“Free MP Teresa Kok” Parliamentary Caucus

Too busy to blog since the media conference in Parliament at 11 am yesterday on the letter to the Speaker, Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia on Teresa Kok’s detention under the Internal Security Act, with several events crammed one after another including the following events:

1. Habeas corpus application for the release of Teresa at the Kuala Lumpur High Court;
2. First visit of Teresa by her parents at Bukit Aman, Kuala Lumpur since her ISA detention on Friday (Sept. 12) night at 11.18 pm.
3. Candlelight vigil at Kinrara, Teresa’s state assembly constituency.
4. Pakatan Rakyat Malaysia Day rally at Kelana Jaya Stadium.

Before rushing off to airport, must blog about the convening of a meeting of MPs from all political parties which I announced in Parliament House yesterday to form a “Free MP Teresa Kok” Parliamentary caucus.

The inaugural meeting of this parliamentary caucus will be held in Parliament tomorrow, Wednesday, 17th September 2008 at 3 p.m and I hope that regardless of race, religion or political affiliation, MPs (and Ministers) will come together tomorrow to demand MP Teresa Kok’s immediate release in our capacity as a parliamentarian.

MP for Batu Gajah, Fong Po Kuan is the co-ordinating secretary convening the inaugural meeting tomorrow for the establishment of the “Free MP Teresa Kok” parliamentary caucus.

Let all MPs (including Ministers) come together for the first time in the nation’s history as an MP transcending race, religion or party.

Hope to see Datuk Zaid Ibrahim at the caucus meeting tomorrow!

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:10 pm

To inaugurate a “Free MP Teresa Kok” Parliamentary caucus (to be held in Parliament tomorrow, Wednesday, 17th September 2008 at 3 p.m) inviting all MPs and Ministers (including Zaid Ibrahim)regardless of race, religion or political affiliation, if a vote were passed by majority of such a parliamentary caucus resolving govt’s action invoking ISA were wrong & MP Teresa Kok should be immediately released, the question is : would not such a vote indirectly constitute, by way of first salvos, the first parliamentary vote against BN tantamounting to a mini vote of no confidence against an incumbent govt on its policies???

If YB could form and inaugurate a “Free MP Teresa Kok” Parliamentary caucus – without Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia being aware of its implications to block it – couldn’t such a Parliamentary caucus or even another one be formed/used indirectly as disguise to send a vote of no confidence against the government?

I believe Parliamentary caucuses have been formed not infrequently before (in Irish Parliament, as one example) to initiate a no-confidence motion.

Does “Free MP Teresa Kok” Parliamentary caucus then serve 2 purposes of outwardly lobbying for Theresa’s freedom as well as indirectly sending an oblique signal to incumbent govt that it has lost the numbers in terms of majority using Theresa’s detention as policy issue in test of the PR’s majority?

2. #2 by giko on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:11 pm

can zaid resign as a cabinet minister without resigning his senatorship?

is he joining pkr as a senator?

is his senatorship akin to an MP position?

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:15 pm

Zaid is far sighted : if momentum of change is unstoppable leading eventually to BN being evicted from seat of government, we’re looking at a possible PM material (after Anwar)! :)

4. #4 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:16 pm

ZI knew Umno and the cabinet are incorrigible. Rotten to the core.

Time to quit and stand up to be counted.

WHY are nonUmno politicians within the BN still hanging and coattail-riding on Umno?

Are they like Oliver holding out the porridge bowl and asking “More crumbs, Sir!”

5. #5 by Saint on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:20 pm

In all your tight schedule, please do not forget RPK.
    The public support for him is as strong as for PR.
    It is in times of need that PR can stand with him and to have him released. God bless.

6. #6 by lhslhv on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:21 pm

This is a Chinese wisdom that I had learnt during my childhood. This was a conversation between one righteous ancient Chinese official and a corrupt man that wanted the officcial to get involve.

The story goes like this:

Corrupt man: If you approve this deal, I will assure you that nobody will come to know about this.

Righteous Official: What do you mean? I know that at least 4 of us know. You know (ni zhi). I know (wo zhi). God knows (tian zhi). And earth knows (di zhi). How come you said nobody knew about this.

The moral here is don’t worry, for the righteous man, we have the world behind us and God will look after us.

While the corrupts and tyrants have only devils behind them and God waiting for them.

7. #7 by pangwl88 on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:22 pm

Every Country has a THINK TANK behind the Ruling Party. Which is composed of many scholars, thinkers, philosophers, lawyers, professionals, etc etc.

These people give advise to the ruling party about the political situation internally and foreign.

WHO are these “advisers” for our PM? Do we have one?

IF we Have ONE, does these “advisers” even have SPM qualifications?

From the current political situation and tactics used, I DON’T THINK SO.!!!!

8. #8 by lhslhv on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:25 pm

“I am sorry” Zaid Ibrahim.

This is the first time I heard this sincere apology from an UMNO gentleman in 51 years.

9. #9 by malaysia-united on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:26 pm

Malaysian never care 916 haven’t happen, it just the matter of time, so bodowi please shut up. These BeEnd really gone too far, digging too deep for their own grave, the rakyat now are really angry…

Seems like we live in zaman jahiliyah!

ISA, if nabi Isa knows that His name is being use in this way, He will be crying for the BeEnd stupidity…

10. #10 by sA1nT_Jam3s on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:26 pm

Can anyone explain to me ‘impeachment’ and its uses?

sori, i didnt get gomen scholarship,oni study till spm

11. #11 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:27 pm

Last night Anwar said this : “///But our promise is that we will not follow the rule of the jungle. There will be no witch-hunting – what is done is done. What we want is to rule without corruption, detention without trial or theft of the people’s resources///”.

He has sent forth what to me is a clear policy statement to BN that if Pakatan Rakyat takes over government, it will not go on witch-hunting (ie investigate and prosecute for corruption – based on “ what is done is done”. In short, an oblique reference, for the first time, to a general amnesty against corrupt acts of previous govt’s oficials…..

The Question is whether Anwar summons the credibility for this policy representation to be believed by the other side. Otherwise they’ll fight his take over plan to the finish.

12. #12 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:50 pm

“Does “Free MP Teresa Kok” Parliamentary caucus then serve 2 purposes…” – Jeffrey

More than 2 purposes aim at achieving one goal, the answer to our question. Is 916 for real?

13. #13 by Malaysian Always on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:51 pm

While the effect of Zaid’s resignation is good, let’s not be too optimistic about the purpose. Maybe it’s just a golden opportunity to jump ship. Very strong evidence that DSAI is gonna take over very soon.

14. #14 by delCapo on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:52 pm

ST Teresa… you are a hero!

We will get rid of BN in no time… you shall be free

!916! !916! !916!

this is the New Malaysia…

!916! !916! !916!

15. #15 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:04 pm

“Zaid is far sighted” – Jeffrey

PM material riding on an UMNO chariot as a non-racist caught in between his dreams for a fair Malaysia and a beloved racist organization, and when his knowledge, philosophy, principle and understanding of the laws are nonetheless a contradiction to where he is standing now. What is Zaid doing in UMNO is the first place?

16. #16 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:04 pm

Well Anwar reiterated last night that 9/16 was real in th sense that by 9/16 he already garnered the requisite majority numbers, never mind whether actual takeover might procedurely take a bit later.

So it would be incumbent upon Anwar to show the numbers today by Press Conference.. This is for the sake of his credibility.

If he actually does not have the numbers by 9/16 and yet said he had, then how are the rakyat/his supporters to believe his pledges that when he is PM he would dismantle and substitute the racial policies by “need” policy or that he would give the states another 20% of oil royalty or bring petrol price down? How is he going to convince BN MPs to either defect to PR or not fight it by his last night’s statement – “ our promise is that we will not follow the rule of the jungle. There will be no witch-hunting – what is done is done. What we want is to rule without corruption, detention without trial or theft of the people’s resources”???

Is 916 were not for real (in sense above explained) then Anwar/PR will have helped scored their own goal and stop laughing at Hamid for scoring Bn’s goal by the ISA dragnet.

17. #17 by alancheah on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:10 pm

Good luck to this country!

18. #18 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:11 pm

“We dont hate you just because you are in umno.” – Taiking

That is a figure of speech which is so nice to hear.

19. #19 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:11 pm

Dawsheng – Zaid has just re-affirmed his decision to quit the Cabinet. When you asked “What is Zaid doing in UMNO is the first place?”, can we hold that against him and exonerate PKR’s leader Anwar from also being in UMNO then doing things contrary to what he is advocating now?

20. #20 by sA1nT_Jam3s on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:15 pm

The guy is a great poker player!

Stay level headed, rational but neverthelss continue to expose the atrocities and abuse by those in Putrajaya.

Even if the man do not have the ‘tai di’ in his hand, life still goes on…corruption and injustice will still have to be exposed!

Keep up the pressure!

http://www.petitiononline.com/mod_perl/signed.cgi?freetkok

21. #21 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:23 pm

Jeffrey, I do agree with you that Zaid is a PM material.

22. #22 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:25 pm

Perhaps, the question should be “When is Zaid going to leave UMNO?

23. #23 by sA1nT_Jam3s on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:28 pm

correction:

When is Zaid going to indicate that he is open for nomination for the top post as the grassroots and divisions want him to serve them? Hope he gets sufficient nominations..maybe can run with “Kuli”

24. #24 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:38 pm

This caucus should be a good opportunity to find out who are the MPs who support the abuse of the ISA.
    Maybe someone can write a letter that we can all use to send to our own MPs?

http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2008/09/malaysiakini-and-how-pm-can-leave.html

25. #25 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:40 pm

I also suggest to all bloggers to put the “Teresa Kok ISA” poster on their blogs until she is free.

26. #26 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:41 pm

As usual, more focus is given to Teresa Kok and less attention to RPK. This is typical DAP mentality…only support a partular race……

27. #27 by badak on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:44 pm

YB Lim.. Let me tell you now no MP,s from MIC or MCA will turn up.Not that they don,t want.Just afraid that all their corrupted ways will be exposed by UMNO.
    Don,t forget the RM 4.6 billion KFTZ SCANDLE.The main players are from MCA.MAIKA TELECOM SCANDLE belongs to MIC.

28. #28 by oknyua on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:51 pm

cintanegara; please see the topic of discussion before you get racial. When we talk about rabbit, we don’t start talking about cats, do we?

29. #29 by sA1nT_Jam3s on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:52 pm

is the glass half full or half empty? Its a matter of perception mr cintanegara…

look at the bigger picture..isa is what we are after…not oni teresa kok

30. #30 by oknyua on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:56 pm

cintanegara, read earlier thread by Dr Asly Rahman and all the postings there, especially the few postings of Jeffrey.

31. #31 by k1980 on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 1:59 pm

YB Theresa was detained because she asked for road signs in Mandarin and Tamil. But the Gerakan monkeys who actually put up road signs in Mandarin in Georgrtown a couple of months ago are still jumping around free.

32. #32 by Godfather on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 2:05 pm

Zaid’s stand against the use of ISA on civilians is only part of the reason he resigned. He said that Badawi had been facing “constraints” which is as good as saying that old style UMNO politics are in the way of reform. Like I said in various other postings, thieves can’t reform, and hence they must be booted out.

33. #33 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 2:06 pm

I guess most people here did not attend the training module of the police in “logic 101″.

34. #34 by HB Lim on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 2:07 pm

The Star
    Tuesday September 16, 2008

MCA Youth lauds quit move

PETALING JAYA: The MCA Youth legal bureau lauds Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Zaid Ibrahim for his resignation from the Government.

Legal bureau chief Gan Ping Sieu said in a statement that his resignation was a loss of a well-respected minister in the Government, who had shown tireless effort and commitment in various areas of law reform.

“We express our admiration to a politician who has stood by his avowed stand and set an example of political conviction in our country,” Gan said.

He also called on the Home Ministry to release the two Internal Security Act detainees, Seputeh MP Teresa Kok and blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin, to “save the Government from further embarrassment.”

Is that all the MCA can do – applauding Zaid Ibrahim who quit because he disagreed with the use of the ISA on RPK and Teresa? Would the MCA Ministers have the courage to do the same? Would Gerakan be brave enough to pull out of the BN to protest the recent use of the ISA. Koh Tsu Koon has voiced out that he does not agree with the use of the ISA on RPK and Teresa. Would he follow that up with action? It is just talk, they still prefer to wait under the UMNO dining tables for those droppings of bread crumbs and while waiting, massage the UMNO b-lls. Spineless.

35. #35 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 2:10 pm

YAHOO NEWS ASIA
    ==============

@@http://asia.news.yahoo.com/080916/afp/080916053350top.html

Hatta Ramli, from the Islamic party PAS which is a member of the opposition alliance, said that if Abdullah refuses a meeting the next step would be to see Malaysia’s king, Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin, to clam a mandate to rule.

“The issue of appointment of the prime minister and change of government is very much the role of the king,” he said, adding that the opposition now had the support of as many as 116 parliamentarians.

116 MPs support PR 116 MPs support PR 116 MPs support PR

36. #36 by Joetan on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 2:11 pm

The ISA is good, enforcement should be rational and fair, says Minister Prime Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in the Star newspaper.

Any rational man will say there is no fairness here bcos innocent people have been arrested whereles the real culprit Ahmad Ismail is still free out there to incite the sentiments of the malays. The newspaper company “Utusan” is still free to report lies . This clearly shows our Mr. Nice Prime Minister is a liar and also a OTAK TAK CENTER PRIME MINISTER.

37. #37 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 2:13 pm

I agree with Jeffrey that Anwar’s credibility is at stake over the 16/9 deadline. I also agree with him that Anwar has to show on 16/9 that he has already ‘got the numbers’.

38. #38 by Yee Siew Wah on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 2:16 pm

The explanation given by the police to arrest Teresa Kok is ridiculous and downright display of stupidity. These guys expect the rakyat to believe them??
    And the deputy IGP’s explanation that there was no case against Tan Hoon Cheng merely shows that she was reporting the truth- the truth that Ahmad Ismail had actually uttered those inflammatory words against the Chinese Malaysians. As such, why no actions taken against this idiot Ahmad?? Since Tan is now released, The rakyat would like to know how the “brilliant” Home Minister and his police force going to protect her from harm.

Finally, how could Theresa Kok be a national threat when Muslims from the mosques in question have come forward to testify that she was never involved in petitioning the mosques using the PA system. In fact one of them even made a report against this sore loser “pendatang” Khir Toyo idiot. But did the police act on the report?

As for RPK, he preaches peace, tolerance and fairness to millions of his readers. He has never instigated racial or religious tensions at all. Its only the government and holier than thou NGOs are afraid of RPK and the huge following he command. How can he be a threat to security and got arrested under ISA is beyond understanding.

Crimes are flourishing everywhere. Instead of doing their job, our force who is supposed to protect the rakyat have involved themselves in things they should not be involved.

Hope the PKR and peace loving rakyat knock some sense into these nutmeg heads. Release Teresa, and RPK!!!

39. #39 by AhPek on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 2:17 pm

Certainly ‘When is Zaid going to leave UMNO?’ should be the question to ask rather than ‘What is Zaid doing in UMNO in the first place?’ for the second question implies that Zaid shouldn’t have made the mistake of joining UMNO.If so, then what you are doing is really conferring infallibility on man,dawsheng,
    and you must be the first person in the world to have attributed a new characteristic to man!
    Then other question is ‘Would Zaid join PKR?’. and if so it would definitely be a big plus for a man such as Zaid has shown himself to be a man of principle, willing to walk the talk (this species of man is almost extinct in Malaysia) and truly a rare find.

40. #40 by taiking on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 2:18 pm

Umno is wrong again. Same wrong observation and same wrong conclusion everytime.

They thought the current tidal wave is all about anwar and anwar alone; that if anwar could not deliver, then the wave would simply lose its energy, recede and then all will be peaceful, nice and quiet again.

INCORRECT. INCORRECT. INCORRECT. INCORRECT.

The tidal wave is generated by sub-oceanic plate movements. The whole column of water from the depth of the ocean right up to the surface is in motion. It is no mere ripples across the face of the ocean, if they still dont get it! Let another by-election come and the people will show them how unmoved they are and how strongly they feel that a change is needed for the good of the nation and its people.

41. #41 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 2:21 pm

The Raja Muda of Perak, Raja Dr Nazrin Shah, called on the country’s leaders to focus on developing the nation’s resources for the well-being of the people.

This advice will certainly fall on deaf ears. Where got time lah to run the country? The two leaders are busy finalizing the details of the Umno transition plan.

Yesterday AAB and NR met for more than four hours to discuss the country’s present political situation, including the Umno transition plan. This was the second time the two men had met in the past 72 hours. They met for about three hours on Saturday, when they also touched on the same subject.

With this latest round of ISA, there is no more reason for AAB to helm Umno. The discussion between the two might go like this:

AAB: Okey-dokey, I step down and you go up. And you must guarantee that me and my family members’, my SIL’s, and my cronies’ benefits will be protected. Here are some mega projects and corridors that must not be cancelled and must be awarded to my family members, my SIL, and my cronies. You can start your own mega projects and corridors to reward yourself, your wife, your family members and your cronies. Forget about the old man, his family members, and his cronies. They have makan enuff for more than 20 years. Now the old man wants to balik to Umno pula. No shame.

NR: Ho, ho, ho. Correct, correct, correct. That old man still wants more. Forget about him lah. Yes, one for you and one for me. When I become the PM, what’s mine is mine and what’s yours is mine too. Ho, ho, ho! I love it!!

42. #42 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 2:45 pm

There is a strong indication that AAB may be forcibly ousted by Umnoputras as President of Umno and PM of Malaysia this week, possibly the coming Umno supreme council meeting this Thursday.

Not too late for AAB to repent. Time for him to do the right thing for the nation and to pass the baton to AI and PR. Maybe too it’s time for him to take the lead to denounce Umno and to hop to PR. Let other racist Malays helm Umno.

Afterall, AAB, sleepy, snoring, or not, was one of the key persons who enabled the current political situation to be reached.

Had he acted ruthlessly like MM, most PR leaders and other active social workers would have been locked up under ISA a long time ago!

CHANGE!

43. #43 by giko on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 2:50 pm

44. #44 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 2:53 pm

Anwar’s media conference a while ago was disappointing. There was no surprise as promised earlier. What he said was basically that he had the numbers. But this is nothing new. He’s been saying this for quite a while.

This is not looking good for PR.

45. #45 by teacher on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:00 pm

I salute you ZI. You are a man of principal. Few in UMNO can even lick your boots. The Minister of Tourism is a @@@@@. The past few days events have made the man on the street wonder where we are going. People who are innocent being arrested under ISA. The guilty ones ie the goon from Penang, the monkey Toyol and the newspaper which reported about Teresa should all be put under ISA. It really pains to see innocent people suffering for no rime or reason.

46. #46 by La Pax on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:01 pm

I cannot access harapan malaysia(mirror website). Any idea?

47. #47 by mauriyaII on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:02 pm

If as DSAI claims he has more than enough numbers of MPs to form the government, he should lead a delegation of leaders in the Pakatan Rakyat to the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong and show him the list as a prelude to the take-over.

When the King has given his consent, then only should DSAI publish the names of all the MPs in favour of a CHANGE in government.

The corrupt BN government would do everthing in their power to negate DSAI’s plan if they knew the names of the BN MPs in advance. The desperate BN goons may even resort to keeping those MPs under house arrest with the help of the corrupted police force.

Pakatan Rakyat must plan very meticulously any take-over
    to prevent any pre-emptive action from Bodohwi and gang.

48. #48 by giko on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:03 pm

as per DSAI = “It’s not going to be plain sailing. We have taken a softer option, trying to negotiate with the PM, listening to him and his views … and then move on, seek an audience at the palace and then take it to Parliament … The media are in a state of denial. We will meet and deliberate with the PM and we see what happens in the next few days… We will give time to the PM to seriously consider and act responsibly as PM of this country and respect the wishes of the people.”

DSAI wants a peaceful transistion, that’s all. Well like they say patience is a virtue…

49. #49 by giko on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:04 pm

La Pax, try this = http://mt.m2day.org/2008/

50. #50 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 3:08 pm

just a few more days… aye, I could live with that aye.

Comments are closed.