Tunku Aziz: PKNS staff shouldn’t interfere

Oct 29, 08 1:09pm

Staff at the Selangor State Development Corporation (PKNS) should respect the menteri besar’s prerogative in appointing a non-Malay to head the state agency, said DAP vice-chairperson Tunku Abdul Aziz Ibrahim.

“I hope the menteri besar’s decision is respected by all and the PKNS staff will focus on doing their work professionally instead of questioning the prerogative of the state government to appoint the most suitable person for the post,” he said in a statement today.

Tunku Abdul Aziz was commenting on protests by six staff bodies against the appointment of the corporation’s deputy corporate affairs and accounting manager Low Siew Moi as acting general manager.

The decision by Selangor Menteri Besar Khalid Ibrahim to appoint Low was met with objection from the corporation’s own staff who submitted a protest memorandum to him.

At the same time Selangor PAS wanted to suggest its own candidate besides helping the state government find a suitable candidate.

Tunku Abdul Aziz expressed “great concerns” over the opposition shown by the staff bodies and opposition coalition partner PAS against Low’s appointment on the grounds that the post should be filled up by a bumiputera.

Tunku Abdul Aziz said that the opposition based on someone’s ethnic background augured badly for ethnic relations and national unity.

“The interference by the senior staff of PKNS runs counter to established management practices and may well be the result of the race-based policies and indoctrination that the nation had been subjected to for the better part of 50 years or so,” he said.

‘Blind prejudice’

Tunku Abdul Aziz urged Malaysians to put aside “blind prejudices” and recognise that progress required the recognition for efforts and contributions of all citizens regardles of ethnicity or gender.

On the contrary, he said that a culture had developed where merit was overlooked while “less than relevant considerations” such as ethnicity and religion were prioritised.

“It is indeed sad that while we have progressed in economic and material terms, our nation is still bound to old ways of thinking and acting that have no place in a modern democratic society,” he said.

The Selangor government, in particular Khalid, has come under fire from various groups and media over Low’s appointment.

Filling the gap

In a statement yesterday, Khalid defended Low’s appointment, adding that she was the most suitable candidate to fill the post for the time being.

Khalid said Low’s appointment should not be an issue because it was only temporary as she was needed to stand in to replace the void left by the current PKNS general manager Harun Salim would be retiring at the end of the month.

Low, who is due to retire this year, was given an extention to undertake the new post.

Khalid had explained that if both Low and Harun retired at about the same time, it could affect to smooth running of PKNS.

Thus the state had asked Low to defer her retirement by a year until a suitable bumiputera successor was found, he had said.

Low was also quoted in the media as saying that a bumiputera candidate should be appointed to continue steering the government agency.

1. #1 by carboncopy on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 3:33 pm

Uncle Kit,

Is there a mole within PKR MP? In an interview he gave to Sin Chew is clearly to cast communal politics light on to Pakatan Rakyat. He said race of the DPM must be malay, and there was already an internal agreement within Pakatan Rakyat.

I wonder who is this PKR MP, my guess is the Kulim Zuklifli guy. Time to sack him!

Is it possible that this guy has been bought over to cause damage to Pakatan from within Pakatan?

+++++

PKR MPs Told Not To Leave Country
    2008-10-28 15:37

PETALING JAYA: A PKR member of parliament told Sin Chew Daily that Pakatan Rakyat MPs had been instructed not to leave the country within the next two weeks. However, DAP and PAS MPs said they had not received such a notice.

The PKR MP said he had received the instruction from party leadership that the party would table a provisional no-confidence motion in the Parliament against prime minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi over the next two weeks under a peaceful and constitutional framework, and that all Pakatan MPs had to stay within the country pending further instructions.

“We have received very huge support in the country. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, the existing government will be replaced soon.”

He also pointed out that before the BN backbenchers were off on a study tour to Taiwan in September, already 31 MPs from BN had signed the statutory declaration to agree to hop over to Pakatan.

According to PKR information, Pakatan Rakyat has reached an internal accord of reserving the PM and DPM posts for Malays once it took over the federal government, as the current political environment is not favourable for a Chinese or Indian to become the deputy prime minister.

“You will be very shocked, as PAS president Datuk Seri Hadi Awang will be the deputy prime minister.”

“However, two important Cabinet portfolios, namely the home ministry and the international trade and industries ministry, will be reserved for the Chinese, and DAP’s Lim Kit Siang is a perfect candidate.”

PKR vice president cum MP for Gopeng Dr Lee Boon Chye refused to confirm whether the MPs were instructed not to leave the country over the next two weeks, confirming instead that Anwar had told them to be on standby for further instruction.

He felt that the period of time from now to the UMNO elections next March could be a crucial period for change of federal government.

DAP Negeri Sembilan state liaison committee chairman cum MP for Rasah Loke Siew Fook, and PAS Youth chief cum MP for Kubang Kerian Salahuddin Ayub, said unanimously that they had not received any notice not to leave the country over the next two weeks.

Loke even said judging from the current developments, the likelihood for a government change is very low at this moment. (Translated by DOMINIC LOH/Sin Chew Daily)

2. #2 by PureMalaysian on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 3:35 pm

There are even banners hung up today by the roadside along Kota Dsara area, and reads “PKR berkuasa, PKNS tergadai”.

3. #3 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 3:37 pm

It is really a shame on Pas and the PKNS staff for opposing Low’s appointment merely based on her ethnic origin.True, Tunku Aziz is right when he said the people have become so accustomed to look at things along racial and religious lines ignoring capablity and suitablity.Why not these idiots look at Obama who might become the next President of a predominantly white country and also the most powerful nation on earth?

4. #4 by vp on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 3:51 pm

I just wonder why appointment of a chinese senior staff as GM of medium size government body among thousands of government bodies in Malaysia is not acceptable by these people?

PKNS is belongs to the Selangor Rakyat, not by certain race. The main point should be select a capable person who can lead PKNS towards greater success, not a stupid person from any race.

Government always complaint chinese are not interested to become government staff. But, a promotion of a chinese as GM bring so many protest. With this kind of case, how can malaysia chinese will interested in a company where promotion is base on race???

Malaysia today sucess is due to all races join hand together to work on it. Without Malay or any other race, or with 1 race olone, malaysia will not be prosperous as today. These people should think of how to do their job better not complain or protest such a small issue.

5. #5 by just a moment on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 3:57 pm

Mine o mine, here they go again.
    Special Malay rights?
    Social Contract? Racial Contract?
    They are all there to see.
    Anyway, that’s beside the point.

So, to appoint on ‘temporary’ basis.
    Tak boleh pulak.

All staff rejected. For a while I thought
    its running a circus management. The ring leader
    is not one of them, so not qualify.

In our public service Dept, the staffs are waiting
    to be served first by their own kind before they
    serve public. They choose what kind of leaders
    that want. Really, this is some
    kind of kampong mentality. This is a city, donks.

The objectives of PKNS clearly stated to create a
    united Malaysian Society Not Malay or Islam Circus.
    Isn’t it that so difficult to understand?

If truly the Dept is serious like any professional bodies,
    if the staffs don’t like their appointed leaders, all the staffs
    should bookes a bus and look for a windly park and bring lots
    of kites too.

Im really disappointed with PAS. Sama sama juga. This is only
    a ‘temporary’ thing only lah, Now if Im Low, I also feel shy now.
    Shame, shame.

This one incidence suddenly dawns upon me, I wonder if you ask and look at all Gov’t Departments, Institutions, etc..How many Non Malays can hold top post, I think the answer will be a Big Jelo bearing in mind all their staff gets to pick their leaders. Perhaps, some Dept under “dan lain2”.

Pls lah, how long and how much is needed to invest in these …….. Even brain surgery doesn’t cost as much as what the nation is paying.

6. #6 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 4:07 pm

It is sad isn’t it?

7. #7 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 4:18 pm

PAS and the PKNS staff are so blinded by their racist instincts that they completely fail to see the MB’s primary objective in appointing Ms Low as the GM.

The MB’s prime concern clearly is to ensure the smooth operation of PKNS with the departure of the present GM. He needed someone who not only has indepth knowledge of the organization but ALSO capable. That none of the remaining bunch of bumi senior staff are deemed suitable should be an eye opener to those who criticize the MB’s decision. And it speaks volumes of the poor management of the top when no succession planning is put in place.

Ms Low herself clearly does not relish sitting in that chair as indicated by her comments that a bumi should be appointed soon. She knows full well that this bumi dominated organization is bound to make life difficult for her out of spite and narrow mindedness.

I wonder if the demand for a “bumi” is interpreted as “malay” . Because if it is bumi (malay) that they insist on, why did they not complain about Idris Jala at MAS? He is bumi but not Malay. Or is it simply because Ms Low is Chinese?

Or maybe it is simply they have too many skeletons in the closet that they are afraid a non Malay GM supported by the PR Govt. will not hesitate to expose?

8. #8 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 4:26 pm

What do you expect after so many years of a policy that had advocated such a waste of talents? The CEOs of GLCs are not expected to shoulder expectations much more than the Gomen departments; hence everyone craves for the top posts.
    Just hold them accountable and see how many will crave for such posts.
    Wold it change? most unlikely! Because there is no more accountability anyway and at any level!
    When things go wrong blame just anybody but himself! in case of Sami, even GOD was found accountable except himself. Cheerio! ZIMBABWE, you have partner!!

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 4:33 pm

The memorandum of 6 staff bodies (associations, unions and welfare bodies) of PKNS opposes Selangor MB Khalid Ibrahim’s appointment of Low Siew Moi as acting GM of PKNS based on merits and experience.

The opposition to Low Siew Moi is based on solely either race or religion : there is no ambiguity about this.

According to The Malaysian Insider the memorandum states, “We do not deny the capabilities of Low Siew Moi in the management of finance. …However, leading PKNS would need certain leadership criteria, among them, rapport with all staff and associations and ability to communicate with different levels of personnel…. As PKNS conducts activities that are spiritual in nature, its leader must understand and practice Islamic values. In other words, the one who will become the general manager will be the ‘imam’ for all the staff.”

What kind of rationale is this???

The memorandum directly opposes the letter and spirit of the stated objective of PKNS, which is “PKNS strives to develop Selangor by generating ideas and activities for the benefit of the people and to contribute towards creating a united Malaysian society…”

How could PAS support the memorandum and even offer to help the state government find an alternative more suitable candidate???

PAS is violating the basic pledges it has made to the electorate as well as acting in manner contrary to the principles of its other Pakatan Rakyat partners.

All component parties within Pakatan Rakyat including PAS have common pledges to “uphold the rights and interests of all Malaysians, regardless of religion or race, as enshrined in the Constitution”.

The election manifesto of Party KeAdilan Rakyat in particular for 12th GE stated that “the laws and policies that have created social divisions between Malaysians and barred the way to the mutual understanding that is required for genuine unity will be dismantled and replaced with laws and policies that promote political and economic equality as well as encourage mature, meaningful dialogue as the only way to achieve true harmony. KeADILan’s new mould of non-racialised politics will be an important first step toward a Malaysia that is no longer caught in the polemic of ethnic polarisation and constant division”.

Are you guys in PR (including DSAI) afraid to tell off PAS, that it may say things and act in any manner it wishes ?

10. #10 by Tonberry on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 4:34 pm

How to become glocal if the mindset is still like this?

11. #11 by Yee Siew Wah on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 4:38 pm

I dont need to write more. Here is one blogger comment:-

“”Just look what type of people we have running the state government. Narrow minded, racialistic and arrogant bunch. You name it, they almost have it. Look, we are a multi racial country. And this is a fact. We need the best people who are capable of making the country move and progress forward irrespective.
    I for one, if all the best people running the state government are malays, so be it.
    Come on, have an open mind and not live in a cocoon of racial, “ketuanan” etc…perception.
    And now PAS has shown their true colors. They are as bad if not worse than the racialistic Umnoputras. They talked and acted otherwise. Rakyat have to think twice before supporting them comes next election.
    I can guarantee, there will be more huha from UMNO members in the coming days.
    Its amazing, in Bolehland, some people never learn.””

12. #12 by hosengloong08 on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 4:42 pm

All this while we non bumi only menumpang.

what u expect the bumi can accept the us to guide them meh?

please go to wikipedia and type cheng ho.

there u can see malaysia and indonesia muslim actuali started by CHENG HO. not bumi!

13. #13 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 5:32 pm

I don’t blame Malaysian Chinese for abandoning their own country and emigrating to another where their talents and knowledge are recognized and welcomed.

What is the use of staying in your own country when you are not welcome despite having the expertise and knowledge?

14. #14 by wanderer on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 5:35 pm

PKR, you are elected into govt is to led, not to be lead! Since when, an appointment of a Senior executive of of a establishment is determined by bias and racist staff. Does their employment contract allow them to choose their superior? If not, let them have the option to leave or remain royal who ever is the govt of the day.
    It is time for PK to dismantle this racist structure, cater employment based on merits and show the way of equal opportunity to all!

15. #15 by Xiao He on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 5:58 pm

Well said, Tunku Aziz.. The race-based politics and mindset should end..

16. #16 by cancan on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 6:22 pm

Dear all true Malaysians, kindly answer the following question:

If God can say something about this country, what do you think will it be?

http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/

17. #17 by Loh on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 6:47 pm

The protest is obviously against article 153 of the constitution which allows non-Malays to serve in any position.

18. #18 by Godfather on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 6:48 pm

“Forgive them, for they know not what they do.”

19. #19 by Jimm on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 7:10 pm

bad a can things can be in this country …. we have them

20. #20 by rubini on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 7:11 pm

Old habits die hard. 50 years of divisive politics has led to this situation. Tan Sri Khaled was CEO, i am sure he knows what’s he is doing.

21. #21 by Mr Smith on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 7:51 pm

Where is this all going to end? If you want only Malays to head all corporations, agencies, universities and departments, then exempt the non-Malays from paying taxes or reduce their taxes since they are second class.
    Are these racist telling us straight in the face that we are not eligible to occupy such posts?
    Woe betide this nation if skin colour rules.

22. #22 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 8:15 pm

‘It doesn’t matter if it’s black or white
    It’s a good cat if it can catch rats’
    So why do some still have the wrong petitions to write
    When there’s the best cat around to get rid of rats?

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 291008
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Wed. 29th Oct. 2008.

23. #23 by Damocles on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 8:32 pm

If I’m not mistaken, they have a mamak leading them for twenty-two years!
    Digest that!

24. #24 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 8:44 pm

How to show true colours
    When colour decides favour
    Leaving behind bad flavour
    Even when available as saviour

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 291008
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Wed. 29th Oct. 2008.

25. #25 by cazz on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 8:55 pm

Lets say, one day, a daughter of a PKNS’s member has fallen ill, so ill that she might not make it over the night unless she receive medical attention. And there is a Chinese doctor and a bumi vet. I amd sure the PKNS member will send the daughter to the vet instead of the Chinese doctor.

Why? She is not bumi.

That is ketuanan Melayu culture nurtured under the ruling of UMNO.

26. #26 by Anti_NEP on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 9:26 pm

PKNS under previous Be eNd rule had given out thousands of acres of land to private developers and in return getting peanuts. Is this the way to help uplift the economy status of Melayu Bumiputra???? Just check how Talam Group and LBS got hold of thousands of acres of land at Tg. Dua Belas and Dengkir. Those people who make the complaint now should know better how th previous Be eNd government had cheated the Selangor folks.

27. #27 by aje on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 9:31 pm

From the many episodes recently one can tell who is more racist and less tolerant.I see a gloomy picture in Malaysia unless more of my Malay brothers and sisters speak up.

28. #28 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 9:56 pm

It has been racist all along…or rather some people out there making it a point to perpetuate the racial orientation and biasness of agencies in order that their selfish interest, against the true agenda and proper purposes of organisations, are being taken care of. In other words, government agencies and bodies had long been abused and misused by interest groups for their own ends and convenience; and the state’s coffers had been plundered endlessly. At least that is the general perception.

A firm stand must be taken to stop the impropriety and misconduct of agencies and bodies which SHOULD serve ALL the people regardless of ethnicity and religious backgrounds. Isn’t an agency such as PKNS which is a state government body suppose to look after the interest of all irrespective of colour or creed?

Those people who oppose the management should face the sack for going against the orders of the organisation itself? Who do they think they are to oppose an appointment made by the organisation? They have long thought that the organisation is their own property and can do as they like. Those kind of mentality should be not be allowed anymore. Or maybe they are part of the machinery which is there to perpetuate the status quo? Hence, their opposition to accountability or integrity?

No more whitewashing should be allowed in any government agencies which should serve all with equality and fairness without prejudice or discrimination. It is time to call a spade a spade, without fear or favour.

The government should be impartial in all its policies and actions. However, those who had been sidelined, underprivileged or unfortunate should be given a helping hand whenever and wherever possible. “Keprihatinan” , “keperimanusiaan”, “mesra rakyat”, “merakyatkan ekonomi”, etc., etc. should be applied generously to truly reflect the government’s humanism and caring attitude.

Perhaps, it is time to change, to change for the better and for good.

29. #29 by CSKUEH on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 10:00 pm

Matthew 5:45 says “so that you may become the sons of your Father in heaven. For he makes his sun to shine on bad and good people alike and gives rain to those who do good and to those who do evil.”
    This verse of Scripture teaches us that God loves everyone in the world, he only hates our sins.

“We know that God loves us all
    So don’t go astray always heeding the call
    To be godly and loving one another
    Irrespective of race,creed or colour

So let us reject race-based policies
    Candidates to be assessed based on competencies
    Let us all strive for national unity
    To build up people of good quality”

30. #30 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 10:02 pm

“The Selangor government, in particular Khalid, has come under fire from various groups and media over Low’s appointment.”

If general elections were to be held today, PR would lose the state of Selangor.

31. #31 by All For The Road on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 10:20 pm

After 51 years of independence, we are still dictated and governed by racial bias and skin colour to the detriment for the realization of a Bangsa Malaysia. The latest uproar and fiasco in the appointment of Low Siew Moi as acting general manager of Selangor PKNS for a temporary period drew a lot of flak and outcry from UMNO, Pas and PKNS staff. It is only a case of the most qualified, most experienced and most capable to head the state-owned corporation and yet this has caused a lot of unnecessary disappointment.
    Our country should have more Malay leaders to the likes of Selangor MB Khalid Ibrahim and DAP vice-chairperson Tunku Abdul Aziz who are colour-blind and forward-looking. We take our hats off for their stand and just reasoning!

32. #32 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 10:25 pm

Not really, undergraduate, not necessarily.

For every unreasonable person living in Selangor, there are many more who are sensible and who could differentiate between what is right from what is not.

Many people are not as racist as they are made out to be by the media or provocateurs and bigots.

I believe so, based on the many ordinary folks I have come to know in everyday life…

Believe me undergraduate.

33. #33 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 10:36 pm

HATS OFF TO THE LIKES OF TAN SRI AND TUNKU.

YOU GUYS HAVE MADE MANY MALAYSIANS TO BELIEVE THAT ALL IS NOT LOST IN OUR COUNTRY.

YOU GUYS HAVE PUT SENSE TO WHERE IT MATTERS MOST.

INDEED, ACTION SPEAKS LOUDER THAN WORDS.

YOU GUYS HAVE TREADED THE PATH SO FEW HAVE DARED TO TAKE.

WE ARE TRULY PROUD OF YOU GUYS AND YOUR ACTIONS AND SENSIBILITY SHOULD BE EMULATED BY ALL.

34. #34 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 10:55 pm

We must rid ourselves of nonsensical, foolish and unhealthy cultures which could twist realities into myths which we want to believe in, even though we know they are untrue and biased.

Let’s be honest with ourselves. Let’s develop wisdom which serves all of us.

What good it is if for the wrong reasons, those people who truly need assistance are not aided, while those with selfish interest got it all? If a policy change can correct that, are we prepared to accept it?

35. #35 by Godfather on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 11:04 pm

What can we expect of a bunch of people at PKNS who have been fed by UMNO for so long that all they care about is to destabilise the present PR government. These people will do anything and say anything just to spite Khalid.

A fringe group at PAS has also been conned by these people into taking a racist stand. This group should join UMNO, rather than hide under the skirts of PAS. Tok Guru would never have taken this stand.

What’s the solution ? You can’t get rid of these morons overnight. You can only ensure that these people never get into positions of authority, and then you can slowly phase them out – be it from PKNS or from PAS.

36. #36 by veddy.lum74 on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 11:12 pm

never ending story…….the last episode was related to the opening of extra opportunities for non-bumi to enter MARA,just 10%,the racists all woke-up and protest!!!!!
    damn it!now,simultaneously,the racists also protest the chinese-written road signs!!!!
    cant they just be a little bit civilize?
    i m very sad,to them,everything is about race and religion,no compromise!
    i really speechless!

37. #37 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 11:21 pm

Companies have rules and regulations.

Toe the line or get the boot.

38. #38 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 11:22 pm

The associations of PKNS must be talking C>>>K! Just look at all the PIRATIZED projects; mostly, if not all ALIBABA set-ups. IT is alright so long that the gravy train spills over. If they do need an IMAM, there are plenty around to fulfill their spiritual needs. These so-called union leaders are really bankrupt of inventing even an acceptable reason to backup their slanted thinking!
    Just look at the houses built by them over the years. could they be proud of their administrative job? If they can only take care of the jobs they are employed to do and let the State decided on management issue.
    This reminded me of those days when a certain report from the Gomen suggested that their employees should be given due recognition of their years of services. One union leader was very vocal of that proposal. He was working as a senior clerk in an account department. So I asked him, if based on the proposal, would it be possible for him to become the chief accountant? He said why not? But who would approve the final account as he had no knowledge of closing the book?. Well, I would employ a qualified accountant to do that job!!!
    With that kind of blind ambition as being expounded then, now and at every nook and corner, you have Malaysia Boleh!!

39. #39 by Godfather on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 11:36 pm

Whether it is PKNS or Bandaraya, they are all the same – buayas differentiated only by the size of their bellies. What Khalid should do is perhaps force the retirement of half a dozen top brass at PKNS, and let them join forces with Khir Toyo. It’s better that they shout from outside PKNS than destabilise PKNS from within.

40. #40 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 11:48 pm

Like Anwar said…UMNO is afraid of getting smart people for the right post.
    Now look what happen.
    It has gone so deeply to so many government departments…..that it must always be a Muslim…to be head of a Dept.
    They even dare to go against Selangor MB…because he is from keDAILan.
    Sickening politics..rooted in.
    How to progress with such mentalities?

41. #41 by shamshul anuar on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 12:06 am

Dear Cazz,

Now dear. No need to be rude by insulting Malays by saying something alien like vet or doctor. Doctors and other professional irregardless of races deserve the highest of respect.

Actually, if you care to observe( if only) you will notice how racial remarks are alive and kicking more so in Chinese community.

I mean no disrespect to Chinese community. But it is all known how non Chinese are ussually sidelined in Chinese controlled institutions, factory, banks.

I am not playing into racial card. That you have to leave to Uncle Lim whose hallmark is inciting racial hatred.

Not believing me? Open newspapers and you will see “Mandarin is preferred. And why dobt you aslk any Malay or Indian. I bet 9999 out of 10000 will say how they agree on discrimination simply because they are not Chinese.

Shocking? Go and ask.

42. #42 by aje on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 1:08 am

Please reserved all the top positions in any companies or organizations for Malays so that our nation will be peaceful !Good luck.

43. #43 by draken001 on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 1:50 am

Form a query panel and call in the PKNS staff, one by one, for an interview and ask them nicely why are they objecting to the new appointment. Hear it from their own mouths. Advise them nicely that disciplinary action for insurbordination can be taken if they stick to the racial card unrepentently. Get an expert to explain to them that their kind of mindset is outmoded if they truly want to move ahead. Just my two cents.

44. #44 by Daniel Quah on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 1:53 am

those goon are making humiliation to their own race…

45. #45 by parameswara on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 1:57 am

affirmative action means earning one’s share through sheer ability,
    every nickel, penny, and daim.

what sort of affirmative action is hiding behind a policy?

46. #46 by trublumsian on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 2:44 am

america is close to electing a minority as president. malaysia needs to wake up or never will get the chance to.

47. #47 by kerajaan.rakyat on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 2:44 am

Dear YB Lim,

Ini semua orang protests memang bodoh punya orang.
    Apa kira Melayu ke, Cina ke, India ke, Banggali ke.
    Janji dia orang PANDAI kerja, ok lah.

Ini UMNO punya Melayu memang tidak otak punya orang.
    UMNO punya Melayu serupa lembu kena cucuk hidung.
    Rakyat kasi dia kerja, dia pergi curi rakyat punya wang. tuiii.

http://anwaribrahim-admin.blogspot.com/

:

48. #48 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 6:03 am

“I believe so, based on the many ordinary folks I have come to know in everyday life.. ” One4All4One

I don’t share your optimism. Depends who you are talking to but most likely they will say one thing to you that is politically correct and do something else privately – like putting their support behind the other party!

49. #49 by Kathy on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 6:56 am

Shamsul Anuar, even if the position requires “Mandarin” as a pre-requisite, it is only language. It is not racial. I got friends – Malay and Indian that speaks Mandarin and some of them even know how to read and write Chinese – better than me. So, don’t use that as an excuse that Chinse organizations are side-lining Malays with the use of “Mandarin Preferred” line.

50. #50 by Godfather on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 7:10 am

Samshul Anuar said:

“…I bet 9999 out of 10000 will say how they agree on discrimination simply because they are not Chinese.”

Are you sure you got your sums right ? Are you sure you understand statistics ? Your boss failed the numbers paper many years ago. RM 1.1 billion became RM 1.7 billion ?

51. #51 by Godfather on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 7:13 am

I see the hand of UMNO in this fiasco. For 30 years, the GLCs and the state-owned corporations were all primed to support UMNO, and now the top brass in PKNS are trying to destabilise PR.

Samshul Anuar ought to learn something from the late Deng Xiao-ping.

52. #52 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 8:15 am

Godfather sees “the hand of UMNO in this fiasco” & “top brass in PKNS are trying to destabilise PR”. What is clear to me and sad about is that it is PAS people that are destabilizing PR more by their stand in support against Low’s appointment.

PKNS people have government’s mentality, that is only expected but PAS???

I am not to sure they are, as Godfather sees them, “a fringe group at PAS” in his posting Yesterday at 23: 04.14, “fringe” as in reference to some extremely minority group at the edges or border of that political party.

More likely their attitudes represent greater numbers within PAS than just “fringe” or else why is it that the party’s top leadership doesn’t come forth to outright to rebuke or repudiate the stance of Selangor PAS commissioner Datuk Dr Hasan Mohamad Ali, who by the way, is also a state executive councillor???

However it not just Hasan Mohamad Ali or a small group of like minded PAS officials.

Responding to a call made by MCA vice-president Liow Tiong Lai that the condition for 30 percent bumiputera equity in public-listed companies should be abolished in order for them to remain competitive, PAS Youth wing warned MCA not to gain political mileage by calling for the abolition of the 30 percent bumiputera equity in public-listed companies. PAS Youth chief Salahuddin Ayub said that the 30-percent equity must be retained and defended “even if the target has been reached” – see Malaysiakini’s report “PAS Youth warns MCA not to harp on NEP” – Oct 29th. This position is based on race – not even religion. It is position aligned to TDM’s. No bigwigs in PAS contradicts Salahuddin Ayub. He seems to be even more UMNO prone in this respect than UMNO’s Deputy President Najib who at least talks (albeit vaguely) of NEP aspects being “liberalized” (short of abolished)….

So don’t be surprised that PAS would at 11th hour throw a spanner into the works of Anwar Ibrahim’s professed plan of taking control of the parliament by leaving PR to join UMNO’s BN to revert it the 2/3 rd parliamentary majority.

So far even the top PAS leaders have been ambivalent. Whilst on one hand saying that PAS is wary of Umno and its ulterior motives, it continues on the other hand to participate in ‘Malay unity’ talks and has not unequivocally gone out of its way publicly declare and assure PR’s other component parties that joining forces with Umno is something that’s out of the question. As long as PAS-Umno talks continue, there is a motive more consistent with collaboration than opposing UMNO.

We can’t indulge in wishful thinking that the signs are not obvious that this is brewing.

53. #53 by PHUAKL on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 8:16 am

Hire the best candidate for the job!

No matter if he or she is a Malay or Chinese or Indian or
    Kadazandusun or Iban or Melanau or Bidayuh or Orang Asli etc.

Hire someone who is highly competent, has a proven track record,
    is energetic, incorruptible and politically astute.

Phua Kai Lit

54. #54 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 8:38 am

YB,

It is obvious that inpite of electoral gains on March 8th, it is more out of the electorate’s disaffection of the policies and administration of UMNO led BN than any great confidence in Pakatan Rakyat (PR)’s set up.

PR’s collaboration with PAS’s inclusion is a misalliance : a marriage of convenience that is on balance of probabilities destined not to work……

Being opposed to continuance of BN’s rule should not blind BN’s detractors to this inevitable reality to vest in PR more promise than what it actually could hold out based on such an Axis of Misalliance!

For the country to move forward, the Axis of Collaboration has to be drawn along lines that those who want Malaysia to move forward as a modern and ciompetent nation away from the old feudal system of patronage should be on one side, and those who want to preserve status quo as much as possible on the other.

This means that for PKR & DAP to have a political future to lead the country out of h er present plight, they have to ally with the more progressive sections of UMNO and other BN component parties leaving out PAS to be either on its own or to join the more reactionary conservative groups within UMNO and other BN component parties sympathetic to the vision of TDM as his ilk.

Now I would be tyhe first to concede that this is easier said than done but this re-strategising has vto be on the draweing b oards of the political strategists on both the parties.

Right now one can see clearly that moves and signals from certain sections of PAS (which may represent a significant portion) supporting “Ketuanan” in PKNS issue and support of NEP go beyond its traditional theocratic premises – they are signals sent out by t hese people to UMNO that PAS and UMNO have common ground on these issues which open the way for collaboration…..

We are indulging in denial syndrome – more an emotional than objective stance – to say that this is not the case.

55. #55 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 8:41 am

Oops – “competent nation” ….” and “…vision of TDM AND his ilk…”

56. #56 by All For The Road on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 8:56 am

The opposition to the appointment of the acting general manager of Selangor PKNS smacks of a hidden political agenda manipulated by certain interested quarters. It is to disgrace and discredit the present Selangor PR state government, a strategy which is to bring it down in the next GE. The small number of disgruntled PKNS staff has no business or legal rights to question and oppose such an appointment.
    Their duty is to serve the corporation and if it is otherwise, then the only honourable solution is to resign from their jobs.

57. #57 by taiking on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 9:09 am

I blame this on mahathir. It is his doing. I also blame badawi. It is his failure to undo mahathir’s doing. Pakatan state government has a lot of work to do. I see the protest as a challenge for Pakatan and an opportunity to weed out the remains of mahathirism. Pakatan must undo mahathir’s thanks-but-no-thanks legacy systematically, decisively and above all, lawfully.

58. #58 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 10:40 am

When a company sets mandarin proficiency as one of its prerequisites for employment,it just means that the potential recruit is required by the company to serve its need to make profit.More so when the company might extend its business links to China which has undeniably become a super world economic power.
    For heaven sake,Shamsul Anuar I hope you can change your mindset.You are just one of the many narrow minded Malays who have caused the country to remain backward and the greatest of them all is the big mouth old mamak.Talking about knowledge of mandarin which has become an important world language besides English.It is not racialistic as you claimed when a certain firm insists on the requirement of Mandarin proficiency for its staff.After all what is so difficult to learn the language given the multi racial composition of our population and the existence of ample opportunities to study the language in the country.The reason why most Malays hate Mandarin is because of their arrogance and they are haunted by the ‘ketuanan melayu’ mentality.Mind you the number of people learning Mandarin outside China is increasing especially after the emergence of China.Another feeling irks me most is non Malays can master three languages but why the pitiful Malay like Shamsul Anuar just cannot do it.Moreover many of them are struggling with simple ABC,let alone knowing Mandarin.Are they lack of something?

59. #59 by Toyol on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 11:16 am

Goes to show that M’sia will never be developed. Too many racists is preventing our country to be better than it is now. What’s the use with modern infrastructure when the majority of the people is still living with stone age brains! NO hope left for us.

60. #60 by cintanegara on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 11:25 am

They have all the right to protest. Look at the tiny country which used to be DAP’s mentor. They are doing the same though they claim that the citizen of the country has an equal right as the Government is practicing fair meritrocracy.

Browse their Government website and don’t be surprise that only 1 minister from a particular race (Used to be majority before and during the country was formed) holds a full minister portfolio. Needless to say that the ministry he is responsible for is less important and restricted only to his own comunity. Suprisingly, he is a PHD holder and associate professor. I wonder why he was not appointed as DPM of that country.

Furthermore, look at their military, top agency etc and I guess you all know who’s in charge…

61. #61 by khairi ali on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 11:32 am

Well, for that matter, which country is not racist? China, India, Indonesia, Philippines?… and so on!

62. #62 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 12:17 pm

The duty and responsibility of the staff of any organization, PKNS included, are to ensure the proper functioning of the operation to achieve the targets and profitability, wherefrom their renumerations are derived. They have no business to indulge in politics and expecially to fan up racial sentiment to add to the already distressed harmony in the society in this country.

If the staff want to play politics, then they should resign from the organization, and join a political party.

Otherwise, they would be there and bring the operation of the organization to its knee by sabotaging in every way they can.

63. #63 by JDoe on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 12:27 pm

very sad indeed…

let’s work hard, save money, send our children to overseas for education and hopefully they can emigrate to a better living.

leave this country to the indons, viets, bangla, pinoys, etc.

64. #64 by PureMalaysian on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 12:31 pm

@cintanegara: ur very wrong to say that – how long have u been in that “tiny country”? i have so many “minority ethnic” frens in that tiny country, and they have so different attitude towards the nation. They will fight hard, and dont even think of getting tongkat; and having said that – even the “majority ethnic group” there are NOT given tongkat as well – everything is based on merit. If u r good, u r hired. Period. No hanky panky. Thats why the tiny country, despite small and bare, can be a well-developed nation.

just open up ur heart and ponder this carefully – dont be narrow minded like those PKNS low-beings who thinks they own that organization.

65. #65 by cintanegara on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 1:02 pm

Puremalaysian – If everything is based on merit…why not many “minority ethnic” hold senior post in the government? Are they not capable despite the fact they have high qualification? Why not giving them at least 3 of the top ministries? Malaysian Governemnt is very much better for giving the “minority ethnic” to hold senior post in the cabinet…

66. #66 by Emily Pratt on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 1:05 pm

PKNS top job should be given to a Bumi linked company which will then sub-contracted/Ali-Baba’ed it to a Non-Bumi agent who will then appoint Low Siew Moi as the person in-charge.

Then PKNS will say that the job is still bumi control because the job was contracted to a Bumi linked company.

Problem solved… everyone happy, bumi or non bumi. It is something we have been doing for half a century what… so what is the problem?

67. #67 by isahbiazhar on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 2:53 pm

All good non Malay candidates have been driven out of this country and had benefitted other nations.Malaysia is for the Malays have been the motto.It has to change otherwise when natural wealth dries off we have nothing to sustain.Malays must learn that good brain means barrels of oil.All brains are needed.The appointment depicts the character of the menteri besar.He chose the best and it was also a Malaysian.If Chinese and Indian doctors leave the country can the Malays run the health industry?Nobody thinks like that.They think of the country.We should accept the chief Kathi who can be a Chinese and the head of DBP an Indian.We need a change and change must come.It will come.

68. #68 by Godfather on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 4:13 pm

“We can’t indulge in wishful thinking that the signs are not obvious that this is brewing.” Jeffrey

I don’t think anyone here is suggesting that the racial problem is NOT brewing. As we head towards every UMNO election, the racial politics will surface, and this in turn causes the PAS “fringe” to also play up the racial politics further – as a symbol that PAS takes better care of the Malays than UMNO. If we look around us, the chief culprits on stoking up racial sentiments are not PAS, but UMNO. Look at Mahathir’s comments, look at Muhyiddin’s comments – everyone in UMNO wants to play to the Malay gallery.

Of course we must challenge this, but it is not helping when Low Tiong Lai gets bashed by the ultras (for his suggestion to abolish the 30 pct bumiputra shareholding in publicly-listed companies) and the rest of the BN component parties remain mute for fear of upsetting the “taikor”.

69. #69 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 4:29 pm

Instead of bashing MCA all the time, where one of them Low Tiong Lai says right and is “bashed by the ultras” then Pakatan Rakyat component parties ought to come out in his defence of what is right.

Instead of doing that the PR’s component party – PAS Youth chief Salahuddin Ayub – pours kerosene on fire and bash Low Tiong Lai instead. Why is PAS leadership not rebuking or repudiating PAS Youth chief Salahuddin Ayub’s stance?

The thrust of my contention is that they all with PAS Youth chief casting doubt that PAS Youth chief represents only PAS “fringe” section.

70. #70 by Godfather on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 4:36 pm

Have you ever seen PAS leadership bashing their youth wing in public ? This isn’t the first time that Salahuddin has gone on a tangent to PR policies. It certainly won’t be the last.

No, PR will handle these “problems” its own way. Now is not the time to tune up the racial rhetoric.

71. #71 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 4:54 pm

Shamsul, Chinese are generally more practical in their approach in life. accepting the fgact that 26% of the population is Chinese, you can hardly find 10% of Gomen workers of Chinese origin. And you would like to point out that this is only true of the division 1 or 2 of the workers. hence against the Gomen workers of some 1 million, I reckon by now, you would have may 50,000 workers of chinese origin.
    in the first place, they know by now, they can never reach the top; so they get some experience and maybe some connection and then they quit to join the private sector roght from the bottom but knowing their skills they would then work their way up.
    As for those smart alexes, they know they can’t compete in book learning, they started off either as hawkers or a trade which will ensure them of self employment as they gain more experience and again connections or networking!
    This is a characteristic which those Chinamen are able to prevail on their own; and among those few Malays and Indians who have walked the same path, they have become as comfortable in life.
    Even among Indians with whom I have worked with, many would prefer the ‘tani’ first, rather than taking care of their children’s education. This is among the ‘brawny’ class. If you happen to be poor than you cannot afford to live like a duke. If you do so then your family would have to suffer! Period.
    The so-called more sucessful approach towards life seems more prevalent among the Chinese, more so with the Chinese educated Chinese. So to seek a position in a set-up created by such perseverance wont be so easy even from an ‘out-side’ Chinese! Well if the Gomen/ UMNO has the foresight to help out through bank loans or some kind of support when these Chinamen were struggling, maybe they would see things differently.
    No one would like to share his gain when his sweating was never appreciated! Of course BNM and related agencies have been trying very hard to find out as to why the majority of sucessful SMEs is controlled by the same commmunity. The answer is simple, when you have to mortage not only your house but even your grandmother to get things going, when you first get started; you have no other target except HARD WORK and SAVING of EVERY CENTof your income to ensure SUCCESS to your undertaking!!
    Shamsul, maybe you could give a thought to this fact!

72. #72 by Godfather on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 4:54 pm

Kit, Anwar and Tok Guru will handle it – not some hotheaded nut like Karpal who simply allows his mouth to get ahead of his brain.

73. #73 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 7:18 pm

Karpal calls a spade and spade; the rest pretend the elephant is not in the room. PAS leadership, in not bashing their youth wing when it drives a wedge between PR’s partners, shows its ambivalence and sympathy to Youth Wing’s stance. To keep explaining these inconsistencies of PAS position is an example of wishful thinking that it is not the case.

The situation has become ridiculous that it takes the legal bureau of MCA to rapp and blast publicly the acts of Selangor PAS commissioner Hassan Ali for opposing the appointment of Low as the acting general manager of PKNS whilst PKR & DAP’s top guns have generally kept quiet (except for Tunku Aziz’s comments directed obliquely at PAS).

74. #74 by ChinNA on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 8:17 pm

In reply to what jus legitimum’s comments about the need of Mandarin is driven by China.

Well China per capita GDP is lower than Malaysia per capita GDP. There I believe shamsul’s comments might have derived the merits of his arguments from there.

Think about it. Shamsul might be right.

75. #75 by ChinNA on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 8:22 pm

Now we do we really need a Chinese to be at the helm of PKNS? I don’t think so.

Both managers are retiring almost at the same time. Would it be easier to let Low retire in piss and let the present GM delay his retirement plan by 3-5 years, until a suitable Malay or bumi candidate is found.

This all the party will gain. In time, everyone will have piss, no more unnecessary trouble.

76. #76 by parameswara on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 8:54 pm

colin powell said,

an american is an american.

77. #77 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 10:41 pm

In response to ChinNa’s comment,the issue raised by Shamsul about the mandarin requirement has nothing to do with China per se.Even in Malaysia,the chinese business community still conduct their business activities in Mandarin.They include accounting and even issuing bank cheques for making payment.Definitely,knowledge of the language is an advantage to an employee of a firm still depends on the language.The per capita income of China may be lower than that of Malaysia.But its population is 50 times bigger and its economic prowess is really intimidating.When US and Europe are battling with recession,many countries around the world are looking forward to China for panacea to solve their economic woes.Be open minded and accept change.This is a globalised era and continuing to live under the ‘tempurung’ will spell death for that ‘community’ and also the country.About your second point concerning the appointment of Madame Low by YAB Tan Sri Khalid,it is another example of myopic and narrow minded minds.Come on,just to sit temporarily on top of PKNS by a capable and the most experienced staff already caused such a big hooha,what about the countless number of top government posts including the CEOs of GLCs,VC of universities,heads of armed forces.I ask you who are the people occupying the posts and is their selection based on merits and capablities? or based merely on race and political affiliation.We need to ponder a bit,51 years ago the representatives of the three races Malay,Chinese and Indian led by TAR fought for independence and please do not forget the struggle and hard work of all the ethnic groups.Stop racism and religious bigotry.Wake up and look at Obama and the American people for guidance.

78. #78 by seantang on Thursday, 30 October 2008 - 11:31 pm

Equating governmental racial discrimination with that of the private sector is rubbish.

Saying that a Chinese cannot be CEO of PKNS because some anecdotal Malay is deterred by private companies advertising for Mandarin preferred applications – is like saying all govt funded scholarships must go to Malays because Chinese prefer to use their own money to send their kids to Mandarin tuition.

Chinese companies can hire whoever the hell they want… simply because they fund their businesses themselves. On the other hand, the govt and govt funded entities like PKNS must not have this option – simply because they are funded by tax money. And if we are to believe the old mad horse (Dr M), 80% of tax is paid by Chinese. How then can PKNS be allowed to bite the hand that feeds and discriminate against the Chinese who pay 80% of their salaries?

And isn’t it perfectly reasonable if companies want their employees to speak the language that 26% of their customers speak? And if they export to Singapore, the language that 75% of their customers speak?

Compare this to Low in PKNS. I’m sure she speaks BM. And I’m sure everyone in PKNS speaks BM too. In fact, I’m sure that quite a few of those who complained about Low only speak Malay.

So isn’t Low more qualified for the PKNS job, that the average Malay job seeker who only speaks BM (and actually can’t write BM for shit), little English and no Mandarin?

79. #79 by veddy.lum74 on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 9:26 am

that’s why,malaysia bolehland is best knowned of racist country n covering-up shits!
    by looking at it’s surface,datuks here,tansri there,like a ‘fortuned n blessed’ nation,but the reality,ethnic hatred are at every corners!

muhidin just mentioned that AP is to continue till 2020!mymy,he is going to break Rafi’s corruption record!siapa-2,cepat-2 kahwin dia punya anak perempuan(kalau masih bujang),mungkin nanti you akan jadi menantu ke dua yang terkaya di malaysia bolehland!

80. #80 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 3:55 pm

Of course people like Shamsul and ChinNa will forever hide under the coconut shell. To them the top post means only the power to create opportunities for self preservation not to improve efficiency and productivity which are the main responsibility of all CEOs.
    After 30 years of just sitting on the top and allowed water to find its own level, life has been easy hence why give the job to others?.
    Based on the report on PKNS, Selangor; all those CEOs should have had been asked to purchase bullets to end their career.
    Here, such accountablility and responsibilty do not mean any thing ; hence the crave to sit up there!! So continuing such arguement would be a waste of time for sure!
    Having a good CEO would mean the cake would be baked in bigger portion for all to share but the very fear of someone with different way of calling his name or his belief seems to crowd their minds into total berserk! And from any angle you may want to look, such mind will NEVER GO far. If the whole commuinty is in the same boat, then we can only pray for salvation from upstairs!!

81. #81 by One4All4One on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 10:37 pm

To Shamshul Anuar and like-minded ones,

No disrespect meant and let’s face issues factually without looking through coloured-glass.

For one the Chinese are more forthright in their views and offering them without favours. Unlike views given by our malay friends (excepting those given by the likes Mr Bakri Musa, Tunku Abul Aziz, Farish Noor, Azly Rahman, etc., etc. who are sincere, honest and enlightened), they are mostly biased and premised on “bumiputra rights”, “ketuanan melayu”, special privileges and position, “umno-centricism”, and hiding behind a host of quotas and specially designed programs “bumi-this, bumi-that” based. The people are simply sick of the unfair and non-transparent, discriminatory, prejudicial, and lop-sided and biased practices ( don’t even qualify as “policies”, so as not to smear the good word : policy )

The ex-de facto law minister Dato’ Zaid Ibrahim is such a pure soul to speak up his mind in a frank and unadulterated manner. The malays should emulate him over and over. However, just see what a person who is true to himself and to others is being treated by his own race.

If I were a malay, I would feel very much ashamed of myself.

Being over protected for so long and in ways unthinkable and yet still asking for more and failing still because of lack of effort and determination does not speak much about the malays. This segment of the malays is simply using the government and political parties for their own agenda and selfish interest to perpetuate their position. This is the segment who would always oppose reform and corrective actions.

Of course there are the honest and successful malays who had made it on their own, and deserve every respect from all of us.They should be given prominence and be emulated by the others.

Why are the malays so very afraid of losing their position in the country? What are they really afraid of? To us chinese, they are only afraid of their own ghosts and shadows. But, as always, there are those who are manipulating the system for their own agenda. These are the ones who are instilling unfounded and unreal fears into the masses, and in the process made themselves out to be heroes to their own people. It is a clear case of misleading the people through trickery, manipulative politics, self-protecting motives and interest, parochialism, and race-based positioning.

It is time to move forward my dear friends. The chinese, despite the many hurdles, obstacles, difficulties, obstructions ( in the form of unfair and discriminatory policies and practices), unfriendly gestures, racial barriers, lop-sided interpretation of the laws, are still able to achieve a good measure of success and progress. Mind you, a lot are achieved through true grit and lip-biting determination, sweat and toil, and taking chances and calculated risks.

What you see is not what you think: that the chinese did it because they are “all rich” and have a gold mine in their backyard.
    The hardship that most of us went through could easily bring tears to you if you could empathize with us. We envy the assistance and resources showered and on your kind, and wondered what we could have achieved if we had access to those resources as well.

We are not being racist when we question the policies and approaches adopted by the government, just crying about the discrepancies and discrimination we feel is unfair and unjust.

We do not question Islam and its adoption as the main religion of the country. You should understand the chinese’s world view which is not biased and discriminatory towards any religions : proven by the fact that the chinese adopt and practise all available religions in the world. We have in the process become much more universal, perhaps so more than just any ethnic groups in the entire world. We are very pragmatic and flexible in our approaches – perhaps an important ingredient in our success and achievement.

Good luck to you Shamshul. We wish the malays great success too and let’s work together sincerely without tagging ourselves as being superior or inferior to one another. Aren’t we all equal before God?

82. #82 by gitf701 on Friday, 31 October 2008 - 11:59 pm

Give Up Give UP. Its only acting GM and these racist pounce on an opportunity to stir discord. God send them to where they deserve. Hats off to Tunku Aziz, Khalid Ibrahim as these are the smartest and most confident people on earth. Mdm Low, I advise you to just give up. Let the racist have their way. Get a private job which pays ten times more. Develop them to be world class and let PeeKNS rot and die. Just give up on these no brainers and move on. Its their loss.

83. #83 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 4 November 2008 - 8:38 am

White cat, black cat. If it does not know how to catch mice, even an ARISTOCAT is simply LOUSY!