung Tunku, I noticed some bikes tailing me closely. My reaction was bikes riders will not be so gentle on the road, even on rainy days, they often speed. As I could not view clearly in the downpour, I activated my rear windshield wiper to have a better look.

I saw three bikes behind me. Following that, one rider moved in front of my car towards the left and two riders were behind me for a while. And I heard a very loud crashing sound at the rear of my car.

I did not stop to investigate but accelerated and continued my journey home despite whatever damages I have to incur for repairs. After a while, the three bikers went missing and guess what next. A breakdown tow truck was behind me next. Along the way, my drive was not comfortable as I felt that my car was not moving in the right way.

I continued my journey, whatever, and on reaching home, guess what, two tires, LH Front and Rear were punctured flat.

We always read and heard that such incidents are happening daily, and this time I experienced this myself.

Please inform all your wives and loves ones not to stop the car while driving alone, just carry on the journey.

With regards,
    Irene Kok

40. #41 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 9:00 am

Do not be so ignorant as to say that the police is underpaid compared to other civil servants in Malaysia,The policemen were given more than 40% payrise in 2007 and they as a group are most highly paid in the civil service.So do not say they receive peanuts.You know and I know that the police force is made up of a lot of people who are not dedicated.They do not work hard but greedy.They want to make a lot of money without putting in a lot of effort.They just do the minimum like the ordinary government office staff.So how to tackle crime and prevent crime when the police force is mostly staffed by the lazy and greedy people?

41. #42 by Godfather on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 9:19 am

Hello, you folks are so pessimistic and can only bring up isolated incidences. Our police and our courts are so efficient that you don’t hear of the so-called crime wave. Have you heard of anyone being successfully prosecuted for murder, armed robbery, rape, causing grevious bodily harm ? No ? That’s how safe we are !

42. #43 by kenghuei on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 11:45 am

I’m a Malaysian working in a S’pore MNC with many foreigners.. it is a shame when I heard of news of my Korean colleague’s car being stolen in JB.. and when they ask me, is it safe to go there for holidays? Ask any Singaporeans, they will tell you they have reservations about visiting JB despite the temptations of cheaper things and even if there are no jams at the custom.

So, our future PM here is basically saying.. “Hey come on, ppl.. relax.. it’s not as bad as other even more developed countries..so what’s the problem? we should be satisfied with what our police is doing..” One word : COMPLACENCY (assuming that his statistics are accurate to give him the benefit of doubt).

43. #44 by king cobra on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 6:06 pm

Katdog says:
    Unfortunately Sabah and Sarawak people are one of the poorest in the country even though they contribute the most (44% of our country’s revenue is oil). This is what happens when you sacrifice blindly to the UMNOputra’s

Hi Katdog , as far as i understand , for those oil producing states “sabah” “sarawak” , long time ago they had inked an agreement with federal govt on oil revenue sharing 95% to fed govt , 5% to respective states , for Trengganu i’m not sure wat’s the deal struck between fed govt & that state.

therefore to over turn this unfair deal , in my opinion Pakatan must win in the next GE to form the federal govt , only then this unfair deal could be reviewed………

Thanks

44. #45 by de_Enigma on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 12:54 am

It is always easy to get the statistic numbers down. Whatever you do, always discourage people from reporting it. Now one wonders why our police force is so inefficient and troublesome to the citizens.

45. #46 by akarmalaysian on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 6:57 pm

safe??…..cops using C4s to blow up a human being to pieces??…and the real culprit behind is not even close to being caught???….u call that safe???