Abdullah – Flip-flops to the very end

Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi flip-flops to the very end!

This morning, the grapevine was abuzz with his latest flip-flop that he has decided to defend his positions as Umno President and Prime Minister after a three-hour meeting with some 200 of his supporters at his Putrajaya official residence which started at about 11 pm last night and dragged into the wee hours of the morning.

This was blogged by three-term Umno MP for Parit Sulong and former Backbenchers Club, Ruhanie Ahmad at 3.32 am.

If so, that was the penultimate flip before the ultimate flop, which Star editor-in-chief Wong Chun Wai blogged at 3.53 pm that SMS flying out from the ongoing Barisan Nasional Supreme Council meeting at PWTC was that Abdullah had thrown in the towel and succumbed to the Umno Supreme Council pressures for an early exit in March next year.

There was a pathetic last stand by a handful of Abdullah’s supporters at Putrajaya this morning and PWTC this evening, urging him to remain steadfast to the mid-2010 power transition plan instead of being forced out 15 months earlier in March next year.

The die is cast. This die was actually cast seven months ago in the March 8 political tsunami.

Abdullah has told the BN Supreme Council what almost everyone had expected, that he would not defend his Umno president’s post and will quit in March next year, to set another dubious record as the country’s most short-lived Prime Minister.

The political landscape has not materially changed with Abdullah’s enforced exit but new configurations will surface with the rise of a new curtain, with new characters taking the centre stage.

Malaysia is in for “interesting” times.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Godfather on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 5:26 pm

Are we sure we are going to hear the last of the Sleepy Head ?

Is he going to spend the next 5 months governing, or is he going to spend the time “fixing” up loose ends for his relatives and cronies ?

2. #2 by zheng on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 5:41 pm

Although Our PM YAB abdullah is not a good PM, but in my opinion his personality is quite good. I just hate so much about his son in law Khairy….this fellow think that he is very smart but for me if without his father in law, he is just a piece of shit.

3. #3 by prelude3372 on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 5:47 pm

Uncle Kit,

What is Pakatan’s next move? We are waiting.

4. #4 by nyghtsky on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 5:57 pm

Paklaaaaaaa’s so pathetic that I’m glad the end of his ‘kena-ketuk’ is finally coming to an end!

5. #5 by EricOng on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:00 pm

Will Pak Lah even remain till March is still a question.
    What is Pakatan’s next move?

6. #6 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:05 pm

From Rocky’s blog AAB will take 2 months leave prior handing over his job to Najib, so that leaves him only 3 months to complete the promised “REFORMS”. Can he do it?

7. #7 by chai on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:07 pm

it is good news to every body, we are waiting for a better malaysia.

8. #8 by sweetiec on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:22 pm

let us decide for him, ok?

9. #9 by jjireh99 on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:22 pm

people have got to make up their minds once in a life time. By that, I don’t mean on pm BUT the rakyat. No point or no use putting up banners asking him to leave one time and the next minute ask him to stay! Make up your minds, people! As far as I am concerned, I DO NOT WANT EITHER TO BE PM ESPECIALLY NAJIB! How can Malaysia or the rulers ever accept a pm for Malaysia who has been tainted with such grave controversy whether it is true or not (yet to be proven)?? Even if you say DSAI is tainted, prove it then! When all’s out, then RAKYAT WILL CHOOSE WHO THEY WANT AS PM OF MALAYSIA!!!!!!!!!!!!!

10. #10 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:29 pm

These are the true color of pirates, when u stand strong above all you’ll be adores and respected. Today situation turns soar after the last GE, some of the minions had turn side ways for solution to protect their coffer.

AAB was smart, using RPK as stone in his slingshot. If the Najis dare to step-out declaring his interest over the PM seat, AAB gonna make RPK win the the trial. Is this transperancy and democracy nor Islam Hadari preaching in Malaysia? :(

11. #11 by m.hwang on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:30 pm

Better Malaysia under the economic “expert”? Wake up guys!

12. #12 by kensball on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:31 pm

Why only umno get to elect the next pm?Are malaysia only run by 1 party?

13. #13 by sweetiec on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:35 pm

seems and actually it is a fact that majority of umNO leaders are/were tinted with all sorts of corruption and other negative cases. therefore, the rakyat MUST kick-out the entire umno, not only the president.

just an idea: we malaysian must isolate umNO, and form a unity government as proposed by razaleigh. since umNO is so corrupted now, like a almost doomed patient, we must let ‘nature takes its own course’ and let her DIE soonest…a blessing to all Malaysians!!!

14. #14 by kisfiu on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:50 pm

Saya pantang dicabar. Famous last words. Now he wants to do in 5 months what he couldn’t do in 5 years ! I hope he’ll release the military intelligence report on the altantuya

15. #15 by Bobster on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:53 pm

Good news and bad news.

Good news is the empire of sleepy head who have no goal no vision for the country who is costantly surrounded with his SIL and goons finally coming to an end.

Bad news is the fellow who is taking over being tainted with C4 explosive powder and military extravagant purchase and commission is taking over. Gosh, cannot imagine the consequenses. Better start digging a bomb shelter tonight at the backyard!

16. #16 by bennylohstocks on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 7:08 pm

17. #17 by Loh on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 7:23 pm

AAB has announced that he will not stand for President. What if the Divisions decide to nominate him, and if he qualifies with 58 nominations?

It should be interesting to watch UMNO nominations during the next four weeks.

18. #18 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 7:47 pm

5 YEARS AGO…
    “Badawi scored the highest mandate in the history of Malaysian politics who managed to win such a huge share of the public’s votes.” – By Farish A. Noor

=============================

5 YEARS AFTER…
    Abdullah says, he will implement three initiatives before submitting task to his successor.

“Three initiatives that were commission establishment judicature installation, prevention of corruption instruction Malaysia, special complaint commission to enhance integrity and enforcement agency effectiveness.” – Adullah Badawi

LAWL?

19. #19 by kosmoalpha on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 7:51 pm

malaysia will be scum with najis sitting on top!

20. #20 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 8:02 pm

I cant imagine the worse if ALi came to DPM, he had put MELAKA from ZERO to 11BILLIONS in DEBT after his 2nd terms in power for a small state. What could MALAYSIA be if he comes to power as DPM?

21. #21 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 8:08 pm

Abdullah’s announcement in English of quiting the UMNO presidential post in March 2009:

http://www3.pmo.gov.my/?menu=news&news_id=2334&news_cat=4&page=1729

22. #22 by ctc537 on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 8:13 pm

Yes, Malaysia is in for “interesting times”.

What do you mean by “interesting times” is opposition takeover of government? Hope that it would be peaceful should it happen. Get over this political turbulent times fast, and get on with tackling the impending economic problems which will affect every country on earth?

23. #23 by Richardqed on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 8:36 pm

Mr Flip-flop got what he deserves. For a joker who claimed that he was “pantang dicabar”, unfortunately for him, he was not “pantang ditendang keluar”.

24. #24 by LBJ on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 8:36 pm

One down and one more Khairy to go.

UMNO people. I am sure you dont wont this guy around anymore.

25. #25 by lopez on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 8:55 pm

you cannot unwrinkle a dirty underwear,

let go, set him free and who knows it may be even better for him to leave…we do not know the future but with the cash he has he sure can influence his future..so dont worry he will do fine maybe even better.

sounds familiar….these are rhetorics of HR suckers.

on other hand i sure dont like to have someone who likes see four and has a fondness for weapons and akin oneself to mediate other peoples war or advocate the nations young to sacrifice for their lives for his personal search for glory and destruction.

26. #26 by melurian on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:01 pm

you ppl miscalculated, there’s still 1 more day for the nomination, today’s 8-oct not 9. who knows he changed his mind at very last minute….

you should pray hard that aab continue to fight. if bijan becomes pm seat, who knows he’ll:

1) ban all party and make umno the only party.
    2) abolish common law
    3) isa all oppos
    4)

and you’ll wish if aab still the pm….

27. #27 by Hishamuddin on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:01 pm

Pak Lah quiting is actually bad news for Pakatan.

With him sleeping and fumbling on the job it would make the Pakatan job easier in the next election. With his exit, Pakatan may need to find another “hantu”.

28. #28 by katdog on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:21 pm

“interesting times”?

Interesting times!!?? We don’t need any further interesting times!!

Stop harping on AAB. He’s a deader. Why don’t you start focusing on practical issues? Like the poor state of readiness of our health authorities to tackle health epidemics and their lack of transparency in dealing with it.

The outbreak of HFMD in Perak. The inability of health authorities to get foodstuff tested for toxic melamine in a timely manner.

29. #29 by wanderer on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:26 pm

The only person that will be celebrating is TUN M. He has a puppet PM where he can twirl his fingers on him and move the directions of his liking and a DPM his nominee.
    It hard to rid this old bloke, is’nt it? So fellas, eat your hearts out!

30. #30 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:36 pm

Amazing, well he sure doesn’t really know whats going on actualy…
    http://www3.pmo.gov.my/?menu=news&news_id=2334&news_cat=4&page=1729
    ==========================================

FOR “5″ YEARS!…

He had fails to amend all this initiatives, TODAY he still wants to talk about implement this before he leaves?

Feels like DejaVu, he think his trying to trick the Nation like bunch of chicken by feeding them into a cage again and again or something. -____-”

31. #31 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:52 pm

Forget Pak Lah. He is history. Do not waste any more time and energy on him.

Shift all focus to the new leadership whoever they may be to re-strategise on how to kick BN out in the next GE.

32. #32 by human1 on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:17 pm

Standing ovation II

Clap, clap.

… and a sense of achivement …

unless there is a change in March transition deadline.

33. #33 by BloodSucker on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:21 pm

Yes, what happen to Pakatan 916 sandiwara ? It is a Pakatan flip flop plans to take over the govt from Pak Lah post with all broken promises to the rakyat.

Today Pak Lah early retired from politic is a good news but Pakatan failed to honour 916 change of the fed govt was bad news to all Malaysians. What is the next moves to remove Pak Lah from his sit to replace by DSAI ? Rakyat is waiting patiently to know the 31 lompat MPs going to move out from BN and form the next govt with Pakatan teams. What happen to DSAI now? Are he too busy with his sodomy case and self interest come first rather than the rakyat. Maybe DSAI claimed the 30 BN defectors ready to jump was untrue but the caused Pak Lah forced to quit and throw out from UMNO.

Tun Dr M and Pak Toyo are the most happy torn in the fresh of UMNO after Pak Lah willing to quit before March 2008. Both of them are laughing to a disgrace PM removed out by its own people. Simple answer: No more lucrative contracts from UMNO cronies and unable to feed them money politics. Pak Lah is broke with so many blood suckers ever ready to suck his blood dry. Sad to say Pak Lah is gone with the wind forever and ever.

Pak Lah can sleep in peace of mind after his announcement. Congratulations ! “WORK WITH ME” MY FOOT !

34. #34 by dap-for-pj on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:22 pm

my god! out of the boiling water and into the frying (c4) pan. when will this end?……god help malaysia.

35. #35 by Godfather on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:25 pm

The best scenario for PR would be:

Najis as PM,
    Rusty Ali as DPM, and
    Kera Jantan as Youth Chief

With this “explosive” combination, all the other BN parties will be driven out of the coalition.

36. #36 by Godfather on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:28 pm

I don’t think that Najis will be able to get rid of the Mongolian millstone around his neck. It will be open season for those hunters who are seeking for photos or videos of the man with the Mongolian, and it will be great if a foreign country’s secret service (Singapore or France or the UK) has photographic evidence.

37. #37 by hiro on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:33 pm

I think it’s not interesting times that’s coming, but back to the old repressive Mahathirian times.

Don’t expect any of those JAC, Anti Corruption Commission or Special Complaints Commission to take off because if they are worth any salt at all, UMNO would reject them, and if they are not worth the salt, Malaysians would reject them anyway.

The least Malaysians should do, pending an eventual Pakatan takeover, is to show support for Tengku Razaleigh. At least he is the lesser of the two evils.

38. #38 by trashed on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:34 pm

Abdullah Badawi’s greatest legacy to the Malaysian people would be the repealing of the ISA.

Ohhh, wake me up. That was just a dream !

39. #39 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:38 pm

He did it in a very simplified kamikasi way. He admitted his poor record. So it is a honourable discharge for him. He should not take the blame alone. Everyone from UMNO, MCA, MIC and all the component parties in the Barisan Nasional have to admit to making mistakes. Now that he is leaving us, but the fact remains. BN is still around. Remember. Not just newer, younger leaders. But energetic leaders who will lead the country with clear sightedness. Not point having young leaders but do not have any direction.

40. #40 by riversandlakes on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:38 pm

My Singaporean colleague walked over and we discussed about AAB. I actually said that this guy could easily flip-flop by saying to resign and then renege that.

I WAS RIGHT.

But I also told that colleague of mine that he can flip-flap whatever because Malaysians are no longer paying him any attention. He has long become irrelevant.

Then we talked about Obama.

41. #41 by raven77 on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:49 pm

Badawi said that he hoped the person who will take over from him would be Najib…if he wins the elections…Badawi wil fix Najib now well and good with Altantunya…….it’s MAD…Mutual Assured Destruction…UMNO will have a horrible death…and all Malayisa will rejoice….

42. #42 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:55 pm

anak melayu yang pantang dicabar telornya tergantung di dagu…ada 5 tahun tak buat nak buat dalam 5 bulan…55 bulan sebelum ini sibuk korek emas untuk anaknya berniaga di luar negeri…

43. #43 by limkamput on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:06 pm

I think it is enough. Let him go quietly and let him do whatever he said he wanted to do. It is pointless to keep belittling him. He is ineffective but he is not wicked as far as I can see. The system is wicked. UMNO BN philosophy and policies are wicked. Unless opposition is able to take over the helm of the government, do you people seriously think the country will turn for the better whoever among the existing UMNO leaders becomes PM? I say you people can dream on.

44. #44 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:06 pm

kalaulah aku ni si dolla aku akan letak jawatan segera 24jam dari dipandang hina – tak dipandang – dipandang serong – takda orang hormat (yang hormat pun kaki bodek). si dolla pulak kata, biar pi la orang nak kata, 5 bulan banyak aku boleh kaut untuk anak aku berniaga di luar negeri. aku kaya, rakyat papa lantak korang la…bila pas ke najib lagi haru…anak dia dah besar ke ? dengar kata kat luar negeri juga, playboy bukan main.ala, bapa borek anak rintik macam dolla borek najib rintik (peribahasa baru).apa nak jadi dengan bolehland jadi la janji aku kaya

45. #45 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:08 pm

As long as Abdullah is still the PM his game is not over. The next target after him will be his deputy, who is already politically half dead, and may be completely buried in six months. Guess who is still the Prime Minister?

46. #46 by Jong on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:28 pm

“…. but he is not wicked..” – limkamput

Hey, who slapped ISA on RPk and Hindraf 5? Who sent them to Kamunting Detention Centre? Don’t tell me as No.1 CEO of country, he has no power?

47. #47 by Jong on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:28 pm

Don’t be deceived by his smiles, he is wicked!

48. #48 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:31 pm

aiya we all keep saying dolla=pm, najib=dpm when dolla balik kampung najib=pm…dolla ke najib ke sama je…dari umno.cakap limkamput ada benarnya, sistem dalam umno yang tak kena. siapa siapa dalam umno jadi pm ke dpm ke akan hancur bolehland ini. muhyidin ? koh tsu koon kata dia lah pengamal rasuah tersohor masa jadi mb johor dulu…ali dari melaka ? haru biru la makin bankrap… zahid hamidi ? makin ramailah ahmad ismail…rais yatim ? dari umno jugak…mat taib ? wah kalau dia ni bukan 2 3 beg berisi duit ke luar negeri,2 3 kargo kapal terbang… ada ke calon yang bukan dari umno ??

49. #49 by limkamput on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:45 pm

Jong,
    I know it is difficult for me to defend him. Sometimes, exercise of power is not as simple as we think. If it is that simple, he wouldn’t be resigning. May be the previous PM can do whatever he wanted (that is why he was called the dictator). Pak Lah is “weak” precisely because that is what the PM ought to be. As PM, you can’t always have your way. He was shackled by the party, bureaucracy, vested interests, etc. We can blame him for being ineffective, but I think the greater culprit is the system and policies he inherited from the former PM.

Everything is relative. You may think he is wicked. But I would venture to say that, with him going, RPK and hindraf five may be in for longer than shorter. As I said earlier, unless the opposition has the mean to take over, this country will be getting worse. The reactionary forces (many racists and fascists) with UMNO are just waiting for this moment.

50. #50 by OldManoftheSea on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:57 pm

Many and some here feel that Pak lah is not a bad person. That I agreed. He is just powerless and not in control. His deputies and minister runs monkey over him. And what can he say? I was not informed of the actions or decisions. Off course not, it will further reflect to the public of his impotency, so he will just keep to himself. TDM has achieved his objectives.