Datuk Seri Najib Razak failed his first test in Parliament as Finance Minister as he was nowhere around this morning to present a revised 2009 Budget for debate or to explain why a revised 2009 budget is not necessary.
When the Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim spoke this morning, the two blocks of Cabinet benches were totally empty – not a single Cabinet Minister was present.
Not only the second Finance Minister even the two deputy Finance Ministers were absent.
Where have they gone to? What could be more important than the start of the parliamentary debate on the 2009 Budget unless Parliament is totally unimportant in their eyes.
In fact, as I pointed out to the House, there was not a single official representative of the government who was present in the House to respond to the Pakatan Rakyat demand that the new Finance Minister should present a revised 2009 budget because the whole set of the 2009 Budget data tabled in Parliament on August 29 had been made obsolete in the past six weeks by the worst economic crisis confronting the world in 80 years.
In fact, the Barisan Nasional government has lost all sense of direction and is presenting a spectacle of a “headless administration” in Parliament – may be this was why there was the need for an “agricultural” study tour of BN MPs to Taiwan last month!
Anwar said UMNO and Barisan Nasional Ministers are guilty of “arrogance of power”
They are also guilty of the height of irresponsibility and contempt for Parliament.
Umno Ministers are more preoccupied with the Umno crisis and party elections than the world economic crisis and its impact on Malaysia – when the party crisis of Umno and other Barisan Nasional component parties after the March 8 “political tsunami” must be completely subsidiary and subordinate to the larger economic crisis facing the country as a result of the global financial meltdown.
Sad and pathetic that Parliament will have to debate an outdated and obsolete 2009 Budget – which cannot inspire confidence in the new Finance Minister or the entire BN Cabinet. Debating history of budget instead of budget for 2009.

#1 by counsel888 on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 9:27 pm
Again this reflects a tactical flaw on the part of the opposition. It is not something clearly that the BN feels challenged or threatened about enough to show their faces or to hear criticism. And thats often a device available to a government in parliament where they do have a majority.
They are like most governments with a majority able to push through whatever legislation they desire where the opposition has nothing clear in the form of a strategy and are found to be impotent with little to offer in alternative policies.
Complaining and wishful thinking will not in anyway cure the defect of the oppositions impotence in parliament and its ineffectiveness as a whole.
Oppositions can only be effective where challenges to government moves or strategy is well thought out and meaningfully coordinated to deliver a counter effect.
Where an opposition merely challenges a government because it feels it has an obligation to do so because it is in opposition is doomed to failure and is a dereliction of duty. It makes a mockery of the system.
There are other equally effective forums on which to challenge a government and its budget and this could involve the use of pressure and self interest groups and the media.
However, where the histrionics of parliamentary theatre is the preferred means to debate a budget, then you are going about it the right way.
It is time that heteredoxity found a place of prominence in the mindset of people who have for decades been only in opposition. Such a situation of being permanent opposition and professional opposition creates that “always the bridesmaid never the bride” mentality incapable of changing anything or creating anything new.
#2 by Ling Mazen on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 9:41 pm
SMS from Kerala read” today’s the 13th,this number no good for you, avoid at all cost,pantang do not attend.Repeat do not attend,danger!!!”
#3 by Cinapek on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 9:42 pm
On the one hand we have a Govt that is without direction or commitment. On the other, we have an Opposition that is toothless and beginning to sound like Pak Lah’s empty promises.
All these in the midst of the worst economic crisis the world has ever seen since the Great Depression.
Not sure which is worse. The Govt. that is oblivious of the impending financial tsunami and the Opposition that has promised to do something about it but unable to deliver.
#4 by vsp on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 9:56 pm
The original record-breaking budget was crafted just for the UMNOputras to rape the country clean.
So what’s the need to revise the budget for?
ZZZzzzzzzzzzz
#5 by alancheah on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 10:13 pm
sigh… Pakatan Rakyat… quickly form the new federal government,
we then only have brighter future!
#6 by Godfather on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 10:13 pm
“On the one hand we have a Govt that is without direction or commitment. On the other, we have an Opposition that is toothless and beginning to sound like Pak Lah’s empty promises.” Cinapek
To those PR supporters like Cinapek, please show a certain modicum of patience. We have had 22 years of Mahathirism followed by 5 years of Bodowism, and yet we expect that we could turn things around after 7 months – AND in a minority at federal level.
If you look at the line-up of people like Najis, Muhyiddin, Mike Tyson, Mukhriz, Azalina, etc, it is clearly reflecting the return of Mahathirism – mega projects, cronyism, nepotism, use of the ISA, muzzling of the press. Merely trying to point out the excesses of Mahathirism will consume most of PR’s time.
Worst case is that we ensure that Najis will even have a shorter tenure than his predecessor at the next GE. Like I said in previous posts, don’t expect thieves to reform, so PR is still the better option.
#7 by justice_fighter on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 10:16 pm
Najis has more urgent matters to attend to (e.g., deleting the sms on Telco’s server), thus his absence in the parliament. He will pee in front of DSAI, so don’t expect him to turn up and debate with DSAI.
#8 by Kasim Amat on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 10:46 pm
Absent from Parliament does not mean the government is afraid to face Anwar. It is because we feel totally unnecessary to debate with him on such matter which does not benefit anyone at all. Any responsible politicians will know that the budget has been approved and there is no need to have any revision just because of the financial meltdown in the US. The US has made a huge mistake and the consequences should go back to them and should not be shared by other countries. Furthermore, Malaysia’s economy is strong and robust enough to withstand any financial crisis. Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi also said Malaysia is not affected by this crisis. It is very obvious that the opposition is using it as an excuse to attack the government and later try to pass no-confidence motion. We feel tired to see this old trick being used again and again. We feel that they are totally wasting time to argue over something that was over and done with. I believe our people are wise enough to see that so far, the only thing PR does is to argue over everything they could argue but did not come up with any that is constructive and sustainable. I feel ashamed for the people who still continue to give supports to this cunning liar and traitor.
#9 by Loh on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 10:55 pm
It is like going through the motion in asking the new FM to present a new budget. If PK is quite certain about taking over within the next few months, probably before March 2008, then PK should make use of the time in parliament to discuss issues that PK had wanted to discuss when it requested AAB to convene on an emergency basis during Ramadan. The people are more interested in a change of government than in changes to the budget which in any case would be prepared by the same set of civil servants. The budget has always been used by the government to create vote bank. They should only be allowed once a year, but not another bite during the same year.
Would PK seriously believe that BN government would be able to do a good job expected of them? PK should look into creative use of the time when the parliament is in session.
#10 by katdog on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 11:19 pm
Kasim Amat Says
“Absent from Parliament does not mean the government is afraid to face Anwar. It is because we feel totally unnecessary to debate with him on such matter which does not benefit anyone at all.”
Hello friend! If the government doesn’t need to answer to parliament then why the hell do we taxpayer’s need to pay the salaries of our parliamentarian’s? The government must be prepared to to put their policies and proposals under the scrutiny and questioning of the parliament.
That’s what we taxpayer’s are paying them to do. Else please fire all the parliamentarians immediately and stop paying their salaries and benefits. Why pay for yes-men that will not scrutinize and question the decisions of the government?
#11 by Johnny Cheah on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 11:29 pm
THIS COUNTRY IS REALLY GOING TO THE DOGS. DSIA, DON’T WASTE TIME BEING A GENTLEMAN. DO THE NECESSARY DO WHAT YOU MUST DO AND DO IT FAST.
#12 by lofuji on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 11:30 pm
I have said it before and I will say it again.In 1998,when the asian tiger economies were falling one by one,our leaders kept asssuring us that our economy is strong FUNDAMENTALLY! See what happened?We fell hard-economy and currency wise.So hard that No.1 and No.2 fought tooth and nail until one had to go to jail on trumped up charges.No one was spared-corporate as well as private enterprise fell flat.
And those who thought that ‘cash is king’ held on to it thinking that they were safe.They were not safe.Consequently,everybody suffered.
Fast 4ward to 2008,again we hear from our Finance minister that our economy is FUNDAMENTALLY strong,foreign reserves at all time high.Are we going to believe the same old line again?Look,If the world around us are falling like 10 pins,can our guru minister assure us-better still guarantee us- that we are so blessed not to be affected?Even our next door neighbor is now in recession.
Let us not go into denial mode again.
sighhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
#13 by Godfather on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 11:31 pm
Kasim Amat says MPs don’t have to be present in Parliament. By the same token, all the civil servants can stay at home and still get their salaries. After all, Kasim Amat believes in “gaji buta”.
Stupidity at its height – this UMNOputra.
#14 by Godfather on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 11:33 pm
Kasim Amat also believes that if you question too much, and they cannot find the right answers, the gomen should just detain you under the ISA.
#15 by drago2008 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 12:01 am
Thanks,Mr Lim, for telling the world about ministers who never turned up. They are just shooting themselves in the foot.
The Daily Mirror will scream on the frontpage: “Where have all the ministers gone?”
The London Sun will yell: “Ministers gone AWOL”
The NST will say: “???????”
It’s a crying shame the rakyat are going to be governed by this bunch of jokers. We are surely the laughing stock of the world.
#16 by swipenter on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 12:02 am
There is no need to revise the budget bcos we are not facing recession in Malaysia according to AAB and our newly appointed British trained Finance Minister as our economics are fundamentally strong. Just revise our commissions will do. No need to debate on such trivial issues in Parliament.
#17 by melurian on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 12:03 am
though i want bijan down with aab together, but must be fair too with bijan also, he’s just recently promoted to finance minister, previously he’s defence, portfolio that no related with money – mana ada masa to study out the budget! you orang mesti gila punya to think he’s superman can absorb whole budget in 1 mth. even he’s economy background, he’s no lky or cambridge 1st stud lah….
speaking about dsai, last time he was finance that time, he too sparred with lks in 1998 when lks grilled him the effectiveness of the budget to tackle the crisis that saw greenback jump from 2.7 to 3.8! and all dsai did was repeating the same statement (he read from his paper) 2-3 times, and belittling lks saying he knows nothing. apalah dsai…..
#18 by Stephenlsa on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 12:07 am
If YB Najib absent but still have representative from Finance Minister to attend the parliment meeting, this still can be acceptable but nobody come. If the opposition has question to be asked then as the member of government has to be come to answer, the question relevant or not is depend on the view of Yang Dipertua Parliment and not YB Najib himself, or surely not Kasim Amat. If a question from opposition is not bordered, what for to have opposition, what for to have parliment. Then BN can do what they want to do freely. Strong country like Japan, Amerika , China are affected by bad economic situation, they are endeavour to find solution, will Malaysia are not affected ? YB Abdullah dont talk lie to us, we are not stupid and dont lie yourself.
#19 by melurian on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 12:08 am
parlimen is for bbc only, menteri got important things to deal rather doing idle chat with oppos that kept goal shifting, tak bermatlamat langsung….. what’s more important to negotiate billion investment deal with potential investors and discussing peaceful power transfer than empty talks.
#20 by The Enforcer on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 12:35 am
Uncle YB LKS, you told the GOONS to burn the ‘midnight oil’ to come out with a revised budget, remember?
They took your advice but couldn’t come up with the new proposals, so they PONTENG en masse lah!
Ha ha ha.
#21 by storm62 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 1:17 am
YB LIM, from what i see is that Pak Lah is quite smart afterall, he is only handing over the premiership to Najis march 09. so PR cannot table the no confidence vote as he is leaving. since Najib is the FM now. PR should nail him now. Rakyat is dying to NAIL him.
it looks like Anwar has to wait till Najis swears in as a PM before the vote of no confidence can be tabled. correct me if i’m wrong.
five months is a long time, these crooks will by all means try to make sure that their MPs will not crossover. so Anwar will have to act now and approach the DYMM SPBYDP Agung with the Absentees list for not attending such an important sitting in the Parliament. an also the current market crisis the Rakyat is facing now. not forgetting the Crude oil prices.
my hammer is ready, just waitng for your nail.
#22 by jacksojulian on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 1:28 am
Hey Kasim Amat,
Malaysia belongs to all Malaysians, the MPs are the representatives of rakyat. We rakyat MUST know how you spend our tax monies. Furthermore, UMNO does not have any talented people to convince us how to spend our monies. I repeat, the suppose budget is our taxed monies, NOT belong to UMNO and you. Absent from parliament means look down rakyat and insulting our votes. You just like other stupid UMNOputra, only use “kidney” to think, please regain your own brain.
#23 by human1 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 1:39 am
Our economy may seem “fundamentally strong” for now. That does not mean our economy is immune from the financial meltdown occurring in the developed countries. Our central bank and finance ministry must have the ability to adapt and react immediately to the global economic changes.
We all live in a highly globalized world. The situations are interrelated and anything is possible. We must be able to prepare for the worst.
If the developed countries are down into recessions due to the credit crunch crisis spiralling out of control, our export industry will be impacted when global demand reduces especially from the west. There will be less palm oil or electronic goods to ship out from our country.
To sustain profibility, manufacturing plants may be forced to take steps to cut down expansion plan, cut head counts, freeze increment and bonus, or whatever downsizing measures. No matter how cheap our currency is, the export industry may shrink due to weak demand simply.
To address this issue and sustain economy growth, the government will have to spend more money on mega projects and encourage domestic spending, calling the support from the private sectors. To raise more money, the government will have to either issue additional bond, rely on the price of natural resources such as petroleum and commodity, cut subsidies, or cause the people to pay more taxes.
This is a complex situation, as we know the price of fuel and commodity has been falling. In either way if the government is spending more than its income, causing large deficits in the long run and finds itself in difficulty to repay debt; the government will be on the blink to file for bankruptcy protection and all of us will be in deep trouble.
Back from the sample scenario above. The announced 2009 budget was the highest ever, with RM208 billion being allocated. Where does all the money come from? I bet the government was banking largely on cashing in the high price of crude oil at the time. The economics world is volatile and prone to changes especially at times like now. The fuel price has been going south ever since due to fear of a potential global recession that may reduce energy demand (and yes everyone has been wondering when will the next pump price adjustment be?).
Yes, we have been able to pull through the 97 currency crisis and the government deserved a pat on the back for its strategy in handling the crisis, but every crisis is different in nature. 97 crisis was mainly caused by massive borrowings in the form of foreign currencies by domestic corporations to plan for business expansion.
It was brilliant and inexpensive way to raise capital until the crisis emerged where USD had strengthened enormously. This time around, we see crisis where financial turmoil has started from the subprime mortgages in the developed countries.
Question is: When globalization does hit us right on the nose and our country is in economy downturn, do we have plan B? Or do we stick to the original approved budget?
#24 by monsterball on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 3:00 am
This is a sick country ….created by sick leaders and full of shit personalities and keep talking UMNO stuffs…and when matters concern most to Malaysians…..yes Lim Kit Siang is right…WHERE ARE THOSE BIG GUNS???
#25 by monsterball on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 3:03 am
My comment seems to be under moderation. I will try again……
Yes…where are those big guns?
Why are they not present talking about budget….the most important subject to all Malaysians?
#26 by monsterball on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 3:04 am
hahahahaha….must me mild mannered and nice to get approval!!
#27 by jacksojulian on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 3:08 am
human1 says “To address this issue and sustain economy growth, the government will have to spend more money on mega projects and encourage domestic spending….”
I agree that spend money on so called “mega” projects will sustain the economy, but we have to correctly specify type of project to be implemented. Building more “monuments” will not sustain the economy. The BN government had built a lot of “overprice” & “underutilized” projects during the last 2 decades. For example, Clinic Tonggok in Sabah cost 16 mil with no fulltime medical officer, a 200mil hospital in Lahad Datu with only 6 MO (no speciliats) available at that time (2003). I called it a waste of money.
As for global economy meltdown. First, we must identify the possible effects onto Malaysia. It is financial market credit crunch mostly in G7 countries. Most of the central banks have taken action to bail out their trouble finance institutes or nationalized them. On another words, the governments become the biggest shareholders of the troubled banks. Meaning the biggest losers are the governments. But this does not mean that Malaysia will be weathered from this crisis.
Prior to this, the global market has been hardly hit by high oil rice, many people from the non-oil production countries have suffered from this (including Malaysian). The economy has already generally slow before the financial market meltdown. The financial meltdown is only further worsening the economy. People around the globe generally further tightening their belts. This means non-neccessity products like electronics products (world GDP around 25%) will be hit, property demand will be dropped. Cars demand will be dropped. Entertainment market will be hit. Tourism / travelling will less, …… well ,if these are to be happened, ask Pak Lah and Najib Malaysia still not to be affected???
#28 by shortie kiasu on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 8:11 am
It is very simple solution. Since these elected representatives are NOT interested in their elected duties and responsibilities, DO NOT elect them in the next general election.
Although the next election may be some time away, we take note of their failures, and record these failures in our diary to remind us that when the time come for general election, we will throw them OUT.
#29 by patriotic1994 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 8:17 am
WHAT CAN WE DO TO CAUSE REFRESH RE-ELECTION?
#30 by ctc537 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 8:17 am
jacksojulian,
The PM still insists that our country can weather this storm. I don’t know what the PM and other ministers were talking about on TV. They even insinuated that our neighbour Singapore was not good at managing their economy. Hence the economic recession is hitting them.
My view is that ours is a commodities exporting country, so the impact of economic recession hit us slower. But our ministers are smug to think that our economy is so well managed that they did not find it necessary to revise the 2009 budget to cope with the onslaught of this economic recession.
We export so much electronics products to USA and other G-7 countries. It will definitely hit us, especially here in Penang. Yet, it is strange that the ministers didn’t seem to bother. To them, party elections is all-important.
When our minister is bombarded with difficult questions from the Opposition, they answer in this manner: “soalan ini tidak relevan” as Finance Minister 2 did LGE yesterday. Think of it, when billions of rakyat’s money is involved, the Finance Minister still respond like this. Yes, somebody says it to this effect, ‘the government seems not in charge’.
#31 by kftang on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 8:46 am
Right-thinking Malaysians do not understand why the BN government, in particular the new Finance Minister, is so adamant and reluctant to table a revised 2009 Budget in Parliament. Are the so-called powers to be so scared to face reality in present-day politics? Are they thinking in terms of the nation’s economy and also the welfare of the people? Two polls [in the Bahasa Malaysia and English bulletins] conducted by NTV7 among viewers last night revealed that more than 90% agreed that a new 2009 Budget should be tabled in Parliament! So what about it?
#32 by taiking on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 8:47 am
Cant you all see.
Najib is of the view that malaysia’s fundamentals are still strong.
So no problem.
Dont worry.
Keep it cool man.
Like najib razak.
#33 by taiking on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 8:48 am
melurian,
you are wrong.
and i am not telling you why.
#34 by abunsui on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 8:48 am
AS LONG AS NAJIB DO NOT “CLEAN” HIS IMAGE AND NAME THROUGH THE COURT OF LAW, “HE IS STILL LOOK DIRTY AND CORRUPT LEADER”. THEREFORE MAY NOT FIT TO LEAD THIS COUNTRY.
BE COURAGE TO “CLEAN” YOURSELF FROM :
1. MONGOLIA CASE
2. SCOPENE
3. C4
4. EUROCOPTER (LATEST)
5. “EXPENSIVE “WATCHES” (“MILLION RM”) and many more.
DON’T JUST “SUMPAH”. GO THROUGH THE PROCESS OF LAW AND SUMMON THOSE ACCUSED YOU!
SUMPAH IS JUST THE BEGINNING OR STARTING POINT AS “WITNESS” IN THE DOCK. THE PROCESS OF “CLEANING” YOURSELF IS NOT COMPLETE AT “SUMPAH(SWEAR)” STAGE. AGAIN I STRESS: IT JUST THE BEGINNING!
“BERANI KERANA BENAR TAKUT KERANA SALAH.”
#35 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 9:23 am
Badawi looked really bad when trying to assure viewers on Najib’s good character.
Body language was lacking confidence and tone was so unenthusiastic.
http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2008/10/malaysiakini-on-pms-call-to-have-faith.html
#36 by bclee on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 9:28 am
another mentally retarded Kasim Amat guy is here.
it is alright no need to present to parliament all law makers just go back and sleep and counting your money. no debate in parliament,
thats what we taxpayer want?
stupid kasim Amat
#37 by son of perpaduan on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 9:29 am
The whole bunch of ruling MP can ignore parliment session mean they can too ignore the rakyat cries. I think the only solution on this matter is follow the thai people way of toppling the goverment.
#38 by son of perpaduan on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 9:31 am
What say you YB Lim, you lead the uprising like limthongkul?
#39 by Toyol on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 9:37 am
Heard that some banks are already facing liquidity problems. This is real serious and its totally irresponsible and callous that the government of the day choose to run away from their duties. If they indeed were more engrossed in the UMNO elections than running the country then the rakyat was not wrong in wanting change. So, BN please do not blame the Opposition since you are totally incapable of running the country. Too bad the Opposition did not win the last GE. We will all suffer under the current regime now, more so with the global meltdown.
#40 by bclee on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 9:47 am
“Heard that some banks are already facing liquidity problems.” quote Toyol
wow ! is it true?
YB lim please make sure today parliament session bring up to debate the budget for 2009, and how we can counter the credit meltdown if thing get worsen. it is upmost important to the Rakyat.
#41 by son of perpaduan on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 9:51 am
NST today headline; Pakatan Rakyat wasting people time.
Let me tell you BN, you are wasting rakyat time and money lah.
#42 by ctc537 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 10:07 am
Economic recession is a serious matter.
All of us, had better stop poking fun at the government and the ministers for a while and be serious. At this critical moment of the impending economic recession, ask what we can do for the government and ask not what the government can do for us.
Just do it for a few days….. see if confidence in the country can be restored
#43 by bclee on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 10:14 am
I feel very sad to all the Halp past 6 BN government when can they wake up ha…
now is no serious when will we be discuss the world credit meltdown, i think wait untill we go burst.
we ordinary peoples will be bad hit again this time.
#44 by CSKUEH on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 10:16 am
Ministers are elected to do their duties at parliament work station
But instead all the cabinet ministers are missing in action
Not a single one of them can be seen
Where could all of them have been?
Are they playing hide and seek?
Will they show up later in the week?
PR must call for a vote of no confidence as soon as possible
Bring in a new gov’t that is more responsible
#45 by bclee on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 10:25 am
tak ada kerja tak apa?
loan rumah ,kereta tak bayar tak apa?
rompak sini sana tak apa?
nanti bank tutup tak apa?
terus tidurlah wahai Bn government
#46 by Loh on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 10:32 am
Economist Paul Krugman has just been made a Nobel laurate. Krugman made a conditional favourable comment on a temporary currency control in 1998. He was profusely quoted as a support for TDM until he had to issue a letter of clarification.
The second FM Nor Mohd Yakcop said “Now the United States is assisting their banks and adopting similar measures like we did”.
We do not know what similar measures Nor referred to. US Treasury is capitalising the banks and financial institutions so that money tiled to ‘loans’ will become available for bussiness and living activities of the people. This allow life to go on as usual. US has not bailed out the business of individual persons which Anwar tried to stop and got into trouble with the emperor in 1998.
Nor might soon suggest that the Nobel prize to Paul Krugman should be shared with Finance Ministry because US copies Malaysia action and that Krugman gave conditional agreement to its currency action in 1998.
#47 by k1980 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 10:39 am
The serial liar at work again
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/Frontpage/2374558/Article/index_html
#48 by bclee on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 10:50 am
“God willing, we are not going into a recession. We have strong reserves, a good trade surplus, our savings are high and our currency is stable, so I think we will be able to withstand the shockwaves of the crisis.” quote AAB
hello sleeping AAB we already in recession now. if u are in business u will feel it early.still sleeping,we are no way better than any country like singapore, we are commodity rich country,it don’t no mean we can withstand the crisis.
#49 by human1 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 10:51 am
The objective of spending acceleration on mega projects, is to ensure substantial amount of money being injected into the public, as one of the optional measures to counter economy downturn by the government.
The money reaching the suppliers or contractors, some in the form of corruption perhaps, will create job opportunities, pay the workers and benefit other sub-contractors. The end workers who receive their paychecks can subsequently afford to buy the necessities. That is the economic relations and capital circulation portion.
The implementation perspective however does not facilitate the prevention of white elephants from being created and fund wastage. This would require diligent planning, supervision and audit to develop quality infrastructures and projects that meet the people’s needs.
This depends on how efficient the government machinery is working. The same amount of money spent in building a public infrastructure for a purpose can have very different results, e.g. whether it is carried out in Malaysia or Singapore.
#50 by richard.wong8 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 11:31 am
Probably their mathematics is so poor or they are not bothered to look into the people’s welfare that they dare not attend the Parliment debate for 2009 Budget. Good for them, so the next election, VOTE them OUT.
I think they are not bothered la.