Race And Islam

By Farish A. Noor

It is odd, to say the least, that after more than fourteen centuries there remain some people who claim to be Muslims but who still have not internalised the universal values of Islam. Odder still that there remain those who on the one hand can embrace Islam’s universal claim of brotherhood (and sisterhood), but still cannot get around to understanding the simple idea that Islam and racism do not mix.

Evidence of such discrepancies can be found pretty much everywhere these days: It has, sadly, become the normative cultural norm in so many Muslim societies today that those who are fair are better off and given the privileges that they feel is the natural right of all light-skinned people. It is also interesting to note that Muslims tend to rejoice whenever a white American or European converts to Islam, but seem less enthusiastic in their recognition of the fact that thousands of Africans and Asians are converting to Islam every year.

Furthermore when it comes to governance and politics, it remains painfully clear that some Muslims still place blood and race above competency and merit till today; and that despite their profession of faith they remain embedded in the stagnant mode of racialised thinking that operates on the basis that some races are better than others.

One such case has popped up recently in multi-culti Malaysia, where a row was sparked off by the nomination of a Chinese woman – Low Siew Moi – as the head of a state institution linked to the economic management and development of the state of Selangor, the PKNS. Despite the fact that Low Siew Moi was selected by the Chief Minister of the state, Tan Sri Khalid, on the basis of merit; some quarters chose to publicly disagree with her appointment on the grounds that the Malay-Muslims of the state would object to the appointment. But objection on what grounds? On the basis that she is a Chinese woman?

Here the already convoluted waters of Malaysia’s racialised politics turns a shade murkier; for among those who objected to the appointment of Low Siew Moi were some members of the Malaysian Islamic party PAS.

Malaysia’s politics has been defined by racial concerns and the communitarian demands of the various religious and ethnic groups of the country since its independence in 1957. Over the past three decades, however, the tone and tenor of the country’s conservative, right-wing ethno-nationalist politics was further coloured by the Islamisation race in the country with the Malaysian government attempting to further inculcate Islamic values into the norms of governance in Malaysia as well.

Ironically however, Malaysia’s Islamisation programme seems to be more concerned with book-banning, fatwas on social behaviour (including the recent revelation that there may be a fatwa on Yoga soon, wait for it), and moral policing instead. Where, the Islamic scholar may ask, were the universal values of Islam in the midst of all this social engineering? Did the leaders of Malaysia not realise, or forget, the simple idea that Islam is an egalitarian faith that is colour-blind; and that the concept of ‘race’ is an alien idea in Islam?

The dilemma that Malaysia is facing now is the same dilemma faced by many other Muslim societies where the defence and promotion of Islam often goes hand-in-hand with the defence and promotion of the communitarian interests of Muslims. In Malaysia’s case, where Muslims are overwhelmingly Malay, then this also translates as the defence of Malay interests – to the extent of propagating the ethno-nationalist idea of Malay cultural dominance as well. Now what on earth is Islamic about this?

Here is where orthodox Muslim scholarship has to come in and make its timely intervention: For it has to be remembered that the success of Islam and the success of Muslims are two entirely different things, that may also clash and negate each other at times. The victory of Islam, so to speak, has to be understood as the victory of universal values such as egalitarianism and equality before God. The victory of Muslims, on the other hand, may at times be understood as political victories that may or may not conform to the standards of Islamic ethics. The defeat of the Kuwaitis at the hands of Saddam Hussein, for instance, was a case of one Muslim state defeating another: but was this a victory for Islam? Likewise, when Muslims openly and abrasively demand special rights and privileges for themselves at the cost of equality and meritocracy, is this really a victory for Islam?

Those who have criticised and opposed the appointment of Low Siew Moi as the head of PKNS on the grounds that the job should have been given to a Malay-Muslim instead should therefore look closely at themselves and ask: What is it that you are fighting for? Malay-Muslim dominance or a better form of governance that is based on merit and equality? The Islamic scholar will remind you that the latter is Islamic, while the former is not.

In any case, for Muslims to even think in racialised communitarian terms is a misnomer of sorts as such modes of communitarian, sectarian thinking has no real place in Islamic orthodoxy and ethics. To quote Tuan Guru Nik Aziz Nik Mat, spiritual leader of the Malaysian Islamic Party PAS: ‘tell me, what race was Adam?’. ‘Nuff said I think.

End.

1. #1 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 8:13 am

Whatever we do in boleh, it should be applicable to the international communities and at an international standard. Else we end up like Taliban or Hamas. Where else in the world do you see the government punishing people with the law accusing one of insulting Islam, etc? The religion has been hijacked by BN, as if Islam is owned by BN. Islam is a religion universally accepted by many people, and BN should understand its greatness and value. When the religion became defensive, you are no longer one of the greatest religions. I should say that it is not the true Islam that is becoming defensive, but the cowards who hijacked Islam are becoming defensive. They are afraid of losing their power. They do all sorts of inhuman acts, yet using Islam to cover up their face. I wonder if one day the international Islam should reject them by throwing them out.

2. #2 by khairi ali on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 8:49 am

So said a muslim scholar. This particular scholar seem not to have the thinking that Islamic god (Allah) couldnt just turned everyone to be a muslim. He even asked what race was Adam. I tell you what, even scientist couldnt varified the origin of races. You will know about that in the Hereafter.

So to say that Islam is global and do not matter the interest of races, which Allah attribute it to His doings, is just a prove that he should consult more on the Quran.

Islam do acknowledge merit, but not without conditions. To make it simpler, there is no rigidity in such thing as pig couldnt be eated at all cost. You can in time of emergency. This is condition.

All in all, how can we accept the stature of a scholar, if basic Islamic teachings is missing.

What more, if he thinks that he is good enough to govern a nation like Malaysia.

3. #3 by rockdaboat on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 9:01 am

honestly, i don’t get what en. khairi ali is trying to convey.

4. #4 by jus legitimum on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 9:07 am

Stop,stop racism and religious bigotry.Recognise the reality of a multi racial,cultural,religious and lingual country.Uphold equality and implement meritocracy.Open your eyes and look at Obama and the American people.Throw away your protective coconut shell and live as a real man free from all sorts of crutches.

5. #5 by ch on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 9:14 am

Dear All,

United States Of America is on the brink of having a president who is a black. Of course, it would be foolish to say that all whites in America would want a black president but the fact remains i.e. the majority of them have mature above race, creed and religion. Voting in a black president may not be the first priority for white Americans but the fact that the state of economy is in such a shamble leave them no choice but to vote in someone who has the credentials and ability to steer them out of the current mess. Although I seriously believe that Obama has no magic wand to steer the US economy out from the current doldrums but the basic fact that the Americans had had enough of 8 years Republican rule, which they think was the source of current prediacaments.

The point which am trying to put accross is that America, being the largest and mightiest country in this world are ready to embrace a black man to be their CEO.

Now, we are arguing and fighting tooth and nail to stop a cHinese woman to become a CEO of PKNS. Don’t you think is a joke? When will this issue of Bumiputera affirmative actions be ending?

6. #6 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 9:15 am

Such a religious party, yet using people’s money (ACA are servants of the people, employed by the people) to combat corruption. What a joke? UMNO should not use our resources for their benefit. Hire their own detectives, please. It is UMNO’s business and not the country’s business.

7. #7 by chengho on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 9:32 am

AAB is a mixed race between chinese and malay , we are ahead of Obama /USA . USA took 350 yrs from independent to be what is today USA . Malaysia only 51 yrs now pls give credit to ourself . America speak one language English and large majority have a common religion,food,etc in Malaysia everything is Multi being food ,culture ,school,college,dress,etc otherwise people will say racism .

the appointment of Low probably not based on merit as perceived by majority but pressured from some quaters , a proper justification must be made to clear the issues.

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 9:35 am

To the question ‘tell me, what race was Adam?’ by Tuan Guru Nik Aziz Nik Mat, it depends who the answerer is and the framework he bases his answer (or speculation) one may say.

The politically correct person of some intelligence who does not want to offend anyone will answer he was of the human race. [In contrast, the response of a nincompoop would be, “which adam? There are hundreds of thousands of people who have had the name, Adam!].

To those belonging to associations, unions and welfare bodies of PKNS objecting to Low Siew Moi as PKNS acting general manager, Adam was Middle Eastern since Adam and Eve is a biblical story derived from monotheistic Abrahamic faiths (of which there are three ie Judaism, Christianity, and Islam.

And even a non believer of faiths – an adherant of Darwin’s Theory Of Evolution or an archaeologist who seek and study human remains artifacts and features – might say Adam was a Neanderthal, a first hominid originating from Africa, and hence was of a darker skin colour, and certainly not white or yellow skinned.

To which it may be further asked – if Adam [ and Eve ] were the actual, first two human, with skin colour of darker olive shade, and all others came from them as descendants, how come we now have all the different peoples of different races and skin colour?

Ah there is an explanation here also from these people.

Since the time of Adam & Eve, the earth had undergone profound climatic changes and people (descendants had migrated beyond the Middle Eastern region where the more intense sun and heat made the skin tone dark or draker to ward off and protect against the harmful rays of the sun!

The sun, in the northern and european regions is less so skin tones lightened needing les dark colours for protection, ect…After all the Almighty gave us the ability and intelligence to adapt to changing environments so that we could survive a changing planet and climatical conditions. It does not change the fact that the original and proto type humans (Adam included) were dark.

Which of course come back in full circle to validate the first answer that all belong to human race of probably same skin colour, were it not affected by other extraneous factors like migration, climatic changes affecting the pihgmentation of the human skin. :)

9. #9 by dawsheng on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 10:01 am

It is not about race and religion, the whole PKNS thing is about money and free lunch. How to insult Malay and Islam?Ask PKNS and PAS!

10. #10 by megaman on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 10:02 am

To think that we used to be a very vocal protest against Apartheid.

Now we are advocating similar racial policies in our own country.

Shameful …

I used to think that the rot is limited to our political leaders. I have no idea that the rot has propagated to the core of our government services and society.

What would it take to people to learn that race should no longer be an issue ? We are crippling ourselves in a world that is relentlessly moving forward.

11. #11 by manusia ada akal on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 10:04 am

Race is a collection of people who live in a location before the invention of transportation. The life of an individual is being influence by that society at large. That society sure would like to experience the progress and prosperity . As the transportation improves, the society are face with the influx of new and different ideologies on how to achieve that aim. Then how to co-exists becomes a challenge. A man is now face with numerous options for him to consider on which path to choose in order to reach that aim Some are free to choose but some are not. However, the want of the society is what that will determine its success. They are allowed to evaluate and think what’s best for them. The power of judgment is in-build and it can shape the direction of the society for a better lives. Everything changes as the time goes by and the people must think and act accordingly to adapt to the new situation. The existing ideologies are being re-examined for its relevancy and usability. Is it(the ideologies) still worthwhile in the present situation? An individual is allowed to do that and that action(to think) will decide the rise or fall of that society

12. #12 by jus legitimum on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 10:19 am

A rather insignificant appointment compared to the countless number of top and significant posts only reserved for the bumis.Despite that,the move of making the temporary appointment on Low by YAB Tan Sri Khalid could make Umno and their supporters and also some Malays so very unhappy.Obviously their stupid and myopic reaction only serves to tell all Malaysians that the most racist political party is none other than Umno and some Malays are also horrendously racialistic.

13. #13 by malaysia-united on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 10:19 am

Don’t choose Jews, Christians, or disbelievers as guardians. 5:57
    A woman is worth one-half a man. 2:282

14. #14 by kevchua on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 10:45 am

Racism will NEVER cease in Malaysia. We used to believe that Malaysia is a model multi-ethnic country that others should emulate but see what has it come to now? I personally feel that the more multi-ethnic the country is, the more racist they become! Why? The reason is, the race which forms the majority RULES the country and they want to have special PRIVILEGES all the time. That’s why some blokes make so much noise when a non-Malay was chosen by a Malay leader to be the head of an economic agency.

Come on la. If someone is capable, let him or her hold the position. Why must it all be about choosing a Malay to lead a large cooperation all the time. Look at our government departments. How many heads are non-Malays?

Frankly, I’m not sure if these UMNO, PAS or whoever would wake up and come to their senses that appointments based on race (not merit) should go to the dogs… no wonder Malaysia is still at least 10 years behind on many things.

15. #15 by wanderer on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 11:03 am

In this extraordinary time, one would have thought that all races and religions should come together and form a healthy coalition to beat the racists and religious bigots.
    Unfortunately, Malaysia still have a fair amount of bigots using race and religion to serve their own agenda…worst still, they are shielded by the ruling govt of the day.
    Only a change of govt, will there be hope, in changing the evil mindset of these parasites aligned especially with UMNO.

16. #16 by helpless on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 11:06 am

Hope this enlightening message create more simple questions as ” life phylosophy” against ” Rules of god “.

Just wonder can anyone enlighten as how certain holly word can come with copyright? I guess all creature having a mouth probably can make sound. Is any sound make by other creature resemble to certain unpopular word shall be banned ?

Unless more simple worldly questions being ask, the skin fairness and mindset will continue to be an argument stock.

17. #17 by CSKUEH on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 11:09 am

When will some people ever grow up spiritually?
    We are all the children of the ONE Almighty God.
    We are all brothers and sisters, descended from Adam and Eve, no race being superior over another. We all have the same red blood and equal in the eyes of God.
    For heaven’s sake, let us all strive for national unity. Let us all be one in mind and heart, be one Malaysian.
    Whatever your religion is, put its good values into practice and it is a sin to do otherwise, one being to show discrimination among humans.
    So, let us reject race/religion based policies and uphold good governance that is based on merit and equality.

18. #18 by hadi on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 11:15 am

Sorry YB, a true Muslim will not behaved in the manner of PKNS dilemma.
    This is the long term and deep rooted effect of the Barisan National way of transforming a nation. Divide and rule, race and religion is all in their game plan. Can you imagine for the past 50 years it was the battle drum of the BN and I wonder how complicated to unravel the whole thing given time that you have.
    My hope is that PAKATAN RAKYAT leadership understand the situation and come out with short and long term strategy to put things right, whether you like it or not a formula has to come out or your dreams remain a dream.

19. #19 by cintanegara on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 11:47 am

Hadi, it is comon when the large majority rules the country.

20. #20 by OrangRojak on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 12:11 pm

“It is odd, to say the least”
    It is not odd. It is part and parcel of believing in the supernatural. Having ‘faith’ is an act of prejudice itself. A person believes some assertion without testing its validity. Nothing can be odd in religion, anything is possible.
    What is odd is that religion should ever be permitted to enter into discussion of a Malaysian citizen’s affairs. You cannot use religion on ‘a Malaysian’ – they have many different religions, many different gods, and no gods at all. So long as you attempt to make a religious judgement in Malaysian public life, you are doomed to bias and to disenfranchise your citiziens, regardless of the religion used.
    Even the USAlanders, who attract so much admiration from some commenters, are backing away from “One nation, under God”. It doesn’t work, and it never will. Religion has been ruled out of American public places, because it’s divisive and unfair. It’s a vote-winner, for sure, but people who don’t have an Abrahamic god, or people who don’t have religion can never be truly represented by a person who claims to be directed by a Middle Eastern religion. Maybe Middle Eastern is not fair, I’m not an expert on religion, perhaps there are other mono-theistic religions from other parts of the world.

‘Societies of brand X’ are all well and good until they control access to some resource that every person needs. That’s the point at which inequality starts. Such control of resources (like access to employment) should be ruled out by law. The law can’t guarantee equality, but it can be used against overt, systematic injustice of the kind employed by mysogynists, religious groups and racists. That’s not meant to be an exhaustive list, I realise it’s possible to belong to a religious group without actually being a bigot.

Religion is not at fault, it’s the inevitable behaviour of people in groups. If there were sufficient laws to prevent the abuses acted out by people on other people, it might be possible to untangle religion from the mess. It’s all too easy to encourage your fellow humans to ape your own abuses by hoisting a religious, colour or sexual equipment banner, but it’s a facade – the real damage is done by individuals, out of personal malice.

21. #21 by safeworld on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 1:07 pm

I read Quran in Chinese version and found Islam was long exist in China than in Malaysia. The profound teaching in Islam reflect such a great religion that it can be embrace by all races in the world either rich or poor. I am not a muslim but I believe the universal values like love, cares, tolorence, peace are what we want to seek for a happier and joyfull life irrespective of all religions in this world. So, no matter who you are or where you from, acceptance of others, treat each one equally, look at the good point will help us broaden our view and enrich our idea and thought. Perhaps we need to think how Islam can be propaganda to Melaka during 15th century or earlier…what were the changes then and now…

22. #22 by ktteokt on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 1:10 pm

As Chinese premier Deng Xiao Ping has said, “Whether it is a black cat or a white one, the one that catches mice is a good cat!” So we should not take race, religion or creed as a serious criterion in determining the merits of anyone.

Having come half a century, Malaysia still lacks behind as a result of such mentality. Concepts such as Ketuanan Melayu is only going to drag the nation back. How can we expect to see Wawasan 2020 realize with such mentality? We would probably end up with “MALAYSIA BOLEH (mati)!”

23. #23 by savedap on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 1:47 pm

http://savedap.blogspot.com/2008/10/blog-post.html

what is the different? as DAP also racism minded.

24. #24 by Kasim Amat on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 1:47 pm

In order to respect and realise the notion of “Melayu Ketuanan” in this counrty, there should not be doubt that all top positions in government bodies and companies, including all listed companies, should only be given to Orang Malayu. Other races have been given a space to live in this country so they should not be asking for too much. There is no way that the Malay supremacy position in this country should be compromised in anyway. The said appointment should go to only Bumi without doubts and I do not wish to see similar incident like this happening again. Stop raising issues such as “meritocracy” which is not applicable in Malaysia.

25. #25 by taxpayer on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 2:09 pm

Islam does not discriminate. Pas therefore cannot be Islamic.

26. #26 by safeworld on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 2:23 pm

wake up brother kasim amat, go and work at uae, see how others manage the country, you will realise how shortsighted you are.

27. #27 by helpless on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 3:13 pm

What a narrow mind is this.

“Today at 13: 47.56 (1 hour ago)
    In order to respect and realise the notion of “Melayu Ketuanan” in this counrty, there should not be doubt that all top positions in government bodies and companies, including all listed companies, should only be given to Orang Malayu. ”

Simple basic questions

1. How a leader was chosen ? To choose one though less competent ?
    Credit must be given if the test show proper evaluation.

2. Special assistance to be granted to groom less capable people. Is anyone handicapped ?
    Special treatment to be given if less fortunate.

3. Is his/her contribution discriminate anyone?
    If yes, stop it.

4. Law of mutiply. If good result, it became better. On otherhand, the second best might mutiply the effect and probably deteriorating at the end. Which one to choose ?
    The best or the second ?

28. #28 by wesuffer on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 5:09 pm

the 30% equity should throw into jamban and flush off !
    A non bumi listed company, automatic giving 30% share to all datuk bumi. nothing diffrent with robber!
    dont so thick skin ! you are fail mean fail ! dont push other down ,so see yourself are higher

29. #29 by wesuffer on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 5:11 pm

if ketuanan melayu are so great and respective.
    dont use non bumi tax payer $$$ !

30. #30 by ChinNA on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 6:15 pm

What is Adam’s surname? Maybe we will know what race Adam is if we know his surname.

If it is a Malay, it will have a ‘bin’. If Adam is Chinese, it will have a ‘Lim’ or something that is Chinese sounding. If Adam is Indian, it will have a “son of”.

Hmm… what if Adam’s surname is actually something like “Yzechova”. Could he be Russian?

By the way, is Nik Aziz a Malay? If he is, why is it that his name does not have a “bin”?

Just wondering.

31. #31 by Loh on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 9:55 pm

///Likewise, when Muslims openly and abrasively demand special rights and privileges for themselves at the cost of equality and meritocracy, is this really a victory for Islam?///–Farish

The question of privilege based on race came from article 153. The founder UMNO leaders must have been aware of the requirement of the Islamic religion that they had the good sense to provide for a review of the provision in the artilce after 15 years. The successors in 1969 thought that NEP would replace article 153 which should be dropped after 20 years in 1990. They erred in removing the provsion for a term review. That ommission caused new UMNO leaders to introduce their own justifications for the existence of that article. The remark of notoriety by Ahmad Ismail was one such results.

NEP had made it easy for people linked to the inner circles of UMNO powers to enrich themselves, and they get addicted to the path to wealth and might. They have also invented the basis to remain in power forever through utilizing the religion. Once religion was politicized, the end justifies the means. After all judgment days are fixed after life.

32. #32 by cemerlang on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 10:32 pm

To believe in a religion is a personal choice. Not to believe in a religion is also your right. If you think Islam is the way, you must have your reasons. If you think Islam is not the way, there must be something that causes you to think so. There are many real situations in which a Muslim by name is not practising real Islam. Just today in the newspaper, a fatwa is carried out against Muslims practising yoga. Yoga has its’ many benefits. What one can find in yoga can be found in Islam too. Therefore, is Islam the only way ? Malays in Malaysia have to ask themselves real hard questions. The case regarding the head of PKNS. It is the fear factor and with having to move out from the comfort zone. Many times, being Malay and being Muslim is a security blanket. When the security blanket is removed, is it still okay ?

33. #33 by rockdaboat on Saturday, 1 November 2008 - 12:02 am

kasim amat, sometimes I don’t know whether you are really thick or just plain acting. anyway, thanks for the joke!

34. #34 by khairi ali on Saturday, 1 November 2008 - 9:37 am

Thanks rockadabout. What I’m trying to say is : Islam dan race do mix, ie. contrary to the writer, who is supposed to be a muslim scholar. And to understand that the scholar, ie the writer must refer to Quran, and not just refering to what is happening in muslim countries.

If u want the detail, contact me at [email protected]

35. #35 by khairi ali on Saturday, 1 November 2008 - 9:52 am

I want to add to kasim amat. Att: taxpayer and safeworld : Islam is such a religion that everything is followed by conditions. For eg. Islam do recognised merit, but there are conditions to it, such as the integrity of the person, besides experience or degrees.

You may see the importance of integrity as in the case of the Ian Chin, the judge that have just resigned because of his own doings, ie suggesting that the government threatened judges. And the government wont take any actions because the judge has already resigned. But dont we all have the right to know. So why not our MP LKS take him to the court of law, to verify the situation?

36. #36 by lofuji on Saturday, 1 November 2008 - 1:08 pm

It is to do with UMNO.Being ruled by one racist PM for the past 22 yrs has brought about this culture.Even though they admitted it,they are not ashamed of it and blatantly do it in front of the Rakyat -just to prove a point that there is nothing anyone can do,not AAB,not ACA.
    Get it?Make as much noise as you want.They could not care less as there is noone who dares to oppose them.
    Definitely not MCA,MIC,Gerakan or the rest of the BN parties cos they have the slave mentality.
    Why? Because we have an omnipotent Law called ISA.Even DSAI cant do much unless we follow our neighbors and go to the streets like Indonesia,Thailand etc.

37. #37 by One4All4One on Saturday, 1 November 2008 - 10:17 pm

Reading Farish Noor’s essay above leads one to a singular conclusion :

HYPOCRISY

It is hypocrisy first, hypocrisy second, hypocrisy third, and hypocrisy ad infinitum.

Whenever it is not hypocrisy, it is ignorance, manipulation, exploitation and bigotry.

A truly learned, educated and sincere person would not have adopted the stance taken by those who profess Islam, which is such a great religion, and, to quote Farish, ” in any case, for Muslims to even think in racialised communitarian terms is a misnomer of sorts as such modes of communitarian, sectarian thinking has no real place in Islamic orthodoxy and ethics.”

It seems that the malays have taken into their own hands to equate “malays = muslims” and that “Islam belongs to the malays”. Any person who could think clearly will not and cannot accept such a premise. Religious knowledge has to be acquired and to truly practise a religion requires one to live by its precepts and teachings strictly, no matter what the ethnic background of the practitioner is . Any casual observation would tell that generally such a situation does no exit within the malay-muslim community in Malaysia, to concur with Farish Noor’s observation. If it does, then we would not have the racial, hypocritical, discriminatory and communal problems in the Malaysian socio-political contexts.

Until and unless such fundamentally contradictory and illusionary modes and approaches are distanced and corrected, one cannot expect much changes to the Malaysian political and social context. With it, the progress of the nation would still be hindered and the non-malay-muslims cannot hope to be truly integrated into the Malaysian society. And also with it, the malays cannot hope to progress just like others,whom they envied and hope to emulate, in the stifling, limiting and self-imposed non-conducive environment and atmosphere.

38. #38 by imranj78 on Sunday, 2 November 2008 - 1:18 am

I might agree with some of Farish Noor’s comments but I do believe he himself is being `selective’ by using only Islamic items that support his views but at the same time not mentioning at all those items that does not support it.

Whether we agree to it or not, two of the objectives of PKNS are as follows.
    1. Meneroka dan menyertai bidang-bidang pelaburan dan perdagangan untuk mewujudkan penyertaan ekuiti
    dan pengurusan Bumiputera yang berkesan dalam perindustrian dan perdagangan.
    2. Menyedia landasan ke arah mewujudkan Masyarakat Perdagangan dan Perindustrian Bumiputera
    selarasn dengan Dasar Pembangunan Nasional.

As such, those who are not supportive of Ms Low’s appointment to head PKNS should not have done so for religious or racial reasons as this is wrong and discriminatory. But these disenting views are understandable from the view of PKNS achieving two of its objectives above.

We don’t necessarily need someone who is a `walking dictionary’ (like what Teresa Kok mentioned) as a PKNS head. We need someone whose values and personal objectives are congruent with the objectives of PKNS. If a non Bumiputera such as Ms Low is shown as capable and are able to support and drive the organization to achieve all its objectives including the above on Bumiputera upliftment, then I don’t see anything wrong with appointing her.

39. #39 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 2 November 2008 - 3:25 am

“…some quarters chose to publicly disagree with her appointment on the grounds that the Malay-Muslims of the state would object to the appointment. But objection on what grounds? On the basis that she is a Chinese woman?”

What if her name is not Low Siew Moi but Low Siew Moh @ Siti bt. Abdullah??

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 2 November 2008 - 3:34 am

It is time to amend Article 160 (2) Federal Malaysian Constitution 1957. This Article has been abused not ony to perpetuate Malay-Muslim hegemony but also to oppress the Malays.

41. #41 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 2 November 2008 - 5:36 am

The stated objective of PKNS is “PKNS strives to develop Selangor by generating ideas and activities for the benefit of the people and to contribute towards creating a united Malaysian society…”
    and not what imranj78 stated as 1. and 2. in posting 01: 18.21.

1. and 2. are also not the reason given in the Memorandum objecting to her appointment. The Memorandum explains : “as PKNS conducts activities that are spiritual in nature, its leader must understand and practice Islamic values. In other words, the one who will become the general manager will be the ‘imam’ for all the staff.” Source – Malaysian Insider at this link :
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/11333?task=view#pc_6480

Even if one goes by 1. and 2., Mdm Low Siew Moi, 57, a trained accountant, has served PKNS for 35 years with commendation and merits.

Indeed the Memorandum objecting her apointment conceded “We do not deny the capabilities of Low Siew Moi in the management of finance.” (Source – Malaysian Insider).

So don’t tell me 35 years of serving PKNS without demurrer even by her detractors is not sufficient proof enough that she has given the better part of her career life in service of PKNS unarticulated objectives 1. and 2. for that to be doubted at this juncture?

42. #42 by khairi ali on Sunday, 2 November 2008 - 9:08 am

In Islam, at whatever juncture, human will be tested by God. So we must walk through our path of life very carefully and diligently. Farish is being tested as a muslim scholar since he posted his Islamic views in a non-muslim media. Tengku Aziz is being tested whether he is a Malay or a Tanggang. Siew Moi is now being tested her as a true Malaysian, or a Chinese Malaysian. And every races is being tested whether they duly recognised their origin or simply throw it away…. and so on.

43. #43 by imranj78 on Sunday, 2 November 2008 - 2:42 pm

Jeffrey,
    I beg to differ to your last posting. Obviously you don’t understand the difference between an organization’s objectives and an organization’s corporate philosophy. The objectives I quoted in my previous posts are absolutely correct and are clearly stated in PKNS’ website at http://www.pkns.gov.my. As such, please don’t purposely accuse me of lying as unlike some, I do my research first before accusing people of anything!!

What you quoted above is PKNS’ corporate philosophy which is totally separate matter altogether.

Please do more research next time before shooting away!

44. #44 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 2 November 2008 - 5:42 pm

imranj78 is right that according to PKNS website, a distinction is made between Corporate Philosophy and Objectives.

For benefit of Readers :

PKNS’s Corporate Philosophy :

“As corporate body dynamic and responsible, always PKNS strive to continue develop and develop Negeri Selangor through generation and unification thinking and activity to benefit of the people beside contribute towards create united Malaysian society.”

Objectives:

· Boosting, develop and developing residential area, industrial, trade, new growth centre, agriculture and carry out his such activities and other activities that the permitted;
    · Implement all government policy which involves poverty eradication and restructuring society;
    · Explore and participate investment and trade areas to establish equity participation and effective that Bumiputera management in industrial and trade;
    · Prepare track towards create Business Community and Bumiputera Perindustrian selarasn (in coordination/ line) with National Development Policy.

As such I take no exception to the following points made by imranj78 in his posting, that:-

· “those who are not supportive of Ms Low’s appointment to head PKNS should not have done so for religious or racial reasons as this is wrong and discriminatory;

· We need someone whose values and personal objectives are congruent with the objectives of PKNS;

· If a non Bumiputera such as Ms Low is shown as capable and are able to support and drive the organization to achieve all its objectives including the above on Bumiputera upliftment, then I don’t see anything wrong with appointing her”

but I do not share the same sentiments with him that “these dissenting views (against Miss Low Siew Moi) are understandable from the view of PKNS achieving two of its objectives above for reasons already earlier stated in my earlier post at 05:36.24 above.

45. #45 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 2 November 2008 - 6:38 pm

As in other cases of govt agencies/national life, there is always ambivalence between promoting the objectives of NEP on one hand and creating a united Malaysian society fair to all races on the other and the apparent tension arising from the differences in language of corporate philosophy (“contribute towards create united Malaysian society”) from that of 2 of the 4 objectives of PKNS (promoting Bumi equity participation and management in industry and trade) must necessarily be viewed from this angle that corporate philosophy and objectives are intended to be mutually reconcilable, and complementary rather than conflicting.

To therefore reject Low Siew Moi’s appointment by reason of her race or religion without regard to her 35 years of dedicated service in PKNS is, I would argue, be giving a skewed interpretation to the 2 objectives to promote a situation not intended for an organisation like PKNS in negation of its true purpose (without splitting hairs here between corporate philosophy and its overall objectives).

46. #46 by adameben on Tuesday, 4 November 2008 - 8:41 pm

Simply speaking, Islam has been misinterpret by others, thanks to our BELOVED BOLEHLAND G! the ISLAM that those people are potraying ARE NOT THE TRUE ISLAM!! Ask Ms Fong (Po Kuan) if you dont believe me. Why? You know why. And for your info, ISLAM does not belong to MALAY only!!

47. #47 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 10:02 am

Just because Malays in Malaysia are born Muslims, they assume one thing MALAYS=ISLAM and ISLAM=MALAYS! They are forgetting that Islam belongs to everyone who wish to embrace it! Go visit Sinkiang and Mongolia in China and you will find many Chinese embracing Islam and calling themselves Muslims! So how can one single race have MONOPOLY over a religion in any given country?

48. #48 by One4All4One on Thursday, 6 November 2008 - 7:28 pm

oops, sorry, that typo error again…should have been:

It seems that the malays have taken into their own hands to equate “malays = muslims” and that “Islam belongs to the malays”. Any person who could think clearly will not and cannot accept such a premise. Religious knowledge has to be acquired and to truly practise a religion requires one to live by its precepts and teachings strictly, no matter what the ethnic background of the practitioner is . Any casual observation would tell that generally such a situation does NOT EXIST within the malay-muslim community in Malaysia, to concur with Farish Noor’s observation. If it does, then we would not have the racial, hypocritical, discriminatory and communal problems in the Malaysian socio-political contexts…