Race Relations Act – will it enable Barack Obama phenomenon in Malaysia?

When the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Hamid Albar announced yesterday that the Cabinet has approved the proposed Race Relations Act to strengthen ties among the different races in the country, I immediately thought of two matters.

The first is the “penumpang” controversy set off by the Bukit Bendera Umno division chairman, Datuk Ahmad Ismail as part of Umno’s most racist and inflammatory campaign in the Permatang Pauh by-election, which was decisively rejected by the voters from all racial groups uniting as a pioneering Bangsa Malaysia to give a thumping victory to Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to return to Parliament in triumph after an enforced absence of a decade.

The real fall-out from the “penumpang” controversy was after the Permatang Pauh by-election, where for two weeks, Ahmad was allowed to assume “hero” status among extremists and communalists for his provocative, inflammatory, insensitive and racist reference because of the abdication and bankruptcy of the moral and political authority of the Cabinet and the Barisan Nasional leadership in failing to take immediate action to strike down such divisive and destructive outbursts.

Ahmad’s grandparents migrated to this country from India. Why should a Malaysian who is a second-generation locally born in the country be so irresponsible, provocative and racist as to question the loyalty of a Malaysian Chinese like seventh locally-born generation Tan Siok Choo, daughter to Tun Tan Siew Sin and grand-daughter to Tun Tan Cheng Lock – whose ancestors came to Malacca 237 years ago in 1771?

Even up to now, Ahmad is totally unrepentant and immune from any police prosecution for his incendiary utterance – while the Sin Chew reporter Tan Hoon Cheng who had professionally reported Ahmad’s speech was detained under the draconian Internal Security Act but saved from the full iniquity of the ISA because of instantaneous nation-wide and international outrage.

What is the use of a Race Relations Act in Malaysia if the Ahmad Ismails enjoy immunity from the law being able to get away scot-free for their inflammatory, offensive, insensitive and racist utterances without fear of having to face criminal reprisals from the police and the Attorney-General’s Chambers for their seditious utterances?

The second matter that comes immediately to mind is about political developments the other side of the globe – Barack Obama’s presidential candidature in the United States.

Only 220 years ago, the Negroes were slaves in America, totally deprived of all political, economic, social and human rights. Today, an American black is one of the two contenders for the American Presidency in November – marking a historic breakthrough in race relations in the United States.

What has Malaysia to show in race relations in similar field after 51 years of nation-building?

When we achieved Independence in 1957, the Merdeka social contract and the Malaysian Constitution is unambiguous in providing equal citizenship status for all Malaysians, as in stipulating that any Malaysian, regardless of race, religion or class, can aspire to the highest political office in the land to become the Prime Minister.

The only condition for anyone to be Prime Minister is that he commands the confidence of the majority of the Members of Parliament.

During the first premiership of Tunku Abdul Rahman from 1957 to 1969, nobody would raise an eyebrow at the assertion that any Malaysian, whether Malay, Chinese, Indian, Kadazan, Iban and regardless of whether Muslim, Chrisitian, Buddhist, Hindu or Taoist, can become Prime Minister of Malaysia.

Half a century later, under the fifth Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, anyone who makes the assertion in public place that any Malaysian, regardless of whether Malay, Chinese, Indian, Kadazan or Iban, and regardless of religion, whether Muslim, Christian, Buddhist, Hindu or Taoist, would be looked askance and even deemed to have made a most
“insensitive” statement.

There would even be groups in the country who would feel justified to be “provoked” by such a straightforward statement to launch vociferous protests up and down the country.

Why is this so, despite the Vision 2020 objective of creating a Bangsa Malaysia out of the diverse races in the country, which was proclaimed 17 years ago in 1991?

Will the proposed Race Relations Act resolve these knotty problems of Malaysian nation-building, or is its purpose to further institutionalize racial segregation and discrimination which have surreptitiously crept into various aspects of Malaysian life and taken deep and subversive root?

Will the proposed Race Relations Act open the way to enable and empower a major breakthrough like the Barack Obama phenomenon to take place in Malaysia or the reverse?

[Speech at the DAP Cheras SSS (Support, Sympathy and Solidarity) Dinner for Teresa Kok at Hee Lai Ton Restaurant, Kuala Lumpur on Friday, 19th September 2008 at 9 pm]

1. #1 by clear conscience mirror on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 5:42 pm

YB LKS,

You have made your point clear with a clear conscience; as clear as my pseudonym says so.

It only works if all Malaysians, irrespective of the race divide, can accept the reality of Bangsa Malaysia where no one is deemed a “tumpang” or a second class “immigrant”. The objective of the proposed Race relations Act has to be crystal clear as regards to this basic fundamental pillar that all are Malaysians; without reference to creed, colour or race.

Like Obama said in his speech during the nomination acceptance. He said, quote and unquote:- “America must protect Americans and not oppress them”.

Can this be achieved here? Unless with the determination that each Malaysian has to slug it out, otherwise no matter whatever the name may be adopted for the Act, it is doomed to fail miserably.

I am not a racist but in fact longing to see Malaysians standing tall amongst ourselves…proud to identify ourselves as Malaysians in the eyes of foreigners……forging the unity we so dearly yearn. But the fundamental basis to succeed in any undertakings has always to be the willingness to get it done, by hook or crook if that is so important to maintain our harmony and move forward. Sincerity has to be the utmost priority. God provides and as HIS command is supreme, nothing works against HIS will.

2. #2 by a-malaysian on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 5:43 pm

They can keep on enacting new laws and act but the enforcement is always one sided. There are so many laws including the ISA to curtail any racist remark such as the one by umno ahmad but they cannot used it on him just because he is a malay and an umno member.

I just wonder why bn other component parties are still toeing the line of umno and agreed to this new act which will only apply to non malays and not to umno members.

Blood-Suckers

GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for the past fifty one years.

3. #3 by Godfather on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 5:50 pm

What is the point of having laws when they only selectively apply to certain sections of the population, and do not apply to the elite few ?

Cakap tak serupa bikin – which is why Badawi has to go. All of UMNO have to go.

4. #4 by Godfather on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 5:52 pm

Barack Obama coined the phrase “Change we can believe in”. There is NOTHING we can believe in in the Barang Naik coalition.

5. #5 by vsp on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 5:54 pm

Do Ahmad Ismail and his ilks know that the Malays have for centuries have cordial and close relationships with the Chinese and Indians?

Never in the history of early Peninsular Malaya has there been any Malay kingdom that would survive alone without the protection of the Chinese. Even in the zenith of power of one of the greatest Malay kingdoms, Chinese protection would be sought in the payment of annual tribute. The fact that Admiral Cheng Ho, reportedly a Chinese Muslim did come to Malaya on the authority of the Chinese emperor to warn any powers, such as the Thais or the Indonesian kingdoms that the Malacca sultanate was under the suzerainty of the Chinese proved the strong relationship. And how about the Babas and nyonyas. They were Chinese acclimatised to Malay culture.

As for the Indians, they were responsible for influencing much of the culture during the early Malay history proved the relationship. The fact the the Malay language contains many Indian words strengthen this contention.

Malacca was once a great port. If you think that the Indian and Chinese traders had not paid a great part in this development, you must be ignorant.

So Ahmad Ismail and your ilks, the pendatangs that you so abhorred were here long before your descendants were here.

6. #6 by taiking1 on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 6:01 pm

They are side stepping the issue arent they? What caused the racial divide in the country? Did they find out?

They must know the cause for otherwise the RRA could turn out as mere symptomatic treatment. In which case the problem will persist.

The cause of the racial divide to my mind is umno and all its one-sided race based policies; and all the partial implementation of national policies.

If they are serious about treating the problem, they must start inside umno – look into a mirror.

Seriously, what can the RRA do? Can the RRA be used to direct umno to do away with race-based policies? Or to punish people like ahmad ismail for the racist remark he made?

Surely no.

So my conclusion is the RRA will be just for appearance sake. Wayang aja. Untuk buat dia orang seronok sikit. Keep them happy.

7. #7 by gofortruth on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 6:06 pm

We have OSA, we have ISA, now RRA, for what???? Another BN new machinery to bully the rakyat by pushing more “dead cats” in the throat of innocent citizens????? If they can do that to prominent & respected people like Malay YM Raja Petra & Chinese YB Teresa and Indian Hindraf leaders, what chance do we ordinary folks have?????

AAB agreed to Koh Tsu Koon’s “BN code of ethics” proposal and now the RRA as proposed by Liao of MCA are just gimmicks to keep the MCA & Gerakan grassroots quiet.

8. #8 by Food for thought on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 6:07 pm

The main problem lies in the BN divide and rule policy and that is the key problem. Remove BN and race will become a non issue.

9. #9 by yhsiew on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 6:21 pm

I have the feeling that the Race Relations Act, which is to be legislated, will be used to silence the voice of the Opposition though the punishment for violating the Act is lesser than that under ISA.

BN will not be so foolish to legislate the Act to put them in a disadvantageous position.

10. #10 by yhsiew on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 6:23 pm

ooop error: ….to put them in a disadvantageous position

should read “to put themselves in a disadvantageous position”

11. #11 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 6:26 pm

Could Muslims being liberal?

http://www.malaysiakini.com/opinions/89077

YES they can… and Goverment body as authority CAN’T play god role as all human’s has equal rights!

“Philosophy libertarianisme uphold law and system sovereignty free market, urge that ruling power limit, and demand that human freed from slavery fellow-men so there was no other people that can rob God position in our life!”

12. #12 by Sunrisepotato on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 6:34 pm

Double Standard !!!! Double Standard!!! Double Standard !!!!!!

Racist Party UMNO, could u please stop wasting our time to make NEW LAW ???????????

I m worried. The New “RACE RELATIONS ACT” is just another law to SHUT OUR MOUTH, TO ENSURE THE DISCRIMINATION !!!!!!!!

13. #13 by yhsiew on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 6:49 pm

MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu said today the legislation was necessary to help strengthen unity among the people.

He said the 2008 general election resulted in not only political gain for the opposition but also a setback for inter-racial relations.

Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim said the act should be established to supplement laws such as the Sedition Act, Public Order (Preservation) Act 1958 and the Education Act.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/9320-more-support-for-race-relations-act

==================================================

The above confirms my worse fear; the so-called Race Relations Act is targeted at the Opposition in efforts to silence their voice.

14. #14 by Sunrisepotato on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 6:53 pm

PR have the seat to Reject this stupid LAW, please do so.

UMNO is act like Party Comminist in North Korea right now. The hidden agenda behind the law is =

“RAKYAT, keep your big mouth SHUT!!! “

15. #15 by Malaysia First on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 6:59 pm

If the Race Relations Act is going to come into fruition I would suggest the following. Disallow any society or event that admits only a particular race. We should have not any such thing as for example a Chinese Table Tennis Association that admits only chinese. Similarly we should disallow if there ever was a Malay Sepak Takraw Association that only allows Malays to be members and disallow any other Malaysian to be members solely based on race criteria.
    Furthermore, we should also disallow any competitions where participants are allowed based on race criteria.
    This will remove the divisions that would otherwise be officially recognised if we legally allow such events and associations.
    I all for a Race Relations Act but it should be based on a concept of plurality where all races are equal rather than on one race having a “ketuanan” against the other races as per the constitution.
    But after all the “cakap tak sama bikin” that I have encountered with the BN/UMNO all these years, I am pretty skeptical on this so called Race Relations Act.

16. #16 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 7:18 pm

Ahmad Ismail Not just a racist, he also Violate Humans Right and ISLAM preaching, Islam come to free human from the slavery fellow-men that somebody Islamic that can slavery to God merely.

In his warship for “KETUANAN” who he plays God role means for minority races?…

=================================
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/opinions/89077

* Rule of law

“Advent of Islam also already to strengthen confidence for gospel “highest rule” explore since before Moses’s time more.

Even Islamic clearly teach that they ruler cannot arbitrary it utilise the power design to force people follow their index. Government also subjected to the law.”

17. #17 by Loh on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 7:23 pm

The so-called Race Relation Act if it is intended to monitor the behaviour of the public would render itself to another draconian rule such as the Seditious Act, and ISA. These Acts prevent people from discussing openly issues relating to race or religion. The ISA has been utilized for political expedience of the ruling party, and the Sedition Act has been spared when UMNO members violated it openly, even in the open meeting of the UMNO general assembly. Any law which restricts the freedom of speech only facilitates the perpetration of double standards.

If the government wishes to improve racial relationships among the citizens, the Race Relation Act should outlaw any government policy that is partial to any racial group. It should stop government actions which breed double standards based on race and religion. That would help minimize polarization of people by race and religion in the country.

The people are considered mature when they reach 21 years. After 51 years of independence, the person who reached maturity age in 1957 would have now grandchildren reaching maturity age. The grandfathers might not be able to discuss race issues for lack of understanding of the culture and habits of the other communities, when the country was at its infancy; the same excuse could not be applicable to the fathers who were prevented from raising sensitive issues in public. The country would have to admit that it is a pariah land when the grandchildren are prevented to face the real life. People might be fooled some of the time, but to have them fooled over three generations is to hold the people in utter contempt. The leaders simply take the citizens as stupid.

Governance beset with double standards is the worst enemy to the preservation of law and order. The ruling political parties in utilizing the draconian laws in public display of double standards emboldened their party members to incite hatred against other communities with impunity. The aggrieved communities could only show their displeasure at the voting booths. Disappointed at the lack of total success, members of the ruling parties released their anger and frustration through seditious utterances. Once again BN government repeats its mistake in drawing up laws to restrict freedom of expression of its citizens. When would BN government ever learn? At this juncture, it might be more appropriate to ask when the head of the BN government would agree to handover the reign of government to Anwar.

18. #18 by The Enforcer on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 7:24 pm

The GOONS do not need to come out with any Act!
    No Acts can be applied to the wrongdoings of any UMeNOputras,
    whereas any other RAKYAT can be hauled up at their whims and fancies!
    So far the best ‘Act’ that the GOONS can do is swinging from tree to tree and flip flopping (somersaulting) over and over again!
    That’s what they are only good at!

19. #19 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 7:29 pm

monkeys? o.0!

20. #20 by 9to5 on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 7:51 pm

If there is a right, conducive environment for racial harmony there would no need for Race Relation Act (RRA). Similarly, if the environment is antagonistic and frictional, any RRA will be useless!

It’s just like passing a law that must be love among husband and wife. Do you think love will blossom if every day the husband and wife are forbidden to sleep or allowed to spend time together or taunted daily with quarrels over money and religion? And passing a law for love will make it any better? How are you able to pass a law for compulsory love or, for that matter, unity?

The people advocating for RRA must be shortsighted or they must be incredibly naïve! What is the point for RRA if there remain the inequitable and discriminative policies such as the NEP, 5% discount to a millionaire for purchase of houses, lopsided university entry, university comprising of entirely one race, lack of promotion opportunity in Public Services, “ketuanan melayu”, forbidden inter-faith discussion, body snatching, religion supremacy, awarding of Government contracts to cronies, etc, etc. These are the root causes for racial disharmony and to achieve racial harmony these inequitable and discriminatory impediments must be removed!

What this RRA will achieve is an artificial means of the bottling up of anger and frustration which will ultimately lead to a more explosive outcome. It will become another draconian means for the already proven racists in UMNO to abuse their powers and preserve their cling to power in Malaysia. What punishments do the RRA has that the Sedition Act and other existing laws don’t have?

The fact that RRA has been successful in UK and other developed countries doesn’t mean that it will be successful here in Malaysia. One MAJOR difference is that there are no equivalent discriminatory policies in these countries such as the NEP, race supremacy, forbidden inter-faith discussion, university made up of entirely one race, etc.

It is very glaring that the whole RRA thing is very hastily done. It comes as no surprise that it is none other than MCA which promulgated the idea and UMNO hastily acquiesce to the idea. Does MCA honestly believe that the RRA can be successful with all the existing inequitable and discriminatory impediments placed in its path? If MCA is not the lap dog of UMNO, it will make more sense if it requests for the impediments or root causes of racial disharmony to be removed instead of requesting for a RRA with all the impediments intact!

This is all an eye wash with the intention to placate the non-malays giving UMNO and the BN lap dogs more time to cling to power. Three decades ago, there were no RRA, yet all the races co-existed happily among one another. It is not wrong to say that UMNO is the main cause for the present racial disharmony in Malaysia. You don’t have to look deeply to see that UMNO‘s hands and legs are all over the place in all the incidents which caused racial disharmony in the past few years.

Remove UMNO and all will be well! There would be no need for RRA!

21. #21 by Hue on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 7:52 pm

To the bloggers who are interested in the role of the Chinese in Melaka here is a link you may want to look up which makes interesting reading.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zheng_He

22. #22 by Ham on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:02 pm

The Home Minister and the Deputy IGP should be SACKED for the
    gross abuse of Power.

23. #23 by underlastride on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:03 pm

Yes, it was the 16th President of the United States, the great Abraham Lincoln who fought for the slaves 220 years ago! And I thank God for Senator Barack Obama, who WILL make history this year. When he wins the presidency this Nov 4th, Abraham Lincoln would finally rest in peace, knowing that his fight 220 years ago to free slaves was all worthwhile! =’)

Maybe we can compare but somehow we also can’t compare Malaysia and the United States as the United States has been an independent state for 232 years! Malaysia is still so young if we compare to it.

But we can also say that with the help of internet, things are much faster in all aspects of life. The transition for Malaysia to reach a fair ground for all races might be faster. But I personally feel, that after what has been happening in Malaysia lately, it’s going to take some more time. I do not know. it’s so unpredictable here!! =(

What must happen before there is racial equality?? Literacy rate to increase? Economic growth? (or again), literacy rate to increase? I think everyone must view issues that deal with the country rationally, with balanced and reasoned views, without biased in any way. =)

For me, I hope there is an Obama-like movement here. Anyway, the Obama movement in the US now has reached across the globe! I believe that he will be the 44th US president taking over from incumbent…errr…what’s his name again, oh yea, George W. Bush!

Obama 08!
    Yes We Can! Change we can believe in!
    **Malaysian great Obama fan!!!***
    Kenny S.C, 22
    PJ

24. #24 by dawsheng on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:05 pm

Race relation act, or it is just UMNO and MCA’s wet dreams?

25. #25 by Ham on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:10 pm

What ” Race Relations Act ” is there to talk about, all but window
    dressing. Remove biaseness first and that itself is sufficient, arrest
    and detain Ahmad Ismail, Dr Khir Toyo and the reporter from Utusan
    Melayu under ISA.

26. #26 by kentutoyol on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:11 pm

AND laws are make to be broken – which keep lawyers busy.

THE stone is good to put in the fire, but it gives trouble to the one who takes it out.

27. #27 by Ham on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:14 pm

MCA, have some dignity, stop being a Lapdog, leave BN, show
    us your guts (i.e. if you all have any at all). Stop licking UMNO’s
    Butts.

28. #28 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:21 pm

He is a hypocrite who professes what he does not believe or practice.

Race Relations Act or Malaysian National Service Act are cosmetics ostensibly to promote multi racial harmony by politicians of a ruling coalition whose very inception, continuance of power and enjoyment of perks is based on perpetuation of communal divisions and inter-racial suspicions and rivalry.

50 years of Malaysian experience bears testimony to this. It is a waste of time to comment further on the Race Relations Act.

We don’t need a Barack Obama. We just need as a starting point the situation at the time of the nation’s independence when different races intermingled in work and play without consciousness of race and religion – until the Alliance/BN politicians took over to aggravate the distinctions.

29. #29 by dawsheng on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:22 pm

Ham, MCA won’t leave UMNO because they are partners in crime, you know, PKFZ!

30. #30 by dawsheng on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:22 pm

Jeffrey, spot on!

31. #31 by dawsheng on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:27 pm

UMNO is corrupt, so is MCA. Corrupt Malay and corrupt Chinese.

32. #32 by Loh on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:28 pm

9to5 Says:

Today at 19: 51.29 (32 minutes ago)

Well said. I agree completely.

33. #33 by Loh on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:31 pm

///We don’t need a Barack Obama. We just need as a starting point the situation at the time of the nation’s independence when different races intermingled in work and play without consciousness of race and religion – until the Alliance/BN politicians took over to aggravate the distinctions.///–Jeffrey

You can say it again!

34. #34 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:32 pm

Can BN change/reform from its communal policies?

Excerpts of the interview of Datuk Zaid Ibrahim by MalaysiaInsider is instructive of an insider’s view :

MalaysianInsider: “When did you first think about resigning?”

Zaid: “I first thought of resigning from the Cabinet after my first month in office. My idea of reform has been construed by some influential members of Cabinet and the party as undesirable and against party interests.”

MalaysianInsider: “When was the tipping point?”

Zaid: “When I was not able to do all these (reforms) and having heard the arguments against them, it then dawned on me that… my party was not ready.

Not ready for a process-driven system, not ready for meritocracy, not ready for greater levels of accountability and a truly independent judiciary. They would like to cling on to the leverages of power based on discretion and privileges.

I could not do much without the support. So, on Sept 12, when they detained Member of Parliament Teresa Kok under the ISA, a journalist for reporting what an Umno leader said — which in my view smacks of racism — and the blogger, I said enough is enough.”

35. #35 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:47 pm

How could a person or body whose political interest and making a good living is absolutely dependent on communal divisions manage the “conflicts of interest” position and be sincere to mend and strengthen inter-ethnic and racial relations? Does one smash his own rice bowl? Deliberately shoot his own foot, score his own goals?

36. #36 by m.hwang on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:51 pm

Whatever Act Parliament passes, if it is used to stifle the voices of opposition to the government would be an absolute waste of resources.

37. #37 by limkamput on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 9:02 pm

Yes Sdr Lim, the Obama phenomenon will certainly happen in Malaysia. I posted this in “Teresa Now Being Released” yesterday.

limkamput Says:
    Yesterday at 15: 06.50
    Welocme back Teresa. May be someday you will become the first female Prime Minister of Malaysia. May be race/bigot supremacists will think that I am day dreaming. But I am not; I am completely sober and awake. A female non Muslim becomes the Prime Minister of a Muslim majority country – this is what colour/gender blind is all about.

38. #38 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 9:13 pm

Hue Says:

Today at 19: 52.43 (1 hour ago)
    To the bloggers who are interested in the role of the Chinese in Melaka here is a link you may want to look up which makes interesting reading.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zheng_He

=============================

It’s how “Bukit Cina in Melaka” came from and “Baba-Nyonya” race in Melaka for hundreds of years after the Chinese from China married the local Malay’s whos not even Muslim yet at the times.

39. #39 by taiking1 on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 9:13 pm

Nice one there! Some info from the inside coming from a recently ex-ed insider. I believe him and what he said. At least he is a man of conscience and principle. And he is not one who retracts his statements.

Umno, you just chucked your last and only remaining gem out. What have you now in your yard? Scrap metal? Do cherish them for otherwise you may also lose them.

So umno is not ready for change, for meritocray, for transparency, for judicial independence.

Not ready, it seems. Perhaps, zaid was being polite. I think umno actually was and still is outright repulsive to any from of change, big and small.

Our suspicion of umno’s insincerity and deceitful ways is confirmed. And the issues are now brought into the open by zaid.

I for one appreciate his guts for doing such a noble and righteous thing. And for this I would to tell him: Thank you.

40. #40 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 9:33 pm

Race relations among most common folks is usually good – of course there are racists in all communities.

This race relations law can start with 2 basic clauses and I think it will improve things a lot:

1.Ketuanan is banned outright.
    2.Inter-religious marriages are allowed without any compulsion to convert any partner – it will be a civil marriage and the children will be free to choose at 18 years.

41. #41 by Damocles on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 9:37 pm

Uncle Lim, I think most Malaysians have enough of the cock and bull stories about reforms spewing from all corners of the mouths of the BN.
    The PM has been talking about reforms since 2004 when he has the biggest mandate in our history and until now he is still saying it.
    If he is sincere about them, this country would have been a far better one than when he took over the helm in 2004!
    But the sad truth is that we have regressed in every sphere of our society, especially in racial relations.
    So, the only hope of any improvement is to have the PR helms the premiership of the country.

42. #42 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 9:38 pm

After 2309 we can pack UMNOputras+MCA+Gerakan+MIC in cages shipped them all to North Korea where they belongs.

43. #43 by Jimm on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 9:40 pm

All these will soon pass …. UMNO is sinking fast.
    We just need the new captain to use C4 to end their miseries.

44. #44 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 9:43 pm

In the relations act on race
    Is it there just to give face
    When it should be natural grace
    Instead of exposing a big disgrace

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 200908
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Sat. 20th Sept. 2008.

45. #45 by lopez on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 10:16 pm

As usual talk and talk and talk and you may be cynical too, the talk will be a close door talk again

So boring do there no what is means “thinking out of the box”

or just used it lah ‘cos every else is using,,, it ll make you look in or square for not doing so ..the heck what it means for those village cheftains.

catching up is a up hill task for those who are afraid to move forward.

go stay in your own well dont pull others along it is going to be crowded dont you know that.

46. #46 by PSM on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 10:16 pm

Bro Kit,

Just to deviate a bit…when is the PR & DSAI taking over the Federal Govt? We all know that AAB is not going to convene Parliment so…what’s the next step?
    We have not forgotten DSAI’s promise to take over the federal Govt!

47. #47 by Freddy on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 10:18 pm

Laws are made by politicians for the politicians.

Is there a need for a peace treaty without a war?

The same here, would there be a need for such a ridiculous Race Relations Act if there will be a Bangsa Malaysia?

It is spelt out when MCA’s Ong Ka Ting reasserts tht MCA will continue to champion the rights of Chinese. This is evidence that MCA is not serious about the creation of Bangsa Malaysia. The same is reflected in this Act. It means there will never be a Bangsa Malaysia for as long as BN rules.

Say no to chauvinism. Oppose this act just like opposing the ISA.

48. #48 by PSM on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 10:19 pm

Hj Angus,

Both your points are good. However, let’s face it, with UMNO in charge…FORGET IT!

49. #49 by Mr Smith on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 10:31 pm

BN has always been an empty vessel. Its all sweet words and promises.
    UMNO is beyond reform and that why Zaid Ibrahim threw in the towel. This is what he said in a recent interview:

“When I was not able to do all these (reforms) and having heard the arguments against them, it then dawned on me that… my party was not ready.
    Not ready for a process-driven system, not ready for meritocracy, not ready for greater levels of accountability and a truly independent judiciary. They would like to cling on to the leverages of power based on discretion and privileges.”

I would go one step further and say UMNO is incorrigible, beyond redemption, beyond resurrection and beyond repair.
    A party without a modicum of morality and decency cannot bring about unity among the people.

This so-called Race Relations Act will be from the point of view of the UMNO warlords with demands to observe and respect Malay sensitivities and constitutional guarantees and rights.

In any case any Act would be meaningless if the enforcement of the law is biased. If Ahmad Ismail and Khir Toyo enjoy immunity from prosecution than what hope is there in whatever RRA.

50. #50 by KennyGan on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 10:39 pm

The Race Relations Act. Among the clauses will be:

1) Forbidden to question Ketuanan Melayu
    2) Forbidden to question Malay special rights
    3) Forbidden to question the social contract
    4) Forbidden to ask for equal treatment for all races
    5) Forbidden to call anybody penumpang (Umno members excepted)
    etc, etc.

What race relations act? More like race segregation and discrimination act to put an artificial lid on racial sentiments generated by all the racial discrimination policies by forbidding people from talking about it.

There is no way these goons will propose an RRA to do away with racial discrimination as such an act would mean Umno giving up all the racial policies in education, employment and economy.

51. #51 by japstrat81 on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 10:43 pm

Another eyewash!These guys just never give up ,do they.
    Why do we need another act?
    So many laws in this country but no enforcement.What ACT?
    They want to show us that they have taken the race relations matter seriously and have decided that the best way to handle it is by law enforcement.
    Forget it la!
    Save these laws for the UMNO goons,Ahmad Ismail,Khir Toyol and the rest of the fascist regime.

52. #52 by japstrat81 on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 10:46 pm

Mr.Smith,
    They will try to get this act passed but the small print will exclude them or they will seek to apply it only to others.
    Never will they want to lose all they have gained.

53. #53 by wifeejane on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 11:08 pm

Pls read this post I got from Syed Imran
    (Syed Imran was born in Penang. He was formerly a journalist for Bernama (1971-1998) and former press secretary to Minister in PM’s Department.)

Excerpts: Read here for more

Dalam zaman dunia tanpa sempadan dan liputan meluas dan segera oleh media elektronik antarabangsa, apa yang berlaku di sesebuah negara itu tidak dapat disembunyi atau dinafikan.

Isu pokok yang dibangkitkan oleh Ahmad Ismail membabitkan persoalan “menumpang” iaitu rakyat Malaysia keturunan Cina adalah penumpang di negara ini.

Beliau menjelaskan bahawa ia merujuk kepada zaman pra-Merdeka. Bagaimanapun, sensitiviti rakyat Malaysia keturunan Cina telah terguris.

Saya tidak mengenali secara peribadi Ahmad Ismail, tetapi kenal agak rapat dengan Allahyarham abangnya, Abdul Rahim Ismail, pemilik Syarikat Pembinaan Rahim yang pada satu ketika dahulu agak terkenal sebagai sebuah firma pembinaan Bumiputera yang unggul di Pulau Pinang.

Secara peribadi, saya TIDAK setuju dengan apa yang didakwa dikata oleh Ahmad Ismail atas beberapa sebab.

Bagi saya, hampir 90 peratus rakyat Malaysia, khususnya di Semenanjung, adalah pendatang dan kita semua sebenarnya menumpang hidup di bumi Allah.

Kita bukan pemilik kekal tetapi hanya menumpang.

Saya sendiri adalah keturunan pendatang yang menumpang hidup di bumi bertuah ini. Datuk nenek di sebelah bapa saya berhijrah dari Makkah dan dari Brunei ke sini manakala di sebelah ibu pula dari Hadhramut, Yaman. Kami adalah pendatang dan penumpang sama seperti hampir semua penduduk negara ini khususnya di Pulau Pinang.

Bagi Ahmad Ismail, dia juga datang dari keluarga pendatang dan menumpang hidup di negara ini. Ahmad Ismail tidak boleh menafikan hakikat bahawa datuk neneknya adalah pendatang dari India untuk menerokai penghidupan yang lebih baik dan selesa di bumi bertuah ini.

Perdana Menteri Abdullah bin Ahmad juga tergolong dalam kategori yang sama. Datuknya di sebelah ibu adalah pendatang dari wilayah Guandong, China. Pendek kata, datuk Pak Lah iaitu bapa Allahyarhamah Kailan bernama Hassan Salleh atau Hah Su Chiang adalah seorang pendatang. Beliau berhijrah ke Tanah Melayu dari wilayah Guandong (Kwantung) pada pertengahan abad ke-19 dan menetap di Bayan Lepas sebagai pekebun getah, pesawah padi dan kemudian saudagar intan berlian.

Najib Tun Razak, Timbalan PM juga berasal daripada keluarga pendatang iaitu dari Sulawesi, Indonesia atau lebih senang disebut orang Bugis

Hishamudin Hussein tidak terlepas daripada darah keturunan Turki.

Datuk nenek mantan PM Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad juga pendatang dari Kerala, India

Ibu Almarhum Tunku Abul Rahman berasal dari negeri Siam (Thailand).

Kesultanan Melayu Melaka pun dibuka oleh orang pendatang dari Sumatra bernama Parameswara, seorang anak raja atau bangsawan beragama Hindu.

Dalam sejarah kesultanan Melayu, kita dapati ada yang ditubuh oleh pendatang dari Bugis dan ada pula dari Hadhramut selain dari Minangkabau.

Iktiraf “Orang Melayu”

Hampir SEMUA ORANG MELAYU di sini berasal dari LUAR Tanah Melayu tetapi diiktiraf sebagai “bangsa Melayu” oleh Perlembagaan Persekutuan.

Kita adalah “Melayu mengikut takrifan Perlembagaan” iaitu beragama Islam, mengamalkan adat resam Melayu dan bertutur dalam bahasa Melayu.

Malangnya, bahasa Melayu nampaknya dimatikan oleh orang Melayu (UMNO) sendiri apabila dinamakan sebagai bahasa Malaysia.

Oleh itu:

orang Arab seperti Syed Hamid Albar dan saya,

orang Aceh seperti Sanusi Junid,

orang India seperti Kader Sheikh Fadzir dan Nor Mohamed Yakcop ,(termasuk Ahmad Ismail dan Dr. Mahathir),

orang Bugis seperti Najib, orang Minang seperti Rais Yatim,

orang Jawa seperti Mohamad Rahmat dan

yang lain seperti dari Madura, Pulau Boyan, Siam, Burma, Yunnan (China) dan selatan Filipina
    …… diiktiraf sebagai “Melayu”.
    MEREKA diterima sebagai “Orang Melayu.”

Tidak kira sama ada mereka bertutur bahasa Melayu atau tidak di rumah umpamanya:

– si Arab berbahasa Arab,

– si Jawa berbahasa Jawa dan

– si Minang berbahasa Minang atupun

– si Mamak berbahasa Tamil.
    Bahasa-bahasa yang disebut itu BUKAN bahasa Melayu.

Jika dilihat dari sudut Perlembagaan Persekutuan, mereka TIDAK boleh diterima atau diiktiraf sebagai Bangsa Melayu.

Walau bagaimanapun, atas kepentingan dan faktor politik, semuanya diterima sebagai Melayu dan Bumiputera.

Tuduhan Orang Cina Sebagai Pendatang oleh Ahmad Ismail

Oleh itu, adalah TIDAK adil untuk menuding jari kepada orang Cina yang juga kaum pendatang sama seperti orang Arab, India, Aceh, Minang, Batak, Mandailing, Jawa, Madura mahupun Bugis, sebagai menumpang di negeri ini.

Kita tidak boleh menafikan bahawa sebilangan besar datuk nenek orang Cina telah berhijrah ke negeri ini semasa Kesultanan Melayu Melaka, bahkan kesultanan-kesultanan terdahulu di Kedah mahupun Terengganu dan Kelantan serta semasa Francis Light berjaya menipu Sultan Kedah untuk menduduki Pulau Pinang pada 1786.

Kita adalah kaum pendatang yang menumpang hidup di negeri ini.

Anak Bumi Tulen Sebenar

Golongan yang boleh diiktiraf sebagai orang asal atau anak bumi tulen adalah mereka yang kita kenali sebagai Negrito, Jakun, Semang, Jahut, Orang Laut, Orang Darat, Senoi dan suku kaum masyarakat Asli lain yang masih menjadi penghuni belantara.

Kita SEMUA Adalah Rakyat MALAYSIA

Kita tidak harus lupa akan sumbangan dan pengorbanan semua kaum dan suku kaum untuk membangunkan Malaysia sama ada dari sudut ekonomi, kemasyarakatan, keselamatan dan yang paling penting kesepakatan dan perpaduan.

Semua orang yang kena dan seharusnya membayar cukai, berbuat demikian tanpa mengira kaum atau asal keturunan, sama ada pendatang atau penumpang.

Kita semua adalah rakyat MALAYSIA.

RAMESH RAO KRISHNA NAIDU

54. #54 by pjboy on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 11:10 pm

DNA act, Race act…that’s what BN is only good with. Act here, act there, act everywhere. It will be another act just to make sure they stay in power. BN still talking on race issues. The rakyat should form an act against the BN from making anymore racial issues. From my perspective, the one causing all the racial tension & religious issues are coming only from the BN. It’s always BN accusing this & that. When they accuse, it is as good as guilty. The only one with racial issues here is the BN. Just go to any Ramadan bazaar the past month & you will see Malay, Chinese, Indian, Eurosians, even an odd orang putih here there, etc races of various ethnicity. The Malaysian identity & unity is in our food. Without the Malays, there will be no rendang. Without the Indians, there will be no roti canai. Without the Chinese, there will be char koay teow. But this goes beyond just food. Food is what bring us together. Everything else will just fall in place naturally.

55. #55 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 11:16 pm

One thing we can be sure of is that race relations are not going to be better because we have the Race Relations Act. What does this Act do? Tell how Malaysians should act and treat one another. We already know that.

It is more meaningful to have legislation like the U.S. Civil Rights Act 1964 which prohibits discrimination of any kind – race, gender, religion, sexual orientation etc.

A sure way to help improve race relations is to encourage interracial marriages and to give tax incentives to couples who marry outside their race e.g. tax credit for every child, free tuition up to college or university level. If governments can provide disincentives for couples having more than two children, why can’t we provide incentives for people who marry outside their race.

The one issue that is discouraging interracial marriages between Malays and the other races is of course religion. What does the Race Relations Act say about that??

56. #56 by Loh on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 11:24 pm

Sorry, off topic
    From CheDet.com 20 Sept 2008

///8. Actually the present leader’s involvement with graft, his support for his son’s business, the power he gives to his son-in-law, his well-known sleeping habits, indecision, lack of ability to handle problems, sudden withdrawal of oil subsidy, cancellation of the bridge to Singapore, wasting money on the unused RM800 million (Johor Baru) Customs, Immigration and Quarantine building, cancellation of the railway double tracking and electrification project, the monsoon cup and lots more are what turned the voters against BN.///—TDM

All the above could not beat the excess of TDM. For the true cause, he should read among others, the contribution listed below:

9to5 Says:

Today at 19: 51.29 (32 minutes ago)

///12. As for rejection of race based politics, why did the voters vote for PAS, a 100 percent Malay party and DAP, a predominantly Chinese party.///–TDM

To TDM all the Chinese and Indians who voted for PAS on 8 March 2008 were Malays, at least temporarily, and the Malays, Indians and others who voted for DAP were Temporary Chinese.

///4. But what happened shocked me because Chinese voters not only refused to vote for me, which meant a loss of 3,000 votes but they voted for PAS. I needed 6,000 more votes to replace 3,000 voters who did not vote for me and another 3,000 because they voted for PAS.///–TDM

TDM’s ability at arithmetic is suspect. When 3,000 Chinese voted for his opponent, he would only required 3,000 to vote for him to neutralize what his opponent got, and another one vote to win. He certainly did not require 3,000 more to make it even. Maybe Einstein could not do this arithmetic too. I suppose it is easier to talk about international finance where AAB without passing first year undergraduate paper in statistics served five years as Finance Minister. AAB might have suggested that he needed 3002 votes to counter the loss of 3000 votes to his opponent. AAB sure believes that 2 votes are better than one.

57. #57 by wifeejane on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 11:26 pm

Leaders who condone the “penumpang” controversy but now come up with this “race relation act” are real hiprocrates who is not only interest only in promoting their selfish image and political mileage but is prepare to sacrified the current harmony amount the various race to achieve his means. Dear leaders just imagine the damage done, luckily your rakyat now are matured enough not to go to the extend of racial fracas and hagemony. I think our leaders need to learn from the rakyat of different race on how they work together and cooperate with each other even in time of highten tension artificially created by these unscruplous leader comments. our rakyat does not need all this hiprocratic Act. It should be these opportunist politician who would need these Rules and regulation to control their wild and ruthless mind to fan racial hegemony.

58. #58 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 11:27 pm

In the U.S. children of mixed marriages involving blacks and whites, when they are asked if they regard themselves as white or black they wil always opt for the latter.

Today we hear talk of the “browning” of America over the next hundred years. Will that help solve racial discrimination? Maybe.

But like I said no law passed is going to improve race relations. It is absurd to suggest that it could.

59. #59 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 11:29 pm

What Malaysians have learned over the course of some five decades is how to live together but separately. They will continue to do so and no law passed by Parliament is going to change any of that.

60. #60 by pjboy on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 11:38 pm

I hear even in Indonesia, Muslims marry non-Muslims no issue. If the non-Muslim is Christian, the Christian carry on with his/her faith & vice versa. There is no pressure on either party having to give up their faith. Isn’t that nice?

Malaysia practice a different orthodox. Also for this reason, many Malaysian Muslims that marry Non-Muslims remain in their spouse’s country. Not all, but many I am sure.

Civil Rights will not apply here due to ‘5% Bumiputera Discount’ & to most GLCs, ‘Bumiputeras encouraged to apply’ remains. Discrimination in job opportunities exist in GLCs & civil service. This is reality.

I am not surprise at all that many civil servants in S’pore are from Malaysia. I have also heard of civil servants in Australia, USA & UK, originally from Malaysia…coz they were not given the same opportunity, plus the pay is definitely better. The grass is greener, as they say, on the other side.

The rakyat should be mature enough to decide what’s best for them. Not the government, whether BN or PR. It’s over 50 years since & if nobody in Malaysia still cannot understand each other’s cultures, etc…then something went wrong & the gov’s policies/systems/education has failed the nation in this part. 50 years is at least 2 generations. How many more generations do we need?

61. #61 by homeblogger on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 12:04 am

Japstrat81 said :

They will try to get this act passed but the small print will exclude them or they will seek to apply it only to others.
    Never will they want to lose all they have gained.

===================================

Won’t be surprised if the small print in the race relations act spells out once and for all :

Non-tuans are not supposed to touch on issues that the tuans feel sensitive. There will be a list a mile long on what the non-tuans may not say to/about the tuans. The tuans on the other hand, may freely speak whatever they want even if it is racist or religiously insulting about the non-tuans.

Tuans may not be punished or admonished in any way whatsoever by the PM, Government, Police, Bar or Public for anything they say, do or think about non-tuans.

Non-tuans are not allowed any rights nor do they belong to this country.

Non-tuans are not and never will be special like the tuans. Even a mat-rempit, drug addict, racist, good for nothing tuan is better in every way compared to a non-tuan simply because he/she is a tuan. Non-tuans are just pendatang.

I apologize for my sarcasm. I am sick and tired of racial segregation in this country.

62. #62 by KennyGan on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 12:19 am

Selective application of the Sedition law with Ahmad Ismail and Khir Toyo untouchable and Tan and Teresa thrown into the slammer has made a mockery of the law so why do we need another Act which will also be selectively applied?

63. #63 by cheng on on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 12:28 am

Yes, in Indonesia or Turkey (over 90 % muslim), if a non muslim marry a muslim is a non issue, as long as the 2 persons (adult, single, one male and on female, then govt no care at all.) agreed.

64. #64 by i_love_malaysia on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 12:49 am

No additional law is required if the present laws are used justly without fear or favour!!!
    From the recent arrest of ignocent people like Teresa, RPK and Tan Hoon Cheng, it is obvious that even with the perfect laws on earth, we will never see the daylight again under the BN govt!!! Time to change the whole BN govt before we see each other inside Kamunting!!!

65. #65 by just a moment on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 1:13 am

YB Lim, This umno idiots have to go. No 2 ways about it. They will never learn and they won’t – period!! How more stupid can 1 gets, beats the he@# out of me. No matter what Law they are going to introduce, Its just changing the question to suit the Answer.

If Race base politic = Stupidity base cause citizen hardship.

Race relation Acts then becomes = Stupidity relation Acts.

Don’t they understand the word RACE is D problem?
    These bast@#$! still wants to hang on to these trick of using Race to further their survival. Pls lah Wake up rakyat. Drop the word Race, its their tricks again.

I am sure there are many more suitable words they can substitute with IF their genuine desire is to strengthen ties among the different races. It can be called “Citizenship Acts” “New Rakyat Acts” Anything that spell out the desire Outcome. Im not called upon to name this act but Im sure many PKR ppl can.

Bottom line, Nothing ever will be fair to the Rakyat so long as it comes out from a Corruted and Dirty Minded ppl. Don’t get trick again. NEP have many other subnames too. Right? At the end, its changing Question to suit Answer. Drop It. Kit, we all know better.

66. #66 by trublumsian on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 1:33 am

what is the race relations act? anything concocted or embraced by the riffraff lot sure stink of disreputable suspicion these days. it will merely replace the unpopular isa as the tool to whimsically lock up the innocent in the name of keeping racial peace. this government, along with scums like ahmad ismail, has come to a point where anything it says and does reeks of the utmost repugnant stench.

67. #67 by cheng on on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 1:42 am

Only “something wrong” ppl would ever believe a person who said “to protect a woman by arresting her for 20 hours, and locked her up at night, and travelled about 300km for nothing.”
    So young guys, to show how well you can protect your girlfriends, can you do the same?

68. #68 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 2:43 am

Now that Anwar is running amok, ask Syed Hamid if we coud detain him under the ISA for his own protection!

In his case he would have to pay protection money so we could lock him up. We would have to house him, clothe him and feed him. These things cost money!

69. #69 by HB Lim on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 2:54 am

Jeffrey hits it right – how can we expect the BN or rather UMNO which thrives and depends on on the divisiveness of the various races to cling on to power to be serious about racial unity? They want mutiny between the races, not unity. Their existence depends entirely on the perpetuation of suspicion and unfriendliness between the races. Divide and rule is the one and only political technique they have to stay in power.

The BN government can enact another hundred beautifully worded race realation or anti-discrimination laws but if there is no political will or reason to sincerely or fairly enforce it regardless of the offender and if there is selective prosecution which is the trade mark of the disgusting BN political culture now prevailng, they will all be academic, a farce, a pulling of the wool over our eyes.

The mischief to be eradicated by a Race Relation Act should logically be all the elements which will lead to racial disunity and conflicts and that means the eradication of all forms of discrimination and preferential treatment. But racial disunity, conflicts and discrimination are the precisely the nutrients for the survival and strength of UMNO and by extension the BN. Remove those things and UMNO dies a natural death.

Would UMNO and the BN want to commit political suicide by agreeing to a Race Relation Act true to its name and true to its spirit in all its form, substance and enforcement? They will not enact a true Race Relation Act and even if they do, any breaches thereof will be selectively prosecuted.

Like the defunct Economic Consultative Council or the SUHAKAM, the Race Relation Act proposal is just window dressing, a temporary measure or ploy to bluff or hoodwink the people. Once the danger or urgency of any threat to their political survival is over, it will be conveniently forgotten. Even if enacted, like the way the Constitution or the ISA’s spirits are ignored, its intent and spirit would be ignored and the Act enforced only to silence dissent. In a sense, it is more dangerous or a disservice to the people to have such an Act than not to have one.

70. #70 by kanthanboy on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 5:20 am

If the ISA is a pile of shit then proposed Race Relations Act is just a piece of toilet paper with BN logo designed to cover the shit.

71. #71 by kanthanboy on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 5:37 am

The root cause of race relation problem is the racist political parties. Ban UMNO, MCA and MIC the race relation problems will soon disappear.

72. #72 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 7:00 am

Why worry or discuss Race Relation Act or DNA Act or other BN’s promoted bills and Act etc – I thought that now Pakatan Rakyat has, according to DSAI already a majority in Dewan Rakyat to oppose all bills proposed by BN – so how can any Act proposed by the BN be passed into law in parliament anymore? Academic ain’t it? :)

73. #73 by sotong on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 8:11 am

But like I said no law passed is going to improve race relations. It is absurd to suggest that it could – Undergrad2.

Totally agree….decades of bad leadership and role model with narrow, short sighted and damaging politics of race and religion had done enormous permanent and long term damage our country’s race relations – the people don’t trust each other, there is no quick fix.

As for Ahmad Ismail…yeah he is a ” hero ” alright…to the racists, bigots, extremists and criminals!!! His Salary/benefits come partly from the hard working Chinese…no worm could sink lower than this.

74. #74 by CSKUEH on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 8:32 am

If we muslims and Christians which make up approximately 70% of the population of Malaysia (60.5% & 9.1% respectively) are all God fearing people, we should all be loving one another as brothers and sisters in the eye of God because our basic foundamental belief on the origin of man is that all mankind are descendants of Adam and Eve, the first man and woman on earth created by God. For friends of other religions, I am sure you agree with me that we should love others as we love ourselves. This is the second most important commandment, the greatest being to love God (Matthew 22:37-40).
    Therefore, “Race Relations Act” or not, let God teaches us to live harmoniously as one, Malaysian in this case.

75. #75 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 8:34 am

I like to read what Kalimullah Hassan, the deputy chairman of the New Straits Times Press writes. He is rumoured close to powers that be (PM & SIL’s side)

Interesting that he wrote on page 20, NST 21st : “It is politicians who sparked off May 13 and it is politicians who have been central, almost all the time, in raising religious and racial tensions over the last four decades since May 13. Some of the May 13 culprits are still around” see link –
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/Columns/2355335/Article/index_html

Race seems to be always a factor even speculated to apply on Pakatan Rakyat’s side. For example on the question of why DSAI is delaying seeing the King on his take over plans, it has been speculated that:-

· Anwar likely has convinced mainly Sabah and Sarawak MPs to cross over and this means that there would actually be more non-Malay than Malay MPs in Pakatan (many East Malaysians are bumiputeras but not Malays);

· Having regard to the sensitivity over race, it is speculated that DSAI would have to meet expectation of majority race that there needs to be more Malay than non-Malay MPs in the federal government under Pakatan Rakyat as PR’s experience on grumblings in formation of the state governments in Selangor and Perak testified;

· This further means DSAI needs Umno defectors too so that Umno crossovers from the peninsula would increase the number of Malay MPs in Pakatan, and a Malay-majority cabinet with most of the senior posts going to Malays would be possible to mitigate the fact that his government actually has more non-Malay than Malay MPs, and one of DPM post may be given to Lim Kit Siang.

Please note that I’m not saying here that above speculation is true – merely stating that such speculation exists and gaining currency..

76. #76 by Freddy on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 8:35 am

why not read up on race relations act that’s in existence in england?

http://www.opsi.gov.uk/si/si2003/20031626.htm
    and
    http://www.opsi.gov.uk/acts/acts2000/ukpga_20000034_en_4

this act covers a – z on discrimination on the ground of race, colour, nationality, ethnic and national origin in the fields of employment, provision of goods and services, education and public function.

the big question is – can umno REALLY let go of what’s provided in the constitution regards special rights? even with recent uproar upon khalid’s suggestion of opening up 10% for non malays to enrol in UiTM … this act proposed may end up a big joke the way syed botak hamid enlightened the world the function of isa.

it is highly suspicious that this act is to supplement the isa in order to stifle freedom and to harass and persecute the oppositions. if isa can be bluntly abused in recent times, to the extent that the actual guilty parties roam free, what can be expected of this act?

excerpt below from uk’s race relations act…

Racial discrimination
    3. In section 1 of the 1976 Act (racial discrimination), after subsection (1), insert –

” (1A) A person also discriminates against another if, in any circumstances relevant for the purposes of any provision referred to in subsection (1B), he applies to that other a provision, criterion or practice which he applies or would apply equally to persons not of the same race or ethnic or national origins as that other, but –

(a) which puts or would put persons of the same race or ethnic or national origins as that other at a particular disadvantage when compared with other persons,

(b) which puts that other at that disadvantage, and

(c) which he cannot show to be a proportionate means of achieving a legitimate aim.

(1B) The provisions mentioned in subsection (1A) are –

(a) Part II;

(b) sections 17 to 18D;

(c) section 19B, so far as relating to –

(i) any form of social security;

(ii) health care;

(iii) any other form of social protection; and

(iv) any form of social advantage;

77. #77 by Freddy on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 8:39 am

Jeffrey wrote:“It is politicians who sparked off May 13 and it is politicians who have been central, almost all the time, in raising religious and racial tensions over the last four decades since May 13.
    =======
    ain’t a secret no more huh? there are abundant materials today with regards to race relations back in the 60s including racial riots in singapore. if one care to delve into this, one name appears consistently …. the father of a present minister!

78. #78 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 9:24 am

Nice dream but Malaysians are not American, in fact, no other country is like the US when it comes to race relations. Malaysians dream but don’t aspire to be American ideal. We are just too repressed and cynical about it.

But Malaysians are not unrealistic and equally ambitious as anyone. What is really a concern is the waste of opportunities of this country. We have and continue to waste opportunities. At the foundation of this waste of opportunities is our race relations.

Put it another way. Most economist tells us that without the NEP all these years, Malaysia GDP now could be 10X what is is now. Even Dr. M admit is as much. What Malaysians across the board are worried about is wasting another 10X FUTURE GDP. Worst, they don’t think future GDP may be lower than in the past. The Barack Obama ideal is the 10Xfuture GDP. Malaysian They are willing to live with even say half of that potential but they are not willing to live with 1/10 of that potential.

How many 1/x of our full pontential will this Race Relation act bring us is the measure of merit of it.

79. #79 by sotong on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 9:25 am

May 13 and the numerous threat of another one are the direct result of our leaders surrendering their ” leadership ” to racists, bigots, extremists and criminals…..when those racists, bigots, extremists and criminals made dangerous racial and religious statements, our leaders should immediately and strongly expressed their total outrage with no uncertain terms and apply the full force of the law to deal with them!

Some faceless and grossly irresponsible polticians are playing with the lives of the ordinary people and future of our country for their narrow and damaging political objectives…..they are the greatest threat to the country and should NOT hold any position of trust, power and influence.

80. #80 by Cinapek on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 10:04 am

As long as the sincerity is missing, no amount of laws or Acts will change things.

The ISA started for the right reasons to combat communist terrorism and it has been twisted and maimed to suit the interest of the power hungry.

The NEP was started with noble intentions but along the way it was hijacked to enrich a few of the UMNOputra elites and rob the rakyat off the nation’s resources.

We had a judiciary that was the pride of emerging nations but since then it has been raped, corrupted and destroyed by the executive to the extent that it is now an international disgrace.

A PDRM that was once a proud force that successfully won its fight against powerful enemies such as the communist are now reduced to a tool of the ruling elites and used to suppress innocent citizens.

So, don’t waste our time with this Race Act crap. Existing rules and laws are more than enough to shape a harmonious society. All we need are some sincerity and integrity.

81. #81 by clearwater on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 10:10 am

We do not need more legislation intruding in our private lives. We need better and more enlightened enforcement of existing laws, equitable courts and a fairer justice system but most of all, we need a change in political leadership. We have lost faith in a system that practices selective prosecution and whose over-riding concern is its own propagation. How can a Race Relations Act be crafted and enforced without fear or favor in such an environment? The proposed Act, like other pieces of past legislation such as the ISA, Sedition Act, Printing and Publications Act may be abused and used to silence intelligent discourse and critics of the government. If we are all treated as anak Malaysia, we do not need a RRA to tell us not to be bigots.

82. #82 by Loh on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 11:06 am

///They are all Malaysians. What race are they? What colour are they?

Our first prime minister was part Thai; the second Bugis; the third part Turkish, the fourth of Indian descent and the fifth a mixture of Chinese, Malay and Arab.

America has changed enough to be able to accept that a black may one day be its president but still, in many parts of the country, racial and religious prejudices are thick. But America has had nationhood for more than 230 years.///– Kalimullah Hassan NST 21 Sept 2008.

It is the fourth of Indian descent who first purified himself as true Malay, converted his race-based party to racism, became absolute emperor for 22 years, took a break as backseat power driver, and is creating trouble to grab the throne again to be passed on to his offspring.

America came through 190 years to be at least better than what we are today, and moved forward to be racial blind, but we move backward. If BN has its way, Malaysia will be tracing the history of USA backward to when it was formed.

83. #83 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 11:10 am

KennyGan Says:

Yesterday at 22: 39.19
    The Race Relations Act. Among the clauses will be:

1) Forbidden to question Ketuanan Melayu
    2) Forbidden to question Malay special rights
    3) Forbidden to question the social contract
    4) Forbidden to ask for equal treatment for all races
    5) Forbidden to call anybody penumpang (Umno members excepted)
    etc, etc.
    =====================================

* ChineseDOGS (MCA+GERAKAN) and WHOLLY COMPONENT 100% Agrees! and SIGN!~
    * IndianDOGS (MIC) 100% agrees now SIGN!~

FROM NOW ON, YOUR WHOLE COUNTERPARTS ANAK-CUCU-CICIT-CICIT PUNYA CICIT SHALL REMAINS SQUATTER FOR ETERNITY!!!!!!!!!!!~

Nice bunch of dogs, now here some treats!…

84. #84 by madmix on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 11:45 am

If a Malaysian woman marries a Kenyan, the offspring will NEVER get Malaysian citizenship, let alone stand for any election. Barrack’s father Mr. Obama is a Kenyan; he is a relatively new arrival in the US. We are not even talking of African Americans who have are descendants of those who were in America in the time of Abraham Lincoln. We have Malaysian Chinese descended from people who settled here hundreds of years ago and are still considered by some to be “pendatangs”.

85. #85 by Loyal Malaysian on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 7:22 pm

The race relations act will go down in our statute books as just another hare brained idea cooked up by the UMNOputras.
    If laws can compelled unity, then there are plenty of laws that have been formulated to prevent corruption and abuse of power.
    But are they effective?
    As long as the Hishamuddins and Ahmad Ismails can spew their venom with impunity, the course of unity in our country is yet uncertain.

86. #86 by johnson chong on Sunday, 21 September 2008 - 10:23 pm

The race relation act is just another excuse for AAB to arrest more people under ISA except their own kind.

87. #87 by firefox on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 2:19 am

Race Relation Act? I tot is Ready Racist Act…

88. #88 by PHUAKL on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 8:32 am

Dear YB Lim

A Race Relations Act is actually a good idea if it is
    written up properly. Otherwise, it may very well be a
    Race to Repress (ever growing political opposition) Act

P.S. Thailand has had Prime Ministers of Chinese ancestry
    for umpteen years! Even Papua New Guinea has had a PM of Chinese ancestry (Sir Julius Chan). Grow up, Malaysia!