Revised 2009 Budget tomorrow – Najib’s first test as Finance Minister

Tomorrow when Parliament reconvenes to start the 2009 Budget debate is the first parliamentary test of Datuk Seri Najib Razak as Finance Minister – whether he has a revised 2009 Budget to take corrective measures to shield the country from the world’s worst economic crisis in 80 years so as to enhance competitiveness, boost growth and tamp down inflation.

The first thing Malaysians want to hear from Najib are not platitudes like Malaysia enjoying strong economic fundamentals, financial markets and infrastructure and immunity from external shocks but how the country could be shielded from the worst fallouts of the looming world economic crisis.

Secondly, how Najib proposes to tamp down inflation which had hit a 27-year high largely because of the sharp and unconscionable 41% increase in petrol pump prices in early June.

The price of crude oil has now plunged by almost 50 per cent since striking record high levels above US$147 per barrel on July 11.

The price dropped US$5.61 to US$77.05 a barrel on London’s ICE Futures exchange on Friday.

Energy experts believe prices could go even lower, going down to the US$60 a barrel range.

As Najib has been Finance Minister for 25 days, there is no reason why he is unable to announce a revised 2009 Budget in Parliament tomorrow taking fully into account the sharpest drop of the price of oil in 13 months by lowering the pump prices of petrol.

Furthermore, Malaysians want to know what proactive policy would be pursued in a revised 2009 budget to tamp down inflation to ensure that the lowest price of world crude oil in 13 months is felt and translated into the daily lives of ordinary Malaysians – or as one commentator on my blog put it:

“Does this mean that I wil be able to ask my children’s school van operator to lower the fare from RM100 down to the RM80 previously. Or does this translate to paying RM3.50 for chicken rice from the current RM4.00?”

Or will the 5pack Curry Flavour Maggie Mee which increased from RM2.59 at the end of 2007 to RM2.89 in January 2008 and now costs RM3.99 come down in prices?

If Najib has no revised 2009 Budget for Parliament tomorrow, he would have failed his first test as Finance Minister after more than three weeks since Sept. 17.

1. #1 by kftang on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 4:59 pm

Our new Finance Minister Najib should take heed from urgings of the Opposition to the present global financial crisis and table a revised 2009 Budget in Parliament tomorrow. This is for a better Malaysia and its people!

2. #2 by mendela on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 5:00 pm

The effects on Malaysia by current world economy “melt down” will be at least 10 times much more severe than the 1997 currency crisis!

With the USA, Europe and East Asia all facing the same crisis at the same time, the impacts on Malaysian economy will be far reaching and deadly.

UMNO will again ask the rakyats to change their life style. UMNO will continue to suck the rakyats dry and clean!

3. #3 by Tonberry on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 5:05 pm

Prices of essential goods are not coming down where it used to be despite the oil price reductions by the govt. Retailers are not going to reduce the prices at any cost. What is C4 going to do about this?

The damage is done.

4. #4 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 5:10 pm

1. malapetaka akibat ketidaktahuan berekonomi oleh dolla dan rakan rakan telah berlaku. jangan harap harga makanan yang telah naik akan turun walaupun dolla akan turun sepertimana diketahui umum…
    2. harga minyak jatuh hampir 50%. harga runcit tertinggi rm2.70, maknanya harga runcit terkini – rm1.35 ? round figure lah – rm1.50??…mana boleh kata dolla, aku sebelum pencen nak kautlah banyak banyak sebanyak mungkin untuk bagi anak aku berniaga kat luar negara…
    3. sememang walaupun ada 2 kali diturunkan harga runcit petrol namun hakikatnya kebinasaan telah berlaku akibat lonjakan kenaikan melampau. apa nasihat terkini penasihat penasihat ekonomi dolla…

5. #5 by shortie kiasu on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 5:13 pm

Najib will be a non starter in Parliament tomorrow after a long break for puasa and hari raya celebration.

He may just play Houdini act to save his skin.

Good luck to the Malaysians.

6. #6 by imranj78 on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 5:14 pm

LKS,
    Firstly may I correct one item. ICE in London is International Commodity Exchange, not Intercontinental Exchange.

May I also suggest that you be more specific on your grouses on the 2009 budget. What sections are you not happy about? Which areas you feel should be allocated more money and which areas should be allocated less? If PR is advocating higher subsidies for oil, water etc etc, from which sector will this money be taken from – medical, education, defense, infrastructure etc.?

The electorate gave PR a stronger voice in Mar08 to not just provide check and balance to the government, but it is also expected that you play a more constructive role and propose solutions rather then just criticize for the sake of it.

7. #7 by Tonberry on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 5:34 pm

imranj78 Says:
    The electorate gave PR a stronger voice in Mar08 to not just provide check and balance to the government, but it is also expected that you play a more constructive role and propose solutions rather then just criticize for the sake of it.

If the Oppositions were to provide every solution to the mess Umno created each time, then what is the purpose of those MPs that were put to govern by people like you? Just to makan, minum, main?

It might as well hand over the power or call for a fresh election for long term sake.

8. #8 by max2811 on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 6:05 pm

Pls demand a downward price correction of petrol price when parlimen starts tomorrow. TQ.

9. #9 by OldManoftheSea on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 6:21 pm

Najib is no better than Badawi…. I will be watching closely.

10. #10 by kisfiu on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 6:28 pm

It is very disturbing to read that Nor Omar had extended the 30% surcharge to the bus companies indefinitely (until we decided if there is a need for them to raise the price). Even if it is decided, surely it can’t be 30% ? This is unacceptable and day-light robbery ! PK should take over the government soon rather than later.

11. #11 by kisfiu on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 6:29 pm

PK should read PR (Pakatan Rakyat)

12. #12 by yhsiew on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 6:33 pm

Kit,

Keep pressing for reduction of petrol price to ensure that the rakyat get the benefit not BN cronies.

13. #13 by Loh on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 6:42 pm

TDM has said that the PM of Malaysia should not be allowed the power he currently holds, whether it is AAB or Najib. He is prepared to be the advisor for free, and he will then reduce the power of the PM. It means that all the power will go back to him, as advisor but not as PM. That was why he offered to step down as PM in 2003, and he will be advisor as soon as Najib, as AAB hoped, would be PM comes March 2009.

Najib is made the FM because he was about to become PM. That was just the first step of the transition process. Who ever said that Najib will be any different from AAB in terms of sitting on the chair of FM? There is the second FM to do the donkey jobs. It is only when the discretionary power of who to offer contracts and projects would the first FM, the PM be involved. And when Najib takes over, he will have to appoint TDM as advisor who appointed him as Deputy in the first place. In fact TDM is also recommending that Muhyiddin be made the deputy to Najib. So he alone appointed the next PM and DPM, and he also appointed himself advisor to take over the more important power that has come with the PM. He has been considerate for not suggesting who should take after his position as advisor should he be called up by the Absolute Power. He might have hinted that he son, now running for the post of UMNO youth is qualified, by blood.

So be a bit patient, TDM will present a new budget when be becomes the advisor as PM, and also as FM when the position is considered important and the decision called for discretion.

14. #14 by bclee on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 6:59 pm

the G7 finance minister meeting in washington on Sat no decission on how to tacle the problem, come monday tomorrow another rally of selling anticipated.

“These meetings are great but what’s the game plan, people? Leaders agree to stick together to solve all the problems until the sledding gets difficult. This will bring new meaning to the phrase “Together we stand, divided we fall.” We’ll see how this all works out over the next couple of weeks. I’m not sure that they truly will all stick together. The US’s problems are severe. Europe’s problems are severe. They’re trying to show unity, but, So What?”

quote david spurr

World equity markets having another big selling rally looking at current sentiment.

15. #15 by bclee on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 7:07 pm

hello imranj78 the crude oil trade on electronic counter touch lowest at 77.70USD and closed at 80.55USD on friday. middle east traded i think 4-5USD lower than this figure.

16. #16 by bclee on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 7:11 pm

thats mean the crude oil future will go more lowest

17. #17 by mendela on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 7:13 pm

18. #18 by mendela on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 7:15 pm

Above youtube will give a hint on what Najis will do tomorrow at the house of Parliament.

19. #19 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 7:22 pm

lantak kau lah…aku tetap kaya : pemimpin umno. kebelakangan ini disebabkan oleh penamaan calon pemimpin umno kelihatan ramai pemimpin umno yang mukanya keluar tv, mak datuk daging kat leher depa cukup sihat.ibarat kata terlebih dari cukup makan.isa dari N9 yang dah lama tak dengar cerita ; mat taib dengan wangnya yang berbillion di australia ; muhyiddin dari johor dengan ceritanya makannya semasa jadi mb apatah lagi sekarang ;ramai lagi lah…ahmad ismail pun wah wah wah daging dekat leher dia…bukan main sihat, itu baru pemimpin bahagian…. cukup sihat depa

20. #20 by alancheah on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 8:41 pm

Good luck to all Malaysians!

21. #21 by ktteokt on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 8:49 pm

Another act and another scene by the all famous Made in Malaysia Menteri Serbaguna!

22. #22 by carcinoma on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 9:15 pm

pak lah can step down till 6 feet under pun harga barang yang dah naik wont come down with him! so only thing is to increase our pay! and important is stop the politicians from cheating our money anymore! stop that PM’s son in law from cekik…ing some more money. then najib wont have to show his keris anymore. ooohhhh….takutnya kerisss…..the keris-man!

23. #23 by katdog on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 9:31 pm

C’mon, PR was planning to take over the government on Sept 16. Oh wait the date has change to end of this year. Whatever.

Since PR wants to run the country, then PR better come up with their own budget proposal. C’mon, once you take over the country, are you telling me you are still going to wait for Najib to come up with corrective measures to combat inflation etc then rail on it?

I pray PR better have their own damn people studying and monitoring the financial situation or else you guys honestly don’t deserve to run the country.

No one in PR was paying attention to the inept handling of the melamine issue by the Health ministry. I mean, if you don’t have people that are knowledgeable and monitoring the various aspects of running the country NOW, just what is going to happen when you do take over the country?

24. #24 by lchk on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 10:37 pm

“The electorate gave PR a stronger voice in Mar08 to not just provide check and balance to the government, but it is also expected that you play a more constructive role and propose solutions rather then just criticize for the sake of it.”

LKS has proposed a budget review when parliament reconvenes and that’s when exchange of ideas, proposals and opinions are mooted.

The way you post makes it seem like the likes of LKS and co is just sitting on their bums and shooting blanks.

25. #25 by Johnny Cheah on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 10:43 pm

Tomorrow is 13th. October. Petrol price have continue to drop to US$80/barrel. The BN/UMNO government will only revise the petrol pump price come 1st. November. Meantime the oil companies are getting their petrol cheap and selling to us at RM2.45/liter. I say the pump price must be reduced with immediate effect so that the rakyat can breathe. When the pump price of petrol is reduced how will the BN/UMNO government ensure that the prices of goods and services are reduced accordingly. IN THIS CURRENT SITUATION THE OIL COMPANIES ARE MAKING EXTRA MILLIONS FROM US THROUGH NO FAULT OF OURS’ BUT THE GOVERNMENT

26. #26 by lopez on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 10:50 pm

disciples and handpicked by greenspan himself also has their hands full , what can hands like that can do , count money i don t think so

and on the subjexct of food safety…..common on,,,dont be fresh…there is enough carcinogens and GM foodstuffs around bolihland just because they is no stats on its consequences any time soon yet.
    It was sometime ago when GM corn was introduced into bolihland and the then agri minister says it is okay of course he based on bolihlands professorry.

if there is anyhting need to be paraniodal about just spent your frustrations on the stubborness and arrogance of moe and their experiments upon the nations future citizens., yes your children and your friends children.

27. #27 by katdog on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 11:20 pm

“…just because they is no stats on its consequences any time soon yet”

Melamine has a TDI (Tolerable Daily Intake) of 0.63mg/kg of body weight. TDI is used to estimate the amount of toxic substance that can be taken without health risk. TDI’s are used for substances that do not have a reason to be found in food (as opposed to additives and pesticides that are measured in ADI, Acceptable Daily intake).

28. #28 by storm62 on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 11:45 pm

uncle lim,

the Rakyat has been subsidising the petrol price to the Govt. now and prices of food and sundries are still up.

pls help us and press this issue tomorrow when parliament resumes.

29. #29 by aries66 on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 11:53 pm

Now world petrol price has already gone down and our Government
    never take initiatives to help poor “RAKYAT” to bring down the petrol price. It is a tough time for “RAKYAT” as thier salaries has never increase and food pricing that still maintaned at a high price. Pleaselah GOVT ???? Are you sleepingor pretending ??. Very sad.MAN.

30. #30 by human1 on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 11:59 pm

Loh says:

“There is the second FM to do the donkey jobs. It is only when the discretionary power of who to offer contracts and projects would the first FM, the PM be involved.”

Does anyone disagree with the statement? It makes total sense. I have the theory to explain why we adopt the astonishing model of having two finance ministers in Malaysia.

After finishing high school, Abdullah failed to enrol into his first choice course, Economics (surprise?), he then opted to pursue bachelor of arts in Islamic Studies from UM.

If that person has no fundamental knowledge about economy, it makes total sense to appoint another person, which in this case the Second FM to advise him on national policies and risks in regard to inflation, recession, stagflation, currency fluctuation as opposed to pegging, subprime crisis, foreclosures, mortgage-backed securities and more more economics jargons.

While the First FM will concentrate on budget approval and awarding projects to guess-you-know-who. Similar to the ISA issue under the home ministry, both ministers have illustrated that the pen is indeed mighty, by signing the respective approval documents and guess-who-the-winners-are.

In this country, you do not even have to spell the word economy correctly, to be eligible to become the finance minister. Look at Henry Paulson’s background, the US treasury secretary, he was Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Goldman Sachs since the firm’s initial public offering in 1999, before being picked by George Bush.

I am no economist but I know the inflation is like fire, a friend when it is small and a monster when it is big. Moderate inflation rate is good to spur the economic growth. Steep inflation rate will cause structural damage to the nation’s economy and that is why every government is cautious about letting the monster loose while ensuring the upsteam of economy.

When you unleash the monster, there is ultimately no U-turn for prices to come down, as we have seen over the years. This will suck the purchasing power and guess who will be hit the hardest, yes middle and lower-class.

The global financial chaos may or may not spread to Malaysia. Our banking systems may be resilient enough in mortgages as we hope there are checks from the central bank and there is no credit crunch issue. Nobody can really tell the future. If credit shortage does hit Malaysia, let us see how the new finance minister can repair the damage done.

At present, the exchange rate is closing SD1 = RM2.45, the gap is widening. You may say weak RM is good for export. We shall see :)

31. #31 by fido on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 12:11 am

“Errr….our financials are sound and strong, we do not need to revise our budget” :-)

32. #32 by imranj78 on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 12:16 am

Tonberry said:
    `If the Oppositions were to provide every solution to the mess Umno created each time, then what is the purpose of those MPs that were put to govern by people like you? Just to makan, minum, main?’

Of course the minister in charge have to make their own preparations and that is where the budget came from. But since the Opposition seems to be unhappy with it, then the Opposition needs to be clear on specifically what they are unhappy about, why and what the Opposition think is a better solution rather then just criticize blindly. To use your same words – If not, what is the purpose of the Opposition that were put there by people like you? Just to makan, minum, main?

Ichk,
    I am not discounting the fact that the Opposition might have made their own budget proposal, but don’t you think we as the electorate deserve to know their proposal, the basis, why they think theirs is better then the government’s? The Opposition criticizes the government’s budget weeks in advance of the debate today but we have not heard anything about the detailed basis of their criticism. As such, as far as I am aware, they are shooting blanks. Hopefully they will finally have their guns loaded with good facts today and we will finally understand what the criticism is all about.

33. #33 by Tonberry on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 12:30 am

imranj78 Says:
    But since the Opposition seems to be unhappy with it, then the Opposition needs to be clear on specifically what they are unhappy about, why and what the Opposition think is a better solution rather then just criticize blindly.

Anwar Ibrahim had stated the problem very clearly. It was that you did not read it properly or not aware of it.

“One of the first things would be a review of the budget proposal and its figures. We need to do that as an urgent matter unfortunately this does not seem to be the direction and policy of the current government and finance minister,
    we cannot work on obsolete figures that are not realistic and does not reflect on economic fundamentals.” – Anwar Ibrahim

34. #34 by lofuji on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 1:03 am

It was the stupidest move to increase the pump price by 78 sen.It does not need a rocket scientist to know that when petrol goes up 41% everything goes up. What kind of economic advisers does the PM have? It should have been gradual say 20-30 sen.Now the damage had been done,do you seriously think the biz ppl will revert to the old price before the hike? Who suffers? The working class ppl of course! And retirees,like me who have no income whatsoever.At least the pensioners are looked after by the gomen! PKR pls take over ASAP.

35. #35 by monsterball on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 1:36 am

Gerakan have just finished their party election.
    The new group plans to make Gerakan…..”The Third Force”
    This means..the two opposite forces..Pakatan and UMNO…and Gerakan will be the ‘Third Force”..or simply put….”The Middle Man”. If they achieve this…Gerakan will be the most powerful pawn ..in a chess game.
    Months of brain washing by Gerakan active members…to drill in the meaning of… ‘third force’….with their usual twisted logics..hoping Penang folks…..will vote them back…next election…so that the can become…the ‘third force”
    These group of leaders…headed by a smart sly fox Dr.Hsu Da Ren…totally ignored the many sins ..Koh Tsu Koon..had committed..supporting UMNO’s corruptions…..and using that powerful force.. for more than 30 years….to fool Penang folks….by carrying UMNO balls. What is Penang now??
    From being the ‘Pearl of the Orient”….to be a dirty …filthy city….making Penang folks and city…..poorer and poorer.
    At least ….Koh Tsu Koon said…Gerakan will stay in BN. He knows…that is their only hope…to survive…keep carrying the balls of UMNO.
    But the new group….real smart…going against Koh Tsu Koon…to bullshit Penang voters again….and appeal to them…to make them…the
    “Charlie Angels” of Malaysia….to fight for justices and be the most powerful party in Malaysia……”The Third Force”
    Fortunately…almost…all commentators…are real smart..and will not fall into this cheap new stunt of Gerakan..idea…..master minded..by Dr.Hsu Da Ren. That is why.he stood for election…first time….and won with high votes.
    Justice done for Penang….by giving DAP a chance.
    Now let Lim Eng Guan do his job…to clean up the dirt..and make it back…..the pearl…we all know and love.
    Gerakan can go to hell!!

36. #36 by rider on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 1:58 am

Am glad and in fact delighted that you know the prices of the ordinary people’s foodstuffs YB, if only all of those others sitting in parliament were to be like you, the rakyat will not be in the mess that they are in. Do something to ease the rakyats shoulders fast YB. The Finance Minister is busy worrying about himself and his cronies that we doubt he is going to say anything sensible tomorrow.

37. #37 by Godfather on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 7:13 am

First test of the new Finance Minister is to be acquainted with the basics of the job viz (a) how much is available to be distributed (b) who should be the beneficiaries (c) the pipeline of projects that are due to be approved (d) the “toll” for new approvals.

What should the new leadership in BN heed what PR has to say ? If you look closely, the $ sign is written all over the eyeballs of the ministers.

38. #38 by Kathy on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 7:28 am

The world economies are crumbling and what is the new Finance Minister intends to do to steer Malaysia away from the choppy waters? He should revise the 2009 budget and layout the proper plans for the coming months.

39. #39 by Dr.Ken on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 7:54 am

Infact , NAJIB is qualified to be our finance M. what qualification & experience does he have in the Financial field ? He going to steer the nation into more troubles.

40. #40 by Godfather on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 8:41 am

Of course Najis is qualified. His brother runs a large financial institution. His wife is always on the pulse of the retail industry. What more does he need to steer the country ?

41. #41 by chin on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 8:55 am

No ! Prices increased will never be down ! Put this in you head, digest it, process it & live with it. When petroleum prices are down, don’t expect other derived commodities will, it will not. The damage has already done, its a matter how some industries will bend with it.
    You & me will find ways :
    1) To increase income. / Increase MPS
    2) To decrease consumption / decrease MPC
    Next to a very old & basic word to this, How to survive ?
    Is changing to a new government the solution ? No one will tell, but at least it is a chance to twist around than waiting like a shooting duck.
    With or without Najis, doesn’t make any different in the economy basis. The impact of external trade will hit us hard, with or without Najis, the bullet prove vest is rather thin for Malaysians.
    DSAI may provide a better bullet prove vest, but is he selling the one he has claimed ?
    Either one, we will die ! But we don’t mind to try the other one before we die.

42. #42 by Stephenlsa on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 9:06 am

Very disappointed from me to Pakatan Rakyat. A few months ago, Pakatan Rakyat keep on saying that they already got enough chair to form government but until now unsuccess, they said they want parliment meeting to form government but rejected by YB Abdullah. Today is the parliment meeting, if Pakatan Rakyat got enough chair, why not you all form government today and not YB Lim Kit Siang still say want to look what YB Najib perform his 2009 budjet today. What for to see YB Najib’s bujet 2009 if Pakatan Rakyat already can form government. Or Pakatan Rakyat just kidding on us, confusing us, the economic will worsen with this unstable government. Are Pakatan Rakyat help us or worsen the situation by saying so much rumours. If you all got enough chair please form government faster , if not please shut all of your mouths and not keep on lying on us making us disappointed. Credibility Pakatan Rakyat wii be seen today.

43. #43 by Toyol on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 9:46 am

With his incompetence as Defence Minister where C4 can be easily removed and used as firecrackers to the Nuri helicopter fiasco, what makes anyone think he can do any better as Finance Minister now. Badawi has indeed made a master stroke in exchanging portfolios with him. Najib has no idea what he is getting himself into. Probably made to the deal to save his own skin and to buy time…at the expense of the rakyat.

44. #44 by HJ Angus on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 10:02 am

Two things bother me about the Malaysian economy –
    1.Oil prices are way below the highs when the budget was planned – now with oil hovering around US$80, how does Malaysia get their 5-8% growth target given that PETRONAS contributes so much to our national income?
    2.There must be stricter oversight on foreign investments that make use of national assets like Maybank which probably has lost about US$2bil in the BII high risk venture.

45. #45 by Bigjoe on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 10:22 am

The issue financially is that with reduced oil price, the govt revenue is reduced at a time of increase deficit and Najib need to spend to deal with his political problems.

What Najib really need is the GST but he can only do it if Dr. M backs him. If he was smart he gets that promise from Dr. M and goes for it early. Spend the inside political capital he has in UMNO up front because he is going to have little left when his personal problems become a liability later.. But if he is afraid he will get attacked by Anwar and opposition who will undoubtedly raise hell over it, then its an early indication he won’t be around long either..

My bet is he will go for GST in 2nd half of 2009 just as the economy swings up and oil prices goes up moderately again…

46. #46 by oknyua on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 12:13 pm

“The electorate gave PR a stronger voice in Mar08 to not just provide check and balance to the government, but it is also expected that you play a more constructive role and propose solutions rather then just criticize for the sake of it.” imranj78

You are right, sir. Time of politicking is over – now its time for reconstruction and each and every proposal need to address specific issue.

We have done well in stopping BN making fools out of Malaysians, and now its time for PR to show they are the better alternative. That couldn’t be done by pointing to mistakes of BN, but failing to put forward solutions. BN being incompetent is known, but PR a better administrator, we have to show it. BN must go, but the vacuum left by BN, are we better suited to fill it?

Difficult to take, but that is the truth sir. Thank you.

47. #47 by k1980 on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 2:20 pm

Skyrocketting prices of everything except air and sunshine

Highest inflation in living memory

All those who voted BN on 8th March 2008, are you satisfied now?

48. #48 by Godfather on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 2:49 pm

Was told that Najis didn’t even show up in Parliament today, knowing that the Opposition will be throwing hard questions at him over the budget and other major capital expenditures.

Incredibly irresponsible and chicken-sh!t if you ask me. PM material my foot.

49. #49 by citizenwatch on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 3:41 pm

What can we expect from the new Finance Minister? He’s not present during the morning session in Parliament. Let’s hope he’ll be around in the afternoon to prove himself.

50. #50 by Jong on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 3:59 pm

No excuse for Finance Minister Najib Tun Razak to give Parliament a miss, that’s dereliction of duty! What can be more important than Parliament’s first day of sitting after Hari Raya break? That’s highly irresponsible for an elected MP knowing very well at least through the media/press that his presence is expected to clarify matters of urgency relating to nation’s economy and issues relating to this ‘new’ Finance Minister.

So he and his boss the incompetent Prime Minister soon to be ousted by his own kind, thinks that the Pakatan Rakyat MPs representing over 40% of Malaysians are not to bge taken seriously and downright fools?

How can we expect this man said to be a PM-in-waiting when he is not even fit to be a responsible Member of Parliament?

We must say “NO” to this puppet/agent of Mahathirism and make sure the former dictator is not allowed power to dictate terms and form ‘Cabinet of his choice from the comfort of his home!

This will be another joke for the world to see, how useless Malaysians can be if we allow a repetition of his leadership! This country will further go down the chute of doom if Najib is allowed to take over leadership of UMNO and BN government.

Will the ghost of Altantuya and her departed ancestors be watching over us, to see that the truth is exposed and the murderers of Altantuya are sent to hell?

Let’s not just pray, let’s do something!

51. #51 by Jamesy on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 4:17 pm

Uncle Lim,

Will our electricity tariff meters be lowered as well?

52. #52 by imranj78 on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 10:29 pm

I for one agree that Najib as the Finance minister should have been present during the budget debate. His absence in parliament during the debate is improper and prevents constructive discussions.

53. #53 by lchk on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 11:26 pm

imranj78 posted:

“The Opposition criticizes the government’s budget weeks in advance of the debate today but we have not heard anything about the detailed basis of their criticism. As such, as far as I am aware, they are shooting blanks. Hopefully they will finally have their guns loaded with good facts today and we will finally understand what the criticism is all about.”

Anwar and his fellow MPs were all ready to review and debate about the 2009 Budget and Najib and gang didn’t even have the guts to show up and fulfill their duties as elected representatives to bother to show up in parliament.

Tells a lot about their characters.

54. #54 by elaineganmaclaine on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 2:50 pm

I don’t seem to have much confidence in our upcoming new PM, don’t think he’s going to make a difference to what’s been already done!
    I’m now waiting to see what other failures/ disappointments he’s going to make, or MAYBE shock me with a selfless solution/ plan for once!