Over 60% of grassroots in Gerakan, MCA, MIC and over 80% of members of Sabah/Sarawak parties want to quit BN

The front-page headline in the evening edition of tomorrow’s Chinese newspapers is the speech by the Gerakan acting president Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon that at least 60 per cent of the grassroots in Gerakan want the party to leave Barisan Nasional (BN) to be “relieved of the heavy emotional burden of BN”.

Speaking at the opening of the Federal Territory (FT) Gerakan Wanita and Youth delegates conference this morning, Koh said the Gerakan Central Committee would undertake a more objective and rational analysis of the “quit BN” sentiments in the party.

I dare say without much fear of contradiction that if given the opportunity to voice out, it is not just over 60 per cent of the grassroots in Gerakan but also over 60 per cent of the membership in MCA and MIC would want their parties to leave Barisan Nasional – and the percentage will be even higher for many Barisan Nasional component parties in Sabah and Sarawak, easily exceeding 80%.

This is because the UMNOputra leadership, despite the major blow suffered by UMNO political hegemony in the March 8 general election by a multi-racial and multi-religious Pakatan Rakyat, has proved to be utterly insensitive, blind and deaf to the legitimate aspirations of all Malaysians, including ordinary Malays.

Although the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, had immediately declared after the March 8 “political tsunami” that he had finally heard the message from the voters and would deliver the many reform pledges which he had failed to implement, things have gone from bad to worse with the widening and deepening of the multiple crisis of confidence in the country in the past seven months.

Recent events have highlighted the worsening multiple crisis of confidence on the political, economic, institutional and nation-building fronts like:

• The 2008 United Nations Conference on Trade and Development World Investment Report that Malaysia’s foreign direct investment outflows surpassed inflows last year – outflows surged by 82 per cent from 2006 to RM38 billion compared to inflows of RM29 billion, up 39 per cent. According to HLeBroking Research, foreign investors are exiting the country “at a worrying rate”, totaling RM125 billion for the first half of 2008.

• The plunge in the Kuala Lumpur Composite Index from an all-time high of 1,524 points in January to 1,157 shortly after the March general election, to a two-year low of 963 on September 18.

• The 10-placing plunge in Malaysia’s ranking in the Transparency International Corruption Perception Index during the five-year premiership of Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi from No. 37 in 2003 to No. 47 in 2008;

• The recent gross abuse of the Internal Security Act in the arbitrary arrests of Sin Chew reporter, Tan Hoon Cheng, DAP MP and Senior Exco Teresa Kok (both since released) and blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin and the continued detention of the Hindraf Five and other ISA detainees.

• Malay chauvinism and communalism rearing their ugly heads – evidenced by the emphasis on ketuanan Melayu in direct conflict with the Vision 2020 objective of Bangsa Malaysia, which should focus on ketuanan rakyat Malaysia and the furore over Ahmad Ismail’s “penumpang” speech at the Permatang Pauh by-election.

With at least 60 per cent of the grassroots in Gerakan wanting to quit BN, is Koh and the Gerakan party leadership going to respect and accept these grassroots sentiments or are they going to ride roughshod over these majority sentiments of the Gerakan grassroots by dismissing them as irrational and emotional?

This is of course a decision which would have to be decided by the Gerakan internally, but Malaysians at large are waiting and watching the outcome of the Gerakan “soul-searching”.

(Speech at the DAP “Abolish ISA” ceramah at Serdang, Selangor on Sunday, 28th September 2008 at 9 pm)

1. #1 by Rocky on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 11:45 am

KSK is a joke.It is like I love you love you not story for him. But the people already don’t care much about Gerakan thus the 8th March results. Why? Cos Gerakan is cakap tak serupa bikin.Now they are it again, talk and talk but nothing to show. Yeah they made a big deal about Ahmad Ismail but who ended up in ISA?

Gerakan if is serious, should just leave BN and be independent but with a promise not to go back to BN. They will be get stronger and may win some seats back in Penang. But alas these guys have tasted power and the things that come along with the power from it thus will be reluctant to leave BN and that is why they remain quiet all this while in BN cos they owb well being was well taken care of.

So Gerakan talk as much as you want, we know it is a wayang kulit for you to get some face from UMNO.

2. #2 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 11:46 am

Wanting to quit and actually doing it as two different matters. Most of the BN component parties are waiting to see what changes transpire within UMNO over the coming months before they make a deep and calculated decision. Most of the old guard are trying to convince the rest that their interests lie within BN and not as independents or with Pakatan. Yet others are vying for posts and positions. Statistics do not matter for much at the moment, especially when Anwar’s infamous list remains a figment of his own imagination :^)

3. #3 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 11:51 am

If I were Koh, I would have left the same night when Ahmad Ismail and his associates torn the photo. You don’t want to be like a dog in the BN parties. They really looked you down as a dog, and yet you still stay there as begger.

4. #4 by madmix on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 11:52 am

The “plunge” in KLCI has nothing to do with local politics and I wish opposition or BN would stop blaming the drop to “political instability”. If you look at regional bourses and bourses in Tokyo, US, Russia, Europe, China, South America, India…they all suffered the same fate; some much worse than KLCI. This is a world wide crisis that started in the US and not a local thing. If the KLCI were to stand this tidal wave, the Malaysia would be a miracle country, insulated from the rest of the world. Funds are flowing out because of massive redemptions of foreign funds; they need cash to cover the massive holes elsewhere.

5. #5 by myMind on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 12:04 pm

That’s a good statement by madmix.

6. #6 by yhsiew on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 12:10 pm

If I were MCA or Gerakan, I would have left BN long ago. It is not difficult to see that non-UMNO components in BN have been relegated to spectator (worse than observer) status after Tsunami 308 – they have no say and no power in BN.

Currently UMNO is treating the non-UMNO components as a door-key. When they need to use the key (to win seats for them), then only they take it out from the corner. After opening the door, they simply throw it back into the corner. Surely you don’t want to be somebody’s “convenience” if you are part of the family – you want to have a say and at least some basic rights to do the things that you want to do.

It is time that MCA and Gerakan seriously consider whether it is worth it to stay in BN.

7. #7 by PHUAKL on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 12:17 pm

Dear YB Lim

May I propose my Sixth Law of Malaysian Politics?

“The time needed to make a major political decision in the BN is directly proportional to the intensity of the pressure to make said
    major political decision”

Definition to clarify my Sixth Law:
    “Major political decision” can include things such as leaving shaky coalitions, or handing power to a successor

Fudge factor: Additional pressure from shadowy advisers (including indidviduals related through the matrimonial process)

Phua Kai Lit

8. #8 by abunsui on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 12:17 pm

If Sabah/Sarawak BN components are real in quitting out of BN/UMNO. Make sure they are not bringing along their ROTTEN practises in BN before. They MUST submit themselves to the WAY Pakatan Rakyat does.

QUIT now!! Don’t just talk. Stand alone (at least) like SAPP does, if other BN Components want to QUIT.

May be those in grassroots members should “TSUNAMILY” lead the quiting process. Leave alone the COWARD leaders.

No members mean no leaders. Leave them as “Cowards Club” of BN/UMNO.

9. #9 by Jamesy on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 12:20 pm

Good point.

MCA, MIC, Gerakan & other component parties in Sabah & Sarawak should do a “SAPP”.

Leave UMNO all alone in BN and see whether UMNO can still shout Ketuanan Melayu slogan and maintain the NEP.

Let UMNO rot in hell.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 12:21 pm

Gerakan top leaders, as beneficiaries of the UMNO patronage, have no enthusiasm to take Gerakan with alacrity out of BN.

It is therefore necessary for the Gerakan rank and file, whether 60% or 80%, to leave on their own accord independent of initiatives of Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon and Gerakan top leadership.

After all, the only reason for not leaving BN hinges on the premise that UMNO could abandon its communal policies, reform and re-invent itself.

But you have to ask yourself what are the prospects UMNO could reform and re-invent?

Our PM only talks of reforms and hasn’t really acted on any substantive reform yet and even then he is ousted.

The move to oust the PM should be a clearest signal to Gerakan members that UMNO will stick on to the tried and tested of Mahathirism.

Now Zaid Ibrahim is the smart one : he saw it coming ahead of time and made his exit in the nick of time with this integrity intact if not boosted before his patron of judicial reform, the PM himself got wedged out by his party’s powerful reactionaries anathemic to reforms, liberal and democratic values.

Some 20 FT Gerakan members have already defected to Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR), including former FT Gerakan information bureau chief Gan Kok Keng and former Setiawangsa Gerakan chief Li Tiam Chai.

The question is what the DAP could do to also open its door and facilitate this migration from Gerakan?

11. #11 by pakmang on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 12:27 pm

All BN parties cannot always be subservient to UMNO without their own decision making. In long run,I am definitely sure that the majority of grassroots will “jump Ship”. Just like a captain without crews on boat……

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 12:34 pm

So PHUAKL, life and death issues (in politics) – whether to stay on, oust the rival, collaborate etc – are influenced by the spouses (mainly wives) of our BN politicians? Sure PR’s politicians are stronger and outside this category? Might as well as the wives to sit together for table talk! :)

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 12:35 pm

“…Might as well have the wives to sit together for table talk!…”

14. #14 by PHUAKL on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 12:40 pm

Errr …. Jeffrey

The matrimonial process can also rope in ambitious
    sons-in-law !

Phua Kai Lit

15. #15 by Jeffrey on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 12:46 pm

In context of BN, son-in-law now very quiet, what voice in major decision has he got when father-in-law also recently lost voice???

16. #16 by peterchiang on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 12:53 pm

Malaysians will benefit –

1. Gerakan disband and close shop.
    2. KTK to head the most reputable Open University in the World.
    3. Majority of assets to donate to charity organizations.
    4. Some sold through open bid tenders and the profits collected to be distributed to all eligible party members.
    5. Party members allow to join PKR/MCA/MIC/PAS/DAP/UMNO suka-suka.

17. #17 by lhslhv on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 12:53 pm

If the ideology of “Ketuana Melayu” is wrong for Malaysia. It will always be wrong no matter how the politicians camouflage it.

Just like the ideology of communism, if it does not work it will fail and fall into pieces eventually. Like Soviet Union of Russia, the communist country disintegrated after 70 years of clinging to the false ideal.

This ugly UMNO tries to use this banckrupt ideology to stay in power because this is the best way to fool the unenlightened masses. With this pretext they can plunder the country for their selfish gains.

I remember an incident in Miri, Sarawak, where an elderly man asking some money from me for his meal. Looking at his pathetic plight, I gave him RM50 to last him a few days. I could emphatise with him his joy on receiving RM50. I could imagine that he had not seen RM50 in hs pocket for many many moons.

Just imagine Malysia has gained independence for 51years, there are still plenty of people like him in the small little towns across Malaysia especially in Sarawak.

Malaysia has plenty of natural resources and most importantly diversed human resources, but they have been abused and corrupted. The revenue are not returned to the country where they rightfully belong. Because of blatant high level corruption and abuse, Malaysia has been left with little for development especially social development in the rural areas.

The Sarawak and Sabah politicians are the same as their UMNO master, greedy. Their greeds made so many ordinary Malaysians suffer.

As our great Mahatma Ghandi once said, “The world has enough for everybody, greed makes it different.”

18. #18 by taiking on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 12:58 pm

Ahmad Ismail’s “The Pendatang” missile struck the mortal blow. It was inadvertant. That, we all knew well.

But at least the romance on board “The MV UMNO” can now officially and openly begin.

19. #19 by k1980 on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 1:04 pm

Why don’t the over 60% of grassroots in Gerakan, MCA, MIC and over 80% of members of Sabah/Sarawak parties contest for their party posts, kick out the incumbents such as Koh Tsu Kun and Sami Vero, and then join their parties to PR?

If it is not possible for them to stand against the incumbents, then simply resign en masse and cross over to PR

20. #20 by PHUAKL on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 1:05 pm

Hi Jeffrey 12:46:43

As the FIL appears to lose his voice, the voice in his ear
    from SIL, 4FBoys, (and if Dr M is right, even junior and version 2.0) can only get more urgent/frantic/panicky etc.

“When the (SIL’s) mouth stops opening and closing, the (SIL’s) brain gets going” and also the Cantonese saying “the silent canine is the one that bites the person to death”

Phua Kai Lit

21. #21 by Tonberry on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 1:15 pm

I urge all Pakatan Rakyat leaders not to accept Gerakan should they pull out from BN. The only reason i could think of why Gerakan wants to join PR is Penang. They were rejected by the voters there. And now they are trying to look for a shortcut to retake Penang. And after retaking Penang, nobody can guarantee they will not rejoin BN, as they are too many beggars inside Gerakan.

I dont mind facing 3-corner fights in Penang next GE. An independent party will not survive in this current political scenario. Gerakan should just disband totally and their members are welcome to join DAP/PAS/PKR.

22. #22 by oknyua on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 1:27 pm

For the past months I spent a few weeks travelling all over Sarawak. Your statistic is right YB Lim. In some constituencies – no hope for BN to win if election is held today. People literally holding parang preventing political people from entering – ie only PR allowed. Serious.

The main anger I found out is the treatment of local Native Land by the government. After 10 years in the JV, the locals have yet to earn anything. When it comes to land issue, the locals are willing to die fighting for it.

I am repeating this call, YB Lim. Get DAP sarawak on ready mode. State election coming, wipe out all the Den of Thieves (borrow Godfather’s words).

23. #23 by just a moment on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 1:30 pm

Talk and more talk. Gerakan KTK, stop wasting time and energy. Quit now before being Kick-out. Forget about face-saving and the likes. AI already proved a point. You all are just there to serve Umno. Since when you’re included in Goment “musical-chair and pillow fights party?
    Its still not too late, doors still open at PKR for now.

24. #24 by mohanaturo on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 1:43 pm

BN is controlled by UMNO.

All the others parties are their “yes-men”.

I feel all other component parties like MCA, MIC, GERAKAN and PPP should just quit BN, leving them wiht no legitimacy to continue ruling this multi-racial country as UMNO is only for the Malays.

25. #25 by paix on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 1:44 pm

Where is your pride? Enough is enough. Stop being UMNO’s whipping boys!

26. #26 by mohanaturo on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 1:45 pm

Here’s a short report on the Anti-I.S.A. candlelight vigil last Saturday night.

http://www.jerrymohan.blogspot.com

27. #27 by sweetiec on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 1:52 pm

To KTK:

“You just need to walk your talk; not talk your walk. Period”.

Anything different from the above is nonsense.

Best wishes:)

28. #28 by Jeffrey on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 1:57 pm

The majority of Gerakan members have more or less made up their minds. It is their leader Koh Tsu Koon (KTK) who should do some “soul searching”. To help him, lets remind him of the following events:-

· Bukit Bendera Umno division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail not only made racist remarks but attacked KTK personally, told Gerakan to get out of BN, with one of his supporters tearing down KTK’s framed photograph;

· PM asked Ahmad Ismail to explain himself or face action;

· Ahmad Ismail was defiant and maintained his stand;

· UMNO supreme Council “punished” him by suspending him from all party’s post for 3 years;

· Bukit Bendera UMNO division lodged an appeal to retract its decision on his punishment and meanwhile he had his way and remains “adviser” which ‘de facto’ wise is as good as leading and having influence on that division;

· All 13 Umno divisions in Penang have backed Bukit Bendera Umno division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail’s decision not to apologise. This revolt by Ahmad Ismail supported by 13 Penang UMNO divisions was initially seen as most critical challenge to Abdullah’s power-transition plan … but lo as events turned out, when move was made to shorten the PM’s tenure, Penang Umno was the first to throw their support behind the power transition plan of the PM in 2010. What great sandiwara!

KTK should search his conscience : can UMNO change?

29. #29 by wanderer on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 2:12 pm

It takes a leader to be able to make hard decisions and stand on principles. KTK of none of these qualities, after encountering such humiliation from a little fly from UMNO, Ahmad Ismail, a stronger man, would have without hesitation, direct the party to quit BN. What more credibility and a strong image of the party, can GERAKAN offer…both to her members and the public as a whole.
    MCA and MIC are sitting on the same disgraceful stage, only the leaders, have their own interests to remain as a component party of BN. This is Malaysian politics, self-interest comes before the nation.

30. #30 by Malaysia For ALL Malaysians on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 2:26 pm

I will bet every dollar in my pocket that non of the key component parties would want to move out of BN !!!! Instead their leadership would suggest to their humble members to be patient and would apply ” the wait and see game”.

BUT how do you expect to wait and seeeeee! Haven’t the rakyat given the MANDATE to BN for 51 years, only to be seen it abused over and over again by their custodians namely the government of the day.

Almost every thing that is investigated related to the government reveals a story by itself not positive but negative. But best of all it is hidden by the government machinery. This is evidence by the unjustified Acts of the government for starters ISA , the total destruction of the a so called democratic country by racial politics and best of all when the criminal is let loose and the innocent are questioned as seen in the case of the racist …. Ahmad Ismail!!!

So if you think Gerakan, MCA, MIC or for that matter the component parties of BN in Sabah/Sarawak would walk out to BN I can assure you it will not happen as long as their current LEADERSHIP or sad to say PUPPETS are around…..

It is must for all the members of the component parties to VOTE for a more effective LEADER rather then a PUPPET!!! Then and only then would UMNO WAKE UP to the call of the RAKYAT and not to the so called BUMIPUTRA’s the son of the soil …. But from which soil ??????? your guess is good as mine !!!

31. #31 by Jeffrey on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 2:27 pm

It is saying one thing to Gerakan delegates and doing nothing at the other front : political talk!

If Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon were to call for a meeting of the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council to support Umno Supreme Council “926” decision, it might be ok but if it were to oppose, then taking your suggestion would only invite the UMNO warlords and powerbrokers to tell KTK off or take Gerakan for a hike (out of BN).

In earlier thread you have said that with the majority of over 60 per cent of the grassroots in Gerakan wanting to quit BN, Koh and the Gerakan party leadership should go along with these grassroots sentiments instead of thwarting them.

Look as if you’re all out to instigate and drive a wedge between Gerakan & BN, the former being in most vulnerable position to leave BN. :)

Which is (strategically) a correct move in service of Pakatan Rakyat’s 916 plan.

Though Gerakan only has two MPs, the psychological impact of its severing umblical cord with BN has greater impact than its number of parliamentary representation.

Being one of the founding members of BN, its exit symbolically signals the substratum of its origination is no more!

Maybe you hope that it may prove to be the first few loosening of rocks to trigger an avalanche of other BN Component parties!

32. #32 by Kasim Amat on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 2:55 pm

The component parties in BN have worked well together long the years and have shared common interests in many aspects. Although UMNO is the leader party in BN, all other component parties do play their parts in contributing to the success of the country. Please do not spread any false information that they want to leave BN. That is not true. Lim Kit Siang has no basis of saying that and I don’t mind to challenge him in Parliament when the House opens. Spreading rumours is the only thing PR can do at the moment. As I have said, leaving BN have never crossed the minds of the leaders of all the component parties and it would be the most stupid decision if they ever think so. Further, their members would never agree with such decision.

33. #33 by Emily Pratt on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 3:43 pm

Kasim Amat says:
    Lim Kit Siang has no basis of saying that and I don’t mind to challenge him in Parliament when the House opens.

The component parties in BN have worked well together long the years and have shared common interests in many aspects
    ==============================================

So you are a MP eh?

I know they have shared common interests – common interest to enrich their pockets.

34. #34 by oknyua on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 4:36 pm

Kasim Ahmad, in your ivory tower of putra jaya, what do you know? Take a boat and row it up and down rejang river, stopping at all longhouses by the river. talk to the people. see their miseries. watch their poverty. if you have any human emotion left, you would shed tears seeing poverty – what do your mps care? All the while the local never thought bn could be removed. only 8th march tsunami jolted them awake.

Kasim amat, of course no party want to leave bn. who wants to leave when all the partying and eating, drinking, plundering takes place? Remove the covering of your eyes and see how real people live. I appreciate your loyalty to your paymasters, but the same paymasters have been living off the fats of this land, leaving the ordinary folks thin, hungry. take my challenge, go to the longhouses in sabah and sarawak. you want a guide, let me take you, spending one month in the longhouses, no water, no electricity, no proper toilet, nothing to eat. except don’t ever tell them you are bn man/women. you might return headless. Vote bn?

I am sorry I am a little angry reading your posting. But please wake up. The party will never leave bn, but the people have. There is nothing in bn to support.

35. #35 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 4:39 pm

Kesian Ahmad says:

Although UMNO is the leader party in BN, all other component parties do play their parts in contributing to the success of the country.
    =====================================

WRONG UMNO NEEDS NO OTHER CHINESE DOGS LIKE GERAKANS, YOU CAN CALL AHMAD ISMAIL FOR SOME ADVISE! ITS NOT FALSE NOR RUMORS!…

AHMAD ISMAIL STILL AT LARGE ENJOYING HIS FREEDOM OF SPEECH! HE DARES YOU GERAKAN IS USELESS!

36. #36 by Johorean on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 4:40 pm

These leaders in BN component parties are really in self denial phase. Almost most of them indicated that they will need to look into the future as they might not survive if they leave BN. Please, for crying out loud…do you really need to be in BN to survive? If that is the case, what good are you if you cannot even survive on your own. Cannot believe they actually are so low on self confidence and self esteem. To the oppositions and independents…I salute you as you are truely working for the people.

37. #37 by Emily Pratt on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 5:02 pm

Koh Tsu Koon is like a virgin debunte… want to experience sex for the first time, but scared of pain.

Heart and desire wants to; but scare because never done it before…..

Be a real man… leave and never look back.

Go back to the roots. Sesat jalan kembali ke pangkal jalan.

38. #38 by Jeffrey on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 5:10 pm

PHUAKL,

I believe your Sixth Law of Malaysian Politics is spot on! :)

39. #39 by ablastine on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 5:12 pm

I am just wondering how stupid leaders of these component parties can be. Isn’t it obvious by now that when the next election comes all of them will be wipe out reducing BN to nothing more than a weak opposition. In fact if Anwar has his way, this will even happen sooner. KTK really thought he has a choice of not pulling Gerakan out from BN. If he does not do it soon, he may be the only member left in Gerakan. The same goes for MCA.

40. #40 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 5:59 pm

HAha… “IF” UMNO or BNed component was opposition for 51yrs…

Do you seriously think the component would stick their asses to BNed? SERIOUS? Haha amat kesian, u really can’t use ur head do u lol.

41. #41 by melurian on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 6:13 pm

“If I were MCA or Gerakan, I would have left BN long ago. ”

some ppl talk big. if no mca, all names change to like indon style, all cina skool force to close down, no more cny celebration, bukit cina gazetted oledi …

if you willing to forgo these, then only you can say mca to leave bn. do you know mca position in bn or not? do you know the role of mca in bn or not – it is to allow cina to have political say in the country! imagine health, transport, are not cina, cina will be “severely” oppressed politically… and you ppl so ungrateful to incite mca to leave bn !!! no shame….

42. #42 by rahmanwang on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 6:21 pm

yhsiew,
    I think UMNO do not treat MCA MIC & Gerakan like ‘door keys’.Its more like a whore.Exactly like what you said use them when they need to but after that kick them aside.Finally pay them the agreed amount.I do not want a leader whose picture(gerakan Koh’s) being torn by some hooligans and not having the courage to demand an apology.If the component parties think they are a family in BN then they will not be treated like a whore.One does not treat someone in the family like that!!Only uneducated animalistic hooligans does that.

43. #43 by dawsheng on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 6:24 pm

It is too late to stop the exodus and most of the members with consciences in Gerakan had decided to leave the party instead of waiting for the party to leave BN, so it made no different if Gerakan leaves BN now. Gerakan is already a political party without the soul.

44. #44 by pathfinder on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 7:10 pm

YB, lets face the facts, MCA, MIC, Gerakan etc were being fed with good and delicious food everyday. Can you think of a dog that turns away from such goodies? Or for that matter cat, or horse or …..human? Oh Yes for humans a big maybe only if you are not any closer to the animal kingdom. Humans have superior traits like dignity, self respect, honesty, humble, integrity, decency ….and last but not least Honor.
    Yes, you have lost your honor completely when your so call partner stab you on yr back, tear your portrait, trample on your photo and vow that he will continue his act nationwide. For your honor is only worth a suspension of 3 years so they say. You chose to be satisfied with the suspension? Hence your silence. Where is your self respect then? Are you crying on your pillows?
    No wonder your members are migrating in numbers over to PKR. Who would want their leader to be trampled upon without a whimper? And you are talking sentiments.. 60% huh!!. Believe me…the figures are closer to 100.

45. #45 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 7:35 pm

“some ppl talk big. if no mca, all names change to like indon style, all cina skool force to close down, no more cny celebration, bukit cina gazetted oledi …” – melurian
    ================================

Your either retarded or senile…

NO doubt they played a great role in our MERDEKA, but after long terms of poised and enjoyment this ppl had spoonful wealth to share among the component until they lost their way drift by their greed for more. The wisdom and inspirition had failed to maintain itself, MCA was longer relevant party who stands for Chinese or Rakyat.

I would dare to bet on these cronies of MCA wouldn’t be MCA members today as if they’re opposition instead, They wouldn’t sacrifised their time or freedom to fight for rights of rakyat today like DAP does for many years.

46. #46 by aiD_kamikuP on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 10:10 pm

So long as the Gerakan leadership is still unwilling to accept the reality, the party is doomed with the inescapable tag of
    ‘HIDUP SEGAN, MATI TAK MAHU’

47. #47 by FromTheOutside on Tuesday, 30 September 2008 - 12:04 am

I have the strangest feeling that Kasim Amat is actually our Zam Maidin, secretly snooping around here. :P

48. #48 by FromTheOutside on Tuesday, 30 September 2008 - 12:04 am

I have the strangest feeling that Kasim Amat is actually our Zam Maidin, secretly snooping around here. :P

49. #49 by akarmalaysian on Tuesday, 30 September 2008 - 3:50 am

fellas….lets not bash ksk or gerakan by all means.if ksk is serious abt leaving barisan…its good news for pr.lets look at things on the brighter side…tho most of us had been looking at gerakan,mca and mic as umno’s running and begging dogs….u bet its gonna make a big difference if gerakan were to pull out of bn.1st of all…if dat happens….umno is gonna come out making sendiwaras and face saving excuses and story line ups.but….thn…if mca were to follow suit…hahahaha…its gonna be a great show….thn…mic?…who knws…that can happen.thn lets see how those so called umnoputras or watever putras gonna face all these dramas.
    thr hv been words ard these days…of who is gonna pull out of bn… just keep our fingers crossed for miracles to happen….after all these 50 years….i am sure most of us are looking forward to this day to come…getting rid of these scumbags in the government.i am looking for a new day…a new malaysia…a new bangsa…whr all of us will come together arms in arms regardless of our colors.

50. #50 by Kathy on Tuesday, 30 September 2008 - 10:09 am

they can say all they want about the possibility of leaving BN but everyone knows that these are just hot air talk and no real action being taken.

If they are serious enough, just go for the vote of no-confidence and leave

51. #51 by veddy.lum74 on Tuesday, 30 September 2008 - 11:15 am

tearing of KTK’s picture was a second big insult to him;the first one was done by SIL related to the ‘malays being marginalised’ issue.

KTK,a stupid dumb,to tell you the truth,it’s 80% whom agreed to leave BeNd,(10% of those had left,plus 10% of those not voting)!And the remaining 20 % still skeptical that keep on asking:are we in a pirate of the carebean ship right now?or more accurate,pirate of the BN shit right now?

veddy lum koi you

52. #52 by lofuji on Tuesday, 30 September 2008 - 2:21 pm

Talk.Talk Talk that’s all you are good for.If you want to leave BN,just leave.That’s it.TKT says more than 60% grassroots want to leave BN.Yesterday NTV7 poll shows 97% want Gerakan to leave BN.So waht are you waiting for?Are these the leaders that we voted in for the past 51yrs?
    Indecisive and kiasee, cant even make a simple decision even though people everwhelmingly voted that you shud opt out.No wonder you were booted out in GE12.
    At least the people of penang are decision makers- they kicked you out!

53. #53 by lofuji on Tuesday, 30 September 2008 - 2:23 pm

Sorry the above shud read KTK and not otherwise.

54. #54 by human1 on Wednesday, 1 October 2008 - 12:44 am

Instilling harmony among the races, has always been an uphill task. In addition to Ahmad Ismail, I reckon there are thousands of racists like him in this country who keep jeopardizing the effort of national unity.

E.g. Awang Selamat in his column published before in the Utusan Malaysia, he had said Indians in Malaysia are far well-off compared with those in India, challenging HINDRAF to migrate to other countries they felt better; that HINDRAF with their excessive demands would arouse the anger of the Malay community.

These statements are hurdles that stand in the way of national unity. It is as bad as the taste of the “pendatang” remark that Ahmad Ismail has proclaimed.

55. #55 by pangwl88 on Wednesday, 1 October 2008 - 12:55 am

EITHER YOU CAN CELEBRATE VICTORIOUS TAKE OVER OF THE CURRENT GOVERNMENT WITH DSAI.

OR

………………. I DON’T EVEN WANT TO SAY IT……………….

56. #56 by dat2108 on Wednesday, 1 October 2008 - 4:38 pm

MCA and Gerakan should quit from BN…