Obama’s historic win – can a Chinese, Indian, Kadazan or Iban become Prime Minister?

This is the question I posed in Parliament at the beginning of the 16-day committee stage debate of the “wayang kulit” 2009 Budget debate in Parliament today.

I started by congratulating Barack Obama for his historic win as United States President as it was unthinkable even until very recently for anyone to believe that it is possible for a black, who were slaves until some 150 years ago, to be able to become President of US.

I said Parliament should also send its congratulations to Obama.

However, Obama’s historic breakthrough make many Malaysians ask whether it is possible for a Chinese, Indian, Kadazan to become the Prime Minister of Malaysia although the Constitution is very clear that any Malaysian citizen, regardless of race or religion can become Prime Minister.

If such a question is asked 50 years ago, the nation’s founders like Tunku Abdul Rahman, Tun Razak, Tun Dr. Ismail, Tun Hussein Onn, Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Tun Tan Siew Sin and Tun V.T. Sambanthan would unhesitatingly answered in the positive as there is no constitutional bar – separate from the question of whether it was likely to happen.

But if the same question is asked now, there will be strong voices (as heard in Parliament today when this question was posed) who would rise up to say no.

Who is going against the Merdeka Constitution and the social contract reached by the forefathers of the major communities to achieve national independence half a century ago?

Why is Malaysian race relations and nation-building going backwards in the past 50 years as compared to the historic breakthrough in race relations in the United States with Obama’s historic victory in the US presidential elections?

Print Friendly

1. #1 by homeblogger on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 7:35 pm

hahahahahaha… that’s a joke question right Uncle Kit?

Just like the uITM issue – scared to allow 10% non-malay because they’re scared shit that the top 10% students will then be exactly the 10% non-malays.

Najib and Hishamuddin will have their keris out and ready if that ever seems remotely possible.

2. #2 by vchi on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 7:38 pm

I was teary during Obama’s speech and when he was declared the victor because his win gave me hope that such a change can occur in Malaysia too.

http://malaysianpoliticsblog.blogspot.com/2008/11/my-obama-dream-for-malaysia.html

3. #3 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 7:58 pm

Will Singapore ready to have PM from the minority races?

4. #4 by Godfather on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 7:59 pm

This is Kasim Amat’s worst nightmare. He told me the other day that UMNO wants to play the racial card so that the fear instilled into the Malays would ensure UMNO’s survival. Now, with Obama in the White House inspiring democratic movements everywhere, UMNO is at a loss at what to do next.

Deng Xiao Ping, Nelson Mendela, and now Barack Obama – we can believe that the day will come when we can see a non-Malay as the PM of Bolehland.

“Change We Can Believe In” should be the motto of democratic movements everywhere.

5. #5 by Godfather on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:01 pm

And cintanegara’s worst nightmare as well. Keep harping on the impossible, and we will show you what’s possible.

6. #6 by disapointed86 on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:02 pm

the point that obama delivered in his victory speech should also be delivered by opposition here….unite…so proud of AMERICA…that is the different between a civilised country and uncivilised country like malaysia..looking forward for the time to come..

7. #7 by Godfather on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:02 pm

Meritocracy is not in UMNO’s dictionary, so there is only one path left for us – relegate UMNO to the Opposition benches.

8. #8 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:03 pm

My question is valid. If it is impossible in Singapore, than do you think it is possible in Malaysia?

9. #9 by monsterball on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:06 pm

Not possible.. ..under UMNO.
    cintangara is being…not realistic..comparing S’pore minorities with M’sia.
    Here…the so call..minorities.. combined together are to be reckoned with…as the Chinese ad Indians in Malaysia are the driving forces for developments of Malaysia.

10. #10 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:15 pm

That’s the point. When it benefits your community you will straight away say not possible. Than, why posted this topic?

11. #11 by katdog on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:16 pm

Black or White it doesn’t matter. Barack Obama did not win because he was black. He won because he was able to inspire people with his words. He won because he showed maturity and calm resolve in his words. He won because people believed in him.

The people of Malaysia (especially the politicians) should learn something from this. We should stop using the color of our skins to ‘get’ votes. A true leader should have to be able to bridge the racial divide.

12. #12 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:16 pm

It will be very, very long time before these self-proclaimed TUANs are ready to accept what the Americans accepted. These people became TUANs by “pushing” the others down. But, if it were not MCA and Gerakan admitted inferiority, how the hell can these hopeless idiots become SUPERIOR TUANs?

13. #13 by Godfather on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:17 pm

Would Russia have a black president ? Would S Africa have a white president ?

Yes, Obama has shown the world that anything is possible. With a combination of bad governance, racial politics, dictatorial policies, and suppression of freedom, Bolehland can have a non-Malay PM. Especially when UMNO gets relegated to the Opposition benches.

14. #14 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:19 pm

Singapore had as head of state or President peoples who hailed from minority races, including a Malay, a Eurasian & two Indians. As it is a meritocratic society it once had S. Rajaratnam as its Deputy Prime Minister.
    But in Bodohland the UMNO Putras cotinue to harp on Malays being the only race “entitled” to hold the Prime Ministership & Deputy Prime Ministership.
    So therefore it is NOW the Time for Change. Kick UMNO out of Parliament. Nothing is impossible to God Al-Mighty. Pray daily for his Favour, Grace, Mercy & Divine Justice & Intervention.

15. #15 by Godfather on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:20 pm

Can you imagine the new leader of UMNO being called by all sorts of names such as C4, Mongolian, etc etc ? I hope UMNO will continue to marginalise the other races, and marginalise the poor with their UMNOputra policies. We will show them what’s possible.

16. #16 by limkamput on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:24 pm

Sdr Lim, I think your observation is meaningless and it only serves to further ignite negative reaction among the Malays. The fact that March 8 election has given DAP and other Pakatan Rakyat parties victory beyond expectation is a proof that the people of this country are prepared to change when the government can’t govern effectively and professionally. There is no need to talk about non Malay PM. What is needed is to continue to work diligently for the betterment of Malaysians and I am sure someday the people of this country will become more colour blind. No one can stand against the tide of globalisation and freedom.

PR and DAP have been given some leadership opportunities. Please set good examples and concentrate in doing things that will make a difference to people’s life. I believe the people of this country will be attracted to substance rather than rhetoric. Let me give you an example: The Penang’s state government recent attempt to label street names in Chinese and other languages is an example of indulging in senseless politicking. It will not change people’s life other than causing lots ill will among the people. To me orderly traffic lights, good roads and cleanliness will make a difference to people’s life, not street names in Chinese. I suspect when a government is incapable of doing something substantive, what it does is to go on indulging in nonsensical politicking.

17. #17 by Godfather on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:26 pm

Carry on stealing, UMNO, and even the Malays will wake up one day and see the light. That’s when it will be enough for a non-Malay to be elected to the highest position in the land.

After all, the ruler of Bolehland for 22 years was of Indian origin. The ruler of Bolehland for the past 5 years was of Chinese origin.

18. #18 by Godfather on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:34 pm

Limkamput: You should stop the cynicism. Can’t you hear the words ‘Yes, we can\ ringing in your ears ?

19. #19 by cazz on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:35 pm

Mamak can be PM of Malaysia.
    Mamak had been PM of Malaysia.

Mahathir has proven it.

20. #20 by katdog on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:37 pm

limkamput:
    “The Penang’s state government recent attempt to label street names in Chinese and other languages is an example of indulging in senseless politicking.”

Ha ha. My thoughts exactly. It is a stupid waste of money to put up signs in other languages, when the roads are in horrendous shape and getting worse by the day. A recent article remarked Penang as pot hole city.

A reminder to people here: Who cares whether it is a Chinese or a Malay or an Indian. Just make sure it is someone who can get the job done.

21. #21 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:47 pm

The first president of Singapore was Malay and he was the only Malay to have hold that position. Even in Singapore cabinet now, there is one Malay holds a full mininster portfolio. Though he is a PHD holder, he only serves a ministry related to his community. despite the government, minority races never hold any ‘senior’ position in the Military etc.

I don’t blame Singapore government for practising this as Chinese is the majority. Being the majority in Malaysia, ts it fair for Malays to let go the top position to other races? Pls think rasionaly….

22. #22 by riversandlakes on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:50 pm

Obama! Obama! Obama!

23. #23 by Loh on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:53 pm

An Indian pretended to be Malay had been PM for 22 years. An Indian calling himself Indian and a Chinese will not be PM. But there is no restriction in the constitution that non-Malay cannot be PM. That too is true about other position but PKNS was not allowed to appoint non-Malay General Manager without protest.

Under a different thread it was stated that MU has fallen out of top 200 ranking of universities in the world.

Two Chinese professors, R L Huang and Wong Gangwu were Professors of Chemistry and History respectively at MU in the 1960s, and they consecutively became Vice Chancellors of Hong Kong University until their retirement. HKU no doubt ranks higher than MU. But over the last four decades, there has never been a Chinese or an Indian Vice Chancellor in the universities in Malaysia. How much would the wealth of the Malay community be depleted if the salaries and wages paid to Malay vice chancellors had been diverted to appoint non-Malays as Vice Chancellors? Would Malays academic world feel inferior if some of the universities are helmed by non-Malays? They are insignificant even if taken into account. Why then should the government insist in only appointing Malays, and demonstrate that it intentionally went against the ideal of NEP?
    That is the concept of Malay supremacy which Zaid Ibrahim has said to have failed the country. Yet UMNO supreme council members think it proper to demand apologies from Zaid Ibrahim. They might wave the book on May 13 had the comments been from non-Malay politicians.

24. #24 by James on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:00 pm

Hear ye! Hear ye!

That is precisely the causes why Bolehland will keep on retrogressing year in & year out. Unis kicked out of the top 100 list; transparency index falling year by year; corruption standing rising relentlessly when we will be comparable to Indonesia very soon; FDI funds shrinking by the year esp in non-PR states & many, many more (some yet to appear). BN terrorists esp Umno ones are doing their utmost to block progress & deny others from enjoying it. USA, whatever you may say, is still an advanced first world nation, perios.

25. #25 by Kasim Amat on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:00 pm

I knew long before Lim Kit Siang will sure ask such a question if Obama wins the election. My guess is right.

All I want to say is: Stop making sensitive racial remarks or else I will take action to cause this blog to be closed!

There is no question that PM in this country should only go to Malay under the laws in Malaysia. Please ask yourself this question: Will Singapore have a Malay PM? The answer is obvious! Lim Kit Siang, please do not ask stupid question here anymore. By asking such question, you have provoked a very sensitive issue in Malaysia which can lead to chaos. It is sufficient for you to be detained under ISA immediately!

I urge Mr Lim to remove this posting immediately.

26. #26 by limkamput on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:04 pm

Godfather Says:
    Today at 20: 34.50 (20 minutes ago)
    Limkamput: You should stop the cynicism. Can’t you hear the words ‘Yes, we can\ ringing in your ears ?

Hello did i say we can’t? Sometimes it is better to get things done than to say all the senseless things. I am sure you can see the senseless reactions now appearing in this thread. If this is what DAP and Sdr Lim want, so be it. But like you, i am entitled to give comments here. Is there a problem with you?

27. #27 by monsterball on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:06 pm

The “White House” is now a “Black House”
    I have a strange feeling….cars with different shades of black colours will sell well in USA.
    And “Darkie” toothpaste….soon….a house hold name in USA.
    Some idiots ..similar to Kasim Amat’s brain…may paint house black…to idolized their hero.
    Such will be the joy…overjoyed…over done….simply too happy and gone crazy.
    When there is a Malaysia Chinese or Indian PM..in Malaysia…..I bet you….there will be thousands of bald headed guys…walking around.

28. #28 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:07 pm

If you consider the reaction when the Chinese lady was appointed the GM of the PKNS, it seems that most Malays will also not support a non-Malay PM.
    However if UMNO is removed from the federal government and another group is allowed to govern, we may see a change of attitude and maybe in another 25 years we can re-visit this issue.
    After all some Malaysians have roots in Malaysia dating back hundreds of years.

http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2008/11/malaysiakini-and-usas-new-hope-and.html

29. #29 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:08 pm

Godfather,you are right.There are idiots in this blog who have become incorrigible racists and they and those in the big bully party belong to the same hypocritical stock.As long as these racists refuse to open their mind and look upon Obama as their guide,this country will go to the dogs soon.

30. #30 by limkamput on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:09 pm

The first Black President of USA. My question is so what? Has he proven anything? So far the only thing proven is his gift of the gap. Like many others say, the proof of the pudding is in the eating. We shall see.

31. #31 by Kasim Amat on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:10 pm

This question should not be discussed openly on internet, newspaper or TV. Malay is the rightful owner of this land there is no doubt about it. If the non-Malay want to challenge the supremacy status of the Malay, look at what happened in Indonesia few years back. Everyone should respect the history of Malaysia and please do not try to cross the line.

The American will regret their decision. The White is still the majority in the America and only the white people is suitable to be the President. There is bound to be problems for days to come and it could mean a disaster for the American. We do not agree with the decision of the American.

32. #32 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:15 pm

Obama really serves as a big nail that hits on the heads of the shameless and thick skinned racists like the old big mouth mamak and his gang in his ex Malaysia Bully Party.

33. #33 by monsterball on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:15 pm

wawawa…Kasim Amat..is threatening LKS.
    This guy is a real NUT!!
    Next…he will tell those who do not like what he wrote….to leave Malaysia.
    I have news for Kasim Amat.
    Don’t talk cock….do it. If you cannot close this blog or put LKS into ISA…..go hide under your mother’s sarong.
    There WILL be an Indian or Chinese PM…when guys like you..are thrown to the Tong Sampah…..very soon. He is a useless racialist…..fool.

34. #34 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:22 pm

Don’t dream of it!!!Even your allies, PAS and PKR would not agree to have PM other than Malay. Pls ask them if you don’t believe……DAP has shown its true colour. Everybody knows what they are up to. Next GE, for sure Malay voters will kick them out….

35. #35 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:24 pm

Someone is damn thick skinned to say he disagreed with the decision of the Americans.Go and hide under the coconut shell and shiok sendiri until you fall and become the Backward Four of Asean.

36. #36 by Tonberry on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:28 pm

cintanegara Says:
    I don’t blame Singapore government for practising this as Chinese is the majority. Being the majority in Malaysia, ts it fair for Malays to let go the top position to other races? Pls think rasionaly….

Even if you do not have the intention of letting go your so-called rights, but pls la, dont deny the rights of others! Why you still treating your Chinese, Indian comrades as 2nd class here?? All are equal at the eyes of Singapore. Why Bolehland must discriminate against its own citizens?

37. #37 by monsterball on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:30 pm

hahahahaha….Kasim Amat…wants to provoke and provoke..like one….few months ago.
    He wish to totally ignore the Constitutions…declaring all of us as equal citizens..but begged us to understand….his grandfather need help..needs easy money…so we agreed..making Tunku so happy.
    He totally forgot…our country belong to Britain and Japan….just some 70 years ago…and who fought to free it.
    This young ….is a sad case of one…still in dreamland….study history books…that are out dated……can easily been brainwashed by UMNO…and I am sure…he will agree….UMNO will rule forever.
    Not even UMNO dare to tell us…Malaysia belong to Malays…which means …we are guest….over and over again???
    No no no..he is trying to provoke…brag…making a real clown of himself. One gone….here comes the replacement.

38. #38 by PSM on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:39 pm

You really need to “congratulate” UMNO. After 51 years of Independence they have molded people like Cintanegara & Kasim Amat!
    Even though UMNO has proven themselves to be not only Corrupted but Racists, these “mindless” dopes still support UMNO!
    Look at a lot of the UMNO leaders, their parents (e.g. Khir Toyo) came from either Indonesia or India (e.g. Mahatir) just one or two Generations ago & yet some of us Non-Malays have been here in Malaysia for generations & yet we are still called “pendatang”?!
    However, these “mindless” idiots fail to understand that Evil Regimes eventually fall (look at the Nazis, look at the White South African Apartheid Regime…so too will the Racist UMNO Regime!).
    To those who don’t believe this can happen, well, just look at what happened in the last GE, who would have thought the Opposition would deny the BN their 2/3rds Majority?
    Rev. Martin Luther King had a dream. Today, after Obama’s win, the CNN interviewed King’s daughter. King did not see his dream come true, but his daughter did!

39. #39 by monsterball on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:41 pm

It is useless to discuss sense and sensibility with…..cintanegara….who uses an island with one vast majority race of a small population..to compare with Malaysia’s problems.
    I have heard such comparison before…and it is not valid.

40. #40 by imranj78 on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 9:51 pm

LKS,
    I suggest you ask your partners in PR i.e. PKR and PAS whether they will accept a non-Malay PM. Following that please ensure that they have the balls to ensure that the public know their answer.

I suggest you clarify your own backyard first before shooting at BN or UMNO! I dare you right here right now – please pose this question to your PR partners!

I am not saying that there will never be a PM Malay… there will eventually be one. USA took more then 150 years to get where they are today. Do you think we are at the same position with the USA in race relations after 50 odd years or independance? Which political party in power will not make a difference. At the end of the day, the fact is a majority of the people will not accept a non Malay PM at this current time.

41. #41 by negarawan on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 10:00 pm

The US electorates are mature politically and the majority of the electorates reject race based politics. The Republicans and Democrats have political ideals not based along communal or racial lines. In Malaysia we have an neo-nazi and apartheid UMNO party wanting to project the supremacy of the Malay race over other minority races. They continue to mislead and poison the minds of the Malays with the concept of ketuanan melayu. The only way to save Malaysia is to annihilate UMNO and bring back a racially and religiously harmonious Malaysia. Change we need!

42. #42 by monsterball on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 10:00 pm

cintanegara should change his nick to “cintabangsa”..more sincere..straight to the point….and suits him .to the letter.
    This Malay….thinks all Malays are like him.
    Well 13th election is a long way off.
    Look at the signs of UMNO…quickly get Dollah resign….confirm Najib UMNO president….and immediately…so many goodies..so many good news for Malaysians to be happy about.
    You think…this is done for Malaysians or desperate to win votes?
    Educated young Malaysians…2 million of them….new voters.
    You think they will listen to cintanegara and Kasim Amat…or read and make up…their own minds?
    I quote..Tengku Ahmad Rithauddeen…remark….”UMNO is corrupted..to the core”
    hi Kasim/cintanegara……have you no shame?
    Alamak!!! Mahathir’s onion face..students???

43. #43 by shortie kiasu on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 10:02 pm

‘However, Obama’s historic breakthrough make many Malaysians ask whether it is possible for a Chinese, Indian, Kadazan to become the Prime Minister of Malaysia although the Constitution is very clear that any Malaysian citizen, regardless of race or religion can become Prime Minister.’

We need great people like Martin Luther King to champion the cause of justice & equality to all, democracy in its real sense, if we were to emulate the achievement by the greatest nation of the world, USA on this day 4th of November 2008.

Another 100 years, may be to make up the 150 years as in the case of USA, the greatest nation of the world.

44. #44 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 10:05 pm

Monsterball, U say it is useless to discuss when you have no point to argue. Pls tell why we cannot compare with Singapore? LKS claim that they are ‘first class’ society and always look up at them. If their government are transparent why not considering of appointing Malay minister to hold DPM post or other ‘senior’ post. Though you claim UMNO for being ‘unfair’ to other races, they still appoint Chinese/Indian to be transport, Health, etc ministers.

45. #45 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 10:07 pm

We do not insist on the PM must be from a particular race.I do not think LKS wanted that.What he meant was there should not be racial bias in any appointment.Be it a low acting GM of PKNS or the PM.But alas,such a low appointment on Mdm Low already caused a tremor,and just to mention the possiblity of making a very capable non Malay to be the PM might bring about an earthquake to that community.Pathetic,isn,t it?

46. #46 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 10:14 pm

a. manaaa bolehhhh !!!! akan aku hunus keris aku dan tusuk kepada sesiapa yang cuba. ini bolehland aku. aku yang punya. ingat barang siapa yang berani….

47. #47 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 10:15 pm

University of Malaya once-upon-a-time had leading academicians confined not just to Professor Rayson R L Huang & Professor Wang Gung-wu. We had world renown mathematician Professor Oppenheim as the first Vice Chancellor and brilliant minds such as Professor Chin Fung Kee, Dean of Engineering Faculty, Professor T J Danaraj ,Dean of Medical Faculty, Professor Thong Saw Pak, Dean of Science Faculty & Professor Lim Chong Yah Head of Economics Dept. Faculty of Arts.
    Nowadays in the University of Malaya we have mediocre academicians from one single race as Deans or Vice-Chancellors in all our public universities. We even have Rafiah Salim who does not even possess a PhD as the VC of University of Malaya. Our Government is so shameless or brainless to make such an appointment.
    I think even the Upper 6 students from some of our private colleges have better brains than these current crop of academicians from our public universities.
    To use a colloquial term the Rakyat “vomit blood” with such idiots running our public universities.

48. #48 by bellion on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 10:18 pm

Kasim Amat,

Please do not insult American voters who are largely colour blind unlike you who would have done Hitler proud if you were born a German.

The likes of you and cintanegara should be shipped to a desert island where the two of you can duke it out to see who is the scummiest.

49. #49 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 10:19 pm

Malaysia boleh !

It has taken the blacks more than 300 years before a black becomes the head of a nation. If that 300 years did not prove anything, then what else do the blacks have to prove ? From the moment their ancestors came as slaves, they knew that there is no turning back. U.S.A. is their home.

Congratulations to President Barrack Obama !

50. #50 by monsterball on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 10:21 pm

Singapore IS first class in almost anything……cintanegara
    I said….you cannot use Malaysian populations..land size…with percentage of different races..totally different from a small country…like S’pore…to say this or that…and why not…this or that….cannot be the same.
    This to me..not important.
    I am not going to write pages to explain why.
    It’s too deep rooted…with dirty politic propagandas…in Malaysia…and we are concentrating to vote UMNO out..as the most sensible solution.
    Don’t bring out useless comparison….to throw others …out of concentration…of their objectives.
    I was not born yesterday.

1 2 3 5

Comments are closed.