At 12.56 pm, at lunch in Ipoh, my mobile phone rang. I saw the caller was “Teresa” and wondered who was using her phone.
But it was her on the line and wondered how she wangled the use of her phone while in detention.
But no, she did no such improper thing. She told me that she was being released.
Bravo. The irresistible pressures against her unjust and undemocratic detention had succeeded.
While in celebratory and jubilant mood, we must also be mindful that the recent spate of ISA arrests demonstrate that this iniquitous law must go.
Sin Chew reporter Tan Hoon Cheng’s 18-hour ISA detention and Teresa’s 6-day detention are testimony.
Now, only RPK is still in detention from the recent spate of ISA arrests. He should be released immediately too.
The Hindraf Five and all other ISA detainees should also be given back their personal liberties and released from Kamunting Detention Centre.
Leaving Ipoh now for Teresa’s media conference at DAP PJ Hqrs at 3.30 pm.

#1 by AhPek on Friday, 19 September 2008 - 11:43 pm
The police freed Teresa today for fear that the writ of habeas corpus sought for the release of Teresa Kok would most likely be successful making them look like an ass..l. in everyone’s eyes.AS it is Teresa has been lifted to iconic status without Teresa having to do anything.So BN opponents against her parlimentary and seat seats in the 13th GE be forewarned that your deposits are as good as gone.Maybe best let her win uncontested!!
#2 by pjboy on Friday, 19 September 2008 - 11:47 pm
If cabaret still looking east to Japan, then Home Minister must do the honorary thing now. Resign or ‘political hara kiri’. This will save further humiliation to our country. At least now when Datuk Zaid is seen in the public, he can hold his head high with respect from the rakyat.
The official letter from the EPCB (European Parliamentary Caucus on Burma) dated 18-Sept-08 must have played a crucial role in pressuring Home Minister to do something. The letter was specially to him. It goes to show BN is still a ‘reactive’ gov, not ‘pro-active’.
The letter should be posted in all P-R websites. No hope for STAR, NST, etc MSM to print it. Hopeless newspapers. It should not be called newspapers, should be BN newsletters.
#3 by pjboy on Friday, 19 September 2008 - 11:51 pm
Totally agree with you AhPek. The police action on YAB Teresa already made them look like donkeys anyway, ie Donkey for BN. Should be called the hee-haw force. Next GE, YAB Teresa will break all GE majority record. She will win hands down. It should be in Malaysia Book of Records.
#4 by pjboy on Friday, 19 September 2008 - 11:56 pm
Indonesian shorty & botox addict has gone hiding it seems…very quiet since. Maybe collapsed somwhere due to botox o/d. Selangor Gov should put a bounty on him for stirring up racial & religious issues. How many Datuk Ahmad Ismails wannabe out there? At least we know their true colours now. They have been hiding behind the screen & speak seditiously only to all Malay audience. Better speak out in the open so that their face can be seen. Let the rakyat be the judge. They only have the balls to talk when they know that ISA is in their power. This is the problem with our political climate. Whose fault is this?
#5 by pjboy on Friday, 19 September 2008 - 11:58 pm
I almost cried when I read of YAB Teresa being freed. I couldn’t believe the headlines at first. It was surreal….
#6 by mendela on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 12:14 am
If all this UMO gangs can harass the oppositions and the public by using ISA, it is time we rakyats fight back and make life miserable for them!
It is easy, always keep 1 rotten egg (raw one is equally OK too) with you in your bag or pocket. Once you see any of those ass heads, immediately smash one onto their face.
It is payback time!
#7 by mendela on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 12:18 am
Well, giving rotten eggs to enemies might cost you jail term.
Do think twice…
#8 by AhPek on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 12:32 am
For Pete’s sake have you all signed the petition for the release of PETE and the Hindraf Gang.Commenting here in Kit’s blog won’t move these goons one bit,millions of signatures stand a much better chance!
http://harismibrahim.wordpress/2008/09/petition-to-free-rpk-teresa-all-isa-detainees/
#9 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 12:36 am
THERESA FREED!!
#10 by wtf2 on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 12:43 am
if the police is abusing the ISA MUSA MUST GO!
#11 by clear conscience mirror on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 12:49 am
YB LKS
The legal suit against Utusan, its reporter & Toyo must go on in order to exhume the truth of Teresa’s ISA detention; otherwise there will be:-
i) no truth to the order chain so given,
ii) no truth to the basis of detention
iii) no truth to the detention being political in nature
iv) no truth to all the lies being created by certain parties and spin doctors
v) no truth to rely on to confirm Mar 8 was rightly right by the rakyat
vi) NO TRUTH TO ANYTHING THAT THE RAKYAT IS BEING CHEATED OF over the past 51 years
NO truth….no truth…….no truth……..errh, how many times have I repeated here?? Hey, perhaps wait a minute………I might as well say TRUTHLESS IN ALL!!!
#12 by sA1nT_Jam3s on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 1:09 am
Its amazing how a pea brained reporter can suggest a lie detector test for our Ms Teresa..Very intellectual!
Its an embarrasment to even think that we have species like that wandering among us..
To even call yourself a reporter and asking a silly question like that is the height of stupidity and ignorance..
Hey ! Run back to your Education minster and ask him to give you a proper education to begin with..
#13 by Rocky on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 1:26 am
Why should Teresa take a lie detector test? I’m surprised he didn’t ask her to swear by the bible since rule of law means nothing in this country nowadays thanks to our PM showing us the way. Who is the guilty party here? The mosque has denied it and now she has to take a lie detector test cos Utusan thinks that is the best way to prove her innocent. Lets not forget that the police has released her. Utusan seems to have better intelligence and investigation skills then the police. Utusan more often than not is the culprit that stirs racial discord and does it without fear of punishment cos they are protected by UMNO and the police closes one eye to Utusan. There just seems to be double standard in terms of law enfocement when there is involvment of UMNO and its ‘partners’. Take a hike Utusan.
#14 by jt84 on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 1:50 am
HOORAY YB TERESA KOK. My heart is filled with joy and relief knowing that you’re finally released!
I can’t technically say “Congratulations” to Teresa because she shoudn’t have been detained at the first place.
However, Teresa’s release must be credited to a Divine’s intervention, loving parents, faithful colleagues and leaders of DAP, PAS and PKR. Not forgetting her resilient and courage.
The public outcry against the detention of Teresa Kok under ISA does not end with her release, the public now will further demand for the release of Raja Petra and the other ISA detainees. Then, the rakyat expect nothing less than the ISA to be repealed or abolished within the shortest time frame! If the current government is unwilling to do so, the rakyat will then anticipate for a new government which is willing to repeal this draconian and abusive law.
Nevertheless, the Government and the Inspector General of Police must publicly APOLOGIZE & COMPENSATE Sin Chew Reporter Tan and YB Teresa Kok to further ease public’s outcry.
The police’s statment for YB Teresa Kok’s release is just as absurd as the reason was given to Sin Chew Reporter Tan’s detention under the ISA. I thought in common law of justice that police is to investigate (or interrogate at max. 24 hours for investigation) and achieve a considerable authentic evidence before detaining someone pending for trail. However, in Teresa’s case, everything seems to be OUT OF LAW AND ORDER.
As for the Utusan Reporter who questioned if Teresa is willing to take the lie detector test to prove her innocence has only earned himself/herself a two “tight slaps” from the Rakyat.
#15 by kanthanboy on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 2:04 am
The arrest of reporter Tan, Teresa and RPK under ISA are the most blatant cases of human rights abuse by the police and corrupt politicians. Where are all the commissioners of Suhakam? Can’t lift a finger or say a word because no report of human right abuse? If that is how Suhakam works then if a house next door to a Fire Station is on fire will all the firemen just sit and enjoy looking at the burning house just because no one has reported the fire?
Shame on you! Suhakam Commissioners.
#16 by cheng on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 2:25 am
Shall we boycott companies that have link with Utusan? Stop buying anything from companies that advertise on Utusan. Let’s start with those who pay a full page advertisement.
#17 by walao on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 2:34 am
Guys, pls be xtra careful. PKR pls act fast.Good move by UMNO, looks like they are planning to pass the baton to Najib. First move of swapping the power is to let the new Finance Minister, Najib, to deliver the good news such as petrol price going down around $2.10. This welcome news will lift up the people confidence and therefore gain more people support. Then Pak Lah will step down, another move which people are waiting for. Another move to save UMNO from deep abyss.
#18 by Orangasing on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 3:11 am
Someone memang kurang ajar by asking Teresa to take the lie detector test. Why don’t they ask UTUSAN MALAYSIA OR THAT TOYO to take the test? Memang berat sebelah and childish. Oh, don’t forget that Ahmad Ismail. Shouldn’t he take the test too? Sue them for damages. Teach them a lesson!
#19 by kanthanboy on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 4:57 am
The next episode of this UMNO sponsored drama is to get Zaini Hassan of Utusan Malaysia and former Selangor MB Dr Khir Toyo to perform a Saiful style swearing by the Quran that they did not frame Teresa.
#20 by onetruevine on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 5:43 am
Dear YB Kok,
thanks to you, we pin another feather on our cap of freedom and liberation. It is very much a victory march of solidarity for us too when you emerge from the ashes of ISA.
I ONLY PITY THE SYED FELLA FOR LOOSING MORE GROUND ON THE PATCH ABOVE. IMAGINE THE CHEEK TO DENY ACCOUNTABILITY. – THE POLICE DID IT WITHOUT HIS KNOWLEDGE,IN BOTH THE DETENTION AND RELEASE OF MP Teresa Kok.
It is perhaps prudent to call on a specialist to inoculate against the deep slumber sickness which might be accidentally contracted due CLOSE PROXIMITY WITH THE NUMBER 1 CARRIER IN OUR BELOVED NATION.
A LOT of happenings lately esp with rampant self initiated ISA detention by the Royal Simon Force without the “thinning above’s” knowledge. Does this surmount to insubordination or blatant disrespect to the Syed fella and the office he bear? OR does it means that the Syed fella has no real jurisdiction or even control over the protector of people, the Royal Simon Force?
#21 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 6:03 am
“Najib hopes Teresa’s release will abate furore over ISA ”
Najib is either naive or a nincompoop to think that a cut so deep will heal in a day! Such brains should never, no, must never occupy the highest office in the land
#22 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 6:21 am
Jamesy Says:
Yesterday at 13: 28.30
Release all ISA detainees now!
Abolish ISA now!
NOW!
————————
I suppose they’ll do that because you say so. That’s a very bright idea. How come the rest of us never thought of it.
#23 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 6:26 am
An excellent read: http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/12911/84/
With Najib Razak scheduled to replace Abdullah Badawi as Prime Minister by June 2010, we have the specter of the limp replacing the lame.
THE CORRIDORS OF POWER
M. Bakri Musa
#24 by robert wong on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 7:04 am
Thank GOD that our ‘Saint’ Teresa has been released from the double-egdes sword law ISA. ISA is used to guard against elements which posed danger or instability to the country(C). Now, Teresa(A) was targerted by the police as one of the element . The police(B) detented her under ISA. Now, after the interrogation , the police found out that she is no longer the element who caused the problem. Now, the country should back to normal before her detention. But the actual situation is not the case. The rakyat and all those who released by the detention now started to demand for justification(C) . In another words,. our represent situation is worst than before the arrest . Isn’t it the element who started the arrest of thses elements under ISA are responsible to arrested under ISA because they(B) have caused the unrest and danger to the country ? Unless, there is justification that after all those who were arrested by the ISA the country’s situation is back to peaceful and stable situation that the authorithy who started the arrest should arrest themself now, because the sword has the ‘double-edge’.
#25 by robert wong on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 7:05 am
typo error ‘… responsible to arrested… ‘ should be ‘… responsible to be arrested …
#26 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 7:08 am
Even as we rejoice in YB Theresa Kok’s release, we must not forget the dangers lurking that got her arrested in the first place. These dangers are still lurking and ever present. I wish to say something about them.
No one doubts that Malaysia is replete with more than our share of repressive preventive detention laws inimical to civil liberties, eg the ISA, the Public Order (Preservation) and Prevention of Crime Acts, Emergency (Public Order and Prevention of Crime) Ordinance and Emergency (Essential Powers) Ordinance etc.
Repressive laws per se don’t represent a problem if they are properly applied. Society is protected from terrorists, jihadists and bombers and triad societies by judicious application of such repressive laws.
So what is the real threat to civil liberties, rule of law and democracy in Malaysia?
It is this trend – a compound and mix of these several elements:
1. An overly sensitive attitude of people or groups of people who get easily offended by others remarks or actions alleged to be sensitive in terms of race, religion with the scope expanding to cover other tyhings as well. I call them the ‘egg shell’ cases because their feelings are as fragile as “egg shell” easily angered and overly sensitive.
2. Their modus operandi : coalesce as a group and lodge police reports. They seldom file a civil suit to seek redress to their injured feelings. Why ? Because they have to prove their case before court of law which they know they cannot succeed because basically they either have no justification in law/cause of action or the evidence to prove it, and if they lose the case they not only have to bear the cost of engaging their lawyers but also pay costs to the other side for an unsuccessful action. Now lodging police report incurs no cost but is beneficial in terms of ingratiating themselves with certain political groups or persons when such report lodged advances the latter’s political agenda.
3. The problem of 1 & 2 above is Ok and manageable provided the investigating and police authorities do their work properly, which requires of course (i) they’re familiar with the law (ii) investigate the facts thoroughly and if unsure of how the lawapplies to the facts investigated consult at least capable officers of the AG’s chambers and (iii) arrest only after investigations are completed, and the facts suit the offence. Now we have a real problem if they use the repressive laws to arrest first on the first complaint and do the investigation later using the extensive time afforded by these repressive laws to remand the person complained against to investigate the facts. This is bad because if the person is innocent as as Theresa Kok’s and Reporter Tan Hoon Cheng’s case have shown (where they are freed within a shortwhile after investigation) their civil liberties would have already have been violated. They have gone to jail for nothing, and have been released subsequently without knowing what they have done wrong!
4. The problem of 3 is compounded by lack of accountability and oversight on relevant Minister of Home Affairs’s part when he said he did not give the Ok for either arrest or release of the detainees.
The above 4 phenomenae interacting in combination is a clear and present compound of threat to our civil liberties and development of democracy.
Problem 3 may be addressed by IPCMC and 4 perhaps by change of Minister. I am worried about the trend stated in 1 and 2 above, about which I have got more to say.
#27 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 7:22 am
Continuing from my preceding posting, Malaysiakini’s Athi Veeranggan | Sep 19, 08 7:32pm have reported , “a Penang group comprising 15 people calling itself ‘Concern Citizens’ lodged a police report against Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim for creating “instability, disharmony and disorder” over his Sept 16 plan to seize power. Group spokesperson Wan Abidin Zain claimed that Anwar’s relentless pursuit to take Putrajaya from BN’s grasp was “undemocratic, immoral and irresponsible”. The group, comprising about 15 people, rapped Anwar of being selfish and inconsiderate by embarking to grab power last Tuesday, causing Malaysians to press the panic button fearing that the country was about to descent into unrest and uncertainty.
The group claimed that some parents did not even send their children to school and many went on a buying spree to stock up essential household goods. “Anwar creating a near chaotic situation and panic among Malaysians. He posed a threat against the country’s economy and shook the confidence of foreign investors. “He triggered a political crisis and stalemate on Sept 16,” said Wan Abidin, calling on the police to investigate Anwar for sedition and causing public disorder.”
Now please note this fits in very well – hand and glove – with what the Prime Minister had said on last Wednesday that Anwar was a threat to the country’s economy and security.
So even if the PM said ISA won’t be used, will other repressive laws be used by the police to arrest DSAI first and investigate later?
If this is done DSAI can forget about his cross over scheme even when Parliament resumes session on 13th October.
An arrest of DSAI will throw a wet blanket on whosever intending to cross over to PR under his leadership.
#28 by UzMiNoOnist on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 7:30 am
Show cause letter to UTUSAN?
Yet another selective execution of power by UMNO/BN/Government of the day?
Obvious Answer: UTUSAN cicik UMNO will not hear from the Police anak ISA anak UMNO bapak BN atuk Gomen
#29 by NOT DUMB MALAYSIAN on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 7:31 am
FREEING TERESA WAS NOT THE POINT ABOLITION OF THE ISA IS THE POINT
The fact that Teresa has now been freed is not important.. The point is the VILE AND REPRESSIVE ISA.
Teresa must not fall into Utusan’s Take the Lie Detector Test. Desperate measure like getting Anwar to swear on the Koran. Such tactic and puerile suggestion should be contemptuously ignore. They should not be graced with a reply at all.
#30 by Godfather on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 7:32 am
Jeffrey:
What is sauce for the goose is also sauce for the gander. There have been police reports filed against Ahmad Ismail, Tempe Toyol, Utusan, etc for fanning racist sentiments. If Anwar is arrested under the ISA “for the purposes of investigation” or “for his own safety”, then why are the UMNOputras not given the same treatment ? I don’t think we should be worried of charges under the Sedition Act because these would be heard in a court of law, and it would be incumbent of these clowns to prove why Anwar’s antics “harmed” the government and the people.
I am certain Anwar would love to have his day in court if he is charged with sedition.
#31 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 7:33 am
Legislation which is used to suppress political opposition and stifle the growth of informed public opinion like the Printing Presses & Publications Act must be reprealed.
The ISA in its present form must be abolished. It should make way for an anti-terrorism law with all the necessary legal safeguards like judicial review and more. It should be renewable by a two-third votes of members of Parliament every two years unless repealed.
#32 by chiakchua on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 7:43 am
Thanks God for Teresa’s victorious release! The biggest credit must go to Zaid; his resignation sent the strongest signal to all the racist UMNOputras and cronies that they made a big blunder arresting Teresa. We salute you Zaid, you are the TRUE MALAYSIAN that the Kamal was looking for!
Now we shall continue to press for the release of RPK and Hindraf 5! They should get Ahmad Ismail in to replace them; what a double standard, what Ahmad Ismail did is more threatening to the peace and harmony of the country, he stirs the beehive directly but could get off the hook with UMNO patronage. UMNO is the real RACIST King!
#33 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 7:48 am
You will note RPK was detained under ISA because reports were lodged by certain Islamic groups against him for insulting religion. Theresa was arrested because PPIM and Pewaris lodged reports against her.
Even as far back as 2003 Umno Youth today lodged a police report against malaysiakini over a letter which was published on the website on Jan 9 allegedly questioning Malay special rights, instill hatred towards the government in non-Malay Malaysians etc.
This unhealthy trend of lodging police reports to settle scores is not confined to UMNO youth or groups sympathetic to BN but also the Opposition including DAP. Everyone filed a report against Ahmad Ismail’s racist remarks reported by Sin Chew – not just MCA, Gerakan but the DAP as well. So tit for tat Utusan would report and police reports by relevant interest group would lodge reports against Theresa Kok or reporter Tan.
What kind of society have we become? Supposing now for a political motive I want to fix someone well and good. It is sory easy to generate Police Reports against target by using certain groups, they declare they are hurt by what has been said or done, and presto a few days later, he is arrested (for investigations)!
How do we solve this problem of the intrument of police report and police action being constantly used to settle scores including political scores and mediate conflicts including political conflicts?
Everyone wants to be a cry baby : my race or my religion is offended by what you say. Now the Penang group’s report against DSAI is even more abstract and contentious – he’s “creating a near chaotic situation and panic among Malaysians. He posed a threat against the country’s economy and shook the confidence of foreign investors. He triggered a political crisis and stalemate on Sept 16.”
If everyone likes to be a cry baby and is helped by police to assuage his hurt feelings or other grievances, then every one else too is not going to be safe per the 4 conditions I set out in my earlier posting Today at 07: 08.03 above.
#34 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:01 am
//I don’t think we should be worried of charges under the Sedition Act// – Godfather which implicitly assumes (1) that although complaining group talks about “sedition”, authorities won’t invoke ISA even if language of complaint fits language/parameters of ISA and (2) PM won’t aboutfaceturn on what he said about not using ISA. Do these assumptions hold? He said he won’t use ISA on Anwar for political objectives but if what he did (say make false claims) fit the language of ISA as complained by this group, are you still sure the ISA won’t be invoked?
I agree about the suace for goose/gander bit since even DAP lodged reports against Ahmad Ismail. The danger is this then when everyone becomes a “cry baby” using police reports and action (instead of civil suits) as a means to sek redress and assuage fragile hurt feelings, then nobody else would be safe when the police have proven themselves gungho…
#35 by lopez on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:11 am
they took her in and asked three questions, i reckon they would ask the same questions in another form and another and another until the cows come home and out and home.
No wonder they took all the trouble to hitch a trip to space and carry out experiments that well known scientist thinks was unnecessary.
If fact the experiment should be tried in that space treat.
Why didn t the politicians thought of it and tell the scientits to do it.
Abuse of power is hall mark of bolihland bee end regime including their little napolens and lietenants, Clocking in and clocking out dont work , more work done in defying the clocking in and out.
Even the cityhall street beater lives more comfortably than the men in blue. Blackmail and ransom are their specialities.
#36 by Anak Msia on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:21 am
Welcome back. Teresa
We have more ISA detainee to be release and ISA to be abolished.
#37 by AhPek on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:25 am
‘Legislation ………………..Printing Presses & Publications Act must be repealed.
The ISA in its present form must be abolished.”. undergrad2.
Yes but you can’t get any of these UMNOPUTRAS to do it.They have gotten used to using ISA and the various dragonian laws as their favourite toy to maintain POWER for them.And even if other parties were to come on board as the governing parties, it would also be unlikely unless they are enlightened.This thing British Parlimentary Democracy is a foreign thing adopted in Malaysia which
we have not learned to operate quite right yet.
#38 by sotong on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:31 am
When you mix religion with politics, you cannot claim that religious issues are exclusively to one particular group of people and others affected, directly or indirectly, have no say….same with racial politics.
Decades of narrow, short sighted and damaging politics of religion had done enormous damage with permanent and long term consequences to the ordinary people and a multi religious country.
#39 by sotong on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 8:40 am
A local Azan issue, you have senior politicians and major newspaper spinning a small, local and petty issue to dangerous level…..these people in position of trust, power and influence are a bad role model and influence on the ordianry people.
#40 by yhsiew on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 9:07 am
The ISA should only be used to arrest terrorists or trouble-makers who go on shooting sprees in the street and plant bombs in buildings, buses and trains, i.e. people who pose a PHYSICAL threat to the nation.
The ISA / Sedition Act must not be used against politicians and civilians who criticize the government. After all the government can choose to listen or ignore their criticisms. A progressive government is one who is willing to listen and study the views (be they positive or negative) of its citizens. The government is only justified to use ISA against these people if their criticisms are accompanied by PHYSICAL destructive acts e.g. burning down of government buildings, assembly halls and buses.
#41 by mincetoiletpaper on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 9:47 am
Ahmad Ismail, Khir Toyol, Zaini Hassan & Satim should be in ISA instead. They are the ones who are making threats to the nation security and cause of instability. Could we petition up to request ISA to hold them up?. The names above are all UMNO’s guys, why there is no ISA on them? It so clearly see that UMNO=ISA=UMNO. This is so undemocratic.
The BN Mps say the request for change from the Pakatan Rakyat were undemocratic. My question back to them, why the ‘change’ being prop up if the BN, especially UMNO has not been practicing democratically.
#42 by parameswara on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 9:48 am
when Teresa was detained, rakyats from all walks of life, people of different race and religions, politician from different parties, NGO, social groups, etc, voiced condemnation of her detention. even law minister resigned in protest. even heads of 2 mosque see fit to come out to deny the allegations against her; they are protecting her.
when she was freed, all congratulated her, and are very happy for her.
does the above scenario look like she’s a threat to Malaysians ?? does she look like a threat to national security ??
Malaysians need to be protected from the wanton use of the ISA. Abolish ISA!
#43 by human1 on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 9:49 am
That’s it. It is all up to the police. Police will decide:
“You are a THREAT, so we use ISA for detention without trial.”
“No, you are not at THREAT level yet, so we use something else e.g. sedition act”
It is truly unconvicing. There is no guarantee in making mistaken arrests, but as we see, the precedence has been set long before.
The home minister and cabinet throw the ball standing aside to be an oberver, while watching the police to freely exercise the licence to “detain” individual deemed a THREAT; selective justification from the mix of facts, truth, make-believe sources, twisted information filling the atmosphere.
This is madness. We cannot simply silence blogger by putting them into detention cell, because of their criticism to the government and their views in the current political development.
Now free RPK!
#44 by jus legitimum on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 9:56 am
YB Teresa,you said you were going to sue the barang naik gomen for their unlawful and unjust action to detain you under ISA.You should do it now by all means because this is the time and there are hundreds of thousands of people who will rally behind you and give their support to you.Hell to the Umno and Bn idiots.
#45 by CSKUEH on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 10:00 am
Let us sing this song, the tune from “Tommy Thumb”.
“Teresa Kok, Teresa Kok
Where are you?
Here I am, here I am
Out of jail I am”
Wishing YB Teresa Kok good health and the best of everything.
#46 by yhsiew on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 10:06 am
Kok was released yesterday after a week’s detention, and Abdullah seemed to back off his implied threat. But Anwar’s team is acutely aware that only five arrests of MPs could change a no-confidence vote, if and when it happens.
“When a party has been in power for more than half a century, to imagine losing their grip on power is going to be horrendous, unthinkable and they may resort to this measure,” Anwar said.
Read more: Leader-in-waiting launches end game
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/9297-leader-in-waiting-launches-end-game
#47 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 10:21 am
/// Jeffrey Says:
Today at 07: 48.21 (2 hours ago)
You will note RPK was detained under ISA because reports were lodged by certain Islamic groups against him for insulting religion. Theresa was arrested because PPIM and Pewaris lodged reports against her. ///
Jeffrey, when a police report is lodged against someone, the right thing for the police to do is to call up the persons concerned and investigate. If found guilty, then charge him/her/them in court. If not guilty – end of story. Or better still, charge the person who made the false report. You don’t go around putting people behind bars and then investigate. Cart before the horse. More so, why the use of ISA?
#48 by AhPek on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 11:23 am
Yes what is sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander is generally true universally.However if you apply this in Malaysia in particular pertaining to making police reports you will get unequal treatments by the police.The police reports made against UMNOPUTRAS and their cronies will be fit for the wastepaper basket whilst those made against Pakatan members will be taken up for investigations.Such is the image of our POLICE FORCE which is in fact an appendage of UMNO.
#49 by dapsupporter8888 on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 11:47 am
This UMNO monkeys are always saying that the opposition & Anwar Ibrahim is a threat to national security, blah, blah, blah.
But they choose not to realise that THEY, i.e. UMNO & BN are the ones creating all the uncertainty in the country. It was THEM who started all the racist remarks and causing so much of uneasiness among us.
Com’mon, we, i.e. the Malays, Chinese & Indians have been living together for umpteen years. There are even thousands, if not millions of mixed marriages. So what are these UMNO monkeys talking when they start passing all those blardy racist remarks?
So, ask yourself, who is ACTUALLY THE threat to national security? Opposition or BN?
#50 by lhslhv on Saturday, 20 September 2008 - 1:14 pm
Whoever tries to raise a criticism as sensitive is trying to protect his own personal interest. Nothing else! You don’t tell me even a constructive critism is not acceptable?
Do you think that the person is sincere. Totally NO!
This kind of pseudo-human is making use of race and religion through the unenlightened masses to protect his own personal interest. This is Malaysia.
We have heard of great leaders emerged from India, China and America etc but not in Malaysia yet.
DSAI is a potential candidate from Malaysia.