The Shah Alam High Court this morning ordered the release of Malaysia Today editor and blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin who had been detained under the Internal Security Act since Sept. 12, 2008.
The judge, Justice Syed Ahmad Helmy Syed Ahmad ordered the police to produce RPK, who is detained in Kamunting Detention Centre, in Shah Alam court by 4 pm today to be formally released.
I would be in Shah Alam Court myself to be a witness to this historic moment if I am not in Penang now and have to be in Alor Star tonight.
The Shah Alam High Court decision sustains hope that basic judicial decency, independence and integrity have not been completely destroyed despite two decades of judicial darkness.
The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi should ensure that the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar and the police fully respect the Shah Alam High Court’s decision on RPK’s habeas corpus application and uphold the rule of law and should slap down any trickery or stratagem to frustrate the judicial decision, such as a re-arrest.
Welcome back RPK!

#1 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 10:59 am
Can he sue for wrongful arrest?
#2 by Godfather on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 10:59 am
I am elated at RPK’s release, but I am also miffed that the Hindraf 5 are still detained under the ISA. What sort of standards are we aspiring to ?
The ISA must go, all those detained must either be released or brought to trial. No two ways about it.
#3 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 11:01 am
Nothing is impossible, quoting what Obama said!
Perhaps it looked like a miracle to us.
Boleh judicial system is fighting back?
This internal minister has better go to resign.
With this, we don’t know what is going to happen to N about his future, if he can really take the job as PM.
#4 by Godfather on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 11:06 am
I think a more noteworthy story is the speech by YM Raja Nazrin yesterday where the rulers basically drew a line in the sand, and said that they would defend injustice and fight corruption – even against the government in power.
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/11950-raja-nazrin-rulers-may-disagree-with-government-leaders
#5 by gofortruth on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 11:10 am
The people prayed and kept watch, God heard the CRIES of His people and answered. Thank God and welcome back indeed our beloved Yang Mulia Raja Petra!
#6 by taikohtai on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 11:11 am
Best news so far, even better than Obama’s victory!
Yes, welcome home RPK. MalaysiaToday was getting a bit boring lately but not anymore.
Najis’ nightmares are all coming back to haunt him ever more heheheehehehe
#7 by gofortruth on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 11:13 am
We continue to uphold all the other detainees in prayer and that this demonic ISA be abolished SOON!
#8 by bentoh on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 11:14 am
The ISA overturned on the basis of wrong reason for detention, because Islam is a state matter, not federal matter.
But Syed Hamid can re-arrest him under various other reasons like “involved in terrorism”, or “for the safety of RPK”…
I’m quite pessimistic because Syed Hamid may just re-arrest RPK to save some face…
#9 by monsterball on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 11:18 am
This is great news for RPK and family..and the whole Nation.
#10 by Thinking Two on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 11:24 am
Welcome home, RPK!
This is the Theory of Yin Yang : Always keep changing. Nothing is Impossible.
#11 by homeblogger on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 11:25 am
All except UMNOputras will rejoice. I call on RPK to completely disclose ALL information he has on the wrong-doings of those who have done this to him.
#12 by carboncopy on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 11:52 am
Directions to SA high court PDF Print E-mail
Posted by Super Admin
Monday, 03 November 2008 21:26
To reach the Bangunan Sultan Salehuddin,
If you get on the Federal Highway, head towards Shah Alam ( after batu tiga toll) 2nd turn off (left). Take 3 o’clock at roundabout. straight, another round about (Bulatan Kayangan – can see the Shah Alam mosque right in front) take 12 o’clock. Then all the way straight – pass Concorde Hotel (on right), through the traffic lights, and straight on for about 100 m then turn left at Jalan Takbir or towards SUK building. If you miss this turn, drive on for another 100m and turn left at Persiaran Raja Muda (into Sec. 6) then take the first left into Persiaran Sultan.
Or, just look for the tallest building near the Shah Alam Mosque. That would be the SUK building which is where the State Govt is. The court is near it.
To get directly to the SUK building from the Federal Highway, take the 4th turn after the Batu Tiga Toll. (It says it is to Pusat Bandar Shah Alam, or it is the turn right after Pusat Perindustrian Shah Alam.) The road curves into Persiaran Sultan. Just follow this road right to the end.
#13 by Justin Cho on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 11:52 am
A VICTORY FOR RPK! A VICTORY FOR THE RAKYAT!
#14 by vp on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 11:59 am
The court said the detaining of RPK is illegal and not in the duty coverage of home minister. what do this mean? Is this means abuse of power by home minister?
#15 by Thinking Two on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:04 pm
File a case against him personally. He should pay for it personally not from the tax payer’s taxes.
#16 by luking on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:07 pm
Welcome home RPK.but just b careful of the downside braindead bald man,considering to rearrest you.
#17 by Emily Pratt on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:08 pm
Dear Pete,
I wish you well.
Now… SUE the Botak Clown Hamid. (Civil suit please, I don’t want the B to use taxpayer money to pay for his criminal negligence)
#18 by Wise Man Says on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:09 pm
Read why Ralph Nader is the more superior presidential candidate than Barack Obama:
http://paksako.blogspot.com/2008/11/thank-you-for-running-for-president-mr.html
#19 by peterchiang on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:12 pm
Sometimes, those released would be charged again immediately. Let’s hope that scene will be appear and Pete gets to go home.
#20 by Daniel Quah on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:20 pm
dont know what will the Potatoes Hamid will say now… Justice exist in Malaysia? ..lol
#21 by Tonberry on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:20 pm
This judge is going to be screwed by Umno.
#22 by AhPek on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:34 pm
Great piece of news, it has made my day but then at the back of my mind is that nagging feeling that this Potato Head might be scheming for a re-arrest.
#23 by OrangRojak on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:39 pm
@Godfather
That’s a top link, thanks for posting it.
But isn’t it bizarre? It appears to completely contradict the earlier statement reaffirming ‘business as usual’ from the rulers’ meeting – or have I misunderstood it? I hope this ‘ruler-in-waiting’ gets some more airtime – messages like this one are a breath of fresh air in Malaysia.
I hope RPK gets some quality time alone with his family for a while. Defending oneself at court is a terrible burden – the more emotional support from family and friends, the better.
#24 by frankyapp on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:44 pm
Ok good news indeed,RPK is released. Hope this will not short live as he can be re-arrested by some hidden laws. But what about the HINDRAT ?
#25 by ReformMalaysia on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:51 pm
Daulat Tuanku (RPK-Sultan of BlogPura)
#26 by ahkok1982 on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:54 pm
Well, from the judgement, it was ruled that the Home Minister has abused his power and that RPK’s detention was unlawful.
So does this mean that the Home Minister has broken the law? If so, then should he not be charged and brought to court? Stripped off his position and be thrown into jail?
The tables should be turned. The unlawful Home Minister should be in jail for his crimes!!!!
#27 by Yee Siew Wah on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:54 pm
Great to hear that RPK will be released soon.
Hope that after settling down, he will continue to whack this brainless, arrogant baldie toad till he shit bricks. Not to forget our MR and Mrs.C4 too.
Next step is to get the others who are wrongfully detained under ISA to get release.
Finally, we will get this arrogant, racialistic baldie lockup under ISA.
#28 by dawsheng on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 1:00 pm
Great!
#29 by ktteokt on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 1:01 pm
So it looks like a belated Deepavali, where “good has overpowered evil”. Let this be a good lesson to the BN government, not to use the ISA as and when they like. These three arrests, that of Tan Hoon Cheng, Teresa Kok and RPK be a lesson to these bigots who take the laws in their own hands. How are they going to explain these three arrests? What sort of excuses can they think up? For Tan, it was purported that ISA was used to “protect her from danger”. What about Teresa and now RPK?
#30 by Jeffrey on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 1:02 pm
Welcome back RPK!
We’re happy with the decision of Justice Syed Ahmad Helmy Syed Ahmad.At least he is a fair judge who decided on the basis of existing law, apparently uninfluenced by extraneous executive inerference (if any).
However we should not be overjoyed or to read into the situation that reasons for reform of the Judiciary have become somehow less pressing. More important, that the existing law (ISA) is OK and does not require review, amendment or repeal.
For the ISA is antithetical to civil liberties. All that is wrong with that law is still there….in section 8B of the ISA which states:-
“There shall be no judicial review in any court of, and no court shall have or exercise any jurisdiction in respect of, any act done or decision made by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong or the Minister in the exercise of their discretionary power in accordance with this Act, save in regard to any question on compliance with any procedural requirement in this Act governing such act or decision.”
This simply means that can be no judicial review of the Minister’s decision based on policy considerations of whether or not the detainee is a national security threat.
There can be judicial review/intervention only if procedures are not followed by the Home Minister, ie. there are procedural defects or irregularities.
Justice Syed Ahmad Helmy here decided that procedural wise there was a defect. RPK was detained for insulting Islam. However Islamic issues are within the purview of the state governments, except for the Federal Territories of Kuala Lumpur and Labuan, and since Raja Petra resided in (Sungai Buloh) Selangor, it was clear that the Federal Government had no authority over any say of Islamic issues.
The decision broke no new ground. It did not say the court could oust the Minister policy/substantive decision. There is no paradigm shift. Neither could the Court because the Court could not usurp what the ISA says as empowered by Parliament.
The repreive that RPK enjoys for now is not necessarily one that the Hindraf’s leaders detained could similarly enjoy.
The law (ISA) is as problemetic as ever as a challenge to civil liberties and hence the lobby for its review ought to continue.
Another reason why we should not be overjoyed is the fact that Prosecution can appeal against Justice Syed Ahmad Helmy’s decision.
If it does so, RPK’s fate will depend on what the Court of Appeal – and further up – what the Federal court would say.
#31 by k1980 on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 1:09 pm
Will Botak dream up new charges against RPK, e.g. that RPK is the secretary-general of Malayan Communist Party and also the Chairman of Hindraf, which is banned?
#32 by PSM on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 1:13 pm
Thank God!
I wonder if Pak Lah has done this? I’m sure he has been “consulted” before the decision was made. I wonder if Pak Lah is “getting even” with Rosmah…I mean Najib!
Don’t discount old Pak Lah, he’s not an ex-PM yet!
Let’s hope the other ISA detainees will soon be released!
#33 by CSKUEH on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 1:29 pm
I pinch myself, yea it’s not a dream
Welcome back RPK to your family and MT team
This great news really makes me beam
Thanks to the judge and the defence team
#34 by homeblogger on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 1:44 pm
Jeffrey Says:
Today at 13: 02.00 (37 minutes ago)
Welcome back RPK!
Justice Syed Ahmad Helmy here decided that procedural wise there was a defect.
=========================
Correct. Syed Hamid must probably be frantically checking out which law he can use to re-arrest RPK the moment he is outside.
#35 by Bobster on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 2:16 pm
Another great news since March 8.
Rakyat are celebrating!
#36 by swipenter on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 2:20 pm
Hopefully I can hang my “Free RPK n No To ISA” t-shirt in my closet forever. Welcome back RPK.
#37 by baoqingtian on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 2:33 pm
Congratulation!
Longing for your release. It finally comes true!
Now, will start reading Malaysia Today again. Can’t wait for the latest updates,revelations and exposures. WoW!
#38 by Thinking Two on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 2:42 pm
The excuse they can offer is for the PROTECTION of Tan Hoon Cheng, Teresa Kok and RPK !!!!!
Whatelse can they say?
Their brains are full of Ass…
#39 by Thinking Two on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 2:49 pm
The “N” is THE END as the Rahman Theory prevail.
The Secret [ Malaysian version ].
#40 by Thinking Two on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 2:59 pm
This is also one of the main point in YIN YANG THEORY.
When thing get into its extreme level, it will change form:
When water is heated up at boiling point, it will turn into steam;and
When water is kept at an extreme cold level, it will be frozen.
Look at what is changing from bad to worst, now. And it will soon becoming vanish.
#41 by homeblogger on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 3:18 pm
We must all now unite. Uncle Kit is doing a great job checking the government in parliament. This is what I love – a strong oppositiion making sure UMNO doesn’t bulldoze its way all over Malaysians.
I know that RPK’s deep throats are reading this blog. I know that Bala is reading this blog. Let’s bring out all the dirt that is hidden in UMNO’s closets. Let’s help RPK in any way we can to expose all the dirt that the UMNOputras have been wallowing in to satisfy their lust for money, sex and power.
Bala, wherever you are, God bless you, but please realize that you are in a positiion where ONE man can help make or break a corrupt government. For ALL Malaysian childrens’ future’s sake….
#42 by shortie kiasu on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 4:00 pm
He has already been punished for 56 days without any just cause. Can he sue for compensation against the minister for negligence? He should and let the court decides.
#43 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 4:08 pm
> The “N” is THE END as the Rahman Theory prevail.
no, it is rahmANWAR. after Mahathir, Anwar already started. It is in the process
#44 by Thinking Two on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 4:21 pm
Can be sued but at the expense of the tax payer’s money.
Unless sue him in his personal capacity!!
#45 by draken001 on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 5:39 pm
It’s good to hear that RPK is out but still there are a lot of other issues that need to be resolved in this country. I can sense that something is afoot lately with news like the payout for judges, RPK’s release and don’t be surprised to see more “news” on the way. Keeping a vigil. Has Obama given Malaysians new hopes?
#46 by limkamput on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 5:58 pm
So, is it the law or the judge? It really depends isn’t it? We congratulate the judge who made a judgement to our liking. The question we ought to be asking is why are there different judgements with the same law and circumstances.
#47 by marketer on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 6:50 pm
Happy news!
welcome back Raja Petra..i sincerely hope that this isn’t another short-lived joy that some umno dumbo sends him back behind the walls and bars for no valid reason again, merely using the excuse of national threat under ISA… i believe ISA should be abolished.. or some serious amendments should be made to it.
and again, i wish that this is for real and not some funny joke, like how Najib’s rm7billion turned out to be hypothetical in the next 24 hours.
All d best RPK!
#48 by draken001 on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 7:21 pm
When RPK was taken in under ISA, it was the top frontpage news in all Malaysian newspapers. Now, let us see how “some” of the newspapers play up the news on Saturday. “Some” refers to the newspapers under the yolk of Umno hegemony.
Certainly, RPK’s release is top news under the present political climate facing Malaysia, notwithstanding the growing disenchantment against the ISA and a ruling party under siege for all the wrong reasons. Malaysians have awaken to a new sense of change and it encompasses all the ethnic groups in this country except for those who still cling on to the “we are suprerior” mentality.
Having said that, it will be kudos to all the newspapers that play up the RPK story as the top news item on the frontpage. Any newspaper that makes an attempt to play it down will be just fooling themselves and making themselves look like dumbasses. It will only show that they have to kow tow to their political bosses.
But what is there to hide? If RPK’s release is manipulated from the highest office in Government, then it would be right for the papers to publish the news as top item. If I’m the top boss, I would tell the top editors to make the story the top frontpage news. It will be a shame to see any newspapers that fail to carry out the job professionally, instead of practising self-denial for fear of the big stick coming down on them from the political masters.
Just my two cents.
#49 by yhsiew on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 8:09 pm
Abdullah’s future has been ruined by Botak who from time to time brought embarrassment to his government.
#50 by baoqingtian on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 8:55 pm
So, Syed Hamid abused his power as Home Minister when ordering the detention of RPK. He has committed an offence and should be charged. Can this issue be brought up during the Parliament meeting? Let’s see how BN MPs defend him.