The month of September has given birth to two momentous dates – first “916” and then “926”.
“916” signifies political “sky-change”. Its importance does not lie in whether the change in federal power takes place on Sept. 16 but in the sea-change in the political mindset, attitudes and expectations of Malaysians about power change.
Six months ago, the Barisan Nasional was so monolithic and impregnable that it was unthinkable and impossible to envisage that it could be toppled from the federal government level.
In the past six months however, the dream and possibility of change of federal power have spread like a prarie fire among Malaysians that it is no exaggeration to say that today the overwhelmingly majority of Malaysians believe that change of federal power is possible while a clear majority would want such a change to take effect immediately.
This is what is most important about the “916” magic – not whether the “skychange” took place on September 16, 2008 (which it did not) but that the political moment in Malaysia has arrived when change of federal power is no more an impossible dream but has become a practical possibility and it is only a matter of time when this “skychange” transforms the political landscape in the country.
When the “916 skychange” takes place remains a very immediate political agenda in Malaysia – whether 1016, 1116, 1216 or in an early 13th general election.
“926” is another momentous date, for a coup d’etat was staged on September 26 in the Umno Supreme Council emergency meeting where Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi was given the ultimatum to abandon his mid-June 2010 power-transition plan and to agree to relinquish his posts as Umno President and Prime Minister in March next year or he would be packed off from the Putrajaya corridors of power summarily and ignominiously.
Abdullah appears to have three options before him:-
Firstly, before the October 9 deadline when Umno divisions begin their month-long process to submit nominations for the various Umno party elections to declare his intention to contest for the post of Umno President so as retain the initiative in his hands as to his own timeline to effect the power transition.
Would Abdullah dare to fight for his political life when his first hurdle is to prove that he is capable of winning 58 or one-third of the Umno division nominations for the post of Umno President.
This is not going to be an easy accomplishment for Abdullah and he must be prepared to suffer the ignominy of the first incumbent Prime Minister and Umno President who could not secure adequate nominations to contest for the post of Umno President and the disgrace of being stripped of the premiership.
Secondly, to bow to the pressures of the “926” Umno Supreme Council meeting and announce that he would not contest for the Umno President’s post, becoming a lame-duck Prime Minister for the next six months until March 2009 – after a completely lacklustre premiership for five years!
Thirdly, to announce his retirement as Prime Minister by Oct. 9.
There are two further options open to Abdullah:
• Advise the Yang di Pertuan Agong for a dissolution of Parliament for the holding of fresh general election to end the seven-month political uncertainty in the country in the past seven months since the 12th general election on March 8, so as to give the Malaysian electorate an opportunity to decide whether they want a continuation of the Barisan Nasional government or a new Pakatan Rakyat federal government; or
• Co-operate with Pakatan Rakyat to bring about a change of federal government so that the country can end seven months of drift and lack of direction, which have compounded the multiple crisis of confidence afflicting the country.
Abdullah has less than 12 days to mull over the options available to him. It is important that his decision must hinge on the primary consideration of what is in the best interest for the nation and Malaysians at this hour of national crisis and need rather than on what would be in his own best interest and that of his family.
(Speech at the Perak DAP 5,000-People Solidarity Dinner in Ipoh on Saturday, 27th September 2008 at 9 pm)

#1 by kerajaan.rakyat on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 7:29 pm
Dear YB Lim,
My thumb up,
My hat off for YB Teresa Kok,
She’s my YB.
Why? Read here
http://kerajaanrakyat.com/?p=1373
Regards,
#2 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 7:31 pm
@Jeffrey…
did you realised a visible warlord among all?… His the sore winner above all but he remains silence and humble as possible?
the aka “Datuk Wira Hj. Mohd Ali bin Mohd Rustam” self-added “Wira” OMG!!1! lol~
http://www.melaka.gov.my/v1/minister.php?PHPSESSID=2bf7a391da76367c31871078fa358e36
^ SUPer TYCOoon!
#3 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 7:34 pm
This fella if ACA come check, hmm 10years of filling also cannot finish i tell u…
#4 by richmom on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 8:23 pm
Another kiasu warlord ABU HASAN put up his face all over the town and along the roads of port dickson.Its terrifying(not pleasing and handsome enough)..wanted to promote himself or tourism?But, it is PR MP Dato Kamal that helps to put the bus after years of absence on the roads so that the public can visit the beaches.
#5 by Johnny Cheah on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 9:47 pm
SURPRISE SURPRISE! you guys are going to be in for a big SURPRISE.. Yep, he’s called sleepy head and whatever is connected to sleeping. If you look at pictures of him in the newspaper and on tv, I bet you he is today very much awake. You can bet your last Ringgit he is planning something and you can be sure he have something up his sleeve. Just imagine, a person holding the highest post in the country going to give up just like that. Can you imagine the life of a PM! Bodyguards all over him. Police outriders escort wherever he goes. Flying 1st. class on commercial jets on national business or his new Airbus 219. Staying in suites or presidential suites when travelling out of the country. And MANY MANY MORE! You think he wants to give up the damn good life. Think again Malaysians. Be prepared, prepare for a BIG SURPRISE!
#6 by KennyGan on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 10:23 pm
Johnny, do you know something we don’t or are you like me, postulating that he will choose Option 1 ( to contest?)
#7 by Only Peace on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 10:25 pm
I believe Change is inevitable with the current Government handling simplest issues.
Even they can’t manage small fry issues, how do we expect them to confront biggies?
They are like useless buggers to me. Look at how our Home Minister talk. I think a Form 5 student can be a better debater than him.
If the present Government can’t find anyone more suitable to be in his Cabinet, I really doubt the efficiency of the present Cabinet!
#8 by alancheah on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 11:56 pm
Let’s hope for the best that the “Sky Change”
will happen eventually!!!
#9 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 2:03 am
Hey did anyone notice this?
“Gerakan pertimbang keluar BN”
Sep 28, 08 10:19pm
http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/90523
Wooo.Ot?
Just curious, why now not earlier or immediate effect?!
Why didn’t call for Gerakan Supreme Council meeting to make a clear views from the gerakan silence majority. If anyone of you could or even can proves yourself worthy like P. Patto you do it now for the sake of the Nation.
#10 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 2:10 am
omg what am i saying here, tired sry, i mean…
Why didn’t KTK call for Gerakan Supreme Council Meeting to see the silnce majority views. “If you wants to proves yourself worthy like P. Patto, you do it now for the sake of the Nation.”
#11 by drago2008 on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 5:39 am
Change is the way forward for this country. The cracks are showing in BN and Umno. When there are cracks, varmints will come out of the woodworks to create trouble with racist comments, dirty tricks and recently, the molotov cocktail incident. Any right thinking citizen will not condone all this.
#12 by Jeffrey on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 7:43 am
Why is Anwar so quiet? What part is he playing in relation to any one of these options that PM Abdullah has?
Baradan Kuppusamy of The MalaysianInsider discusses here how Abdullah’s departure spells troubles forAnwar :
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/9720-pak-lahs-departure-may-spell-trouble-for-anwar-
#13 by Jeffrey on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 8:01 am
In drift of what Baradan Kuppusamy said, the question is why should Pakatan Rakyat rely on Premier Abdullah’s travails and electing 4th or 5th options to hand govt over to PR on the plate – if Anwar had the credbility and not made false claims? Why rely on the other side to make things easy for you if you have the substanceto do it yourself?
This is what Baradan Kuppusamy said in relation to Anwar (I quote):-
///Whether he has the numbers or not however will be tested when Parliament reconvenes on Oct 13 to debate and approve the 2009 budget.
If he has the numbers as he claims to have he can easily kill the budget and demonstrate to the world that he really has majority support in the 222-seat parliament.
The budget of 24 ministries have to be debated and approved and if he can kill any one of the ministries’ budgets, that would be a successful vote of no-confidence against Abdullah and the BN government.
“He has 24 chances to do it,” said Dewan Rakyat deputy Speaker Datuk Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar in Kuching on Saturday virtually throwing the gauntlet to Anwar.///
Won’t we not know soon whether he has the ‘numbers’ or just bull shitting?
After all there is every cause for him to act on Oct 13 if he has the numbers considering the PM next after Abdullah will be not so “kind” to him and unless he achieves what he promises, the only staring at him in near future is the Sodomy II charges while RPK languishes longer under ISA.
#14 by Fair Play on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 8:18 am
I do not think it is fair to say PM has done nothing for Malaysians .Perhaps we were expecting too much too fast forgetting that he does not rule with an iron hand . ( We did not vote for a dictator, did we ? ) He has to continually face a cabinet that resists change- why change the good life ? He has to face those who believe they were born to be lords over the people forever . The people exist only to vote them into power and then they cease to exist .
We must at least remember and be grateful that PM has tried to be more open and fair to all Malaysians . If he had tried harder he might have been ousted before this dawn and we would not have PR in five states and a stronger opposition in Parliament. He has definitely brought more democracy to Malaysia and could be conferred the title of Father of Democracy.
Remember the see-through boxes used in the last election for the first time ? We hope they would continue to be used in future elections to give us some assurance of transparency and fairness .
People geneally feel more freedom now and are more ready to give their views in the press . We might begin to miss Pak Lah the moment he steps down .
#15 by Bigjoe on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 8:22 am
Its obviously Sdr. Lim’s right and duty to point out the ideal choices to be made. But Malaysians are realist, incredibly passive against the abuse of power. Its just Malaysians are intolerant of idiotic abuse. For the PM to open up the road to govt may be ideal but not to open up is NOT idiotic. Its just the kind of things that is unlikely to happen.
This PM is finished, why harp on it? Why not jump to the next more likely possibility – that the worst of the problems of UMNO/BN is not over – the dangers of the Najib-Muhiyiddin partnership which will not lead to a long term solution to this country. Lets point out how they are inevitably going to fight it out and further ruin this country in their own selfish interest.
#16 by Jeffrey on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 8:39 am
I can agree to some extent what Fair Play posted but I think the title of “Father of Democracy” is underdeserved being otherwise sullied by ISA detentions of the Hindraf’s Five and Raja Petra Kamarudin.
#17 by KennyGan on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 8:45 am
1) Don’t take the Merdeka survey as fact. It was conducted only in the Umno stronghold of Pekan, Johor so the Malay response is slanted. The large Chinese response (40%) of undecided or don’t know shows there’s something wrong.
2) Abdullah is not Anwar’s friend. Remember how he took Saifool’s side in the sodomy II.
3) If Abdullah wants to keep his job, the most direct way is to contest the post in Umno rather than the uncertainty of general elections where BN can even be booted out.
4) Abdullah handing the keys of parliament to Anwar does not arise as Anwar doesn’t have the numbers.
5) An independent Chinese research house survey showed that 80% of Gerakan members want out of BN, not 60% as claimed by Koh now.
4)
#18 by lofuji on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 10:13 am
AAB can have 101 options but still not good enuf.It is not the people who makes the decisions:it is UMNO members who want him out,get it?
Kwei ta kwei.Never mind la let them have their fun.This corrupt culture inherited from TDM will not go away by the wave of the magic wand.
Remember Tunku’s wise words ‘give them enuf rope,they wil hang themselves’
#19 by veddy.lum74 on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 10:14 am
fair play,
if a pm were to be a ‘yesman’ to his cabinet,the rakyat,whom are the boss,might as well show him to the exit door!
he is not supposed to serve the less-than-hundred personnels cabinet,he should consider the rakyat’s interests as priorities,further more,i think he is taking a big ride on the rakyat!
no wonder so many ppl calling him a lame duck!
if the senators give constructive ideas to pm,he should accept;if majority of the senators are racist,yesman,lameduck,running-dog,betrayer,selfish,crony-practisioner,corrupt fellow,the pm should be ended too for selecting a rubbish cabinet!
i guess,not many ppl will remember this sleeping-head!
#20 by madmix on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 12:13 pm
Why would Abdullah take options 3 or 4. He may be dopey but he is certainly not insane.