Abdullah – release Teresa, RPK, Tan and withdraw from precipice of new Malaysian dark age

Part 2 – LKS
Part 3 – LKS
Part 4 – Q and A
Part 5 – Teresa’s parent
Part 6 – Dr Hatta

DAP leaders, MPs and State Assembly representatives are gathered in this media conference, together with the parents of Teresa Kok, DAP National Organising Secretary, Selangor Senior Exco Member and MP for Seputeh, to condemn in the strongest possible terms the arrest under the Internal Security Act (ISA) of Teresa, Raja Petra Kamaruddin and the senior Sin Chew Daily reporter Tan Hoon Cheng.

We deplore these ISA arrest and attacks on the media and the blogosphere which also constitute a violation of the Multimedia Super Corridor Bill of Guarantees of no Internet censorship, as the ISA detention of the RPK, the live wire of Malaysia Today news portal, is as good as Internet censorship despite formal government unblocking of the news portal.

Instead of a 916 “sky change” or “political change”, the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has orchestrated a 912 “sky-change” of his own, with the ISA arrests and threats to the media and the blogosphere, marking the failure of his premiership to usher in a more open, accountable and democratic administration.

It shows how little things have changed in his five years as Prime Minister – with hardly any structural and institutional reforms or changes as all the repressive laws and institutions have remained intact, just kept in abeyance awaiting to be reactivated, as has happened!

The former Prime Minister, Dr. Mahathir Mohamad took more than six years to abandon his “ABC” (clean, trustworthy and efficient) façade with the 1987 Ops Lalang, putting 106 people under ISA and closing three newspapers.

However, Abdullah took less than five years since becoming Prime Minister to show his face of repression by initiating the current crackdown, up-to-now a mini-Ops Lalang with three ISA arrests and against three newspapers.

This 2008 mini-Ops Lalang is completely unjustified and unacceptable for two reasons:

(i) going against Abdullah’s 2004 general election landslide mandate based on his reform pledges and undertaking to break from the Mahathir past of repressive rule; and

(ii) a totally synthetic crisis arising from gross misgovernance, as there is no national crisis, no racial tension or religious strain unlike the pre-Operation Lalang 1987 which saw serious racial tension resulting from a sustained and systematic campaign of racial polarization by irresponsible elements.

It is the height of irresponsibility to create a synthetic national crisis when the country is faced with a grave economic crisis and the national focus of the government-of-the-day should be to lead all Malaysians to address the economic crisis.

Abdullah is facing a personal political crisis, as evident from the open call by the Umno Vice President Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yasin on him to step down as Prime Minister earlier than his timeframe of mid-2010 and the support given by Umno Deputy President Datuk Seri Najib Razak to Muhyiddin.

However, Abdullah’s personal political crisis as to whether he would have to step down as Prime Minister much earlier than the June-2010 timeline under his “power transition” plan cannot be made an excuse to create a synthetic crisis to justify the use of draconian laws and powers like the ISA and to engender conditions to stamp out attempts by Umno leaders to bring forward his timetable to relinquish the Prime Minister’s post.

All fair-minded and right-thinking Malaysians, regardless of race, religion or political affiliation, reject the use of ISA for the arrest of RPK, Tan Hoon Cheng and Teresa Kok.

RPK’s writings are open and public. He should be charged in court if he had contravened any laws of the land, affording him the opportunity to defend himself in an open trial. The detention-without-trial ISA should not be used against RPK, as it is not only undemocratic and repressive but a clear case of abuse of power.

The detention of Sin Chew reporter Tan Hoon Cheng has evoked all-round outrage by Malays as well as non-Malays, Muslims and non-Muslims.

Everyone in Malaysia is asking – why Ahmad Ismail, the person who had made the provocative, inflammatory and racist reference to the Chinese in Malaysia is not acted against but the reporter, Tan Hoon Cheng, is detainded under the ISA just for reporting what Ahmad said? What has Malaysia become when the most elementary notions of justice and fair play have become alien ideas to the leaders in government?

Teresa’s ISA detention is most ludicrous. She had been accused by the former Selangor Mentri Besar Khir Toyo of wanting to ban the azan in a certain locality in Selangor, which was played up by Utusan Malaysia. Teresa immediately denied the allegation, which was backed up by the mosque committee concerned and the PAS MP for the area also lodged a police report against Khir for the baseless allegation.

If action should be taken, the person who should be the target should be Khir Toyo. Why was Teresa detained under the ISA?

Last night, Teresa was informed at about nine something that she could be on the blacklist of ISA arrests, with the suggestion she go into hiding. Teresa refused as she believed that there is no reason why she should go into hiding as she had not done anything wrong to the country and she was fully prepared to face any ISA arrest. I am very proud of her. I am reminded of my first ISA arrest in 1969 when some party leaders advised me not to return to Kuala Lumpur from Kota Kinabalu as I was on the ISA blacklist. I refused to run away from the country, as I maintained that when the people was going through their darkest hour, the place for me was in the country with them.

The country has been swirling with speculation as to who else were on the ISA blacklist. Among the names mentioned were the DAP Secretary-General and Penang Chief Minister, Lim Guan Eng and myself.

Teresa has already become the first woman MP to be detained under the ISA. Is Abdullah to create another history by having the first Chief Minister in Malaysia to be detained under the ISA?

I call on Abdullah or the Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar to publicly declare who are on the ISA blacklist to be detained, whether Guan Eng and I are on the list. I will not go into hiding if I am on the list. There is no need for any cat-and-mouse game. Just make it public.

Cabinet Ministers should explain whether the three ISA arrests and action against the three newspapers had received Cabinet approval as Ministers like the Information Minister, Shabery Cik have openly defended the ISA arrest of RPK.

I call on Malaysians to be calm and go about their usual business peacefully and normally. They should not allow themselves to be provoked although there are irresponsible elements who want to engineer another May 13 or another full-scale Ops Lalang.

Malaysia in 2008 is completely different from 1969 when certain elements succeeded in creating a scenario of racial confrontation between the Malays and the Chinese over the May 13 incident. There is no racial confrontation in Malaysia of 2008, as the Pakatan Rakyat comprises all races – Malays, Chinese and Indians – and all religions!

I also want to call on Abdullah to pull back from the precipice of a new Malaysian dark age. Release Teresa, RPK and Tan from ISA immediately and cancel the show cause notice to the three newspapers concerned, or his premiership wll be stained forever by the repression and dark age of 912 – September 12, 2008.

(Media Conference Statement on ISA arrests of Teresa Kok, Raja Petra Kamaruddin and Tan Hoon Cheng held at DAP PJ Hqrs on Saturday, 13th September 2008 at 11.30 am)

Print Friendly

1. #1 by gmie9502 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 3:26 pm

uncle kit

takpe….bebanyak bersabor
    lagi mereka guna ISA, lagi cepat mereka tumbang

refomasi………..

2. #2 by Aman_Peace_PingAn on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 3:26 pm

check this out… e-mail to me from a friend
    Hi there,

Re: recent ISA arrests, we need to calm fears, discourage violence and beware of the play on race & religion.

There will be a CANDLE-LIGHT VIGIL tonight (13th) 8.30pm at Bukit Aman Come and show solidarity to those detained, as well to make a stand against the draconian ISA. This is organised by GMI (Gerakan Mansur ISA) with the support of NGOs. Call me for an alternative venue if the roads are blocked (0126120177).

On Monday 15th nite, there will another gathering at the Kelana Jaya Stadium. This was planned earlier by the Selangor State Government to celebrate Sabah + Sarawak Merdeka day, but now also to show solidarity to those detained.

If you can’t make it, lit a candle, or better still light a lantern (festival 2moro) and say a prayer for the detainees and their loved ones, for our beloved country.

Soo Choo

3. #3 by bolehlandor on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 3:32 pm

This is the start of a most distressing and disturbing dark age in this country. Black is white & white is black now as declared by the government. All criminals in the prisons should be set free as they are not responsible for the crimes that they have committed. It is the victims that caused these criminals to do so by being the victims. Get rid of all victims then there will be no criminals.

Long live Bolehland logic in the 21st century!!!

4. #4 by Aman_Peace_PingAn on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 3:36 pm

Kit
    WE need to let all Malaysians know what is actually happening…
    We all need to let the world know what is happening…
    We need internal & external pressure to “force” the despotic govt release the ISA detainees…

I don’t know how… but I hope you and the leaders in PR whom we elected have the networks…

Please help restore our country…

Our ASEAN neighbour, our Asian counterparts, our friends in UN, and the world at large need to see how desperate people who want to flex muscle within their own party to gain support are willing to put the whole country through chaos…

We are pushed back into dark ages…

We need help… inside out…
    We need change… all over the country…
    The whole nation cannot be silent anymore…
    The silent majority must speak…

The arrests under ISA is not for the benefit of the majority…
    It is a sandiwara… tunjuk “TERROR” among the UMNO leaders to gain support from thier own grassroot…

Kit, we need help…
    We hope that you and your PR colleagues will send these through the network and restore our country’s dignity…

5. #5 by yhsiew on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 3:40 pm

Petition the US to impose sanctions on Abdullah and Hamid.

6. #6 by vincent on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 3:42 pm

BRAVE / SMART WARRIORS FROM DAP but tikus from umno.

7. #7 by vchi on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 3:54 pm

What a brave lady Teresa is!

You have fought for us, and we will fight for you now!

Candlelight vigil for Teresa Kok tonight 19:00hr at DAP PJ HQ. Female comrades are requested to wear DAP t-shirts. Public is welcome. Please pass the word around. No 24, Jalan 20/9, Paramount Garden, 46300, Petaling Jaya, Selangor. Tel: +603-79578022/79578127

8. #8 by chai on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 3:55 pm

BN government really make people angry and disappointed, we can not use PAK LAH as our PM right now!!!! kick him out!!! sincerely hope that 16th sept will ‘sky change’……let pak lah, syed hamid, thir toyo, ahmad ismail go into jail as they make social nervous and unstable.

9. #9 by WorldToday on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 3:56 pm

Well,i am not suprised.

You guys must accept that the fact is like how North Korea have Kim Jong’s,in Malaysia it’s our UMNO leaders.I watched a documentation about North Korea where if you don’t bound or resist the great dictator,your whole family will end up in a place called Camp 21.Here it’s ISA (well 1 day our UMNO’s will introduce the same rule anyway..).I am really suprised when the person who made racist remarks walk away with 3 years suspension while the one who wrote the truth end up in ISA.So how can Syed Hamid Albar said god sake it’s for our Homeland security?I bet he learned that from Ruwanda,Congo and definitely from our ex-PM’s very best friend from Zimbabwe.

10. #10 by winsoontan on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 3:56 pm

Why misuse the power ? Why catch the innocent people?

11. #11 by winsoontan on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 3:57 pm

MCA should say something, Tan Lian Hua (Gerakan ) should say something! Dont keep quiet there! All Malaysian watching at you!

12. #12 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:00 pm

in the 70′s, we always heard about James Wong, the then opposition leader in Sarawak, who was jailed under ISA. I don’t know how many years was he in prison until he joined the corrupted government. But his SNAP was divided and subdivided until he was dumped by BN.

i afraid mahathir may become not as bad person if abdullah kept exercising unlawful action toward innocent people in earning himself the worst prime minister in the history. malaysians of different races and religions are really mad at him and the government, as well as the police.

13. #13 by WorldToday on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:01 pm

Oops…sorry..correction..

It’s Rwanda.

14. #14 by gofortruth on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:06 pm

Just heard that the reporter is released.
    http://anilnetto.com/uncategorized/sin-chew-reporter-released/
    —————-
    Apart from the candle vigil for YB Kok, it is so clear that it was UMNO’s Toyol who started the “mosque” issue that could cause public disorder. If left uncorrected it may well have led so. It was YB Kok’s wisdom that quickly came to dufuse the situation and the “mosque” people also came out to clarify and hence defused the dangerous remark that was made by that irresponsible UMNO guy. Malaysians have alot to thank YB Kok.

Imagine someone digs a big hole in the highway to cause harm to motorists and YB Kok discovered the danger and sounded the alarm to inform travellers. Instead of thanking her for saving needless lost of lives the authority put her into jail while the digger remains at large. What logic is this????

PAS & Islamic community should lodge police reports against the government for this ruthless, mindless, a real cause of public disorder act.

Justice must be returned to YB Kok immediately!!!!

15. #15 by winsoontan on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:09 pm

PM really want to listen the true or fact?

16. #16 by nyghtsky on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:14 pm

Light a candle at your gate tonight as a sign of support for those who have been unjustly prosecuted!

17. #17 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:15 pm

I checked the BLOOMSBURY and the OXFORD dictionaries again to see if I had got the meaning of the word “amok” right before I use it.

I can now confirm that it would be apt to say that UMNO has gone amok with the ISA arrests. It’s simply brainless!

18. #18 by Aman_Peace_PingAn on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:16 pm

Sin Chew Daily News reporter Tan Hoon Cheng, who was arrested under the Internal Security Act 1960, maybe released as soon as Saturday, said Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar.

He said Tan was detained under Section 73(1) of the Act in order to ensure her safety as police intelligence indicated that there were threats to her life after she reported on Bukit Bendera division Umno chairman Datuk Ahmad Ismail’s allegedly racist remarks.

“We have no intention of holding a reporter as after all she was just taking notes of the comments made by a certain party that led to a public debate.

We need to continue applying the pressure to get them all released…

Whatever rots the Home minister says, we don’t care…

First goal, apply PRESSURE… APPLY PRESSURE…
    Get them released first…

The we can fire endless salvo in reply to their rotten excuses…

What the Home Minster says don’t make sense…
    If there are threats towards Ms Tan, then they should neutralise the threats… not Ms Tan… (WHAT LOGIC?)

But never mind… APPLY PRESSURE… from within the country and with the help of the world community…
    GET THEM OUT FIRST….

I was a silent & timid Malaysian…
    But was angered and outraged to the point that I now dare to write in and also sign the petition…

AMAN

19. #19 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:16 pm

OMG AAB you more Sinister than you look…

I will share my blood in vain to protect my beloved leaders, they’re my hero the nation heroes and OUR MALAYSIAN FUTURE.

WE should not let this happen to them they dont deserve this sarcastic goverment who LOCK THEM BEHIND BARS instead this Criminals should be the UMNOputras themselve.

http://www.petitiononline.com/mod_perl/signed.cgi?6ai18u26

Dont let it slow down, continue our effords in here…
    Its our only hope!

20. #20 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:16 pm

Besides, some politicians like Ahmad and others think that ‘going amok’ is a nice brand name for UMNO. So they brandish that brand from time to time to strike terror in people.

Malaysians should never allow brainless criminals in UMNO to take over the country.

21. #21 by mmc2008 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:16 pm

I am very sad and disappointed with what the government has been doing so far! Like you said, they are trying to create another May 13 1969. We are already mature and will deal with the situation calmly. Why all this brain drain, as all the capable persons all migrate to overseas in view of this hopeless government. I too has this idea of finding a greener pasture/another country to migrate in this morning. I have totally disappointed with our government, what is the future of our children? We are in Africa, under Apartheid law? I really hope that there is a change of everything and truly hope that 916 will happen. We badly need a change, a big cleanups of all the bad apples and to have a better future. We are Malaysian and should enjoy every right to be a citizen and we should teach our children what is right and what is wrong, but with current situation, the government is confusing the people. The person who does wrong will get away and the person who is performing his/her responsibilty will be penalised. Moreover, the matter will again depend on what skin color are you and which party are you from! I am thinking that Malaysia has become a gangster country whereby you have to play by the rules of the head of the gangster and whoever the head do not like, will be penalised by any ways! Wake up, our leaders!! “Tuhan ada mata”! I believe in cause and effect!! I will pray hard that the CHANGE will materialise VERY SOON!!! We are all watching and we know who is doing the right thing and who is not!

22. #22 by ALLAN THAM on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:17 pm

ABB administration has put its final four nails into its political coffin by the arresting of the SIN Chew reporter. No a single right thinking will be able to reconcile this action. We fell sad and we feel totally shame by such an action. ABB’s administration is setting the racial trap to create uneasiness in the country to keep it political life. Let all Malaysian do not fall into this dirtiest political trap in this world. We must focus on what is the right agenda to fight for our right for all Malaysian. At this difficult time that not only faced by our country and the recession is real through the world let us keep our focus and never fall into this political trap other wise 50+ years will be go down the drain by this idiotic action.

23. #23 by ktteokt on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:18 pm

The more arrests AAB orders, the blacker the eye for BN! Simply show they are cowards trying to hide behind the veil of ISA!

24. #24 by One4All4One on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:19 pm

Wrong decisions, wrong time, wrong place.

Do not over-react to the scenario in the country, please.

More useful would be to carry on with the necessary work tirelessly, sensibly, and honestly.

25. #25 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:20 pm

Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar said that no more ISA arrests were expected but it will depend on the situation of public order.

Hello, Syed hamid – what public order, tokking you? when was public order or security ever in jeopardy? Go get your numbskull checked by a psychiatrist! You are a stupid hypochondriac if ever there was one.

26. #26 by Loh on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:21 pm

The three detainees are no threat to national security. AAB knows it. It is the expressed intention of the police to arrest somebody whom the public could easily discern that the action was unfair. The purpose was to lure people into protest mood so that the government might have an excuse to prevent ‘public disobedience or disturbances”, and hence a state of emergency could be declared.

When a state of emergency is declared, the parliament would be suspended. There is no constitutional body to assess whether the government has the confidence of House of Representative. So the government currently in power will remain in power, however few the number of MPs AAB might still command. It is the desperate act of not just AAB to remain as PM, but all others who hang on his coattail would want to remain in power. Barisan Pakatan cannot form the new government even if it has secured the support of the majority of MPs in the House.

We have to make sure that the government does not have the slightest excuse to declare a state of emergency. It might be possible that AAB is no longer in charge, or he is facing insubordination within his UMNO party.

I suggest that instead of gathering to demand for the release of the three detainees, Barisan Pakatan should just tell the people to stay home and observe hours of silence. Let the MPs who are now learning agriculture in Taiwan to return. They might have learnt a thing or two for a regime change soon after the King has returned from his overseas trip.

Appeal and demonstration might be useful if the person to whom we appeal has the authority to decide. It appears that he has lost everything. So, let the police try their tricks, and we should avoid falling into the trap.

It was bad to make a mistake 40 years ago. It will be stupid to repeat the same mistake!

27. #27 by mybangsamalaysia on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:23 pm

Where is our Agong? Again!?

28. #28 by boh-liao on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:25 pm

This is madness – ISA used with no sense, on innocent messengers rather than on the crooks who were out stirring emotions and troubles in the country!

But again people who lead a repressive regime are always made mad before the collapse of the regime.

The journalist who reported truthfully what was spoken kena ISA. The racist who uttered the filth got his membership suspended for 3 years and this was considered to be a harsh punishment!

No wonder, Ooi Kee Beng wrote: “Double standards favouring Umno members became a common occurrence, and a blind eye was turned only when it suited party members.”

It’s time for closure of Umno-led repression in this nation. Let’s hope all fair-minded people, including those who were or are in partnership with Umnoputras in the BN, will stand up to be counted and to say ‘Tak Nak’ and ‘Cukup lah’ to Umno!

Reformasi, transformasi! CHANGE!

29. #29 by parameswara on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:37 pm

teresa got arrested based on ‘unconfirmed allegation’ by khir toyo that she was involved in the petition to tone down azans.

Malaysiakini: “According to Abdul Rahman Nasir, the head of the mosque committee, Kok had never set foot in Masjid Kinrara to present the residents’ petition.”

so, why they still detain her without trial ??

30. #30 by MGR1940 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:38 pm

Petition to US is not enough. The NUJ must contact all their countrparts around the world and ask them to write in their local dailes what is happening in our country by the stupid Abdullahand his goverment on we selected citizens.

31. #31 by gofortruth on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:39 pm

As we Malaysians of all races & religions come together as one to up hold Justice & righteousness, let us continue to pray for the peace of God to be with the afflicted & their family members and that greater confusion will be upon the falling house of UMNO.

Malaysians deserve a change for better checks & balances.
    May God bless Malaysia!

32. #32 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:40 pm

Dear mmc2008,

I beg to differ. They ( I assume you must be referrig to UMNO) is not trying to create another May 13. And for your information, ask Uncle Lim on DAP’s role on May 13.

Please remember when you say rubbish about May 13, there are many who witnessed the carnage can come forward. Only they ( these simple Malays) refuse to open the old wound. What for, they asked. Will the Chinese willing to accept what DAP did durimg May 13.

Raja Petra deserved what he gets. He really crossed the line. There is no need to insult the Prophet or Islam even if he cant stomach the government of the day.

There is no such thing as unlimited freedom. Freedom comes with responsibility. And there is no such unlimited freedom in any country. Law must be respected. If not chaos will reign.

If you are under apartheid, you will not have Guan Eng becoming Chief Minister of Penang. Under aparteid, his place is some isolated island , spending more than 20 years in perpetual detention. Yes. That things can happen( had already happened) in South africa and Singapore.

33. #33 by k1980 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:46 pm

Why has Koh TK and his lackeys stopped threatening to withdraw Gerakan from BN now? Scared stiff of being ISA-ed!

34. #34 by ktteokt on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:47 pm

That’s why boh-liao, it’s time for Parliament to enact the UMNOPUTRA PROTECTION ACT and start debating on it! It will ensure Umnoputras are given absolute right to insult and instigate anyone, anytime, anywhere without any legal liabilities! The most they will get is party “punishment”!

Perhaps thereafter, they may consider applying to the World Wildlife Fund for a protection order as well, as they are facing “extinction” despite being the majority race in MALAYSIA!

35. #35 by Ahb3n on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:47 pm

OMG..ISA again and AGAIN….wont u guys feel bored with it? the way that the government control a person FREEDOM..mana SUARA RAYKAT then???

sometimes we malaysian are like watching DRAMA in our Malaysia Politic..other people outside in this country feel like watching COMEDY..with this many many things that happened recently to Malaysia, if the case going on like this..i guess Malaysia economy will have no where to go.

If they think we are “PENDATANG”..ok fine, Singapore and many other countries will willingly accept us :) but come on..think another way round,why should we leave this country after years of developement.

Ask the people on the street, DO YOU FEEL MERDERKA festival happening around this year? they will surely answer you : NO. even if bumiputera themself, how many people did put up their flags? ya…got, only the GOVERNMENT themself:)

For goodness sick, please give us a peace of mind and stop the DRAMA !!! We malaysian people want is PROGRESS, not DRAMA. if u guys want DRAMA, please go to HOLLYWOOD :)

36. #36 by apatakena on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:48 pm

Uncle Lim,

Hanya satu jaminan dari DAP bahawa terus memelihara Islam dan Melayu, adalah satu jaminan agar tiada prejudis berterusan, apa yang dilakukan LGE amat memberansangkan, cuma komitmen menyeluruh.

Jangan takut dengan Islam ia pasti tidak akan memudaratkan sesiapa Islam itu lengkap, cuma penganutnya yang perlu dibaiki agar mengamal dengan Islam yang sebenar, Islam mencintai keamanan dan kerjasama dengans semua agama.

Serlahkan perjuangan ini didalam dasar DAP agar Melayu mudah menerima, ungkapan DAP Baru untuk Malaysia Baru umpamanya, membanyakkan kemasukan Melayu dalam DAP dan memperincikan dasar-dasar yang bertentangan atau tidak selari dengan komponen PR yang lain.

InsyaALLAH semua orang akan gembira.

37. #37 by homeblogger on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:53 pm

winsoontan said :

MCA should say something, Tan Lian Hua (Gerakan ) should say something! Dont keep quiet there! All Malaysian watching at you!

=========================

They ARE saying something. It’s just that you must use doctor’s stetoscope to hear their very forceful shouting.

To all who are calling for us to run to USA for help. Apalah… are we really so powerless we must run to the US like little children crying? We might just be trading our BN hantu for a bunch of white hantu… Sanctions will hurt the WHOLE of Malaysia, including poor folk who are already struggling to make ends meet.

I hope there is no violence, but one thing for sure is that IF we ever have the privilege to cast our ballot in another General Election, BN is gone.

I am at peace. Up to 2 years ago, I was a die-hard BN supporter, and oblilvious to the rot that is within. When I voted for Pakatan, I was not sure I made the right decision.

Badawi, Najib, Syed Al Akhbar, Khir, Hishamuddin… now I tell you the truth – I am at peace. My vote was correct.

38. #38 by Warongkopi56 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:56 pm

Hi YB Lim, as lawyer by qualification proceed with the writ of habeas corpus as the first 60 days is just the time frame of investigation detention. Stop all the championing and resort to what ever legal avenues available and that will be better.

By the way have you surf http://www.charleshector.blogspot.com?
    The title “Silencing Human Rights Lawyer by getting him committed to a metal institution.”

Which is better?

Regards
    KZ

39. #39 by gofortruth on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:59 pm

“Syed Hamid said that whether any more ISA arrests would be made depended on the public order situation.”
    http://m.themalaysianinsider.com/articles.php?id=8932-syed-hamid-says-reporter-may-be-out-soon-and-no-more-arrests-likely
    ————
    The only one who is causing public disorder is SYED HAMID -

Imagine “A” saw someone started a fire to burn down a house and she quickly extinguished it and reported the matter and she ended of being jailed by Syed Hamid while the guy who started the fire looms free with the possibility of starting another fire.

What logic? This is “in our country we do things our way – BBC Hard Talk interview” Syed Hamid’s logic! No wonder they say ISA is “Ikut Suka Saya”.

BTW This infamous “Syed Hamid Logic” is making its way across the world fast and will soon become a household name.

Syed Hamid should be sued by Malaysian community!

40. #40 by mendela on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:07 pm

Even if Teresa really did make the petition, what is the big deal about it? What crime was it? Sensitivity? @#%^%$## !

Many poor and hard working citizens need a few hours of good sleep in order to be ready for another day of hard work. Why should we deny them such basic right?

41. #41 by nyghtsky on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:09 pm

Tan Hoon Cheng has just been released by the police at 4pm and she is now safely in her house in Bukit Mertajam.

42. #42 by panda_lonely on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:12 pm

she is being released, but being detained again by the police because her life is in threatened, and the police want to get to the bottom of it….

43. #43 by cactus of sarawak on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:13 pm

Geram, why are these things happening in our country? Ask mamakthir and cronies! This type of leaders have no place in Malaysia. They can go and join this leader Zimbabwe, Congo and maybe North Korea. So, PR you people should know what to do next. My empathy to those arrested under ISA.

44. #44 by cactus of sarawak on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:15 pm

Syed Hamid means “Leak” What!

45. #45 by winsoontan on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:17 pm

Syed Amid said detaintion to protect her life? ISA is to protect a life? Do I miss listen what he say?

46. #46 by winsoontan on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:19 pm

If saye amid use the wrong rule or law to protect a life or person, he should resign immediately!

47. #47 by just a moment on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:19 pm

Yes! Yes! Thank God
    Sin Chew Daily News reporter Tan Hoon Cheng has been released.
    Don’t forget about this lesson. Other than what PKR and other groups have done, it is also the pressure from Washington that reverse these plotters plan.

I always heard about Goment criticising about US and demanding them not to interfere with our internal affairs. Today, illustrate well one of the many many ‘false perception’ and ‘tricks’ this Goment is hiding behind to suppress the rakyat from progressing. All these nonsence are created by the same ppl itself to serve only their own interest. You think US have no better things to do?

Today, I felt my only freedom can be stolen away anytime. To me, the only real threat and enemy is my own ppl in this country and who is the real savior? Ppl from other country. Shame, mockery, nothing worth mentioning as far as this Goment has done for the rakyat. Playing God – God will not be mock!! Just wait.

48. #48 by acalcio on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:22 pm

Great to know that Hoon Cheng has beenr released! But the detentions leave a sour taste in sane people’s mouths. We don’t have to speculate about the reasons but we need to respond enthusiastically for the innocent detainees in a calm and collective manner, less we fall into the trap set by the perpetrators of this dastardly scheme.

As a country, Malaysia is very good at shooting ourselves in the foot and this latest situation just about tops it all. In a globalized economy today, that’s one more reason why investors will invest elsewhere and why more brains will be drained away.

49. #49 by Loh on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:22 pm

///14. The votes that the opposition parties got were not due to a desire to replace the Barisan Nasional with the unstructured Pakatan Rakyat. They were protest votes. But is it protest against the Barisan Nasional party? Is it a rejection of race-based politics? I don’t think so. ///–TDM in CheDet.com, 12/9/2008

TDM has clearly stated that BN practiced race-based politics, and he still believes that the people do not reject them. The term race-based politics is in the context that policies of the government are decided based on race. Also the implementation of government policies was based on race too. It further confirms that the rule of law is also race-based. This is confirmed by the latest incident where the person who made obscene utterances was able to avoid the clutches of the law whereas the person whose job was to report what happened on the ground is said to endanger national security, and to invite ISA detention. The current arrest says that the government is practicing double standards.

TDM said that he had to balance the interest between the races. AAB shows the world how he balances the interests. When a Malay was reprimanded for his statement, and for showing his defiance against the party leadership, the Chinese reporter had to pay the price of the punishment meted out to that Malay. That is the way Malays could be pacified, in the mind of the president of the party that champions race-based politics. Certainly AAB lives in the dinosaurs’ age in thinking that Malays could not reason about what is fair. Malays having come through the 21 century where they can see first hand through TV and news on how civilized persons live outside the boundary of Bolehland know exactly that everyman is his own keeper, and they success or failure of a Malay, like AAB, need not bring them pride or shame, as the case may be. A Malay is like any other Chinese will pay for his sins, and will be rewarded for his efforts. The wrong done by a Malay and reprimanded will be as shameful for himself whether another person of another race was wrongly punished or not. The wrong of a Malay will not be put right just because a non-Malay is punished, unfairly, for whistle-blowing.

Race-based politics are complicated because they interfere with the proper running of a government based on rule of law. Had AAB made a break from race-based politics before he has nothing to offer the ex-MBs and their cronies in the states fallen to Barisan Pakatan, he needed only to care about good governance, and will still retain his position without giving in to transition plan. But it is because he was guided by TDM’s race-based politics for ensuring captive Malay votes that he finds himself off balance when the racist games of UMNOputras are public knowledge.

TDM seems to believe that race-based politics is still the order of the day? The single mosquito that caused so much trouble to a 26 million population nation should be burnt without sparing the mosquito net.

50. #50 by limkamput on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:23 pm

Reporter Tan’s arrest is just to serve as a warning to all reporters – from now on if they hear any racist slur, just ignore it. They will get into trouble if they report it.

Tan is released. I wonder she will be the same reporter as before. I hope she will.

1 2 3 5

Comments are closed.