Police should stop harassing Hindraft/RPK supporters over PM’s Hari Raya Open House

Police are taking things too far in initiating investigations against two groups over their presence at the Prime Minister-cum-Cabinet Hari Raya Open House last Wednesday – the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) members and “I’m with RPK” supporters who had turned up at the Open House with T-shirts bearing the theme of their cause.

Four Hindraf members, K Shanti, wife of Hindraf leader-in-exile P Waythamoorthy, Hindraf information chief S Jayathas, Selangor coordinator K Tamilselvam and national events coordinator R Kannan have been served with written notice under Section 111 of the Criminal Procedure Code to report to the Dang Wangi district police headquarters on Tuesday to give their statements for illegal assembly under Section 27 (5) of the Police Act, as well as trespass under Section 447 of the Penal Code.

Three persons, lawyer-blogger Haris Ibrahim, lawyer Amarjit Sidhu and blogger P. Surind Raj are required to report to the police in connection with their “I’m with RPK” demonstration at the PWTC Hari Raya Open House.

Are the Umno leaders and Police seriously suggesting that the allegedly 200,000 people who visited the Prime Minister-cum-Cabinet Open House, particularly who went with more than five in number, could be investigated by the police for illegal assembly and trespass?

If so, Malaysians should think twice before they go to future Open Houses whether of the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister or Cabinet Ministers – as they risk criminal sanctions!

The Police should stop harassing Hindraf and RPK supporters for visiting the Prime Minister-cum-Cabinet Hari Raya Open House as if they are common criminals and end their ridiculous investigations to concentrate on reducing crime.

Umno leaders and others are entitled to their view whether the peaceful and orderly presence of the two groups at the PWTC Hari Raya Open House should take the opportunity plead their cause for the release of the Hindraf Five and Raja Petra Kamaruddin, and they have done so – in many cases, gone to extremes in inciting racial and religious hatred – but it is completely unwarranted for the police to be dragooned into the intimidation process to create a culture of fear.

It is also utterly baseless for the Prime-Minister-in-waiting, Datuk Seri Najib Razak to go overboard in his remarks in Kuala Terengganu yesterday in suggesting that both groups were guilty of “unruly and indecent behaviour” which could even “undermine the country’s unity and security”.

It is such making a mountain out of a molehill which characterizes a tendency to abuse powers – which becomes very dangerous to the people and country if such a person is vested with huge powers as in the case of a Prime Minister-in-waiting.

1. #1 by HJ Angus on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 3:27 pm

I agree it would be rather heavy-handed to get angry at the HINDRAF supporters.
    What happened to the forgiving spirit of the holy month?

http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2008/10/malaysiakini-readers-response-to-najibs.html

2. #2 by johan_my on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 3:31 pm

I didn’t know that one would need a police permit to attend an open house. And if they associate that wearing the same type of shirt is association, does it mean we now have to ensure that we wear only one of its kind attire when we attend open house? The PM and his cabinet may have felt embarrassed by what happened. However, that could have been avoided if the PM had accorded a meeting to these people.
    All these could have been avoided if they had only not use the ISA on citizens.

Cheers.

3. #3 by kftang on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 3:45 pm

It is very ridiculous that attending an open Hari Raya house can be so hazardous and subject to intimidation that people will think twice in future before going to such functions. Where is the spirit of forgive-and-forget during this auspicious and joyous occasion? Where is our so-called Malaysian hospitality?

4. #4 by Jamesy on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:00 pm

“It is also utterly baseless for the Prime-Minister-in-waiting, Datuk Seri Najib Razak to go overboard in his remarks in Kuala Terengganu yesterday in suggesting that both groups were guilty of “unruly and indecent behaviour” which could even “undermine the country’s unity and security”.” -Uncle Lim.
    ————————————————————–

Below is 3 fundamental reforms in Najib’s future tenure as the Prime Minister:

1) Increased use of ISA.

2) Increased selective prosecution.

3) Increased police state.

5. #5 by Captain on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:03 pm

If this is true, the PM , his family, his cabinet and his admin members must also be investigated for illegal assembly for the same reasons.

How does an open house become an illegal assembly? visitors can come dressed in any way they like.

The police seems is afraid of their own shadows.

6. #6 by Yee Siew Wah on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:07 pm

Hindraf is a peace loving and law abiding group fighting for their fundamental rights as Malaysian citizens.
    What type of morons we have in the government trying to ban this movement. These sucmbags are not only racialistic but have no brains.
    And here we have the so called “efficient” police force trying to harass this movement instead of resolving the horrible day to day crimes happening all over the country.
    By the way, here is one good comments from one blogger in MT today. Good piece of info:-

“When it was highlighted that an ex-child genius was working as a high-class prostitute in UK, so many UMNO people offered to help her, but when so many young Penan girls were raped and taken advantage of, what do we have – silence????? Why – is it becoz there’s no glamour in protecting the native rights? Or you think it would be too troublesome? Or was it that you guys prefer to deal with cases that allows you to travel abroad or go holiday on the reason that you’re helping these people?

So to the Puteras and Puteris of UMNO – you placed prostitutes and Mat Rempits above rape victims? Yeah – Again, your hypocrisy has shone ever so brightly again.

LET THE ENTIRE MALAYSIA AND WORLD SEE WHAT UMNO YOUTH AND PUTERIS ARE MADE OF !

– miniaturz at Citizen’s Blog, The Star

7. #7 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:12 pm

polis gelabah bila si botak menyalak yalak di tambah pulak herdik dari si najib. pi lah tangkap penculik si sharlini….pi lah tangkap si pembunuh wanita mongolia….pi lah tangkap pengamal politik wang….pi lah tangkap pengebom rumah shahrizat/teresa kok….pi lah tangkap perogol gadis penan….pi lah siasat aduan rasuah PM DPM kemudian tangkap depa….kalau tak mampu tangkap biah tuhan yang mengadili mereka dan menghukum mereka….barang siapa yang memberi dan menerima wang jahaman akan terasa panaslah tangan mereka bila mereka menyuapkan nasi ke mulut mereka….

8. #8 by yyh on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:16 pm

he is not even PM yet, but look at how he shows off his power. Gee, this is no good prognosis of his administration.
    whither you, Anwar and PR? And razaleigh, do this nation a favour. Join PR now and together with Anwar, manage this country so that our kids will have a brighter future. Please, will you?

9. #9 by Bobster on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:31 pm

Mr Lah Lah already no power. Who else the culprit behind the scene?

You know I know everybody knows. Let’s kick this jis fellow out in the next erection. Cis!

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:32 pm

Definitely the govt. is not happy with what happened and UMNO youth has lodged a police report.

Of course anyone can attend open Raya Open House but arguably, no matter how original an idea, it is neither civil or graceful – and out of context – to come, at the PM/Cabinet’s invitation, for the express political purpose to protest and lobby for the release of Hindraf’s leaders & RPK that the same PM/Cabinet have recently placed under ISA detention.

It is not the question of rightness or justice of their cause but a question of appropriateness of the occasion, timing, platform & venue, which was more to shake hands make greeting, eat and be merry and celebrate rather than make a political point!

You can’t say that their primary purpose was to engage in celebrations and that making a plea for release of ISA detainess was merely collateral because the majority of them were clad in orange T-shirts with “free RPK or “No to ISA” insignia printed on them, the PM complained that none of them except greeted him “Selamat Hari Raya”, and the groups themselves admitted to reporters that they did not eat any of the food offered because their sole intention was to send a message to the PM.

On technicalities, Trespass is out, as the group was specifically allowed into PWTC with reluctant permission of the PM to join the public queue to (supposedly) greet him.

On unlawful assembly, this is an interesting point.

For Police Act section 27(5)’s application there must first of all be an assembly, which is unlawful without permit issued by police.

The word “assembly” should have its ordinary grammatical meaning constituted of the coming together of two persons or things but in the context of the Police Act would have to be an assembly gathered for a common purpose of protesting or delivering a political message which is ordinarily intended to take place in a public area – of which PWTC opened to all may qualify as such a public place – but even if it were not, ie if PWTC were a private place, then the gathering would still be an “assembly” if it engaged in an activity directed to, or is intended to be witnessed or heard or participated in by persons outside that private place, in either instances of which such a gathering is likely to be prejudicial to the interest of the security, disturbance of peace and public order….

So was the gathering in PWTC of Hindraf’s & RPK’s supporters an assembly in the sense contemplated in the Police Act???

11. #11 by jjireh99 on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:38 pm

for goodness sake, mr dpm, get real! You want respect, EARNED IT!!!! MOCKERY OF THE CENTURY!!!!

12. #12 by Emily Pratt on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 5:00 pm

Our “Boys in Blues” are bunch of Losers with a capital L.

Real criminals are those that rob, kill, burglar, commit thievery, etc…

Not those that went to an OPEN HOUSE event to present flowers and teddy bear.

What a bunch of LOSERS!

13. #13 by iskandarjohan on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 5:24 pm

… kepada semua yg cuba buat kacau di majlis org.. kepada HINDRAF aku juga tak puas hati pasal ISA tp you all tarnishing the KESUCIAN DAN KEHORMATAN MY RELIGION!!! Siapa kata you all tak kurang ajar dan biadap dan bukan datang untuk buat kacau?? Kalau datang dengan baik hanya dengan niat untuk berhari raya dan bermaaf maafan kamu semua tak akan datang dengan berpakaian seragam dan membuat bising dan juga kurang ajar potong barisan.. kesimpulan HINDRAF YOU ARE THE REAL RACIST..

14. #14 by Old.observer on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 5:39 pm

For Najib to say that the group undermines national security and unity is a complete JOKE!

No matter how inappropriate the occasion may seem to anyone, they are simply NOT a threat to national security. And definitely not unity. Are our unity so fragile that this act of compassion to demand the release of RPK and Hindraf is deemed so dangerous that it will destroy unity? Surely not!

If this is the sort of statement that we can expect in future from our next PM, then, we are doomed.

Bolehland is about to enter into a new era of the New Dark Age.

15. #15 by Jong on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 5:46 pm

Wasn’t the unruly Penang Bukit Bendera Umno’s tearing down of Koh Tsu Koon’s picture and pendatang Mamak Ahmad Ismail’s racist slur in full view of the media, worse?

I was at RPK’s Day 1 at the PJ Magistrate Court and some of the ladies were talking about PM’s openhouse; said they were all so orderly, had infact been forewarned to behave. It was those security guys/police who were creating problems and tak sopan. The govt-controlled mainstream media were to be blamed for creating “stories” just because they all came wearing “NO to ISA – free RPK” t-shirts.

Apparently they tried to refuse the visitors entry, said they should not wear those ISA t-shirts in. Was there a dress-code?

Those ladies then told Security they weren’t turning back since they had travelled all the way from as far as Seremban but if asked to remove their tees, they would gladly do it(!!) but would they be charged for indecent exposure? They were allowed in then. Hahaha, that was hilarious! :D

16. #16 by justiciary on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 5:46 pm

Today it was reported in Sin Chew Daily how a car can be stolen within 3 minutes.According to the police the stolen cars were first kept in a warehouse before transporting them out of the country by containers through Port Kelang.The question is other than the police why the custom officers simply fail to check the content of the container before granting approval for custom clearance prior to export.Clearly there is the element of bribery and corruption among the enforcement officers.The government instead of wasting its time on detaining people like RPK and The Hindraf 5 should focus their effort in eliminating corruption and thereby help to cut down car theft and enhance public safety.

17. #17 by pjboy on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 5:47 pm

It is clear the ‘Master’ & ‘Servant’ mentality is still high in the minds of BN-UMNO leaders. Just look at the way they talk & propaganda. The ‘Saya tak suka di-cabar’ attitude will always remain.

Our so called future PM will be the first ever for someone who has called for the bathing of the keris in chinese blood when he was UMNO youth chief. If that was not seditious, what is?

18. #18 by IbnAbdHalim on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 5:50 pm

Another reason why Najib should not be the next PM.

19. #19 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 5:53 pm

dear jeffrey,

putting aside politics and hindraf cause and even the isa issue, i think the raya open house should accomodate the spirit of forgive and forgive.

the law may determine the black and white of an issue, but there are unwritten laws of humanity that goes beyond what is written in textbooks or case management.

i think, the pm and the cabinet may express :sadness: that the raya open house has been usurp by the commotion of hindraf supporters and rpk supporters, AND IT ENDS THERE. getting the police to go after them lack this very spirit of sharing a little kindness and joy with them.

even during wars among different group, a truce is set for religious celebration. what more we are all malaysians. i beg to differ with you sir.

abdullah and najib, should have expressed sadness to see the little girl with the teddy bear bearing a raya card, rather than the stated. a little goodwill goes a long way.

20. #20 by seals on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 5:59 pm

where else the man from Penang who made racial statement still free and no action to the police reports made. The key word here is, if you are not with UMNO then even if you fart at their events…it can be a criminal act.

21. #21 by OrangRojak on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 6:00 pm

This is a very odd situation, from a non-Malaysian’s point of view. A leader of a government that claims there’s political and social turmoil, presenting himself in public without any attempt to vet attendees. And someone said something he didn’t want to hear? Shock horror! What a rude awakening this must have been! Is this a democratic nation, or not? If yes, then only a simple majority agree with the leader, and a large proportion may not. If you don’t want to hear dissenting voices, ISSUE INVITATIONS TO SYCOPHANTS ONLY.

I saw a very worrying article in the NST not so long ago, where John Prescott, then DPM of the UK, visited Malaysia and praised it as a role model of racial integration. The Malaysian government could always call up their old friend and ask him how he dealt with dissenting voices – the UK press didn’t call him “Two Jabs” for nothing.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/onthisday/hi/dates/stories/may/16/newsid_4098000/4098929.stm

In summary, man with an issue throws an egg (accurately) at the DPM. DPM thumps him. A bit of Taiwan-politics-style wrestling. Police cuff the man, take him away, question him and release him. No further action taken against either party. That’s democracy folks! If the majority wants to ride rough-shod over the minority, you’ve got to expect the minority to be unhappy about it from time to time. I am surprised the egg-throwing man wasn’t charged with some kind of assault or disturbing the peace, throwing stuff is unacceptable. He should have done what people in a real democracy are free to do and stick to criticism, even if some of it can be a bit unkind:

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article47145.ece

What I struggle to understand is, why all this nonsense with ‘lodging reports’ days after an event? Were there no police at the Open House? What new evidence has come to light that supports legal action? Is it a case of waiting to see if fanned embers can be made to burn bright enough first?

22. #22 by Jana on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 6:17 pm

Do we need this pee brain tainted Najib to be our PM. Look like there is none better than him in racialist UMNO. WE will cowed by your threats. The other 50% of the Malaysians will join force and give Najib and the UMNO led BN a permanent burial in the next election.

23. #23 by benny on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 6:32 pm

I am wondering where this country heading too.The umno gov is much worried abt hindraf than the fall of global economy.If hindraf is found guilty by our head of police dept MR NAJIS,than the same law should be applied to the UITM STUDENTS AND KJ.
    Giving raya card and teddy bear has offended the umno muslim,just imagine if your closed one are detained for years without trial.We need to blame the mamak and the flip flop for the current status of the country.I HAVE NO HOPE ANYMORE ON OUR POLITICIANS

24. #24 by abunsui on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 6:56 pm

“I’m with RPK” supporters who had turned up at the Open House with T-shirts bearing the theme of their cause.

If to wear T-Shirt of such theme also cannot – UMNO/BN should not proclaim this Bolehland is a democratic country.

25. #25 by Loh on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 6:57 pm

I suppose the organiser of the open house must have applied for police permit for the function. If they had, these well-wishers, or not-so-well wishers did not require permit to participate in the open house. Whether they took the food is not the issue, and what they wore did not require police permit, at least up to now there is no law demanding attire-standard.

If the organiser did not require police permit, and other guests who attended the function did not require police permit, and they were not charged for illegal assembly, why should the police charge them for any offence days after the event? The police was supposedly there to maintain law and order, and they should have arrested any persons who were deemed to have breached the law. The police cannot be a tool for revenge for the powers-that-be.

26. #26 by Jana on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 7:17 pm

No matter what happens, no matter what the media says, no matter what the moronic UMNO and the MIC leaders says, Indians will continue to have undying faith in the struggle. Till Pakatan Rakyat takes power at the Federal level, our hopes and faith is with Hindraf to deliver the goods in association with like minded parties. UMNO should stop their caveman attitide in fooling the people by spinning racial hatred to divert the people from the core issues plaguing the country. Grow up UMNOputras

27. #27 by baoqingtian on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 7:25 pm

Aiyo! Pak Lah, you’re already old and a grandfather as well, but how come you not as forgiving as my grandfather?
    Stop being childish and please wake up from your sleep!

28. #28 by Godfather on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 7:30 pm

This is no longer Badawi’s call. Najis and his goons are now in charge of the police force. Welcome to the real world.

29. #29 by Mr Smith on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 7:52 pm

The PM, DPM, and the police are all barking at the moon. Lunatics.
    How on earth can they be charged for illegal gathering, is mind boggling. Only idiots can think of charging them.
    And greater idiots like the DPM linking it to national security.

30. #30 by Mr Smith on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 7:57 pm

How convenient it is for UMNO to bully Indians because they have ‘no where to hide’, ‘no one to turn to’.
    And see how easily UMNO members get away with whatever they want to do, write and speak. Look at the Bar Council forum disruption, the UiTM protest, Ahmad Ismail’s histrionics and Utusan’s hate journalism.
    Apparently they are above the law.
    BN will never win back Indians’ support in future elections. It is lost for good.

31. #31 by Tonberry on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 8:35 pm

Old.observer Says:
    Bolehland is about to enter into a new era of the New Dark Age.

There will be no return after then. We are finished :(

32. #32 by teacher on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 9:10 pm

This open house was for raya. The hindraf and RPK group went to voice their request to free their comrades. Is this wrong???? I can see no crime here.The next PM seems so hot under his collar.Don’t forget guys UMNO elections soon and this is how you whip up support for yourself. Be RACIAL and play the race card. Here we go again.This UMNO guys never fail to play the same tune, time and time again. Its RACIAL, RACIAL and RACIAL again. I am sure every Indian will remember this for a long time
    Please lah at least for me its no more visit to this open or closed house craps. This is the price you pay for being downright greedy for food. From now on think think twice before you attend any open house esp those organised by BN and UMNO

33. #33 by vsp on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 9:14 pm

In reply to batuputeh in an early thread, this was my reply on why BN don’t understand respect.

batuputeh says:
    “You want to get your voice heard, you got to be respected. and you only earn your respect by giving yours first.”

————-
    batuputeh:

BN respect your voice? BN itself does not know this philosophy of respect in the first place. Respect is not in their dictionary.

As far as I know BN has never shown any amount of charity to their opponents even in their moment of glory and triumphs. All that they exhibit are to lust for even more power and cruelty.

They are not even civilised. By sticking to the ISA they are showing that they are the prosecutor, accuser and judge all rolled into one monstrous creature that don’t understand about justice, humility and human decency.

———-

To continue my comments further: Yes, they will only respect you when you are dead! Remember P. Patto?

When he was alive, he was excoriated, despised, ISAed and practically ignored by the BN.

When he died, he was given his due respects by these same BN dogs who were gleefully insulting him when he was alive. Suddenly, Patto was recognised as a patriotic Malaysian!

Hindraf, that’s the respect you will get from the BN after all of you are 6-feet underground.

34. #34 by Anak Msia on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 9:36 pm

Racial ?

wait until the UMNO Assembly, that’s is racial.

Whenever the assembly is going on, i don’t on my TV & won’t buy newspaper, it is just too much to digest.

35. #35 by alancheah on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 10:08 pm

I am still eagerly waiting for Sky-Change to come.
    Everything will be different by then!

God Bless.

36. #36 by tselau on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 10:45 pm

Anyone here who has watched the Singaporean Movie titled MONEY NOT ENOUGH 2? It has true description of the government of Singapore, and I heard from a friend in Singapore, that their prime minister had also watched the movie and take it very lightly about the characteristics of the Singaporean government, brushing it aside that it is all but entertainment.

If anyone here in Malaysia were to have produced such a movie critising the government, I am sure the whole team including the actors, actresses, director and all will ISAed.

37. #37 by alaneth on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 11:45 pm

They (BN) has not learnt their lesson yet. It is a big factor of Hindraf that caused BN to lose 2/3 & 5 states.

Continue harassing Hindraf & may the next GE be the fall of BN & a complete change of government to PR.

What harm did Hindraf do to wear pro-RPK T-shirts & giving a teddy to AAB? What harm did Hindraf do giving out roses at Parliment road? What harm did Hindraf do to gather peacefully, only to be met with riot police? What harm did the Hindraf leaders (now in Kamunting) do to earn them the cruel ISA?

The rakyat speaks for themselves… Let’s wait for the next GE.

38. #38 by k on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 11:50 pm

What is wrong with Malaysian police. Coincidentally wear identical T-shirt also cannot ah?

The police also wear identical shirt, pant and shoe! They don’t see us complain about that.

39. #39 by alaneth on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 12:03 am

The oppressors of Hindraf are suffering from inferiority complex. When people power comes into play in the Mar 8 political tsunami, they are badly shaken & they are so afraid of repercussions. But the more they oppress Hindraf, the stronger it will become… & the opposite will happen to MIC.

40. #40 by yhsiew on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 12:13 am

Apparently BN is not afraid of losing complete Indian support in the next general election.

41. #41 by Jong on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 12:26 am

Remember what that Ali Rusted say to Kayveas? PPP can leave BN for all he cares. Only thick face Kayveas and Koh Tsu Koon will stay on.

42. #42 by bclee on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:00 am

Malaysian are gone under current government.
    the police force only work when told to by Bee-N government,they can’t even think rationally.
    where is justice in Malaysia?

43. #43 by rider on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 2:12 am

Anyway nobody at the top seems to be worried about rising crime rate in the country, all they are worried is about how they lost face here or lost face there. They have ISA what? Sorry to divert YB, what do you think of bollywood actor Shahrukh Khan getting the pangkat ‘Datuk’ tomorrow? and is it true that Sharukh Khan was Hang Tuah and our Minister Mandor Hang Jebat in their former incarnations?

44. #44 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 4:46 am

In re. to ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH’s posting yesterday at 17: 53.34 , I agree with all that – that Hari Raya & Open house etc should have the “spirit of forgive”, govt should not resort to police harrassment and intimidation especially when Govt. is First Cause in precipitating these people’s predicament in detaining without trial and for an indefinite period their husbands, fathers and friends.

We know where our sympathies lie on issues like ISA & Hindraf. Protest is legitimate, and probably we must, whether in an enclosed Area with police permit or in the streets without, facing the water cannons with chemical spray, the FRU’s baton – but indirectly via an Festive Open House???

But tell me how do you otherwise solve this problem other than (say) undoing the wrong of releasing all ISA detainees, the problem stated being:

1. This Hari Raya incident, with ‘forgiveness’ and all that is unnlikely the last incident after a verbal rebuke and reprimand. It is a “precedent” for repetition for every Open House by every government minister in BN in every Festive season beginning next with Deepavali, then Christmas and Chinese New Year until ISA detainees are released!

2. It is basically an arm twisting pressure tactic : 30 or 40 suporters can, next time around, swell to 300 or 400 supporters, all clad in orange T-shirts with “free RPK or “No to ISA”, threatening to cause an ugly and unpleasant incident to embarrass the “host” if they were not let in by guards or police to partake the celebrations in the spirit of festivities, their primary purpose being to highlight their political message to all guests present, they’re not interested in the food there, not interested in the greetings nor the ‘forgiveness’ as you will recall the Hindraf’s visitors told the press that in Hari Raya’s spirit of forgiveness they were there to tell the PM that they forgave him but would still require him to release the ISA detainees….

In short this is a new way to circumvent the impossibility of procuring police permit for ISA protest but via traditional and practice of Open Houses in festive season, to take advantage of hosts (especially where they are govt ministers) of their hospitality and threatening (indeed black mailing) them with implicit threat of altercation and quarrel to the embarrassment of guests and hosts alike if they were not allowed into the host’s house or place of celebration to make their political point there under the cover of being a guests by open invitation to Open House.

It is not the point that the use of ISA by the host (govt ministers) is wrong, thats a separate issue. We know that they (govt ministers) take an opposing position but do we go to their house as guest invited ostensibly to partake in their celebrations but actually to take our quarrel to them in that auspicious occasion that they invite us? Is that right? If they allow us, would we not take advantage to use the same method for every other occasion and open house to come, where we could protest indirectly without police permit and without costs of being clobbered in the head by baton or sprayed with chemical laced water but with offer of drinks and foods whether we take them or not???? You think that is right? I don’t think so! Otherwise it will also spell a death knell to the entire spirit of Open Houses (farcical though we may think of it in terms of fostering unity) exploited in such a way as an indirect venue for an agenda of political protests normally reserved for the streets!

45. #45 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 4:58 am

The trouble with Hindraf’s organisers – as the history of their protest methods consistently shows – they are not only innovative, dare devil and daring in their approaches and methods of protest, they also don’t really care about the propriety of their manner of protests as long as it maximises results and effective in achieving goals, a kind of ‘ends justifies the means’ approach which often not only brings maximum problems and inconvenience to those whom they oppose but also in turn invites and generates maximum problems for themselves when the opposite side reciprocates by upping the ante of challenge and throwing force back.

46. #46 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 5:07 am

One greeting or one little girl giving a teddy bear to AAB does not change the genral genre, objective and character of the entire “plot” or the behaviour of these protestors. If you read the reports, they were not generally interested in food or drinks or celebrations there : just the main objective of making their protests and delivering mesage of their plea for the release of all ISA detainees directly to ministers hosts in front of their guests who were there not for the same objective, even if sharing same sympathies with their cause.

47. #47 by vsp on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 6:52 am

When UMNO and their minions Utusan Malaysia bark wildly, the police are ready to acquiese to their masters – even though the complaints border on the farce and are petty and ridiculous.

But when raakyat with genuine complaints make reports they were not acted on.

48. #48 by counsel888 on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 7:13 am

I beg to differ witth you and with the cacophony of protest that has emerged from the inappropriate actions of Hindraf and the Raja Petra Kamaruddin supporters at the prime ministers open house during the Eid celebrations recently.

For starters, it was not an appropriaate moment or a place in which to carry out an embarassment. The second point I make is this. If Hindraf wish to further damage their credibility and the impact of their statement made in 25 November 2007 when they cleverly captured the attention of the world in what was a morally and politically defensible act, they can go around playing Tamil movies and tainting their credibility with a link to Raja Petra Kamaruddin.

What moral high ground they won in November 25/2007 has been squandered through emotional and unnecessary tactless displays of bad manners unlikely to win them any further support from any worthwhile quarter. This is perhaps where the Indians of Malaysia can learn from the more politically savvy and tactically superior Chinese and Malays. The Chinese have made quiet progress with the Batang Kali incident.

That particular incident was one, like the enslavement of Tamils in Malaysia, a matter Britain sought to exculpate itself from for decades.

Whereas Hindraf ventilated their greviance through a high profile demonstration in 2007, the Chinese worked quietly behind the scenes in achieving the same result more effectively.

The culprit that ordered the actions of the Malaysian government against Hindraf on 25 November 2007, was the hand of the British government through its second secretary in Kuala Lumpur aat the British High Commission. It was not Abdullah Badawi acting of his own volition or initiative. He simply reacted under pressure. But I will rest that point here for the present.

Raja Petra Kamaruddin, apart from his very poor command and structure of any language he choses to express himself in, has found himself in the hot water he belongs in not for no good reason.

At a personal level I do not see any political or other value in any of the posts he has made to date other than his inate ability to appeal to an ignorant sub culture of those who value ‘coffee shop gossip’ as being fact and his irresponsible colourful and colourable rhetoric, truth.

Many of his allegations are made without substance. It is for the best part mere conjecture which he relies on to provoke and sensationalise the lives of others. Much more is defamatory and criminally so. The last one I read of a posting by the man would have earned him a jail sentence in many a liberal jurisdiction for his overtly racist taunts and comments about the Malays and by implication their religion Islam. There can be no justification for such slurs against anyone and there were none offered by Petra Kamaruddin.

You are probably as old as myself and would probably remember the May 13 incident, the more recent politically inspired but racially directed pogroms in Indonesia and other parts of the world including Australia (Sydney in summer of 2006). Thats an outcome no one wants to repeat or experience again for whatever reason. In provoking such hatred Petra Kamaruddin is being generous with the lives of others and has no right to the privilege of freedom for his indulgences.

There is never a time when tolerance is not a necessary pre requisite for negotiation. Hindraf are in the hands of ignorant, poor unprofessional and reckless advisors who are playing off the emotional vulnerability of its supporters and exploiting it for pyrric effect. Much of the legal fraternity appears to suffer from this malady.

Never in the contemporary history of Indians in Malaysia has such a spontaneous movement acting with intrepid determination succeeded in unsettling a deeply entrenched culture of dominance in politics by a group like the MIC and its cohorts in the BN reliant on a cultural mindset of total subservience by this minority with such devastating effect. The March 8 election result has by most accounts of foreign observes abroad and with a presence in Malaysia been attributed to the Hindraf action and their ability to have split the vote where it counted.

To now resort to the mundane worthless acts of gate crashing to make a point (what point) at an event such as the Eid open house celebration with Raja Petra Kamaruddin supporters in tow was to demolish the entire gains of November 25 2007 through sheer idiocy.

Negotiation is an art form that requires careful thinking and planning devoid of the emotion that often presents itself as an attractive distraction.

It requires sacrifice and not selfishness. There is much that the Hindraf supporters can learn from those who planned the November 25 event. There is a lot more they can now learn from them in their absence. It requires bold measures that only bold intelligent and committed people are capable of. Hindraf and the spouse of its founding members are certainly not whats required to fruther their cause.

I have had the unfortunate opportunity to have read the Hindraf pleadings before the High Court in Britain if it did reach that forum. It was poorly drafted, it failed to disclose any valid cause of action, it failed to properly particularise any of its claims and it was embarassing. In fact it was begging to be struck out. But thats the standard of the Malaysian legal profession and Hindraf and other clients of this group cannot be blamed for it.

I now go to the root of all of the problems people in opposition and in government face in Malaysia. There is an incompetent and highly self centered culture that dominates the legal profession in Malaysia. The bulk of its lawyers are large fish in a very small pond who perpetuate myths about themselves and from time to time make that fatal contribution to the elevated position of the bench. The rot begins with the inadequacy of post admission experience and continues unabated till practitioners are either caught out, retire or fall on their own sword. In one short sentence, it is the arrogance of ignorance.

There is too much “LA Law” type of a mentality that has permeated every level of the profession there. The advice they proffer to their clients is dangerously inadequate, lacking in substance demonstrative of a shallow understanding of the law and those procedures that go with it whilst their presentation both orally and in writing reflects a lack of probity and skill.

Lawyers are required to be forthright and honest and at all times, work in the interests of justice by upholding the law and defending the honour and integrity of the courts they operate in (and that includes parliament the highest court). In the process they must also of course balance these professional obligations with their obligations towards their clients.

Judging from statements made by or prepared by Theresa Kok’s lawyers, Anwar Ibrahims lawyers, now Hindraf and Raja Petra Kamaruddin (yes even he is entitled to honest and quality legal representation) and having observed the outcomes and public outpouring from information and tactics employed and encouraged by their lawyers, it is not difficult to see where the root of all of the confusion lies and it must be checked.

Gopal Raj Kumar

49. #49 by vsp on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 7:14 am

The Muslim ministers were ready to split hairs on the outward form of what is right or wrong in an open house during the end of the holy month. But they fail on one of the greatest obligations of being a Muslim – to be humble and recognise one’s wrong and to forgive. Do they do that? No, instead they go on harrassing the people they have wronged.

I remember reading in the Bible that Jesus castigated the Pharisee that if a man were to lose his sheep even on a Sabbath, it was not wrong to search for the lost sheep. What’s more, to do something inherently right and discard the outward form of man-made hypocrisy of an open house.

50. #50 by batuputeh on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 7:27 am

those yg make stupid remarks… well you guys are stupid. bunch of morons.

tak paham2 ke? when you come as guest to someone’s house, tak kan laa nak berpakat tunjuk lagak berprotes?

51. #51 by kyototan on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 7:39 am

By looking at this make me think, are lion dancer who are all in the same uniform when performing and also with the drum and gongs beating during CNY private open house will be consider illegal gathering very soon.

52. #52 by izrafeil on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 7:47 am

you know what Uncle Lim, Karma! What Ameno did was to plant the evil seed, with the passage of time, the seed will grow and grow and grow and will one day explode and eliminate Ameno as we know it….

53. #53 by harryengland on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 10:08 am

Five Malaysian Prime Ministers screwed the Malays in UMNO by barring them the type of education that a lot of the non-Malays had access to due to the Nationalistic emotions these PMs had for country and race. Barring Tungku Abdul Rahman the PMs that followed saw the intelligence of the Chinese and Indians as a threat to their political domination. It was easy for these cheap-educated PMs to de-educate the Malay masses and be able to brainwash them. They made these easy-peasy, soft touch Malays follow them into their little kingdoms.
    But, behold, there were a few clever Malays who managed to ease themselves out of this ‘managed’ kingdom to give their children a better education that was more ‘objective’ than ‘subjective’. Thereupon were born people like Annuar Ibrahim, RPK, Ahmedneil and so many others in the spectrum of Malay society. Still these are only a minority due mainly to the suppresion to exposure to proper education. Malays, if given the democratic opportunities of exposure to proper education, could be as good as if not better than their non-Malays compatriots.
    In my childhood I had a few Malay friends (1950s) and we could talk about almost anything, like brothers. The non-Malays have a lot to learn about the good manners and diplomacy of the Malays (not the extermest Malays in UMNO). The Malays in UMNO depict a picture of Malays as a rude and evil race. The real Malay who is not influnced by UMNO is just the opposite. They are a good race worthy of respect and mutual-respect.
    The others in this world are no different. If you see a a group of Chinese or Indians across a table they may seem a unruly and disrespestful group of people. Get to know them, introduce yourself to them and they are so respectful and friendly. The next time you see them they wish you before you them.
    But let us not judge which is or is not a a good race becos when someday you fall down you don’t know who is going to pick you up. He may just be someone of a race you never liked!
    I love people and I love Malaysia except……….no,no,no not except those from UMNO. They may just be the ones who pick me up when I fall down. But I hope that the Malays in UMNO will give their chidren a better open education.
    Best Regards from England !!

54. #54 by madmix on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 10:39 am

It goes to show how stupid the government PR machinery is. If they had kept quiet about the matter, that would be the end of the matter. The harass and the matter is highlighted brought to the attention of the public for a long period of time.

55. #55 by Loh on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 11:43 am

///just the main objective of making their protests and delivering mesage of their plea for the release of all ISA detainees directly to ministers hosts in front of their guests ///–Jeffrey

If that is the only way that they can do it, and it comes only once a year, why not. I suppose when you deal with arrogant people, it might be natural to match their behaviour, and difficult to be polite.

56. #56 by hvpl on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:00 pm

Gopal Raj Kumar says:-
    “For starters, it was not an appropriaate moment or a place in which to carry out an embarassment”.
    Is being stopped from going to Parliament House an appropriate moment & place? Pray tell, WHEN is it appropriate?

“Raja Petra Kamaruddin, apart from his very poor command and structure of any language he choses to express himself in, has found himself in the hot water he belongs in not for no good reason”. “At a personal level I do not see any political or other value in any of the posts he has made to date ….”
    You seem to think you have a better command of English? RPK speaks from the heart. How better to endear with Malaysians? His eyeball rate is enough to convince anyone that people do find value in his posts. Even the MSM acknowledged that his writings had a huge impact on the recent GE results. You may ignore him but even the Government do not. That says a great deal about you.

“Many of his allegations are made without substance. It is for the best part mere conjecture which he relies on to provoke and sensationalise the lives of others”.
    Then, why is the Government unable to disprove them in a Court of Law? Rather, they chose to lock him up incommunicado. That says a lot of his writings.

“You are probably as old as myself and would probably remember the May 13 incident, …”
    I am as old as yourself and remember the road to destruction when we allowed them to prevail with their racial amok run. Never again will Malaysians allow them to prevail with this racism.

“To now resort to the mundane worthless acts of gate crashing to make a point”.
    When is attending an “OPEN” house considered gate crashing? Every citizen of any political persuasion are invited to attend, are they not? So, the members of HINDRAF and anti-ISA are also citizens of this country and have every right to attend. It was the security handlers, who do not understand what “Open House” means.

I look forward to your response, Mr. Gopal.

57. #57 by Kasim Amat on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:08 pm

The government has the responsibility to prevent social instability and Hindraf is the root of the social instability. As long as UMNO is in charge, we will make sure that everyone follow the social order and ISA is necessary to use against anyone who disrespect this order.

58. #58 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 7:31 pm

59. #59 by lofuji on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 10:55 pm

YB LKS,
    During this period of uncertainty(read:global crisis) PR elected MP’s should bring up in Parliament the issue of reduction in petrol price.When crude oil went up to US135 gomen quickly up pump price by 78sen. Now crude is down to US78 why dont the gomen reduce accordingly i.e.to RM1.92 Since AAB is not contesting the Presidency and says that he will carry out Reforms in his final days, the least he could do is make he rakyat happy by reducing the price.Forget about what his own people will say(UMNO i.e.)
    After all,they are the ones who forced him down,not the opposition.
    He needs to elevate the people’s suffering.Just take a look at the figures:inflation at 8.5% How can one not suffer?

60. #60 by isahbiazhar on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 5:12 am

Arrogance was the main reason for defeat.Now they want to repeat over such trivial matters.The police and the authorities should start thinking of real job of making peace with the people and doing what the people want:security.Are we dividing the people?

61. #61 by counsel888 on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 6:14 pm

Response to HVPL

1. I am amused by your response. “is being stopped from going to parliament house an appropriate moment & place?” What on earth does this mean and whats its relevance to what I have posted here? Whats parliament and being stopped from going to parliament got to do with this argument? Perhaps your mate Raja Petra Kamaruddin in whom you have so much faith can assist you in deciphering your cryptic language and perhaps you will be so kind as to provide me with the outcome.

2. I don’t “seem to think” I have a better command of the English language than raja Petra Kamaruddin, judging from his very public displays of his crude and infantile writings, I know I do have a better command o the language than he ever will in his lifetime. Arrogant, perhaps so. False modesty I don’t suffer ffrom.

3. Whatever his eyeball rate is it makes no difference to anyone with half a brain. pronography and gambling two of the wolrd’s greatest vices also enjoy much eyeballing and hits over the internet. That does not necessarily make them a virtue. Grow up.

The MSM could well have stated what you claim they ddid. If thats the case they have faileed to say what impact it had on the GE results. As far as my reading of the GE results is concerned I would prefer to concur with the major international polsters and observers that the Hindraf situation managed to split the balance of power into the hands of Indian voters delivering at least 67 seats to an opposition. In the end though the BN wond the day.

There is another way of reading the results. The large numbers of people who read and subscribe to the blogs and writings of Raja Petra Kamaruddin are perhaps also a reflection of the lower standards of education in Malaysia for which you could blame the BN. Anyone who subscribes to an idiot like must be one like him.

4. Raja Petra Kamaruddin is not party to any of the matters in which he challenges the government with scurrilous accusations on his blogs to demand an answer or response. Thats for a properly constituted court to determine on the evidence before it. They do it on the basis of rules and laws and procedures by which they are bound. So whats your question?

5. What meant by their racial run Amok ? who are “they?” are you making a racial statement orr are you generalising?

6. Open house on an occassion like Hari Raya is not for an open protest. You are like the Hindraf vandals taking the meaning too far. If you believe being disrespectful is freedom then why complain about handlers expressing their freedoms in a way their targets like the Hindraf vandals did not like?

Ther eis a time and place for everything. Negotiations require cool heads and not idiotic meaningless demonstrations where you set potential supporters and sympathisers against you. Bad manners, poor leadership and a bad result at the end of the day. But then again they could be appelaing to people like you. Thats what saddens most observers is that there are people like you who believe that by trivialising a situation you win points.

62. #62 by lopez on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 10:36 pm

they dont have enough white matter and cant even solve a car thelf nor a house break or a rape case without any hhoo hooo haah hah

how can they solve anything at all excpet use buully tactics

look at their bellys and their toys

63. #63 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 10:58 am

God even can’t help them because they are people not only with low intelligence but NO INTELLIGENCE.
    They are led by Ministers and leaders born without brains.
    It is in their DNA!

64. #64 by counsel888 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 4:01 pm

I would not go that far Albert Schweitzer. You require brains to get then nation to pay attention to your plight. You cannnot achieve anything by pretending to be a famous German scientist. Thats brainless you turd!!

Hinddraf have no leadersip in place and use crude methods to only get them disliked and lose any supporters they otherwise may have had.

However it is the government that lost control in the situation. Instead of cashing in on that failure by government they have squanderd their opportunities by behaving like real coolies.