Release Hindraf 5, RPK and all ISA detainees by Deepavali – or leave Barisan Nasional

With the approach of their respective party conferences and elections, It is common nowadays to read of the fierce speeches and statements by leaders and ministers of MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and other Barisan Nasional component parties, undertaking to learn from the mistakes of the past and pledging to stop being puppets or parrots of UMNO “Big Brother” and to speak up for the basic rights and interests of the people.

All these are political “sharp practices” – as the leaders and Ministers from MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and other BN component parties are equally guilty as their Umno counterparts for the worsening multiple crisis of confidence in the past seven months because of their failure to insist on government reforms after the March 8 political tsunami.

Seven full months have passed since the March general elections – and it is not only the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and UMNO which have nothing to show, the MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and other BN component parties have also nothing to show in terms of long-needed reforms.

What is worse, things have gone from bad to worse as could be seen by the worsening multiple crisis of confidence, whether political, economic, educational, institutional, anti-corruption or nation-building.

In the last seven months, nation-building suffered a major setback when Umno leaders took communalism to a new height in drumming up slogans on “ketuanan Melayu” when all Malaysians should be focusing on “ketuanan rakat Malaysia” after more than half-a-century of nation-building.

UMNO Bukit Bendera division chief Ahmad Ismail’s “Chinese are penumpang” was the last straw, furnishing another completely unacceptable example of first-generation or second-generation locally-born “bumiputras” questioning the loyalty and patriotism of sixth or seven-generation locally-born “non-bumiputras”!

It was after the March 8 “political tsunami” that human rights and Internet freedoms suffered grievous blows when the Internal Security Act again became an instrument of political oppression when it was used to detain DAP MP for Seputeh, Teresa Kok, Sin Chew senior reporter, Tan Hoon Cheng and Malaysian blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin.

It was also during the past seven months that nothing was done to free the Hindraf Five and the other ISA detainees from the draconian detention-without-trial law.

So what is the use of promising that in future, they will speak out vigorously for the rights and interests of Malaysians when in the past seven months, the leaders and Ministers of MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and other BN component parties have been equally guilty like their UMNO counterparts in not doing anything to initiate reforms to end these nation-building excesses and human rights abuses?

For a start, are all the leaders and Ministers of MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and other BN component parties prepared to take a common stand to demand for support from the Umno leaders and Ministers in Cabinet and the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council that the Hindraf Five should be released from ISA latest by Deepavali on October 28, that RPK and all other ISA detainees must similarly be released unconditionally?

Furthermore, that unless their Umno counterparts agree to the release of Hindraf Five, RPK and all other ISA detainees, MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and all other BN component parties must decide whether it serves any purpose for them to remain in Barisan Nasional.

[Speech (2) at the 2,000-People Puchong DAP dinner at 14ms Puchong, Selangor on Sunday, 5th October 2008 at 10 pm]

1. #1 by dawsheng on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:07 pm

Leave BN? Impossible!

2. #2 by ch on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:08 pm

Dear All,

It is hoping against hope if one is to believe or convince that MCA, Gerakan or MIC will leave BN. They will never and at best will only talk about it during their internal party elections so as to shore up support. For example, Gerakan had been talking about leaving BN with 60% of its party members wanting out. However, not a whimper of noise was heard from these “60%” party members regarding coming out of BN during its general assembly. In fact, they have came up with the notion that they will stay to make BN stronger. The voices of leaving BN are nothing but just empty rhetorics as it is too painful to lead a life being out of BN for some leaders.

3. #3 by dawsheng on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:14 pm

The leaders in BN are not bound by similar political ideologies but by their many shady business dealings, you know, money talks and walks!

4. #4 by badak on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:15 pm

The grass roots want to come out of BN.But the leaders are still holding on not for the members,But for the money .The other thing is if they come out now they will join RPK in KEMUNTIN.
    UMNO will not go down without a fight.

5. #5 by Emily Pratt on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:18 pm

Since the leaders of “Dogs on Leash” component parties will not leave BN, I would not be surprise that its grass root members are leaving by the drove.

I wish to see these “Dogs on Leash” components parties unable to function because they cannot form a quorum during their meetings.

That would be the ultimate humiliation for these “Dogs on Leash” component parties.

6. #6 by m.hwang on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:23 pm

It is with this failure to act that shall signal the beginning of their slow and steady demise. The people have spoken but the powers that be are not hearing well. They are so deeply entrenched in their wanton ways that there is no way back. I hope they continue to be blinded while paying skimmed lip service that they understand, they hear, the people have spoken etc. etc..

Otherwise Malaysia will have a bleak future.

7. #7 by Loh on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:33 pm

It has been said that RPK was ISAed because AAB has no control over his administration. If he cannot prevent the arrest of RPK, how can one expect him to release RPK. It follows that whatever he said he wanted to do, other than matters within his household, nothing would happen.

TDM’s blog reads “Gimme three more months”. Beggars only ask for meals. PM class beggar would ask for more. But how much?

8. #8 by Mr Smith on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:37 pm

Dogs never betray their masters.
    In this case the MCA, MIC and Gerakan dogs will be left with nothing- no perks of office-, if they leave BN. And worse, they will have to face the ACA which their master will unleash if they decide to leave.
    So better, pretend to bark but stay with the master.

9. #9 by adoionline on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:38 pm

First line of para 6: “UMNO Bukit Bendera division chief Ahmad Ibrahim’s “Chinese are penumpang” was the last straw…”

“Ahmad Ibrahim” should read “Ahmad Ismail”! [Corrected. Thanks. Admin]
    Sad to say, the whole BN gang (apart from Zaid Ibrahim who wisely quit after 6 months from his post) are a dead loss – so used are they to serving their own greed instead of the public good. A special hell is reserved for those who were given the golden opportunity to live meaningful and purposeful lives – and chose instead to obey their baser instincts.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:54 pm

Of course “the leaders and Ministers of MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and other BN component parties have been equally guilty like their UMNO counterparts in not doing anything to initiate reforms including ISA’s repeal” as YB Kit said.

ISA is a law to protect BN and its component parties and especially UMNO.

MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and other Barisan Nasional component parties will therefore not stick out their neck to demand repeal of the ISA.

Such a move to repeal the ISA is a contradiction of their reason for being in BN : for to repeal the ISA is to remove the protection layer for the BN in which these component parties are still remaining.

To expect these BN component partes to really fight for ISA’s repeal is as good as expecting them to be prepared to jump the BN’s titanic for principles (which they have never shown before to have such a spine).

Is it Ok or practical for Pakatan Rakyat to cajole these BN component parties to fight UMNO for reforms including repeal of ISA and wean themselves from UMNO’s umblical cord when Pakatan Rakyat offers them no conceivable viable and solid platform to land on after they have jumped the BN’s ship???

11. #11 by rider on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:58 pm

Samyvellu doesnt even have to bark, all he has to do is to return all those maika investments to the respective members and just shut-up.

12. #12 by abunsui on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 3:28 pm

Uncle YB Kit,

This is what Abdullah said in Utusan today:

PM tunai janji sebelum berundur
    06/10/2008 3:10pm

KUALA LUMPUR 6 Okt. – Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi berjanji beliau akan menunaikan semua janjinya selama ini sebelum berundur daripada kerajaan.

Perdana Menteri berkata, reformasi badan kehakiman umpamanya akan tetap diteruskan walaupun bekas Menteri di Jabatan Perdana Menteri, Datuk Zaid Ibrahim telah meletakkan jawatan.

“Ada perkara yang perlu dibuat dan saya akan pastikan ia disiapkan,” katanya di sini hari ini.

Beliau berkata demikian kepada pemberita pada sidang akhbar selepas mempengerusikan Mesyuarat Panel Penasihat Antarabangsa (IAP) BioMalaysia 2008 di Pusat Konvensyen Kuala Lumpur di sini hari ini. – Utusan.

UNCLE KIT,
    PLEASE MAKE SURE PAK LAH MAKE OR SUPPORT MOTION IN NEXT PARLIAMENT SESSION TO “REPEAL ISA” and Other Draconian Laws.

This is the First Priority Pak Lah should do (at least) before he step down!!. By then he will be “remembered” as “PM WHO ABOLISH ISA” .The Rakyat will remember/solute him for that accomplishment.

13. #13 by syed zalil on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 3:45 pm

Even KOH photo was torn into pieces and step on by UMNO cowboys.Its is like KOH is sent up to heaven.Likewise The Indian had blow the Dead man horn. Yet He had not stop his loud mouth.Laters
    TV7 Gerakan wants KOH to close rank with UMNO.All this fairytale
    UMNO stooge makes noise without subtantce.

14. #14 by max2811 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 3:53 pm

OKC will parrot what UMNO says. The quality of Msian politicians leaves much to be desired. Read asiaone on its former finance minister and compare Tony with ours.

15. #15 by lucia on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:02 pm

ya!! MCA, MIC, gerakan and all those component parties in BN should leave BN and let umno sink, sink, SINK!! without them, umno will die! umno will not be the government!!

RPK, in his interview with kee thuan chye, in his (kee’s) book, had said that it is the chinese and indians who are giving power to umno! read here an extract of RPK’s say on umno not being able to form the government if the other component parties leave BN.

16. #16 by kwc on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:10 pm

If The component parties leave BN, this will create a strong one party rule in this country by PR just like Bn used to be. It will not serve any other people’s purpose and all will be back to square 1. It is important to strengthen up both camps and make Malaysia a truly democratic liberal country. Quiting BN will only weaken the ruling but does not strengthen the opposition. Therefore, you guys at opposition need to improve on your management in the states that you had won too in order to benefit the citizen. We will vote for only the fittest that can run the country.

17. #17 by wanderer on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:24 pm

Blah, blah,blah, end result, nothing will happen. These component parties in UMNO-BN, could not even lay a finger, on racist Ismail Ahmad…let alone, influence their ‘Big Brother.’ The reason, they are unwilling to leave BN, is because, they are equally corrupted and their hands are stained with blood (unjust BN rule).

18. #18 by delCapo on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:32 pm

Dear YB… nice to see u at PJ Session courts.
    this morning

to ALL
    .. lets keep it up… keep the courtroom full all sessions.

get organised, take shifts…

Feed RPK our love & support

!!!PEOPLE POWER!!!

19. #19 by shadow on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:39 pm

DAP you need more well educated malay leaders in your party. I strongly suggest you to invite Datuk Zaid to join you. He is the man dead against the ISA.

20. #20 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:40 pm

yb lim,
    the question posed by jeffrey ( last para) posted at 14:54:25 warrant an honest answer from dsai. seriously. which also include your yang berhormat.

retrospectively, if pr had not had this illusion of 916, now so elegantly silent , the raayat would surely have the final says or votes come 13 ge.

with all due respect, yb, raja petra had been a victim of the illusion and so had the hindraf 5. raja petra shouted in court that 916 will see a change of government when he was charged .

gerakan is insignificant to make any dent on bn ,so is ppp. mca are in the mud slinging contests .mic – forget about it.

rhetorics – yes. but what have pr done per se for the economy and political stability of Malaysia, if not aggravating the situation further by dubious /contradicting statements and deadlines. (check tian chua’s quote on letter to badawi and dsai denial.)

thank you.
    false hope is just as bad as broken promises.

21. #21 by Oscar Winner on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:47 pm

There is a certain Asean nation
    Ruled 51 years by a political coalition
    Actually it is a single party’s domination
    Other partners just kowtow and listen
    That party’s called XMNO – – need I mention?
    Can disregard others’ rights under the constitution
    Wield a kris high up to a standing ovation
    Treat minority races like 2nd class citizens
    Grant citizenship to millions of immigrants
    Yet reject thousands of locals’ applications
    It’s members try to gain prominence
    Can utter racist remarks in the parliament
    Some are under ACA’s investigation
    For suspicion of wealth accumulation
    But still can stand for the general election
    Their cronies help run their biz concern
    Can obtain almost every biz licence
    Eg. for submarines and choppers by Russians
    Even for the import of Chinese medicine
    Causing its price to rise by 40 percent
    Ordinary folks think there is inflation
    At first it was beyond their comprehension
    But now they understand the real reason
    XMNO leaders can’t let power base be shaken
    By the grassroots who support their positions
    So they fall asleep during conventions
    Or constantly smile and seem unconcerned
    It’s time to put an end to all this nonsense
    MCA, Gerakan, MIC, etc pls leave the coalition
    For the sake of our future generations…………….

22. #22 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:49 pm

shadow………….more well educated malays….” or may be indians, muruts, kadazans, orang asli and so on. what about the not so well educated malays, indians and others. are not their votes equally important.

it is the massess, the least educated and poorer raayat that dap should canvass to join. the well educated are probably well informed. reach out to the poor and the illiterate and educate them on their roles. sorry shadow.

23. #23 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:54 pm

would appreciate your advise on what i posted is deemed necesssary ” awaiting moderation”? thank you.

24. #24 by Emily Pratt on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 5:03 pm

Just wishful thinking… (ALOUD!)

i) DAP managed to get Zaid Ibrahim into their rank;

ii) PKR managed to rope in Muhiddin Yassin

iii) Ku Li joins PAS

BN are left with scraps and rejects.

25. #25 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 5:16 pm

We have seen the way Bala was treated, not even knowing where is he now, Saiful meeting Najiv, RPK detained under ISA because of his writing, the poor Mongolian woman, …….. Do we still want Najiv to be the leader of this country? Can’t Abdullah be still better until Anwar takes over????

26. #26 by Tonberry on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 6:03 pm

pulau_sibu Says:
    We have seen the way Bala was treated, not even knowing where is he now..

Here

27. #27 by cwimalaysia on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 6:15 pm

The democratic rights of students, opposition parties, media, trade unions and others are being controlled by the state with its laws and government apparatus. For instance in October 1987, government used the racial tensions as a reason to divert the internal conflict in UMNO to arrest the members of oppositions parties, NGOs and consumer associations, as well as university lecturers, church workers, social workers and environmentalists under Internal Security Act (ISA). These are some of the symptoms of the rapacious nature of capitalist system.
    http://asocialistmalaysia.blogspot.com/

28. #28 by pangwl88 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 6:15 pm

WHERE IS DSAI??????

29. #29 by Godfather on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 6:21 pm

Hahaha, leave BN ? You gotta be kidding. Getting crumbs from the main UMNO table is the aspiration of all the other BN parties, so stop the wishful thinking.

30. #30 by Godfather on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 6:22 pm

pangwl88:

DSAI is in serious negotiations. It’s a chess game. The next move is with Badawi on Oct 9, then we will see who scrambles where and what.

31. #31 by k1980 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 7:30 pm

Why demand now when he is out of the cabinet and not when he was Health Minister?
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Monday/National/2362596/Article/index_html

32. #32 by pangwl88 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 7:52 pm

GodFather:

DSAI’s next move …….. CHECK MATE??????

33. #33 by pangwl88 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 8:01 pm

I would like to made a clarification here.

I am a MALAYSIAN from SABAH, you call me SABAHAN.

You asked why don’t we wake up to the 308 call.

Let me respond the above with this:

ALL SABAHANs wanted the political tsunami.

BUT…I THINK WE HAVE MORE FAKE CITIZENs then the REAL ones.!!!!

34. #35 by my on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 8:10 pm

what happen to the agriculture study in taiwan? did they manage to learn anything apart from punching and throwing chairs during the parliment assy ? :) :)

35. #36 by CSKUEH on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 8:41 pm

The “dacing” of the BN/UMNO has been unbalanced for so long that unless the BN/UMNO gov’t “recalibates its dacing” (makes the necessary reforms) to win back the confidence of the people, the other way is for an alternative gov’t (PR) to take over soon. Then PR can clean up the mess such as review the electoral roll and call for a new GE. And PR can repeal the ISA.

36. #37 by awko on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 8:51 pm

The impending global slowdown in the form of a recession or depression (depending on which economic forecast you’re reading) is actually a blessing in disguise because it will postpone the other impending matter: the depletion of our most important natural resource, crude oil.

Read more at awko.blogspot.com

37. #38 by jei hanjra on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 9:14 pm

BN component ideally should not leave the party, instead allow and urge secretly all its member to leave the party to join PR components. By doing so, UMNO will not panic, the public will not panic, the sleepy heads will know nothing until its time to change the government!

38. #39 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 9:30 pm

Pirates Component!…

Lock you up without trial as they claim are nothing more but illegal abduction. Imagine they had to gone through Hari Raya with their loves one in JAIL without a trial.

Is there justice of democracy in this country?!…

39. #40 by imranj78 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 9:57 pm

LKS,
    Its of course very easy to criticize but I for one still belief ISA is needed but in need of a reform. Maybe if PR can start to look at the interest of the nation over the interest of their own political advancement, then they will start to understand the importance of ISA.

Since you are so keen on talking about BN component parties, may I enquire what is DAP’s view of Kedah’s 50% allocation of houses to Bumiputera only? Kedah being a state under a PR member is strangely renegading on its promise of fighting for Bangsa Malaysia. Or is DAP willing to sell its soul and be PAS’ lapdog to try to put a show of some resemblance of PR unity??

40. #41 by Godfather on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 10:31 pm

imranj78:

What’s the big deal if Kedah decides to allocate 50 pct of all houses to bumiputeras only ? If the state has 90 pct bumiputeras, does this “allocation” really matter ? It’s like telling us that Kelantan has allocated 50 pct of houses to bumiputeras. Yes, it may be contradictory to the concept of Bangsa Malaysia, but we have bigger fish to fry at this point. Under UMNO, 100 pct of APs are given to bumiputeras, nearly 100 pct of defense contracts are given to bumiputeras, and I dare say 100 pct of major contracts are given to bumiputeras. Of course, 100 pct of theft of public funds are also committed by BN.

41. #42 by vsp on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 10:35 pm

I will venture why DSAI has been lying low now.

At first it was thought that the BN still have the decency and humility to act as gentlemen in a democratic system by adhering to the ethics of civility and honour.

DSAI placed his cards early on the table by revealing the date, giving notice to the BN to be prepared for the consequences.

DSAI wanted to make clear that he would like to follow parliamentary procedure and not to spring a nasty surprise on the BN so as to prevent the BN from accusing DSAI of being unethical and power-hungry by not giving the BN any notice of his intentions.

However, as all of you can see how the BN reacted. They cordoned off Parliament house; they created the biggest traffic jam in Malaysian history; the farcical manner in which a group of masked commandos were sent to arrest him; postponement of Parliament sitting during the fasting months; the veil threat by Badawi to use the ISA on DSAI; the actual abuse of the ISA by arresting innocent people as a mean to warn potential MPs from crossing over; the corralling of BN MPs in Taiwan and the subsequent glee in which the BN press and media greeted the non-event of the cross-over.

BN is too powerful: they are armed to the teeth with extra-legal powers like the ISA, the Sedition Act and so on. They have been in power for so long and it was difficult for them to accept defeat.

So to expect DSAI to tap the BN on the shoulder and say: ‘Hey guys, move over, I am taking over from you’ would be too naive. I know many of you were disappointed that the crossover did not take place as expected. This is a life-and-death situation and do not expect a Goliath to roll over and surrender just like that.

DSAI has learnt his lesson and I believe he is adapting to a new strategy of attack through stealth. There would be no advance warning to the BN this time since they have been proven to be uncivilised, brutish, unworthy of any trust and are not amenable to any civilised conduct of a parliamentary system.

Just abide a bit longer and I believe the day will finally arrive.

42. #43 by human1 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 10:37 pm

It is amusing to see Samy Vellu almost on his knees, begging Abdullah and Syed Hamid for the release of the HINDRAF 5, whom have been detained without trial.

He said HINDRAF had ruined MIC’s effort in seeking the release of the detainees, by making their voices heard and actions seen. He claimed HINDRAF has worsen the situation and they should have better left it to MIC to make the ideal approach – “beg for their release”. Samy pleads unconditionally, Syed Hamid to decide.

Sound familiar with the tactic? Yes, just like the hard-and-soft game. If you dare to play hardball, taste the harsh whip from my left hand. Else if you step back and wag your tail, you get to taste the candy from my right hand.

Slightly off the track here, Abdullah has made a fuss today over the visit of Hindraf supporters at the raya open house. Come on, Abdullah should instead be a gentleman to welcome the dissidents with open heart to embrace the greeting and share the joy.

There is no need to be a fussy prime minister at the festive open house, even if not hearing enough raya greetings from the dissidents. Have a big heart, earn your respect, don’t demand for one.

It’s a shame.

43. #44 by limkamput on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:00 pm

The issue now is not just BN component parties not doing their job. I think PR also have nothing much to show other than engaging in endless rhetoric and criticism of BN. Talk is cheap. Coming up with some work plans and implementing them diligently require serious efforts. So far I have seen nothing of it.

When DAP captured Penang and when GE became CM, there were tears in my eyes. I hugged my wife and said it was time. As time goes by, my deep sense of support is gradually replaced by disappointment. Many have asked me to be patient with PR but I think my patience is running out. I have not seen an iota of substantive change other than talk and more talk about change. Let me just point out one thing that the state governments ought to be doing but so far there is nothing much to show.

The performance of local authorities or rather the lack of it, is one of the important issues at the March 8 General Election. It is at the local authority level where government services are demanded and delivered. Local authorities are an important determinant of quality of life of most Malaysians.

Local authorities are under the jurisdiction of their respective state governments. Therefore, it is the state governments that must buck up from their slumber and see that the local authorities within their states do their jobs. It is pointless to blame the poor performance of local authorities on their employees. We expect the respective state governments to provide the leadership and bring about change as quickly as possible. More than six months have passed since PR took over the five states, some of them highly urbanised and industrialised. We need to see some concrete proposals on how best we can reorganise and re-strategise the local authorities for better performance. Things can not go on as usual. We can not expect the same group of people at the local authorities to bring about change. We expect new strategies, new people and new enforcement, control and monitoring mechanisms to be put in place to effect the change.

Some local authorities are bigger than state governments and yet they are being managed rudimentarily by a few unelected officials opaquely accountable to someone at the state. We need to know how the large potential of revenue is generated and spent at each local authority. We need to know how the towns and cities are planned, managed and improved.

If I may, let me describe how a typical town or city in Malaysia looks like:

1. we have haphazard traffic system creating bottle necks and congestion everywhere;
    2. we have road signs that confuse rather than provide directions;
    3. we have people double-park or illegally park their vehicles everywhere;
    4. we have very poor enforcement of building bylaws – one just have to look at the number of building extensions and modifications which are an eyesore to most;
    5. with very few exceptions, most towns and cities are filthy, with garbage and foul stench found almost everywhere;
    6. walk near any eatery, and see the level of hygiene and cleanliness around the place – chances are you will find filthy floor, tables mopped by a piece of cloth dirtier than the table, and clogged drains around it releasing foul smell while we eat;
    7. some places that need the street light most are in complete darkness while in some places they are lighted up like Disneyland;
    8. we find rivers and streams passing through towns that are like open sewerage;
    9. we have hawkers and food stores everywhere breeding rats, cockroaches and all kinds of pests

I don’t think the list above is exhaustive. But I guess it has provided us sufficient insight as to the amount of work needed to be done by local authorities. I urge the state governments not to indulge in populist tendency by succumbing to unreasonable demands and anti-civic behaviour. It is the job of the government to induce as well as to compel changes for the betterment of society.

You know what? I am seeing PR states gradually behaving like BN – appeasing parochial interests at the expense of societal interests. Remember, Lee Kuan Yew acted tough with Singaporeans, not engaging in populist and appeasing tendency. You are given five years, you have to start doing from now before you stand a chance to be given another five years.

44. #45 by human1 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:01 pm

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/world/10063-britain-drops-42-day-detention-plan

Check this out, a big NO from-28-to-42-day detention for the purpose of counter terrorism in England.

SHAME on BN!

45. #46 by human1 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:19 pm

Over here, we have:

i) 73(1) – up to 60 days, {any police officer to decide}

ii) 8 – up to 2 years renewable not necessary having completed i) , {home minister to decide}

46. #47 by cemerlang on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:23 pm

This brings to mind regarding the group of Hindraf supporters appearing at the Hari Raya Open House in PWTC. All the politicians interviewed said that it was not the right time. Question is when is it the right time ? What is the right time ? Or should they follow a long list of protocols before their letter can be read ? The human brain is not as simple as other living creatures that if told to wait, they will wait until the end of the world. Or the human brain will not know how to think and what to think about the Ahmad Ismail’s case. The latest Malaysian feat was to go into space and Dr SMS has already done it. He mirrors the Malaysians who have his kind of ability. Therefore, can Malaysians be so stupid ?

47. #48 by vsp on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:26 pm

Alongside with my earlier posting, I would like to refer to this:

“Fong pointed out that the court in the case of Abdul Karim vs Legislative Assembly of Sabah held the legislature in Sabah was constitutionally empowered to pass a law, by amending its constitution, to deprive an assemblyman of his seat if he switches party.

However in April 1992, the Supreme Court in Nordin bin Salleh v Dewan Undangan Negeri Kelantan, held that the law forcing an assemblyman who changed his party after his election to the legislature, to vacate his seat, was unconstitutional as it conflicts with the fundamental right provided under Article 10 (1) (c) of the federal constitution which guarantees all citizens freedom of association, including their right to dissociate with any association.

The court also held that this anti-hopping provision is not part of the essential provisions stipulated in the Eighth Schedule of the federal constitution which must be incor-porated in any state constitution.

The legal effect of anti-hopping law is that an elected legislator will be expelled from legislature if he switches political allegiance.

If he desires to return to the legislature under a new political party, he must do so via a by-election, Fong said.

Parliament has to change the constitution first before they can pass anti-hopping laws.”

Now you see why cross-overs are still legal! The Supreme Court has legalised this practice to suit the wish of the BN. BN has failed to pass an anti-hopping law when they had the 2/3 majority in Parliament and they should not be complaining why the kataks are very active now.

So for all you who still insist on the ethics of cross-over open your eyes. Kapal Singh, where are you? You should know better, being a lawyer yourself!

48. #49 by vsp on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:30 pm

Alongside with my earlier posting, I would like to refer to this:

“Fong pointed out that the court in the case of Abdul Karim vs Legislative Assembly of Sabah held the legislature in Sabah was constitutionally empowered to pass a law, by amending its constitution, to deprive an assemblyman of his seat if he switches party.

However in April 1992, the Supreme Court in Nordin bin Salleh v Dewan Undangan Negeri Kelantan, held that the law forcing an assemblyman who changed his party after his election to the legislature, to vacate his seat, was unconstitutional as it conflicts with the fundamental right provided under Article 10 (1) (c) of the federal constitution which guarantees all citizens freedom of association, including their right to dissociate with any association.

The court also held that this anti-hopping provision is not part of the essential provisions stipulated in the Eighth Schedule of the federal constitution which must be incor-porated in any state constitution.

The legal effect of anti-hopping law is that an elected legislator will be expelled from legislature if he switches political allegiance.

If he desires to return to the legislature under a new political party, he must do so via a by-election, Fong said.

Parliament has to change the constitution first before they can pass anti-hopping laws.”

Now you see why cross-overs are still legal! The Supreme Court has legalised this practice to suit the wish of the BN. BN had failed to pass an anti-hopping law when they had the 2/3 majority in Parliament and they should not be complaining why the kataks are very active now.

So for all you who still insist on the ethics of cross-over open your eyes. Kapal Singh, where are you? You should know better, being a lawyer yourself!

49. #50 by Fair Play on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:32 pm

What good can come from MCA leaders and ministers ? OTK today in NST gave us the impression that he thinks Chinese-educated Chinese are one up on English-educated Chinese . He does not even know then that Tun Tan Siew Sin was English-educated . In campaigning for the March 2008 Election , OKC told the Hockiens to vote for the Hockien candidates . Isn’t it bad enough that Malaysians are divided into ethnic groups ? The MCA even divides Malaysian Chinese into theChinese- educated and English-educated sectors , and clans .
    These dinosaurs should be extinct by now .

50. #51 by imranj78 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:37 pm

vsp,
    Or could it be that DSAI is lying low now due to the fact that he has taken the country on a wild goose chase and he is trying to calm the situation down to avoid being labelled a liar?

Remember that the onus is on Anwar to proof that he indeed has the 30+ MPs on his side. And this must be strong proof and backed up with declarations from those MPs themselves. The burden of proof lies on Anwar and not on BN. Why would BN relinquish power when Anwar can’t even back up his claims conclusively? Or wait.. maybe he doesn’t have 30+ MPs with him in the first place?

But the fact is, trying to capture power by defections is not only unethical, it is also highly undemocratic. I find it amusing that he is trying to vouch for democracy and human rights and at the same time doing something totally the opposite. Its what people say, cakap tak serupa bikin! Definitely not someone I want as our PM.

51. #52 by imranj78 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:43 pm

vsp,
    The fact that there is no provision that bars a politician from switching parties doesn’t mean that it is ethical and democratic! Yes it might not be illegal but it runs in contrary to democratic principles where the rakyat decides who and which party represents them in parliament and NOT a bunch of MPs and definitely NOT DSAI!

The fact that BN used defections previously doesn’t mean that PR should follow suit. (Remember DSAI was the architect of the Sabah defections to BN years back). Two wrongs doesn’t make a right! If PR is willing to turn back on this democratic principle, what makes you think they will not turn on back on others?

For once I support Karpal Singh on this matter and concur with his views.

52. #53 by katdog on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:44 pm

You know what? I am seeing PR states gradually behaving like BN – appeasing parochial interests at the expense of societal interests. Remember, Lee Kuan Yew acted tough with Singaporeans, not engaging in populist and appeasing tendency. You are given five years, you have to start doing from now before you stand a chance to be given another five years – limkamput

Hear! Hear! i agree with you! After the recent floods in Penang many roads have been badly damaged. I hope to see someone actually repair them soon. Plus i am still waiting to see what DAP’s plans are for public transportation and the notorious taxi’s.

What are the rest of DAP leaders doing? Is GE the only lone top dog deciding everything?

53. #54 by katdog on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 12:29 am

And might i add DAP isn’t doing such a fantastic job checking up on the federal government as well.

No one picked out the complete and blatant misinformation fed by Health Minister Liow Tiong Lai to the Malaysian people regarding melamine in food.
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Saturday/NewsBreak/20081004174121/Article/index_html

Lie 1: EU has never set the allowable level of melamine in foodstuff at 30ppm.

Lie 2: Trace amounts of melamine cannot be transferred to foodstuff via plastic wrappers. Melamine is used in the manufacturing of HARD plastics. Not plastic wrappers.

Melamine is a toxic synthetic chemical used in manufacture of plastics. It is not naturally found and its safety level is measured in terms of TDI, Tolerable Daily Intake. TDI is used to measure chemicals that DO NOT have a reason to be found in food.

Yet DAP has allowed our Health Ministry to set 2.5ppm as the allowable content of melamine in our foodstuff when the actual content of melamine should be ZERO.

54. #55 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 12:30 am

According to The MalaysianInsider’s report of 7th October, an Australia-based reporter had asked Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi (Abdullah) [after his meeting the Biotechnology International Advisory Panel] about Datuk Zaid Ibrahim’s resignation over the recent use of the ISA.

Abdullah was quick in this case to take responsibility when he said that “reforms he had promised to the rakyat would continue” and that “because Zaid is not around anymore doesn’t mean it will stop. It is not his idea in the first place, it is mine,” reminding reporters that it was in his 2004 election manifesto…..

Now contrast this with another earlier question posed by the same reporter whether AAB was concerned that Malaysia’s image was tarnished due to the use of the ISA against a journalist, controversial blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin and opposition MP Teresa Kok.

It is most strange that in respect of the Internal Security Act Abdullah said specifically that “it is exclusively the responsibility of the Minister of Home Affairs”.

Exclusively ???

I would have thought that the Minister of Home Affairs is accountable to the Prime Minister and the Minister of Home Affairs could not proceed with the ISA detentions without the Prime Minister’s prior knowledge and agreement – and that if the Prime Minister as numero ono disagreed, the Hime Minister could not proceed with his intentions.

What does this all mean? Is that a hint that he was so weak in power that he could not even override or countermand or revoke as Prime Minister the decision of his Minister of Home Affairs even if he disagreed? What’s happening?

Reference to MalaysianInsider’s report may be found here –

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/10084-trios-detention-pm-says-zaid-not-involved

55. #56 by BloodSucker on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 12:47 am

Over my dead body if the BN cronies, MCA, MIC, Gerakan & SUPP are willing to sacrifice their personal interests in saving those detainees under ISA and to abolish ISA> No way, the coward politicians are too greedy, arrogance and selfish about their own welath and interests come first before thinking about the nation interest.

Justice my ass to bet on these goonies will never want their parties to quit BN forever since they are in BN comfort zone for 50 years and ever ready to abuse too.. power and corrupt. Finally you will never know money politic and own – interest are paramount in dirty political games.

Leaving BN is the last resort if their Master UMNO is gone with the wind of change. Believe it or Not.

56. #57 by Malar on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 1:06 am

Please do not get MIC to join the opposition. MIC was rejected by the Indians and I am sure that PR members would not want to see them in their party. Samy value should not interfere with Hindraf. He should first sort out the problems in Maika and find a solution to return the poor indians’ hard earn money. That would be the biggest help Samy value can do for the indians before he disappears in the thin air cursed by the indians.

57. #58 by AhPek on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 1:28 am

Jeffrey,
    The fact that the Prime Minister does not take ownership in anything since day 1 of his stewardship has not only disastrous consequences for the country,it has also made this country a laughing stock of the world!

58. #59 by kerajaan.rakyat on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 1:48 am

Pemimpin UMNO mulut macam bontot ayam.
    Mereka cakap tidak guna akal.

Kalau nak selamatkan Malaysia,
    Kita, Rakyat mesti tumpaskan UMNO/BN.

http://malaysia-update.blogspot.com/

59. #60 by monsterball on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 1:58 am

UMNO and BN are so used to be spoon feed with easy money ..no nee to work…and opportunities.
    What we keep seeing things happening are vastly for personal selfish reasons…..play acting….in the name of the country and it’s people.
    Nothing has change in BN. It is very much… a race and religion politics….for them to survive. That’s all they know…how to win votes.
    And voters are simply fed up…yet they refused to listen.
    And if you argue…they are shaming us…based on our great Chinese heritage……they will twist and say……they are Malaysians….not Chinese.
    Then what the heck…does Ong Tee Kiat insist to debate ..using Mandarin?
    Why not Bahasa…or English?….to let all Muslims and Indians.. understand too?
    Is Ong telling UMNO…you can use Bahasa..I can use Mandarin…to keep playing race politics?
    Yes…..he is…..and that’s MCA future President.

60. #61 by monsterball on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 3:04 am

The biggest problem with Dollah….is trying to be too smart…when he is not.
    He won the hearts of Malaysians..on the 11th election…because he was so simple and direct..somewhat so sincere.
    He was doing very well…for two years..than Malaysians have enough of no action talks from him.
    That’s where…he started to show…his weaknesses….dare not make decisions fast.
    You see…when you are not smart…you must also not be a braggart.Change plane..understood. But yacht…is showing…..what a braggart he is……trying to out do Mahathir..in words….in arguments….but again…..no actions against Mahathir or his son………showing clearly….he is a racialist too.
    13th election…was the final warning by voters to him..yet since after the election….non stop politics…no work done.
    Then….Permatang Pauh..first nail to his coffin…yet he ignored. He ignored…to keep his promises to be ..”People’s PM”.
    Instead..all sorts of fears….provocations…and arrests under ISA performed….totally no more …the ‘People’s PM”
    Why is he like that?
    He was a ..humble..nice .cultured …mild mannered PM…..suddenly changed…performing laws of the jungles….to frighten Malaysians.
    Who taught him that?
    All were against Mahathir…then suddenly….the doctor…that kills ….more than curing.. .. is proven right…embarrassing all those UMNO Supreme Council politicians..that supported him.!!
    So ..is he an idiot…or one hell of a selfish man?
    He is both. That’s his downfall.
    Had he listened to Malaysians…majority UMNO Supreme Council politicians will back him up….starting..by getting court cases on corruptions…..concluded…and Mongolian murder case….must have Najib and wife….to testify…..to prove RPK is lying..or otherwise.
    But no…he keep defending Najib..for his personal benefits..an against majority Malaysians wishes…to know the truths..through court case…and not through his own conclusions.
    That also made him….so true to be one hell of a corrupted man..protecting each other in UMNO…..Just as Mahathir said …he is..
    Now that old man…keep talking corruptions…as if.. he is an angel from heaven…sent to Malaysia.
    That’s how sickening UMNO is….and Mahathir will always be included…as UMNO man..even if he tries to fool Malaysians…he is no more ….an UMNO man.

61. #62 by Richardqed on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 4:19 am

“But the fact is, trying to capture power by defections is not only unethical, it is also highly undemocratic. I find it amusing that he is trying to vouch for democracy and human rights and at the same time doing something totally the opposite. Its what people say, cakap tak serupa bikin! Definitely not someone I want as our PM.”
    — imranj78

For someone who’s talking about “unethical” and “undemocratic”, you conveniently forgot to condemn Umno first when in fact they are the most unethical and most undemocratic of them all. Already your own credibility is destroyed when you overlooked this fact.

62. #63 by Kathy on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 7:09 am

We need to remember that it is not that the Pakatan controlled states are not doing their best – they are but their hands are also tied. Remember that the former administration from BN has already used up at least 80% (forgive me if the percentage is wrong) of the money allocated for the year before the GE in March. How do we expect the quick and prompt repairs of everything now?

63. #64 by vsp on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 7:18 am

imranj78
    “…but I for one still belief ISA is needed but in need of a reform.”

Yes, I agree with you. In Bolehland we have laws for all conceivable situation, but the sad fact is that the greatest law breakers are the UMNOputras themselves! They don’t respect the law of the country.

In the event that they are booted out of power, I can foresee that they will not go away peacefully. They will go amok and here is where the ISA will be very useful. They will be the real enemy of the people. After they have been locked up, then only can the ISA be amended so that only undesirable people, like the UMNOputras who go amok can be arrested. Other than that, no.

64. #65 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 8:07 am

Going forward from what imranj78 said – ie “ I for ill believe ISA is needed but in need of a reform” – this is what purports to be the list of ISA detainees : http://www.aliran.com/oldsite/monthly/2001/3e.htm

Many of the detainees are accused of being associated with radical Islamic groups. One of the longest serving is Yazid Sufaat.

Yazid Sufaat was described by Wikipedia as “a member of the Islamist terrorist organization Jemaah Islamiyah from shortly after its founding in 1993 until his arrest by Malaysian authorities on 9 December 2001 – see : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yazid_Sufaat

Does release of all ISA detainees include those accused or suspected of asociation with Islamic terrorist cells groups??? Can it be proven that Malaysia has equally escaped bombing ala Bali fashion if ISA were not in place???

In today’s world even western nations renowned for Rule of Law have increasingly made their laws relatively more draconian to confront the challenges of terrorism : eg. the US’s Patriot Act, and in UK, Gordon Brown recently tried to extend remand period under the Terrorism Act from 14 to 28 days, which was defeated.

Way back in 60s and 70s the scourge of Triad Societies was neutralized by Special Branch using a slew of draconian preventive detention laws equivalent to ISA like Restricted Residence Act 1933 Emergency (Public Order and Prevention of Crime) Ordinance 1969 and Prevention of Crime Act 1959 that Amnesty International presently takes issue with.

Of course the ISA has also been abused to protect security of the ruling coalition eg Operation Lallang and detention of the reporter, Theresa and RPK.

So how to balance the competing imperatives of protecting national security as against the need to prevent abuse of powers?

If one wants to balance safety of the citizens against encroachment of civil liberties and infraction of Rule of Law, perhaps a compromise may be forged in amending (as distinct from repealing/abolishing) draconian laws like ISA by defining clearly that the legislations are to be used only where (i) there is reasonable evidence that detainees prove a clear and present danger of threat to national security, (ii) define clearly what constitutes national security (as distinct from and excluding Opposition or Criticisms of the ruling government as such a threat) and (iii) making sure that Ministerial and police decisions in detaining are justiciable ie. subject to judicial review whether the detentions are lawful within intent of such legislations.

65. #66 by taiking on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 8:28 am

Kathy you have a point.

Besides, GE inherited an old incompetent, unproductive and corrupt system which is driven by a rotten and outmoded umno culture.

66. #67 by taiking on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 8:33 am

Umno will never abolish ISA and they will not do it even if 90% of malaysians are against the Act.

Neither will they carry out the promised judicial reform. Nor the independant body to moniter the police force.

67. #68 by limkamput on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 8:55 am

Kathy, I must say please stop finding excuses. And taiking, you too. Surely running a government is easy if we just sit there and blaming others. Surely people did not elect PR to be told that there is nothing much they can do because of past culture or because of lack of resources. I am sure many of us want to see new initiatives, new strategies and new ideas to manage the states despite the constraints they face. Now PR is saying they can only do something when they have taken over the Federal Government. I really hope so, but I am also beginning to think what excuses they would give after they have taken over the fed govt. Anyway, we shall see, but my faith is fading fast. PR have too many half baked socialists and coffee shop politicians, too few technocrats and managers. But I am not saying BN is better, don’t get me wrong.

68. #69 by Toyol on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 9:21 am

The only thing that binds BN component parties together is money, not ideology or common goals nor principles. They never were in it for the rakyat. How can we expect now that Gerakan, MCA, MIC to abandon ship when there is so much cash at stake. Maybe when the country is dried up we will see them leave BN!

69. #70 by abunsui on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 9:26 am

MIC, MCA, GERAKAN to leave BN/UMNO? Cannot! Their members or grassroots YES. Because their leaders are COWARD.

Cakap tak serupa bikin!! = (NATO) No Action Talk Only = LIP Service.

70. #71 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 9:26 am

dear kathy and taiking,

what makes both of you think that pr can manage a country when they cannot manage a state ?

if the excuse , that pr inherited 20% of any funds left for the states. what excuse than when pr inherit a country with a gaping deficits?

just skirting around the problems willnot solve the problems. if we ( the raayat know we voted pr into power, now pr telling the raayat, our hands are tied.

check out the list that mr.limkamput had highlited in penang.

71. #72 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 9:38 am

yb lim kit siang, may not want to read this.

the world is facing a economic depression. chief minister of penang is flying off to dubai for business venture. is penang ready to compete with iskandar zone? i doubt so.

dear godfather,

can you honestly , believe that hadi and karpal can sit together in the same cabinet?

be real. the raayat are suffering from over dose of politicking in the country. either dsai wait for the next ge or stop putting dates for guessing.this is not a game of chess. this global crisis is for real. and the raayat are suffering for real.

kit, many ordinary raayat dont care who the government is now – except to fix the economy. 916 is a bluff.

72. #73 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 9:57 am

I agree with Limkamput that things move rather slow in Penang, and expectations are very high in Guan Eng and his team. There are areas that PR government accomplished with excellent results, such as rolling out Penang free wireless internet, almost without cost to the state government, whereas under BN the same plan is costing hundreds of millions of taxpayers’ money. I also agree with Limkamput that this is time to come down hard on repeat offenders, such as the taxi drivers, frankly these are the people who called themselves as Penangites but they are the first one to turn-off any tourists visiting the Island, like most taxi drivers in the country, they are lazy, greedy, self-centered and rude, especially towards the locals. But hey, it is not PR government to blame should thing didn’t improve, it is Penangites themselves, they shit on their own backyards, or ignored when others shit on their own backyards. It takes two hands to clap.

73. #74 by Mr Smith on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 9:59 am

limkamput,
    Differences of opinions are bound to occur in every organization. What more in a coalition like Pakatan? This is not the time to look at differences. Look at our common goals and aspirations. At this point in time any government will be better than BN.
    The present government has completely lost touch with the pulse of the nation and sensitivities of the people. It is existing in a world of its own.
    What choice do we have besides Pakatan?

74. #75 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 10:09 am

another illusion from mr.smith. pas and dap have more differences than similarities.

“what choice do we have besides pakatan”
    is that how we voted pr? lack of choice or HOPE.

75. #76 by Fair Play on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 10:20 am

Clannishness in MCA – it was OKT who called on the Hockkiens to vote for their clansmen , not OKC . Sincere apoligies to OKC .

76. #77 by limkamput on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 10:38 am

It is time to take off the gloves. The honeymoon is over. If we remain gentle with PR, they will degenerate into the exact mentality of BN.

Rakyat need to be cajoled, educated, and compelled. That is what a good government is all about. If a government is just to follow the dictates of the rakyat, that is populist and lack of leadership. Societal interests will be scarified at the altar of parochial and vested interest demands. Let me give you a few illustrations: Hawkers have their right to hawk but they do not have their right to create filth everywhere. Ordinary citizens have their right to drive, but they do not have their right to park in whatever place they like. We respect the right of the people to earn a living, but in the course of them doing so, they do not have the right to create congestion, environmental hazard and pollution. People have their right to extend houses and shops, but they must make sure by doing so, they do not infringe on the rights of their neighbours. People have their right to religion, but they must make sure places of worship are built legally and in proper places.

If we have problems dealing with all these, the solution is not to close both eyes and to allow the people to go on violating the laws and regulations. The solutions are to seek alternatives, concerted enforcement, education and inculcation. If PR think the constraints are too daunting and there is nothing much they can do, then they are no difference from BN.

77. #78 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 11:48 am

there is no learning curve for politicians. kit siang must be told the truth of how disgrunted the grassroots are about the state of political and economical stability in Malaysia.

if there is a snap election, the ketuan raayat will revert to vote for political stability. seven months of honey moon provided for by mr.limkamput is more than enough. ( too generous ).

mic , mca, supp ,ppp is none of pr concern. the raayat is your main concern and responsibility. we voted pr. the attempt for political mileage is over. start governing .

78. #79 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 12:06 pm

meninggalkan barisan nasional ibarat meninggalkan lubuk emas wahai saudara lim kit siang…..itu adalah cakap cakap kosong teman seperjuangan penyodok-penyodok emas terbesar lagi terbilang…..

79. #80 by imranj78 on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 12:10 pm

Richardqed,
    I never said that BN nor UMNO are angels did I? I even said that BN, UMNO and even DSAI were agents of undemocratic and unethical actions before. But I also said that this does not give PR the license to follow the same unethical behaviours. If they do, what’s the difference between PR and BN? Two wrongs doesn’t make a right.

There is a Malay saying that goes like this – `cuba menegakkan benang yang basah’. Those who say that it is acceptable and ethical to form a government through defections (such as DSAI) are doing exactly that – trying to justify an action that has no place in the democratic world.

80. #81 by flyer168 on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 1:26 pm

Dear YB LKS,

Who knows, when PM is cornered, KJ & the 4th floor boys could have another plan….the Altantunya Military intelligence report (as per one of RPK’s article) could suddenly surface….& another round of cat & mouse game could buy more time for PM….whilst at the same time “destroying” DPM’s postition/creditability including his gravy train….

Just be patient….more revelations will be forthcoming as the Political Opportunists (Party Heroes wannabe vs PM’s Heroes wannabes!) get more “impatient & desperate”…

The Self Destruct mechanism within BN & UMNO is already in action.

Devine intervention works wonders !

Meanwhile PR can remain focus & maintain their their numbers as the “morality” issue (a blessing in disguise) serves to ensure “Political Opportunists” would serve no purpose (become Trojan horse within PR).

This is where you should moot the idea of the 3rd Front to accommodate all the “ex-BN component party members” who have left (like SAPP, etc) or plan to leave BN either enbloc or individually.

As long as the BN majority is reduced (any which way !) – the 3rd Front/Party can later affiliate with PR without the morality issue……

Just think for a minute…..the basic issue at hand….a young Mongolian lady visitor to Kuala Lumpur was murdered in a most “Henious & Barbaric” manner in Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia.

Up to this day, I am ashamed that Malaysia with all the multi million ringgit hi-tech Forensic equipment & investigations is not able to establish any concrete evidence/conclusion with that crime.

Instead, the pepetrators of that case has brought this great nation on a “Wild Goose Chase” deviating from the basic issue into a “Political” cat & mouse charade….causing the bereaved family to suffer unnecessarily.

What’s more, many innocent “Political” victims (in trying to defend the truth to restore Justice, Freedom of speech, etc & Equality in the system) have been harassed/intimidated/jailed by the Power-that be….

Has anyone calculated the unnecessary waste of our Taxpayer’s ringgit in this “Political” charade ?

What about the “Shame, our nation’s Creditability & being labelled as another Zimbabwe” internationally !

We started with the Westminster style of Democracy, Judiciary system, Monarchy, etc in 1957 with Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra & his first cabinet until he was betrayed by the “Elite Ketetuanan” group.

Since then we have been “Mis-led” by BN & UMNO all these years manupulating that great “Westminster style” system into the present “Gutter” Political system !

Just who are the real “Traitors” to this great nation ?

You be the judge !

81. #82 by Swarnabumi on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 2:13 pm

What is old man Samy Vellu trying to establish when he said ” Ask them to explain on HINDRAF Account”.
    I think he is already senile that he forgot to reveal :
    1. Maika Account – who is taking back how much?.
    2. Telekom Shares Account – who benefited the most, the poor Indians or Samy Vellu ?
    3. MIC Accounts – who is enjoying , a bunch of thugs or the poor Indians.
    After which we shall discuss about HINDRAF Account. Anybody knows how much of professional income Wythamoorthy lost all this while?. You mean to say he enjoys Diwali as a loner out there without his family? Nobody cares ! At certain age ( 65+) you should go on pilgrimage to wash away your Karma(sins). At 72 you should be in an ashram.

82. #83 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 5:42 pm

ADAM YONG ABDULLAH has the point, PR has to prove to Malaysians that they can govern sincerely and honestly. Period. Indulging in upping BN and its component parties in words does not mean much to those Malaysians who have no chance to see a computer screen, not to say to own one!
    Some of us have the luxury of typing in the comfort of a air-con room; just ask those who have to work under the sun for their opinions. As it is, some of us have certainly gone over-board in pushing our opinions as if others’ don’t count! Just like UMNO’s.
    Even in Selangor, there are so many issues not resolved. Just in Klang and Port Klang, floods still cause so many problems to those living in the out-lying areas. Can’t something be done? Well, PR can spend time to catch the former crooks and at the same time take actions to improve the life of the working people.

83. #84 by Old.observer on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 5:52 pm

ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH Says:

Today at 09: 38.21 (7 hours ago)

… be real. the raayat are suffering from over dose of politicking in the country. either dsai wait for the next ge or stop putting dates for guessing.this is not a game of chess. this global crisis is for real. and the raayat are suffering for real.

REPLY: Today is October 7. For me, it’s been at least a week if not two weeks since DSAI last gave a deadline for cross-over. DSAI has indirectly chided Tian Chua and PAS publicly, when he publicly announced that from now onwards (a week or two weeks ago?), all announcements on cross-overs will come only from himself. So, what are you rambling about by continue to blame DSAI for the present woes especially over the past week or two weeks when 916 was already a distant past? Are you expecting DSAI to quit politics altogether? What exactly do you want DSAI and YB Kit to do? To announce that they will categorically not work on cross-overs over the next 4 years? Is this in line with the Constitution that says that the PM’s job is not a guaranteed tenure?

Politicians are politicians. It’s their job. A silent politician is not a politician. My advice to you is “GET REAL”.

And yes, the global crisis is real. Rakyat’s suffering is real. And the only party that can make a real difference today is the Government. Not the Opposition. It doesn’t mean we don’t need the Opposition. It means the Government must take steps to alleviate Rakyat’s sufferings, whether that is through proper Government spending, initiatives, programs, cost cuttings, efficiency improvements, eliminating corruption, better benefits for Rakyat, education, crime and improved policing, and a million other things. Don’t blame DSAI. Don’t blame the Opposition. Blame 99.9% on the Government because they have the people, they control the resources, they make the decisions.

Or are you expecting the Opposition to come up with ideas for the Government? Then, what is the Government for?

84. #85 by Old.observer on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 6:02 pm

Jeffrey, I like your post of Today at 08: 07.15 (9 hours ago) questioning whether we should repeal ISA altogether and asking the important question whether we have adequate safeguards against things like terrorist attacks if ISA is repealed altogether.

Personally, my own simplistic layperson view is that if someone is a terrorist that is capable of causing a real threat to national security, there should be some connection that the Government should be able to prove. For example, links with known terrorist groups, or past activities or skills that shows that such a person has the motive, the means and the opportunity to cause such a threat. Basically, I’m walking along the path that there should be a fair trial allowed after the initial urgent detention. The government does not need to have 100% water-tight proof. Such proofs are probably impossible anyway in the case of some genuine terrorist threats. However, I believe the Government need to be able to demonstrate in courts that the weight of evidence points towards the probability that such a person is a genuine threat. In other words, say something like 60% to 80% probable, as opposed to 100% certainty.

Even in such a generalized %, it is obvious that someone like RPK will not meet such a requirement. Meaning, he should simply not be detained under ISA. If it goes to a fair trial, I have no doubts the courts would free him immediately.

Indefinite detention without the possibility of fair trial is simply ridiculous in today’s times. It might be acceptable hundreds of years ago, or even 50 years ago, but not today.

85. #86 by vsp on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 10:37 pm

limkamput & adam yong ibni abdullah:

You two lousy dogs barking at the wrong tree!

Ask yourselves: who is the government? who is controlling the purse string and with it the resources to get things done? who control all the instruments of the state? who create all the mess that we are facing today?

If the BN cannot solve all these problems after 51 years of ruling this country, you expect Pakatan, with their hands tied behind their backs to do wonders in 6 months?

Get real man!

There are many governments with only a slim majority and yet they can govern their countries in cooperation with the Opposition. But here in Bolehland with a strong majority, still they are fighting like cats and dogs. These are the people you should be barking at.

86. #87 by limkamput on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 11:56 pm

VSP, what sh!t is vsp? Is it a lousy ..I guess so. I suggest you go read properly first before putting your … comments here. So you are equating PR with BN, are you? I am not interested. I expect PR tp do better, period, despite whatever constraints they face. Right now it is just blaming game, with nothing to show.
    Before i go, i just want to let you know that dogs are obviously better than sh!t, what more it is …sh!t like you.

87. #88 by lopez on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 11:57 pm

how can some people be so damn blind and yet blocog
    ever visit a gomn dept , and get direct and redirect and direct and redirect in circles and up and down the stairs and elevators before you know it is is lunch time….come another day lah.

you think the civil servant is invinsible ka, they also go to the polls too,,,,,so what happens when insubordination takes place…you get things broken or confiscated regarless what is the standing instruction. so who is in charge….dream on

if ever we see interested people living the sinking ship, cahnces are all time favourite questions arise : what is it for me and what if i leave and then i cannot renew my license? or no more free parking space.

go sell fish and dream on ….oth….people makes the world go round ..lets see which of them are not.

88. #89 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 12:15 am

@Jeffrey,Old.observer:
    I think the ISA should go completely. Legislating against ‘threats’ is a slippery slope that leads to despotism. Most laws (in my criminal ignorance of the details of most laws) punish law breakers after the act, when it is clear that some harm or loss has occurred, and evidence can be collected to prove that a person or persons committed, facilitated or incited the act. The punishment aspect of law acts as a deterrent. The deterrent effect is helped by transparent publicity of the law and its application.

A law that seeks to punish ‘capability’ to commit a crime is something we should all fear. I am, under such a law, a rapist, an arsonist, a mass murderer and a thief. Given time, I would like several thousand other potential crimes to be taken into consideration. What is the appropriate punishment for my capability?

A law that seeks to punish threats must already exist in Malaysia, mustn’t it? Overt threats of injury, financial loss or other hardship should be well covered, I would have thought.

‘Covert threats’ are not threats. I have no fear of covert threats, and if I did, I could seek help for my fear – it would be paranoia. If they are known by somebody other than the person or person threatening, then they are overt, and covered by other law. If they are unknown, except by a person or persons plotting to carry out a surprise crime, then they are like most crimes – not a crime until they’re committed. Empowering a legal system to ‘stop crimes before they happen’ is a dangerous fantasy.

There’s a great 3-part BBC documentary from 2004 called ‘The Power of Nightmares’ that goes into the subject in great detail. In the third part it notes that of the thousands of funny-looking-possibly-foreign people detained in the USA after the World Trade Center atrocity, there was never any evidence to suggest any of them were ever going to commit a crime or terrorist act.

As for current ISA detainees: if the ISA were to be repealed, I would expect all the detainees to be charged with crimes. If any of them were to be charged with extreme crimes, then I imagine you have some law that allows their continued detention (on remand?) while a conviction is secured – do you? Any of them charged with less serious crimes should be released on bail.

I guess one tricky point in Malaysia is that last “serious”. I have a lot of respect for lawmakers. It can’t be an easy job. The image of lawmakers skirting around the elephant in the room is at once entertaining and depressing.