The fifth Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is now on his last leg. He has at most six months. The end could come even faster, in a matter of weeks.
A coup d’etat was staged at this morning’s emergency UMNO Supreme Council meeting, where Abdullah’s mid-2010 power-transition plan was scuttled for good.
Although Abdullah declared after the meeting that he had not decided whether to defend the Umno President’s post in March next year, asserting that “The decision is mine, you can go on guessing”, these are empty brave words as the writing is clearly on the wall of another Prime Minister and Umno President being forced out of office.
Can Abdullah salvage his premiership to leave behind some honourable legacy to future generations?
It is a great disappointment bordering on grave breach of national trust that the emergency UMNO Supreme Council meeting today had only time for the political future of Abdullah and the Umno war-lords, but no time or thought for the deepening multiple crisis of confidence confronting the nation in the past seven months since the March 8 general election.
When the Umno Supreme Council could hold an emergency meeting over the political future of Abdullah and the Umno warlords, but no time for the multiple national challenges on the political, economic, educational, institutional, good governance and nation-building fronts, Malaysians are being told in no uncertain terms as to how irrelevant the Umno leadership have become to the popular hopes and national aspirations of the people in Malaysia.

#1 by daryl on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 3:36 am
“quote
lhslhv
In Malaysian history since independence, I have not seen a genuine Malay hero for all Malaysian. UMNO’s proiority is to bully the minority non-bumis.
Unquote”
I think there are few but usually got marginalize or push aside because they are the minority. But, as the country mature and information are being dispense to rakyat other than the MSM control media we starts to see the difference. Hopefully before we know it the BN is on its way out. I can only pray for that day to come.
#2 by dawsheng on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 3:56 am
Apparently, BN government will fall if Abdullah remains as PM. It is not about Najib a more capable PM, it is about what Najib will do to save himself. Abdullah is the first fall guy, Najib is the second, the third one is the real winner, guess who is he?
#3 by yhsiew on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 6:02 am
The rakyat and UMNO Supreme Council’s verdict that Abdullah is incapable of governing the country and must make way for another person is final. I do not see how Abdullah can cling on to power after March 2009 unless he deploys “money politics” to defend his President post.
#4 by yhsiew on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 6:47 am
If and when he (Najib) does assume power, he may prove as incapable as Abdullah in staunching Barisan’s losses, analysts said.
Read more:
@@http://asia.news.yahoo.com/080926/3/3pm58.html
#5 by 318 on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 6:47 am
look like the government belong to umno like to pass pm post to anybody they like i think change government is the best solution
#6 by ctc537 on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 8:01 am
Could NTR be Umno’s ‘Last Emperor’? The Malays now made up more than 60 per cent of the population and they will have several political parties to fight for their interests. UMNO, PAS, PKR, etc. Reading TDM’s blog, we find that there are many Malays who are disillusioned with UMNO and are thinking of forming another Malay party. On the other hand, Chinese and Indians will not form any more political parties as they form only about 30 per cent of the population. Naturally Chinese especially will be inclined to vote for a Malay party that practises moderation. If UMNO continues to harp on communal and religious issues, Chinese voters are very likely to desert it in the next GE and throw their support behind moderate Malay multi-racial party like the PKR. DSAI is very smart to have seen this trend coming and did not hesitate to seize upon it. Probably he saw it while serving his 6 years in prison. He is a reformed man and now stands up as our great hope for achieving our Malaysian Dream.
Age is catching up with Pak Lah, and Najib and Muhyddin are becoming ever more impatient to take over. BN from now on cannot afford a misstep, or they will see DSAI sitting the throne. Will the alphanets be R.A.H.M.A.N. or R.A.H.M.A.A.?
#7 by OldManoftheSea on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 9:07 am
I have seen stop reading the “junK” of chedek. A racial and self righteous blog’s. People should not forget the shits he created for our country in his 22 years of reign. How he try to undermined Badawi. How he goes around the country raising Ketuanan issues.
He speak wit a fork tongue. Who can trust him.
Anybody can start a blog, as our DPM has also gone online.
Look at it carefully at the Rise of the Mamak.
1. It was the mamak that organized the protest at Komtar.
2. The chief mamak goes around the country trying to raise malasy supremacy issues.
3. Ahmad Ismail a mamak emboldenrd to make racist comments.
4, Looking at the picture you will see a mamak sitting beside AI and the person that bring down the photograph of Koh Tsu Koon is unmistakeably a mamak.
5. The Son Mukriz also rise now that Mamakson is contesting for UMNO youth chief position.
6.Now chief mamak was “persuded” to return to UMMO.
Some people talk about unseen hand! Credible I think! go figure!
#8 by OldManoftheSea on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 9:12 am
And Abdulah may not even know what hit him…..
Is it Najib? Is it Muhyideen? Is It khir Toyol?
What about the Chief Mamak.
Talk about conspiracy theory…….
#9 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 9:15 am
As I said weeks ago, Badawi administration is finished effectively. What is going on is a pathetic farce and my sympathy to Badawi for having to accept the pitiful charity of face-saving by his colleagues/comrades.
Lets move to the next time. Why is thing NOT going to be better?
Consider a Najib-Muhiyiddin administration which is what the party is hoping for. Its just not stable combination. Najib is no idiot but he is not great intellect he pretends to be. But his weakness is his character. He comes in with more scandal than anyone else and is prone to make very serious mistake in judgement of risk. The Altantuya scandal is part of long series of that. The Permatang Pauh campaign which he header proved it again.
Muhiyiddin has stronger character and but he is also less-well read and not enlightened enough. Everyone knows Muhiyiddin is one of the riches politician around and the fact he is not tainted publicly over it shows his stronger character. But Muhiyiddin, we have seen has only been politically visionary not governance wise. His larger vision is limited.
So we have a possible/proposed team that essentially one is stronger in character and the other is slightly more intellectual. They are both of the same age group (55-51). Its not a basis for a strong partnership. Muhiyiddin would be a fool to wait 10-15 years to be PM when the party may decide they want someone younger given the demographic.
Either Muhiyiddin will go for the top leadership in the next GA OR it won’t take long before he will undermine Najib’s administration. This is warlording ways of UMNO at its core.
The worst of UMNO/BN problems has not even begun. For the nation, if Anwar takes over, the end of worst could be over sooner otherwise, we will have to suffer with UMNO/BN problems..
#10 by just a moment on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 10:16 am
Today is Raja Petra Birthday, Do send him wishes and keep him in prayer. T-shirts are out. Go to website. Keep reminding your friends to sign up the petition. Good day
#11 by kopitiam99 on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 10:33 am
Yb,
Say what you may….. flip-flop PM, Sleeping PM, etc etc…. In all fairness, I feel Pak Lah left a legacy to us as the Most Democratic PM we ever have…..
He is the FATHER OF DEMOCRACY .
If you bloggers could use your thinking cap and revert to Mahathir era, do you think we can behave the way we are behaving now ?
All of us would either end up in ISA, missing in action, ACA harassment etc etc…..
Pak Lah,, you have done your best eventhough it not to the expectation of the rakyat….. So my humble request to you is after your enforce retirement….. relax lah and proceed to the warong warong with your families and grand child to have a cool kopi kau kau …. chi piu …. with nasi lemak lah. ….
Please don’t expect your Minister to join you…. call us…. we shall be there…..
#12 by Jamesy on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 10:34 am
Uncle Lim,
The molotov cocktails thrown into Teresa’s house must be condemned in the strongest possible terms.
It’s criminal intimidation and it’s sickening!
#13 by veddy.lum74 on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 10:35 am
i dont know whether is it a ‘cursed’ formula for malaysia:R A H M A N !
if it really does,i hope it happens very fast,maybe najis can be the 6th pm,but only for a while,very soon,DSAI will take over!
i also worry what kind of democracy the umno was talking about (especially from mudiddin saying that umno always practise democracy!),and if thailand’s pm got terminated because of cook-show on tv,i wonder despite voices from inside and outside the umno for phucklah to step down immediately for the sake of the country,he still resist!
#14 by veddy.lum74 on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 10:40 am
charge him in court for not doing anything relavant as a Finance Minister for the past 5 years!!!
#15 by KennyGan on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 10:53 am
With Tengku Razaleigh looking like he’ll be sidelined again, he had best join forces with Anwar to force early elections for a bid at power. Maybe he can be DPM.
As for Mahathir supporting Ku Li as Umno President contender, expect this support to evaporate once Najib is confirmed to be taking over early from Badawi. There was never any real support in the first place, it was only a ruse to get Najib to act.
#16 by lopez on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:39 am
it is a conspiracy , he is being victimised, a political extermination,
i am sure he would not want to be second best or become an iconic shame.
but things are not too graceful as it appears…
this is not the usual as like previous similar cases
lastly what the hell bolihland is heading D day , when club squambles take up national time.
#17 by eloofk on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:40 am
I dread to see what beholds Malaysia when the Mafia chief takes over the reins of Umno. Poor ABB doesnt even know who has plunged the dagger in his back. The green horn SIL will never be able to help his FIL fight with the mafia within Umno. They are too strong for him to battle with them. RPK was detained under the ISA to silence him because RPK knows who was behind the orchestra.
#18 by Jimm on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:14 pm
well ..look at the bright side from here
our children will learn how to use C4 in science ..
they also learn to get closer to those umno vvip to get contracts, free incentive trips around the world, private banking, shopping in europe (paid by suppliers), monies are easily obtain -just a call will do…. and many many more latest policies to be rich ..
good subjects to tagged on ..
#19 by simon041155 on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 7:13 am
“The decision is mine, you can go on guessing”. For a guy who seems to be incapable of making even simple decisions, thereby allowing his ministers to do anything they like that blatantly went against his 2004 election promises, my guess is that his decision depends on other people’s decision. If others tell him to defend, he will defend, but if other tell him not to, he will “decide” not to. That, I believe, is what he meant by “the decision is mine”.