Abdullah – release Teresa, RPK, Tan and withdraw from precipice of new Malaysian dark age

Part 2 – LKS
Part 3 – LKS
Part 4 – Q and A
Part 5 – Teresa’s parent
Part 6 – Dr Hatta

DAP leaders, MPs and State Assembly representatives are gathered in this media conference, together with the parents of Teresa Kok, DAP National Organising Secretary, Selangor Senior Exco Member and MP for Seputeh, to condemn in the strongest possible terms the arrest under the Internal Security Act (ISA) of Teresa, Raja Petra Kamaruddin and the senior Sin Chew Daily reporter Tan Hoon Cheng.

We deplore these ISA arrest and attacks on the media and the blogosphere which also constitute a violation of the Multimedia Super Corridor Bill of Guarantees of no Internet censorship, as the ISA detention of the RPK, the live wire of Malaysia Today news portal, is as good as Internet censorship despite formal government unblocking of the news portal.

Instead of a 916 “sky change” or “political change”, the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has orchestrated a 912 “sky-change” of his own, with the ISA arrests and threats to the media and the blogosphere, marking the failure of his premiership to usher in a more open, accountable and democratic administration.

It shows how little things have changed in his five years as Prime Minister – with hardly any structural and institutional reforms or changes as all the repressive laws and institutions have remained intact, just kept in abeyance awaiting to be reactivated, as has happened!

The former Prime Minister, Dr. Mahathir Mohamad took more than six years to abandon his “ABC” (clean, trustworthy and efficient) façade with the 1987 Ops Lalang, putting 106 people under ISA and closing three newspapers.

However, Abdullah took less than five years since becoming Prime Minister to show his face of repression by initiating the current crackdown, up-to-now a mini-Ops Lalang with three ISA arrests and against three newspapers.

This 2008 mini-Ops Lalang is completely unjustified and unacceptable for two reasons:

(i) going against Abdullah’s 2004 general election landslide mandate based on his reform pledges and undertaking to break from the Mahathir past of repressive rule; and

(ii) a totally synthetic crisis arising from gross misgovernance, as there is no national crisis, no racial tension or religious strain unlike the pre-Operation Lalang 1987 which saw serious racial tension resulting from a sustained and systematic campaign of racial polarization by irresponsible elements.

It is the height of irresponsibility to create a synthetic national crisis when the country is faced with a grave economic crisis and the national focus of the government-of-the-day should be to lead all Malaysians to address the economic crisis.

Abdullah is facing a personal political crisis, as evident from the open call by the Umno Vice President Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yasin on him to step down as Prime Minister earlier than his timeframe of mid-2010 and the support given by Umno Deputy President Datuk Seri Najib Razak to Muhyiddin.

However, Abdullah’s personal political crisis as to whether he would have to step down as Prime Minister much earlier than the June-2010 timeline under his “power transition” plan cannot be made an excuse to create a synthetic crisis to justify the use of draconian laws and powers like the ISA and to engender conditions to stamp out attempts by Umno leaders to bring forward his timetable to relinquish the Prime Minister’s post.

All fair-minded and right-thinking Malaysians, regardless of race, religion or political affiliation, reject the use of ISA for the arrest of RPK, Tan Hoon Cheng and Teresa Kok.

RPK’s writings are open and public. He should be charged in court if he had contravened any laws of the land, affording him the opportunity to defend himself in an open trial. The detention-without-trial ISA should not be used against RPK, as it is not only undemocratic and repressive but a clear case of abuse of power.

The detention of Sin Chew reporter Tan Hoon Cheng has evoked all-round outrage by Malays as well as non-Malays, Muslims and non-Muslims.

Everyone in Malaysia is asking – why Ahmad Ismail, the person who had made the provocative, inflammatory and racist reference to the Chinese in Malaysia is not acted against but the reporter, Tan Hoon Cheng, is detainded under the ISA just for reporting what Ahmad said? What has Malaysia become when the most elementary notions of justice and fair play have become alien ideas to the leaders in government?

Teresa’s ISA detention is most ludicrous. She had been accused by the former Selangor Mentri Besar Khir Toyo of wanting to ban the azan in a certain locality in Selangor, which was played up by Utusan Malaysia. Teresa immediately denied the allegation, which was backed up by the mosque committee concerned and the PAS MP for the area also lodged a police report against Khir for the baseless allegation.

If action should be taken, the person who should be the target should be Khir Toyo. Why was Teresa detained under the ISA?

Last night, Teresa was informed at about nine something that she could be on the blacklist of ISA arrests, with the suggestion she go into hiding. Teresa refused as she believed that there is no reason why she should go into hiding as she had not done anything wrong to the country and she was fully prepared to face any ISA arrest. I am very proud of her. I am reminded of my first ISA arrest in 1969 when some party leaders advised me not to return to Kuala Lumpur from Kota Kinabalu as I was on the ISA blacklist. I refused to run away from the country, as I maintained that when the people was going through their darkest hour, the place for me was in the country with them.

The country has been swirling with speculation as to who else were on the ISA blacklist. Among the names mentioned were the DAP Secretary-General and Penang Chief Minister, Lim Guan Eng and myself.

Teresa has already become the first woman MP to be detained under the ISA. Is Abdullah to create another history by having the first Chief Minister in Malaysia to be detained under the ISA?

I call on Abdullah or the Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar to publicly declare who are on the ISA blacklist to be detained, whether Guan Eng and I are on the list. I will not go into hiding if I am on the list. There is no need for any cat-and-mouse game. Just make it public.

Cabinet Ministers should explain whether the three ISA arrests and action against the three newspapers had received Cabinet approval as Ministers like the Information Minister, Shabery Cik have openly defended the ISA arrest of RPK.

I call on Malaysians to be calm and go about their usual business peacefully and normally. They should not allow themselves to be provoked although there are irresponsible elements who want to engineer another May 13 or another full-scale Ops Lalang.

Malaysia in 2008 is completely different from 1969 when certain elements succeeded in creating a scenario of racial confrontation between the Malays and the Chinese over the May 13 incident. There is no racial confrontation in Malaysia of 2008, as the Pakatan Rakyat comprises all races – Malays, Chinese and Indians – and all religions!

I also want to call on Abdullah to pull back from the precipice of a new Malaysian dark age. Release Teresa, RPK and Tan from ISA immediately and cancel the show cause notice to the three newspapers concerned, or his premiership wll be stained forever by the repression and dark age of 912 – September 12, 2008.

(Media Conference Statement on ISA arrests of Teresa Kok, Raja Petra Kamaruddin and Tan Hoon Cheng held at DAP PJ Hqrs on Saturday, 13th September 2008 at 11.30 am)

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Dr. W on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 7:45 pm

I have a lot of respect for SAPP president Datuk Yong Teck Lee.

For he is a brave man to speak and act for his people in Sabah.

As a contrast, look at the losers from Gerakan and MCA. If AMNO has really been derailed from original belief, then simple, walk away.

Be a man for once.

But of course, these people have too many dirty secrets in AMNO’s hands which complicates the matters.

Face it now if I were you, everything will surface when BN loses power anyway.

2. #2 by gofortruth on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 7:49 pm

“According to Special Branch, Teresa was detained for causing ‘racial tension’, and she is now a “national threat”.
    http://sloone.wordpress.com/2008/09/13/updates-on-isa-arrests/
    ———————
    Toyo started this so called ‘racial tension’ and during the course of YB Teresa Kok’s duty & upon discovering such danger that could cause racial riots, she quickly extinguished the fire together with the help of Islamic authority (mosque). Her action should be highly commended. Istead Syed Hamid turned around and ARRESTED her. What LOGIC?????
    I’m glad MB of Selangor is now taking her case to the Sultan.
    Syed Hamid, when will you stop bullying the helpless rakyat??????

3. #3 by Anak Msia on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 7:58 pm

since when the ISA is for “protecting the safety of someone” ??

i am as blur as the “blur blur” agri tour.

4. #4 by cvl on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:01 pm

To flex the ISA at this juncture of Malaysian politics is one way for AAB to show the real power he can unleash. There the intense pschyop of 916, TDm return, and a pricky need to remind the intactness of the NEP. Flexing the ISA is no doubt a two edge sword at best, but what else can AAB flex that in one go taunts authority?

No one favors the ISA. Not even AAB for the global repurcussions to follow is as sure as the sun rises in the east tomorrow. But AAB has to run the gauntlet of this 916, and he needed body armor.

For all these, I beleive the flexing is now over, 24 hrs after the first one. And there are signs the detention for RPK and Kok could be ended soon enough.

5. #5 by KennyGan on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:18 pm

RPK I can understand but why did the govt choose to show their strength on a petite lady reporter and a lady MP?

If the PM is trying to put some fear into his political enemies (who are from his own party), shouldn’t Ahmad Ismail and Khir Toyo be detained and with good reasons too?

Teresa Kok may be to warn off the opposition from 16/9 but stopping at one doesn’t do the job. A hard working, popular lady MP isn’t the best choice to make an example of. She’s obviously going to get lot’s of sympathy.

Ms Tan was obviously a bad mistake and has been released.

Was it a show of strength but on the wrong victims? Maybe Jeffrey Q.C. can analyze this?

6. #6 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:19 pm

gofortruth Says:

Today at 19: 49.17 (17 minutes ago)

Toyo started this so called ‘racial tension’ and during the course of YB Teresa Kok’s duty & upon discovering such danger that could cause racial riots, she quickly extinguished the fire together with the help of Islamic authority (mosque). Her action should be highly commended. Istead Syed Hamid turned around and ARRESTED her. What LOGIC?????
    I’m glad MB of Selangor is now taking her case to the Sultan.
    Syed Hamid, when will you stop bullying the helpless rakyat??????

Theres no logic within Malaysian Govern this days, anything they do just to protect their own goods, allegedly acused a person without fact and evidence but his sinful act of course.

You Syed hamid you’re disgrace to muslim and you discriminate your own faith for political gain. Shame on you, you should be put inside the bars and burn in hell!

7. #7 by kun9999 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:21 pm

If the police were to protect Teresa Kok, they could have send some unit over to Teresa’s place to protect her instead of detained her forcefully under ISA… where’s the logic?

Is our Agong/Sultans sleeping? Why no word or sound regarding these unlawful arrest from them? Every year we spend so much tax money to pay for the royal family expenses, isn’t this the right time they repay us? Instead of sitting at the palace doing nothing.

8. #8 by alikim on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:29 pm

Let us pray for the release of those who care for the well being of rakyat, and see that justice is done with more drastic punishments to those who turn againt Him and use His name for their selfish ends. Believe in Him and have faith in Him!

9. #9 by LBJ on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:31 pm

I just saw Syed Albar’s press conference on the arrest fof Tan.

It is the most blatant bare face lying I have ever seen. Instead of admitting a mistake, he turned around and gave excuses as reasons that insulted the professionalism of the police as well.

What a good liar!

10. #10 by Hidup Pakatan Rakyat on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:34 pm

Well PR is getting stronger and stronger with the craps happened these days by this Bee Ending who play Bee Ending Movie in Malaysian Block Busterrr Movie ….

PR will continue to arise….to voice the suara rakyat…..

11. #11 by MyFoot on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:35 pm

AAB panicked, and so he made stupid mistakes.
    Syed is a laughing stock. First he arrested someone for threat to national security, next said he did it to protect her. Come on, step down b4 u make more stupid mistake. How can Malaysia has this type of leaders? Shame on Malaysia.

12. #12 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:36 pm

It is an old tool in UMNO’s tool bag.

When everything else fails, stir up racial sentiments on emotional issues. If there is none, create one. Use agent-provocateurs to help create a situation when public order is threatened. Then declare a state of emergency and suspend Parliament. Have the Cabinet replaced by a council to include representatives from the Armed Forces to give a semblance that the country’s public order and national security is under threat.

Round up key politicians and political activists and detain them without charge for as long as possible. Let things simmer down. People forget and life goes back to where it was.

Sounds familiar?

We have passed that! The issue now is what do we do? Do we let them go down the same path as they did once before? Have more petitions signed? Call on the people to remain calm? Do nothing. Malaysians are a patient and docile lot – practical too because when their economic livelihood is threatened, they abandon their struggle for freedom in droves. They rationalise that freedom cannot help feed their families but a stable economy does.

When will we learn as Malaysians that there are certain things in life that matter more than bread and butter?

13. #13 by StevePCH on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:44 pm

The star online published :-

Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid said he did not order the arrests of the three people under the Internal Security Act (ISA.

He said the action was taken by the police themselves under Section 73(1) based on their assessment of the current situation as they had “strong and good reason” to believe that conflict could happen and public order could be jeopardised. ”

Now, isn’t the Home Minister held resposible for actions by police ? I thought the ISA order need to have signature from Home Minister or PM. Correct me if I am wrong ….

Or else, another case of flying kite !!!

14. #14 by MyFoot on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:48 pm

A Malaysian Joke:
    The one who started the fire go away scotch free.
    The one who reported that there was a fire got ISAed.
    It can only happen in Malaysia, i.e. Malaysia Boleh!

15. #15 by fabm on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:50 pm

I find Jeffrey’s speculation on the reason why Anwar is seeking an appointment with the PM most intriguing. Indeed, why should the PM agree to see Anwar?

Could he be the super-mole in BN? :) This would explain all the flip-flops and blunders including the latest ISA detentions which can only facilitate Pakatan’s Sept 16 plan.

Is this the surprise Anwar promised for Sept 16? A bit far-fetched but…:)

16. #16 by StevePCH on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:52 pm

previous blockade of access roadto Parliament now …. aiyah … total failure …. PM mentioned a thorough investigation needed to be done before ISA is executed on them. Now … do you mean you need to arrest all witnesses under ISA to protect them from threats ? I don’t see any logic.
    Khir Toyo’s accusations on the alleged interference by YB Kok on Mosque issue had been denied by the relevent religious authority. Futhermore, it’s a petition on loudness of Azan by residents. Have the police run a detailed investigation ? or simply took the short cut by browsing through Khir’s blog ? Can YB Kok’s lawyer access these details ?

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:53 pm

So far all our criticism has been leveled at Abdullah Badawi as if he alone is responsible. In fact it shows to the contrary i.e. that he is not solely responsible. He is not the main player in a power game fast spinning out of control. He is just a mouthpiece for extremist elements from within his party who are fighting for their survival.

We have known that all along. Why then don’t we use what we know to pitch the two camps against each other and by so doing work to hasten the process i.e. force the hands of these leaders to go for each others jugular.

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:56 pm

“So if Pakatan’s Sept 16 plan would not be deferred what is the reason the PM should grant Anwar an audience? What has Anwar to offer the PM …” Jeffrey

Jeffery has a fertile imagination, given to discussing hypotheticals.

19. #19 by wtf2 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:05 pm

the bodoh sounds like he’s gonna expire soon during the press conference

20. #20 by robert wong on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:08 pm

Couldn’t agree more with undergrade2, the ISA arrests were dupped up with ‘evil-sible hands’ behind the racial issue incited by Ahmad Ismail. An evil agreement was reached by the ‘evil-sible hands’ with Ahmad to blow the racial issue out of proportion and wait for the response and start the rounding-up. Ahmad Ismail is not alone! The whole ‘evil-sible hands’ are behind him to plan the evil deeds !! This is not a simple racial issue , it is a religious war in the making ! YB Teresa Kok , the almighty GOD is with you.

21. #21 by cheng on on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:13 pm

Want a stable growing economy?
    That stable growing economy needs to be continually well planned, budgeted, built up, maintained, with the helps of all rakyats, sufficient well qualified personnels and foreign investors too! Fair, just, transparent laws must be there too! There are other needs too!
    Can the present gomen provide all these??
    If gomen need to protect a person, need to take her from bukit mertajam to bukit aman? can’t protect her in bukit mertajam meh?

22. #22 by HB Lim on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:23 pm

To shamsul anuar and zak_hammaad, I reproduce here my thoughts earlier posted in another thread in this blog in reply to zak_hammaad -

zak_hammaad, don’t thank me. I only agreed with you that there need to be changes and there are many ways to effect them, some smooth and others reckless. But I do not agree with your other views especially when you argue in favour of RPK’s arrest, saying that he has insulted Islam and that his arrest is not political. You have an impeccable command of English and therefore I think you are a smart person and I hope you understand this message and take it in a right spirit.

Assuming that RPK has insulted Islam, which I do not agree as I have read and re-read his allegedly offending articles and did not find those offending, my view is that the most important message or teaching in any religion or of God is humility. To be truly humble is to be truly great. Vice versa, to be great is to be humble. God has always ask us to be humble and to forgive in the face of criticisms and insult. I am a Christian and I speak from the Christian perspective but I think that perspective is shared by Islam. Jesus was persecuted, tortured and hanged. And his last words about his persecutors were, “Father, forgive them for they know not what they are doing”. I believe your God also asks you to be humble and to be forgiving. Would you say that He would be angry or take offence when insulted and ask or allow you or His believers to arrest or punish the person who allegedly insulted Him? Would you make Him lesser than His teaching?

I believe in the Greatness of your God. I believe in the Great Mercy of your God. I believe He wants you also to be humble so as to be great, to forgive so as to be merciful. I don’t think a Great Wise Merciful God would sanction the incarceration and punishment of anyone who may seem to have insulted Him. Being merciful, He would say “Forgive him for he does not know what he is saying” and He would find ways to bring that offender back to Him in His own Merciful way for I think the greatest happiness for God would be the salvation of a soul, for another “sinner” to have come back to Him.

We mortals have no right to pass a religious judgment on another for we are all sinners in our own ways, sins being just a matter of degree, and while we can try to convince, persuade and cajol a fellow brother to go back to the ways of God, all matters of religion should be left to God and that man. I do not think that God is so helpless that He requires mortals to protect Him and His teachings. Because He is God and we mere mortals, He will protect us and preserve His teachings forever and ever. We mortals would be most offensive to Him if we start to play God.

Understood? This is only a personal opinion and should not be taken to be an insult to you or your God. I respect Islam and your right to believe in Islam. Let that be very clear. Having said that, I think most right thinking Malaysians have no problems with the true teachings of Islam which is one of the greatest and perhaps the most popular religion of the world. Only some God-playing mortals have put Islam in a bad light and that is not only truly regrettable and definitely painful to God but has the even more regrettable effect or result of making many shy away from Islam. Would not that be more offensive and insulting to your God?

My view is that RPK has been arrested for a political reason for he is one of the greatest factor in the sinking of UMNO but a religious reason was put forth as an aberration to hide the real reason and to appease or to hookwink the Malay Muslims or to provide a more noble justification to incarcerate him. This is cowardice at its best.

I think the greatest mistake of the UMNO mad leaders is that they think we Malaysians, Malays or not, are stupid. They think they can lie to all or most of the people all the time and still be victorious. They think the the country belongs to them. They think that they can get away with any atrocities. They think that they and only they are capable of managing this country.

zak_hammaad, you and I know it is time we stop these bandits from further sending us and our country to hell. I truly hope and pray that your God will touch you so that you will be humbled to acknowledge the Truth and condemn, reject and eject the totally corrupted ones for the sake of our common destiny.

23. #23 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:30 pm

//Jeffery has a fertile imagination, given to discussing hypotheticals// – Undergrad2.

Agreed. There is congruence of motives between 2 who love the PM’s post: one want to stay until 2010 which his own warlords now change the sucession time table and want to push him out ; the other wants to be a PM anyway so waiting till 2010 as DPM like Najib pulling the strings from behind is no beef.

Ultimately from rakyat’s point of view, the ideological axis/line is drawn between those those who push for reform and those from reactionary camp in UMNO defending the old order. The latter is still puppeteered by ex premier TDM out to evict present one. The present one though not walking the talk, is at least ‘renowned’ for talking about reform, which as to why he could not walk it can at least plead excuse that he was surrounded and overwhelmed by reactionary camp around him. At least intentionally or otherwise he facilitated the implosion of UMNO and delivered to Opposition a less formidable BN with less than 2/3 didn’t he???

So there is congruence of objectives between the two men as they looked across the aisle in Parliament (recently) and smiled. Don’t forget Anwar still owed him (1) for not interferiing in his sodomy appeal, which secured his acquittal;(2) when war lords wanted to arrest him (in first round) where he had to seek refuge in Turkish embassy, it was Pak Lah that gave him public assurance of safety (after Azizah went to Putera Jaya) for him to come out.

Who gave him passport (if it wasn’t SIL) (who according to rumour in grapevine – don’t know true or not – nearly became Anwar’s SIL had circumstances been otherwise) ??? :)

Isn’t it true that Anwar seldom attack the PM???

24. #24 by Loh on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:31 pm

///Home Minister Syed Hamid Albar has implied that Sin Chew Daily reporter Tan Hoon Cheng was also to be blamed for the public furore over the ‘Chinese squatter’ remark. ///—Malaysiakini

Yes, the reporter should not have made factual reporting. She should know that when UMNO members violated the law, all those facts that would point to their action should not be reported. Tan has not known that UMNO members not only were allowed to break the law, they must be protected from having those information leaked to the public, and in the papers. That is the only explanation for Syed Hamid to justify his blame on Tan.

25. #25 by ktteokt on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:46 pm

Since when is ISA used to “protect” the innocent citizens in Malaysia????

26. #26 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:49 pm

“I believe in the Greatness of your God. I believe in the Great Mercy of your God. ” HB Lim

Your God?? I’m sorry but are you saying here that there are more than one God?? Is there one for the Muslims and one for each of the other religions?

Don’t you think that it is a little too crowded?

27. #27 by ktteokt on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:50 pm

Mongrels will always remain mongrels. How can they be upgraded to pedigree!

28. #28 by sungaisiput on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:50 pm

http://www.petitiononline.com/mod_perl/signed.cgi?6ai18u26 …..please support the petition to the king for a better and free judicary.

29. #29 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:50 pm

ktteokt Says:

Today at 21: 46.08 (2 minutes ago)
    Since when is ISA used to “protect” the innocent citizens ..”

We are all sinners and we need the ISA to protect us from ourselves?

30. #30 by ktteokt on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:52 pm

Of course that is the case, undergrad2, as long as BN maintains everyone is guilty until proven innocent as opposed to the norm. Chinese call this “eating shit and excreting rice”!

31. #31 by HB Lim on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:02 pm

Undergraduate,

There is only one true God and that is my God (of course!) but we don’t want to get into that argument and that was why I specifically say “Your God” to distinguish “your God” from mine who is the only true God. To me and it is strictly my personal belief and I do not mean to insult or belittle anyone or any beliefs, all other “gods” are imitations, some good imitation, some bad. I can only try to convince others to believe in my God but I respect what they believe in in the meantime. So far as humility and forgiveness is concerned, I believe Islam does not differ from Christianity. That is really the whole point as it relates to this thread and the arrest of RPK. Cheers!

32. #32 by wasted on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:06 pm

We are in age of despair and turmoil. Are we not civilised enough to realize what is going on? As ciitizens, we are now confused, no more RACIAL HARMONY and divided.

Lead by predictable and questionable government leaders. Are we ready to sit down and have an open discussion to resolve our own affairs?

33. #33 by justice_fighter on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:13 pm

Bodohwi
    You are truly a disgrace to the country!!!
    All my friends and family members are so DISGUSTED by you!!

34. #34 by JeyS on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:15 pm

Well said HBLim, you have written what i was thinking about too.

Hopefully people esp Zak understands that. No offense to any religion. We are human 1st….then we were clothed with religion and race. We have far forgotten whats human nature..to be humble and forgiving…

35. #35 by baochingtian on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:15 pm

Anybody say something bad about a person, and the person is under arrest. You don’t need proof, u can get a person in detention, i.c……

36. #36 by Tulip Crescent on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:16 pm

May 13 was as synthethic as they come. So was Operation Lalang.

Both were engineered. Work the situation to a fever-pitch situation and then invoke the ISA. Then you have the release, almost cathartic. That’s old stuff.

So what’s new? The situation is new. It has changed. Malaysians today are no longer fearful.

How many hundreds and how many thousands can they arrest? Millions? Can they feed all or will it be a frenzt of custodial violence.

Other nation-states are watching. Can they afford such an intemperate indulgence?

The rakyat on the ground are interacting harmoniously. It is certain hounds in Umno that have gone mad. Malaysians will never buy into their process.

We only see one Malaysian insulting many Mamaysians. And that Malaysian is probably kurang ajar.

37. #37 by Capt George on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:20 pm

Make way you people, DPM starting his campaign a little earlier
    “Muslims must be fair to all races “I promise to discharge my duties and responsibilities as the MP of Pekan to the best of my ability.”
    “This is my pledge and I hope to receive strong support from the people of all races,” he said.

If you support DPM to become PM, he’ll become a fair PM. Overnight, he becomes your Savior, an Angel (with retratable horns).

A little too late for showing humility, but too early for campaign to garner support to become PM, don’t you think so? Not judging though, but fruits from the same tree cannot bear different kind of fruits. The whole tree have to go.

38. #38 by JeyS on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:36 pm

DPM….noway man! He is the sly fox…..

LOL….Rosmy must have been doing overtime with Ji..LOL

39. #39 by melurian on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:36 pm

you know who syed albar is ? he is the son of former sec-gen who wished to put lky (not gerakan but the pap one) in isa, and his father who hailed from indon if succeeded in this, there won’t be sgpura today. too bad that time home minister is tun ismail instead.

back to present, the son surpassed the father, he has the POWER to launch ISA, and I knew this will be coming…… and what can u ppl do other than holding candle lights (in the midst of tanglung festival somemore)…

40. #40 by ngahc on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:55 pm

“giving protection” sounds much better than “teach you a lesson for reporting the truth” or “discipline you with ISA so that other reporters would be afraid”. Come on. We are not stupid.

41. #41 by Dr. W on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:58 pm

Yes, I know syed hamid albar.

He is one of the most arrogant UMNO scum I have ever witnessed, not even the PM has displayed such arrogance in public.

ISA is meant to be used against such individual and certainly not RPK, not Teresa and not ms Tan.

HELL NO!

42. #42 by alancheah on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:59 pm

only the 2nd Tsunami can help change this country!
    916….. Many are eagerly waiting for you to come!

God Bless!

43. #43 by yhsiew on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:08 pm

Ahmad Ismail’s life is being threatened as well. If Syed Hamid could provide protection to Sin Chew Daily reporter Tan Hoon Cheng, he must not DISCRIMINATE against Ahmad Ismail; he must also provide the same kind of protection for Ahmad Ismail, i.e. lock him up for a day under ISA.

44. #44 by HB Lim on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:18 pm

Jeffrey said that all strategies etc against Cavemen would ultimately depend on the final thrust which is the carrying out of the 916 plan. I cannot agree more. He said -

“This means everything hinges on DSAI whether he is good for his word on 9/16! RPK banks on this promise! The dragnet is a golden opportunity to bolster his crossover plan, if real. Otherwise, if its bluff on his part, then the BN would have by dragnet called the bluff and the game is over.”

We have been persuaded, led-on, encouraged, emboldened and consoled by the 916 “promise”. The Titanic is sinking, let’s be brave and rejoice…that is the message. But is the 916 plan real?? I have said my piece in other threads in this blog and I say it again here that if Anwar is just playing a game with us as the pawns or stakes and if he loses the gamble, we will indeed suffer like hell. In fact, we are already suffering in many ways as a result of UMNO focussing more on the Anwar threat and its internal problems and practically neglecting the business of governing the nation.

If the plan is real and Anwar has the numbers, then what YB Lim should tell us is to be quiet and be patient and that it is only matter of a couple of days before an audience can be had before the Agung to effect a change of government. I fear that by asking us to gather in numbers for a candlelight virgil, the Cavemen may use that opportunity to create a reason to swing their clubs again. And what is the point of taking a risk if the big change that will reverse all atrocities, as promised and which is real and not merely a gamble or a bluff, is just a few days away?

If the 916 plan is more of a gamble or bluff , it would be a travesty of justice to the people who have being encouraged by, voted for and supported Anwar. If Cavemen find that the PR are not as strong as they claim to be, they will likely be decimated before the next GE because the Cavemen have all the big clubs to hammer them. But if the PR instead of trumpeting a change of Federal government had been building up their strength slowly and peacefully but visibly in the 5 states that they now have, they would definitely have it easy in the next GE.

Whatever it is, if Anwar indeed has the numbers, please go ahead with your plan as quickly as possible.

In the political development in the last few months, the role of the sacrosanct Institution of the Rulers has become very crucial, more than ever in our constitutional history. Ultimately, whether to effect a change of government or to declare an emergency, the Rulers have a say. To me, unless we have despotic Rulers, it is good to have the Institution of the Rulers as another real, significant, meaningful and effective constitutional institution. Thus far, especially since Mahathir’s tirade and attack against the monarchy in the 80’s, the Rulers’ role have just been ceremonial.

Back to the Cavemen who have been swinging their clubs the last couple of days, who is the chief among them? Many have criticised AAB but I tend to think that AAB is not the principal person. AAB has lost control of UMNO and whether he succeeds against Anwar or not is irrelevant to him – he is politically dead anyway with the implosion within UMNO. The burial is just a matter of time. If I were him, since my political life is as good as over, I would want to be remembered as the PM who saved Malaysia from UMNO by leading the exodus and walking across and joined the PR. But that is just my thought. That way he may end up in Malaysian history as the most famous PM Malaysia ever had instead of being the weakest and most useless.

The chief Caveman is the one who has everything to lose if Anwar succeeds in his 916 plan. That leaves Najib and Mahathir. I think Mahathir is more motivated by the personal agenda of preventing Anwar from rising to become PM. The reasons are obvious – Anwar’s success would mean that the old man had been wrong all this while and if Anwar becomes the PM, the old man would feel at least embarrassment and discomfort all around.

To my mind, as a conclusion, the real culprit and the Chief Caveman is Najib. And his nemesis is RPK who has probably done more harm to Najib than anyone else. RPK has vowed to do anything to prevent Najib from being PM and RPK’s words cannot be taken lightly at all for obvious reasons.

Now that he is so close to become the PM, Najib would not want anything or anyone to spoil his chances of becoming PM or taint his character and reputation after he has become PM. RPK is the man who could do the biggest damage and in all likelihood, RPK has more than we know to completely annihilate Najib. That probably answers Jeffrey’s questions why the police had to ransack RPK’s house when the charge is related to insulting Islam and all the evidence for that is already in the two allegedly insulting articles already freely available in blogsphere.

The prize is the top post in the nation and no price is too high to stop anything or anyone from him getting that prize. So, Najib is on a mad mission to eradicate all adverse evidence against him which are in the possession of RPK. If he has his ways, he will lock up RPK at his pleasure and keep him incommunicado so that he can do no further harm.

But the Chief Caveman has to face many factions even within the confines of his cave. There is a more senior but weak Caveman in the form of AAB who has been helping Chief Caveman by making sure that the lid to the barrel that contains all the shit about Chief Caveman is not opened on condition that Chief Caveman remains loyal but that loyalty is waning and Senior Caveman may not want now to protect him anymore. Chief Caveman has also other competitors for that top prize to contend with.

I think with a little more saucy evidence against Chief Caveman, the internal squabbles within the UMNO cavemen would lead to them burning or exploding their own cave. When that happens, the minions and the stray hyenas hanging outside the cave waiting for favours and crumbs would run asunder like ants running about when you disturb their network. Probably they would run to the PR but that entails a difficult philosophical or moral issue – do we take in shit into our fold and make it stink? The PR has to pick and choose the good ones.

Hence, I think in the final analysis a dissolution of Parliament will happen and a new GE called either by AAB himself or by a vote of no confidence or whatever. The role of the Rulers would come sharply into focus. There has to be a caretaker government pending the GE and that would probably fall into the hands of a loose coalition between PR and some of those minions and stray hyenas led by probably Anwar.

Would PR win Federal Government in a new GE? That is another story but I think UMNO would have been so weakened that it would be many years, like the Kuomintang in Taiwan, before it can be a force to be reckoned with again. As a result, the BN as a whole would have been so badly battled and demoralised that the only fight would be between a big and well organised PR and some mosquito parties. At some point, PAS would probably opt out of the PR and be on their own again. The politics of Malaysia would then move on from one which is race-based to one which is religion-based. Within the Muslims, it would be a battle between Modern and Fundamental Islam and within the different races, merit-based and needs-based policies would take root and flourish. Ultimately, like the rest of the world, religion would be the divisive factor. Good or bad? I don’t know but that is how I foresee the development of Malaysian politics.

As for Theresa and RPK, I think their incarceration would not be long. Once UMNO implodes, it will be over. Earlier still if Anwar has a real 916 plan.

45. #45 by sean on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:18 pm

Sin chew daily as a responsible employer….should mount a legal action against the government FOR humiliating the journalist whom was only performing her work as a journalist professionally.
    Damn the govt..for being a coward……like a cantonese saying “yau lei kong mou lei kong”….everything they say is right and what we say is wrong……
    So……this syed guy is trying to be smart but in a stupid way afterall.
    Wonder if the nose gets longer for each statement he made.
    Please release Rpk and Teresa Immediately……this message are targeted to the MPs of BN still with any conscience left.Need to pressure your rotten govt.Am sure you wouldn’t want your children to live in a country of lawlessness.Do..the right thing all BN MPs now or never.

46. #46 by scorpian6666 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:19 pm

an attempt to make ABc look stupid for an early shift of power ??

Hope all journalist have their audio and video recording devices on at all times, not to proof to the police since they do not seem to have brains on their own, but for a new Malaysia Make “Candy-camera” TV series!

At least we could have a good laugh over our cup of coffee after a day’s hard work.

Dont forget to pay your taxes so they could at least live a life if not like Michael Jackson, at least like Mr.Bean to keep the show going…..50 yrs and still going strong…..

What a JokE!

Now at least our “uneducated farmers, Naive fishermen, know nothing at all laymen” woke up and realised they are not that stupid afterall and those up there are nothing more than a bag of shit.

What more, they have to go to Taiwan to learn how to use their shits to make their plants taste better. Hope when they came back, they would trade their seats with our farmers. We may have a Better Malaysia.

47. #47 by lopez on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:30 pm

Now common fellas, who is the smart alec who said that the dead called up and complained that they were being disturbed.

And who is that smart alec that misuse the nation time, money resources and sympathy that others had done wrong to them and caused them to be backward and needed the tongkat and most absurdly that others had to appease them when everything they did became wrong including anything they ever attempted to do and anything else never tried yet.

What a loser and we are fortunate to have met them so we know what weakness can do.

48. #48 by wasted on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:35 pm

My heart bleeds for Malaysia, a place I used to worship and so proud to be called a Malaysian but now in doubt of what holds for us and our future generations. No wonder why so many doctors I know, have already migrated elsewhere.

I was joking and laugh at our own government and polical situation but being a minority race, telling myself like others that it does not affect us, but it does! We are so used to working extra hard and knowing that we do not have the same privileges as other Malaysians (A racist remark?) Do we still just take this as, don’t worry, let our leaders do their job???? We are going to be alright. No need to stock up food, start thinking ways how to defend ourselves when the inevitable arrives?

I loved my Tanah Air without ever thinking twice and truly fortunate we do not have much natural disasters and bitter incidents. Being in the industrial sector, I have always mentioned to foreign visitors how proud of what we our forefathers and people of Malaysia we have achieved, speak fluently at least 3 languages and stood up high to the rest of the world, in Badminton, Squash, the Twin Towers, Proton (Yes, no matter what, we exceeded our expectations), the best highways, Malaysia, we live in our mother land without color or creed ( Something I learn as a Scout) to name a few…… We have seen what other neighboring countries are going thru now, Thailand, Myanmar, Philippines etc. Nah, we won’t be like them, why?

Simple, because we are not a one race country! We are Multiracial!!!!

Here I am wondering whether I can once again call Malaysia, my HOME………….

Can anyone shed some light here, isn’t this sad ?????

49. #49 by voice on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:51 pm

Yes, stop attacking pak lah, TDM is returning to umno, muhyddin no longer support pak lah, najib is turning his head (or exposing his real face), all these happen just right before 916, while pak lah trying to hand over the administration to the opposition, if najib become the PM, it certainly won’t be a good thing for the rakyat, with the weakening economy.
    I don’t know much about the past history in the politic, the past when anwar was still in the government, how is the relationship between him and pak lah, it will be good if anyone can tell me.

50. #50 by sA1nT_Jam3s on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:58 pm

dont despair

Look beyond the issues that have been discolored by race,
    look beyond the issues that have been disfigured and dismembered by greed,
    look beyond the current politicians so consumed by the opiate of power
    look beyond…together as malaysians

we are together as one nation to forge our destiny
    one of brilliance

The truth and righteous will set us free!

Comments are closed.