A second Internal Security Act (ISA) arrest in less than eight hours after RPK – the Sin Chew Daily senior journalist Tan Hoon Cheng, 33, who reported that Umno Bukit Bendera division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail’s speech at a Permatang Pauh by-election ceramah on August 23 that the Chinese in Malaysia are “squatters” in the country and which resulted in a nation-wide furore and political crisis.
Ahmad got off lightly with a three-year Umno suspension but why is the Sin Chew Daily reporter detained under the ISA, when her report had been confirmed as true when Deputy Prime Minister and Deputy Umno President Datuk Seri Najib had apologised “on behalf” of Ahmad?
Although Ahmad did not “recognise” Najib’s apology on his behalf, the Deputy Prime Minister’s apology is confirmation that Tan’s report was correct, especially as Najib was present when Ahmad had given the controversial speech at the Umno ceramah during the Permatang Pauh by-election.
Will the two reporters, one from Guang Ming and the other from Nanyang, who had collaborated Tan’s report of Ahmad Ismail’s speech be next on the ISA crackdown? What about all those columnists who had flayed Ahmad for his provocative, inflammatory and racist speech – are they all marked for the Kamunting Detention Centre?
Is Malaysia in the grip of another ISA madness, akin to Operation Lalang 21 years ago when there were mass arrests under the ISA (with Guan Eng and I among the first of the 106 persons to be arrested but were the last two to be released) and closure of three newspapers?
Ministers and leaders of MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and other Barisan Nasional component parties must demand in the Cabinet and requisition an emergency meeting of the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council for the immediate release of Tan and Raja Petra under the ISA as well as the withdrawal of the show cause notice issued by the Home Ministry to three newspapers as to why action should not be taken against them.
Their political parties had pledged after the debacle in the March general election that they would cease to be puppets and “yes-men” and would speak up for the rights of all Malaysians.
Tan Hoon Cheng and RPK are critical tests whether they meant what they say – in Cabinet and the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council – or they remain stuck in their incorrigible roles of being totally subservient to Umno “Big Brother”!

#1 by pjboy on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:31 pm
Everyone must remain calm & cool. This is exactly what BN wants. This is their plan-B coz plan-A dah jatuh dalam monsoon drain. Cruel as it may sound, this is only 1 reporter. Is BN going to jail all reporters & rakyat under ISA? Certainly not. They are ‘playing poker’ with rakyat. It is indeed very sinister plot going on. They got nothing against DSAI. This plan also failed. Datuk Ahmad Ismail seditious remarks also failed. So, we wonder how many more cards BN want to play with the rakyat. P-R leaders must urge all rakyat to be cool. We must not have orang utan brain, nor monkey’s balls at the moment. This is chance to show our strength – as Malaysians unite against oppression through peace & solidarity. It seems ISA only applies to those who write or report the truth & deemed seditious. Those who speak on ceramahs shouting about ‘penumpang’ & raise keris to shouts like bathing the keris in chinese blood are not seditious. They are just history lessons. These do not qualify for ISA coz it is educational. So, we can speak about it, shout about it but not write about it.
Let’s show our support to the brave reporter & RPK. Not sure what’s the best way – am sure there are many good ideas out there – but I would not mind pledging RM 1 for every week or month that those 2 brave Malaysians are in ISA. How many will join this ? C’mon. RM 1 is not even 1 teh tarik today. So sacrifice 2 teh tarik per month. Also good for health. Diabetes are on the rise anyway.
#2 by wendyoscar88 on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:35 pm
Now we see the hand behind AI. God pls help and bless malaysia with peace and harmony.
#3 by GodFromHeaven on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:36 pm
I’m thinking to post a message to support pakatan rakyat, but if i post this support message, am i put myself in to the risk?? I might detain under ISA…… Oh, we are lost of voices from now on… God help us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
#4 by dapforever on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:37 pm
what is happening? Even using ISA to nab on inocent people for reporting the truth……we have to work together now….this administration is going to be very harsh to everyone who try to stop them…very dissapointed!
#5 by zak_hammaad on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:37 pm
sheriff singh Says:
>> Why doesn’t the PM give us the “concrete reason” then?
Investigations are ongoing and I’m sure in time, you will get your concrete reasons. It is not in the interest of Joe public to be given further info that could jeapodise a future trial.
>> If Raja Petra offended the Muslims, then let the Sharia Court handle the case. Charge him and try him there.
At the moment the pressing issue is to have him removed from public for the good of the public. Charges and subsequent trial will, I’m sure be brought after 60 days.
Tonight, the rakyat can sleep well knowing that a menace and a public order thread has been put behind bars.
* prelude3372 Says:
>> its clear that this zak fellow is here just to make someone uttter something that going to get this blog and u in particular in trouble.
Is this the level of confidence you have in your ability to debate and discuss!? If you are hot-headed and emotional, you better practise self-regulation, otherwise uncle Lim will do it for you here :^)
It’s clear that you comments are emotionally charged, otherwise you would be providing evidence to the contrary in relation to your admiration for a bigot like RPK. Indeed his internment WAS because of insults to Islam and not because of his political and racial stance. His blog has been operating for years without real problems; but he stepped too far when he decided to change the direction of his blog into a platform for Islamophobic discourse amongst other like-minded hate-mongers and xenophobes.
Night night.
#6 by negarawan on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:38 pm
UMNO is clearly a racial supremacist party, and it has hurt the feelings and trust of the Indian and Chinese community beyond repair. UMNO’s carry out their democratically unjust and inhumane actions thinking that the Chinese and Indians are stupid and ignorant, and that after a few weeks everybody will forget things and then sweep the issues under the carpet. And MCA, MIC and Gerakan can jump into the sea, nobody will care believe me.
#7 by dapforever on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:40 pm
there will be no more freedom…….pls something must be done! Very desperate move! THUMBS DOWN! A CHANGE IS NEEDED! NO DOUBT!
#8 by IloveDAPforever on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:41 pm
The Journalists Union & Bar Council have to speak out in defense of poor Ms Tan who is only carrying out her job. This is maddening…BeEND is shamelessly using ISA to threaten & gag true & fair reporting by journalists. The main culprit, AI has arrogantly & proudly gotten away scot free. Look at just how low BeEND can go. They are desperate to save themselves & kill off the people. The whole world is watching Malaysia going down under BeENDs tyranny.
Are Koh T K, Ong K T going to keep quiet and agree with their masters’ action again? If they do not have the guts to speak out then as leaders of their parties, MCA & Gerakan can close shop forever.
#9 by lchk on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:43 pm
Let the zak fellow post whatever he wants to here.
We all know he’s a paid mahathir agent who purports to be a foreigner and in all probability assumed previous incarnations of killer, realworld, etc.
Just another mahathir b*ll carrier.
#10 by drngsc on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:43 pm
The Gomen has gone mad. The badguy gets a slap on the wrist and the gal who reports the wrong goes to jail. Remember a certain Tan Sri from Malacca and the underage girl. This is justice, UMNO style. What can we do? For one, maybe we should all fly the Jalur Gemilang on the 16th September.
What do you think, Kit?
#11 by america on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:44 pm
Looks like ISA is now the new badge of honour. It has become a place for the brave souls. I do not see ISA detainees as tainted now. The government of the day has made it a glorified place. To all Malaysians, please be calm. It looks provocative. Even if anybody is in ISA detention, it would not be long. From the way the gv is handling things, it won’t last long. Not sure about RPK but it is wrong to detain Miss Tan. C’mon, PM, where is right and where is wrong? God bless Malaysia and all brave souls.
#12 by miles on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:46 pm
Huh??!! Teresa Kok has been detained as well??
#13 by PC Tan on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:46 pm
Heh Zak, Can I have your take on the arrest of the Sin Chew Daily reporter under ISA who only reported truthfully what was said by AI who is now roaming freely and going on a road show to explain his remarks.. and further insisted that he had done no wrong. You seemed to have your points on RPK, lets see your point on this.
#14 by dapforever on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:46 pm
MCA, GERAKAN, MIC, SUPP, now you know what is happening…..Help them & Release them…..to proof you are not a “yes man” party……very unfair!
#15 by bentoh on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:46 pm
Susan Loone said YB Teresa Kok is the third? Can Uncle Kit clarify?
#16 by HJ Angus on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:47 pm
This government has lost all moral authority and should call for snap elections if it wants to carry on.
Malaysians are suffering as the government lurches from parody to tragedy. Maybe this will help our Law Minister and I am no lawyer.
http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2008/09/malaysiakini-reporter-nabbed-under-isa.html
#17 by pjboy on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:48 pm
Hmmm. Wonder why only the reporter in Penang…? Everything seem to be targeting Penang. Why Penang? Think about it.
Reporting the truth = ISA.
Seditious Remarks = 3 years suspension (holiday).
It is not only about RPK now.
#18 by philyong on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:48 pm
Just received a sms from TheStar stating that Teresa Kok has been arrested under the ISA. What on earth is happening? 3 arrested, how many more? Who is next?
#19 by ysc on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:49 pm
All fair minded Malaysians must feel nauseous at the dastardly abuse of the ISA against the reporter Ms Tan.
Our prayers are with her and her family, and for all Malaysians of all races. All Malaysians must stand strongly together for her and against this desparate act and the dastardly ISA.The actions and calls for the abolition of the ISA and the release of Ms Tan & RPK must come out loud and clear to AAB.
TODAY JUSTICE IS DEAD! MALAYSIANS MUST FIGHT BACK FOR IT!
#20 by prelude3372 on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:49 pm
For the junk called zak….As I mentioned….why is the reporter detained on ISA?? Has she also insulted ISLAM as you aclaim RPK did….or she started racial tension?
If you justified her ISA arrest by claiming so….than why these Ahmad fellow is still walking happly outside??
So it’s not we don’t have level of confident to discuss….but we are waiting….and waiting….and waiting….for your so called learned explaination.
Stated your stand on the reporter arrest…or don’t waste our time.
#21 by Loh on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:50 pm
Remember May 13. The government is trying to use the same methods to make people angry so that if we all take to the streets to protest, it will basically give them a free ticket to arrest more people. So we must be clear on what NOT to do. Let’s not fall into their trap.
I am being told many political party leaders are now talking about what is proper to say in public, so when commenting please exercise the same restraint.
Next, we also need to know that RPK has not associated himself to any power or position. He is just like you and me except that he means well, can swear better and can talk louder. So, there is NOTHING for the government to gain by arresting him except to perpetuate their rule and to create the emotions to help them stay in control.
People are not stupid or ignorant anymore. Today, we have the internet and mobile phones. We can always alert each other on the progress. Unlike 1969, when you are thirsty for news, you may get angry and you would go to the streets. Not today.
So stay tuned to the developments as we bring them to you. But please stay cool, keep properly informed and do not over-react.
MT team
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
The arrest of RPK stops him from leading response to police action. The arrest of the reporters whose reports were the focus of discussion between right and wrong over the last two weeks which the BN and UMNO leaders had considered serious and important show that the reporters had contributed enormously to nation building. Their arrest says that the government kills the messengers for the bad news they brought. It was their duties to report, and if the law prevents people to perform professionally, can we call this a civilized country? I doubt.
The report made by the reporters did not threaten security while the speech given no doubt hurts the Chinese community. If the Prime Minister thought it proper for the speaker of those ugly words to apologize, and the matter closes, why should the police make it a big issue to have the reporters arrested? The police action shows that it intends to impress upon citizens that UMNO leaders are untouchable
The statement by MT makes sense. Demonstration will not stop them abuse their power. In fact they now want demonstration so that they can make a mountain out of molehill. We all remember that they charge Hindraf supporters for murder when one of them was hurt by a brick. They did it because they had the power. There is no decency. They care not for the reputation, especially now when a regime change is imminent. Give them no chance to play dirty.
#22 by Hidup Pakatan Rakyat on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:50 pm
My vote to Pakatan Rakyat, PKR, DAP, PAS for
GE14, GE15, GE16, GE17, GE18, GE19, GE20, GE21, GE22, GE23,
GE24, GE25, GE26, GE27, GE28, GE29, GE30, GE31, GE32, GE33,
GE34, GE35, GE36, GE37, GE38, GE39, GE40, GE41, GE42, GE43,
GE44, GE45, GE46, GE47, GE48, GE49, GE50, GE51, GE52, GE53,
GE54, GE55, GE56, GE57, GE58, GE59, GE60, GE61, GE62, GE63,
GE64, GE65, GE66, GE67, GE68, GE69, GE70, GE71, GE72, GE73,
GE74, GE75, GE76, GE77, GE78, GE79, GE80, GE81, GE82, GE83,
GE84, GE85, GE86, GE87, GE88, GE89, GE90, GE91, GE92, GE93,
GE94, GE95, GE96, GE97, GE98, GE99, GE100 ……
#23 by atlk on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:50 pm
yes.. confirmed teresa kok arrested.
this is the beginning of the end of UMNO…
#24 by Blue.kinetic on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:51 pm
Goverment has gone mad… 3rd person arrested by ISA….
http://chunwai08.blogspot.com/2008/09/teresa-kok-arrested-under-isa-too.html
#25 by Jimm on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:51 pm
They can’t even control their own species …..
They now pick on those weaker ones ……
Thank God that we the rakyat are no longer as ‘bodoh’ as before.
They may also put me in ISA …. I only know that God will shower me with the right spirit and faith to journey on with a clear heart and clean mind to seek total freedom for Malaysia.
#26 by GodFromHeaven on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:53 pm
Did teresa kwok said anything???
#27 by GodFromHeaven on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:53 pm
3rh detainee, confirmed terresa kwok
#28 by aiD_kamikuP on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:54 pm
“It is not only about RPK now”
You can see the pattern and the ulterior motive…that well used and over-used UMNO trump card. Despicable.
#29 by prelude3372 on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:55 pm
Teresa too???…well…its finally here….OPS LALANG 2……….
Uncle LIM…..I rest my case
#30 by zorgen on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:58 pm
Hello, where is MCA and Gerakan?
#31 by The Enforcer on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:00 am
Uncle YB Lim – ‘ I Nang Siau Liau Si Bo?’
Uncle YB Lim, something must be done urgently.
Can the PR team come up with an awesome solution asap.
The RAKYAT is going crazy with all these going ons.
Our bros and sis are being hauled up one at a time at their whims and fancys, yet we have to keep our cool instead of falling for their trap.
#32 by Old.observer on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:00 am
GodFromHeaven Says:
Today at 23: 53.16 (1 minute ago)
Did teresa kwok said anything???
No. That’s the problem is the draconian ISA. The Home Minister decides who can be detained. He might or might not have a reason that anyone will agree too – the reason is not important. Once you are detained, it seems your fundamental human rights is stripped away. Your right to be charged and trialed in court is denied. In the first 60 days, you will be denied access to your lawyers. No one can visit you, not even your family. If you are sick and need medical treatment, the Home Minister is under no legal obligation to release you or to even provide you with proper treatment. Basically, you cease to become a human being with rights once you have been detained under ISA. It is draconian and should be condemned by all right thinking Malaysians!
#33 by Aman_Peace_PingAn on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:01 am
Dear Kit
Teach us how best to start a FREE Ms Tan Hoon Cheng campaign.
Make it worldwide…
The world need to know…
Malaysia Press freedom has become a laughing stock…
To Editors of all Main Stream Media, PLEASE HELP…
Don’t be cowed by the BULLIES…
Where are your ideals…
How to face your children.
SIN CHEW, STAR, NANYANG … (MCA ???)
HELP lah… Get Ms Tan FREE…
HELP lah … GET Malaysian PRESS Free…
#34 by lchk on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:04 am
“Basically, you cease to become a human being with rights once you have been detained under ISA. It is draconian and should be condemned by all right thinking Malaysians!”
A certain self-proclaimed foreigner in this blog thinks otherwise – he even advocates the use of the ISA against contributors here!
#35 by IloveDAPforever on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:07 am
Teresa Kok has been detained under ISA. What has she done? This is crazy. Not surprising if more names to follow. Another dark era!
#36 by roger lim on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:07 am
HI zak, I, like many others have followed your comments for a while and while I sometimes disagree with you, I have grown to respect you. But today you have lost that respect(even though I’m sure you couldn’t care less). From what I read above, it seems that arresting someone first then tell them what they are charged with 60 days later is accepteble to you. So when and if PR takes over, is it ok for me to come to your house and arrest you then read you the charges 2 months later? Are you agreeing to that? And another thing, can you prove that RPK insulted Islam and not just some muslims. He has issued a challenge for anyone to debate him on Islam. Why didn’t you take it?
Sweet dreams, zak. I probably won’t sleep tonight. I’ll be thinking of RPK and Tan Hooi Cheng. Will be praying for them too.
#37 by Richardqed on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:09 am
These arrests are clearly being done on purpose to make the people angry. How else can one explain these unjustified arrests?They want everyone to be angry, because it will give them the chance to execute their plan. In fact, their desperation suggests that PR’s attempt to take over is very much a possibility.
All they can hope for now is that their evil plan will work. Does anyone want to fall into their trap? Hope not. To foil these crooks, one would have to do the opposite of what they want you to do. If no one is marching in the streets, they won’t have anyone to blame it on.
Now is the time to keep cool heads. If everyone stays calm, and PR clinches their numbers, there will be no excuse for them to prevent PR from taking over when the time comes.
#38 by wesuffer on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:11 am
wao, the show is just started ! lets see what brother ong kai(chicken) ting going to comment on the reporter being arrested for reporting the truth.! what a scary our country now. then Najib should be arrest as well cos he agreed what ahmad said is wrong, and he also make appologised to all malaysian esp. chinese commitee
#39 by wesuffer on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:16 am
wait ! actually the reporter is innocent. and we all not need to borther about AHmad and tan c koh incident.
they are making drama ! let see , both time are from BN.
if they fight gila. also their business. I hope malaysian muslim and non muslim dont kena trap by BN .They purposely create racial issue.
#40 by sickandtired on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:17 am
Clamp on the oppositions only. So Bn MP cannot jump ship. Very smart move.
#41 by sickandtired on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:18 am
Gomen gone mad!!!
#42 by sickandtired on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:19 am
Who’s next. LKS or LGE?
#43 by wesuffer on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:21 am
if pakatan supporter should stop comment on ahmad and koh thing now.
now the tiger is hunting deer .
#44 by GodFromHeaven on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:23 am
every body stay calm, everything will sort out after 916…
#45 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:28 am
”
Investigations are ongoing and I’m sure in time, you will get your concrete reasons. It is not in the interest of Joe public to be given further info that could jeapodise a future trial. ”
”
At the moment the pressing issue is to have him removed from public for the good of the public. Charges and subsequent trial will, I’m sure be brought after 60 days.”
So the authorities are still not ready or even sure of the matter and yet they go about detaining people. The government already concludes RPK is a “threat” when there is insufficient info and reason to show this.
So what kind of “cemerlang, terbilang and gemilang” government do we have? And are these actions in compliance with that Hadhari thing the man espouses? Or have we turned into a fascist state?
”
Tonight, the rakyat can sleep well knowing that a menace and a public order thread has been put behind bars.”
Oh yeah right. Commiting sins during Ramadan is just not on. The sins will be compounded a thousand fold if unjust. The Man upstairs knows.
But to some, they just don’t care. They are already “hardcore” unprincipled politicians with no more sense of right or wrong anymore. Their places will be in the dustbins of history.
#46 by pjboy on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:28 am
This is a BN sinister plot. Don’t fall for it. Stay cool all. They purposely let Datuk Ahmad Ismail loose & go after the innocent to test us. The police & army are already on stand by. They will take any opportunity & then exaggerate the whole matter to justify their act for sure. Let it be their time wasted & not ours. We got Astro now. Stay at home & watch football. Got Man U vs Liverpool game. Let it be the police & army roaming the peaceful streets. Let’s prove them WRONG. The saga has begin. God help us all. Give us the sound mind & strength to brave through this storm.
#47 by MyFoot on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:32 am
God help Malaysia!
AAB forfeit his right to be the PM.
Umno forfeit the right to be the govt.
Malaysia forfeit the right to be a respectable nation,
ie Malaysia = Zimbabwee.
#48 by milduser on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:32 am
Vitimization, injustice, favourtism, 3 words sum it all. Down with BN, down with Amnoooo ………….
#49 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:38 am
What next?
Martial law?
#50 by mongolian on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:39 am
UMNO’s May 13 tactic to create tension amongst the chinese which will spark off racial tension. The UMNO members are praying this to happen. We have to disappoint them.