Tunku Aziz: PKNS staff shouldn’t interfere

Oct 29, 08 1:09pm

Staff at the Selangor State Development Corporation (PKNS) should respect the menteri besar’s prerogative in appointing a non-Malay to head the state agency, said DAP vice-chairperson Tunku Abdul Aziz Ibrahim.

“I hope the menteri besar’s decision is respected by all and the PKNS staff will focus on doing their work professionally instead of questioning the prerogative of the state government to appoint the most suitable person for the post,” he said in a statement today.

Tunku Abdul Aziz was commenting on protests by six staff bodies against the appointment of the corporation’s deputy corporate affairs and accounting manager Low Siew Moi as acting general manager.

The decision by Selangor Menteri Besar Khalid Ibrahim to appoint Low was met with objection from the corporation’s own staff who submitted a protest memorandum to him.

At the same time Selangor PAS wanted to suggest its own candidate besides helping the state government find a suitable candidate.

Tunku Abdul Aziz expressed “great concerns” over the opposition shown by the staff bodies and opposition coalition partner PAS against Low’s appointment on the grounds that the post should be filled up by a bumiputera.

Tunku Abdul Aziz said that the opposition based on someone’s ethnic background augured badly for ethnic relations and national unity.

“The interference by the senior staff of PKNS runs counter to established management practices and may well be the result of the race-based policies and indoctrination that the nation had been subjected to for the better part of 50 years or so,” he said.

‘Blind prejudice’

Tunku Abdul Aziz urged Malaysians to put aside “blind prejudices” and recognise that progress required the recognition for efforts and contributions of all citizens regardles of ethnicity or gender.

On the contrary, he said that a culture had developed where merit was overlooked while “less than relevant considerations” such as ethnicity and religion were prioritised.

“It is indeed sad that while we have progressed in economic and material terms, our nation is still bound to old ways of thinking and acting that have no place in a modern democratic society,” he said.

The Selangor government, in particular Khalid, has come under fire from various groups and media over Low’s appointment.

Filling the gap

In a statement yesterday, Khalid defended Low’s appointment, adding that she was the most suitable candidate to fill the post for the time being.

Khalid said Low’s appointment should not be an issue because it was only temporary as she was needed to stand in to replace the void left by the current PKNS general manager Harun Salim would be retiring at the end of the month.

Low, who is due to retire this year, was given an extention to undertake the new post.

Khalid had explained that if both Low and Harun retired at about the same time, it could affect to smooth running of PKNS.

Thus the state had asked Low to defer her retirement by a year until a suitable bumiputera successor was found, he had said.

Low was also quoted in the media as saying that a bumiputera candidate should be appointed to continue steering the government agency.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by carboncopy on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 3:33 pm

Uncle Kit,

Is there a mole within PKR MP? In an interview he gave to Sin Chew is clearly to cast communal politics light on to Pakatan Rakyat. He said race of the DPM must be malay, and there was already an internal agreement within Pakatan Rakyat.

I wonder who is this PKR MP, my guess is the Kulim Zuklifli guy. Time to sack him!

Is it possible that this guy has been bought over to cause damage to Pakatan from within Pakatan?

+++++

PKR MPs Told Not To Leave Country
    2008-10-28 15:37

PETALING JAYA: A PKR member of parliament told Sin Chew Daily that Pakatan Rakyat MPs had been instructed not to leave the country within the next two weeks. However, DAP and PAS MPs said they had not received such a notice.

The PKR MP said he had received the instruction from party leadership that the party would table a provisional no-confidence motion in the Parliament against prime minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi over the next two weeks under a peaceful and constitutional framework, and that all Pakatan MPs had to stay within the country pending further instructions.

“We have received very huge support in the country. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, the existing government will be replaced soon.”

He also pointed out that before the BN backbenchers were off on a study tour to Taiwan in September, already 31 MPs from BN had signed the statutory declaration to agree to hop over to Pakatan.

According to PKR information, Pakatan Rakyat has reached an internal accord of reserving the PM and DPM posts for Malays once it took over the federal government, as the current political environment is not favourable for a Chinese or Indian to become the deputy prime minister.

“You will be very shocked, as PAS president Datuk Seri Hadi Awang will be the deputy prime minister.”

“However, two important Cabinet portfolios, namely the home ministry and the international trade and industries ministry, will be reserved for the Chinese, and DAP’s Lim Kit Siang is a perfect candidate.”

PKR vice president cum MP for Gopeng Dr Lee Boon Chye refused to confirm whether the MPs were instructed not to leave the country over the next two weeks, confirming instead that Anwar had told them to be on standby for further instruction.

He felt that the period of time from now to the UMNO elections next March could be a crucial period for change of federal government.

DAP Negeri Sembilan state liaison committee chairman cum MP for Rasah Loke Siew Fook, and PAS Youth chief cum MP for Kubang Kerian Salahuddin Ayub, said unanimously that they had not received any notice not to leave the country over the next two weeks.

Loke even said judging from the current developments, the likelihood for a government change is very low at this moment. (Translated by DOMINIC LOH/Sin Chew Daily)

2. #2 by PureMalaysian on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 3:35 pm

There are even banners hung up today by the roadside along Kota Dsara area, and reads “PKR berkuasa, PKNS tergadai”.

3. #3 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 3:37 pm

It is really a shame on Pas and the PKNS staff for opposing Low’s appointment merely based on her ethnic origin.True, Tunku Aziz is right when he said the people have become so accustomed to look at things along racial and religious lines ignoring capablity and suitablity.Why not these idiots look at Obama who might become the next President of a predominantly white country and also the most powerful nation on earth?

4. #4 by vp on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 3:51 pm

I just wonder why appointment of a chinese senior staff as GM of medium size government body among thousands of government bodies in Malaysia is not acceptable by these people?

PKNS is belongs to the Selangor Rakyat, not by certain race. The main point should be select a capable person who can lead PKNS towards greater success, not a stupid person from any race.

Government always complaint chinese are not interested to become government staff. But, a promotion of a chinese as GM bring so many protest. With this kind of case, how can malaysia chinese will interested in a company where promotion is base on race???

Malaysia today sucess is due to all races join hand together to work on it. Without Malay or any other race, or with 1 race olone, malaysia will not be prosperous as today. These people should think of how to do their job better not complain or protest such a small issue.

5. #5 by just a moment on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 3:57 pm

Mine o mine, here they go again.
    Special Malay rights?
    Social Contract? Racial Contract?
    They are all there to see.
    Anyway, that’s beside the point.

So, to appoint on ‘temporary’ basis.
    Tak boleh pulak.

All staff rejected. For a while I thought
    its running a circus management. The ring leader
    is not one of them, so not qualify.

In our public service Dept, the staffs are waiting
    to be served first by their own kind before they
    serve public. They choose what kind of leaders
    that want. Really, this is some
    kind of kampong mentality. This is a city, donks.

The objectives of PKNS clearly stated to create a
    united Malaysian Society Not Malay or Islam Circus.
    Isn’t it that so difficult to understand?

If truly the Dept is serious like any professional bodies,
    if the staffs don’t like their appointed leaders, all the staffs
    should bookes a bus and look for a windly park and bring lots
    of kites too.

Im really disappointed with PAS. Sama sama juga. This is only
    a ‘temporary’ thing only lah, Now if Im Low, I also feel shy now.
    Shame, shame.

This one incidence suddenly dawns upon me, I wonder if you ask and look at all Gov’t Departments, Institutions, etc..How many Non Malays can hold top post, I think the answer will be a Big Jelo bearing in mind all their staff gets to pick their leaders. Perhaps, some Dept under “dan lain2″.

Pls lah, how long and how much is needed to invest in these …….. Even brain surgery doesn’t cost as much as what the nation is paying.

6. #6 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 4:07 pm

It is sad isn’t it?

7. #7 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 4:18 pm

PAS and the PKNS staff are so blinded by their racist instincts that they completely fail to see the MB’s primary objective in appointing Ms Low as the GM.

The MB’s prime concern clearly is to ensure the smooth operation of PKNS with the departure of the present GM. He needed someone who not only has indepth knowledge of the organization but ALSO capable. That none of the remaining bunch of bumi senior staff are deemed suitable should be an eye opener to those who criticize the MB’s decision. And it speaks volumes of the poor management of the top when no succession planning is put in place.

Ms Low herself clearly does not relish sitting in that chair as indicated by her comments that a bumi should be appointed soon. She knows full well that this bumi dominated organization is bound to make life difficult for her out of spite and narrow mindedness.

I wonder if the demand for a “bumi” is interpreted as “malay” . Because if it is bumi (malay) that they insist on, why did they not complain about Idris Jala at MAS? He is bumi but not Malay. Or is it simply because Ms Low is Chinese?

Or maybe it is simply they have too many skeletons in the closet that they are afraid a non Malay GM supported by the PR Govt. will not hesitate to expose?

8. #8 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 4:26 pm

What do you expect after so many years of a policy that had advocated such a waste of talents? The CEOs of GLCs are not expected to shoulder expectations much more than the Gomen departments; hence everyone craves for the top posts.
    Just hold them accountable and see how many will crave for such posts.
    Wold it change? most unlikely! Because there is no more accountability anyway and at any level!
    When things go wrong blame just anybody but himself! in case of Sami, even GOD was found accountable except himself. Cheerio! ZIMBABWE, you have partner!!

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 4:33 pm

The memorandum of 6 staff bodies (associations, unions and welfare bodies) of PKNS opposes Selangor MB Khalid Ibrahim’s appointment of Low Siew Moi as acting GM of PKNS based on merits and experience.

The opposition to Low Siew Moi is based on solely either race or religion : there is no ambiguity about this.

According to The Malaysian Insider the memorandum states, “We do not deny the capabilities of Low Siew Moi in the management of finance. …However, leading PKNS would need certain leadership criteria, among them, rapport with all staff and associations and ability to communicate with different levels of personnel…. As PKNS conducts activities that are spiritual in nature, its leader must understand and practice Islamic values. In other words, the one who will become the general manager will be the ‘imam’ for all the staff.”

What kind of rationale is this???

The memorandum directly opposes the letter and spirit of the stated objective of PKNS, which is “PKNS strives to develop Selangor by generating ideas and activities for the benefit of the people and to contribute towards creating a united Malaysian society…”

How could PAS support the memorandum and even offer to help the state government find an alternative more suitable candidate???

PAS is violating the basic pledges it has made to the electorate as well as acting in manner contrary to the principles of its other Pakatan Rakyat partners.

All component parties within Pakatan Rakyat including PAS have common pledges to “uphold the rights and interests of all Malaysians, regardless of religion or race, as enshrined in the Constitution”.

The election manifesto of Party KeAdilan Rakyat in particular for 12th GE stated that “the laws and policies that have created social divisions between Malaysians and barred the way to the mutual understanding that is required for genuine unity will be dismantled and replaced with laws and policies that promote political and economic equality as well as encourage mature, meaningful dialogue as the only way to achieve true harmony. KeADILan’s new mould of non-racialised politics will be an important first step toward a Malaysia that is no longer caught in the polemic of ethnic polarisation and constant division”.

Are you guys in PR (including DSAI) afraid to tell off PAS, that it may say things and act in any manner it wishes ?

10. #10 by Tonberry on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 4:34 pm

How to become glocal if the mindset is still like this?

11. #11 by Yee Siew Wah on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 4:38 pm

I dont need to write more. Here is one blogger comment:-

“”Just look what type of people we have running the state government. Narrow minded, racialistic and arrogant bunch. You name it, they almost have it. Look, we are a multi racial country. And this is a fact. We need the best people who are capable of making the country move and progress forward irrespective.
    I for one, if all the best people running the state government are malays, so be it.
    Come on, have an open mind and not live in a cocoon of racial, “ketuanan” etc…perception.
    And now PAS has shown their true colors. They are as bad if not worse than the racialistic Umnoputras. They talked and acted otherwise. Rakyat have to think twice before supporting them comes next election.
    I can guarantee, there will be more huha from UMNO members in the coming days.
    Its amazing, in Bolehland, some people never learn.”"

12. #12 by hosengloong08 on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 4:42 pm

All this while we non bumi only menumpang.

what u expect the bumi can accept the us to guide them meh?

please go to wikipedia and type cheng ho.

there u can see malaysia and indonesia muslim actuali started by CHENG HO. not bumi!

13. #13 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 5:32 pm

I don’t blame Malaysian Chinese for abandoning their own country and emigrating to another where their talents and knowledge are recognized and welcomed.

What is the use of staying in your own country when you are not welcome despite having the expertise and knowledge?

14. #14 by wanderer on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 5:35 pm

PKR, you are elected into govt is to led, not to be lead! Since when, an appointment of a Senior executive of of a establishment is determined by bias and racist staff. Does their employment contract allow them to choose their superior? If not, let them have the option to leave or remain royal who ever is the govt of the day.
    It is time for PK to dismantle this racist structure, cater employment based on merits and show the way of equal opportunity to all!

15. #15 by Xiao He on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 5:58 pm

Well said, Tunku Aziz.. The race-based politics and mindset should end..

16. #16 by cancan on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 6:22 pm

Dear all true Malaysians, kindly answer the following question:

If God can say something about this country, what do you think will it be?

http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/

17. #17 by Loh on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 6:47 pm

The protest is obviously against article 153 of the constitution which allows non-Malays to serve in any position.

18. #18 by Godfather on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 6:48 pm

“Forgive them, for they know not what they do.”

19. #19 by Jimm on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 7:10 pm

bad a can things can be in this country …. we have them

20. #20 by rubini on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 7:11 pm

Old habits die hard. 50 years of divisive politics has led to this situation. Tan Sri Khaled was CEO, i am sure he knows what’s he is doing.

21. #21 by Mr Smith on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 7:51 pm

Where is this all going to end? If you want only Malays to head all corporations, agencies, universities and departments, then exempt the non-Malays from paying taxes or reduce their taxes since they are second class.
    Are these racist telling us straight in the face that we are not eligible to occupy such posts?
    Woe betide this nation if skin colour rules.

22. #22 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 8:15 pm

‘It doesn’t matter if it’s black or white
    It’s a good cat if it can catch rats’
    So why do some still have the wrong petitions to write
    When there’s the best cat around to get rid of rats?

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 291008
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Wed. 29th Oct. 2008.

23. #23 by Damocles on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 8:32 pm

If I’m not mistaken, they have a mamak leading them for twenty-two years!
    Digest that!

24. #24 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 8:44 pm

How to show true colours
    When colour decides favour
    Leaving behind bad flavour
    Even when available as saviour

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 291008
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Wed. 29th Oct. 2008.

25. #25 by cazz on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 8:55 pm

Lets say, one day, a daughter of a PKNS’s member has fallen ill, so ill that she might not make it over the night unless she receive medical attention. And there is a Chinese doctor and a bumi vet. I amd sure the PKNS member will send the daughter to the vet instead of the Chinese doctor.

Why? She is not bumi.

That is ketuanan Melayu culture nurtured under the ruling of UMNO.

26. #26 by Anti_NEP on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 9:26 pm

PKNS under previous Be eNd rule had given out thousands of acres of land to private developers and in return getting peanuts. Is this the way to help uplift the economy status of Melayu Bumiputra???? Just check how Talam Group and LBS got hold of thousands of acres of land at Tg. Dua Belas and Dengkir. Those people who make the complaint now should know better how th previous Be eNd government had cheated the Selangor folks.

27. #27 by aje on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 9:31 pm

From the many episodes recently one can tell who is more racist and less tolerant.I see a gloomy picture in Malaysia unless more of my Malay brothers and sisters speak up.

28. #28 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 9:56 pm

It has been racist all along…or rather some people out there making it a point to perpetuate the racial orientation and biasness of agencies in order that their selfish interest, against the true agenda and proper purposes of organisations, are being taken care of. In other words, government agencies and bodies had long been abused and misused by interest groups for their own ends and convenience; and the state’s coffers had been plundered endlessly. At least that is the general perception.

A firm stand must be taken to stop the impropriety and misconduct of agencies and bodies which SHOULD serve ALL the people regardless of ethnicity and religious backgrounds. Isn’t an agency such as PKNS which is a state government body suppose to look after the interest of all irrespective of colour or creed?

Those people who oppose the management should face the sack for going against the orders of the organisation itself? Who do they think they are to oppose an appointment made by the organisation? They have long thought that the organisation is their own property and can do as they like. Those kind of mentality should be not be allowed anymore. Or maybe they are part of the machinery which is there to perpetuate the status quo? Hence, their opposition to accountability or integrity?

No more whitewashing should be allowed in any government agencies which should serve all with equality and fairness without prejudice or discrimination. It is time to call a spade a spade, without fear or favour.

The government should be impartial in all its policies and actions. However, those who had been sidelined, underprivileged or unfortunate should be given a helping hand whenever and wherever possible. “Keprihatinan” , “keperimanusiaan”, “mesra rakyat”, “merakyatkan ekonomi”, etc., etc. should be applied generously to truly reflect the government’s humanism and caring attitude.

Perhaps, it is time to change, to change for the better and for good.

29. #29 by CSKUEH on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 10:00 pm

Matthew 5:45 says “so that you may become the sons of your Father in heaven. For he makes his sun to shine on bad and good people alike and gives rain to those who do good and to those who do evil.”
    This verse of Scripture teaches us that God loves everyone in the world, he only hates our sins.

“We know that God loves us all
    So don’t go astray always heeding the call
    To be godly and loving one another
    Irrespective of race,creed or colour

So let us reject race-based policies
    Candidates to be assessed based on competencies
    Let us all strive for national unity
    To build up people of good quality”

30. #30 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 10:02 pm

“The Selangor government, in particular Khalid, has come under fire from various groups and media over Low’s appointment.”

If general elections were to be held today, PR would lose the state of Selangor.

31. #31 by All For The Road on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 10:20 pm

After 51 years of independence, we are still dictated and governed by racial bias and skin colour to the detriment for the realization of a Bangsa Malaysia. The latest uproar and fiasco in the appointment of Low Siew Moi as acting general manager of Selangor PKNS for a temporary period drew a lot of flak and outcry from UMNO, Pas and PKNS staff. It is only a case of the most qualified, most experienced and most capable to head the state-owned corporation and yet this has caused a lot of unnecessary disappointment.
    Our country should have more Malay leaders to the likes of Selangor MB Khalid Ibrahim and DAP vice-chairperson Tunku Abdul Aziz who are colour-blind and forward-looking. We take our hats off for their stand and just reasoning!

32. #32 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 10:25 pm

Not really, undergraduate, not necessarily.

For every unreasonable person living in Selangor, there are many more who are sensible and who could differentiate between what is right from what is not.

Many people are not as racist as they are made out to be by the media or provocateurs and bigots.

I believe so, based on the many ordinary folks I have come to know in everyday life…

Believe me undergraduate.

33. #33 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 10:36 pm

HATS OFF TO THE LIKES OF TAN SRI AND TUNKU.

YOU GUYS HAVE MADE MANY MALAYSIANS TO BELIEVE THAT ALL IS NOT LOST IN OUR COUNTRY.

YOU GUYS HAVE PUT SENSE TO WHERE IT MATTERS MOST.

INDEED, ACTION SPEAKS LOUDER THAN WORDS.

YOU GUYS HAVE TREADED THE PATH SO FEW HAVE DARED TO TAKE.

WE ARE TRULY PROUD OF YOU GUYS AND YOUR ACTIONS AND SENSIBILITY SHOULD BE EMULATED BY ALL.

34. #34 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 10:55 pm

We must rid ourselves of nonsensical, foolish and unhealthy cultures which could twist realities into myths which we want to believe in, even though we know they are untrue and biased.

Let’s be honest with ourselves. Let’s develop wisdom which serves all of us.

What good it is if for the wrong reasons, those people who truly need assistance are not aided, while those with selfish interest got it all? If a policy change can correct that, are we prepared to accept it?

35. #35 by Godfather on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 11:04 pm

What can we expect of a bunch of people at PKNS who have been fed by UMNO for so long that all they care about is to destabilise the present PR government. These people will do anything and say anything just to spite Khalid.

A fringe group at PAS has also been conned by these people into taking a racist stand. This group should join UMNO, rather than hide under the skirts of PAS. Tok Guru would never have taken this stand.

What’s the solution ? You can’t get rid of these morons overnight. You can only ensure that these people never get into positions of authority, and then you can slowly phase them out – be it from PKNS or from PAS.

36. #36 by veddy.lum74 on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 11:12 pm

never ending story…….the last episode was related to the opening of extra opportunities for non-bumi to enter MARA,just 10%,the racists all woke-up and protest!!!!!
    damn it!now,simultaneously,the racists also protest the chinese-written road signs!!!!
    cant they just be a little bit civilize?
    i m very sad,to them,everything is about race and religion,no compromise!
    i really speechless!

37. #37 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 11:21 pm

Companies have rules and regulations.

Toe the line or get the boot.

38. #38 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 11:22 pm

The associations of PKNS must be talking C>>>K! Just look at all the PIRATIZED projects; mostly, if not all ALIBABA set-ups. IT is alright so long that the gravy train spills over. If they do need an IMAM, there are plenty around to fulfill their spiritual needs. These so-called union leaders are really bankrupt of inventing even an acceptable reason to backup their slanted thinking!
    Just look at the houses built by them over the years. could they be proud of their administrative job? If they can only take care of the jobs they are employed to do and let the State decided on management issue.
    This reminded me of those days when a certain report from the Gomen suggested that their employees should be given due recognition of their years of services. One union leader was very vocal of that proposal. He was working as a senior clerk in an account department. So I asked him, if based on the proposal, would it be possible for him to become the chief accountant? He said why not? But who would approve the final account as he had no knowledge of closing the book?. Well, I would employ a qualified accountant to do that job!!!
    With that kind of blind ambition as being expounded then, now and at every nook and corner, you have Malaysia Boleh!!

39. #39 by Godfather on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 11:36 pm

Whether it is PKNS or Bandaraya, they are all the same – buayas differentiated only by the size of their bellies. What Khalid should do is perhaps force the retirement of half a dozen top brass at PKNS, and let them join forces with Khir Toyo. It’s better that they shout from outside PKNS than destabilise PKNS from within.

40. #40 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 11:48 pm

Like Anwar said…UMNO is afraid of getting smart people for the right post.
    Now look what happen.
    It has gone so deeply to so many government departments…..that it must always be a Muslim…to be head of a Dept.
    They even dare to go against Selangor MB…because he is from keDAILan.
    Sickening politics..rooted in.
    How to progress with such mentalities?

41. #41 by shamshul anuar on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 12:06 am

Dear Cazz,

Now dear. No need to be rude by insulting Malays by saying something alien like vet or doctor. Doctors and other professional irregardless of races deserve the highest of respect.

Actually, if you care to observe( if only) you will notice how racial remarks are alive and kicking more so in Chinese community.

I mean no disrespect to Chinese community. But it is all known how non Chinese are ussually sidelined in Chinese controlled institutions, factory, banks.

I am not playing into racial card. That you have to leave to Uncle Lim whose hallmark is inciting racial hatred.

Not believing me? Open newspapers and you will see “Mandarin is preferred. And why dobt you aslk any Malay or Indian. I bet 9999 out of 10000 will say how they agree on discrimination simply because they are not Chinese.

Shocking? Go and ask.

42. #42 by aje on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 1:08 am

Please reserved all the top positions in any companies or organizations for Malays so that our nation will be peaceful !Good luck.

43. #43 by draken001 on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 1:50 am

Form a query panel and call in the PKNS staff, one by one, for an interview and ask them nicely why are they objecting to the new appointment. Hear it from their own mouths. Advise them nicely that disciplinary action for insurbordination can be taken if they stick to the racial card unrepentently. Get an expert to explain to them that their kind of mindset is outmoded if they truly want to move ahead. Just my two cents.

44. #44 by Daniel Quah on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 1:53 am

those goon are making humiliation to their own race…

45. #45 by parameswara on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 1:57 am

affirmative action means earning one’s share through sheer ability,
    every nickel, penny, and daim.

what sort of affirmative action is hiding behind a policy?

46. #46 by trublumsian on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 2:44 am

america is close to electing a minority as president. malaysia needs to wake up or never will get the chance to.

47. #47 by kerajaan.rakyat on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 2:44 am

Dear YB Lim,

Ini semua orang protests memang bodoh punya orang.
    Apa kira Melayu ke, Cina ke, India ke, Banggali ke.
    Janji dia orang PANDAI kerja, ok lah.

Ini UMNO punya Melayu memang tidak otak punya orang.
    UMNO punya Melayu serupa lembu kena cucuk hidung.
    Rakyat kasi dia kerja, dia pergi curi rakyat punya wang. tuiii.

http://anwaribrahim-admin.blogspot.com/

:

48. #48 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 6:03 am

“I believe so, based on the many ordinary folks I have come to know in everyday life.. ” One4All4One

I don’t share your optimism. Depends who you are talking to but most likely they will say one thing to you that is politically correct and do something else privately – like putting their support behind the other party!

49. #49 by Kathy on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 6:56 am

Shamsul Anuar, even if the position requires “Mandarin” as a pre-requisite, it is only language. It is not racial. I got friends – Malay and Indian that speaks Mandarin and some of them even know how to read and write Chinese – better than me. So, don’t use that as an excuse that Chinse organizations are side-lining Malays with the use of “Mandarin Preferred” line.

50. #50 by Godfather on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 7:10 am

Samshul Anuar said:

“…I bet 9999 out of 10000 will say how they agree on discrimination simply because they are not Chinese.”

Are you sure you got your sums right ? Are you sure you understand statistics ? Your boss failed the numbers paper many years ago. RM 1.1 billion became RM 1.7 billion ?