“Malaysians want fundamental change, and they want it now!”

Statement by Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah
September 23, 2008

I write this as a Malaysian, as someone who, over forty seven years of political life, has had the privilege of playing some small part in the formation our country, the building of its institutions, and our achievement of a degree of economic sufficiency. I write out of deep concern about the present state of our country.

In the lives of nations as of individuals, there come moments of profound possibility, when the potential for self-transcendence and for self-destruction are simultaneously present.

As before some critical examination in our youth, we come to the daunting realization that we hold our future in our hands, when how we will fare many years hence, and whether we shall flourish or languish, will depend on how we conduct ourselves now, in this small window of time.

We are in a political impasse that threatens to metastasize into a Constitutional crisis. Political crises come and go, but the present crisis might well be the beginning of a cascade of failures leading to long-term instability and destruction.

1. Our impasse occurs at a time of heightened economic, political and security challenges. The global economy faces the prospect of a meltdown on a scale last seen in the Great Depression of the last century. As a trading nation, we are strongly exposed to its effects. Meanwhile, while we seem to have slept, the global economy is undergoing an epic transformation that we must either adapt to or are marginalized by.

2. This year’s ground-shifting General Election result signaled a public sentiment that cannot be ignored. Malaysians want fundamental change, and they want it now, whether from within the ruling coalition or from outside it. The Malaysian demographic has changed dramatically over the last fifty years. We have seen the birth of a more sophisticated, demanding electorate that has rightly lost patience with incompetence and dishonesty.

3. The grievances of Sabah and Sarawak, which found only partial expression in the General Elections, remain unaddressed. This risks the very integrity of our Federation.

4. Misunderstandings over race and religion are ripe for political exploitation, with potentially disastrous consequences.

Post election promises notwithstanding however, the government now commands even less confidence than it did post March 8.

The public is in near despair over the prospects for change from within the ruling party. Rather than share the public’s sense of urgency, our present office-holders have redoubled efforts to frustrate renewal, cut off reform, and silence criticism. These efforts only underscore the weakness of the administration and its will to change.

We can no longer deny that in its present form, and under present leadership, the government, led by the party to which I have given my life, is now structurally and inherently incapable of providing the direction and confidence that the country needs, whether over the long or short term. The indications are there for all to see:

1. The government has been unable to respond to the economic crisis with even a basic plan of action. Business confidence has plummeted as capital flees the country. Our economic policy remains as uncoordinated and directionless as it has been in since the beginning of this administration.

2. The recommendations of two Royal Commissions of Inquiry have been ignored or watered down into insignificance.

3. In this context, Umno’s constitutional provision for the renewal of its leadership by triennial elections might have been expected to provide some hope of renewal. Instead of embracing this opportunity, however, the leadership of the party has retreated into the fantasy world of a “transition plan” which rides roughshod over the party’s constitution and the rights of its members. This risible attempt to treat public office and party trust as a private bequest between two individuals, one of whom wishes to hold office beyond his democratic mandate and the other to ascend without one, and the continuing effort to force feed the country with this notion, fools no one. Instead, and against background of rampant money politics, it kills the public’s hope of national renewal via Umno. Behind the babble about a “transition plan” the Prime Minister continues to be subverted by members of his own cabinet and subjected to thinly cloaked power plays to force his resignation.

This resort to a “transition plan” betrays a disturbing failure to grasp the meaning and purpose of public office. In the more mature society into which we aspire to grow, persons who demonstrate and moreover propagate such disregard for constitutional and democratic process would long ago have been disqualified from public life, let alone from national leadership. The news appears not to have sunk in that the public rejects leaders who shun the open light of democratic contest in favour of staged plays and backroom plots.

Given Umno’s core role in national politics, this is a dangerous state of affairs. Meanwhile the Opposition has made undeniable gains in the number of parliamentarians it commands. Beyond the hype and inflation, and regardless of whether Pakatan Rakyat now has “the numbers” to command a majority, what we cannot doubt is that support for the governing majority continues to erode, and that this erosion continues so long as there is no hope of real change in the type of leadership Umno provides. There is now a credible threat that the present government may at some time fall by a vote of no confidence, or by some otherwise constitutionally legitimate demonstration of parliamentary majority. After fifty-one years of rule by a single party, this is not a possibility that is well understood. It is justifiably viewed with trepidation. Neither sheer denial on the one hand, or inflated claims on the other, help the situation.

To all appearances, we are beginning to lose grip of the rule of law. The use of the Internal Security Act and of Sedition Laws to target particular individuals further erodes the credibility of the government. Our actions exacerbate rather than calm the fear that stokes civil and racial strife. In the present context of a leadership struggle within Umno and against a strong Opposition it is impossible to dispel the notion that these extreme measures are calculated to maintain certain individuals in power rather than to address verifiable threats to national security. Nothing does more to undermine the legitimacy of a government than plainly unjust acts. The ridiculous justifications given for some of these detentions has further undermined public confidence that the awesome powers of state are in safe hands.

We cannot afford to allow these disturbing trends to play out their destructive course while we suffer a de facto leadership vacuum, and while the rule of law is uncertain and the Constitution not upheld.

Against this background I appeal to all parties to come together in humility, beyond party politics, to hold an honest discussion, in the spirit of shared citizenship and with the gravest attitude of common responsibility towards a long-suffering rakyat, about what is happening to our country and how we might agree together on a peaceful way beyond our impasse. We need to come together to find unity and direction out of this dangerous situation. In doing so, we might turn our crisis into an opportunity and renew our unity and sense of direction as Malaysia.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:29 pm

There will be NO change in this land as long as umNO remains as the government

2. #2 by Emily Pratt on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:37 pm

Dear Tengku R.H.,

I wish that you could garner the required nominations to mount a serious challenge to the two current “love-birds” who thinks that the party is their own property.

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:41 pm

Ok lah, good and stateman-like speech!

Since you appeal to all parties to come together in humility, beyond party politics, I think it is opportune time that you should start talking to, and may be even plan together with Anwar and Pakatan Rakyat’s leaders on how to address the nation’s crisis and problems outlined in your speech.

4. #4 by Jong on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:45 pm

Ha, Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, isn’t he John McCain’s age? Who is his ‘running-mate’, it’ll be interesting to know?

Sarah Palin is just a ‘heartbeat’ away from the American presidency, so will be Tengku Razaleigh’s. Don’t the rakyat need to know?

5. #5 by highhand on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:46 pm

doubt will he ever get the nomination votes……kah kah kah

6. #6 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:49 pm

Yes, we want change. Umnoputras step down and dissolve Umno.

7. #7 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:51 pm

Here’s one potential target for defection of some clout and ability.

8. #8 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:53 pm

“critical examination in our youth, we come to the daunting realization that we hold our future in our hands”
    ===================================

Yup, a fire starts from a sparks! “YOUTH WING LEADER KERISMAN” as He thought Malaysia Politic should be his Family Dynasty…

Taunting “Ketuanan” keris waving broadcast on national TV station. Inspired demons like Ahmad Ismail today. Yes this is our Future in holds!

9. #9 by abunsui on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:55 pm

As long as Political Party base on RACE such as UMNO, MCA and MIC still exist, there is no way we can avoid RACIST sentiment.

These parties will put in their policies : RACE first!!!! It may not be spelled in their constitutions but knowing that the party NAMED under RACE, will automatically focusing their members’ MIND, HEART, SOUL and STRENGTH to their race first. NOT the Rakyat of all races who are poor, marginalized and need help.

By ABOLISHING these THREE big brothers (Parties) together with draconian law such as ISA, it will be easier for next Government to promote unity among the multiple races of Rakyat.

10. #10 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 2:05 pm

Any Tom, Dick and Hairy can write a statement like that. Walk the talks Ku Li, or else just shut up.

11. #11 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 2:13 pm

“playing some small part in the formation our country, the building of its institutions”

AND………………………..”Operasi Lalang” NO? o_0”

12. #12 by HB Lim on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 2:29 pm

Jeffrey Says:

Today at 13: 51.23 (23 minutes ago)
    Here’s one potential target for defection of some clout and ability.

Jeffrey, we must not forget the history of Semangat 46. I remember in the late 1980′s and the 1990 election how S46 was so dead-set serious against Mahathir and the UMNO Baru. What happens after that? Razaleigh led them back to UMNO. He may have the clout and ability but does he have the integrity? He has proven that he cannot be depended on. Uncle Kit should be able to tell us better.

13. #13 by wesuffer on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 2:29 pm

enough la….malaysia want change. but lets change in next GE la.
    according the GE result clearly BN vote is still higher than opposition.
    opposition should work harder to make sure retain the 5 state and more state for next GE and majorities in parliment
    stop saying crossover.
    4 years not long. want to change the new adminstration of 5 state is not enough, so please dont waste time on other thing. anwar,lim, awang pls
    concerntrate monitoring all state leader to make sure the 5 state adminstration is better than previous one.

14. #14 by Puppy-Power on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 2:33 pm

TR,

just read “Faith of my Fathers” by McCain.

or “Audacity of Hope” by Obama lah.

then you can pretend to be a PM Hopeful.

otherwise, spare us your BS.

15. #15 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 2:35 pm

True but could defectors of the sorts from Sabah and Sarawak promise greater integrity?

16. #16 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 2:35 pm

Isn’t this the guy who keeps harping on Malay unity and protecting Malay rights…

17. #17 by LBJ on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 2:39 pm

If we stop and think with our head and not other parts of the body, this is a wise statement. We must find a way that will not lead to strife and conflict to move the country and society forward.
    Tengku Razaleigh has suggested a good way. I think he has the
    status and respect to get al parties to sit down and talk. Those who have the interest of the country at heart wil ldo that. Those who are only interested in their own interest will disagree.

Tengku Razaeigh should make the first move.

18. #18 by cheng on on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:01 pm

Those who wan to wait til ge13, & ask PR to concentrate on 5 states, do not know how Fed govt can frustrate state govt. State govt in Msia had very little power, if wait til ge13, & bn win again in ge 13, then Msia can look forward to join Myanmar by 2017

19. #19 by digard on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:07 pm

Well written, Razaleigh!
    You are right, and some in here are wrong: Even with Anwar taking over (I very much hope so!), we will lack stability. In an advanced democracy, the concept of a ‘grand coalition’ could be the way out. Alas, we still seem to prefer our parochial ways.
    Yes, to me it could be a good solution to transcend the artificial limits of parties, races, and institute a government of a large majority. Then, come GE 13, the electorate will know which parties have served the rakyat and vote wisely. Until then, we can experience a slow but steady progress.

Razaleigh, walk the talk! Offer yourself and those with you (please, spare us Mahathir, though) to join into a coalition for the better of Malaysia. No party-hopping, simply thrash out a plan tp bring everyone together who is sincerely interested in the better for Malaysia, across party lines. With Anwar and you at the top, I guess the majority of the Malaysians will be quite happy, and prefer you any day compared to Badawi and Najib.
    I know, you’ve been an UMNO person for 47 years. Oh, no, wait! There was a Semangat 46. Do it again, give it another try! Do what is needed for the country.
    If what you write is your true conviction, you have to do it: you have to value our country higher than the loyalty to UMNO!

20. #20 by bentoh on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:14 pm

Since there’s no sign of Anwar taking over the government…

Ku Li for PMship! :)

21. #21 by joshua81 on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:19 pm

YB Lim, i’m so relieved that the High Court of Sarawak has dismissed the petition to declare election result for Bandar Kuching void. This shows that money can’t always buy result and success. YB Chong was democratically elected by the people of Bandar Kuching. To the bastards who bankrolled the petitioner, please be patient and wait until the next General Election! Dirty tactics won’t always work!

22. #22 by HB Lim on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:20 pm

Jeffrey Says:

Today at 14: 35.27 (18 seconds ago)
    True but could defectors of the sorts from Sabah and Sarawak promise greater integrity?

Jeffrey, my thoughts and beliefs have always been that we should not accept defectors and depend on them to form the government.

My stand has always been that PR should just focus on doing an excellent job in the governance of the 5 states they have now and go for Federal Government only in the next GE.

But if PR have enough numbers to pass a no-confidence vote or take over Federal Government, in view of the extreme urgency and danger to the people and nation caused by an ineffective flip-flop and corrupt government, I am ready to concede to some frogging but with the condition that an early GE be called quickly thereafter. The end justifies the means especially if it means the decimation or the end of the UMNO. I know I sound a little wishy-washy here and may not be consistent in my stand but this is an example of a hard decision that has to be made when the choice is between two evils or wrongs. Use the strength of the frogs and defeat UMNO or allow UMNO to continue messing us up for another 4 years when we now have a chance of toppling them?

Before nomination day of the new GE, we should be able to separate the wheat from the chaff and move on in the best way we can.

I have always been thinking – PKR was borned which later gave birth to PR. Who f..k who to conceive PKR? It was Mahathir and his UMNO who f…k Anwar so bad that PKR was conceived. Then from PKR gave birth to the PKR. In terms of biology or using a biology analogy, PKR and hence PR would still inherit some genes from the father, even if this is a case of rape or non-consensual sex!! Hopefully, only the good genes are inherited from the rogue father.

As I have said elsewhere, it would take another generation or two for Malaysia to be rid of corruption and be at par with Singapore. I am trying to be disparaging – only that “cleansing”, from the point of view basing on the biology analogy, would take some time. Even if there is nothing “genetic”, habits are also a tough nut to crack. But we need for a start is the resolve and determination. Within our present national context, we really have no other choice except the PR.

Cheers!!

23. #23 by HB Lim on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:27 pm

Sorry, typing error. Should read “Then PKR gave birth to PR” somewhere in the middle of the 5th paragraph.

24. #24 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:28 pm

/// HB Lim Says:
    Today at 15: 20.26 (5 minutes ago)
    Jeffrey, my thoughts and beliefs have always been that we should not accept defectors and depend on them to form the government. ///

HB – absolutely agree. Why didn’t Malaysia learn from Singapore? They banned defections many years ago when the PAP almost lost the right to government when a bunch of MPs went across the floor to form the Barisan Socialis. Since then, the law has been amended so that any MP who switches party automatically loses his/her seat.

25. #25 by titik on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:38 pm

Has anyone guess what happen to Malaysia politics today if Ku Li instead of Tun Dr Money was elected as our PM than? This is a question not a statement.

26. #26 by wanderer on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:41 pm

Ku Li, since you will fail in your effort to make changes staying in UMNO, would it not be better, to contribute your services to the nation from outside. Your neutral thoughts and comments will be more acceptable…you may even regain your credibility and respect from the rakyat. As it stands now, you are, in between the devil and the deep blue sea…a voice in the wilderness.

27. #27 by taiking on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:42 pm

How true. How true.

The writings can now be seen even on the inside of indah water’s sewer pipes. As with everywhere else, such writings always appear on walls, first, and move elsewhere, subsequently. But umno missed them completely.

I suppose, Razeleigh must have picked the writings up from somewhere between the walls and the inside of sewer pipes.

And if he didnt write them down for umno’s benefit, I am afraid the rest of umno might even not realise the existence of those writings. This is a real possibility because a sewer line always ends in a filtration cum treatment system.

28. #28 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:45 pm

The sincerity and consistency shown by Tengku is both commendable and laudable. But how and when his intention could be translated into reality is still a question.

Is Tengku willing to be seen working together with just any political party outside of BN? Indeed Malaysia belongs to all Malaysians, irrespective of their political and ideological allegiance. So, it only makes sense that everyone should be involved in matters of concern to all.

Gone should be the days when opposing political parties be seen and regarded as enemies and foes in the literal sense of the words.
    It should only be difference of opinions and approaches which could be debated and weighed and contemplated, with the better options chosen at the end of talks and discussions. Wonder when such times would come to life in this country of ours. Seems like self and vested interest and importance are in the way of true progress and development of the country. Sad day for Malaysia indeed.

29. #29 by mauriyaII on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 3:46 pm

A well-written political rhetoric by a glib UMNO politician.

If only Ku Li could convince the UMNO warlords that the ‘love birds’ are taking the country to the cleaners by their evil desire to cling on to power, then there might be a change in the UMNO makeup during the December UMNO elections.

By looks of it Ku Li may not be able to garner enough endorsement to challenge the incumbent. Under such a scenario how is it possible to rejuvenate a party that is in for an imminent implosion.

If Ku Li really cares for this country’s future, he should seriously think of convening a meeting of all MPs from West and East Malaysia to try and chart a course of action to stop the country’s economy and socital structure from retrogressing any further.

As a first step he should engineer the cross-over of as many UMNO MPs to Pakatan Rakyat and present the list to DSAI so as to show his earnestness in seeing the country from going down the drain under the leadership of the ‘love birds’.

There is no future for the country with the present mindset and psyche of the UMNOputras who are obsessed with thier fuedalistic ketuanan bigotry.

30. #30 by tiger88 on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:13 pm

He sounded like in opposition. BUT no, he is speaking from his heart and as a solid Malaysian leader. An intellect, far from the present bunch. He deserves to be the president and the PM if Anwar is in trouble.

31. #31 by k1980 on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:19 pm

Koo Lee should leave umno now and form Semangat 2008, just as he left to form Semangat 47 a dozen yeras ago

32. #32 by black crow on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:21 pm

THE WIND OF CHANGE IS BLOWING ACROSS THE GLOBE AND NOTHING CAN STOPPED IT. READ OUR LIPS CAREFULLY TENGKU WE WANT A C.H.A.N.G.E IN THE GOVERMENT AFTER 50 YEARS OF ABUSIVE RAPE ON THE RAKYAT. BN WILL BE HISTORY!

33. #33 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:21 pm

“My stand has always been that PR should just focus on doing an excellent job in the governance of the 5 states they have now and go for Federal Government only in the next GE.” – HB Lim

Fact, BN won’t let PR focus on doing an excellent job. An excellent job also includes taking over the government, if PR don’t, they lose, no job!

34. #34 by Lim Koo on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:42 pm

Dear Ku Li,

In the history of ancient China, Jiangtaigong became the Prime Minister at age 80.

Highest tribute goes to your semangat to serve the nation. Keep fit and observe a rejuvenating regimen.

Apart from Tongkat Ahli, try Ginseng or Lingzhi.

35. #35 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:44 pm

HB Lim,

Going forward from your genetic analogy, Anwar/PKR, currently playing a leading role within PR, has likely inherited some of UMNO’s genes and pass them on to the body politic of Pakatan Rakyat. To say that genes inherited and passed on are likely the positive ones and not negative may be a trifle san’guine (in light of Anwar’s prevarication to see the King and a cloud of suspicion hovering around the streadfastness of his “would-be” defectors from East Malaysia, which in turn may or may not account for his prevarication). Further more, there are complications as PR has to accommodate PAS’s theocratic ambitions, so Anwar rushed to see Nik Aziz & Hadi to ameliorate the latter’s concern that PAS MPs (read PAS’s agenda) might be marginalised in the newly PKR led govt.

Notwithstanding that, the prevailing sentiments of many people is that if BN/UMNO is morally bankrupt, then any alternative to it, whether promising or not, is anyway worth the risk.

The hope is that the new group PR will at least be a “notch” if not several notches better than old group BN because the new group could displace the old only by reason of the rakyat’s support, so to this extent, the Rakyat’s expectations and demands have to be catered for, prior to disillusionment setting in, in the longer run.

The present PM is determined to stay on. However Anwar is also determined like Najib to be PM after Pak Lah is ushered off the stage. Ku Li also want to be PM and comes out with this wonderful speech that Malaysians want change and want them now. Muhyiddin Yasin/Rais are wondering who to ally with. Mahathir wants to protect his legacy from Pak Lah and Anwar’s taking over, so he also thinks of who to support. At this moment, we’re all on uncharted waters, a lot of thrashing of water around and no clear drift where it will lead to. ….

The problem of Anwar’s take over plan is that his numbers are likely made from untrust-worthy Sabah & Sarwak’s kataks whose commitment wavers or they impose conditions like “you form the govt first then only I join or something ridiculous along these lines, making the whole equation ‘chicken or egg’, which could explain why Anwar is still pussyfooting around.

Frankly if one says that these kataks are crossing over the PR for principles and not monetary considerations and positions, I will not believe that. Which is the probelm from stability point of view because if Anwar can pay, so can UMNO/BN – maybe even better and more, since they have 50 years dominion over the national assets of the country! :)

36. #36 by pakmang on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:46 pm

The article written is very impressive and convincing. It would be much more better if KU LI & gangs could comence to take up action asap rather than just like us talking the issue in the Coffee shop everyday!

37. #37 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:48 pm

Say what you like about his sincerity or lack thereof and record, I think that Ku Li’s speech is good, with well chosen words to depict the dilemmas and problems of the nation. :)

38. #38 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:55 pm

Today we also take Anwar’s words for what they say. We do not delve into history of his days and speeches in ABIM or UMNO. Same goes for Zaid – and rightly Ku Li.

Ambition and thirst for power/importance can make a man turn bad as well good. It is our role as rakyat to keep them from turning bad but if they do, then kick them out. There’s nothing more you could do. So perhaps there is sense to measure what the contents of the message rather than the history of the messenger or our reading of his character or repute based on track record. Sure the latter is almost quite an infallible guide but then desire/ambition may change a person from bad to not so bad and perhaps even good (as vice versa may also the case) depending how one wields the carrot and stick in his face….

39. #39 by HB Lim on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 4:59 pm

Jeffrey, the speech per se is admittedly good and very well written. Most Malaysians can feel the exasperation that is conveyed.

40. #40 by Loh on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 5:06 pm

Ku Li will also be constrained by his party UMNO should he rise up to be the Deputy in BN government. He cannot be at he top because it is most unlikely that he would get the 58 nominations, and AAB plus Najib would not let him have his way. He might be Najib’s deputy, but then there are Muhyiddin, and Kerismuddin along the way.

There is no way Ku Li would return to government through UMNO. But he can be one of the many deputies if Anwar becomes the PM. He should talk to his own supporters. Bring 30 over to Pakatan, and AAB will have to agree that he does not have the number to support him anymore. The crisis is over, and he can contribute his ideas to the new government.

41. #41 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 5:08 pm

TRH fooled us once when he left Umno to form Semangat 46, joined forces with opposition parties against BN, and then subsequently dissolved Semangat 46 and returned to Umno Baru.

Talk is cheap. Does he have credibility? Can we trust him?

If TRH were genuinely concerned with the state of the nation, then he should quit Umno and join one of the opposition parties to liberate the nation from Umno and BN. Time for actual actions, not talk.

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.

42. #42 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 5:21 pm

And what’s good such an eloquence in a political statement when, though stirring to Opposition supporters here, is entirely lost to the people who count most to Ku Li, ie. the rank & file delegates and power brokers of his party, who cannot understand either the thrust or nuance of his statement due to poor English??? :)

43. #43 by max2811 on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 5:33 pm

Some politicians harp on racial issues and try to be champions for their own race. Out of the blue, TRH is talking sense. But he being an UMNO man surprises me.

I don’t trust him! Maybe he is trying out a new image and putting things into perspective in believing himself to be PM in-waiting. I would never trust or believe any UMNO leader. Look at Ahmad(deleted)Ismail.

I’m disappointed DSAI’s programme is actually propaganda. I guess we are back to square one. I hope DAP will continue to be vocal about equal rights, human rights, accountability, corruption and tranparency.

44. #44 by HB Lim on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 5:35 pm

The Rakyat are the weilder of the carrot and stick and by judicious weilding can change a leader or a political party. It means that we have to keep the option open that UMNO may be forced or persuaded to change and reform to please the weilder and stay in power. Should we therefore take a longer view of things and not force drastic changes in the shortest possible time and in the hurried process wreak national havoc? I am beginning to think that for the sake of the country and the Rakyat, PR should retreat and not press on with the change of government plan and focus on the governance of the 5 PR states and a step-by-step democratisation of the nation through effective opposition. But then again, I wish I can be definite with my stand and thoughts which tend to prevaricate. And right in front of me now is a table calendar with has Oscar Wilde reminding me that “the man who sees both sides of the question is a man who sees nothing at all”. Sigh…

45. #45 by shadow on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 5:46 pm

If BN stays on till next GE then I prefer KU LI to be the next PM. He’ll make a better leader for the Malaysians than the others.

46. #46 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 5:51 pm

Ku Li, like you, many of us millions of Malaysians are deeply disappointed and disillusioned with UMNO and BN.

For a start, why don’t you quit UMNO like Tun M. But go one up on Tun, join Pakatan Rakyat and help bring meaningful change.

UMNO and BN is a koyak coalition. There is just no hope anymore. It’s just too late. The trains have alkl left the stations.

BTW, these figures:
    “The Department of Statistics revised downwards the inflation figure for July to 8.3 per cent.

It said the cost of food and non-alcoholic drinks rose 11.7 per cent in August compared to a year ago. The high inflation is already hurting consumers with many Malaysians cutting down on their food bill. ”

Does any one from the statistics department ever go to market?

47. #47 by HB Lim on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 5:55 pm

TRH says -

“Against this background I appeal to all parties to come together in humility, beyond party politics, to hold an honest discussion, in the spirit of shared citizenship and with the gravest attitude of common responsibility towards a long-suffering rakyat, about what is happening to our country and how we might agree together on a peaceful way beyond our impasse. We need to come together to find unity and direction out of this dangerous situation. In doing so, we might turn our crisis into an opportunity and renew our unity and sense of direction as Malaysia.”

How does he propose that we come together in the spirit of shared citizenship and hold an honest discussion and agree on a peaceful way beyond our impasse and turn this crisis into opportunity? Where do we start, how do we start this national dialogue? The first requisite is a spirit of shared citizenship. Has UMNO that spirit of sharing? The other prerequiste is to come together in humility? Again, has UMNO that humility?

48. #48 by yapchee on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 6:02 pm

there is a old chinese saying ‘ to move a mountain is more easy than to change a man’s attitude ”

as long as UMNO veterans are in power and there will be no change. that is their attitude now – malaysia belongs to UMNO and UMNO is the founder of malaysia ! without UMNO there is no malaysia as of today!

UMNO do not belive in history or study for that matter?
    look at today happenings and yet they are studborn for change, so do you think they will change?

all talks is pointless now. change will eventually come is only we do not know what price we all have to pay? let us all wait and see!

49. #49 by melurian on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 6:13 pm

i don understand this: “The grievances of Sabah and Sarawak, which found only partial expression in the General Elections, remain unaddressed. This risks the very integrity of our Federation”…

i thot they are very happy, very content to have aab as pm and bn as gov so they pangkah them in ge12. one cannot say they’re not happy with aab, the kepala batas ppl voted him, the rakyat gave him mandate, the agong elected him….. very difficult to understand sometimes…

50. #50 by melurian on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 6:17 pm

“If TRH were genuinely concerned with the state of the nation, then he should quit Umno and join one of the opposition parties to liberate the nation from Umno and BN. Time for actual actions, not talk”

he did try once lar, and it failed evidently, and he learned the lesson. best is reformed internally via umno/bn…….. some ppl din understand his wisdom….

Comments are closed.