Terrible price being paid by Malaysians for Abdullah’s failure to establish IPCMC

Two ghastly news within 24 hours –the robbery-cum-murder of Thor Joo Lee, wife of former Penang State Assemblyman for Bukit Tambun, Lai Chew Hock at her Tambun Indah house in Penang and the robbery of Datin Chang Lee Lee, wife of former Penang Exco and Pulau Tikus Assemblyman Datuk Dr. Teng Hock Nan in her Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman house in Penang.

These two cases of robbery (and one murder) of the wife of two former Penang Assemblymen are horrible reminders of the terrible costs being paid by Malaysians for the failure by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to heed the important recommendation of the Police Royal Commission to establish the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC) to create an efficient, professional and world-class police service to keep crime low in the country.

As a result, it has become an important factor why Malaysia is losing out in the international competiveness stakes to other countries in attracting foreign investment as low crime, personal safety and security of property always rank as one of the top considerations for any foreign investor in the important decision-making process whether to invest in a country or not.

I have no doubt that Malaysia would have broken the back of the worsening crime problem if the IPCMC had been fully accepted and started functioning from May 2006 as recommended by the Royal Police Commission, making Malaysia a safe haven not only for Malaysian citizens, but also for investors and tourists.

Abdullah has failed as Home Minister for eight years from 2001-2008 as he presided over a worsening crime situation in the country with Malaysians, investors and tourists unable to feel safe whether in the streets, public places or in the privacy of their homes.

The current Home Minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar is also heading for another dismal failure as a Home Minister as he has not been able to inspire public confidence that his No. 1 responsibility is to reverse the rising tide of the crime index in the past decade to make Malaysia a safe country for her citizens, investors and tourists.

In his more than six months as Home Minister, Hamid has shown that he has a completely misplaced sense of priorities, misusing and abusing his powers whether under the Internal Security Act or in threatening newspapers with show cause notices.

After the Barisan Nasional’s “thrashing” in the March 8 general election, Abdullah had pledged to implement his many abandoned reform programmes, one of which is police reform and the establishment of the IPCMC.

There have been no signs in the past six months that the government is prepared to present in Parliament an urgent bill to set up the IPCMC without any delay.

Abdullah seems to be totally overwhelmed by the battle to fight for his political life instead of making life safe and a quality one for Malaysians, tourists and investors.

Malaysians have a right to demand that Abdullah and Hamid stop dilly-dallying and be serious about the intolerable state of rampant crime in the country, jeopardising the security of Malaysians and frightening away tourists and investors to Malaysia.

Let Malaysians get a clear-cut and forthright answer from Abdullah and Hamid – are they going to honour the pledge to establish the IPCMC immediately without any further delay?

Or is the IPCMC dead so long as there is a Barisan Nasional government and the only way an IPCMC could be established is to have a Pakatan Rakyat federal government?

Print Friendly

1. #1 by k1980 on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 12:37 pm

The problem with the rakyat nowadays is that they think they are living in a first world country when in fact they are ruled by third world megalomaniacs

2. #2 by malaysia born on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 12:47 pm

The way i see it, the only time that the PM will get serious about the crime situation in our country is when he becomes a victim himself!

3. #3 by Yee Siew Wah on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 12:58 pm

These component parties are just lap dogs. See.. how our Murugiah got whipped by our baldie toad. They just whine …like dogs and then “dudok diam diam” afterwards.
    As I have said, just a bunch of spineless selfish bums trying to protect and display fairness to the community. Pooorah…

Where got time to protect the rakyat when our so called “efficient” police are so very busy protecting their political masters.
    Sleepy flipflop lame duck has lost all his teeth already long time ago. He can only just m..umble when he talk and what is worst is not only NOBODY listens to him but also unable to comprehend what he is talking about.
    He is now talking like somebody with a c**k in his mouth. Pardon me for insinuating as there is no better words to describe this “GREAT” man.

4. #4 by mendela on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 1:02 pm

Kit, pls place “free Raja Pete” as the top prority of DAP now.

Pls print as many T-shirts as possible. If you need more funds to do it, pls say it out loud in your blog.

5. #5 by peterchiang on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 1:20 pm

Politics and economy have an impact to these sort of crimes.

Should the Finance Minister and Home Minister, both former and present ones, be made answerable?

These criminals are doing what they are doing now because times are bad and when they think of doing something bad to make ends meet, they may actually find that it is not difficult and there seemed to be a lack of deterrents.

The Ministers should not wait till their love ones get robbed and fallen victims to wake up from near hybernate mode.

6. #6 by k1980 on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 1:26 pm

With the dozens of bodyguards around him at all times of the day, how can the PM become a victim of criminals? If I have 1% of the number of his bodyguards, I will sleep with the front door of my house left open at night!

7. #7 by wanderer on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 1:28 pm

Botak Syed Hamid got all his priorities wrong. Malaysians are now questioning, whether he is up to the job which demands integrity and honesty.
    Recent events abusing the use of ISA confirmed and revealed more his stupidity and plain playing politics. To top it all, we have an IGP not doing his job professionally, only just serving his political masters.
    The losers are the rakyat.

8. #8 by Loh on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 1:35 pm

So far PM AAB and his extended family have not faced the problems, at least when AAB is still in power. AAB faces a dilemma too. If he approved IPCMC, he might not be in power, and might have the family faces the same crimes. Of course before the 308 election, he was talking about serving beyond 2020, and could be sure of security for another decade. Now that he might not remain in Putrajaya beyond October, it would be too late to even approve IPCMC.

The right motto is to serve public interest rather than his own. TDM might have another snippet for him on this.

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 1:42 pm

Further to what Mendela posted, JAKIM, working hand in hand with the police, is carrying out a programme of “religious rehabilitation” of muslim detainees including RPK to so called enable their “faster release”.

It will be recalled that Revathi Masoosai (one of the conversion cases) was required to stay in a religious rehabilitation centre for renouncing Islam in favour of Hinduism. (Revathi subsequently accused Islamic religious police of mental torture and intimidation during her detention, where the centre “tried to make her pray as a Muslim, wear a head scarf and eat beef”).

It will be interesting to see what happens in RPK’s case.

Firstly RPK is not a hindu (though he may find his Hindu detainee/Hindraf’s friends there; RPK prides himself that he is interpreting the faith according to principles of Islam Haddari or civilisational Islam as espoused by the PM; he said in one of his last posting in MT that police interrogators admitted that his postings were not insulting to Islam but were too intellectual to be understood by the masses, angered by them. (So he was detained under ISA because he angered people who were not intellectual enough to understand what he wrote)

Secondly, in Kamunting there are all kinds of alleged Islamic extremists also detained under ISA, some of them alleged to be master mind of Bali bombing, and members of various cells and orgainsations like Darul Islam Sabah, JI etc.

So it is not certain at this juncture who would rehabilitate who : the Islamic authorities, RPK or the other way around, and what about the other alleged Islamic extremists, will they be rehabilitated as well?

10. #10 by melurian on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 1:46 pm

speaking of recently penang news, and not long ago just right outside pinang airport also kena robbed not once, but twice! does lge have to depend on federal for penangnites safety ? why cannot lge and their “exco” set up better security in penang instead putting blame on ipcmc, they are penang gov and penang is under their administration!

and what other lge progress since the so-called tsunami ?
    1) funding of the 2nd bridge stall coz have to depend on federal.
    2) nikko factory closed down and a korean firm cabut to filipina.
    3) digging on previous ktk dirt (and even set up stupid debate) instead moving forward.
    4) using state fund for “community” magazine/propaganda instead of some other development
    5) more flash flood in penang, and all lge can do is lending shoulder to cry on and depend federal instead come out their own solution.

and now they have this “brilliant” idea setting up cctv on the island (you got camera at airport too, and why it still kena robbed not once but twice!) …..

11. #11 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 1:53 pm

These crooks are busy covering their intimate issue had exaggerate the difficulties of the situation by neglecting IPCMC instead of ISA’d!.

12. #12 by Loh on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 1:54 pm

///“What he has done is not right. I hope he knows how to look after his own turf. He should not interfere in other people’s affairs. That is not his work.”///–Syed Hamid

The statment shows the he considers the ministries are carved out as difference sphere of power, inflence, and sources of wealth. He certainly does not understand the function of the Cabinet, and much less about the working of the coalition party. So to Syed Hamid, MIC does not have a say about the policies and implementation of BN government, and much less to comment on his ministries which have been given to him as though he had tendered it for his exclusive control.

That is the calibre of BN ministers. The man has been a foreign ministers, and supposedly has been exposed to the outside world, his thought process confirms that he belongs to a protected specis, and he requires special care like an aids patient.

13. #13 by ch on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 1:55 pm

Dear All,

We should give the PDRM a fair and impartial comment as I believe they have been fighting very hard bringing down the crime rate index on a year to year basis. We may have noted that crime rate on serious crime reported last year went down vis-a-vis corresponding period 2006. While there are much room for improvements but we should be reminded that civilians are to play their respective roles as well towards a safer Malaysia. The police could not physically be present everywhere and everytime a crime takes place. For example, a friend of mine was robbed in PJ several days ago and the number which he immediately dialled on his handphone was 999 lest that he realized the number he should call for SOS using handphone is 112. He couldn’t get the police on his handphone and started blaming the network provider. For his case, I would have said that my friend should at least know the SOS number or the contact number of the nearest police station. One must realize that all contact number of every police station is clearly painted on the wall. What we need to do is to take the trouble of taking down the numbers and bear in mind to call the police station which is proximate to the crime scene. Have we ever taken this trouble to enlighten ourselves? While we should adopt self educating ourselves the police or the appropriate authorities should also expand their efforts in educating the public.

14. #14 by abunsui on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 1:58 pm

BN Government wasting public fund to form all sort of “SURUHAN JAYA DIRAJA” to the formation of IPCMC but no further action taken so far by the BN Government until CRIMINALS “took action” against public.

All those well known victims so far are from BN (former ADUN families) themselves. What are you waiting for GERAKAN Party – Pull out of BN Now!!!!

15. #15 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 2:03 pm

So now BNed, you may go ahead continue “Corrupt and Robbed” the nation. Remember we’re living under the same roof! We kena soon you kena also! And those who supporting crooks comes with a price, unless u ISA’d your childrens and family for police protection! SYED HAMID and cronies! MCA/Gerakan This Is just the begining of nightmare!

THANKS TO PERPETRATOR LIKE YOU GUYS!

16. #16 by cheng on on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 2:17 pm

Melurian, who collect the most tax? if state govt no depend on fed govt for big project/allocation. Can state govt ask rakyat and big companies not to pay taxes to fed govt, but pay to state govt??
    Can fed govt ‘kuasa’ these to state govt, like police force, education, immigration, arm forces, highway concessionary taxes, custom & excise taxes, health services, etc?

17. #17 by ganges on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 2:37 pm

Mr Lim, its no point in we beating our chest about the failure of pak lah and failure of albar and the failure of police . As long as umno is there, its going to be a failure all the way. Please get down as fast as possible and change the whole machinary.Waste no second.The whole nation is looking up to you and anwar to change our children’s destiny.The way crime is going about. dont be surprised if one of these days the robbers walk fearlessly into your master bedroom and helps himself knowing fully well that police wont catch him.

18. #18 by rider on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 2:38 pm

when he took over as home minister, we already knew nothing’s gonna change, we need someone from our side, to be the home minister, to really ensure this nation to be crime free, go ahead YB, take charge, we’re behind you all the way.

19. #19 by cancan on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 2:44 pm

This country does not belongs to two persons only!

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/

20. #20 by justice4peace on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 2:47 pm

The rakyat do not see the point of doing away with the commission whose objective is to improve the force. Why would one object the set-up of an entity if the objective of the said entity is to assist as well as improving the force.

Perhaps one of the areas which the force is lacking in is process efficiency such as distribution of work loads which led to one possible resulting outcome which is the frequently-used but not new reason (or shall I rightly call excuse) – “the field force/surveillance team is short in manpower. I am not even discussing the point of possible conflict of interest.

Although maybe a bit of off-topic, I would like to relate my personal experience. This incident happened on Monday, 22 Sep 2008 about 7pm along LDP from PJ/Damansara (to be precise next to Kelana Jaya LRT station) heading towards Puchong. A Perodua Kancil (grey) bearing registration no WXX 8XX (notice:3 digits) cut abruptly infront of me without signalling which almost resulted in an accident.

I honked at the car but instead of apologizing, the driver turned abusive and showed me ‘the finger’. After that, he slowed down and changed to the middle lane (from the fast lane) and I thought of passing him. However, I was taken aback immediately as I was about to pass him, he took out a rock (the size of probably a size 4 football) which I presumed with the intention of hurling it towards me. Noticing that, I quickly applied my brakes and with that I slowed down and decided to slot behind him. I called the PJ Police HQ and was passed on by the operator to one officer by the name of En Dxx. After explaining to him the incident plus providing him with the details of the car and location, he promised to look into the matter indicating that he would radio the Puchong Police to intercept the car.

The irony is that I am not sure whether he had acted on the complaint or not as:-
    (i) Firstly, I have not gotten any update from him;
    (ii) Secondly, he may not know who I was as he did not take down my contact no.; and
    (iii) Thirdly, if indeed the car was intercepted the police would obviously need me to be the witness.
    (Again, the obvious lack of a set work procedures and/or the failure of the officer in applying it probably due to lack of enforcement on rewards vs penalty performance scheme within the force emphasizes the need of the commission)

My point is that, if the above assumption is true and this driver is indeed brave enough to act on each and every supposedly ‘provocation’ in his own definition, self-written, regulated and enforced set of laws, I am saddened by the fact that the force which is supposed to provide security to the rakyat, treats this complaint lightly.

If this example and maybe others ‘tidak apa’ examples are not reported, acted upon and punished, how and when will we ever have first class professional force?

One of the many questions the rakyat may have is “on what basis the ruling Government is rejecting or opposing the set-up of the commission and/or is reluctant to speed the setting-up of the same?

An action/outcome cannot be without an attached explanation which serves to clarify/explain such action to the satisfaction of the rakyat.

I think the above example is of utmost serious in nature and the reluctance or rejection of the setting up of the commission is beyond comprehension what more such reluctance or rejection is without reasonable basis.

21. #21 by The Enforcer on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 3:01 pm

Mr. Murugiah, baldie is now barking at your actions and is afraid to have to answer to all the ‘accusations’ when exposed.
    Be the outstanding one still within the BN and be noticed by the RAKYAT for all your good deeds for the betterment of our future generations!
    Go kick baldie hard in the a******!
    Then move on to the other ministries and do the same!
    Only fear is will Sleepy on the advice of SIL, step in to have your days numbered.

22. #22 by phoony8606 on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 3:01 pm

10 years ago when you wanna cross a road, you will look left and right to check on the car.

10 years later when you wanna cross a road or to somewhere, you not even look left and right but also front and back not to check on the car but the most dangerous is the people surrounding you. You won’t know what will happen next to you.

23. #23 by The_Dude on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 3:04 pm

Here’s a riddle:

Q: What’s the difference between a policeman and a gangster?
    A: The gangster have no license and doesn’t wear a blue uniform.

Here’s another one:

Q: What’s the difference between a policeman and a gangster?
    A: When a gangster took money from you, it’s called extortion but if the guy in white & black did it, it’s called, “Macam mana you mau saya tolong?”.

Help… I can’t stop… another one:

Q: What is the responsibility of our men in blue (or white & black) in our country?

A. To uphold justice & peace.
    B. To protect the innocent & to arrest the guilty.
    C. To maintain peace in the country.

A: None of the above. They’re just here to take the (increased) salary and make even more pocket money from innocent citizens.

24. #24 by walao on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 3:12 pm

wow…petrol price only drop 10 cents….I though 30 cents.. what a disappointment.

25. #25 by JeyS on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 3:12 pm

Sorry people our Police Dept and its men are only for catching seditious crimanals and to detain the opposition plus take police reports from UMNOites against the opposition. They are not paid to fight crime or bring it down for the rakyat who actually are paying their taxes for these services (one part).

As long as this committee is not in-force this force is a FARCE!

26. #26 by justice4peace on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 3:12 pm

The_Dude,

That was funny but obviously I think everyone understand the message you have delivered.
    Going by your joke – should I have personally and directly offered a on-the-spot incentive scheme to the officers responsible in apprehending the culprit whom I related in the story?
    ;-)
    hahaha

27. #27 by yhsiew on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 3:16 pm

A penalty must be imposed on Abdullah who refused to implement the IPCMC in order to safeguard his position as PM. His failure to take action has endangered the life of ordinary Malaysians. The time is ripe for PR to collect crime statistics and throw them back in Abdullah’s face during the upcoming no-confidence vote.

28. #28 by kok on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 3:19 pm

The most important asset of a country is not its natural resources, but rather its human resources. This is especially true in a knowledge-based economy, which of course, will be the trend in the future if not already the trend in most of the western countries.

My daughter, who is in her final year medicine in Auckland, told me that a team of Singapore recruitment officers have just visited Auckland and talked to the Malaysian students there, offering jobs and training prospects for the final year students once they graduate.

My daughter also told me that over the last few years, quite a lot of her Malaysian seniors, after graduating from medical courses in New Zealand, have gone to Singapore to work as house officers and subsequently stayed back in Singapore for their postgraduate training. Similar teams are sent to Australia and UK for recruiting Malaysians there to work in Singapore.

About a year ago, Reuters reported: ‘Malaysia is counting on bright, ambitious people like Tan Chye Ling for its future, to lead it away from manufacturing and into the knowledge age.’

But the 32-year-old scientist, a postgraduate in molecular biology, is not counting on Malaysia to look after her future.

‘I felt very suppressed in Malaysia,’ said Tan, who moved to neighbouring Singapore, the region’s pacesetter for biotech investment, after a decade of research and study in Malaysia.

‘I have benefited from the better research environment and salary scheme here. Things are much smoother,’ she said by phone from the National University of Singapore where she is studying allergies and dust mites. Tan estimates that 60 percent of the research teams she works with in Singapore are from Malaysia, despite her country’s efforts over several years to develop a biotech industry.

There is a serious problem facing Malaysia and that is the problem of ‘brain drain’. Why are Malaysians overseas not coming back to work? Well, pay may be part of the reasons but it is not the main reason.

Singapore recruitment teams offer Malaysian medical students a salary which is a few times what they would expect to get in Malaysia S$40000 a year for houseman after tax (equivalent to RM86000) which is about five times the pay of a houseman in Malaysia.

But as I say, pay is not the main problem. The living expense overseas is high. And for a person working overseas, the loneliness and the stress level is also high. So not everyone opts to work overseas because of the pay. Many would not mind to work for a lesser pay if they can stay near to their loved ones. So why do people choose to work overseas, away from their loved ones?

Malaysia has many state-of-the-arts hospitals and research centres, which may even be the envy of many overseas countries. But hardware alone would not attract these experts to come home.

In the medical field, I have so many classmates/friends working overseas, many in world-renowned centres. Why do they do that? Some of my classmates and friends did come back as specialists. After working a few years (many only lasted a few months), most got disillusioned and went off again.

There is really not much prospect of career advancement here. How many can hope to become a professor even when they are an acknowledged expert in their field? How many of them can blend into the local team where the work attitude is vastly different from that overseas? How many of them can have a say about how things are to be run? On the other hands, lesser beings are being promoted to professorship for doing much less.

There is an unwritten rule that even if the person is very good, the head of the team has to be someone from a certain ethnic group who may not be even half as good as him. In everyday life, some become disillusioned with the corruption, the red tape and the ‘tidak apa’ attitude of officialdom.

For an overseas doctor applying to work back home, the application can take up to six months to get approved, whereas Singapore sends teams overseas to recruit them on the spot and offering them jobs immediately as long as they pass their final examinations. See the difference?

It is the sense of being appreciated and being wanted that make these people stay overseas. Back here, they are often made to feel that they are of a lower class. They do not feel appreciated and they do not feel wanted. That is the main reason.

For those with children, the education system further puts them off. Even school children can feel being discriminated against and one glaring example is the two system pre-university education.

All these make them pack their bags and off they go again, leaving behind their parents, perhaps their siblings, the friends they grew up together with and their favourite food that is often not available overseas. No one likes to be away from home but circumstances and a sense of being recognised for their worth make them go away. It is really sad.

Parents spend big sums of money on educating their children but the ones who benefit most are the Singaporeans, the Americans, the Australians, the British and so on. As long as race politics is not done away with, this problem of ‘brain drain’ will continue and Malaysia will always trail behind the advanced countries no matter how many Putrajaya and Twin Towers we build.

29. #29 by yhsiew on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 3:29 pm

ooop correction: ……..has endangered the life of………

should read

“has endangered the lives of……..

30. #30 by justice4peace on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 3:34 pm

Kit,

Well, in respect of the issues surrounding the commission, the action of the force and certain ministers is certainly questionable or at the very least debatable.

On other matters concerning the nation, explanations and actions of the ruling government are not consistent with one another (some from the same source but at different time!) and some are even laughable.

Kit,

Since PR is alligned by way of ideology instead of the supposedly race-based alliance of BN, does you and/or PR have any contingency plan/remedial action in the event certain racial issues surfaced within PR. (note:the constitution provides a few privileges to bumiputras, one being centred around education). How would it be possible to have a quota system to effect this consitutional rights and at the same time to balance drain/wastage of talents? Have PR prepared itself to promptly answer to all these possible questions as well as having an action plan in place to address these concerns. Have PR studied the demographic statistics, future/projected GDP vs expenditures, etc. to sufficiently and satisfactory provide facts and figures to have suppport its action plan, well if there is one indeed?

31. #31 by End Racial Discrimination. on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 3:36 pm

Hiding behind some bushes, bus stop, big tree, in a car with a walkie-talkie calling-in for his fellow police partners who are waiting half km infront to take bribes or simply troubling those who didn’t pay them to go court is what our police do best.
    The wonder thing is, they are setting this trap to catch drivers who make tiny mistake like taking a turn on the wrong side of the lane or something similar.
    Are our police force hired by government to teach citizens how to drive?.

They should use this camouflage tactics to catch indons or robbers breaking into citizens’ houses at anytime of the day and not teaching drivers how to drive, leave that to the JPJ driving teachers.

Most citizens will see them as blood suckers and will try to avoid going near to any police officer.

Sometimes, you feel safer without a police in-sight.

32. #32 by bclee on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 3:43 pm

public safety have been worsening we malaysian also fell unsafe in our own land how we want to expect foreigner to fell safe in malaysia either business or leasure?
    as long as our basic fundenmental are wrong we can’t get thing right eventhought a simple issue like public safety,basic human right.
    so no other way out but change of current gorvenment will be the only solution now.
    all promised,all basic human right has been totally dismay if stick with current goverment.
    no hope at Bee N anymore.

33. #33 by just a moment on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 3:46 pm

Whilst PKR are somewhat low key, Bodwi and Najis are working non stop almost like round the clock, close doors, closed windows, and now close quaters meeting.
    Special Umno Meeting PWTC Friday 10am.

Sources said the meeting was called to further discuss the power transition plan between Prime Minister and party president Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and his deputy Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak. So this is why, Najis did not go to Washington, The reason for skipping UN as though Malaysia is the only country hard hit by economy. The reason is obvious now.

Somethings brewing alright. Hang on to your seats.

34. #34 by justice4peace on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 3:46 pm

Yes Kok.

You are spot on.

The reasons do not end at remuneration package.

There is this hearsay – It started many years ago that since then, there is this unwrittten rule that the VC and most if not all heads of department of an university MUST be from certain ethnic group. This mindset perpetuated and trickled down to all levels of the administration which eventually breeds inefficiency. This is education and it is supposed to be the place the nation churns out talents and HR as what Kok has pointed out HR is the backbone of a nation.

We are not even discussing other areas of the Government machinery yet.

35. #35 by helpless on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 3:51 pm

Forgot to put on signal light when making a turn ?

We forgot the chief police is busy counting his collection from undisclosed private business.

How can we expect him to help us ?

Just wonder when will be the day for me to reverse ” helpless ” status in Malaysia ?

36. #36 by I Malaysian on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 4:12 pm

I just received a text sms from a number +340000363999 believed to be a third party service provider. I afraid this could be lie that intended to tarnish PR and their leaders. Could someone check on its facts? The message reads

“Sad News! Sri Mahakaliamman temple was demolished by Majlis Perbandaran Ampang Jaya on 19.09.08. Selangor Indian was cheated by Pakatan Rakyat Government ‘kalau PKR menang, tidak Ada 1 kovil pun akan dirobohkan di Selangor’. Dimana MP India Kita yang seharusnya menyuarakan isu ini. Semuanya hanya tahu pegang banner Dan tipu rakyat sahaja. Anwar Ibrahim Dan konco2nya semua penipu besar! PAKATAN RAKYA, PANDAI TIPU RAKYAT MACAM PEMIMPINN.. YA HIDUP MAKKAL SAKTHI!”

37. #37 by FY Lim on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 4:15 pm

In 2007, the crime rate in the country reached dangerously high proportions. Then the police made representation to the govt. to inform them that they are critically short of manpower, vehicles and supporting equipments to police effectively. The situation then was that the govt had just raised the salary of the police force to commensurate with the risk the force is facing in carrying out their job. No right minded Malaysians will disagree to the increase and will fully support it.

What the govt did then was to make special allocations in terms of additional manpower , new vehicles , new police bases etc. There was even talk of re-engaging retired police officers to overcome the shortage.

What happen after this ? Crime rate did not come down . Were the retired police officers engaged and the additional police vehicles deployed to deter crime effective ? By the rate we are seeing the answer is obviously no. You had seen an ex-ACA officer’s wife being murdered by assailants supposedly known to the ex-maid, murder cases in Johor and recently in Penang.

Looks like the ordinary citizens are not even safe in their own house what more when moving around ! What happens to the safety and security of the country ? Perhaps the Home Minister and IGP needs to provide the rakyat with answers and solutions. Both cannot be silent and owes the country an answer.

If such situation is to persist, then how are we going to ( 1 ) attract tourists ( 2 ) attract investments ( 3 ) conduct normal businesses when the husband is afraid to go outstation in case the wife and children are being robbed and raped.

Have we ever stop and analyse what is the root cause of such high crime rate ? We do not want standard answers like … “oh it is under control ” , ” give us more time … ” etc.
    The rot must stop here and someone must be held accountable, otherwise there is no end to the excuses offered. A thorough review of the country’s policing system is definitely needed.

Do we need to have a Ministers wife to be murdered to see real police action ?

38. #38 by melurian on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 4:24 pm

“For an overseas doctor applying to work back home, the application can take up to six months to get approved, whereas Singapore sends teams overseas to recruit them on the spot and offering them jobs immediately as long as they pass their final examinations. See the difference?”

wah, they’re so agressive, but why today we haven’t seen einstein, moore, gates, or zuckerberg of medical field from singapore ? they even imported so many footballer and sportman/woman and even with the import they yet to produce truly prodigies in the field of science or art. maybe PCK but he is not imported. sgpura always like this one, they just happens to be a country with lots of money wanted to hire/buy/acquire and willing to spend without thinking the quality. and hk movie industry got screwed also because of sgpura campurtangan in their business. true malaysian (e.g, lks) won’t bother to migrate one, if ppl think like him then malaysia already better place oledi….

at least malaysia got proton and genting…..

39. #39 by ekans on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 4:27 pm

The Israeli police force were able to investigate and indict their own prime minister, Ehud Olmert, for corruption without fear or favour.
    So, imagine, while the Malaysian government can condemn this Zionist state of annexing Palestinian Arab lands & displacing Palestinian Arabs from their homes, can the Malaysian police also investigate corruption/crimes involving government ministers including the PM, as well as the Israeli police, without fear or favour?

40. #40 by melurian on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 4:28 pm

“Have we ever stop and analyse what is the root cause of such high crime rate ? We do not want standard answers like … “oh it is under control ” , ” give us more time … ” etc.
    The rot must stop here and someone must be held accountable, otherwise there is no end to the excuses offered. A thorough review of the country’s policing system is definitely needed.

Do we need to have a Ministers wife to be murdered to see real police action ?”

let have back rukun tetangga how citizens are “forced” to take turns patrolling the neighborhood (just like old days before communist give-up their dream) ! let have those ns forced to take turns patrolling the cities and streets! and how many ppl will agree, sure many ppl start giving reasons and object vehemently. will lge stood up to support mandatory rukun tetangga and start one in penang!

41. #41 by melurian on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 4:31 pm

“The Israeli police force were able to investigate and indict their own prime minister, Ehud Olmert, for corruption without fear or favour.”

we have tdm sack and jail dsai for corruption (and sodomi overturned years later) without fear or favour. note that dsai is convicted in corruption charge, the 4mil corruption, yet u ppl say he din involve in sodomi #1 (corruption and sodomi are different case). yet you ppl mobilized 100k demo in kl back in 1998!

42. #42 by ekans on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 4:40 pm

Referring to my last comment, to make it clearer, the last paragraph should read:
    “So, imagine, while the Malaysian government can condemn this Zionist state of annexing Palestinian Arab lands & displacing Palestinian Arabs from their homes, can the Malaysian police also investigate corruption/crimes involving Malaysian government ministers including the PM without fear or favour, like what the Israeli police had done to their own PM?”

43. #43 by Tonberry on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 4:47 pm

summary: a political tool for Umno only.

44. #44 by yhsiew on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 4:51 pm

# ekans Says:
    Today at 16: 27.10 (11 minutes ago)

……..can the Malaysian police also investigate corruption/crimes involving government ministers including the PM, as well as the Israeli police, without fear or favour, like what the Israeli police had done to their own PM?”
    ====================================================

Malaysian police run the risk of breaking their “rice bowls” or being “put into cold storage” (sidelined or demoted) if they dare investigate corruption of high-profile government figures.

45. #45 by hadi on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 4:59 pm

YB KIT, there is no light at the end of the tunnel, you will find IPCMC be buried in the tunnel as long as BN holds the power.They are conspiring to meet both end and their hidden agenda. Sorry state of affair and will take time to rid them. May be Pakatan Rakyat can handle and reverse the situation.

46. #46 by izrafeil on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 5:25 pm

how far a we from violence like in some African countries?
    maybe 2 years, 3 years or 5 years ahead?
    shudder me

47. #47 by Damocles on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 5:26 pm

“The only way this will get this into their head if the robbers and murderer start hitting the homes and personal lives of the ministers including the PM and DPM’s home…” – Bigjoe

You’re right.
    For the past quarter century, everything has gone from bad to worst! Especially with regard to the police.
    While the population was growing, the number of policemen has not kept pace; so much so that we are short of 60,000 men!
    And there was a lot of hype that the government was recruiting more to improve the situation. So far, how many have they recruited? Your guess is as good as mine!
    Now, that the wives of Gerakan officials were affected, they have appealed to the state government (recently taken over by the PR) to do something about it! Ridiculous isn’t it!
    I mean, during all the years that Gerakan was running the state, why was the security situation allowed to deteriorate to such an extent and no action was taken.
    Aren’t they making things bad not only for others but also for themselves?

48. #48 by taiking on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 5:44 pm

Lack of manpower.
    The same excuse year after year.
    Yes. Yes.
    We understand the problem.
    But excuses are not exactly recyclable.
    They will go stale for one thing.
    More critically, your responsibility is to resolve problems.
    Re-using excuses give us the impression that you have failed in resolving problems.

49. #49 by taiking on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 5:58 pm

Kok said:

“The most important asset of a country is not its natural resources, but rather its human resources. This is especially true in a knowledge-based economy, which of course, will be the trend in the future if not already the trend in most of the western countries.”

A certain local mono-racial tertiary institution is producing them in sufficient quantity. In fact more than sufficient. Some of them are currently self-employed as road surface testers. The procedure for testing road surface is a relatively simple one but skill and guts are two necessary prerequisites. And as for equipment, there is only one – motorcycle, any motorcycle. Pillion rider can be useful fancy addition but it really is optional.

50. #50 by boh-liao on Thursday, 25 September 2008 - 6:10 pm

Next week is Hari Raya Puasa. Another round of charade of muhibbah with many open houses.

Umno will have its open house; the PM will have his open house, etc.

Well, people, you know what to do, right? You know what to say to AAB and what to give him, right? Do the right things, for the sake of RPK who is still incarcerated in Kamunting.