Teresa Kok arrested!

[UPDATE - Teresa was taken to Wangsa Maju Police Station from the condominium and at 2.50 a.m (13th September 2008), she left the Wangsa Maju police station and was taken to the an unknown custody centre where she would be held for her police custodial detention which could be up to 60 days. After that, it is up to the Home Minister to decide whether to issue a formal order of detention without trial, which could be for two years, renewable indefinitely]

I have just been informed that Selangor Senior Exco Member and DAP MP for Seputeh Teresa Kok has been arrested under the Internal Security Act by the police at 11.18 p.m. when returning to her condominium in Kuala Lumpur from a Mooncake Festival reception in her constituency office.

Three police cars with over 10 police personnel stopped Teresa at the condominium entrance and took her away.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by letek on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:35 am

You guys had OVERRIDE PEOPLES WILL. You guys had BLIND PEOPLES EYES. You guys had DEPRESS PEOPLE VOICES. Where is the TRUTH ? Where is DEMOCRACY ? The whole world is watching what you guys are doing with this STUPID ACTS. They are Real Malaysian’s who’ll save this country from going destroy, trouble and chaos. Please without any further delay RELEASE THEM NOW immediately before its too late. You’ll leave NO ground to face the Malaysian and the whole world and leave a big big malevolent, unwashed names in the history of Malaysia. And your desendents will face the consequences what you have done now and it will be too late. What sin you sow now you get the repentant, regretful and repercussion later. So DON’T PLAY PLAY.

So, before its TOO late without any further delay and condition RELEASE THEM ALL NOW. We’ll pray for the good and well beings of their work done whatsoever and the peace for this country. LONG LIVE MALAYSIA AND LONG LIVE DEMOCRACY.

2. #2 by kutlakut on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:40 am

wrote : If all these totally STUPID, MAD jobs that they did were to make Bodowi step down, well, I think they are doing a fantastic job!

MCA, Gerakan, MIC and other leaders of the member parties! DONT JUST ‘EXPRESSED YOUR SHOCK’! DO SOMETHING! OR ELSE YOU ALL WONT HAVE ANY CHANCE TO ANYTHING AFTER the D-DAY! ***********

We know them too well. Indeed we must give them the greater condemnation. This could not happen if they had stood up front rejected the draconian action.

In fact this act serves as a warning to them, ‘don’t try to stand up for the nation – you are next’.

Boy, are they at a dilemma, and shaking in the pants and panties.

This is what is meant of the saying, ‘kill the chicken to frighten the moneys.’ But we could also say it, ‘kill the opposition to frighten the chicken.’

3. #3 by lovemalaysia on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:42 am

we support Teressa!Raja Petra and Reprorter Tan, what has Teressa said or did for being arrested under ISA? and Reporter Tan, she is preforming her duty, govt shd arrest Ahmad ISmail, pencetus isu perkauman, Ahmas Ismail is the one who had said those stupid words and many other reporters and DPM Najib was there as well. What kind of world here in Malaysia? upside down!

4. #4 by OCSunny on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:47 am

Who initiated, planned and executed this latest ISA actions? Badawe? Najid? IGP? Or that Botak head fella? Who can guess the correct answer wins 1,000,000,000. Hehehee.

5. #5 by lopez on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:47 am

it appears Bee n has two alternative in their final days

1)give in and step down as by popular demand

2) continue to their usual business of marginalisation, wilful acts for prevention, realigned and resettled the population, divide and rule,
    etc.

It appears time is the greatest enemy.

If this is the type of change that Bee end spoke in their GE promise, then some of us has to take the blame too but it is never too late.

For those who need to… just slap yourselves in front of another and shout lets begin again.

Lets breathe anew and look far and wide.

Lets all enjoy in doing it for our children and their children before the we are overrun by our competitors

I am sure the investors cannot wait forever.

6. #6 by js on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:55 am

Really sad, sad, sad…

Hope 916 becomes reality…I believe most of Malaysian awaiting for this wind of change as well.

God blessed.

7. #7 by OCSunny on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:55 am

The next PM? Mahatir no way too old. KuLi tried and fail so no chance. Najid so many stories about him therefore, no integrity and so no chance. Mujadin is the most like one but can he beat Anwar to the finishing line? So UMNO is is finish and irrelevant!!!!!!!!
    Good bye. Start all over again!!!

8. #8 by butul on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:59 am

Our prayers for RPK, Teresa Kok and Reporter Tan. Thank you for doing a great job.

Hang on there.

Reporter Tan will be our new MP very soon.

9. #9 by plasma16 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:00 am

This is totally OUTRAGES!!! The widespread use of the ISA is against fundamental human rights.

There is no reason to believe that the detained 3 could cause more harm pending a fair trial. There is no reason to believe that a court injunction could not be attained against them pending a fair trial.

I’ve lost faith in the peace of the country and I do not feel secure when I could be taken from my home and detained without trial.

The ISA should be abolished immediately and everyone be given a fair trial. Malaysia is very ill.

10. #10 by 7even Sins on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:13 am

The leader and supporters of PR must be cool headed and plan what are the next move. It is the tactic of the gomen to get the PR members one after another starting from DSAI then Teresa…then..on n on.. Watch out for the pattern…!!! It is the gomen tactic to irritate PR and get us all. As long as TDM is in the picture, it is going to get very very dirty.

It is disappointing to see how low handed the gomen has been now. Democracy is dead in Malaysia. May RPK, Teresa & Tan can sail through this hard time.

11. #11 by ALLAN THAM on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:28 am

I felt very sad and the feeling is very real. I have been not comfortable since the news break out. The worst was the ISA retention of the Sin Chew Reporter. It is really bad. I can not really reconcile with the action taken by the arresting and retention of this young reporter. I ask myself what has she done wrong by reporting what one has been say. The only reason that was that she has reported some that should not be say by anybody. But reporting something that should not be say was arrested what happen on those who has say. Well to be fair we should not ask those people who has say something wrong to be arrested under ISa, as we all believe ISA has not place in this democratic country no matter who you are.
    People are confused now on what is right and what is wrong now?

12. #12 by fish-warezmasterz on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:30 am

dont fall into UMNO’s trap!!!! they want to increase racial tension! damn..huhu.i WONDER why ahmad ismail didnt put under ISA.OMG!!

but i DONT AGREE WITH TERESA KOK action: delete jawi word on the signboard and put another race’s language.jawi was there,its a malaysia language as well.why have to put so MANY languages on 1 signboard.how about bahasa iban,kadazan etc?moreover its hard to read from a distance.it shows we dont have nationalism.fact is fact.im dissappointed as others try to hurt each other.then im very dissappointed as UMNO leaders are soooo desperate now.they are loosing their power!

13. #13 by Aman_Peace_PingAn on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:31 am

Ampun Tuanku, Sembah patik harap di ampun
    Ampun Tuanku Sultan Selangor,
    Ahli Exco kerajaan Tuanku di tahan ISA…
    Adakah Tuanku tidak akan mempertahankan kedaulatan Tuanku…

Ampun Tuanku, pohon patik agar tuanku pertahankan kebebasan rakyat Selangor.

Patik akui Tuanku se-orang Sultan yang adil, bijak dan saksama…
    Patik harap Tuanku dapat mempetahankan maruah kami sebagai rakyat yang di hina.

Please MB Selangor & EXCO & ADUN Selangor…
    Present our petition to Tuanku…
    YAB MB Selangor, tolonglah pergi mengadap Tuanku supaya selamatkan Cik Teresa Kok, Ahli Exco kerajaan Tuan…

To all my fellow Malaysian…
    We must invoke the name and soverienity of DYMM Yan Di Pertuan Agong, to save our country in this time of CRISIS…
    This world is in pain because of earthquake, flood, tyhphoon and Tsunami…
    But out blessed land of Malaysia is in CRISIS because of “FOOLS” whole want to hold on to political powers within their own party…
    HELP!!!! Allah save our country… Have Mercy on our People…

Jangan bagi negara kita merosot sampai tahap dunia ketiga… and lagi teruk… adakah kita nak jadi lebi truk dari Myanmar…
    Adakah kita lebih teruk dari Zimbabwe… Timur Timur…

Mari Kita Selamatkan NEGARA MALAYSIA untuk anak cucu kita…

AMAN

14. #14 by richard.wong8 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:41 am

A Guinness World Record for Best & Biggest Joke of the Century. Should be awarded a Joker Trophy. Have Outdone Mr.Bean, Jim Carey, Robin Williams, George Burns, Eddie Murphy, etc, etc, etc.

15. #15 by limkamput on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:41 am

My random thought today, 13 September 2008

A hopeless nation

We thought we got it, didn’t we?
    It is a false spring
    When push comes to shove
    This is what we exactly are
    A third world country
    Governed by third world tribal people

Don’t ever say again we are a nation on the verge of greatness
    We will never be
    We have lousy politicians
    We have stupid Malaysians
    We are a hopeless nation

We waited too long to prompt us into doing something
    Didn’t we support Mahathir as if he was our lord and saviour?
    Then we woke up and gather our false sense of courage
    We played exactly into the hand of tribal people
    And the process starts all over again
    See you all in twenty years if some of us are still alive then

16. #16 by parameswara on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:42 am

award winning reporter detained without trial — for reporting facts.

17. #17 by parameswara on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:46 am

teresa kok arrested for performing her job as an MP — handling an azan related petition in her constituency. Wow! how does an MP avoid that ?

18. #18 by den on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:49 am

how can i stop paying tax until government change???

19. #19 by parameswara on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:55 am

raja petra detained without trial — for being outspoken on matters considered taboo.

20. #20 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:58 am

This is yet another proof that UMNO is DAMN WICKED EVIL! ABDULLAH BADAWI IS DAMN EVIL JUST LIKE MAMAKTHIR!

Teresa Kok, RPK, and news reporters who spoke the truth are detained while damn racist Mamak Ismail is only “suspended” for 3 years from UMNO.

Who is next?

YAB Lim Kit Siang, Anwar Ibrahim, Tok Guru Nik Aziz???

Dear MCA, MIC & Gerakan members!

It is time for you guys to quit BN to join Pakatan Rakyat. Aren’t you guys ashamed to be part of this damn wicked evil UMNO government? Where is your good conscience?

I hope Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin will challenge Abdullah BAD Awi for UMNO Presidency.

21. #21 by parameswara on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:59 am

ahmad ismail, suspended, but walks free — after making racist remarks — and planning a roadshow too!!

what an unfair comparison!

22. #22 by penang308 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:00 am

People, it is time for us to show our SOLIDARITY!

Regardless of race and religion, lets us all pray hard for the well being of all detainees and the FAST COLLAPSE OF bEeND GOVERNMENT being it 916 or thereafter.

23. #23 by La Pax on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:01 am

Change government lah! It’s getting serious. Completely out of control. Misused of authority. God please intervine.

24. #24 by Emily Pratt on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:08 am

Theresa Kok’s arrest is clearly an abuse of power.

Pakatan Rakyat MPs should send a petition to The DYMM Seri Paduka Baginda Yang DiPertuan Agong about Bodohwee’s abuse of power.

25. #25 by raverus on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:21 am

Now or never- Reformasi BUT not that cave man way!

26. #26 by loonyew on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:25 am

Reporter also kena detain under ISA?…..no eye see……how can that happen?…..only in malaysia….

27. #27 by lovemalaysia on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:25 am

Sin CHew Daily website could not be acess today? why? is the MCMC shut it down? or heavy surfing traffic?

SIN CHEW DAILY , no fear and always remain professional in reporting the truth, we are backing u! we have 5 million Malaysian Chinese is backing u!

28. #28 by voice on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:26 am

All the anger, leading Pakatan Rakyat to the federal government, but we must not let the anger gone over our heads, Malay, Chinese and Indians must be united, if we fight each other, Malay will back to UMNO, chinese back to MCA, indian back to MIC, we’re back in 1957

29. #29 by grace on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:27 am

Real despicable act! When Ahmad ismail uttered inflamatoty words, Pak Lah excused him because in election he can use the wrong words.
    For reporting the truth, the journalists got ISA!!!
    Theresa Kok already denied that she complain against the mosque. Even the said mosque secretary, a TRUE MUSLIM vouched that no such complains was lodged by THERESA. Yet Pak Lah choosed to listent to liars.

30. #30 by lovemalaysia on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:28 am

This is the time we need Yang Di Pertuan Agung to help them, for the sake of anak Malaysia. Pls help, Yang Di Pertuan!

31. #31 by pky103 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:13 pm

- I will be praying for the Trio arrested. God bless them!!

32. #32 by UzMiNoOnist on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:28 pm

One way to down UMNO is to hurt it where it hurts most. No… not the groin but next to it…their pockets that have been lined with ill gotten monies.

Have a RAKYAT Economic Sanction against UMNO.

Stop all international events that prosper UMNO cronies like events in PWTC, visit Malaysia, Fly Everyday Free,

Also, fill up your petrol only for 1~2 days use, then wait n see where they will store the extra petrols if not already stored in your car all this while….

and many more ways

33. #33 by Timmy on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:31 pm

next who will be detained? possibly Anwar? ISA on 2 Chinese has cause real uneasiness amongst Chinese in Malaysia! May 13 is on the mind of Chinese once again. Military will not stay apolitical. but lets hope UMNO will sink if such similar tragedy recur. USA may be requested to intervene, why not? It is a matter of life and death!

34. #34 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:34 pm

>> Sources told The Malaysian Insider that Ahmad also could be detained under the ISA.

it seems that ahmad ismail is close to detention under ISA. abdullah could be doing it since ahmad slapped at his face. let’s see.

35. #35 by king cobra on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:44 pm

BN Chinese based parties , if your heart still haven’t eaten up by dogs , pls do something to pressure the govt to release the trio being held under ISA.

36. #36 by panda_lonely on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:44 pm

they all are involve in same issues but,the one who said something “nonsense” get away, the one who reported it being arrested by ISA. Justice?

37. #37 by mincetoiletpaper on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:44 pm

YB Lim, tell us where to put my petition, count me in.

38. #38 by mincetoiletpaper on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:52 pm

I call to all, lets join hands. MCA,MIC,Gerakan,Sarawakians & Sabahans. This is not a dream, its real. It will happen to you guys as it had happen to us now. I beg you to JOIN HANDS now. The reality of the current situation is cruel and dis-grace.

39. #39 by wkchee on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:53 pm

cannot tahan bn government anymore!!!!!!!! wtf!!!!!

40. #40 by parameswara on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:54 pm

panda_lonely Says:
    “they all are involve in same issues but,the one who said something “nonsense” get away, the one who reported it being arrested by ISA. Justice?”

=======================

it’s the sign of moral ruins.

41. #41 by sotong on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:54 pm

Again some of our politicians would not hesitate to use politics of race and religion to achieve their narrow, divisive, damaging and dangerous political aims at the great expense of the country.

These dangerous politicians playing politics of race and religion should be put away immediately – Islam is tolerance to Muslims and non Muslims. But grossly misguided Muslims are not and they a great danger to our society.

Our leaders must show real leadership now and not surrender their leadership of our multi racial and religious country to racists, bigots, religious extremists and criminals!!!

42. #42 by mincetoiletpaper on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 1:03 pm

I am not a DAP member nor BN member but today what i saw is our dignity were taken away, stripped and raped. The wrong were set free and the right and just were taken in. What a huge humilation had befalls on me right now even i am not involve with politics. As citizen of Malaysia, we had pledge to uphold the 5 Rukun Negara. Now i pledge to all, whoever out there to pledge on to these 5 Rukuns, stand firm as a Malaysian.

43. #43 by LBJ on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 1:06 pm

To Reporter Tan of Sin Chew. ISA is a badge of honor.
    I think there is no greater symbol to tell the world that you
    are a professional telling the truth. You have join the rank
    of the elite.

You shall walk the street and the power to be shall tremble in fear.

God Bless.

44. #44 by parajurit sarawak on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 1:19 pm

release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..release her..

Apai sudah marah…..

45. #45 by LBJ on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 1:29 pm

Dear YB Lim

There is an international organisation called Reporter Wihout Borders who can help reporters in trouble and can bring world pressure on the govt. Google the internet for more info.

Do you think it is good to ask them to help?

46. #46 by scorpian6666 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 1:40 pm

it’s a trap !
    Let stay cool
    Let them play it out …
    Don’t fall into their traps….
    Say no to 513 … yes to 916

47. #47 by Yee Siew Wah on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 2:00 pm

With all this unfair events happening to our country what more can i say.
    These evil doers never listen. All they know is power and greed.
    Hope our beloved King and royalties rise up to the occasion and do something before the country goes to ruins.
    I beg them to act and act fast.

48. #48 by purpleberry on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 2:10 pm

i think she’ll be brainwashed…but do let us know if she’s tortured, we’ll know what to do as well, if that’s the only way to make it fair and just.

49. #49 by Anak Msia on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 2:23 pm

to the family , friends and concern people, be strong.

to other BN components parties, stand up and abolish the ISA, it is not an human act.

What a reporter basic duty is to report without fear the real situation, why ISA ?

What MP’s job is to highlight the problem face by the people, it is not an sensitive issue at all. In fact, there is nothing sensitive if we open and debate open mindedly, sensitive issue will become non sensitive and accepted by all, only if we sweep under the carpet, the issue will drag for century and is still sensitive without solution.

50. #50 by vvick on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 2:35 pm

Shame on BN/UMNO. Caveman style of arrest. ISA is the easiest place for AAB administration to hide the truth.So they hide all the country’s truth in ISA.

DISGUSTING GOVERNMENT!

enough is enough. I cant waith for 13th GE anymore.

Comments are closed.