This is the question I posed in Parliament at the beginning of the 16-day committee stage debate of the “wayang kulit” 2009 Budget debate in Parliament today.
I started by congratulating Barack Obama for his historic win as United States President as it was unthinkable even until very recently for anyone to believe that it is possible for a black, who were slaves until some 150 years ago, to be able to become President of US.
I said Parliament should also send its congratulations to Obama.
However, Obama’s historic breakthrough make many Malaysians ask whether it is possible for a Chinese, Indian, Kadazan to become the Prime Minister of Malaysia although the Constitution is very clear that any Malaysian citizen, regardless of race or religion can become Prime Minister.
If such a question is asked 50 years ago, the nation’s founders like Tunku Abdul Rahman, Tun Razak, Tun Dr. Ismail, Tun Hussein Onn, Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Tun Tan Siew Sin and Tun V.T. Sambanthan would unhesitatingly answered in the positive as there is no constitutional bar – separate from the question of whether it was likely to happen.
But if the same question is asked now, there will be strong voices (as heard in Parliament today when this question was posed) who would rise up to say no.
Who is going against the Merdeka Constitution and the social contract reached by the forefathers of the major communities to achieve national independence half a century ago?
Why is Malaysian race relations and nation-building going backwards in the past 50 years as compared to the historic breakthrough in race relations in the United States with Obama’s historic victory in the US presidential elections?

#1 by 2ndClassPeople on Thursday, 6 November 2008 - 6:12 pm
independent since 1957, swallowed sabah and sarawak in 1963, and after 45 years as a federation, we are still talking of supremacy of one race! how pathetic !
bolehland is equivalent to bodohland, yes we can; change we can’t
give it another 50 years and let’s take a look, boleh ?
#2 by Godfather on Thursday, 6 November 2008 - 6:34 pm
They can sell their snake oil in the kampungs, but they can’t sell their snake oil to the rest of us. One fine day, even the kampung folks will stop buying their snake oil, and that day will be the day that UMNO gets consigned to the Opposition benches.
#3 by alancheah on Thursday, 6 November 2008 - 6:54 pm
This country is totally HOPELESS, because there are
so many of them still playing racial matters.
I hope that there will be a BIG change, but really sorry
to say that… I don’t think so! Even one day Pakatan
Raykat takes over the Federal Govt., such thing will not
happen in this country! Sad case!
#4 by thinkwithanopenheart on Thursday, 6 November 2008 - 8:01 pm
I don’t care whether the PM is Malay, Chinese or India. I only care if the PM take care of all “Malaysians” health, education & economy. If he does he’s a good PM, if he don’t he should step down.
Find out the core of the problem, settle in a peaceful way because we are “Malaysians”. By showing your skillfullness in silat or keris does not cure the problem. If you don’t have enough to eat, you don’t even have energy to kill me. If you want to spill your blood, please go to donate to those who need blood donation. The choice is much wiser than spilling your blood on the floor.
I love Malaysia as my home and my country. I do not prefer to be homeless.
#5 by thinkwithanopenheart on Thursday, 6 November 2008 - 8:02 pm
We still have hope to save the country if all races think with an open heart.
No matter what your race is, we are still made of flesh and blood!
#6 by bennylohstocks on Thursday, 6 November 2008 - 8:21 pm
ANOTHER PUBLIC ENEMY?
#7 by stan09 on Thursday, 6 November 2008 - 10:08 pm
Referring to Kasim Amat statement here, I want to give my reply and have some questions to Kasim Amat that I hope he will reply.
“There is no question that PM in this country should only go to Malay under the laws in Malaysia.”
Under which law in Malaysia that the PM post must go to Malay?
“All I want to say is: Stop making sensitive racial remarks or else I will take action to cause this blog to be closed!”
Is this a threat? Under what rule of law that you are allowed to threaten people
“Please ask yourself this question: Will Singapore have a Malay PM?”
The question here is, CAN and WILL. Though it’s not likely that Singapore WILL have a Malay to be PM due to Chinese being majority, but Malay CAN be the PM, provided he has the support of the citizens. In Malaysia, a non-Malay CAN’T be PM, and people are saying “PM in this country should only go to Malay”. This shows that Malaysians are still blinded by the skin colour, not by merit.
“By asking such question, you have provoked a very sensitive issue in Malaysia which can lead to chaos. It is sufficient for you to be detained under ISA immediately! I urge Mr Lim to remove this posting immediately.”
Seems like Mr Kasim is a ISA supporter. I urged every Malaysians to support the abolishment of ISA. Please put yourself into the position of the detainees and their family. If one day you are arrested, and you do not know when you will be released, how would you feel? How would your family feel? How are your family going to face the days to come?
I’m not saying people should get away when they go against the law. If it is a crime, settle it in court please! Home Minister has no right to play god and decide who is guilty.
#8 by melurian on Thursday, 6 November 2008 - 10:13 pm
common sense – obama can becomes president:
1) he did not know how to speak kenyan and his mother tongue is anglais
2) he went to church (???)
3) he talks rhetorically like american
whereas you can’t expect ngeh becomes mb and lks becomes pm coz:
1) they eat with chopstick rather than hand
2) they spoke hokkien or cantonese rather malay at home
3) they even protest wearing songkok
4) they din go to mosque, din pray on friday, and din puasa last 2 months
5) their names are weird and hard to pronounce….
#9 by Freelander on Thursday, 6 November 2008 - 10:38 pm
I think both cintanegara & kasim missed the whole point. I wonder if they had watch President-elect Obama’s acceptance speech. I did. I saw the American people, regardless of their skin colours, old & young cried openly when Obama was annouced the winner. More so when they stood there in mass to listen so tentivly to his speech. The American people were happy not because Barack Obama had won the Presidency, but they are happy in tears because the USA do not see / judge its citizens through the colour of their skins, not thru their race & not thru their religion, but she see them as Americans. They are so proud that to be Americans. This is truly patriotic. For cintanegara, I think you are only patriotic to your own race but not to this nation.
#10 by pky103 on Thursday, 6 November 2008 - 10:43 pm
It’s time UMNO shifted its old-Malaysian paradigm and not play silly racial cards like before.
#11 by imranj78 on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:06 am
phoenixchoco,
I think you have made a very good point that I strongly agree with. Many people here talk about unity, non-racial biasness etc. but at the same time are hypocrites and unshamedly turn a blind eye to the fact that vernacular schools are one of the major reason why this unity cannot be achieved in the first place.
If everyone in Malaysia goes to the same type of school, speak the same first language and tries to accustom itself to the culture of the majority, then I do not believe the majority would have any problem accepting someone from the minorities as a leader. But when you push for your own schools, puts BM as your second or third language etc., how can you then ask the Malays to accept you as their PM?
#12 by jus legitimum on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:54 am
Disunity among Malaysians is caused by unfair and unjust policies like dividing the people into bumi and non bumi besides NEP.On top of that practising racial discrimination in selecting civil servants,CEOs of GLCs,VCs of Universities etc,etc.National school or sekolah kebangsaan is the last choice by non Malay parents in sending their children for education.imranj78 must be talking through your nose when you said that the vernacular school treats BM as second or third language.All vernacular schools follow the syllabus set by the MOE and BM is compulsory.Why don’t you ask any of the 60,000 Malay parents in the country who send their children to study in SJK(Cina) now? Ask them why they prefer to send their children to study in chinese vernacular schools.It is mainly because they expect their children to know Mandarin and English besides BM.Many BN and opposition politicians were educated in Chinese vernacular schools including OKT,OKC,OTK,KTK,DrTan Seng Giaw from DAP and others.Many bloggers here are well versed in three languages and they too studied in vernacular schools.imranj 78 is ignorant and hypocritical and many Malays are also like you who just refuse to accept the true cause of disunity among the people and conveniently blame it on the vernacular schools.
#13 by monsterball on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 1:14 am
You mean….Or Kui Tow…Or Kar Chern…Or Tow Kui….Kui Tow Kia…….all so smart ar?
Soooo cever studi englis..chinis…can talk nice bahasa.
tis quali to be UMNO por lan par men?
#14 by sans on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 4:47 am
Cintanegara I respect your point of view and your attempt to start a dialogue. A few people have tried their best to query and of course there have been the usual infantile responses as well.
On the issue of Singapore and Malaysia. Malaysia has organised its politics along racial/communal and religious lines. This is not so in Singapore. If you are talented and capable enough, you can rise within the PAP (or opposition parties which are mainly non-communal/religious) and maybe attain the highest office. There are no institutional barriers to someone doing that. Whether the electorate would be willing to vote for a non-majority person is up to them.
The President of Singapore I believe is not form the majority ethnicity, nor is the foreign minister.
In Malaysia the situation is not the same. The main political parties are segregated by race. But beyond that the State Mufti’s, Council of Rulers and other bodies are also organised around race/religion. Not to forget various other govt. bodies. So for someone to even aspire for this, they will have to go through all this barriers. In Singapore it is a possibility. In Malaysia, at the moment it is not. That is a big difference.
Why should our children not dream that they can achieve anything? even the highest office of the land?
How are we to harness the best of our abilities and face the world when possibilities are cut from some?
We need to think criticially. Is the NEP effective? I don’t think so. It needs to be reorganised . The NEP has failed. It needs to be examined and new strategies need to be developed to target the right people. Simply giving shares and contracts to UMNO-linked people will not do anymore, nor handing out scholarship suddenly create a middle class out of thin air. It should not be used by as a bogeyman by anyone, either BN or the opposition. Personally the opposition really needs to talk about how the NEP is going to be reformed/improved so that it benefits those that it is mean to help including our poorer brother and sisters
On schools well I am against vernacular schools. Schools should be where our young mingle. Instead there is a cleavage by ethicity. It is ridiculous that the 3 largest ethnic groups go to to segregated (relatively) schools! ( I know many will disagree but I know that for many friends I am the only non whatever ethnicity they are friend they have)
Unfortunately the govt. has failed to make sekolah kebangsaan’s attractive enough for most parents. Parents rightly worried about their children’s education, dare not entrust them to the national curriculum or to the teachers in charge of them.
BM should certainly be promoted since I believe it is a part of our Malaysian heritage and identity (I noticed Kit Siang has improved his command of BM). The quality of Malay literature is very worrying, So is the quality of writing of some of the Malay vernacular papers.
I hope one day national schools will be attractive enough and have sufficient breadth of subjects (i.e. languages) to entice and have the confidence of everyone in Malaysia. Unfortunately that day is not today.
I
#15 by sans on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 4:49 am
P.S – We should be reaching out to each other, not beating each other down
#16 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 8:23 am
/// # cintanegara Says:
November 5th, 2008 (2 days ago) at 20: 47.11
minority races never hold any ’senior’ position in the Military etc. ///
cintanegara – that is a blatant lie and you know it. There are many Indians, Europeans and Eurasians in top positions and generals in Singapore’s military, civil service, professionals, bankers, etc.
/// I don’t blame Singapore government for practising this as Chinese is the majority. Being the majority in Malaysia, ts it fair for Malays to let go the top position to other races? Pls think rasionaly…. ///
No, Singapore does not promote people on the basis of being the majority race. In case you didn’t notice, and insist on wearing your blinkers, the top job of the land, the head of state, is an Indian.
#17 by abunsui on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 8:38 am
As long as you got the peoples’ Majority VOTE and Agong’s CONSENT – you can be PM irrespective of RACE and RELIGION.
#18 by cintanegara on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 8:50 am
Yes, there are many Indians, Europeans etc in the top position but malay names are hardly found. Are they not good or not fit to hold that position? If people like Dr Yaacob was not capable, than who else? Even, Dr Ahmad Mattar never got a senior post while serving in the government. Maybe, LKS is right…it’s all about skin colour
#19 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 9:39 am
cintanegara – you are spineless and shifting your position. You said minority. Indians are even more of a minority than Malays in Singapore. Why must it be Malay names? Yes, why are they hardly found? There are tens of thousands of people more capable than Dr Yaacob or Ahmad Mattar in Singapore.
The answer is simple. If you think that Malays in Singapore ought to be appointed, regardless of their merit and ability, as is the case in Malaysia, then there is really nothing to discuss.
So, President Nathan’s skin colour got him the job?
#20 by cintanegara on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 10:07 am
People like Dr Yaacob deserves and must be given a high position in the government. It is kind of embarrasing people at his par in charge of Environment and Water Resources/Muslim Affairs. Looking at his background who is expert in structural engineering, it is more appropriate if he could serve ministries like Transport or be DPM for that country. In Malaysia, the Government are more transparent and they even allow Chinese to fly the Sukhoi.
#21 by monsterball on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 10:08 am
scan..we will beat the daylight out of those against change of government…non stop….till election day.
Najib gave RM 7 billion to capture votes.
We will do better…using TRUTHS and FACTS.
So ..declare you are joining us….don’t sit on the fence.
#22 by comejoinus on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 10:38 am
I am a Singaporean Chinese, and I look across the causeway and see so much discrimination against the minorities in Malaysia. I see the NEP, the Bumiputra-first policy and wonder why don’t the minorities ie Chinese or Indians make the move down south? Here at least everything is determined by your unique capabilities and not your skin colour. You have access to the region’s best universities, high schools, government subsidized housing for everyone.
So if you think you are being unfairly discriminated against in your own country, think about making a move where you will be judged solely upon your own capabilities.
#23 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 11:06 am
/// People like Dr Yaacob deserves and must be given a high position in the government. It is kind of embarrasing people at his par in charge of Environment and Water Resources/Muslim Affairs. Looking at his background who is expert in structural engineering, it is more appropriate if he could serve ministries like Transport or be DPM for that country. ///
Hello, there are tons of Structural Engineers in Singapore. Google Raymond Lim, the current Transport Minister and tell me who is the better person.
/// In Malaysia, the Government are more transparent and they even allow Chinese to fly the Sukhoi. ///
Transparent. Do you know what is the meaning of “making a virtue out of necessity?” I dare say that is because the Chinese is the most appropriate and well trained to fly the Sukhoi. Do you want the Malays to fly them just because of Ketunan Melayu and risk your expensive Sukhoi falling out of the sky like flies, like those idiots flying your flying coffins, otherwise known as Nuris?
It is very easy to cry discrimination when you know in your heart that you didn’t get the job because there are tens of thousands of people better than you, regardless of skin colour.
#24 by Godfather on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 11:43 am
comejoinus:
Please ask your government to take over Johor (via the Iskandar back door) and we will all move down to be your neighbours, send our children to your schools and universities.
#25 by AhPek on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:01 pm
I am surprised how come cintanegara never read the statistics i’ve provided when I addressed him yesterday at 01:01.39 where I stated the figure in the breakdown of Singapore’s ethnic population:Chinese 75.2%,Malays 13.6%,Indians 8.8% and others 2.4%.What is most important is not whether the PM or President comes from which ethnic group,what is most important is that in all the national activities be it private or public all the minority groups are well represented.Even in the top government echelon posts Indians hold an unsually high proportion of the posts(Indians have held the DPM post,the foreign minister post,the president post,the education minister post), and how come being the smallest of the 3 groups? The Chinese could have given them nothing for they have such massive majority 75.2% of the population! The answer is meritocracy is practised,not racialism like in Malaysia with Malays dominating practically everything in the public sector and they have only a simple majority over the rest of the minority groups,only 53.3%. Look at the hue and cry created when Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim appointed Low Siew Mooi as acting general manager of PKNS,objections based on the grounds that this is an infringement of Malay rights! The fact of the matter is PKNS is Selangor State Development Corporation,a government organisation funded by taxpayers (and 90% of taxes come from non Malays) and why a non Malay cannot head such an organisation?Look at the House when YB Lim asked can Malaysia have a Kadazan as PM or an Indian or an Iban or a Chinese,the vehement protestations and irrationalities coming out of these UMNOPUTRAS is simply unbelievable.And look at yourself you even accused LKS of wanting the PM just by his asking the question in the House! And look at Kassim Amat’s response to YB’s poser: he said that this question should not be asked in public for Malaysia rightfully belongs to the Malays and look at response from Danagil when I rebutted Kassim by saying that this land belongs to the indigeneous people for they are the first people in this land.He asked whether I expect the the current government to give the PM post to an orang asli which like what TheWrathofGrapes mentioned is changing the goal post which apparently is one of the methods of UMNOPUTRAS when responding to difficult question.However for the sake of answering Danagil,I don’t expect an orang asli to become PM in the near future (for there is no one currently in sight yet) but should there be one and if he proves to be capable in moving Malaysia forward I’ll be rooting for him for a 2nd term.As for his insinuations (I don’t know where he got this impression,perhaps from mamak) that indigeneous would not make it to the top post in places like Australia,US or New zealand,he is dead wrong for indigeneous people there are much better treated than than our Senois,Negritoes,Kadazans,Penans or the Bedayuhs.And I’ve a story to tell you how enlightened Aussies are with their sense of fair play.In Melbourne the first elected Mayor of Melbourne John Chun Sai So is a Hong Kong born Chinese, mind you elected (Chinese population in Melbourne 5.1%) and he is said to be the most popular Mayor of Melbourne whose English is so heavily accented that Australians could hardly understand him.In fact I’ve been told that at the opening of 2006 Commonwealth Games in Melbourne, John Chun Sai So stood on stage to say \Welcome\ to the Queen and handed over the mike to his secretary to read his opening address at the GAMES.He was elected with a huge majority for a 2nd term and the most important thing Aussies care about is his ability.During his stewardship Melbourne was voted twice as the World’s most livible city!
#26 by cintanegara on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:51 pm
As a Malaysian we must show our patriotism and devotion to our country. Why encourage others to take over our sovereignty?
#27 by badbad on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 12:55 pm
godfather: put me in the club.
cintanegara : if i were to be you. I wont be visiting this site anymore, turn off my goverment paid computer. and hide under the rumah papan where most likely where you came from.
if malaysia has the right people, those who are willing to speak up to change. i would see the future generation as THE generation that allows a man to be their leader, just because he can be a great leader.
#28 by oedipus on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 1:51 pm
we are malaysians and we love this country. those malaysians who work in singapore many also reject singaporean citizenship because they are still very much in love with malaysia (even though they take up PR)
dear cintanegara, when the country is weak, we will be taken over economically or politically. they way you line your arguments, we are heading into neo-colonisation!
we must rise above skin colour and rise above ourselves for Malaysia!
#29 by bennylohstocks on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 2:02 pm
NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE
#30 by cintanegara on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 3:00 pm
Thanks oedipus for sharing your generous thought. Though there may be differences in opinion between bloggers, encouraging others to take over our sovereignty is extermly irresponsible.
#31 by Kelvenho on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 3:10 pm
As we are Malaysian, I do not see any problem if any qualified person
who is capable, intelligent, loving and caring among our races be the
Prime Minister one day. As long as that person take care of the welfare of the underprivileged and poor people in Malaysia. He should
be clean, not corrupt and high integrity. That person can be from any
minor political parties in our country.
#32 by Elrond on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 3:37 pm
I think the question of whether a Non-bumi will ever become PM is largely acedemic because I am of the opinion that it will never happen. Zaid Ibrahim was correct in saying that the Malays will never be undermined politically because of their numerical superiority. And in democracies, the majority rules.
We are different from the USA in that our society is very polarised in terms of race, culture, language and religion. So in all there are four stumbling blocks working against integration. In America, arguably only race is the major divisive factor. That’s why it was possible for an African American to become president in a Caucasian dominated country. It was meritocracy at work. Very simply, the better man won.
Prior to and soon after Merdeka, the races were somewhat divided according to economic functions. The Malays were predominantly involved in the civil service and farming, Chinese were business people and the Indians were plantation workers. These are just generalisations because there certainly were Malay/Indian business people and Chinese farmers. The Chinese were drawn to business because this is what their forebears used to do before they came to Malaya and the know-how was passed along. Indians were traditionally employed by the British in plantations in India. Malays were traditionally involved in agriculture as it was naturally the most accessible means to earn a living.
Imagine for a moment…all other factors being equal and every race was left to their own devices. In time the Chinese would gain ascedency in business and that is exactly what happened. Discontentment festered and this resulted in the May 13 incident. So along came the NEP to eliminate the identification of race based on economic function.
The original intent of the NEP was very practical. I would even say that it was the right policy for the times. However, as with most policies, the implementation left much to be desired. It eventually became an instrument of abuse and corruption by the powers that be. The object of course was power and enrichment. Today, it has has evolved to become a tool of oppression and marginalisation. It deprives the non-bumis of a portion of the reward for their honest day’s work. In short, for every ringgit that he earns, part of it is funnelled to subsidize the expenses of his neighbour who might not necessarily be as hard working or as deserving as he is. Perhaps this as a form of rental paid to the landlord for the privilege of staying in his house? I cannot conceive of any democratic country in the world where this kind of arrangement is practiced, save for a few Banana Republics where despotism and tyranny are the order of the day.
While the whole world marches forward to embrace globalisation and modernity, Malaysia is taking baby steps backwards into a dark age. If the NEP is to continue, in time we will gradually erode in competitiveness and standing and be associated with the other pariah states of the world like North Korea and Zimbabwe.
#33 by ryan123 on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 4:03 pm
Cintanegara,
so, your view is that ethnic minorities are being “mistreated” or the singled-out ethnic group? as simple as that. your narrow thinking is the one causing racism here.
Skin colour and religion should be the last to consider when selecting the capable ones. But it seems like here, skin colour and religion is the first criteria to be considered. So, do you think this is rational?
#34 by born_malaysian on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 4:21 pm
cintanegara is a successful product of Mahathir’s gradual Islamization.. one of Mahathir’s speeches……………..
“Nowadays, malays no longer feels that malaya is their home.. since they are not malaysian malays.. who need to share their country with other people.. where are the rights of the rightful owners of this country? the malays deserve more in their homeland..”
And there goes the implementation of NEP.. well.. we cannot blame cintanegara for his commited defence over the racial issue.. because he is raised and taught that way since young.. who would not defend that way? but I would put the blame on the past leaders instead because its them who instilled this sort of malay nationalism in order to protect themselves rather than the public..
Btw, I read one of the posts that were ignored by Dr.Schewizt.. saying that University of Malaya has very low quality ratings now compared to 40 years ago and that their VC does not even possess a PHD.. If this is a sign of Malaysia improving itself and reinventing itself and more importantly, does not require a change.. then what more can others say? what more can I say?
#35 by OrangRojak on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 4:31 pm
I’m not convinced by this ‘irresponsibility’ where a transfer of sovereignty is concerned. Where did the “Si” in MalaySIa come from? Was that irresponsibility on the part of the Singaporeans? Did it really go so badly for the Texans? Or Poland?
Come on, would being part of SingMApore be so bad? Sovereignty isn’t a timeless absolute, it shifts with the will of the people.
I think I’ve exceeded my limit for potentially actionable comments today, so I’d like to point out that I’m just ‘playing’ with ideas. The comments are purely for entertainment or to keep the discussion going. I have no wish to be Joan of Arc. Or John.
#36 by oedipus on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 4:54 pm
exactly cintanegara!!! remember who ‘sold’ part of johor to the singaporeans under the guise of IDR? if our economy is in good stead, it should be like temasek of singapore, buying into other countries’ potential and also assets. in the reverse, after 51 years of rule, the BN government is ‘selling; our country en-bloc because of flawed policy and corruption….. padahal kita yang lebih resources!!! what a joke!
when our current ‘leaders’ are robbing our country of her riches and keeping the ppl in line with the race and religion card, it provides a perfect phasad for national plundering!
enough is enough! lets look beyond skin colour and religion and judge a person by merits and points. but can we?
#37 by cintanegara on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 5:11 pm
TheWrathOfGrapes – For your kind information, majority of Sukhoi pilot in Malaysia Air Force is not Chinese. I believe non of the Malays in Singapore had a chance to fly the F16…
#38 by phoenixchoco on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 5:12 pm
Mr Lim Kit Siang,
I voted for DAP. Although I am not of the Malaysia’s chinese ethnic origin but all I wanted to see is UNITY. . Do you like watching people of Malaysia here fighting among each other in your blog? Is this your actual intention? While you could be smiling away sipping your coffee?
Then you are not the leader that we have been looking for.
cheers
#39 by oedipus on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 6:29 pm
phoenixhoco, you must be able to differentiate a discussion from an all out brawl. what we are doing here is to giving ones’ opinion while respecting each others’ point of view.
if constructive critique and discussion is not to your liking… well to bad!
btw i voted PAS for the first time in my life, and i NEVER regretted it once after the election! its YOUR vote, dont blame others for YOUR decision. be more responsible.
#40 by ReformMalaysia on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 7:01 pm
‘Can a Chinese, Indian, Kadazan, Iban, Orang asli, Penan become Prime Minister of Malaysia?’
,,,,As long as UMNO the barbarians still in power, it will never happen.
To make it happen, first UMNO must be removed
#41 by imranj78 on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 9:37 pm
jus legitimum, you said:
`imranj78 must be talking through your nose when you said that the vernacular school treats BM as second or third language.’
Do you mean the vernacular schools treat BM as their first language? Is that what you mean? You must be kidding me. It is you who are talking through your nose! Mind you my previous post is not about the choice of language in school but by the general non-Bumi population in Malaysia as a whole.
I stand by my position that vernacular schools are one of the main reasons of disunity in this country. Can you confidently say that when NEP is removed that all the races will be united even when we are educated and conditioned in different type of schools? You must be a very ignorant person if you answer yes. I am not saying that the improper implementation of NEP is not causing any unhappiness, but it is a small cause of disunity compared to the segmented education system we have!
And many non-Bumis like you are so blinded, ignorant and hypocritical when you fault NEP for causing disunity when on the other hand you blindly support the vernacular schools!!!
#42 by AhPek on Saturday, 8 November 2008 - 12:04 am
The main contributing reason for disunity is the UMNOPUTRAs,imranj78, whose devious method is devising “Ketuanan Melayu” to enrich themselves spewing racist poison to the simple kampung folks so as to ensure political dominance to continue raping this land.National life is dominated by one race with hardly any participation in government civil service from other groups.NEP and affirmative action are made race-based and not needs based.
Whilst in principle it is true that children should all go to national schools so that they mix early in life but in true fact the schools are not acting as national schools should.Children are told not to bring packed lunch for it may not be halal,lion dance is banned during Chinese New Year period,school girls must not go in swim suitsto swim,either no teacher available to teach mother tongue subject or if available not well trained and prayers during school assembly led in Islamic way.All these put off a lot of parents who are not of Islamic religion.Again why this is happening in national schools one may ask.The answer is of course affirmative action for the teachers’ training colleges are churning out predominating number of teachers of one race and therefore we’ve school administrators and headmasters predominantly one one race (I’ii say at least 85%) administering the schools resulting in some overzealous Muslim headmasters trying to run the school according to their beliefs.THAT my friend is one of the big problems in our national schools.Not just simplistically as stated by you that vernacular school is the main cause of disunity.
#43 by trublumsian on Saturday, 8 November 2008 - 4:35 am
cintanegara, you said “In Malaysia, the Government are more transparent and they EVEN allow Chinese to fly the Sukhoi.”
there, you said it. we malays let you fly a sukhoi once in a while because we’re nice, not because you’re most qualified! btw, we’re not thanking you for your tax dollars paying for our toys!
speaking of sukhoi, those are b-grade machines. don’t be so proud. ur uncles in umno only get to buy these because they can be had much easier by regimes with shady dealings. like the eurocopters.
please cintanegara, don’t flatter your kind thinking Yaacob, with his engr. degree deserves to be a head honcho. o wait, yeah, that IS a BIG deal for your kind. in that case, bravo! good job!
PUHhleeeez..
and the thing about sovereignty, that was satirical speak for goodness sakes!
#44 by trublumsian on Saturday, 8 November 2008 - 5:07 am
imranj78,
vernacular school is the cause of disunity??
the secondary school i went to had 50% chinese, 30% malays, and 20% indians. it was public and it was named after a saint. each grade has about 10 classes, ranked, with each an avg of 35 students. guess which race perpetually made up the numbers in the last 4 classes of each grade level?? bingo.
in my 3 years there, i saw the students segregated themselves based on their skin color, perhaps it was as much to do with the perceived “smartness” of themselves? btw, the teachers did their own segregation..
that was in the early 90s. the school graduated many who later became doctors, lawyers, educators, and successful corporate people both in and outside of malaysia. the school today has a malay name, and has twice as many malay teachers and 80% of the students.
sad.
#45 by oedipus on Saturday, 8 November 2008 - 9:30 am
i agree with imranj78 that vernacular schools does segregate our children from a young age. it is a issue that we cant seem to get around for a long time.
i personally feel that we do not have to abolish these vernacular schools, but instead we have to improve the standard and quality of the Kebangsaan school. once the standard (perceived or otherwise) of the kebangsaan schools are higher than the rest, automatically the parents will flock to the kebangsaan school thus rendering the vernacular school less attractive.
but the question is, can the kebangsaan school be revamped and do we have the political muscle to revamp it? seems to me, that the kebangsaan schools have more problems in terms of quality of teachers, truancy amongst students and also red tape.
it all boils down to the self sacrifice of everybody for the good of the country.
#46 by ladyof.liberty on Saturday, 8 November 2008 - 11:35 am
nothing is important….
#47 by ladyof.liberty on Saturday, 8 November 2008 - 11:38 am
sk/ smk – quality of education is like shit. teachers get student to teach in front….. what type of pedagogy approach is that!
#48 by ladyof.liberty on Saturday, 8 November 2008 - 11:40 am
education already policitised …. hard to revamp….
#49 by imranj78 on Saturday, 8 November 2008 - 4:40 pm
I am not saying that the national schools are perfect. They is a lot of room for improvement and this is something which needs to be addressed. But the government has to have a long term strategy for our education system and in my view this has several key steps. Firstly, strengthen national type schools and ensure mother tongue education is provided in all schools where there is demand for it. Address and resolve all true or perceived weaknesses of national type schools.
Once the level of national type schools have been strengthened, slowly encourage conversion of vernacular type schools to national type schools within a set timeframe. Many of us here should support this move as it is inline with the concept of Malaysian Malaysia (like DAP espouses). If we only talk but are not willing to make this bold move, then we are indeed hypocrites!
Once we all get educated in the same system, only then can we all call ourselves united and achieve true unity!
#50 by oedipus on Saturday, 8 November 2008 - 5:04 pm
well said imranj78! but dont forget the sekolah agamas, as a complete overhaul of the education system will definately involve the sekolah agama spead across our country!
all education must be within our national schools!!