Too busy to blog since the media conference in Parliament at 11 am yesterday on the letter to the Speaker, Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia on Teresa Kok’s detention under the Internal Security Act, with several events crammed one after another including the following events:
1. Habeas corpus application for the release of Teresa at the Kuala Lumpur High Court;
2. First visit of Teresa by her parents at Bukit Aman, Kuala Lumpur since her ISA detention on Friday (Sept. 12) night at 11.18 pm.
3. Candlelight vigil at Kinrara, Teresa’s state assembly constituency.
4. Pakatan Rakyat Malaysia Day rally at Kelana Jaya Stadium.
Before rushing off to airport, must blog about the convening of a meeting of MPs from all political parties which I announced in Parliament House yesterday to form a “Free MP Teresa Kok” Parliamentary caucus.
The inaugural meeting of this parliamentary caucus will be held in Parliament tomorrow, Wednesday, 17th September 2008 at 3 p.m and I hope that regardless of race, religion or political affiliation, MPs (and Ministers) will come together tomorrow to demand MP Teresa Kok’s immediate release in our capacity as a parliamentarian.
MP for Batu Gajah, Fong Po Kuan is the co-ordinating secretary convening the inaugural meeting tomorrow for the establishment of the “Free MP Teresa Kok” parliamentary caucus.
Let all MPs (including Ministers) come together for the first time in the nation’s history as an MP transcending race, religion or party.
Hope to see Datuk Zaid Ibrahim at the caucus meeting tomorrow!

#1 by OCSunny on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 7:25 am
The MPs are giving extremely strong support for Teresa Kok as expected. It is a pity that Raja Petra does not seem to get any support from the royalties in any way.
I for once feel that the people should give Petra the same amount of support as Teresa Kok.
#2 by Only Peace on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 7:37 am
RPK is our Hero
Without him, our national political understanding will still like ‘katak di bawah tempurung’
We cherish his struggle and we Pray to God for his health and safety.
#3 by Bunch Of Sakkars on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 7:53 am
Yes, they (DAP & PR) will help RPK eventually!!! I know what they (DAP & PR) are doing – One At A Time. Sure RPK is our hero will not be forgotten! Teresa is much easier as they have enough evidences to challenges…….
#4 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 8:03 am
Indonesian ex-president Abdurrahman Wahid during his recent visit to Malaysia said so long as Malaysia retains the ISA, the country cannot call itself a democracy.
The struggle to repeal the ISA must go on until Malaysia is truly a democratic country.
#5 by dat2108 on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 8:20 am
Zaid ibrahim have been resign. Pak Lah should resign too…
#6 by dat2108 on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 8:22 am
Selamat menyambut Hari Malaysia! Free from couropted and un democtatic goverment! abolish ISA!
#7 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 8:36 am
YAHOO ASIA NEWS
==============
Malaysian opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim said Monday he has enough support to topple the government and wants to meet with Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to discuss a handover……..”Our representatives have delivered a letter to Abdullah to demand a meeting … to discuss the future of politics in Malaysia and the handover of power,” he said.
“We have the numbers but we want to meet with Abdullah, show him the evidence and work out a handover because we want a peaceful transition”.
Tian Chua, information chief of his Keadilan party, said the three-member opposition alliance had secured a simple majority in parliament and that more government lawmakers would defect later.
But he said there were concerns that the coalition — which has ruled since independence from Britain 51 years ago — would stoke conflict in order to justify a crackdown to keep itself in power.
“We want Abdullah to assure us there will be no repressive force used, like involving the police or inviting the military to take control,” he told AFP.
Tian Chua said the opposition’s push had been helped by the detention on Saturday of an opposition politician, a prominent blogger and a journalist under draconian internal security laws.
“Abdullah’s final crackdown made people lose hope that he is ever going to be a liberal reformer, which he promised,” he said.
@@http://asia.news.yahoo.com/080915/afp/080915165549asiapacificnews.html
#8 by lextcs on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 8:36 am
attended the yesterday’s party at kelana….when anwar said he wants to discuss a smooth transistion of power….i almost drop my jaw…dont know whether to cry or laugh…..but as usual the herds are cheering…they want change and he wants power…..counting the eggs before they are even hatched?…..I think i’ve had enough of all these hoodwinks…..tian chua talks about meeting 40 of the MPs in taiwan but in reality he only met 1 or 2……In the end dsai couldnt be blamed….just like our younger todler days when things dont go our way, we use the most lethal weapon even designed..that is throwing our tantrumsc
as usual the bigger issues like health care, neighbourhood security, social order, environment, economic and education, etc etc…are neglected while a boy cries wolf…. whats next anwar?
the public are the fools…..me included…..go govern your respective states….dont make a fool of yourselves…the world is in bigger mess than all this……welcome bosnia malaysia….or better still zimboland.
#9 by StevePCH on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 8:40 am
Selamat Hari Malaysia. We should celebrate this auspicious day with all our brother and sister from Sabah and Sarawak.
ISA is outdated , draconian and abusive.
Hats off to Zaid again for his courage and principle. There was a little light at the end of the tunnel for Malaysia and today the light has grown brighter.
These unsung heroes of Malaysian democracy will be reemembered in future for attemping to abolish ISA.
Long Live Malaysia. Free all ISA detainees. Give them fair trial !!!
Mansuhkan ISA, OSA Sedition Act , Disband BTN , Revamp Education System ….
#10 by StevePCH on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 8:41 am
There is a little light
#11 by taiking on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 9:17 am
It is a fact. Umno will never get rid of ISA. I mean, can we see umnoputras saying they have had enough of nep? For the same reasons, I cant see umno repealing ISA. More than voter’s support, ISA is actually and trully umno’s strength and lifeline. They have nothing else, really.
The media used to be umno’s other pillar of strength but thanks to the simple “request / response” internet communication protocol, that pillar, although still standing today, is rendered less important.
We are now presented with an ideal opportunity to chip away umno’s strength – the ISA. The arrest and detention of Tan of Sin Chew is no brainer (actually would come across as humourous if it was by Mr. Bean), ultra vires the Act and a clear abuse of authority. The arrest and detention of Teresa Kok is lame, a clear abuse of authority and an attempt to stiffle opposition voices. And the arrest and detention of RPK is directed specifically at suppressing people’s freedom to express their thoughts in and through the internet.
Umno is running amok. That is obvious for all to see. With internal turmoil coming to a boil, those who are caught in a position of deperation will naturally lash out in all directions.
The actions and reactions of the Home Minister is a good barometer of umno’s internal sentiments and temperature. His denial of responsibility in respect of the parliament corridor saga, of the MT block and of Tan’s detention under ISA are some recent examples of hitting out in all directions.
Pm’s initial inertia and subsequent belated and wholly inadequate action towards the ahmad ismail racist remark is another good indication. He is lost and confused and does not know what to do.
And worse, just when he thought he had finally (although not satisfactorily at all) resolved the matter, syed botak saw it fil to blow the issue up again by arresting Tan. Is this a lack of coordination? Or is it a lost of control? Or maybe both?
Umno is sinking. Damage control is the only sensible thing to do and it will certainly alleviate its plight. Instead umno has decided to go on the offensive.
If I may predict, it will soon run out of steam and sink. Zaid’s resignation is a sign of the party running out of steam. Good for us. Good for the nation.
HAPPY MALAYSIA DAY!
#12 by AnakSarawak on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 9:17 am
Zaid Ibrahim gained all my respect! MCA, Gerakan, SUPP! And to the Youth units of these disgusting parties! What is your move?
#13 by pangwl88 on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 9:19 am
RPK deserves everything. This Country owes him that much!
LKS, made sure you give RPK the same treatment as Teresa Kok!
#14 by Freddy on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 9:27 am
sorry sorry sidetrack sidetrack … equally important issue.
Anwar promised that he will reduce the pump price of petrol by 70 sen immediately upon assuming power. That works out to RM1.85 per litre.
The current price of crude oil is at US94.15 per barrel. Using the simple calculation, it is estimated that the current pump price of petrol is RM2.01 per liter.
Today is Malaysia Day. The cheating UMNO government promised earlier that it will review the price of fuel twice a month. If that is so, shouldn’t the price be immediately reduced? And hey, the rakyat could’ve been more forgiving and sympathise with this flip-flopping lame duck Prime Minister if he had at least given a small gift to the rakyat on this Malaysia Day. But no, he chose to backtrack on his promises once again!
This is called CHEAT, not subsidy!
There is now even more reason for the rakyat to support Anwar and Pakatan Rakyat to oust this lying flip-flopping lame duck Prime Minister and his racist UMNO government.
http://terangbulannegaraku.blogspot.com/
#15 by js on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 9:32 am
Looks like NO HOPE for PR to topple the government today….Do you believe that DSAI got the enough “numbers”? For me I do not believe BUT I do hope it will become reality soon.
#16 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 9:32 am
The way ISA is used by the Umno-led BN smacks of lawlessness by principleless Umno politicians and some police officers.
Why were a female reporter and a female opposition politician detained under ISA? Right-minded people could not think of a single valid reason that justified their detention under ISA. De facto Law Minister Zaid Ibrahim certainly did not agree.
One can only speculate the reasons. Perhaps it’s so easy to detain someone under ISA. No need a warrant of arrest, just the excuse that the person is a potential threat to national security.
Perhaps someone in the police force or the cabinet has an inspiration for entertainment: let’s bring in a female reporter and a female opposition politician, humiliate them by stripping them naked (even AnIbr said that he did not get to keep his underwear on), put them in a room with aircon blasting at the ‘maximum cold’ setting, see them shivering, feed them to mosquitoes, give them unhygienic food, let them suffer from diarrhoea, strip them of their human dignity, etc.
Did the police make them do the squats while pulling their ears?
Is there any guarantee that no one within the detention centre was recording/videoing what the female ISA detainees were experiencing?
Also, why was RPK, a blogger who dared to discuss issues transparently, detained under ISA?
Charge them in the courts if they did something wrong. Not detain them under ISA!
#17 by La Pax on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 9:37 am
Free RPK and TK!!! Abolish ISA!!!
#18 by pangwl88 on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 9:50 am
I sincerely believe that the following individuals are the BIGGEST THREAT TO THIS COUNTRY AND THE RAKYAT SHOULD INVOKE THE ISA TO GET RID OF THEM:
1) Bodohwi the Sleepy
2) C4 Wielding DPM
3) KJ the Monkey Buru
4) Keris the Mudin
5) Ahmad the Racist.
6)….and the Mamak Picture Tearer!!!!
#19 by baochingtian on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 9:56 am
uncle lim, do take care of your health for a better tomorrow.
#20 by panda_lonely on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 10:02 am
ISA originally is to secure public safety, prevent to cause a substantial number of citizens to fear. but the people who apply has abuse these rule… why the law didnt apply to Khairy, and Ahmad Ismail when their speech were causing chaos/ panic to M’sia society!!!!
#21 by just a moment on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 10:03 am
Morning folks, you guys up early to catch latest news ya?
last nite was quite fantastic cept many of us at the stadium don’t even know what to expect. well, we are going to form new Goment. How should all this happen? Funny.. How? Its not like Liverpool vs MU. Cheers then go home. End of story, right?
Anyway, hang in there, have faith!!!
We may not know how all this is gonna pan out, but I do know it has to be prudent. Its gonna be pandemenic!! if everything gonna change instantly. I mean one cannot just kick em out, right? Its gonna be another round of waiting. Just be patient. Have faith.
Sorry, moving on to another point, the previous thread by
mycroft Says:
Today at 01: 52.05 (7 hours ago)
challenge us to think what else can be done other than just blogging here and complaining about the useless Goment. We also know if YB Lim’s or any of PKR’s request for change will not be entertain, what’s the use of us just complaining here, right?
Can anyone give suggestion on physical action how and what we can do, to really make a difference? At least, in our own individual capacity first? Then we could get feedbacks as well?
Don’t mean to spoil it, I really like blogging here, but wld it make any difference? Is that really all we can do? I feel happy/sad reading so many ‘same’ criticism and at the same time feel helpless also. All in all, stay focus, have faith and move on.
Anyone pls, better suggestion?
#22 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 10:05 am
”
MALAYSIA BERJAYA
Malaysia kita sudah berjaya
Aman makmur bahagia
Malaysia abadi selamanya
Berjaya dan berjaya
Berbagai kaum sudah berikrar
Menuju cita-cita
Satu bangsa satu negara
Malaysia berjaya
Dari Perlis sampailah ke Sabah
Kita sudah merdeka
Negara makmur rakyat mewah
Kita sudah berjaya
Dengan semboyan kita berjaya
Menuju di angkasa
Satu bangsa satu negara
Malaysia berjaya
Composer and Lyrics: Saiful Bahri
”
Do we sing this anymore?
Is it meaningful?
Is it still relevant?
Happy Malaysia Day
#23 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 10:09 am
FREE MY PEOPLE
Remember the story of Moses
Who went up to Egypt’s pharoah
To request for “Let my people go!”
So that no moss with sorrows flow
(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 160908
http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
Tue. 16th Sept. 2008.
#24 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 10:14 am
Never expect Umno to get rid of ISA and to reform itself.
Just look at some of today’s news:
“The three arrests made under the Internal Security Act (ISA) were a government decision and should not be questioned openly by any minister.” – Said who? Of course, said the one and only one Syed Hamid, the omnipotent. Minister pun tak boleh cakap, rakyat mana boleh cakap? No wonder MCA, MIC, Gerakan, and other nonUmno politicians kwai-kwai and diam-diam.
“Several Umno leaders in Johor want de facto Law Minister Datuk Zaid Ibrahim to resign from the Cabinet for criticising the use of the Internal Security Act (ISA) to arrest three people recently.” – This reflects the situation in which most Umnoputras cannot stand ZI who tried to reform Umno a little bit from within. Umnoputras cannot wait to say ‘Good riddance and ta-ta’ to ZI.
“Police used the Internal Security Act (ISA) based on the escalation of insensitive racial and seditious remarks made by individuals that caused racial unrest and religious tensions in the country.” – It’s like Pinocchio with a growing elongated nose. Big fat lies. The entire nation and the world knew about Ahmad Ismail’s insensitive racial and seditious remark, but obviously the police were not aware of it. The police only cared about the messengers.
#25 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 10:32 am
The police finally came out to say that arrest of Teresa is like Tan i.e., ‘for the larger good’ because of Azan issue and supposedly on Jawi writing of street signs.
They refuse to admit they got the facts wrong and now holding on to flimsy excuse of ‘for larger good’.
Here is a question for everyone.
If they cannot admit to a basic fact when they get it wrong, how do we expect them to admit to an abstract idea of equal citizenship when they are also wrong?
This is not just about the rights of Teresa Kok. Its really about the soul of this country, our fundamental soul on decency.
#26 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 10:34 am
“I can only encourage her. I told her we are people who believe in God. Bible told us those who are victimised because they fight for justice are blessed people. Such people are children of God. I encourage her with these words. I told her not to give up but keep on praying.” Spoken by Teresa’s 71-year-old mother Pong Seh Kwan. (From The Malaysian Insider)
A government that terrorises its good citizens does not deserve to be in power. MCA, MIC, Gerakan, and other nonUmno parties within the BN – you are all part of this insensitive government and your hands are equally stained!
“Here’s the smell of the blood still; all the perfumes of Arabia will not sweeten this little hand. Oh, Oh, Oh!” (Macbeth)
#27 by Bobster on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 10:41 am
Malaysian Government has crossed the limit of no return after ISA arrest of innocent civilians. This is similar to Myammar regime of imposing house arrest to Aung San Su Ki.
Arresting own civilians who have committed NO CRIME. Home Minister Syed Hamid can’t even give a simple reason of the ISA arrest. This shows that the government has failed to act like a democratic country.
DSAI has every reason to take over the administration and call for re-election. We are no longer a demoncratic country under BN oppressive ISA law.
BN/AAB/UMNO regime must come down ASAP when time is right. Not necessary have to be 16 Sept 2008. Just anytime by year end.
#28 by ablastine on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 10:48 am
Zaid Ibrahim deserves to continue his good work as Law Minister or even take on more important position in the next Government under Anwar Ibrahim and PR. Teresa Kok is presently undergoing the baptism of ISA which most leaders of the PR have been through. It is an indication that she has reached that level of respectability for the present corrupted regime to take notice. Raja Petra Kamaruddin the bravest, shinning Malaysian star deserves nothing less than the highest accolade of the nation. Together with YAB Raja Dr Nazrin Shah, they have regained lost honour for the Royalities and Sultanate and together with it comes great respect and power from the rakyat.
Until today UMNO just still hasn’t got it. They do not know how to count and are still living in their own corrupted and racist world. Let me point out to them. First they completely antagonise the Indians which constitute up to perhaps 8 – 10% of the population.The MIC may as well not exist.
Now they completely offend the Chinese by the ridiculous jailing to two innocent girls under ISA and allowing that Ahmad Ismail Mamak to continue inciting racial hatred, especially his Chinese Pendatang ideas in the Kampongs. MCA may as well not exist. The Chinese constitute about 23- 25 % of the population and pays about 80% of the taxes.
The Eastern Malaysia Block are made to feel like they have been taken advantage of and thoroughly fleeced. They minority group constitute no less than 5%. That is not even taking the population of East Malaysia as a whole into consideration.
Then they try to sodomize YAB Anwar Ibrahim career using Saiful. They created trouble for right think Malay intellectuals like Azly Rahman, Bakri Musa and many others respected. Their following cannot be underestimated. They try to set the Malays against other races using the likes of Ahmad Ismail just to save their own skin. The backlash from the Malays out of BN’s cruel and devious deeds cannot be less than 30% of the population. The Malays are not stupid as the BN especially UMNO would like to think.
So how many are left who may still consider supporting the corrupted regime of BN. BN Goons here, you go count yourselves and go tell your stupid masters. Tell them power in a democracy comes from the people and the majority of people wants you out and NOW. Tell the troublemaker Mamaks in your midst that accounting time is near. ACA will be sitting on them pretty soon to account for their dirty money.
#29 by Godfather on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 10:52 am
The addiction to stealing is what drives UMNO to hold on to the ISA. I know because I have an UMNOputra, Kasim Amat, as my bisnes partner.
#30 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 10:59 am
To all Barisan National MPs,
Over the last few days all of you have been called upon to witness how ISA was despicably used on citizens of Malaysia. You must agree with me that if an innocent reporter could be so wrongfully & so EASILY slammed & arrested under ISA and was only released due to fierce protests from all quarters including leaders from other BN component parties namely MCA & Gerakan and even your Hishammdin the Education minister & Zaid Ibrahim the de facto Law minister also spoke against it being used on that reporter, You may very well expect that the same ISA can be wrongfullly & easily applied on you should Pakatan Rakyat takes over the government if it is not abolished.
I want you all to imagine yourselves in YB Teresa’s shoes for a moment, imagine that you are locked up in a jail for 28 days pending whatever police investigation with a possible further jail of 2 years or more. Just imagine YOU are the one inside!
Last night as I pray for Malaysia’s leaders and rakyat, I was strongly impressed by the words of Jesus – “whatever you want men to do to you, do also to them, for this is the Law and the Prophets.” (Matthew 7:12) Dear BN MPs, this ISA is just a small step away from you!
I therefore appeal to your conscience that for the good of every Malaysian including yourselves, to abolish this devilsh ISA before it catches up on you.
You can begin by joining the Parliamentary caucus tomorrow!
#31 by rahmanwang on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 11:04 am
I have said it on my previous comments.
ISA must be abolished.Then RPK & Teresa & all the others arrested under ISA be released.
Then we put all BN MP to lock up to ‘protect’ them from danger.BN MP’s are all VVIP,correct?
If Khir Toyo thinks Malaysian lock up not safe enough then we all send him to Indonesian lock up.He should be safe there.
#32 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 11:05 am
When the event is over, these bastxrds (ministers involved, police chief, etc.) would be sent to trial and get the proper punishment. Do we remember how the Romania former president and the Iraq president were sent for punishment?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XKyO2G8kGM0
#33 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 11:15 am
This matter on the ISA is, rightly, a non-partisan issue. MPs from both sides of the divide have in times past suffered under oppressive regimes who have abused the system to complete their personal vendettas.
YB, you are right on to convene this parliamentary caucus to express the contempt that whole-minded parliamentarians should have for such an oppressive piece of legislation. In the hands of evil men mindless fools, the draconian impact of such inhuman incarceration can utterly destroy familes and lives.
Malaysians have mostly sounded their disgust with the ISA. It’s time parliamentarians do what is noble and right and voice the true feelings of their electorate in this timely process.
SYABAS, YB, for prompt action to free Teresa, RPK etc.
We are all waiting with bated breath for Anwar to take over the reins of government and introduce sweeping changes to law and order perpetuated by a sick and sickening BN!
#34 by 318 on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 11:17 am
mr lim can you get some legal experts to represent not only tk but rpk n tan to sue the gomen including the 2 botak, dog n liar reporter till they luck koh
#35 by malaysiakia on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 11:18 am
Please use public power to show our willing….vote this poll
http://www.twiigs.com/poll/Politics/17328
#36 by budak on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 11:30 am
Dear Teresa and YM Raja Petra,
Please hold for another day or two; i believe Anwar and other Pakatan Leaders are working very hard to free both of you and other ISA detainees.
The Almighty GOD are with us to remove the tyranny govt…!
Hidup Pakatan Rakyat…!
#37 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 11:32 am
What do you think is the preferable choice for MCA, MIC and Gerakan, is it to stay or to leave UMNO? If UMNO held on to power by force, MCA, MIC and Gerakan will leave but if UMNO lose power, MCA, MIC and Gerakan will stay in the BN coalition.
#38 by Justin Cho on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 11:33 am
Our country’s politics has gone global in blogosphere.
http://blog.foolsmountain.com/2008/09/14/can-democracy-be-the-solution-to-malays-ethnic-problems/#comment-15368
#39 by lhslhv on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 11:34 am
The law says that the accuser have to come with a clean hand when making claims of abuse. If UMNO does not come with a clean hand, they don’t deserve it.
The minds of voters who voted for UMNO to control the minority is indoctrinated by the knowledge-lacking MSM. If we look at the government controlled MSM today, there is no wisdom and originality. What sorts of knowledge and wisdom can you gain from this narrow minded editors? There is no mind enlightenment elements inside the contents after reading these papers. What we read is only the trumpeted bright sides of the government. How about the truth? The prejudice, discrimination, inhumane treatmen etc?
So how do you expect these poorly informed voters to think out of the box? Unless they have access to the mind opening blogs, it is hard to crack their stereotypes.
Today we still yet to see the announcement of the 916 take-over of the government. This is not a failure. This is the beginning of our struggle. We should not give up!
#40 by Ken G on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 11:40 am
Dear YB Lim Kit Siang,
As much as we abhor the unjust detention of Teresa Kok and want to get her released as soon as possible, cool heads should prevail and we should to channel our energy and resources to the most effective methods instead of frenzied efforts up dead ends.
What will not work
————————
1) Petition to government – a petition to them is like casting pearls before swine.
2) Candle light vigil – unless it can involve thousands which is unlikely because of the time held, small candle light vigils are ineffective.
3) Letter to Parliament speaker – this partisan person is unlikely to do anything.
4) Appeal to PM – he doesn’t have big ears, he has selective ears and he has a mean streak.
What will work better
————————–
1) International pressure – implore as many international bodies as possible to speak up.
2) Appeal to Royalty – as Teresa is an Exco member and the issue involve Islamic matters which are under the purview of DYMM Sultan of Selangor, petition and appeal to his Majesty is in order.
3) Public outrage – this was what got Ms. Tan released promptly. Disseminate her plight widely to the public by various means including website, e-mail, SMS, posters, billboards, leaflets, bus and press advertisements, public functions, etc.
4) Peaceful mass rally – still the most effective way of making a point.
5) Hunger strike – If Teresa is held beyond 28 days, the last resort is a hunger strike which will gain widespread sympathy and put huge pressure on the government. The human body can last 2-3 months without food if water is consumed and it should not go beyond the safety limit
If it is any bitter consolation, the longer Teresa is held, the more political capital gained among the Chinese community at the expense of MCA and Gerakan. However it important to portray her as an innocent woman wronged and not a DAP MP wronged.
YB Lim, I suggest a fund be set up to fund Teresa’s release. A Free Teresa website detailing the truth in 4 languages should be set up where non-cyberspace communication can be directed.
Innovative ways must be used now. To buy space on a huge elevated billboard on a busy highway is expensive but imagine what it can do. Such a billboard only need to have Teresa’s photo, the words “Free Teresa, ISA Victim of Injustice” and a website address. Extra free publicity will come from press reports.
#41 by oknyua on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 11:43 am
To remain in the government is to continue supporting the use of ISA for political purpose. If MCA and Gerakan are sincere in their calls, the must leave BN ASAP. You cannot say you oppose the use of ISA, and yet continue to support the mechanism of ISA. MCA and Gerakan must wake up to this fact. The detention of Theresa is beyond politics and ideology. It was vindictive and personal. MCA and Gerakan, leave BN now.
#42 by pkrisnin on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 11:44 am
We should fine out the real reason behind Teresa Kok’s arrest. I don’t the BS charges are the real reason.
Let’s not forget RPK too.
#43 by giko on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 11:45 am
from nst = MINISTER in the Prime Minister’s department, Datuk Zaid Ibrahim has mde up his mind on quitting.
“I’m not tired, just disappointed,” he told reporters at a press conference this morning at Putrajaya.”I’m sorry.”
so Zaid finally quits! way to go!
#44 by Bobster on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 11:52 am
Dear Readers,
Just keep an eye on those ‘tok-kok-no-action’ leaders especially from MCA and Gerakan.
Keep an eye especially on Liow Thien Lye, Ng Yen Yen, Ka Chuan, Toh Tsu Koon and the like. Just see whether they will stand up for righteousness and truth irrespective of political difference.
The truth will set this country free irrespective who rule the nation.
As such, good leaders will dare to put their head on the chopping board when the going gets tough.
Bravo to YB Zaid Ibrahim for being true anak Malaysia. When injustice done to own countrymen or women, true leaders will stand up and be counted rather than saying few words and gone into hidding.
Just see how well this MCA and Gerakan will perform tomorrow before getting kick out by the general public once and forever.
#45 by baochingtian on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 11:57 am
Salute to Zaid. He is a gentleman in umno.
#46 by BNgetOUT on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 11:58 am
When we talk about towering Malaysians, allow me to say that RPK is one such individual.
#47 by baochingtian on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:00 pm
A minister can quit his good-money job, what about Gerakan acting president who holds no minister post and still clings on to BN? For what?… to serve the rakyat?
#48 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:01 pm
Zaid Ibrahim, despite being advised by Abdullah to stay back, will stick to his decision to quit in protest of the government invoking the Internal Security Act.
I really admire Zaid Ibrahim’s courage and determination.
Anwar told the people at last night’s rally to wait for good news from Zaid Ibrahim. Is Zaid Ibrahim going to join PR??? Zaid Ibrahim you are welcome.
#49 by taiking on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:07 pm
Something may be said of Zaid.
Its a decision and its a decision.
“Peck Pau” means “Peck Pau”
(Peck Pau = police officer handing back gun i.e. resigning from the force, HK slang)
Unlike the infamous liong sik stun years ago.
Someone in this blog quite correctly pointed out that Zaid’s action is as good as a no confidence vote.
Those amoungst the umno goons still with a conscience should now follow. Remember we are all malaysians. We dont hate you just because you are in umno. We only disapprove of those in umno who called themselves leaders who manipulated you; and who in your name, benefited tremendously.
#50 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 16 September 2008 - 12:07 pm
“I can only encourage her. I told her we are people who believe in God. Bible told us those who are victimised because they fight for justice are blessed people. Such people are children of God. I encourage her with these words. I told her not to give up but keep on praying.” Said Teresa’s 71-year-old mother Pong Seh Kwan.
SMS or email the above to MCA, MIC, Gerakan, and other nonUmno politicians within the BN.
Ask them if they can sleep at night. Ask them to do the right thing. Quit BN!