Abdullah – release Teresa, RPK, Tan and withdraw from precipice of new Malaysian dark age

Part 2 – LKS
Part 3 – LKS
Part 4 – Q and A
Part 5 – Teresa’s parent
Part 6 – Dr Hatta

DAP leaders, MPs and State Assembly representatives are gathered in this media conference, together with the parents of Teresa Kok, DAP National Organising Secretary, Selangor Senior Exco Member and MP for Seputeh, to condemn in the strongest possible terms the arrest under the Internal Security Act (ISA) of Teresa, Raja Petra Kamaruddin and the senior Sin Chew Daily reporter Tan Hoon Cheng.

We deplore these ISA arrest and attacks on the media and the blogosphere which also constitute a violation of the Multimedia Super Corridor Bill of Guarantees of no Internet censorship, as the ISA detention of the RPK, the live wire of Malaysia Today news portal, is as good as Internet censorship despite formal government unblocking of the news portal.

Instead of a 916 “sky change” or “political change”, the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has orchestrated a 912 “sky-change” of his own, with the ISA arrests and threats to the media and the blogosphere, marking the failure of his premiership to usher in a more open, accountable and democratic administration.

It shows how little things have changed in his five years as Prime Minister – with hardly any structural and institutional reforms or changes as all the repressive laws and institutions have remained intact, just kept in abeyance awaiting to be reactivated, as has happened!

The former Prime Minister, Dr. Mahathir Mohamad took more than six years to abandon his “ABC” (clean, trustworthy and efficient) façade with the 1987 Ops Lalang, putting 106 people under ISA and closing three newspapers.

However, Abdullah took less than five years since becoming Prime Minister to show his face of repression by initiating the current crackdown, up-to-now a mini-Ops Lalang with three ISA arrests and against three newspapers.

This 2008 mini-Ops Lalang is completely unjustified and unacceptable for two reasons:

(i) going against Abdullah’s 2004 general election landslide mandate based on his reform pledges and undertaking to break from the Mahathir past of repressive rule; and

(ii) a totally synthetic crisis arising from gross misgovernance, as there is no national crisis, no racial tension or religious strain unlike the pre-Operation Lalang 1987 which saw serious racial tension resulting from a sustained and systematic campaign of racial polarization by irresponsible elements.

It is the height of irresponsibility to create a synthetic national crisis when the country is faced with a grave economic crisis and the national focus of the government-of-the-day should be to lead all Malaysians to address the economic crisis.

Abdullah is facing a personal political crisis, as evident from the open call by the Umno Vice President Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yasin on him to step down as Prime Minister earlier than his timeframe of mid-2010 and the support given by Umno Deputy President Datuk Seri Najib Razak to Muhyiddin.

However, Abdullah’s personal political crisis as to whether he would have to step down as Prime Minister much earlier than the June-2010 timeline under his “power transition” plan cannot be made an excuse to create a synthetic crisis to justify the use of draconian laws and powers like the ISA and to engender conditions to stamp out attempts by Umno leaders to bring forward his timetable to relinquish the Prime Minister’s post.

All fair-minded and right-thinking Malaysians, regardless of race, religion or political affiliation, reject the use of ISA for the arrest of RPK, Tan Hoon Cheng and Teresa Kok.

RPK’s writings are open and public. He should be charged in court if he had contravened any laws of the land, affording him the opportunity to defend himself in an open trial. The detention-without-trial ISA should not be used against RPK, as it is not only undemocratic and repressive but a clear case of abuse of power.

The detention of Sin Chew reporter Tan Hoon Cheng has evoked all-round outrage by Malays as well as non-Malays, Muslims and non-Muslims.

Everyone in Malaysia is asking – why Ahmad Ismail, the person who had made the provocative, inflammatory and racist reference to the Chinese in Malaysia is not acted against but the reporter, Tan Hoon Cheng, is detainded under the ISA just for reporting what Ahmad said? What has Malaysia become when the most elementary notions of justice and fair play have become alien ideas to the leaders in government?

Teresa’s ISA detention is most ludicrous. She had been accused by the former Selangor Mentri Besar Khir Toyo of wanting to ban the azan in a certain locality in Selangor, which was played up by Utusan Malaysia. Teresa immediately denied the allegation, which was backed up by the mosque committee concerned and the PAS MP for the area also lodged a police report against Khir for the baseless allegation.

If action should be taken, the person who should be the target should be Khir Toyo. Why was Teresa detained under the ISA?

Last night, Teresa was informed at about nine something that she could be on the blacklist of ISA arrests, with the suggestion she go into hiding. Teresa refused as she believed that there is no reason why she should go into hiding as she had not done anything wrong to the country and she was fully prepared to face any ISA arrest. I am very proud of her. I am reminded of my first ISA arrest in 1969 when some party leaders advised me not to return to Kuala Lumpur from Kota Kinabalu as I was on the ISA blacklist. I refused to run away from the country, as I maintained that when the people was going through their darkest hour, the place for me was in the country with them.

The country has been swirling with speculation as to who else were on the ISA blacklist. Among the names mentioned were the DAP Secretary-General and Penang Chief Minister, Lim Guan Eng and myself.

Teresa has already become the first woman MP to be detained under the ISA. Is Abdullah to create another history by having the first Chief Minister in Malaysia to be detained under the ISA?

I call on Abdullah or the Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar to publicly declare who are on the ISA blacklist to be detained, whether Guan Eng and I are on the list. I will not go into hiding if I am on the list. There is no need for any cat-and-mouse game. Just make it public.

Cabinet Ministers should explain whether the three ISA arrests and action against the three newspapers had received Cabinet approval as Ministers like the Information Minister, Shabery Cik have openly defended the ISA arrest of RPK.

I call on Malaysians to be calm and go about their usual business peacefully and normally. They should not allow themselves to be provoked although there are irresponsible elements who want to engineer another May 13 or another full-scale Ops Lalang.

Malaysia in 2008 is completely different from 1969 when certain elements succeeded in creating a scenario of racial confrontation between the Malays and the Chinese over the May 13 incident. There is no racial confrontation in Malaysia of 2008, as the Pakatan Rakyat comprises all races – Malays, Chinese and Indians – and all religions!

I also want to call on Abdullah to pull back from the precipice of a new Malaysian dark age. Release Teresa, RPK and Tan from ISA immediately and cancel the show cause notice to the three newspapers concerned, or his premiership wll be stained forever by the repression and dark age of 912 – September 12, 2008.

(Media Conference Statement on ISA arrests of Teresa Kok, Raja Petra Kamaruddin and Tan Hoon Cheng held at DAP PJ Hqrs on Saturday, 13th September 2008 at 11.30 am)

Print Friendly

1. #1 by nyghtsky on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:59 pm

Stop complaining about Malaysia, Malaysians and do something about it! If you don’t want to fight for our rights as Malaysians… you should migrate and stop bitching about things!

Light a candle, attend Pakatan Rakyat Rallies, hug our muslim neighbours, sign the petition to DYMM Agong….

Boycott all parties that are claiming they are defends of racial rights especially AMNO components like Gerakan, MIC and MCA!

We do not need our rights defended… for we love our neighbours of all colour, race and religion… as do they!

2. #2 by gofortruth on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:05 am

“Home Minister Syed Hamid Albar has implied that Sin Chew Daily reporter Tan Hoon Cheng was also to be blamed for the public furore over the ‘Chinese squatter’ remark.

“The whole thing was started by her, (so) it was best that we talked to her,” Syed Hamid said in reply to a question during a press conference at the federal police headquarters in Bukit Aman today.

Asked to elaborate, Syed Hamid said the ripple effects from Tan’s article had caused “the polemic and fear” thus warranting investigations by the police.

“That information is from her and it was published. (Since) it has been published, it is best that we get to the bottom of it by getting the information from her. ”
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/89668
    ————–
    The above is the ‘Syed Hamid logic’ of putting the blame on reporter Tan and I beg to differ.

Ahmad Ismail claimed that his racist atatement was meant for Malay audience only. My goodness how could he be so careless to make such abusive remark in an OPEN ceramah????? He is most irresponsible to have “disappeared” for more than 10 days and came back only to slash at the paper. The whole thing was started by AHMAD ISMAIL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

While he was playing his disappearing act our PM came out to say Ahmad didn’t mean it and our DPM Najib has openly come out to apologize on behalf of UMNO for he himself was present in the Ceramah. How can then Syed Hamid now accuse the honest reporter? What logic?

Even if she is wrong, her report had gone through her editor for editing and then published. The paper openly stands by her report. Syed Hamid should if he wishes take legal action against the paper instead of BULLYING the female
    reporter.

Syed Hamid, stop bullying the weak!
    You are unfit to be our home minister!!!!!!!!

3. #3 by sA1nT_Jam3s on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:07 am

I was wondering…

Teresa Kok’s blog have fallen silent..

Dear all,please show your solidarity to her .

Poor girl-being held incommunicado for being righteous

http://teresakok.com/

4. #4 by peterchiang on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:17 am

The next Govertment should revise or repeal the Internal STUPID Act and ensure it can never be misused or abused.

5. #5 by gofortruth on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:18 am

YB Teresa Kok did the most noble thing to stop a possible racial fire set off by an irresponsible UMNO man TOYO and again Syed Hamid got it all wrong by putting a noble; respected & good person behind bars and let the dangerous man continue to looms free. What logic????????????????? Its madness!!!!

Justice must be returned to her without any delay!!!!!!!!!!!

6. #6 by homeblogger on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:40 am

Dear Uncle Lim Kit Siang,

I speak for myself, but I am sure others share the same sentiment. How can we help? It’s okay to comment and say we support, but what can a regular Joe like me do to help?

7. #7 by michael13 on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:42 am

ISA-’law of jungle’ must go with AAB. It’s a big joke to true democracy and his promise of reform.

8. #8 by zak_hammaad on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:44 am

Telling a Muslim majority country that they need to tone down their daily call to prayer in certain areas of the FT is not only an act of intolerance but also a call to Islamophobia. Teresa needs to clarify her remarks before she is released from the ISA. It is inciting and an insult to the Muslims in the same manner as Ahmad’s remarks were seen insulting to the Chinese citizens.

9. #9 by bystander on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:44 am

bodoh, bodoh, bodoh BN govt. period.

10. #10 by zak_hammaad on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:45 am

Before anyone questions why Ahmad was not detained under ISA; he is banned for 3 years while Teresa still holds her post. Her remarks caused ire from a majority of Malaysian Muslims.

11. #11 by towardEQuality on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:57 am

Why ! Kill Toyo play up sentiment issue on Teresa, and there Teresa is in trouble under Immature Stupid Act.
    Why ! Sin Chew Reporter Ms Tan wrote the sentiment issue brought up by idiot AI , there Ms Tan is in trouble under Immature Stupid Act.
    Why double standard !!

This is seriously screw up law in our country…

Najis was saying today ” Be fair to all races “. pretty caring eh, and there he was ” presenting aid to the poor and single mothers in Kampung Padang Polo mosque here”.
    I don’t see all races that he aided. I wonder he understand what he said all this while. There goes the saying, mounth does not tele with heart.
    He had been preaching this phrase so many time already, but never once practise. Now whenever I heard he say this in the news, I felt disguised and wanted to vomit !! yak ….

12. #12 by towardEQuality on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:00 am

Can someone tell me why my comment always tagged with
    ” Your comment is awaiting moderation “.

and doesn’t appeared in the blog …

Thanks ..

13. #13 by achin1 on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:19 am

now we’ve seen that our govt is acting like a communist country already…people, be strong and never give up, pray for YB Teresa Kok and abandon the stupid govt!!!!!

14. #14 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:23 am

The ISA is a bad law as it gives unlimited powers to the Home Minister and no one can question that authority in a court.

With the ISA you can be detained indefinitely, at the pleasure of the government.

Read my blog on “…..How Bad Laws May Affect National Security”

15. #15 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:36 am

HB Lim Says:
    Yesterday at 21: 23.14

To shamsul anuar and zak_hammaad, I reproduce here my thoughts earlier posted in another thread in this blog in reply to zak_hammaad -

zak_hammaad, don’t thank me. I only agreed with you that there need to be changes and there are many ways to effect them, some smooth and others reckless. But I do not agree with your other views especially when you argue in favour of RPK’s arrest, saying that he has insulted Islam and that his arrest is not political. You have an impeccable command of English and therefore I think you are a smart person and I hope you understand this message and take it in a right spirit.

Assuming that RPK has insulted Islam, which I do not agree as I have read and re-read his allegedly offending articles and did not find those offending, my view is that the most important message or teaching in any religion or of God is humility. To be truly humble is to be truly great. Vice versa, to be great is to be humble. God has always ask us to be humble and to forgive in the face of criticisms and insult. I am a Christian and I speak from the Christian perspective but I think that perspective is shared by Islam. Jesus was persecuted, tortured and hanged. And his last words about his persecutors were, “Father, forgive them for they know not what they are doing”. I believe your God also asks you to be humble and to be forgiving. Would you say that He would be angry or take offence when insulted and ask or allow you or His believers to arrest or punish the person who allegedly insulted Him? Would you make Him lesser than His teaching?

I believe in the Greatness of your God. I believe in the Great Mercy of your God. I believe He wants you also to be humble so as to be great, to forgive so as to be merciful. I don’t think a Great Wise Merciful God would sanction the incarceration and punishment of anyone who may seem to have insulted Him. Being merciful, He would say “Forgive him for he does not know what he is saying” and He would find ways to bring that offender back to Him in His own Merciful way for I think the greatest happiness for God would be the salvation of a soul, for another “sinner” to have come back to Him.

We mortals have no right to pass a religious judgment on another for we are all sinners in our own ways, sins being just a matter of degree, and while we can try to convince, persuade and cajol a fellow brother to go back to the ways of God, all matters of religion should be left to God and that man. I do not think that God is so helpless that He requires mortals to protect Him and His teachings. Because He is God and we mere mortals, He will protect us and preserve His teachings forever and ever. We mortals would be most offensive to Him if we start to play God.

Understood? This is only a personal opinion and should not be taken to be an insult to you or your God. I respect Islam and your right to believe in Islam. Let that be very clear. Having said that, I think most right thinking Malaysians have no problems with the true teachings of Islam which is one of the greatest and perhaps the most popular religion of the world. Only some God-playing mortals have put Islam in a bad light and that is not only truly regrettable and definitely painful to God but has the even more regrettable effect or result of making many shy away from Islam. Would not that be more offensive and insulting to your God?

My view is that RPK has been arrested for a political reason for he is one of the greatest factor in the sinking of UMNO but a religious reason was put forth as an aberration to hide the real reason and to appease or to hookwink the Malay Muslims or to provide a more noble justification to incarcerate him. This is cowardice at its best.

I think the greatest mistake of the UMNO mad leaders is that they think we Malaysians, Malays or not, are stupid. They think they can lie to all or most of the people all the time and still be victorious. They think the the country belongs to them. They think that they can get away with any atrocities. They think that they and only they are capable of managing this country.

zak_hammaad, you and I know it is time we stop these bandits from further sending us and our country to hell. I truly hope and pray that your God will touch you so that you will be humbled to acknowledge the Truth and condemn, reject and eject the totally corrupted ones for the sake of our common destiny.

MY GOD! That was the final blow i needed to put that annoying beever back in the cell!

it would have take me a million years to say something like that lol!

Nicely said HB thank you.

16. #16 by BNgetOUT on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:47 am

Free all ISA detainees now

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:47 am

“..all other “gods” are imitations, some good imitation, some bad.” HB Lim

Those days they didn’t have copyright law unlike today.

You cannot be minting one God after another. There’s bound to be a bad copy. If you do it long enough it would lead to mutation. Then we’d be in deep shi*t.

Anyway God said, “Let us make Man in our image..”: Genesis 1:26.

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:48 am

He did not say in His image!

19. #19 by Tic Tac Toe Group on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:53 am

I understand that currently in this 2008 General Election :
    Political Party Parliment Seat
    MCA 15
    SAPP 3
    GERAKAN 2

PAKATAN Need Only 10 more to go if they all hope to PAKATAN.I think we the rakayat should give more support to PAKATAN.

20. #20 by Malaysian Always on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 2:33 am

shamshul anuar: Please enlighten us on what DAP did during 1969.

But before you enlighten us, you had better make sure as hell your facts are correct, and your comments are justified.

21. #21 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 2:34 am

I come to imagine if Zak was someone we knew or…

Either ur truely the migrant zak or not, but theres one thing for sure. The BN/UMNOputras component are very close link to you in business wise which contrive to portray alchemy as somehow provoke ur concern over our locomotion.

Good day Zak hope u can sleep well, as we wont give in.

22. #22 by scorpian6666 on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 2:46 am

TO THE MALAY AH MAD SAID “CHINESE HAS NO RIGHTS”
    TO THE CHNESE AH MAD SAID “I HAVE MANY CHINESE FRIENDS”

ALL GOOD MUSLIM AND CHRISTAIN GO TO HEAVEN
    ALL BAD MUSLIM AND CHRISTAIN GO TO HELL

LET MAKE IT SIMPLE… THERE ARE ONLY TWO KIND OF MALAYSIAN
    THE GOOD AND THE BAD

LEAVE GOD/S ALONE

IT’S TIME TO KICK THE ASS OF THE BAD !!!!

23. #23 by southallman on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 3:39 am

Sep 16 2008 – make it a Day of Prayer and Fasting

Menteri Besar/Chief Minister of the 5 Pakatan Rakyat Opposition control states should declare Sep 16 2008 a public holiday commerating Malaysia Day – a day of prayer and fasting.

It is 48 hours left to 16th Sep 2008 and it is still possible to act. Malaysians in other states can follow the example set by the 5 Pakatan Rakyat states and follow suit by joining in and observing this Day of Prayer and Fasting – Sep 16 2008.

My fellow Malaysians of all races and faiths should go to their places of worship be it a Mosque, Temple, Gurudwara and pray for the well being of Malaysia our homeland and our friends and fellow Malaysians held under ISA.

24. #24 by Tulip Crescent on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 4:37 am

Why are you guys so hung up on Syed Hamid?

He is insignificant in the Umno scheme of things. Like what Lord Tennyson said in the Brook, people like him come and go. Only the Brook will remain. And by the Brook, I mean the Government of Malaysiawhich appears now to be up for grabs.

25. #25 by Rocky on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 5:22 am

sudah gila punya gomen la. Trying to hang on to power by all means, really sick.

we the people will see you soon and you shall know your fate. GE will come again Pak Lah and najib and we shall tell you we are sick of the race card you BN guys play.

Daulat Tuanku!!!

26. #26 by lakshy on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 6:05 am

Yes declare 16th Sept as a State Public Holiday, and lets show our dismay at the Federal Govt.

Private companies will follow this call to announce the PH.

27. #27 by lakshy on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 6:10 am

Zaki and Sham ShulA….

I think you need to improve on your English Comprehension skills if you even think that RPK has insulted Islam.

RPK has the highest respect and regard for Islam. He may mock how our great heroes practise it here. So please know the difference.

Read Syed Akbar Ali’s books such as “Malaysia and the Club of Doom” and “To Digress a little” to get more insights on whats wrong with some of the practices.

By the way, why are Akbar Alis books not banned, with him sitting under ISA?

28. #28 by lakshy on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 6:12 am

Zaki Sham ShulA….

Much of what RPK has written in his blogs are in Akbar Ali’s books.

29. #29 by yhsiew on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 7:13 am

All this ISA madness is merely Syed Hamid’s showing-off of his enthusiasm in his job in order to impress Abdullah and get promotion from him.

30. #30 by pamelaoda on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 7:28 am

AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked Says:

You Syed hamid you’re disgrace to muslim and you discriminate your own faith for political gain. Shame on you, you should be put inside the bars and burn in hell!

Hush! you may ISA-ed for insulting a muslim because muslim is islam!

31. #31 by UzMiNoOnist on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 7:55 am

What Syed Hamid has said that he did not give the order for the Police to arrest all the three victims under ISA. He also said that the Police does not need his consent in theses cases and the Police can act on its own. According to him in a press release yesterday, the Police has done its own investigation and make a judgment to execute the ISA order.

This is an anarchy even in the most uncivilized world. We have in Malaysia where the Police can act as the Investigator, the Judge, the Executor of a Law, and as a Reformer.

Is this not an abuse of a law? Where are all the right minded people, our leaders, our judges, our NGOs, our MPs irrespective of your political affiliation?
    This is a time in Malaysia, that every Malaysian must make an honest stand that this abuse of a law must stop.

In Malaysia, the might is always right. How sad !

32. #32 by wtf2 on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 8:03 am

don’t forget this rotten egg-head gave away pedra banca….

33. #33 by ktteokt on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 8:08 am

Time to set up the PDRM Parliament, PDRM Cabinet, Kementerian PDRM, Jabatan PDRM and Mahkamah PDRM so that PDRM can reign supreme and free from any control from above! If the actions of PDRM are not sanctioned by the Home Minister, who else can sanction them? If botak wants to pass the bug, then he might as well not be Home Minister! Or does he prefer his Kementerian Dalam Negeri to be placed under Kementerian PDRM and take instructions from the IGP instead?

34. #34 by grace on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 8:12 am

The Government is very “FAIR”
    Detain the innocent and set the guilty free.
    Hey come on!
    Detain Ahmad Ismail and Toyol now!.
    Syed Hamid and Pak Lah, if you all are stupid, do not think the rakyat are in your class. We know who is right and wrong. Ahmad Ismail made the wildest attack on the Chinese and you set him free.
    Theresa Kok did not complain against the mosque, you detain her. Even the mosque officials, a Muslim had come out to support her claim .
    Set RPK and Theresa Kok free. These two are real patriots and not hipocrytes.
    God protect RPK and Theresa all the time!

35. #35 by lopez on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 8:19 am

therey is never a “minority people and majority people or a minority race or a majority race”
    Calling oneself as a mniority race or people is a show of the weak mentality ones has in perceiving the state of the affairs around oneself.

you are all you can be, only limited and restrained by the courage, drive and energies found intrinsically inside of you.

Whether it can be excited and turn into good use and for goodness of mankind and society solely rest on the interests and incentives derives from your early life experiences and education.

You can be all you can be in bolihland and even better in other lands.

If you dont for some reasons that we all know ourselves, you can still be all you can be in other lands, as what you have been running through is the sickest and bias sort of treatment you ever get anywhere else in the world such as those challenged from emerging developing nations of today’s africa and middle asia.

But they are

36. #36 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 8:27 am

ISA blitz is a disciplinary gesture of ‘cracking the whip’ by a regime frightened by its own internal divisions and outside threat from PR.

The sustainability of continuing detention of the 3 is questionable for following reasons:-

1. in case of reporter Tan Hoon Cheng (recently released), she cannot held to be wrong reporting factually and accurately Ahmad Ismail’s wrongful racist statements;

2. in case of Theresa Kok, Masjid Kinrara, which is embroiled in an azan controversy, said DAP parliamentarian Teresa Kok had never set foot in the mosque and that her alleged incitement was allegedly but incorrectly played up by a local malay daily due to what Khir Toyo misinterpreted;

3. in the case of RPK, whatever allegations of seditious statements imputed unto him for ‘insulting Islam’ he could be tried under normal sedition law rather than incarcerated under draconian preventive laws like ISA; in any case as the alleged seditious articles were published through the internet medium, incarcerating him as alter ego of MalaysiaToday tantamounts to reneging on MSC Bill of Guarantee to international community that govt cannot afford, as recently evinced by its directive to ISPs to rescind unblocking of that site.

Three other factors set circumstances today (2008) different from TDM’s 1987 Operation Lallang –

First we have a Pakatan Rakyat coalition (PR) almost neck to neck with BN anytime on or after Sept 16 poised to take over if there are sufficient cross overs from BM componet parties.

Second, because of PR threat of take over UMNO has to justify and legitimise its repressive actions to preserve morale of its component parties and prevent their abandonment of ship. In this it has, arrayed against it, a whole range of civil society NGOs, professional associations and bloggers that have proliferated since 1987 to mould and influence public opinion making ‘legitimising’ of repressive actions against (say the three detainees) not backed by logic very difficult to sustain.

Third, the looming crisis in the nation’s economy that will be exacerbated further by repressive measures putting off (at least) some of the FDIs.

37. #37 by sotong on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 8:27 am

If Syed Hamid is serious about ISA to protect Ms. Tan the reporter, this clearly shows he has surrendered his leadership under pressure from racists, bigots, bullies and criminals.

As a Minister in position of power, trust and influence, he should gather all government resouces behind him to catch and put away those racists, bigots, bullies and criminals who threaten and incite racial aggression, hatred and violence.

38. #38 by sotong on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 8:48 am

There is no good leaders for decades.

Most of our leaders are reacting to the circumtances to hold on to power as long as possible – they do not mind support from racists, bigots and bullies to achieve that.

Good leadership is not about winning, they are also about departing with a proper transition of power.

Pak Lah, do be like the previous PM who holds on to power for 22 years and its damaging, permanent and long term consequences to the country.

You short duration in office, with enormous bagages from previous administration, does not mean you are not better than other PMs – history will judge you well if leave office with a proper transition of power to BN/PK in the best interest of the country and her ordinary people.

39. #39 by lopez on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 8:52 am

if so much talk is of the spiritual, i got a feeling too that our ancestors has been troubled by the treatment to their door watchers.

maybe …….the haunt is coming and usually it comes when it is time for bed, .do your conscience allows you sleep in peace,

for those losers and defenders of the sunset club please speak for your self , others will understand , no need to speak for others or your peers , join the crowd not the clouds.

40. #40 by cemerlang on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 8:55 am

I watched the news on t.v. and the interview between Datuk Syed Hamid Albar and the reporters. He said something about Datuk Ahmad Ismail who has been given disciplinary action and also an investigation upon him. The impression given is that if Datuk Ahmad Ismail is punished, so must other people and in this case, Miss Teresa Kok, Raja Petra and the reporter from Sin Chew. 1 to 3. For each Barisan Nasional member, three non Barisan Nasional members must pay the price. Barisan Nasional would do anything including stoop so low to defend and protect its’ member who did a wrong thing. For the Sin Chew reporter and Raja Petra, it is like telling all reporters not to report what is objective or write the news in a nice way. For Miss Teresa Kok, it is to remind the opposition that BN is still the most powerful. This is a clear misuse of power. The Internal Security Act is meant for people who stir up troubles for example Datuk Ahmad Ismail. The ISA is not meant to protect any individual. If one has a problem, one goes to the court and PDRM and the PDRM will protect the individual with a court order. This is call police protection. The PDRM does not come on their own accord to take you away in the name of security like the KGB in former Soviet Union. Taking you away is called arrest. Datuk Albar thinks that only he and the BN know best and that all Malaysians are stupid fools. The other person who should provide assistance is Datuk Khir Toyo. The ISA is something like the ancient Emperor’s decree and one is not allowed to question or comment. It is used to bully and threaten all Malaysian citizens. What is the point of God giving a brain that has the function of thoughts and the function to question ? What sort of blessings will be given if one protects the wrong and punishes the right ? From another angle, this also shows that UMNO dares not to anger its’ members because they still need the members to give them the power. So no matter how the member turns the party upside down, those leaders will still try to protect him.

41. #41 by lbl on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 9:03 am

Basically we must have religious tolerance by all parties concerned.Never bring in religion or race when you want any support.Just because you have voted DAP in does not mean that you contact DAP to solve all your personal problems. DAP have National problems to solve.
    If Residents of Bandar Kinrara Section 5 was more tolerant, YB Kok would be free from ISA. All these residents can say now is how sorry they are that this has to happen. Why don’t they demonstrate to show their concern so that they can keep YB Kok company when they ISA come for them?
    No residential area can be sound proof. Everyday we have lorries honking along to sell their goods, motor cyclists and cars roaring away . We just have to get used to it.

42. #42 by suara on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 9:07 am

Syed Hamid is talking nonsense. Does he mean that if anyone’s life is threatened, they will be detained under ISA? IF so, then all those people running away from Ah Longs will now have a perfect getaway – in the ISA cell!!!!

Reporter Tan gets ISA, what did Ahmad get? Scot free!!!! I remember long time ago, Lee Kim Sai (MCA) had his Datukship stripped for raising sensitive racial issues. What double standards!!!

Teresa Kok’s detention is just as acrimonious. Does this mean that we can get anyone detained under ISA just by wild accusations?

For RPK, just because you can’t get his website blocked, you put him under ISA. IF he is guilty of any misdeeds, by all means charge him in open court. Don’t hide behind ISA.

To the public, we are all doomed. If the law cannot even protect prominent people, then what about us, the lay man. This is lawlessness. We are no better than Zimbabwe, Myannmar and North Korea. Welcome to the Axis of Lawlessness!

43. #43 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 9:08 am

The troubles of Badawi administration is so many, its a laughing stock. But it began when it was announced he was taking over and asked about his own vision of Malaysia and he said there was no need. The most ridiculous thing about it, as soon as he took over, the spun a new vision of Malaysia in his 2004 election campaign that the electorate believed more than he did.

Five years later, he and most of his colleagues still don’t get it a new vision of Malaysia is already here – the only question is whether BN is going to accept it, participate in it positively and mold it to everyone’s benefit or remain stuck in the past, be a spoiler and cause misery to everyone including themselves.

Its his job to get ahead of the curve and manage it, not keep finding himself falling back on old, outdated ways resulting in a mess of things for everyone.

This use of ISA to protect those threaten shows how incredible the idea that private rights are completely abused simply because of impotence OR hegemonic interest of special-interest groups and powerful. Is it surprising that corruption is rampant, reform of judicial and law-enforcement hardly moving, education still a confused mess, etc.?

The very basis of a sound system is always the protection of private rights. In the best system, i.e., first world mentality as he harp on and laughed at by his critic, protection of private rights is NEVER taken lightly. And these ISA arrest simply ignores that its new precedence in destroying even more private rights. It simply, as Bakri Musa point out, cave man or neanderthal.

The PM have to decide once and for all, rather than be trapped by the limitation of corrupted cynical political experiences of Mahathirism to either challenge that for all its worth or simply just hand it, peacefully, to someone else that can even as its difficult to imagine – namely – Pakatan Rakyat.

44. #44 by StevePCH on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 9:16 am

For YB Kok’s case can the Zaini Hassan,Satim,Khir,Utusan be sued for malicious slander ? or “protected” under ISA for their own safety ? Khir was after all the perpetrator for this whole episode. DAP’s legal team should file in their case ASAP ? If there is sufficient proof from the Mosque authorities, then there is a strong case.
    I think the detention of YB Kok is a total farce. Nevertheless, watch out for the bogeyman, just like Bala the missing PI case , Ramlang and Dr Osman. The whole Mosque commitee might just disappear and replaced overnight or transferred ….
    If YB Kok is to be released, who is going to be the scapegoat for starting the storm ?

45. #45 by StevePCH on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 9:26 am

Is PM aware of this ? Where is he ? Sigh ….

46. #46 by firstMalaysian on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 9:30 am

The Home minister should know how to differentiate what is the state law and what is internal party discipline. He mentioned that Ahmad has already been punished in his suspension as divisional chairman for three years. What about ISA? He is the one who used the racial card in the Pematang Pauh by election but great to know that most Malaysians are matured enough not to play to his tune.

Teresa is a decent looking, peace loving, efficient state Exco member, moderate in her views and fighting for all Malaysians in Parliament, did not utter a single word to cause damage to the inter-racial harmony in the country (unlike other UMNO MPs utterances in Parliament), yet she is under ISA.

Makes no sense.

47. #47 by gofortruth on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 9:34 am

It was UMNO’s KHIR TOYO who started the false accusation against YB Teresa Kok that she was behind a petiton to a mosque. She rightly defended herself that it was untrue and the mosque official also came out in her support.

What YB Teresa Kok did has just defused a potentially dangerous “racial tension” that Toyo was trying to start. Her action has been most commendable. All right minded Malaysians should salute YB Teresa Kok. You just imagine if she had kept quiet about it. All the Muslims up and down the country would think its true and one dreaded to envisage the possible deadly consequencies.
    Toyo must not only be brought to book by the non Muslim community, Toyo in fact must also be booked by Muslim community. He was trying to double cross the 2 communities. PAS leaders & PKR Muslims should lodge police reports against this vicious man.

Where is fairness in charging the person who put off the fire while letting the peson who started the fire roams free?

We the rakyat now call upon Syed Hamid …………or the police, since Syed Hamid has chicken out to disclaim he has any thing to do with the order of arrest under ISA…. or whoever has the real authority, to release YB Teresa Kok IMMEDIATELY to the people so that she can continue to serve the people without fear & favour. She was in the middle of meetings with investors from China, we need people like her to bring in more foreign investments into our beloved Malaysia!!!!!

48. #48 by gofortruth on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 9:38 am

DPM Najib said last night that we must be fair to all races but where do we see fairness being practiced on YB Teresa Kok????????????

49. #49 by StevePCH on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 9:40 am

The power to provoke ISA should also be removed from PDRM. and ISA abolished completely. Free Kok , RPK, and all ISA detainees !!!

Also, I heard that the Emergency Ordinance can also be abused by PDRM … is it true ?

50. #50 by just a moment on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 9:43 am

gofortruth Says:

Today at 09: 38.37 (2 minutes ago)
    DPM Najib said last night that we must be fair to all races but where do we see fairness being practiced on YB Teresa Kok????????????
    =============================================

Forget about his message, its not important. He just want you to vote for him to become PM?

Comments are closed.