Too busy to blog since the media conference in Parliament at 11 am yesterday on the letter to the Speaker, Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia on Teresa Kok’s detention under the Internal Security Act, with several events crammed one after another including the following events:
1. Habeas corpus application for the release of Teresa at the Kuala Lumpur High Court;
2. First visit of Teresa by her parents at Bukit Aman, Kuala Lumpur since her ISA detention on Friday (Sept. 12) night at 11.18 pm.
3. Candlelight vigil at Kinrara, Teresa’s state assembly constituency.
4. Pakatan Rakyat Malaysia Day rally at Kelana Jaya Stadium.
Before rushing off to airport, must blog about the convening of a meeting of MPs from all political parties which I announced in Parliament House yesterday to form a “Free MP Teresa Kok” Parliamentary caucus.
The inaugural meeting of this parliamentary caucus will be held in Parliament tomorrow, Wednesday, 17th September 2008 at 3 p.m and I hope that regardless of race, religion or political affiliation, MPs (and Ministers) will come together tomorrow to demand MP Teresa Kok’s immediate release in our capacity as a parliamentarian.
MP for Batu Gajah, Fong Po Kuan is the co-ordinating secretary convening the inaugural meeting tomorrow for the establishment of the “Free MP Teresa Kok” parliamentary caucus.
Let all MPs (including Ministers) come together for the first time in the nation’s history as an MP transcending race, religion or party.
Hope to see Datuk Zaid Ibrahim at the caucus meeting tomorrow!

#1 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:13 pm
Yes.
There is no real need for stupid actions now after such a long journey.
The showdown can be in Parliament when the no confidence vote can be taken – of course the PM can then call for snap elections.
#2 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:16 pm
Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said today he has demanded Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi hand over power in a smooth manner as he claims to have more than enough support to form the next Federal government.
He claimed today that his Pakatan Rakyat alliance had exceeded the required number of MPs to form the government.
However, he said the transition must proceed smoothly to prevent a repeat of incidents in Perak and Selangor, where he alleged documents were shredded following the opposition’s surprise wins in the March elections.
He said four demands had been issued to the PM in a letter sent yesterday.
The demands are that MPs are not stopped from defecting; the Internal Security Act not be used to detain defecting or PR MPs; a state of emergency should not be declared; and no roadblocks be set up to stop MPs from going to Parliament – M’sian Insider, 16-Sep-2008
============================================
Good call DSAI, you know these Goons’ mentality inside out.
#3 by HB Lim on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:17 pm
Anwar said yesterday that he would reveal the names of those from the BN who will support him. I don’t think he is that reckless to make such an announcement if he does not in fact have that support.
In fact and in law, there is no need for a cross-over. The PM need be only the one who commands the confidence of the House; he need not be from the party which has the majority of seats.
From a cursory observations, it is rather obvious that Badawi has lost the confidence of the House. At the same time, not many would openly call for or vote on a motion of no confidence against him. So far, only Yong Teck Lee’s party has threatened to do so.
It may be that Anwar has a list of BN MPs who have confirmed that they have no confidence for Badawi continuing to be PM and yet do not want Najib to be the next. Confronted with this, Badawi may be pressured into agreeing to a motion for a no confidence vote thereby paving the way for an audience with the King to appoint a new PM and / or a dissolution of Parliament.
Whatever it is, for the sake of peace and law and order, it is imperative that Badawi agrees to the next course of action with the support of the police and the military.
As I have said in another thread, I think Anwar will lead a caretaker government pending the new GE. There is no need for any cross-overs before Parliament is dissolved. What is needed is only for Badawi and the majority of the House to agree to call for a fresh GE, whether that agreement is made willingly or dictated or extracted by force of circumstances.
A fresh GE may be one way Mahathir can be proven wrong. He has always held that UMNO fared badly in the last election because people dislike Badawi, not that they want any changes in government or policies.
UMNO will be led into the new GE by a new leader, whoever that may be. No one, including Mahathir can say anything against a fresh GE as every one says they have the support and mandate of the people. If so, there should no qualm or quarrel to go over again with a new GE.
Of course, much money would have to be expended for a fresh GE but it will be better than the losses arising from the present political uncertainties.
For Badawi, as I have said elsewhere, he is practically a goner in the UMNO – it is only a matter of time before the official burial. He will have to go, that is not a choice. The choice is whether he would go with UMNO as it is, still in control of the government and able to do more damage to the country or he would go after agreeing to a fresh GE which would mean UMNO has to fight for its own survival in that GE.
If he makes the right choice, Badawi will be remembered as the PM who liberated Malaysia from the claws and tyranny of UMNO.
#4 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:29 pm
I agree with HB Lim’s comments.
I guess the snap polls is necessary though the results can be easily forecasted if it is free and fair.
#5 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:29 pm
HB Lim Says: “If he makes the right choice, Badawi will be remembered as the PM who liberated Malaysia from the claws and tyranny of UMNO.”
============================================
or as the most incompetent nincompoop in the history of M’sia.
#6 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:33 pm
“… and you must be the first person in the world to have attributed a new characteristic to man!” – AhPek
Not quite, it was said in the past that the Pope is infallible and he probably still is. Anyway, your question about whether Zaid will join PKR is worth wondering. :)
#7 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:33 pm
IF DSAI really has “numbers”, he is wasting time making appointment to see the PM : why should PM see him to facilitae his own removal? DSAI should instead see the King and legitimise/prove figures, and once having done that it is difficult for reactionaries to “create incidents” as an excuse for emergency rule because such will be seen as trying to deny the majority numbers. The longer DSAI delays in pussyfooting around with trying to see the PM instead of the King direct – and delaying confirming/legitimising the so called figures he has – the greater the chances of clamp down happening earlier based on excuse that DSAI is creating fiction and tension in the country.
#8 by baochingtian on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:41 pm
Frm Malaysiakini:
Sep 16, 08 2:40pm
BREAKING NEWS! updated 3.10pm He insists he has in excess of 31 government defectors, calling on Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi not to implement emergency rule to stop the takeover. more
#9 by oah on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:54 pm
“We’ve enough number”. If it is true DSAI should see the King immediately or people will start losing faith to PR.
#10 by js on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:56 pm
I agreed if DSAI has the numbers, he does not have to meet PM for the power transfer. It is a “political lies” as claim by AAB.
#11 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:58 pm
Jeffey’s point about seeing the Agong is valid.
If names are disclosed now, more ACA files could be opened.
#12 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 4:00 pm
It’s a game of political poker.
If AAB agrees to meet, it shows uncertainty and that will cost a few more cross-overs.
Guess the PM must wait untill Parliament re-starts to know the truth.
#13 by Toyol on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 4:03 pm
DSAI is right in not disclosing the names as this will lead to either a clampdown or give BN to open more talks which will derail the process. What DSAi needs now is the consent and support of the Agung. He is being a true gentlemen and offering Badawi a face saving choice of either surrender or forcibly removed. DSAI is also sincere in preventing emergency rule, knowing the kind of racists warlords in UMNO.
#14 by nameless on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 4:04 pm
<>
By the year 2020, Malaysia will be an advanced nation, boasting
the following:
- More roads along with more bottlenecks
- More highways with the same confusing design, and more toll plazas
- More parking meters
- More police road blocks to ensure the stability of the country
- More ISA arrests to protect the safety of our journalists
- Buy more tickets on the Russians spacecraft
- More political power struggles
- More unsolved murder mysteries, with more advanced ways to dispose of the bodies
#15 by black crow on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 4:16 pm
As Zaid is adamant in his quitting I feel that DAP should not let him slip away but rather rope him into joining DAP. Please do it quick!
#16 by Loh on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 4:22 pm
Syed Hamid, the Minister of Home affairs said the ISA arrests were solely the decision of the Police. He defended police action using the logics even his UMNO colleagues dared not be associated with. He later changed the story to say that it was the government which decided, and he did on its behalf. That sentence could give the meaning that he was ordered to do so. On both occasions he was not responsible for the police action. Subsequently he said that he ordered the arrests, this time as the Minister doing his duties.
Syed Hamid had been Foreign Ministers, and he might be used to be reading from prepared texts at different cities in different days, and he might still be thinking that he had been at different places reading different texts.
It must be quite extraordinary for the same person who could give three different versions of the same event, and are all contradictory. Is the Minister as a born liar, or did he not know what he had been saying? How then can a person whose mind does not work be given the responsibility to look after national security? With his record, he cannot be trusted to be even a clerk, let alone a minister in charge of Police force.
PM AAB is busy trying to choose the auspicious hour when he could sign over his power to Anwar. But within UMNO, there are different groups, clamoring to become the president and other office bearer of UMNO. When AAB eventually hands over only the party position of UNNO, the heavy weight would be in deep dilemma. Should they now join Anwar, and await reappointment after habitation. Or should there fight for UMNO post to regain power on their own. The people are now mature not to be swayed by racial politics. Without the racist environment, their skill is useless. Only TDM considers his assimilation into his adopted land the only means to unity. He was merely exploiting his advantage, but others in UMNO need not do so.
#17 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 4:22 pm
Yes, DAP should have more brilliant Malay professional in her rank.
That will make it less Chinese Supremacist, and will shut her critics up well and good.
#18 by baochingtian on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 4:24 pm
Extracted the quote from a mail received:
” A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an OPEN market, is a nation that is afraid of its people.” -John F. Kennedy
People’s Power!
#19 by Dr. W on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 4:27 pm
The press conference just now was meant to ‘cushion’ their own selves by stating things BN govt. should not do when during and after the takeover.
Of course there is no intention to announce NAMES.
Brothers, noone will reveal the last card until the final moment.
Even Pak Lah has not revealed his fright officially yet.
Politic is more complicated than card games, so hang on and continue to show your support for a new Malaysia.
Happy Malaysia Day!
#20 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 4:29 pm
“Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocrities. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices, but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence and fulfills the duty to express the results of his thought in clear form.”
Albert Einstein, quoted in New York Times, March 19, 1940.
#21 by Loh on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 4:32 pm
///IF DSAI really has “numbers”, he is wasting time making appointment to see the PM : why should PM see him to facilitae his own removal?///–Jeffrey
DSAI believes that AAB is not the person who would be willing to cause trouble in the country just to prevent power transfer. I cannot say the same about other leaders in UMNO.
The country has not experienced a change of governemnt over the past 51 years. But such change is routine elsewhere in countries practicing democracies.
It is not a loss of face for AAB, and neither is it a removal from position. AAB sits where he is because of the number of MPs he commands. AAB needs to be informed in closed-door that he now does not command majority in the house and he is free to check with the people who make up the number for confirmation. Then the offical procedure could be arranged.
I think we are lucky that AAB is now the PM, rather than somebody who were deeply involved in the 1969, or 1987 incidents.
#22 by baochingtian on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 4:54 pm
Yesterday astro channel 301 reported that teresa was blind folded while moving her from one place to another. Does the gomen have to go to that extent? We are talking about the rakyat elected MP not some criminals! I see gomen is insulting the rakyat’s intelligence.
#23 by Anti-Monarchy on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 5:00 pm
lextcs Says:
Today at 08: 36.57 (7 hours ago)
attended the yesterday’s party at kelana….when anwar said he wants to discuss a smooth transistion of power….i almost drop my jaw…dont know whether to cry or laugh…..but as usual the herds are cheering…they want change and he wants power…..counting the eggs before they are even hatched?…..I think i’ve had enough of all these hoodwinks…..tian chua talks about meeting 40 of the MPs in taiwan but in reality he only met 1 or 2……In the end dsai couldnt be blamed….just like our younger todler days when things dont go our way, we use the most lethal weapon even designed..that is throwing our tantrumsc
as usual the bigger issues like health care, neighbourhood security, social order, environment, economic and education, etc etc…are neglected while a boy cries wolf…. whats next anwar?
the public are the fools…..me included…..go govern your respective states….dont make a fool of yourselves…the world is in bigger mess than all this……welcome bosnia malaysia….or better still zimboland
………………………………………………………………………………
My reply to lextcs:
If you have had enough of all the hoodwinks why did you choose to be part of the ‘herds’ in kelana jaya?
I could only conclude that your presence there was a waste of space.
Your comments seem to be immature and your conculsion is childishlike !
Do note the achievements by the opposition thus far:
1. The victory of the opposition in the recent general election by denying the ruling government a two third majority.
2. The victory of DSAI by making a grand comeback via the Permatang Pauh by-election
The achievements above are caused by a combination of factors including the Anwar Ibrahim factor!!
With the recent developments that took place, it will not be easy to achieve a smooth power trasition. Unfortunately you cannot get that into your numb skull.
Do not think the people are stupid. The people supported and voted the opposition and if you don’t have anything constructive to say , just hold your peace.
Bigger issues like health, security etc will be discussed in good time!
I do have to agree with your last paragraph though, that you are a fool.
Well done.
#24 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 5:03 pm
I think DSAI should include two important points in his letter to the PM, which are:
1. National reconciliation plan.
2. Amnesty, that is government officials will not be punished if they surrender their illegally acquired wealth.
If the points mentioned above are not included, UMNO may not accede to DSAI’s four demands knowing that some of their members will have to go to jail if he grabs power.
#25 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 5:11 pm
Loh
maybe some ministers are like computers – they delete memory each day!
Sorry need some dramatic relief here.
#26 by k1980 on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 5:12 pm
First Malaysian feature film to be nominated for Oscar, starring the beloved saya-pantang-dicabar Grandpa Lah
http://crete.globat.com/~mob1900.com/temp/blogpics2/onhiswayout.jpg
#27 by lew1328 on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 5:15 pm
Happy Merdeka! For A Truly Malaysia…
YHSiew has a very good suggestion on above.
Free RPK & Teresa immediately an abolish ISA; I’m sure there are many other ways to handle the predators, terrorist and others.
#28 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 5:16 pm
yhsiew’s points are interesting but not all should get the free ticket out of jail – it should depend on the nature of the crime and also how long it has been perpetrated.
For example – those involved in illegal immigrant scams should be deemed a security threat and need to spend some time in a retreat and jail would be a good place for contemplation.
#29 by Anti-Monarchy on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 5:24 pm
It’s all good to know that Anwar has got the numbers to take over the government.
My only hope is that those MPs who crossover must be corruption-free. For example if the MPs who are to crossover are also in the cabinet then what would become of them? Most of us would agree to a certain extent that most of them are corrupt!
#30 by Bobster on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 5:33 pm
Most people doesn’t care whether 916 or 1016 or 1116. As long as PR take over this government by this year end, that’s good enough. Some expecting overnight change, some expecting 916 overnight take over everything will be smooth sailing, come on kids, this is not main masak masak.
BN took 51 yrs to mess up the country, expect 1 night change? Rational thinkers will expect slow but progressive change to clean up the country.
Change will not be easy. Many will like to return to the old rotten cocoon. But new generations will like to abandone this old cocoon once and for all after being cheated and oppressed for 51 yrs!
#31 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 5:38 pm
HAPPY MALAYSIA DAY… i would like to wish Pete and Teresa in good health.
We didn’t want a change of govern simply for a sake of a change, in order to practice democracy we must have both check and balance on each other party. So we have a choice, the meaning of people power and the real meaning of election being held. But after 51 years in authority these BN was suppose to be better instead becoming arrogant, abuse and corrupted. Dictating their way to solve problems agains monority who dare to apposed agains them. Like in the US Republicans vs Democrats today, i really hope we dont have to wait any longer. why? look at this jocker, his the king of all joker in our politician cards…
http://d.yimg.com/hb/xp/afp/20080916/05/2961762069-defiant-malaysian-pm-rejects-opposition-claim-on-power.jpg?x=192&y=308&sig=BSKsenOT0BbMox.Sqkb.0w–
#32 by Richardqed on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 5:58 pm
“I agreed if DSAI has the numbers, he does not have to meet PM for the power transfer. It is a “political lies” as claim by AAB.” — js
I believe DSAI wants to ensure a peaceful transition. If he approaches AAB first, and AAB rejects such a meeting, DSAI can still go to the King, and he can say, “I did give them a chance to do this amiably.” It will also give DSAI a chance to directly instill some sense back into AAB, who has obviously been brainwashed by his advisors.
If you were the King, won’t you also want your subjects to be communicative with each other first?
It is important for PR to take over the govt, but it is even more important that it be done in a stable manner, and in a manner which even the royalty would approve of.
#33 by Old.observer on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 6:00 pm
Jeffrey Says:
Today at 15: 33.14 (2 hours ago)
IF DSAI really has “numbers”, he is wasting time making appointment to see the PM : why should PM see him to facilitae his own removal? DSAI should instead see the King and legitimise/prove figures, and once having done that it is difficult for reactionaries to “create incidents” as an excuse for emergency rule because such will be seen as trying to deny the majority numbers. The longer DSAI delays in pussyfooting around with trying to see the PM instead of the King direct – and delaying confirming/legitimising the so called figures he has – the greater the chances of clamp down happening earlier based on excuse that DSAI is creating fiction and tension in the country.
I think there are 2 ways to interpret this – as in why see AAB first and not go straight to the King.
First way is as Jeffrey hinted, that maybe, there isn’t the numbers, and this is giving more rope to AAB to hang himself.
Second way is that maybe DSAI already has the numbers and he is reasonably confident that no matter what AAB does from here on, the numbers won’t be changed materially. If this is the case, then, this is a mark of a very confident man. He knows AAB’s time is up, and he wants to make sure that he gives due respect to AAB. Also, if AAB agrees, a possible benefit is that it makes the transition easier i.e. the Agong will want to hear both sides (AAB and DSAI) and if AAB agrees, this makes it very easy on the Agong to make a change, which will be the first time in Malaysia’s history. And in a sense, maybe this is the sort of courtesy DSAI expects one day when he himself loses power.
Of course, the 2nd possibility is speculative also. But if true, then, my hats off to DSAI for being a gentlemen, right up to the very end. If he becomes the PM, he would command my highest respect.
#34 by bentoh on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 6:01 pm
Guess who was the one and maybe the only one who kind of predicted Zaid Ibrahim’s quit from the cabinet?
Teresa Kok written about it in 18 March… Sorry for my shameless promotion of my blog entry… but I found this connection interesting… :)
http://kokbent.wordpress.com/2008/09/16/teresa-kok-predicted-zaids-exit/
#35 by badak on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 6:07 pm
Arresting TERESA and RPK using the ISA might or might not be right.But arresting TAN who was just doing her job.By reporting what she heard.PAK LAH HIMSELF said”" tell the truth not what i want to hear”".
Hamid had just given the opposition another round of ammunition to shoot at the government.HAMID thinks that we MALAYSIAN are stiill living on trees.
The police can keep on saying that they are apolitical.But each action they take clearly shows that they are doing the dirty work of UMNO.
Why still no action againts AHMAD ,KHIR TOYOL and UTUSAN.
#36 by Anti-Monarchy on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 6:10 pm
The new government must make the public sector more accountable.
For example:-
1. Agencies like EPF must release full details of their accounts annually, i .e how the public money was spent etc. These details must be published in major newspapers. The accounts must be independently audited by external auditors (Pwc etc).
2. To set up independent ‘watchdogs’ to govern the banking, airline, public transport, telecommunications ,energy and other industries which hold a monopoly in their respective field.
These industries would be accountable and answerable to the watchdogs which must consist of members of public who are not affiliated to any political parties and be seen to be independent.
For example, in the banking sector we are still being charged a min. of RM1 to use say Maybank’s ATM card at CIMB’s ATM machine! We also being charged RM8 per annum just to maintain our savings account with CIMB..and i mean a normal savings account!!! I suppose this is also practised by other banks. Bank Negara could not care less about this. This has to be stopped, the banks are making hundreds of millions by ripping us off like this!
I shall not talk about public transport, makes my blood boil! The taxi drivers seem to think we are at their mercy, refusing to use meters most of the time. Try hopping into one near any LRT/KTM stations. The common excuses given are:
1. Distance-too far
2. Traffic jam!
3.Driving back an empty cab-hence the extra fare
Enough is enough
3. Proper governance of all hospitals, private and public alike.
4. Better schools needed. I seriously have my doubts on these smart schools etc.
A bit of track here, my apologies.
#37 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 6:12 pm
Anwar: More than 31 members quit a few days for the Government
Calls for peaceful transfer of political power not to declare a state of emergency…
“we have a majority of seats …… millisecond of course, it more than 31 seats.”
“Including internal members, ministers and deputy ministers, we have sufficient numbers.”
He even put words, the switch constantly increasing number of members, “I am not joking, this morning I just received another notice signed by the members.”
“Once after a meeting with the Prime Minister, we will follow the Constitution and the law to take over powers, including the acquisition of the Royal head of state.”
#38 by m.hwang on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 6:12 pm
Just wonder why no MPs from BN come out to pledge support to DSAI?
#39 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 6:19 pm
Home minister Syed Hamid,
For your information YB Teresa Kok is a 3 term elected MP and she is the key person handling Investment, Trade and Industry dept of the newly formed Selangor state Government. I would expect you to have at least a bit of human decency not to blind fold her treating her like some hardcore criminal. Shame on you!!!!!!!
She is also currently sueing Utusan Malaysia for RM 30million for planting false accusation regarding the “AZAN” issue and we have every confidence that she will win her case as the mosque authority has also come out in her support.
Syed Hamid please understand that you are sitting on a very important chair serving us as HOME MINISTER of Malaysia so stop bahaving like a spoilt kid twisting & turning your childish logic and pushing the reponsibilty on the police force and the cabinet. You are dragging Malaysia to international shame and not fame.
We demand you to release YM Raja Petra and YB Teresa Kok IMMEDIATELY!
#40 by taiking on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 6:26 pm
HE IS A HOME MINISTER FOR GOD’S SAKE.
#41 by taiking on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 6:27 pm
SO JUST LET HIM GO HOME!!
#42 by isahbiazhar on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 6:38 pm
She will be released very soon.It was a mistake on the part of the government to detain her.The police had erred and they have no cause.The home minister has to go on leave to save his face.It looks like a child’s play by those in power!The Law minister had resigned and hope that will spur the UMNO/BN government to think twice before using the ISA.
#43 by taiking on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 6:42 pm
The cross over and the formation of the new government is a very tricky affair. It must be choreaograph perfectly. Afterall, here in malaysia we do not have the benefit of similar precedent.
MPs who agreed to jump ship are naturally afraid of backlash. Cant blame them. The moment their identity is revealed, there would be no turning back. All sorts of things could happen.
First, umno, as the government of the day, could still use its executive power to arrest people (albeit wrongfully) and cause all sorts of havoc like road blocks or dissolve parliament then assume the role of caretaker government indefinitely with the help of the army.
Secondly, if the situation is not perfect, those deserters could very well panicked and somehow claim (does not matter if the claims are completely wrong) that they have been compelled or bribed into jumping ship.
Therefore, out of prudence, the name list must be kept a secret. Of course, it is quite alright to reveal the numbers. And it is important to talk to the pm of the day and talk sense into his head so that the transition could be effected with minimal trouble.
Let the pakatan politicians do the work. Let us all not lose hope. I have absolute faith in them.
#44 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 6:42 pm
Qoute of the year:
“It did not cross my mind to hurt my own(malay). You can still be a champion for your race and think of the country”…
- Datuk Zaid Ibrahim.
* It was his reply for those who criticised him for not being a true champion of the Malays and Islam.
His reply slap hard on the “racist” Tourism Minister Datuk Seri Azalina Othman specifically, and rebutted by saying “that Malays and Malaysians will only benefit from the proposals”.
HAhah… Super noble vs spitates today “you know who” xD
#45 by AA234567 on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 6:48 pm
Why not include RPK??
#46 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 6:48 pm
oops typo errors…*quotes* & *pirates*
#47 by kentutoyol on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 6:54 pm
IF YOUR LIFE IS AT RISK….
APPLY TO BE ARRESTED UNDER ISA.
WHAT A CARING GOMEN!
#48 by Old.observer on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 7:12 pm
m.hwang Says:
Today at 18: 12.32 (50 minutes ago)
Just wonder why no MPs from BN come out to pledge support to DSAI?
It’s a good question.
In a properly functioning democratic Parliament (not Malaysia, say the US or the UK), when it comes to taking a vote count, do MPs have to pre-announce in advance how they will vote?
Or do they just vote without pre-announcements, and without everyone knowing who will vote for what?
This is similar, in the sense that since BN blocks the VONC previously, DSAI has no choice but to take this VONC outside Parliament.
But to reveal the names now, would put him and PR at a huge disadvantage.
Imagine if Muhyiddin is named publicly. You can just imagine all sorts of pressure piled on Muhyiddin. The press will hound him. TDM will hound him. Najib will hound him. Abdullah will hound him. Ku Li will hound him. In fact, some hardcore UMNO members might even see it to be their duty to assissinate Muhyiddin. His life would then be at risk, and he might need the Police to protect him, and even then, he won’t know whether the Police will be protecting him, or the Police will be forcing him to change his mind! You can obviously see how crazy it is to require DSAI to name Muhyiddin publicly.
When in Parliament, there’s Parliamentary immunity against such hounding by all quarters.
#49 by Old.observer on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 7:18 pm
Worse, the Government controlled press will immediately pick on Muhyiddin, to discredit him in the public court by immediately labelling him as “TRAITOR” or something equally ludicrous. The ACA will be moved to act against Muhyiddin. etc. etc. etc.
Under such conditions which are totally different from the conditions in a democratic Parliament where MPs can vote in accordance to their own conscience, it would only make sense that no MPs need to be forced to come out publicly to show support for DSAI, without some “agreed ground rules” established and agreed between both sides (BN and PR) first.
#50 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 7:31 pm
Pak Lah should just let to Anwar form a caretaker government & mutually agree with Anwar on a date for General election:-
1) Knowing full well that Anwar has indeed more than enough numbers to take over the Federal Government;
2) His own house of UMNO is breaking up in all sides and will need a lot of time to be put back in order as to who is to lead; their new working relationship with the other component parties & so on and so forth..As it is now, UMNO is not in any condition to lead BN & the country.
When BN has fullly reinvented themselves, they can call upon a general election to seek a definite mandate from the people. Fair & square!