Deepavali greetings – 3 Makkal Sakti wishes

Deepavali wishes to Hindu Malaysians and all Malaysians – Makkal Sakti so that good can triumph over evil in our motherland.

For the second consecutive year, Malaysian Hindus as well as Malaysians generally will be celebrating Deepavali in a somber mood.

Malaysian Deepavali this year has again made international news particularly in India over the arrest and release of P Vwaishhnnavi, the six-year-old niece of detained Hindraf leader P Uthayakumar, her mother K Shanti, as well as the Deepavali-eve release on bail of ten persons after two days in police custody, over Vwaishhnnavi’s attempt on Friday to submit a letter to the Prime Minister in Putrajaya appealing for the release of the five Hindraf leaders under the Internal Security Act (ISA).

Malaysian Home Minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar cannot be more wrong when he said in a recent Malaysiakini interview that he has got the support of peace-loving members of the Indian community for the government’s ban on Hindraf.

What had Hindraf done in the past seven months since Hamid became Home Minister after the March general election to justify the government ban of Hindraf, when such action was not deemed appropriate or necessary before the general election?

Hamid’s interview is most unfortunate, misleading and even mischievous as he is suggesting that only those who are not “peace-loving” would oppose the government’s Hindraf ban.

I am peace-loving but I am opposed to the government’s Hindraf ban.

Are there no Barisan Nasional Ministers and leaders who dare to tell Hamid that they are peace-loving but they are opposed to the ban of Hindraf?

No wonder the MIC leaders, in particular its President Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu have become so irrelevant when they dare not even communicate such a simple point to the Home Minister.

What is the use of having a MIC Minister in Cabinet when such wrongful perception by Hamid could not be rectified in Cabinet at the first available opportunity?

Let this Deepavali be purposeful and meaningful in the eternal battle for light to triumph over darkness.

I make three Deepavali wishes:

Firstly, let the first Cabinet meeting after the Deepavali on Friday rectify the misperception of the Home Minister by making clear that members of the Indian community and Malaysian nation who want the government to revoke the ban on Hindraf are both peace-loving and justice-loving!

Secondly, the government ban on Hindraf should be lifted immediately as part of a comprehensive government programme to resolve the long-standing political, economic, educational, social, cultural and religious grievances of the Indian community which have made them into a new underclass marginalizing them from the mainstream of national development.

Thirdly,immediate and unconditional release of the Hindraf Five from ISA detention. They should be tried in open court for any offences under the law but not detained without trial in Kamunting Detention Centre.

1. #1 by All For The Road on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 11:50 am

Let us on this happy and auspicious Deepavali Day hope that truth, righteousness and justice will prevail over injustice, lies, intolerance and evil.
    Wishing all Malaysians of the Hindu faith: ” HAPPY DEEPAVALI” !

2. #2 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 11:51 am

I afraid Syed Hamid is not a relevant person in UMNO, else he should have received enough nominations very easily. We should said he barely made it.

Outside UMNO, in the eyes of the people, he is no longer relevant and should be thrown out. I think he is the biggest obstacle and also jokers of the Malaysian government. ISA is now tied to him. He acted as if he is the spokesman for Abdullah cabinet. where all the ministers are sleeping.

3. #3 by kftang on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 12:09 pm

Why give the HM so much space to voice out his distorted explanations and half-truths? We all know him too well what he is capable or incapable of.
    Let us on this Deepavali Day join forces to fight all injustices for a more peaceful and harmonious nation.

HAPPY DEEPAVALI!

4. #4 by Saint on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 12:09 pm

Good and timely message to “deaf ears”.
    Happy Deepavali to all Hindus.

5. #5 by izrafeil on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 12:27 pm

the boys/girls in blue wanted badly to prove that the 10 congregated under the banner of some banned organisation! how so ever this is cooked, one can see thru all the fallacies and hyprocracies of those directing this, indeed it will go straight to bringing down the shamless money politics party as admitted openly in the msn!! malu lah…

6. #6 by wanderer on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 12:29 pm

A chip of the old block, they strive on lies and distortions. Hamid, has taken advantage of the obedient culture of Malaysians to the authority, freely abuses his power to silence non-violent protesters.
    Let a thousand lights blind this man of his evil doings and brighten the road of Freedom.

Happy Deepavali to all Hindu Malaysians, keep the dream of Justice alive!

7. #7 by CSKUEH on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 12:30 pm

“A righteous gov’t should rule out of love
    True love that shows itself in action
    Hindraf is not extremist but a dove
    Asking only for their rights under the constitution”

HAPPY DEEPAVALI To All Hindu Malaysians.

8. #8 by kanasai on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 12:33 pm

Syed Hamid is the black sheep of the family. Lots of his outdated policies are out of touch. Pak Lah should sack the underperformed doubtlessly.

9. #9 by yhsiew on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 12:40 pm

Syed Hamid should focus on the works that he needs to do e.g. catching hand-bag snatchers, mat rempit, murderers who went into MP’s house to kill, gangsters who extort money from businessmen and people at bus-stops etc. He should not spend most of his time meddling in politics and causing Abdullah’s downfall through arresting opposition politicians under ISA.

Syed Hamid has performed badly in maintaining peace and order in the country – last week my apartment water-meter was tempered with and nearly got hacked off (presumably by illegal immigrants who live around that area).

10. #10 by parameswara on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 12:40 pm

An Emperor knows how to govern when poets are free to make verses, people to act plays, historians to tell the truth, ministers to give advice, the poor to grumble at taxes, students to learn lessons aloud, workmen to praise their skill and seek work, people to speak of anything, and old men to find fault with everything.

– An address by the Duke of Shao to King Li-Wang
    of the Zhou dynasty in 845 BC.

11. #11 by yhsiew on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 12:47 pm

Ooop! “water-meter was tempered with” should read “water-meter was TAMPERED with”.

12. #12 by kayjaman on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 1:58 pm

The Pm should have sacked syed hamid as he is one of the greatest liability to The pm as he is only brave enough to arrest those who are peace loving people of makkal sakthi and RPK , He has chicken outthe police beat at chow kit as he feel it is very dangerous, He is a bully and he can only bully the peace loving ,He is verry afraid of the the so called “chow kit gangsters” he has inverted logic , i urge the PM to sack him , Dear PM make a bold move before you are out of the picture ,

13. #13 by max2811 on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 3:51 pm

Happy Deepavali to all Hindus. On this happy occasion, may all Hindus be blessed with good health and happiness. May all the Hindraf’s ISA detainees be strong and steadfast in facing their adversities.

May the UMNO gov rot in HELL.

14. #14 by chengho on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 3:58 pm

the Police should press charge the parent who is using their kid for street demo.

15. #15 by shamshul anuar on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 4:18 pm

Dear Lim Kit Siang,

“… I am opposed to Govt’s Hindraf…”. Well, YB, you better accept the reality. The faster you naccept reality that Hiundraf is waging war against Malay, Islam or UMNO , the sooner you will understand the rationale behind the ban.

AlArqam, an organisation of completely Mallay race, was banned. Arqam never instigated Malays againsts anybody but because its teaching involved idolatry that Muslims worldwide consider threatening the very foundation of Islam , then Dr Mahathir had to act.

What is so special about Hindraf?.You know yourself that Hindraf leaders lied by telling half truth about demolition of a temple. What was not told was that another surau was only demolished after the business deal; a completely legitimate deal.

What was not highligted is rampant building of illegal temples or shrines under trees, near rivers, pavements just like a shrine on pavement just besides Bukit Mertajam hospital worth Guiness record of how tolerant any govt can be.

Whatever grouses Indians have, they need no Hindraf which wage war againsts Malays to represent them. Part of the problem lies with Indians themselves. No Malaysian or anybody including several DAP( my friends included) can explain the rationale that there are more temples than mosques and surau put together in Selangor itself.

As for Hindraf detainees, the adversity is simply because of blindness and hatred towards the Malays or UMNO.

If Chinese can be so upset with mere word “keturunan pendatang’, surely Malays can be so upset when they are accused oif etnic cleansing.

16. #16 by Jamesy on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 5:33 pm

Deepavali greetings to all Malaysian Hindus and friends.

17. #17 by limkamput on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 5:46 pm

Really, Chengho? We should get an eunuch to press charges.

18. #18 by bclee on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 6:04 pm

happy Deepavali for All.

Free all detained under ISA. Abolish ISA.
    Makkal Sakti.

19. #19 by kerajaan.rakyat on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 7:03 pm

It is a sad Deepavali for members and supporters of the Hindu Rights Action Force. Their organisation has just been outlawed and their leaders are still detained without trial under the Internal Security Act.

http://asian-social-politic.blogspot.com/

::

20. #20 by lakshy on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 8:59 pm

May the lights of this Deepavali dispel all illusions and awaken all Indians and Makkal to the reality of where Malaysia is headed under bn!

21. #21 by shamshul anuar on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 9:32 pm

Dear Kerajaan Rakyat.

Yes. Hindraf was banned. Why? Because It openly says it’s enemy is UMNO, Malay. So, actually it is waging war againsts the Malays.

No if no but. So, not surprisingly, it was banned. Do not expext royal treatment here. Arqam, a purely Malay organisation was also banned as it practised idolatry which Muslim worldwide take it as threatening the very basic foundation of Islam; that none is worth worshipped other than Allah.

So why Hindraf insists on special treatment. As for “Makkal sakti”, there is an equivalent to “kuasa rakyat”. The same power that resulted in Tan Chai Hoe lost in Bandar Tun Razak, Fu Ah Kiow lost in Kuantan or Palanivel in Hulu Selangor.

So, the knife cuts both way.

22. #22 by Anak_Penang on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 9:44 pm

Happy Deepavali and happy holidays ..

sonofpenang.blogspot.com

23. #23 by Jong on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 9:49 pm

To all our Hindu friends Happy Divali and wishing you rays of Hope, Good Health and Prosperity!

In life we tend to take things for granted, and as we join our Hindu friends on this festival of light , I like to share with you this touching piece on the ‘Right Attitude’..

There once was a woman who woke up one morning, looked in the mirror, and noticed she had only three strands of hair left on her head. Well, she said, “I think I’ll braid my hair today.”
    So she did and she had a wonderful day.

The next day she woke up, looked in the mirror and saw that she had only two strands of hair left on her head. …hmmm, she said, “I think I’ll part my hair down the middle today.”
    So she did and she had a grand day.

The next day she woke up, looked in the mirror and noticed that she had only one strand of hair left on her head. Well, she said, “today I’m going to wear my hair in a pony tail.”
    So she did and she had a fun, good fun.

The next day she woke up, looked in the mirror and noticed that there wasn’t a single hair on her head. Hey, she exclaimed.
    “I don’t have to fix my hair today!”

Attitude is everything.

Let’s be kinder than necessary, everyone we meet is fighting some kind of battle.
    Live simply,
    Love generously,
    Care deeply, and speak kindly.

Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s
    about learning to dance in the rain.

24. #24 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 10:37 pm

happy divali to all hindus…

25. #25 by Johnny Cheah on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 11:47 pm

Let’s be real! this guy have really messed up a lot of things and he really is a liability to the PM. When is the PM going to muster enough courage to sack his Home Minister. Due to his actions, we are being laughed at by the international community.

26. #26 by StevePCH on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 11:52 pm

one wish , change of govt. then abolish ISA !!!

27. #27 by parameswara on Tuesday, 28 October 2008 - 12:12 am

Shah Rukh Khan will be receiving his Datukship soon.

============================

the BBC asks: Who is the real Shah Rukh Khan?
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/4274774.stm

“Shah Rukh Khan, born into a Muslim family, is married to a Hindu and his children follow both religions. At home, next to idols of Hindu gods he has the Koran. The most important thing is that “the children should know about the value of God.”

===========================

Well, if he can be a model for religious equanimity in this country, then his Datukship will be worth it.

28. #28 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 28 October 2008 - 8:00 am

“The next day she woke up, looked in the mirror and noticed that there wasn’t a single hair on her head. Hey, she exclaimed.
    “I don’t have to fix my hair today!”

Attitude is everything.” Jong

Tell that to Syed Hamid.

29. #29 by Jong on Tuesday, 28 October 2008 - 11:19 am

A good time for reflection, undergrad2.

30. #30 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 28 October 2008 - 3:42 pm

Shamsul may have a point; then can the Gomen allocate space for all religions to build their places of worship so that we can stop the construction of such temples at every corner of the streets.
    To an extent, even my Hindu friends said that some of the temple operators are doing it for commercial reasons; though personally I see not much of commercial aspects of such action.

31. #31 by shamshul anuar on Wednesday, 29 October 2008 - 11:51 pm

Dear Waterfrontcoolie,

Religion is a potent force. Unfortunately, in the hand of extremists , religion can be deadly. What riled the Malays is that Hindraf used the demolition of a temple( a surau was also demolished as the owner sold the land in a legimate business deal) to incite hatred to UMNO, malay as and Islam

Unfortunately, there are Malays who fanned Hindraf. No prize for guessing. Anwar used Hindraf to spite UMNO. This was what Malays perceived the whole incident.

Even Dr Khir who tried to reason by using facts fail pacify the Indians. None was able to reason why on earth such a mind boggling situation does exist; that the number of temples in Selangor alone is 3 times the number of surau and mosques put together. The population of Malays in selangor is 4 times than that of Hindus.

If you read today newspaper, you would have read the statistics by Selangor State Govt that the previous state govt( meaniung BN) demolished 94 houses of worship.

What was no told is that all these temples were illegally built and redundant. In some areas, there are more than 3 temples along one street.

What is so special about illegal temple demolished. The Sultan Of Selangor had even ordered demolition of an illegally built surau several years ago. But Muslims understood the rationale. 2 suraus in one housing area actually splitting the community along PAS/ UMNO line. PAS is good at it.

I am not advancing demolition of a surau or church or temple. Rather like many of my Indian friends, I fail to see the need of temples under a tree or strange looking stone or in nearby forest.

If BN was cruel to Hindus in Selangor, please answer why the number of temples exceeds that of mosques and surau put together. The real issue here is HIndraf used the demolition to spite UMNO.

Unfortunately, you will not see this kind of argument in Star or vernacular newspapers. Some newspaper just publish what in conformity of their view.