Release Hindraf 5, RPK and all ISA detainees by Deepavali – or leave Barisan Nasional

With the approach of their respective party conferences and elections, It is common nowadays to read of the fierce speeches and statements by leaders and ministers of MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and other Barisan Nasional component parties, undertaking to learn from the mistakes of the past and pledging to stop being puppets or parrots of UMNO “Big Brother” and to speak up for the basic rights and interests of the people.

All these are political “sharp practices” – as the leaders and Ministers from MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and other BN component parties are equally guilty as their Umno counterparts for the worsening multiple crisis of confidence in the past seven months because of their failure to insist on government reforms after the March 8 political tsunami.

Seven full months have passed since the March general elections – and it is not only the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and UMNO which have nothing to show, the MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and other BN component parties have also nothing to show in terms of long-needed reforms.

What is worse, things have gone from bad to worse as could be seen by the worsening multiple crisis of confidence, whether political, economic, educational, institutional, anti-corruption or nation-building.

In the last seven months, nation-building suffered a major setback when Umno leaders took communalism to a new height in drumming up slogans on “ketuanan Melayu” when all Malaysians should be focusing on “ketuanan rakat Malaysia” after more than half-a-century of nation-building.

UMNO Bukit Bendera division chief Ahmad Ismail’s “Chinese are penumpang” was the last straw, furnishing another completely unacceptable example of first-generation or second-generation locally-born “bumiputras” questioning the loyalty and patriotism of sixth or seven-generation locally-born “non-bumiputras”!

It was after the March 8 “political tsunami” that human rights and Internet freedoms suffered grievous blows when the Internal Security Act again became an instrument of political oppression when it was used to detain DAP MP for Seputeh, Teresa Kok, Sin Chew senior reporter, Tan Hoon Cheng and Malaysian blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin.

It was also during the past seven months that nothing was done to free the Hindraf Five and the other ISA detainees from the draconian detention-without-trial law.

So what is the use of promising that in future, they will speak out vigorously for the rights and interests of Malaysians when in the past seven months, the leaders and Ministers of MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and other BN component parties have been equally guilty like their UMNO counterparts in not doing anything to initiate reforms to end these nation-building excesses and human rights abuses?

For a start, are all the leaders and Ministers of MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and other BN component parties prepared to take a common stand to demand for support from the Umno leaders and Ministers in Cabinet and the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council that the Hindraf Five should be released from ISA latest by Deepavali on October 28, that RPK and all other ISA detainees must similarly be released unconditionally?

Furthermore, that unless their Umno counterparts agree to the release of Hindraf Five, RPK and all other ISA detainees, MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and all other BN component parties must decide whether it serves any purpose for them to remain in Barisan Nasional.

[Speech (2) at the 2,000-People Puchong DAP dinner at 14ms Puchong, Selangor on Sunday, 5th October 2008 at 10 pm]

Print Friendly

1. #1 by dawsheng on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:07 pm

Leave BN? Impossible!

2. #2 by ch on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:08 pm

Dear All,

It is hoping against hope if one is to believe or convince that MCA, Gerakan or MIC will leave BN. They will never and at best will only talk about it during their internal party elections so as to shore up support. For example, Gerakan had been talking about leaving BN with 60% of its party members wanting out. However, not a whimper of noise was heard from these “60%” party members regarding coming out of BN during its general assembly. In fact, they have came up with the notion that they will stay to make BN stronger. The voices of leaving BN are nothing but just empty rhetorics as it is too painful to lead a life being out of BN for some leaders.

3. #3 by dawsheng on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:14 pm

The leaders in BN are not bound by similar political ideologies but by their many shady business dealings, you know, money talks and walks!

4. #4 by badak on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:15 pm

The grass roots want to come out of BN.But the leaders are still holding on not for the members,But for the money .The other thing is if they come out now they will join RPK in KEMUNTIN.
    UMNO will not go down without a fight.

5. #5 by Emily Pratt on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:18 pm

Since the leaders of “Dogs on Leash” component parties will not leave BN, I would not be surprise that its grass root members are leaving by the drove.

I wish to see these “Dogs on Leash” components parties unable to function because they cannot form a quorum during their meetings.

That would be the ultimate humiliation for these “Dogs on Leash” component parties.

6. #6 by m.hwang on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:23 pm

It is with this failure to act that shall signal the beginning of their slow and steady demise. The people have spoken but the powers that be are not hearing well. They are so deeply entrenched in their wanton ways that there is no way back. I hope they continue to be blinded while paying skimmed lip service that they understand, they hear, the people have spoken etc. etc..

Otherwise Malaysia will have a bleak future.

7. #7 by Loh on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:33 pm

It has been said that RPK was ISAed because AAB has no control over his administration. If he cannot prevent the arrest of RPK, how can one expect him to release RPK. It follows that whatever he said he wanted to do, other than matters within his household, nothing would happen.

TDM’s blog reads “Gimme three more months”. Beggars only ask for meals. PM class beggar would ask for more. But how much?

8. #8 by Mr Smith on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:37 pm

Dogs never betray their masters.
    In this case the MCA, MIC and Gerakan dogs will be left with nothing- no perks of office-, if they leave BN. And worse, they will have to face the ACA which their master will unleash if they decide to leave.
    So better, pretend to bark but stay with the master.

9. #9 by adoionline on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:38 pm

First line of para 6: “UMNO Bukit Bendera division chief Ahmad Ibrahim’s “Chinese are penumpang” was the last straw…”

“Ahmad Ibrahim” should read “Ahmad Ismail”! [Corrected. Thanks. Admin]
    Sad to say, the whole BN gang (apart from Zaid Ibrahim who wisely quit after 6 months from his post) are a dead loss – so used are they to serving their own greed instead of the public good. A special hell is reserved for those who were given the golden opportunity to live meaningful and purposeful lives – and chose instead to obey their baser instincts.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:54 pm

Of course “the leaders and Ministers of MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and other BN component parties have been equally guilty like their UMNO counterparts in not doing anything to initiate reforms including ISA’s repeal” as YB Kit said.

ISA is a law to protect BN and its component parties and especially UMNO.

MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and other Barisan Nasional component parties will therefore not stick out their neck to demand repeal of the ISA.

Such a move to repeal the ISA is a contradiction of their reason for being in BN : for to repeal the ISA is to remove the protection layer for the BN in which these component parties are still remaining.

To expect these BN component partes to really fight for ISA’s repeal is as good as expecting them to be prepared to jump the BN’s titanic for principles (which they have never shown before to have such a spine).

Is it Ok or practical for Pakatan Rakyat to cajole these BN component parties to fight UMNO for reforms including repeal of ISA and wean themselves from UMNO’s umblical cord when Pakatan Rakyat offers them no conceivable viable and solid platform to land on after they have jumped the BN’s ship???

11. #11 by rider on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:58 pm

Samyvellu doesnt even have to bark, all he has to do is to return all those maika investments to the respective members and just shut-up.

12. #12 by abunsui on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 3:28 pm

Uncle YB Kit,

This is what Abdullah said in Utusan today:

PM tunai janji sebelum berundur
    06/10/2008 3:10pm

KUALA LUMPUR 6 Okt. – Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi berjanji beliau akan menunaikan semua janjinya selama ini sebelum berundur daripada kerajaan.

Perdana Menteri berkata, reformasi badan kehakiman umpamanya akan tetap diteruskan walaupun bekas Menteri di Jabatan Perdana Menteri, Datuk Zaid Ibrahim telah meletakkan jawatan.

“Ada perkara yang perlu dibuat dan saya akan pastikan ia disiapkan,” katanya di sini hari ini.

Beliau berkata demikian kepada pemberita pada sidang akhbar selepas mempengerusikan Mesyuarat Panel Penasihat Antarabangsa (IAP) BioMalaysia 2008 di Pusat Konvensyen Kuala Lumpur di sini hari ini. – Utusan.

UNCLE KIT,
    PLEASE MAKE SURE PAK LAH MAKE OR SUPPORT MOTION IN NEXT PARLIAMENT SESSION TO “REPEAL ISA” and Other Draconian Laws.

This is the First Priority Pak Lah should do (at least) before he step down!!. By then he will be “remembered” as “PM WHO ABOLISH ISA” .The Rakyat will remember/solute him for that accomplishment.

13. #13 by syed zalil on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 3:45 pm

Even KOH photo was torn into pieces and step on by UMNO cowboys.Its is like KOH is sent up to heaven.Likewise The Indian had blow the Dead man horn. Yet He had not stop his loud mouth.Laters
    TV7 Gerakan wants KOH to close rank with UMNO.All this fairytale
    UMNO stooge makes noise without subtantce.

14. #14 by max2811 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 3:53 pm

OKC will parrot what UMNO says. The quality of Msian politicians leaves much to be desired. Read asiaone on its former finance minister and compare Tony with ours.

15. #15 by lucia on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:02 pm

ya!! MCA, MIC, gerakan and all those component parties in BN should leave BN and let umno sink, sink, SINK!! without them, umno will die! umno will not be the government!!

RPK, in his interview with kee thuan chye, in his (kee’s) book, had said that it is the chinese and indians who are giving power to umno! read here an extract of RPK’s say on umno not being able to form the government if the other component parties leave BN.

16. #16 by kwc on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:10 pm

If The component parties leave BN, this will create a strong one party rule in this country by PR just like Bn used to be. It will not serve any other people’s purpose and all will be back to square 1. It is important to strengthen up both camps and make Malaysia a truly democratic liberal country. Quiting BN will only weaken the ruling but does not strengthen the opposition. Therefore, you guys at opposition need to improve on your management in the states that you had won too in order to benefit the citizen. We will vote for only the fittest that can run the country.

17. #17 by wanderer on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:24 pm

Blah, blah,blah, end result, nothing will happen. These component parties in UMNO-BN, could not even lay a finger, on racist Ismail Ahmad…let alone, influence their ‘Big Brother.’ The reason, they are unwilling to leave BN, is because, they are equally corrupted and their hands are stained with blood (unjust BN rule).

18. #18 by delCapo on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:32 pm

Dear YB… nice to see u at PJ Session courts.
    this morning

to ALL
    .. lets keep it up… keep the courtroom full all sessions.

get organised, take shifts…

Feed RPK our love & support

!!!PEOPLE POWER!!!

19. #19 by shadow on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:39 pm

DAP you need more well educated malay leaders in your party. I strongly suggest you to invite Datuk Zaid to join you. He is the man dead against the ISA.

20. #20 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:40 pm

yb lim,
    the question posed by jeffrey ( last para) posted at 14:54:25 warrant an honest answer from dsai. seriously. which also include your yang berhormat.

retrospectively, if pr had not had this illusion of 916, now so elegantly silent , the raayat would surely have the final says or votes come 13 ge.

with all due respect, yb, raja petra had been a victim of the illusion and so had the hindraf 5. raja petra shouted in court that 916 will see a change of government when he was charged .

gerakan is insignificant to make any dent on bn ,so is ppp. mca are in the mud slinging contests .mic – forget about it.

rhetorics – yes. but what have pr done per se for the economy and political stability of Malaysia, if not aggravating the situation further by dubious /contradicting statements and deadlines. (check tian chua’s quote on letter to badawi and dsai denial.)

thank you.
    false hope is just as bad as broken promises.

21. #21 by Oscar Winner on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:47 pm

There is a certain Asean nation
    Ruled 51 years by a political coalition
    Actually it is a single party’s domination
    Other partners just kowtow and listen
    That party’s called XMNO – - need I mention?
    Can disregard others’ rights under the constitution
    Wield a kris high up to a standing ovation
    Treat minority races like 2nd class citizens
    Grant citizenship to millions of immigrants
    Yet reject thousands of locals’ applications
    It’s members try to gain prominence
    Can utter racist remarks in the parliament
    Some are under ACA’s investigation
    For suspicion of wealth accumulation
    But still can stand for the general election
    Their cronies help run their biz concern
    Can obtain almost every biz licence
    Eg. for submarines and choppers by Russians
    Even for the import of Chinese medicine
    Causing its price to rise by 40 percent
    Ordinary folks think there is inflation
    At first it was beyond their comprehension
    But now they understand the real reason
    XMNO leaders can’t let power base be shaken
    By the grassroots who support their positions
    So they fall asleep during conventions
    Or constantly smile and seem unconcerned
    It’s time to put an end to all this nonsense
    MCA, Gerakan, MIC, etc pls leave the coalition
    For the sake of our future generations…………….

22. #22 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:49 pm

shadow………….more well educated malays….” or may be indians, muruts, kadazans, orang asli and so on. what about the not so well educated malays, indians and others. are not their votes equally important.

it is the massess, the least educated and poorer raayat that dap should canvass to join. the well educated are probably well informed. reach out to the poor and the illiterate and educate them on their roles. sorry shadow.

23. #23 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:54 pm

would appreciate your advise on what i posted is deemed necesssary ” awaiting moderation”? thank you.

24. #24 by Emily Pratt on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 5:03 pm

Just wishful thinking… (ALOUD!)

i) DAP managed to get Zaid Ibrahim into their rank;

ii) PKR managed to rope in Muhiddin Yassin

iii) Ku Li joins PAS

BN are left with scraps and rejects.

25. #25 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 5:16 pm

We have seen the way Bala was treated, not even knowing where is he now, Saiful meeting Najiv, RPK detained under ISA because of his writing, the poor Mongolian woman, …….. Do we still want Najiv to be the leader of this country? Can’t Abdullah be still better until Anwar takes over????

26. #26 by Tonberry on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 6:03 pm

pulau_sibu Says:
    We have seen the way Bala was treated, not even knowing where is he now..

Here

27. #27 by cwimalaysia on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 6:15 pm

The democratic rights of students, opposition parties, media, trade unions and others are being controlled by the state with its laws and government apparatus. For instance in October 1987, government used the racial tensions as a reason to divert the internal conflict in UMNO to arrest the members of oppositions parties, NGOs and consumer associations, as well as university lecturers, church workers, social workers and environmentalists under Internal Security Act (ISA). These are some of the symptoms of the rapacious nature of capitalist system.
    http://asocialistmalaysia.blogspot.com/

28. #28 by pangwl88 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 6:15 pm

WHERE IS DSAI??????

29. #29 by Godfather on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 6:21 pm

Hahaha, leave BN ? You gotta be kidding. Getting crumbs from the main UMNO table is the aspiration of all the other BN parties, so stop the wishful thinking.

30. #30 by Godfather on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 6:22 pm

pangwl88:

DSAI is in serious negotiations. It’s a chess game. The next move is with Badawi on Oct 9, then we will see who scrambles where and what.

31. #31 by k1980 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 7:30 pm

Why demand now when he is out of the cabinet and not when he was Health Minister?
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Monday/National/2362596/Article/index_html

32. #32 by pangwl88 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 7:52 pm

GodFather:

DSAI’s next move …….. CHECK MATE??????

33. #33 by pangwl88 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 8:01 pm

I would like to made a clarification here.

I am a MALAYSIAN from SABAH, you call me SABAHAN.

You asked why don’t we wake up to the 308 call.

Let me respond the above with this:

ALL SABAHANs wanted the political tsunami.

BUT…I THINK WE HAVE MORE FAKE CITIZENs then the REAL ones.!!!!

34. #34 by bennylohstocks on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 8:06 pm

35. #35 by my on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 8:10 pm

what happen to the agriculture study in taiwan? did they manage to learn anything apart from punching and throwing chairs during the parliment assy ? :) :)

36. #36 by CSKUEH on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 8:41 pm

The “dacing” of the BN/UMNO has been unbalanced for so long that unless the BN/UMNO gov’t “recalibates its dacing” (makes the necessary reforms) to win back the confidence of the people, the other way is for an alternative gov’t (PR) to take over soon. Then PR can clean up the mess such as review the electoral roll and call for a new GE. And PR can repeal the ISA.

37. #37 by awko on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 8:51 pm

The impending global slowdown in the form of a recession or depression (depending on which economic forecast you’re reading) is actually a blessing in disguise because it will postpone the other impending matter: the depletion of our most important natural resource, crude oil.

Read more at awko.blogspot.com

38. #38 by jei hanjra on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 9:14 pm

BN component ideally should not leave the party, instead allow and urge secretly all its member to leave the party to join PR components. By doing so, UMNO will not panic, the public will not panic, the sleepy heads will know nothing until its time to change the government!

39. #39 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 9:30 pm

Pirates Component!…

Lock you up without trial as they claim are nothing more but illegal abduction. Imagine they had to gone through Hari Raya with their loves one in JAIL without a trial.

Is there justice of democracy in this country?!…

40. #40 by imranj78 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 9:57 pm

LKS,
    Its of course very easy to criticize but I for one still belief ISA is needed but in need of a reform. Maybe if PR can start to look at the interest of the nation over the interest of their own political advancement, then they will start to understand the importance of ISA.

Since you are so keen on talking about BN component parties, may I enquire what is DAP’s view of Kedah’s 50% allocation of houses to Bumiputera only? Kedah being a state under a PR member is strangely renegading on its promise of fighting for Bangsa Malaysia. Or is DAP willing to sell its soul and be PAS’ lapdog to try to put a show of some resemblance of PR unity??

41. #41 by Godfather on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 10:31 pm

imranj78:

What’s the big deal if Kedah decides to allocate 50 pct of all houses to bumiputeras only ? If the state has 90 pct bumiputeras, does this “allocation” really matter ? It’s like telling us that Kelantan has allocated 50 pct of houses to bumiputeras. Yes, it may be contradictory to the concept of Bangsa Malaysia, but we have bigger fish to fry at this point. Under UMNO, 100 pct of APs are given to bumiputeras, nearly 100 pct of defense contracts are given to bumiputeras, and I dare say 100 pct of major contracts are given to bumiputeras. Of course, 100 pct of theft of public funds are also committed by BN.

42. #42 by vsp on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 10:35 pm

I will venture why DSAI has been lying low now.

At first it was thought that the BN still have the decency and humility to act as gentlemen in a democratic system by adhering to the ethics of civility and honour.

DSAI placed his cards early on the table by revealing the date, giving notice to the BN to be prepared for the consequences.

DSAI wanted to make clear that he would like to follow parliamentary procedure and not to spring a nasty surprise on the BN so as to prevent the BN from accusing DSAI of being unethical and power-hungry by not giving the BN any notice of his intentions.

However, as all of you can see how the BN reacted. They cordoned off Parliament house; they created the biggest traffic jam in Malaysian history; the farcical manner in which a group of masked commandos were sent to arrest him; postponement of Parliament sitting during the fasting months; the veil threat by Badawi to use the ISA on DSAI; the actual abuse of the ISA by arresting innocent people as a mean to warn potential MPs from crossing over; the corralling of BN MPs in Taiwan and the subsequent glee in which the BN press and media greeted the non-event of the cross-over.

BN is too powerful: they are armed to the teeth with extra-legal powers like the ISA, the Sedition Act and so on. They have been in power for so long and it was difficult for them to accept defeat.

So to expect DSAI to tap the BN on the shoulder and say: ‘Hey guys, move over, I am taking over from you’ would be too naive. I know many of you were disappointed that the crossover did not take place as expected. This is a life-and-death situation and do not expect a Goliath to roll over and surrender just like that.

DSAI has learnt his lesson and I believe he is adapting to a new strategy of attack through stealth. There would be no advance warning to the BN this time since they have been proven to be uncivilised, brutish, unworthy of any trust and are not amenable to any civilised conduct of a parliamentary system.

Just abide a bit longer and I believe the day will finally arrive.

43. #43 by human1 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 10:37 pm

It is amusing to see Samy Vellu almost on his knees, begging Abdullah and Syed Hamid for the release of the HINDRAF 5, whom have been detained without trial.

He said HINDRAF had ruined MIC’s effort in seeking the release of the detainees, by making their voices heard and actions seen. He claimed HINDRAF has worsen the situation and they should have better left it to MIC to make the ideal approach – “beg for their release”. Samy pleads unconditionally, Syed Hamid to decide.

Sound familiar with the tactic? Yes, just like the hard-and-soft game. If you dare to play hardball, taste the harsh whip from my left hand. Else if you step back and wag your tail, you get to taste the candy from my right hand.

Slightly off the track here, Abdullah has made a fuss today over the visit of Hindraf supporters at the raya open house. Come on, Abdullah should instead be a gentleman to welcome the dissidents with open heart to embrace the greeting and share the joy.

There is no need to be a fussy prime minister at the festive open house, even if not hearing enough raya greetings from the dissidents. Have a big heart, earn your respect, don’t demand for one.

It’s a shame.

44. #44 by limkamput on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:00 pm

The issue now is not just BN component parties not doing their job. I think PR also have nothing much to show other than engaging in endless rhetoric and criticism of BN. Talk is cheap. Coming up with some work plans and implementing them diligently require serious efforts. So far I have seen nothing of it.

When DAP captured Penang and when GE became CM, there were tears in my eyes. I hugged my wife and said it was time. As time goes by, my deep sense of support is gradually replaced by disappointment. Many have asked me to be patient with PR but I think my patience is running out. I have not seen an iota of substantive change other than talk and more talk about change. Let me just point out one thing that the state governments ought to be doing but so far there is nothing much to show.

The performance of local authorities or rather the lack of it, is one of the important issues at the March 8 General Election. It is at the local authority level where government services are demanded and delivered. Local authorities are an important determinant of quality of life of most Malaysians.

Local authorities are under the jurisdiction of their respective state governments. Therefore, it is the state governments that must buck up from their slumber and see that the local authorities within their states do their jobs. It is pointless to blame the poor performance of local authorities on their employees. We expect the respective state governments to provide the leadership and bring about change as quickly as possible. More than six months have passed since PR took over the five states, some of them highly urbanised and industrialised. We need to see some concrete proposals on how best we can reorganise and re-strategise the local authorities for better performance. Things can not go on as usual. We can not expect the same group of people at the local authorities to bring about change. We expect new strategies, new people and new enforcement, control and monitoring mechanisms to be put in place to effect the change.

Some local authorities are bigger than state governments and yet they are being managed rudimentarily by a few unelected officials opaquely accountable to someone at the state. We need to know how the large potential of revenue is generated and spent at each local authority. We need to know how the towns and cities are planned, managed and improved.

If I may, let me describe how a typical town or city in Malaysia looks like:

1. we have haphazard traffic system creating bottle necks and congestion everywhere;
    2. we have road signs that confuse rather than provide directions;
    3. we have people double-park or illegally park their vehicles everywhere;
    4. we have very poor enforcement of building bylaws – one just have to look at the number of building extensions and modifications which are an eyesore to most;
    5. with very few exceptions, most towns and cities are filthy, with garbage and foul stench found almost everywhere;
    6. walk near any eatery, and see the level of hygiene and cleanliness around the place – chances are you will find filthy floor, tables mopped by a piece of cloth dirtier than the table, and clogged drains around it releasing foul smell while we eat;
    7. some places that need the street light most are in complete darkness while in some places they are lighted up like Disneyland;
    8. we find rivers and streams passing through towns that are like open sewerage;
    9. we have hawkers and food stores everywhere breeding rats, cockroaches and all kinds of pests

I don’t think the list above is exhaustive. But I guess it has provided us sufficient insight as to the amount of work needed to be done by local authorities. I urge the state governments not to indulge in populist tendency by succumbing to unreasonable demands and anti-civic behaviour. It is the job of the government to induce as well as to compel changes for the betterment of society.

You know what? I am seeing PR states gradually behaving like BN – appeasing parochial interests at the expense of societal interests. Remember, Lee Kuan Yew acted tough with Singaporeans, not engaging in populist and appeasing tendency. You are given five years, you have to start doing from now before you stand a chance to be given another five years.

45. #45 by human1 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:01 pm

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/world/10063-britain-drops-42-day-detention-plan

Check this out, a big NO from-28-to-42-day detention for the purpose of counter terrorism in England.

SHAME on BN!

46. #46 by human1 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:19 pm

Over here, we have:

i) 73(1) – up to 60 days, {any police officer to decide}

ii) 8 – up to 2 years renewable not necessary having completed i) , {home minister to decide}

47. #47 by cemerlang on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:23 pm

This brings to mind regarding the group of Hindraf supporters appearing at the Hari Raya Open House in PWTC. All the politicians interviewed said that it was not the right time. Question is when is it the right time ? What is the right time ? Or should they follow a long list of protocols before their letter can be read ? The human brain is not as simple as other living creatures that if told to wait, they will wait until the end of the world. Or the human brain will not know how to think and what to think about the Ahmad Ismail’s case. The latest Malaysian feat was to go into space and Dr SMS has already done it. He mirrors the Malaysians who have his kind of ability. Therefore, can Malaysians be so stupid ?

48. #48 by vsp on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:26 pm

Alongside with my earlier posting, I would like to refer to this:

“Fong pointed out that the court in the case of Abdul Karim vs Legislative Assembly of Sabah held the legislature in Sabah was constitutionally empowered to pass a law, by amending its constitution, to deprive an assemblyman of his seat if he switches party.

However in April 1992, the Supreme Court in Nordin bin Salleh v Dewan Undangan Negeri Kelantan, held that the law forcing an assemblyman who changed his party after his election to the legislature, to vacate his seat, was unconstitutional as it conflicts with the fundamental right provided under Article 10 (1) (c) of the federal constitution which guarantees all citizens freedom of association, including their right to dissociate with any association.

The court also held that this anti-hopping provision is not part of the essential provisions stipulated in the Eighth Schedule of the federal constitution which must be incor-porated in any state constitution.

The legal effect of anti-hopping law is that an elected legislator will be expelled from legislature if he switches political allegiance.

If he desires to return to the legislature under a new political party, he must do so via a by-election, Fong said.

Parliament has to change the constitution first before they can pass anti-hopping laws.”

Now you see why cross-overs are still legal! The Supreme Court has legalised this practice to suit the wish of the BN. BN has failed to pass an anti-hopping law when they had the 2/3 majority in Parliament and they should not be complaining why the kataks are very active now.

So for all you who still insist on the ethics of cross-over open your eyes. Kapal Singh, where are you? You should know better, being a lawyer yourself!

49. #49 by vsp on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:30 pm

Alongside with my earlier posting, I would like to refer to this:

“Fong pointed out that the court in the case of Abdul Karim vs Legislative Assembly of Sabah held the legislature in Sabah was constitutionally empowered to pass a law, by amending its constitution, to deprive an assemblyman of his seat if he switches party.

However in April 1992, the Supreme Court in Nordin bin Salleh v Dewan Undangan Negeri Kelantan, held that the law forcing an assemblyman who changed his party after his election to the legislature, to vacate his seat, was unconstitutional as it conflicts with the fundamental right provided under Article 10 (1) (c) of the federal constitution which guarantees all citizens freedom of association, including their right to dissociate with any association.

The court also held that this anti-hopping provision is not part of the essential provisions stipulated in the Eighth Schedule of the federal constitution which must be incor-porated in any state constitution.

The legal effect of anti-hopping law is that an elected legislator will be expelled from legislature if he switches political allegiance.

If he desires to return to the legislature under a new political party, he must do so via a by-election, Fong said.

Parliament has to change the constitution first before they can pass anti-hopping laws.”

Now you see why cross-overs are still legal! The Supreme Court has legalised this practice to suit the wish of the BN. BN had failed to pass an anti-hopping law when they had the 2/3 majority in Parliament and they should not be complaining why the kataks are very active now.

So for all you who still insist on the ethics of cross-over open your eyes. Kapal Singh, where are you? You should know better, being a lawyer yourself!

50. #50 by Fair Play on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:32 pm

What good can come from MCA leaders and ministers ? OTK today in NST gave us the impression that he thinks Chinese-educated Chinese are one up on English-educated Chinese . He does not even know then that Tun Tan Siew Sin was English-educated . In campaigning for the March 2008 Election , OKC told the Hockiens to vote for the Hockien candidates . Isn’t it bad enough that Malaysians are divided into ethnic groups ? The MCA even divides Malaysian Chinese into theChinese- educated and English-educated sectors , and clans .
    These dinosaurs should be extinct by now .

Comments are closed.